Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (20)

Title: Auracle
Author: Gina Rosati
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Expected Release: August 7, 2012
ADD TO GOODREADS

On the surface, there’s nothing remarkable about Anna Rogan: She gets average grades, she’s not especially fashionable, she spends most of her time just hanging out with her best friend Rei. But Anna does have a remarkable secret: she has the ability to do astral projection. She uses her out-of-body experiences to explore the universe, until one day when there’s an accident at school and her classmate Taylor gets into her body. Now Taylor’s using her new identity to accuse an innocent boy of murder and she shows no signs of leaving Anna’s body. The only person who knows Anna’s secret is Rei, and as her feelings for Rei grow she must face a future where they can never touch...unless they can get find a way to get Taylor out of Anna’s body, stop the murder trial, and discover the true nature of Anna’s power

I am soo looking forward to this book! It looks exciting and full of paranormal!

What is your Waiting on Wednesday?? 
--> Leave me a link to yours! 

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Teaser Tuesday- Pure by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Here is a teaser from PURE!!!!

 "I reached for the bag again, but Aiden caught my hand. His fingers wrapped around mine. Our hands fit perfectly together." (page 69)

Words by the awesome Jennifer L. Armentrout

Monday, November 28, 2011

Winners - Surprise Giveaway

Sunday, November 27, 2011

Heroine Tournament- Team Clara

Hey everyone! This year I will be representing Clara from Unearthly by Cynthia Hand. I love this series and I love Clara because she is one awesome heroine. In the tournament Clara first faces off against Rose from Vampire Academy on December 12, 2011. If you are a fan of the Unearthly series and loves Clara as your favorite heroine, be sure to vote!! A Big thanks to Cynthia Hand for creating such awesome book and the awesome characters that go along with it. I love all of the books, including the upcoming release of the next part of the series Hallowed !! Good luck to all the other competitors!!

How YOU can help:)
  • Please vote on December 12 at YA Sisterhood blog. Voting will last 24 hours and her first opponent is Rose of Vampire Academy
  • You can also spread the word about voting, by tweeting, blogging, tumbler, facebook and much more would be soo appreciated 
  • The hashtag for Clara is #VoteClaraHeroineTourney 
  • I will also be tweeting and blogging and it will also be on my Facebook Page
Lets make Clara our Heroine for this Tournament! Let's make this a fun voting and if you have any ideas you can leave a comment below:D

Check out these AWESOME Buttons created by Avery from Avery's Book Nook
 Thank YOU!!


YA 
Sisterhood


YA 
Sisterhood


YA 
Sisterhood



Saturday, November 26, 2011

In My Mailbox (21)

 
 This week I got:

For Review:

Pure (Covenant #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout (e-ARC)(I LOVED this book!!) Thanks to Jennifer L.Armentrout
Bought:
The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins 
Special Thanks to Jennifer L. Armentrout because she is SUPER AWESOME and I love all her books!! I look forward to many more to come especially Deity :D


Friday, November 25, 2011

Half-Blood Facebook Page

Hey Everyone!

I am glad to present a Covenant Fan group on Twitter totally dedicated to Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout! Come check it out! Covenant Fan
The group was created by Reading Angel and myself!!

This is the Official Fan Group of the Covenant Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout. If you are a fan of this series, please join and chat with us!!

Rules:
We all love books and reading, so please be respectful of each other and each others opinions.
You will be removed if you can not follow this simple rule.
Since these are Young Adult books please keep in mind that we may have young adult readers in this group and talk appropriately.

 Thanks:D



Half-Blood:

The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi-pure-bloods-have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals-well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden.Unfortunately, she's crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn't her biggest problem--staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.

Thursday, November 24, 2011

Catching Jordan (Hundred Oaks #1) by Miranda Kenneally

Title: Catching Jordan
Author: Miranda Kenneally
Pages: 288
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Expected Release: December 1, 2011 
Order/Buy:Barns & Noble, Amazon.com, Book Depository, 
Chapters Indigo


What girl doesn't want to be surrounded by gorgeous jocks day in and day out? Jordan Woods isn't just surrounded by hot guys, though - she leads them as the captain and quarterback on her high school football team. They all see her as one of the guys, and that's just fine. As long as she gets her athletic scholarship to a powerhouse university. But now there's a new guy in town who threatens her starring position on the team... and has her suddenly wishing to be seen as more than just a teammate.

