Monday, October 31, 2011

Cover Reveal (Destined by Aprilynne Pike)

Here's the beautiful cover to the next book in the Wings series by Aprilynne Pike

Happy Halloween, hope you enjoy the prettiness 

Sunday, October 30, 2011

Book Batch Monday's October 31- November 7

These awesome books come out this week:

Crossed (Matched #2) by Ally Condie
Dark Inside by Jeyn Roberts
Touch by Jus Accardo --> check out my review on the 13th of November




















What books are you looking forward to?

In My Mailbox (17)




Ok I got a little this week, but I succeeded by not buying ANY books this week. It took a lot of self-control, but I did it. This week I got:

For Review: 

Hushed by Kelley York 
--Thanks to Entangled Publishing + will be part of the Blog Tour:D


Bought:
Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout *signed* with some awesome swag from SHP

Cover Reveal

 Title:Betrayed
Series:Guardian Legacy
Author: Ednah Walters
Publisher:Spencer Hill Press, www.SpencerHillPress.com
ISBN: 978-1-937053-18-5 (Trade Paper), 978-1-937053-19-2 (e-book)
Release Date: June, 2012


BETRAYED
Lil isn't just an average teenager. She's one of the Nephilim--the descendants of humans and angels--which gives her some serious psi skills and a mission for redemption. Just when Lil thinks she's found a balance between her normal life with human friends and her training to become a Guardian, she's warned that someone close to her will betray her. When the boy she loves starts acting strangely and one of her human friends acquires a supernatural ability, Lil begins to realize that someone is manipulating the people she loves... and won't stop until she's been lured to the dark side.


Thursday, October 27, 2011

Follow Friday (2)

This is a weekly event hosted by Parajunkee & Alison Can Read every Friday (or Thursday night depending on where you are). This is a good way to reach out to other book bloggers out there!

Question: 

If you could have dinner with your favorite book character, who would you eat with and what would you serve?

 I would totally have dinner with Seth from Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout, he would be the life of the party if I was able to have dinner with him. I would have serve chicken wings:) Plus he likes to talk about himself.

Trick-Or-Treat Blog Hop

Welcome to the next stop of the Zompacolpse Blog Hop!!

In the spirit of Halloween I will be giving away a copy of copy of Matched by Ally Condie  (paperback)
Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander's face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate... until she sees Ky Markham's face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.
The Society tells her it's a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she's destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can't stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society's infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she's known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.




To Enter:
1. Must be a GFC follower
2. Tweet about the giveaway
3. What are you most looking forward to Halloween
4. Post a comment below
+make sure you add your e-mail address!
Open Internationally - Wherever Book Depository ships


Also Enter to win $25 gift card for Amazon Which You can Enter
                                                   HERE
****If the blog reaches 600 followers I will add a book in there. This winner will choose any book of their choice from the book depository!!  ****


Remember to also enter my Half-Blood Giveaway!! HERE 
Its located on the left:)









WINNER: Shellie !!!



Check out the others on the HOP:
1. Paranormal Wastelands                     2. vvb32 reads
3. Mad Moose Mama                            4. Nina @Death Books and Tea
5. Cana                                                  6. KarinLibrarian
7. AH@Badass Book Reviews             8. Can't Put It Down
9. Lea @LC's AdventuresinLibraryland     10. Ambur @Burning xImpossiblyx.Bright
11.Lynsey Lore@STRANGEMORE          12. Bibliosaurus Text
13.  Dawn @ Read Love              14. Christen @ Goldilox and the Weres
15. Amethyst Daydreams             16. Shandy @ Mama Knows Books
17. Violette                                   18. Juliet @ The Attic
19. Tee@dreamingdreams           20. The Story Seekers
21. Vanessa Morgan                     22. Avalon Cat Cartoons
23. Ashley Suzanne                     24. Heather @Supa Gurl Books
25. The Book Nympho                26. Kathy@ I write,I read,I review
27. monkeycstars                        28. Melissa @This is Your BrainonBooks
29. But What Are They Eating   30. Jex @ Everything and Nothing
31. Mary @Sweeping Me          32. Zombie Girl Shambling
33. Books and Beyond               34. Stuck In YABooks
35. Annie Walls                         36. Christina Irelan
37. Colleen @Les Livres          38. Pabkins@Mission to Read
39. Alaskan Book Cafe             40. I Am A Reader Not A Writer
41. The Wannabe Knight




























































Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (15)

Title: Goddess Interrupted (#2)
Author: Aimee Carter
Publisher: HarlequinTeen
Release Date: March 27, 2012
Pages: 304

Kate Winters has won immortality.
But if she wants a life in the Underworld with Henry, she’ll have to fight for it.
Becoming immortal wasn’t supposed to be the easy part. Though Kate is about to be crowned Queen of the Underworld, she’s as isolated as ever. And despite her growing love for Henry, ruler of the Underworld, he’s becoming ever more distant and secretive. Then, in the midst of Kate’s coronation, Henry is abducted by the only being powerful enough to kill him: the King of the Titans.
As the other gods prepare for a war that could end them all, it is up to Kate to save Henry from the depths of Tartarus. But in order to navigate the endless caverns of the Underworld, Kate must enlist the help of the one person who is the greatest threat to her future.
Henry’s first wife, Persephone.

Why I Want this book!
I would really really love to read this sequel to The Goddess Test. The first novel was so fantastic, that I could not wait to read the next one. Kate and Henry have such a strong bond, and I cant wait to see their relationship develop. The cover looks GORGEOUS 

What are you waiting on? 

Book 1: The Goddess Test

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey

Title: Cold Kiss
Author: Amy Garvey
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 304
Release Date: September 20, 2011


It was a beautiful, warm summer day, the day Danny died.
Suddenly Wren was alone and shattered. In a heartbroken fury, armed with dark incantations and a secret power, Wren decides that what she wants—what she must do—is to bring Danny back.
But the Danny who returns is just a shell of the boy Wren fell in love with. His touch is icy; his skin, smooth and stiff as marble; his chest, cruelly silent when Wren rests her head against it.
Wren must keep Danny a secret, hiding him away, visiting him at night, while her life slowly unravels around her. Then Gabriel DeMarnes transfers to her school, and Wren realizes that somehow, inexplicably, he can sense the powers that lie within her—and that he knows what she has done. And now Gabriel wants to help make things right.
But Wren alone has to undo what she has wrought—even if it means breaking her heart all over again.

Review:

Cold Kiss really captures what can happen if you lose the someone you love. I was crying at the beginning and the end. I felt so bad for Wren. The writing was beautiful and the story was love has no boundaries. I still feel like crying (bring tissues) This is an emotional review for me.

Wren's story of love and devastation was heartbreaking. I was a little confused on how she brought him back but it was cleared up. She is really strong to bring back the one person who meant so much to her. Danny was her first true love and I get her reasoning on why she brought him back. My dad lost his brother at the age of 18, I never got to meet him because I wasnt born yet, but every time we go to the headstone, it make me cry thinking about it:(  It hard losing people who have died young, I have know lots who died young due to car accidents. (crying) *true stories*

Danny- I loved his character when he was alive, he sounded like a great boyfriend. He would make people smile with his personality and his talent of drawings. He isn't the typical dead zombie, he had all the real emotions, but every time Wren was with him, he was cold and she could feel that this wasn't her Danny. When Wren remembers when he was alive, it was heartbreaking for me. His life was cut short at such a young age. 

Amy Garvey did a great job connecting the character with the reader and into Wren's world and experiencing her pain. It was cute and this story will always be in my heart.  The ending was the most heartbreaking for me (read the end at work) I felt like balling, but it was closure for Wren. I look forward to many more novels by Amy Garvey. This book wont disappoint, bring you to tears so make sure when you read this, you bring tissues. Overall, I enjoyed it and it was a good breather and an understanding of loss.

I gave this 4 stars

~Amanda

Teaser Tuesday

Here's a Teaser:
“I’m not a kid. I’m seventeen.”
“Is that so?” He blinked. “You look like you’re twelve. No. Maybe
thirteen, but my sister has this doll that kind reminds me of you. All
big-eyed and vacant.” (all rights to Jennifer L. Armentrout & Entangled Publishing) (Page 7)

Sunday, October 23, 2011

In My Mailbox (16)

Bought:
Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake 
Review of Anna- HERE
For Keeps by Natasha Friend
The Vampire Promise by Caroline B. Cooney (book fair)

