Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Cover Reveal: Lucid by P.T. Michelle & more

Coming this spring (official date to be announced) here is the cover for "Lucid", the second book in the amazing Brightest Kind Of Darkness series by P. T. Michelle!
I will read the first one soon!! I have been hearing great things about this series! 

Other Covers Revals:

Monday, January 30, 2012

Incarnate Theater Treasure Hunt


Welcome to the INCARNATE Theater Treasure Hunt!

This week, 45 bloggers are celebrating the release of INCARNATE by Jodi Meadows by participating in a treasure hunt with clues, activities, and lots of prizes including signed books and handknit fingerless mitts. You've reached a CLUE blog, which means somewhere on this page is a clue to finding the hidden page and grand prize entry form on Jodi's website. Follow 26 clues to get there!

Treasure Hunt Ends February 6th.

For more information on the INCARNATE Theater Treasure Hunt, check out Jodi's post. [http://www.jodimeadows.com/?p=568]

(Look how cute!!!)

Welcome Stef to Stuck In YA Books! Stef is one of the characters in Incarnate. Very glad to have her here today: As the release of Incarnate is coming closer, I will be asking you a few questions.

SIYAB: Stef what can you tell me about yourself?
Stef: I design and build new technology. 

SIYAB: Can you tell me one thing about your friend Sam?
Stef: Sam is my best friend and a musician. He helped me with the sound quality for various devices, like my SED. It had to be exactly right.


SIYAB: What do you like to do when you are not working?

Stef: I love working and designing new pieces of technology. My job is fun for me. But when I need a break, I enjoy playing music with Sam, cooking, and . . . some would call it getting into trouble, but I call it experiencing life.
SIYAB:  Do you remember who you were in a past reincarnation?

Stef:  Absolutely. Don't you? 
SIYAB:What did you think of Ana the first day Sam brought her into Heart?

Stef: I thought she was little and cute. I hadn't heard much about her before that. Like Sam and Li, Li and I haven't been friends millennia, so I had few preconceived ideas about Ana. But she's all right. I feel bad for her because she's going to get her heart broken.

My Clue is  A (forth word)

 

Check out your next clues here:


Ramblings (of a fiber obsessed transplant Vermonter)
Mermaid Vision Books
Book Chelle

GIVEAWAY!! One copy of Incarnate to one Lucky Winner It will End Feburary 7, 2012


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, January 28, 2012

In My Mailbox (29)


This week I only bought 1 book! I did get a package from Raincoast books and tons of textbooks for school:P

For Review- Thanks to Raincoast Books (Thanks Crystal) and Harlequin Teen

Embrace by Jessica Shirvington (white one)
Article 5 by Kristen Simmons 
Switched by Amanda Hocking (ARC)  *I also have a finish copy*
Goddess Interrupted (The Goddess Test #2) by Aimee Carter (ARC- Netgalley)
Spellcaster (Spellbound #2) by Cara Lynn Shultz (ARC-Netgalley)


Bought: 


Darkness Becomes Her (Gods and Monsters #1) by Kelly Keaton 
Overprotected by Jennifer Laurens (was free on Amazon)


Friday, January 27, 2012

Double Cover Reveals- Spencer Hill Press Edition

Title: Touch of Death 
Author: Kelly Hashway 
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press (www.SpencerHillPress.com) 
ISBN: 978-1-937053-30-7  
Release Date: January 2013 
List Price: $12.95 
Formats: Trade Paperback, e-book 
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal



Summary:

Jodi Marshall isn't sure how she went from normal teenager to walking disaster. One minute she's in her junior year of high school, spending time with her amazing boyfriend and her best friend. The next she's being stalked by some guy no one seems to know.


After the stranger, Alex, reveals himself, Jodi learns he's not a normal teenager and neither is she. With a kiss that kills and a touch that brings the dead back to life, Jodi discovers she's part of a branch of necromancers born under the 13th sign of the zodiac, Ophiuchus. A branch of necromancers that are descendents of Medusa. A branch of necromancers with poisoned blood writhing in their veins.


Jodi's deadly to the living and even more deadly to the deceased. She has to leave her old, normal life behind before she hurts the people she loves. As if that isn't difficult enough, Jodi discovers she's the chosen one who has to save the rest of her kind from perishing at the hands of Hades. If she can't figure out how to control her power, history will repeat itself, and her race will become 
extinct.


Title: PODs
Author: Michelle Pickett
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press (www.SpencerHillPress.com)
ISBN: 978-1-937053-28-4
Release Date: June 2013
List Price: $12.95
Formats: Trade Paperback, e-book
Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi, Thriller
Summary: (GOODREADS)
Seventeen-year-old Eva is a chosen one. Chosen to live, while others meet a swift and painful death from an incurable virus so lethal, a person is dead within days of symptoms emerging. In the POD system, a series of underground habitats built by the government, she waits with the other chosen for the deadly virus to claim those above. Separated from family and friends, it's in the PODs she meets David. And while true love might not conquer all, it's a balm for the broken soul.

After a year, scientists believe the population has died, and without living hosts, so has the virus. That's the theory, anyway. But when the PODs are opened, survivors find the surface holds a vicious secret. The virus mutated, infecting those left top-side and creating... monsters.