Review:  

Catching Jordan had the perfect blend of sports and romance into one great book. Miranda Kenneally did a perfect job with Jordan as her main character who is explaining her life as one of the best quarterbacks in her school. I found that Jordan can stand up for herself in spite of being friends with boys on her football team, and I would envy her because as she describes all the boys are Hot. 


Jordan's relationship with her father isn't the strongest father daughter, because he doesn't support Jordan and her passion for joining a college who has a football team, because most college football teams think girls are weak and would get hurt. She tries to get his attention due to that he never goes to any of her games etc, but as the reader you will see what will change. Her best friend Sam Henry a.k.a Henry is a total sweetie, even if he may appear to be a jerk. but he did grow on me and my heart go thump thump.


The romance was awesome, I figured there was one straight romance but Kenneally surprised me with the chemistry that happens between Jordan and the new quarterback. But on the other side, I saw that another certain person was also jealous! I do love these things in books for some reason, makes my heart go crazy and I dont know who to root for. But some times I wanted to smack Ty because of some of the things he said to Jordan. 

I always want my father/mother to back me up in whatever profession I choose, and sometimes they do that for helping you, but we as teenagers/adults still learn from mistakes. This book gave me another reason not to give up on my dreams. The writing was also awesome, I could read Miranda's writing all day, since I was hooked! Now I get to look forward to her next novel which is coming out next year, and is like a companion to Catching Jordan! Be sure to pick up this book, it might surprise you that it isnt just about football, its about the people you love!



-Amanda

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (19)

Author: Kiera Cass
Pages: 336
Publisher: HarperTeen
Expected Publication: April 24, 2012

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in the palace and compete for the heart of the gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn't want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she's made for herself- and realizes that the life she's always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Ok I cant wait to read this! It sounds seriously awesome and it would totally be awesome to read this book! HarperCollins has too many books I want to read!

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Pyxis: The Discovery by K.C. Neal

Author: K.C. Neal
Paperback to be released December 2, 2011
Published by StoneHouse Ink
Young Adult/Teen Paranormal Fantasy

Two worlds... one 16-year-old girl must learn to protect them both. 
The nightmares haunting Corinne and her friend Mason hint at a universe that exists beyond the one they know. Her destiny is to protect a weakness between the two worlds, but the person who was supposed to teach her everything is dead. As Corinne and Mason search for answers, she tries to ignore the sparks igniting between them, but can't deny she feels safe only when he's nearby. Will they find help before their nightmares break free?



Review: 

Pyxis was out of this world great! I loved the whole book from beginning to end. Corrine, her best friend Ang, and of course handsome Mason!! Pyxis has mystery, paranormal and romance rolled up into one exciting book! The whole novel was jaw-dropping and it will want you to want to read the next book in the series. Corrine and Mason are my favorite characters because:

1. Mason is such a cutie
2. Corrine is a brave main character who goes through so much history in her family.
3. The chemistry between these two is just undeniable
4. Each character plays a major role, including family members

K.C. Neal's Pyxis was one great read! I really look forward to the next book in the series, because I need to know what happens next, the ending left me speechless.Pyxis is on of those books that will blow you away with its amaziness and the romance was great! The whole story was a great read, and it was different in a good way to enjoy the characters who were trying to understand themselves and what they are meant to due in order to save Corrine who is the Pyxis. I would recommend this book to anyone for those in need of a good paranormal read! 

    GIVEAWAY!!!!!
Ok everyone as part of the tour for Pyxis, K.C. Neal and myself are giving away 1 e-book copy of Pyxis. This giveaway is open internationally! Follow the rafflecopter to enter to win a copy!!! 
* The rafflecopter is appearing to be my Big Surprise Giveaway. In order to enter for the Pyxis you will have to click the header of the review to enter, and it will bring you to the comment section! Sorry of the inconvenience


Kindle eBook
Preorder the Paperback  
Nook eBook
 
 








Sunday, November 20, 2011

Book Batch Mondays (2)

Book Batch Mondays was created by Amanda at Stuck In YA Books. This meme tells other readers what books are coming out that week on the Tuesday or any day of the week. Anybody is able to participate in this meme.

Hey everyone, books coming out this week that look awesome are: 


It's 1996, and less than half of all American high school students have ever used the Internet.

Emma just got her first computer and an America Online CD-ROM.