Review:
Between the Sea and Sky by
The Tempest by Julie Cross
The Lifeguard

















Thanks Netgalley


I also got bookmarks of Shattered Souls from Mary Lindsey !! They are gorgeous

All These Things I've Done (Birthright #1) by Gabrielle Zevin

Title: All These Things I've Done
Author: Gabrielle Zevin
Release Date: September 6, 2011
Pages: 354
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)GOODREADS

In 2083, chocolate and coffee are illegal, paper is hard to find, water is carefully rationed, and New York City is rife with crime and poverty. And yet, for Anya Balanchine, the sixteen-year-old daughter of the city's most notorious (and dead) crime boss, life is fairly routine. It consists of going to school, taking care of her siblings and her dying grandmother, trying to avoid falling in love with the new assistant D.A.'s son, and avoiding her loser ex-boyfriend. That is until her ex is accidentally poisoned by the chocolate her family manufactures and the police think she's to blame. Suddenly, Anya finds herself thrust unwillingly into the spotlight--at school, in the news, and most importantly, within her mafia family.

My Review: 
              Who Would Ban CHOCOLATE ????
          
         Emotions run high in this dystopian novel, where chocolate and coffee are banned was an interesting take to this book. It is set in 2083. I felt mostly sad for Anya after all she's been through with her family. With her older brother (Leo), and sister (Natty). As the daughter of a former crime boss, her whole family lives with their grandma. 


         Gabrielle did make me picture New York, the way she presented it. The story was through Anya's eyes. She is protective of her close family, and she likes to speak her mind. When her ex-boyfriend gets poisoned by the chocolate her family produces, this is where it really starts to pick up. During this time we meet handsome Goodwin (AKA Win) who I would say is Anya's perfect match. It takes a while for them to see each other as more than friends, but it was cute to see their relationship grow. But Win's father is also the new D.A. in town, so he may cause problems. Anya really is the parent in her family, she puts them above herself which makes me admire her. Near the end is where all the action came in and now I want to read the next one. 

Overall, it was a different take in a dystopian novel, I cant live without chocolate or coffee which would be hard to ban in my opinion. Based on the plot of the novel, it was well put together and the characters were developed. I would like to see more the the inside world of the factories, what will happen to a certain couple. But I did like how the last sentence ended. I cant wait to see what happens next

~Amanda

Upcoming Review next: Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey  



Saturday, October 22, 2011

Cover Reveal

There is no description of the book yet, but the cover looks AMAZING. I love Susane Colasanti books, and I look forward to reading her new upcoming novel which comes out June 14, 2012

ADD TO YOUR TBR LISTS : GOODREADS

Friday, October 21, 2011

Recommend Fridays (7)

Recommended Fridays is a once-a-week spot, created by Amanda from Stuck in YA Books, where participating bloggers can recommend one of their favorite reads from any genre of their choosing. Bloggers who participate are asked to post the banner on their post and add their direct links in the comments below. If other bloggers are participating be sure to stop by and let them know.

This week it is:
I personally LOVED this book! I love anything with mythology in it. The romance was beautiful, and it did have some action. I did enjoy Aimee Carters writing. I cant wait to read the next book Goddess Interrupted

Check this book out GOODREADS

What is your Recommend Friday?

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Remembrance by Michelle Madow Book Tour #1 Sign Up

Remembrance (Transcend Time Saga #1) 

New Hampshire high school junior Lizzie Davenport has been reincarnated from Regency Era, England ... but she doesn't know it yet.

Then Drew Carmichael transfers into Lizzie's school at the beginning of the year, and she feels a connection to him, almost like she knows him. She can't stop thinking about him, but whenever she tries talking with him about the mysteries behind her feelings, he makes it clear that he wants nothing to do with her. Reaching him is even more difficult because she has a boyfriend, Jeremy, who has started to become full of himself after being elected co-captain of the varsity soccer team, and her flirtatious best friend Chelsea starts dating Drew soon after his arrival. So why can't she seem to get him out of her mind?

Even though Lizzie knows she should let go of her fascination with Drew, the pair of them soon find that fighting fate isn't going to be easy.
  
Hey everyone,

Michelle Madow has gladly offered to have her book Remembrance for a book tour! This is the first tour taking place on the blog, and  I was so happy with this news.  I have already read this book, and it was soo beautiful (still need to write my review) I recommend this book to everyone.