Josh is her best friend. They power up and log on--and discover themselves on Facebook, fifteen years in the future.

Everybody wonders what their Destiny will be. Josh and Emma are about to find out.


When her older sister commits suicide and her divorcing parents decide to divide the ashes, Harper Scott takes her sister's urn to the one place June always wanted to go: California. On the road with her best friend, plus an intriguing guy with a mysterious connection to June, Harper discovers truths about her sister, herself and life.     

MY SOUL TO LOSE
The prequel: never before in print!
Kaylee is just your average girl shopping at the mall with friends—until a terrified scream burst from her that cannot be stopped.
Taken to a hospital ward, will she be able to save her mind—and her life?

MY SOUL TO TAKE
She always felt different, but now Kaylee discovers why. The screams that cannot be denied mean that someone near her will die—and she can never save them. Because saving one life means taking another...

MY SOUL TO SAVE
Going on dates with her boyfriend is still new to Kaylee. But when the singer of the band they're seeing dies and Kaylee doesn't scream, she knows something carzy is going on. Soon she discovers soul can indeed be sold..

Friday, November 18, 2011

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Author: Tahereh Mafi
Pages: 338
Publisher: HarperCollins/HarperTeen
Release Date: November 15, 2011 

Juliette hasn't touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette's touch is fatal. As long as she doesn't hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don't fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war-- and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she's exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

In this electrifying debut, Tahereh Mafi presents a world as riveting as The Hunger Games and a superhero story as thrilling as The X-Men. Full of pulse-pounding romance, intoxicating villainy, and high-stakes choices, Shatter Me is a fresh and original dystopian novel—with a paranormal twist—that will leave readers anxiously awaiting its sequel.

Review: *may contain spoilers*(will be highlighted)

Shatter Me blew me away! It was a fantastic read, from the first pages I was hooked with Juliette's story. Adam was adorable, I LOVED him throughout this book. Tahereh Mafi creates a world that is so great that it makes you want to read more about this AMAZING book. Shatter Me is one of the best books I read this year, with it action, romance and even some villains from the Reestablishment (Warner) 

Juliette has not touched anybody in 264 days, then she get her new cellmate Adam, and there were a few surprises for me in the beginning of the book, but they were good surprises. I loved Mafi's characters I give them 5/5 or even 10/10 because this book is to awesome and the romance in the novel was great! Other readers say that there was "too much make-out" but there really wasn't it had the perfect amount, but remember these characters, *know each other from the past and are connected. She is able to touch Adam*(spoiler)  I loved these characters, Juliette's touch is power and many people want this power to be used against the people who are bad, and Juliette does not want to participate in this, and Adam is her way out of this evil world. Mafi's writing will blow you away, because of its descriptive setting and what her world creates, you can picture it in your mind. Its beautiful and this is what I like about books, its the setting, it sets the mood and its everywhere.

It did remind me of X-men but it was way better! Overall this book is one you have to pick up right away, because you will fall in love with this book, you will be addicted into the author's world and the things that are taking place at the moment. I recommend this book because its full of action, romance and a good dose of dystopian which are awesome. I cant wait to read the next book in the series, will be waiting patiently for this one. Pick up this book immediately!!


5/5 
-Amanda

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (18)

Title: Above
Author: Leah Bobet
Pages: 368
Expected Release: April 1, 2012
Publishers: Arthur A. Levine Books 


Matthew has loved Ariel from the moment he found her in the tunnels, her bee's wings falling away. They live in Safe, an underground refuge for those fleeing the city Above--like Whisper, who speaks to ghosts, and Jack Flash, who can shoot lightning from his fingers.

But one terrifying night, an old enemy invades Safe with an army of shadows, and only Matthew, Ariel, and a few friends escape Above. As Matthew unravels the mystery of Safe's history and the shadows' attack, he realizes he must find a way to remake his home--not just for himself, but for Ariel, who needs him more than ever before.



I cant wait to read this book! It sounds super good and the covers is B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L !! the whole summary makes me want to read this more!! :) 

What are you waiting for?

Sunday, November 13, 2011

Touch by Jus Accardo + Interview

 When a strange boy tumbles down a river embankment and lands at her feet, seventeen-year-old adrenaline junkie Deznee Cross snatches the opportunity to piss off her father by bringing the mysterious hottie with ice blue eyes home.