If you are interested in touring the book for review, leave a message with your e-mail address. It is only open to US & CAN residents. Sign up below. The book will be in e-book form when I either I or Michelle send it to you. If any would like to tour with the physical book please let us know. The tour will begin in November. Looking for 20 bloggers. Once we get the 20 I will be emailing you with dates:) and a file of Remembrance or if you want the physical book just leave me a comment:)


Also if you want to participate can you add the widget to your blog:

WE HAVE 20 BLOGGERS! Thanks





Thanks ~Amanda & Michelle

Waiting on Wednesday (14)

UNDER THE NEVER SKY BY VERONICA ROSSI
Paperback, 384 pages
Expected publication: February 7th 2012 by HarperTeen
Exiled from her comfortable home in the enclosed city of Reverie, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland—known as The Death Shop—are slim. In Reverie, she spent time with her friends roaming virtual environments called Realms. But in The Death Shop, even the very air she breathes can kill her. Then Aria meets an Outsider named Perry. He’s wild—a savage. He’s also her only hope for survival.
A hunter for his tribe in a merciless landscape, Perry sees Aria as sheltered and fragile—everything he would expect from a Dweller. But he also needs Aria’s help; she alone holds the key to his redemption. Opposites in nearly every way, they come together reluctantly, and embark on a journey challenged as much by their prejudices as by cannibals and wolves. Their unlikely alliance will forever change the fate of all who live UNDER THE NEVER SKY.
The first book in a captivating trilogy, Veronica Rossi’s enthralling debut sweeps you into an unforgettable adventure

I cannot wait to read this book. It sounds amazing. There are too many books to look forward to in 2012. Check this book out!!! 


What are you waiting on?

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Obsidian
By Jennifer L. Armentrout
Entangled Publishing
Release Date: December 6th, 2011
Format:Paperback/Ebook

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up. 

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.


Review:

WOW am still in shock of how great this book is!! Jennifer L. Armentrout has really got the great stuff, she has Half-Blood which I also LOVED, and now Obsidian which is out of this world!! Let me just say that it was hard writing this review. I am not gonna spoil anything!  I have also fallen in love with another character by the name of Daemon... oh Daemon. Is it just me or any others who have just enjoyed him. Katy is one lucky girl!! (need to find Hot Alien Boy)  I <3 Jennifer and Liz + Entangled Publishing. This book deserves 20x stars!!

My emotions were everywhere throughout the entire book. One moment there was scenes that were soo intense that I wanted to yell at Daemon or Katy (all in a good way). This book has romance and action. I was practically jumping up and down during some of the scenes.Action packed,out of this world, romantic, and hot boys. Daemon maybe an alien but he is on HOT alien with awesome powers. Dee his sister does play an important role in the novel, she is very popular, she wants to be normal and she can do that with Katy.


I really enjoyed the plot of the book, the characters personalities, Daemon's infuriating passion to annoy Katy, and how their personal relationship develops throughout the book. I personally loved his character, him and Katy are opposites but they fit perfectly together. It was a sizzling, romantic read, and I could read it over and over again. I am sooo looking forward to the next book in the series and also many more books by Jennifer. 

Thanks Jennifer for creating such awesome books


Here's a Teaser:
“I’m not a kid. I’m seventeen.”
“Is that so?” He blinked. “You look like you’re twelve. No. Maybe
thirteen, but my sister has this doll that kind reminds me of you. All
big-eyed and vacant.” (all rights to Jennifer L. Armentrout & Entangled Publishing) (Page 7)

Buy links for Obsidian

Obsidian on Goodreads

Jennifer's blog:

Half-Blood (Covenant #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout GIVEAWAY

YAY!! Half-Blood is officially out today!!! With this wonderful news, I am giving away 2 copies of this fantastic book. Jennifer L. Armentrout is an amazing writer. Remember to check out her LIVE SHOW Tuesday at 7pm EST. Happy Release Day Half-Blood, can't wait until Pure!!

**Also if you are interested- Check out my friend at another blogs giveaway. She is giving away 6 copies of Daimon by Jennifer L. Armentrout (US only) Check Out Creative Reads ***

 Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout
The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi-pure-bloods-have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals-well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden.Unfortunately, she's crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn't her biggest problem--staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck. ( My REVIEW)
 


Monday, October 17, 2011

Monday Reads - Buy Tuesday (October 18)

 Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout
 The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi-pure-bloods-have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals-well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden.Unfortunately, she's crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn't her biggest problem--staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck. ( My REVIEW)


Virtuosity by Jessica Martinez 
Now is not the time for Carmen to fall in love. And Jeremy is hands-down the wrong guy for her to fall for. He is infuriating, arrogant, and the only person who can stand in the way of Carmen getting the one thing she wants most: to win the prestigious Guarneri competition. Carmen's whole life is violin, and until she met Jeremy, her whole focus was winning. But what if Jeremy isn't just hot...what if Jeremy is better?
Carmen knows that kissing Jeremy can't end well, but she just can't stay away. Nobody else understands her--and riles her up--like he does. Still, she can't trust him with her biggest secret: She is so desperate to win she takes anti-anxiety drugs to perform, and what started as an easy fix has become a hungry addiction. Carmen is sick of not feeling anything on stage and even more sick of always doing what she’s told, doing what's expected.
Sometimes, being on top just means you have a long way to fall....

Dearly, Departed by Lia Habel
 Love can never die.
Love conquers all, so they say. But can Cupid’s arrow pierce the hearts of the living and the dead—or rather, the undead? Can a proper young Victorian lady find true love in the arms of a dashing zombie?
The year is 2195. The place is New Victoria—a high-tech nation modeled on the manners, mores, and fashions of an antique era. A teenager in high society, Nora Dearly is far more interested in military history and her country’s political unrest than in tea parties and debutante balls. But after her beloved parents die, Nora is left at the mercy of her domineering aunt, a social-climbing spendthrift who has squandered the family fortune and now plans to marry her niece off for money. For Nora, no fate could be more horrible—until she’s nearly kidnapped by an army of walking corpses.
But fate is just getting started with Nora. Catapulted from her world of drawing-room civility, she’s suddenly gunning down ravenous zombies alongside mysterious black-clad commandos and confronting “The Laz,” a fatal virus that raises the dead—and hell along with them. Hardly ideal circumstances. Then Nora meets Bram Griswold, a young soldier who is brave, handsome, noble . . . and dead. But as is the case with the rest of his special undead unit, luck and modern science have enabled Bram to hold on to his mind, his manners, and his body parts. And when his bond of trust with Nora turns to tenderness, there’s no turning back. Eventually, they know, the disease will win, separating the star-crossed lovers forever. But until then, beating or not, their hearts will have what they desire.
In Dearly, Departed, romance meets walking-dead thriller, spawning a madly imaginative novel of rip-roaring adventure, spine-tingling suspense, and macabre comedy that forever redefines the concept of undying love.

 The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater
It happens at the start of every November: the Scorpio Races. Riders attempt to keep hold of their water horses long enough to make it to the finish line. Some riders live. Others die.
At age nineteen, Sean Kendrick is the returning champion. He is a young man of few words, and if he has any fears, he keeps them buried deep, where no one else can see them.
Puck Connolly is different. She never meant to ride in the Scorpio Races. But fate hasn’t given her much of a chance. So she enters the competition — the first girl ever to do so. She is in no way prepared for what is going to happen. 




Friday, October 14, 2011

Recommend Fridays (6)

Recommended Fridays is a once-a-week spot, created by Amanda from Stuck in YA Books, where participating bloggers can recommend one of their favorite reads from any genre of their choosing. Bloggers who participate are asked to post the banner on their post and add their direct links in the comments below. If other bloggers are participating be sure to stop by and let them know.

This week my Recommend Friday is.....TOUCH (Denzen #1) BY JUS ACCARDO

I just recently read this and it was FANTASTIC, Kale will steal your hearts away with his words. I will be part of the blog tour which starts next month, so stay tuned for my review:) But if you like YA paranormal this is the perfect book for you!!!! Thanks Jus Accardo and Entangled Publishing

Add this to your lists: GOODREADS

Summary:
When a strange boy tumbles down a river embankment and lands at her feet, seventeen-year-old adrenaline junkie Deznee Cross snatches the opportunity to piss off her father by bringing the mysterious hottie with ice blue eyes home.

Except there’s something off with Kale. He wears her shoes in the shower, is overly fascinated with things like DVDs and vases, and acts like she’ll turn to dust if he touches her. It’s not until Dez’s father shows up, wielding a gun and knowing more about Kale than he should, that Dez realizes there’s more to this boy—and her father’s “law firm”—than she realized.