Except there’s something off with Kale. He wears her shoes in the shower, is overly fascinated with things like DVDs and vases, and acts like she’ll turn to dust if he touches her. It’s not until Dez’s father shows up, wielding a gun and knowing more about Kale than he should, that Dez realizes there’s more to this boy—and her father’s “law firm”—than she realized.

Kale has been a prisoner of Denazen Corporation—an organization devoted to collecting “special” kids known as Sixes and using them as weapons—his entire life. And, oh yeah, his touch? It kills. The two team up with a group of rogue Sixes hellbent on taking down Denazen before they’re caught and her father discovers the biggest secret of all. A secret Dez has spent her life keeping safe.

A secret Kale will kill to protect.

Find Touch on Goodreads.

Review: 

 I got an early ARC for review by the publishers of Entangled. I was overjoyed to being apart of this book tour. In this highly anticipated novel, Jus Accardo gives her readers, romance and action in her first debut. From the first 100 pages, the characters really shine, you will fall in love with these characters. The connection between Kale and Dez is so strong that the magnetic pull towards them overpowers another love interest. The plot was really put together beautifully. As one of the characters described its like X-Men, but they are so much cooler with their powers. Touch by Jus Accardo is one of the best YA Paranormal novels, I've fallen in love with another HOT boy.. KALE.

Kale is one of the most funniest characters + charming in my books. He maybe new to the normal world, but one thing he does know is love. His innocence is one of the things I loved about him. Some of the funny things about the outside world.  Dez and Kale love unfolds in the first novel. The novel was one of  the best paranormal books I read in a while. It was hot, sizzling and it was awesome. Jus Accardo is another author whose books I will be looking for in the future. I cant wait to read more in the next book!  This book is a must read!!!

Interview: 
1) How did you come up with the idea of Sixes?
 
Kale came to me first (though in the original idea Dez and Kale’s roles
were reversed). I started writing and connected him to Marshal in the
first few chapters. As Marshal’s role grew, I realized Kale wasn’t alone.
Poof. The Sixes were born.
 
2) Favorite character to write about?
 
This is a hard one. Kale’s firsts were so much fun to write. Funny and
emotional, his scenes were some of my favorite. And then there’s Dez.
She’s such a strong character. Brave and loyal, she can take care of
herself and would do anything for those she loves. There’s Ginger who made
me giggle at times. I’d be sitting here writing her scenes and could
picture them so clearly in my head… She has one hell of a presence for a
fictional character, that woman. I guess that doesn’t really answer the
question… Really, I can’t answer the question. I kinda loved them all J
 
3) How long did Touch take you to write?
 
The first draft was done in three weeks!
 
4) Is there any similarities between you and Dez when you were writing?
 
Hmm... Well we can both throw a mean right hook and we share a lot of the
same tastes in music. Other than that, we share a bit of the same snark,
but past that, nada.
 
5) If you had any ability that the Sixes have which would it be?
 
I’d really want to have the ability to talk to animals. I have 3 dogs and
I’d love to find out what goes on inside their heads. And there is this
Alpaca farm a few miles down the road. Something tells me Alpacas would be
awesome to chat with… Just a gut feeling.
 
6) One book you recommend to read?
 
One? Wow. Um… One book I could read over and over again (and have) is
Nightlife by Rob Thurman.
 
7) What do you like to do on your spare time?
 
I grew up in a kitchen so food and cooking is a huge part of my life. I
love the outdoors and animals, and I’m a cartoon freak and World Of
Warcraft junkie.
 
8) Favorite thing about Kale and Dez?
 
My favorite thing about Kale and Dez is their fierce dedication to each
other. 
 
Touch from Amazon and barnesandnoble.com


Author Bio:
 
Jus Accardo is the author of YA paranormal romance and urban fantasy
fiction. A native New Yorker, she lives in the middle of nowhere with her
husband, three dogs, and sometimes guard bear, Oswald. Her first book,
Touch, is due out in November 2011 from Entangled Publishing. She is
represented by Kevan Lyon of Marsal Lyon Literary Agency.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Saturday, November 12, 2011

In My Mailbox (19)

A feature exclusively titled by Kristi from The Story Siren that is used by several blogs to display their received reads for the week. I had good week this week! The wonderful people at Hachette Canada sent me to review A Midsummer's Nightmare, which I cant wait to read because I love all of Kody's books! I also won a copy of Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout (<3 this book too)! Leah Clifford also sent me a book when she had her live show, she sent me Au Revior Crazy European Chick by Joe Schreiber. She is super awesome:D I also get to review the Incarnate which am excited to read! Jodi Meadows is awesome, and I cant wait to read her debut novel. Unearthly is also awesome! Tucker <3



For Review: 
-->Thanks to Hatchette Canada <3 
Incarnate (Newsoul #1) by Jodi Meadows (E-ARC) (Who is SUPER awesome) It has such a pretty cover!!
--> Thanks to HarperCollins and Netgalley

Won:
--> Check out my Review

--> from Leah Clifford author of A Touch Mortal!! she also sent me some A Touch Mortal and Witch Eyes swag !! 

Bought: 
Unearthly (Unearthly #1) by Cynthia Hand (paperback) + its also kinda shiny  
--> Review
Muse (Mercy #3) by Rebecca Lim (e-book) another pretty cover
What is in your mailbox?


Thursday, November 10, 2011

Angel Burn by L.A. Weatherly

Author: L.A. Weatherly
Pages: 449
Publishers: Candlewick Press
Date Released: May 24, 2011
Source: E-book

Willow knows she’s different from other girls, and not just because she loves tinkering with cars. Willow has a gift. She can look into the future and know people’s dreams and hopes, their sorrows and regrets, just by touching them. She has no idea where this power comes from. But the assassin, Alex, does. Gorgeous, mysterious Alex knows more about Willow than Willow herself. He knows that her powers link to dark and dangerous forces, and that he’s one of the few humans left who can fight them. When Alex finds himself falling in love with his sworn enemy, he discovers that nothing is as it seems, least of all good and evil. In the first book in an action-packed, romantic trilogy, L..A. Weatherly sends readers on a thrill-ride of a road trip - and depicts the human race at the brink of a future as catastrophic as it is deceptively beautiful.

They’re out for your soul . . . and they don’t have heaven in mind.

Review:  

Angel Burn was different than any, I mean any angel book I have read. The cover really draws you in and also the synopsis. But I did like it. It had a different take on what angels can do to humans. I did like the 3 character point of views from Willow, Alex, Jonah, and one important angel. It was very well written. The beginning was a little slow, until Alex came into the picture and saved Willow from the Angels, since she is a Half-Angel who is very powerful. These Angels are not the ones we picture in the bible or even in pictures. These Angels are evil things that can make the human race die! 


It did take me a while to get into it, but it did succeed in capturing my attention with the plot and the characters. I thought the romance was a little quick between Willow and Alex, but I think they still would have fallen in love with each other despite being stuck and running away from the CIA and the Church of Angels.  L.A. Weatherly has beautiful writing! Her writing sucks you in and you can imagine what she is writing, especially the action scenes + romance scenes. The ending had the most action and it can bring you to surprise, but it was very interesting how the Angel population does come to be when they land on Earth. 


Overall, it is a great book to read. It takes Angels to a new idea. Romance is discovered between two people who are the forbidden to be together. The first few chapters will get you attention. Alex and Willow are very good characters who do belong together. Weatherly is a talented writer and I look forward to the next book Angel Fire when it comes out early next year to find out more about them and the world of evil Angels. 

4/5

-Amanda 

Tuesday, November 8, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (17)

Author: Megan McCafferty
Pages: 304
Publisher: Balzer + Bray 
Expected Publication: April 24th 2012

THE CONCLUSION TO ONE OF THE MOST TALKED-ABOUT NOVELS OF LAST YEAR

It’s been thirty-five weeks since twin sisters Harmony and Melody went their separate ways. And now their story has become irresistible: twins separated at birth, each due to deliver twins…on the same day! Married to Ram and living in Goodside, Harmony spends her time trying to fit back into the community she once believed in. But she can’t forget about Jondoe, the guy she fell for under the strangest of circumstances. To her adoring fans, Melody has achieved everything: a major contract and a coupling with the hottest bump prospect around. But this image is costing her the one guy she really wants.
The girls’ every move is analyzed by millions of fans eagerly counting down to “Double Double Due Date.” They’re two of the most powerful teen girls on the planet, and they could do only one thing to make them even more famous:

Tell the truth.

What's your Waiting on Wednesday?
- leave me your link and I will come by, I love looking at other W.O.W!!