Kale has been a prisoner of Denazen Corporation—an organization devoted to collecting “special” kids known as Sixes and using them as weapons—his entire life. And, oh yeah, his touch? It kills. The two team up with a group of rogue Sixes hellbent on taking down Denazen before they’re caught and her father discovers the biggest secret of all. A secret Dez has spent her life keeping safe.

A secret Kale will kill to protect.



Whats your Recommend Friday?? 
- Add your link below

Thursday, October 13, 2011

Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake

 Anna Dressed In Blood (Anna #1)
Author: Kendare Blake
Publisher: Tor
Publish Date: August 30, 2011
Genre: YA, Paranormal
Pages: 316

Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead. So did his father before him, until he was gruesomely murdered by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father's mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. Together they follow legends and local lore, trying to keep up with the murderous dead—keeping pesky things like the future and friends at bay. When they arrive in a new town in search of a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas doesn't expect anything outside of the ordinary: track, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he's never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, now stained red and dripping with blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.
Review: *May contain spoilers*

As a reviewer from Thunder Bay, where the story mostly takes place, I can tell you that I thoroughly enjoyed reading about Cas and Anna's story. Cas Lowood character is strong mentally and physically. I love the history Blake presents in her novel based on Anna's background. The supernatural aspect added was even better. Through the descriptions of the city, I pictured the whole thing since I knew where everything was since I live in the region. Anna Dressed in Blood won't let you down!! From the action of ghosts from the first chapter, the whole book pulls you into Kendare Blake's world of Cas and Anna's journey. Even Carmel and Thomas the supporting characters played a major role :) Carmel is the Queen Bee at Sir Winston Churchill Collegiate & Vocational Institute:

Cas is a strong character who is like "ghost-busters" but awesomer (if that's a word). He travels to places where ghosts, who have being killing people and he destroys them. I loved the suspense of what happened to Cas' father before he and his mother moved around. Anna really develops when we finally meet the scary ghost Anna.
Anna really surprised me. I actually adored her character, even if she kills lots of people for the past years. Anna has a story of her own. She has so much about her, like how she died, *Spoiler* Why she doesn't kill Cas when he enters her house. I found their whole relationship really strong. The ending was fantastically done. I was on my toes waiting to find out what will happen next!! The new cover for the next one came out today so check it out!!

As a history major this book really fascinated me because of the research Kendare Blake did by coming to Thunder Bay. Her writing was brilliant and beautiful. The descriptions of the house and Anna was awesome !! If you haven't check out this book I recommend you read it!!! 2012 needs to come quicker:)

~Amanda

Here's the new cover for Anna #2!! SOOO PRETTY

Cover Reveals





 This is such a pretty cover!! I just finished Anna yesterday. Now I can't wait to read the next book in the series!! Blake is an awesome writer. YA Paranormal is soo awesome.



 I loved Half-Blood<3 it. So looking forward what is happening in the world at Deity Island with Alex, Aiden and Seth

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (14)

Incarnate (Newsoul  #1)

NEWSOUL
Ana is new. For thousands of years in Range, a million souls have been reincarnated over and over, keeping their memories and experiences from previous lifetimes. When Ana was born, another soul vanished, and no one knows why.

NOSOUL
Even Ana’s own mother thinks she’s a nosoul, an omen of worse things to come, and has kept her away from society. To escape her seclusion and learn whether she’ll be reincarnated, Ana travels to the city of Heart, but its citizens are suspicious and afraid of what her presence means. When dragons and sylph attack the city, is Ana to blame?

HEART
Sam believes Ana’s new soul is good and worthwhile. When he stands up for her, their relationship blooms. But can he love someone who may live only once, and will Ana’s enemies—human and creature alike—let them be together? Ana needs to uncover the mistake that gave her someone else’s life, but will her quest threaten the peace of Heart and destroy the promise of reincarnation for all?

Jodi Meadows expertly weaves soul-deep romance, fantasy, and danger into an extraordinary tale of new life.
Hardcover, 384 pages
Expected publication: January 31st 2012 by HarperCollins Children's Books

Check it out on GOODREADS 

I can't wait to read this one. It has reincarnations, and love. I will be adding this one to my list. Waiting for January to hurry + the cover looks soo pretty:)

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Teaser Tuesday

"No matter how much I may love-- scratch that, loved, past tense-- Josh, I was no dummy. Everyone knows the Y chromosome carries with it the instinctive urge to lie under pressure.
Which, incidentally, was what Josh was going to be under when I found him. Serious pressure."
(page 3)
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...