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at the Breaking The Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

Teaser Tuesday


“Maybe … maybe it wasn‟t such a good idea to use these,” I said.
“What do you think that word on the box means? Pyxis?”
“I don‟t know. Let me get my laptop.” I hurried to the other end of the basement and into my room.

 Summary:

Two worlds... one 16-year-old girl must learn to protect them both.

The nightmares haunting Corinne and her friend Mason hint at a universe that exists beyond the one they know. Her destiny is to protect a weakness between the two worlds, but her mentor is dead. As Corinne and Mason search for answers, she tries to ignore the sparks igniting between them, but can't deny she feels safe only when he's nearby. Will they find help before their nightmares break free?

Monday, November 7, 2011

Remembrance Tour Schedule

Here is the Remembrance Tour Schedule: Bloggers will either Review or Interview. Michelle has also set up a giveaway! To enter for the giveaway, you will be going to Michelle's blog:) Here is the link
Michelle and I are very excited to start this tour. I cant wait to visit each of the stops, I hope you do to:) Tour starts TOMORROW!

Thank you
November  8- Book Breather
November  9- The Fiction Fairy
November 10- Book Crook Lisa
November 11- Alexa Loves Books
November 12- Shortie Says (Jena)
November 13- The Book Barbies
November 15- Creative Reads (Shellie)
November 17- The Story Queen
November 19- Bookish Delights
November 20- I'm a Book Shark (Interview)
November 22- I Love Books Club
November 23- Storybound Girl
November 26- Fans of Fiction

Sunday, November 6, 2011

Books am Most Thankful for



The book am most thankful for would be.............

The Blue Blood series. This series made me love books even more. The characters were just awesome! I cant wait to read the final book in the series. Melissa de la Cruz is a fantastic author, I cant wait to read more of her books. My sister got me on this series. I am thankful for everything Melissa has done for this series!

Saturday, November 5, 2011

In My Mailbox (18)


      
Books I bought:
Crossed (Matched #2) by Ally Condie

For Review:
The Dragonfly Prophecy Jacquelyn Castle (picture)
Hallowed (Unearthly #2) by Cynthia Hand (Netgalley)

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi (Netgalley)

Everneath by Brodi Ashton (Netgalley)


 Thank You HarperCollins :) & Maryglenn McCombs


Won:
Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi


                                                        


The Tempest (The Tempest #1) by Julie Cross

Author: Julie Cross
Pages: 352
Publisher: St Martin Griffin
Release Date: January 17, 2012
Source: Netgalley

The year is 2009.  Nineteen-year-old Jackson Meyer is a normal guy… he’s in college, has a girlfriend… and he can travel back through time. But it’s not like the movies – nothing changes in the present after his jumps, there’s no space-time continuum issues or broken flux capacitors – it’s just harmless fun. 
That is… until the day strangers burst in on Jackson and his girlfriend, Holly, and during a struggle with Jackson, Holly is fatally shot. In his panic, Jackson jumps back two years to 2007, but this is not like his previous time jumps. Now he’s stuck in 2007 and can’t get back to the future.Desperate to somehow return to 2009 to save Holly but unable to return to his rightful year, Jackson settles into 2007 and learns what he can about his abilities.But it’s not long before the people who shot Holly in 2009 come looking for Jackson in the past, and these “Enemies of Time” will stop at nothing to recruit this powerful young time-traveler.  Recruit… or kill him.Piecing together the clues about his father, the Enemies of Time, and himself, Jackson must decide how far he’s willing to go to save Holly… and possibly the entire world.

Review:  
I really love this book!! It had action, romance, time traveling and mystery!!! It was one of those books that you can't put down. Each of Julie Cross' character was brilliantly written. This is Julie Cross first debut and I think she did an amazing job with this novel. From the first page you know it will be a good read. I actually enjoyed the romance of going back in time to figure out why he is able to time travel. Jackson and his relationship with Holly is sooo cute, I was rooting with them from day one.  I found I understood this more compared to The Time Travelers Wife (which I also enjoyed)

What I like most about the Tempest is that there was soo many things that Jackson found out by time-traveling back in time. With him being stuck in 2007, he has to adjust to the way some of what was going on after some family issues. So many secrets and action with an evil enemy who can also time travel. Crosses writing and technique showed in how she develops her characters and plot. I really cant wait to read what will happen next in the series, the ending was cute. Julie Cross' debut novel will grab your attention and take you on a traveling through time ride!!

Thursday, November 3, 2011

Cover Reveal (Endlessly by Kiersten White)

Author: Kiersten White
Pages: 320
Publisher: HarperTeen
Expected Publication: July 24, 2012


The third book in the Paranormalcy trilogy.

The final chapter of Evie's adventures. Old friends, new ones, all wrapped up in impossible decisions. And some ball gowns. Because what's a life of normal and paranormal drama without a ball gown or two?



OMG this so soooo gorgeous!! I love HarperTeens covers they are always soo pretty. I love this series also and I cant wait for the final book to come out:) 
What do you think of this cover?

Cover Reveal (Fated by Alyson Noel)

This is the new cover for Alyson new series Soul Seekers #1 in the series Fated:)

Author: Alyson Noel
Publisher: St. Martins Giffin
Pages: 304
Expected Release Date: May 2012

It’s a young adult supernatural novel and it’s a completely new world. This book is going to be set in the Southwest, most likely New Mexico. So it’s going to have a very different atmosphere, landscape and feel, and it’ll explore the ability to walk through the Upperworld and the Underworld and to walk amongst the dead. It’s about a 16-year-old girl, who starts suffering the symptoms of what appears to be a psychotic break. But her grandmother recognizes it for what it is: her heredity ability—her father had it as well—to walk between the Upperworld and the Underworld.


 What do you think? I personally like it:)

So Exciting

I was looking at the new cover of Fated (Soul Seekers #1) by Alyson Noel on her blog today and I noticed she posted part of my review on her site!!! I was sooo excited:) I have been a big fan of Alyson since she started the series, even got my first swag from her!!

Here's what she posted on her blog:

“Let me say that this is by far the best series I have ever read. From the first book, until the final, the characters have truly grown…Noel does it beautifully in her final novel in the Immortal Series, due to the wonderful plot and adventures…Everlasting really wraps things up nicely due to all the journeys Ever has to go through.It blew my expectations (2x)…The ending was AMAZING…beautifully written…Thanks to Alyson Noel for creating a beautiful series, I cant wait until her next series comes out next year called Soul Seekers!!”—Loves Books Reviews 


Ahhh soo exciting:)
To check out my full review click HERE

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines

Title: The Vincent Boys
Author: Abbi Glines
Format: Kindle
Release Date: October 21, 2011

Being the good girl isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Ashton Gray has grown weary of playing the part to please her parents, and to be worthy of the town’s prince charming, Sawyer Vincent. Maybe That’s why she’s found herself spending time with Sawyer’s cousin, Beau, while he’s away for the summer camping with his family. Beau is nothing like her perfect boyfriend. He’s the sexiest guy she’s ever seen, dangerous in ways she’s only day dreamed about, and the one guy she should stay away from.
Beau never envied Sawyer his loving parents, his big nice home, or his position as quarterback. He loves him like a brother. Which is why he's tried everything in his power to keep his distance from Sawyer’s girlfriend. Even if he has loved her since the age of five, Ashton is Sawyer’s girl, so therefore she’s off limits. But when Sawyer leaves for the summer, Ashton, the one girl Beau would move Heaven and Earth for, decides she wants to get into trouble. Stabbing the one person who’s always accepted him and stood by him in the back, is the cost of finally holding Ashton Gray in his arms. Is she worth losing his cousin over?.... Hell Yeah.

Review:  

I love Abbi Glines!! She again created an amazing YA story. Ashton and Beau's point of views are really well done and we get to know more about them. Ash was a very dependent character. She really relied on Sawyer and Beau throughout her life. Beau was a very interesting character, he is one of those characters that you really want to get to know better, don't underestimate the bad boy, he may surprise you. His cousin Sawyer went out of town with his family during the summer. While he is away his girlfriend Ash develops her friendship with Beau again. They were best friends, but his love for Ashton is growing to love, once he connects with Beau once again.

I liked the plot of the book. Ashton really loves Sawyer, but her really love is for Beau, who likes the read her for her, not the show she puts on when she's with Sawyer. Lots of secrets and rumors are in this novel. I find its more of a romance YA with tons of action and hot boys. The Sawyer boys are trouble.  But behind all that you fall in love with Beau.

I hope Abbi Glines creates a sequel to this novel (she might), and the many more novels she creates. I loved Breathe, which you can check out my review and I loved this one too. I recommend people check out this book.

~Amanda
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...