Eva and David hide from the infected in the abandoned PODs. Together they try to build a life--a new beginning. But the infected follow and are relentless in their attacks. Leaving Eva and David to fight for survival, and pray for a cure.

What do you think of these covers??  I personally love them and the sound of these books look amazing!! Be sure to add them to your TBR list:)

Thursday, January 26, 2012

Follow Friday (6)

Q: Which book genre do you avoid at all costs and why?

Good question, I think I avoid anything with self-help and magazines (dont really read them anymore). This is because when I go to the book store I go straight to the Young Adult section/ Fiction section(depends on which Author will be on the shelf ex. Emily Giffin, Meg Cabot) I have always never liked self-help, I found it boring and it didnt help me. Magazine are too full of gossip, I can only handle so much. 

What do you avoid? 

Blog Improvements??

Hello,

The Question is out there, how can I improve my blog?
  • Blog layout
  • giveaways
  • reviews
  • weekly memes
  • etc
leave me a comment:) I appreciate all honest opinions 

Thanks so much, 

P.S. **If you dont want to put it in the comments, you can e-mail me

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (28)

Title: Monstrous Beauty
Author: Elizabeth Fama
Pages: 295
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) 
Expected Release: August 21, 2012

Summary: (GOODREADS
Fierce, seductive mermaid Syrenka falls in love with Ezra, a young naturalist. When she abandons her life underwater for a chance at happiness on land, she is unaware that this decision comes with horrific and deadly consequences. Almost one hundred forty years later, seventeen-year-old Hester meets a mysterious stranger named Ezra and feels overwhelmingly, inexplicably drawn to him. For generations, love has resulted in death for the women in her family. Is it an undiagnosed genetic defect . . . or a curse? With Ezra’s help, Hester investigates her family’s strange, sad history. The answers she seeks are waiting in the graveyard, the crypt, and at the bottom of the ocean—but powerful forces will do anything to keep her from uncovering her connection to Syrenka and to the tragedy of so long ago.

Why I cant wait?
1. I love the cover of the book
2. the summary totally invites you in Elizabeth Fama's world
3. Mermaids 
4. It has supernatural and history/myths
5. It looks awesome!!!!

Tuesday, January 24, 2012

Teaser Tuesday - Existence by Abbi Glines

 Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


 My Teaser:   
"Hey did you forget something?" he asked, reaching for my hand. I shook my head, afraid the huge gaping hole Dank had just torn in my heart was visible to the world." (kindle version)


Summary: (Amazon) (GOODREADS)

What happens when you're stalked by Death? You fall in love with him, of course.

Pagan Moore doesn't cheat Death, but instead, falls in love with him.

Seventeen year old Pagan Moore has seen souls her entire life. Once she realized the strangers she often saw walking through walls were not visible to anyone else, she started ignoring them. If she didn't let them know she could see them, then they left her alone. Until she stepped out of her car the first day of school and saw an incredibly sexy guy lounging on a picnic table, watching her with an amused smirk on his face. Problem is, she knows he's dead.

Not only does he not go away when she ignores him, but he does something none of the others have ever done. He speaks. Pagan is fascinated by the soul. What she doesn't realize is that her appointed time to die is drawing near and the wickedly beautiful soul she is falling in love with is not a soul at all.

He is Death and he's about to break all the rules.

BUY HERE

Monday, January 23, 2012

Everneath by Brodi Ashton

 Title: Everneath
Author: Brodi Ashton
Pages: 384
Publisher: Harper Collins / Balzer + Bray
Expected Release: January 24, 2012
Source: Netgalley 
Pre-Order: Amazon| Barns & Noble | Chapters Indigo| Book Depository

Summary: (Goodreads)

Last spring, Nikki Beckett vanished, sucked into an underworld known as the Everneath, where immortals Feed on the emotions of despairing humans. Now she's returned- to her old life, her family, her friends- before being banished back to the underworld... this time forever.

She has six months before the Everneath comes to claim her, six months for good-byes she can't find the words for, six months to find redemption, if it exists.

Nikki longs to spend these months reconnecting with her boyfriend, Jack, the one person she loves more than anything. But there's a problem: Cole, the smoldering immortal who first enticed her to the Everneath, has followed Nikki to the mortal world. And he'll do whatever it takes to bring her back- this time as his queen.

As Nikki's time grows short and her relationships begin slipping from her grasp, she's forced to make the hardest decision of her life: find a way to cheat fate and remain on the Surface with Jack or return to the Everneath and become Cole's...

                                A copy was provided by HarperCollins for review

Review: 

This book was sooooo good!!!!! Its a definitely a MUST read. If you are a big fan of Greek gods and mythology with a romance twist this book is for you. I fell in love with the whole thing since I did start it at 11pm and stayed up until almost 3am, and I just finished it. It had a great plot, the romance with Nikki and Jack was adorable, I was awwwing throughout it because I just wanted these characters together! 

The whole novel was very well written, and the way Brodi Ashton does it hooks you on this whole idea of the Everneath, the information and the characters were amazing. I am a big fan of mythology, so I was hooked when I first started the book. I thought the book wasnt confusing at all because it was easy to understand what was happening at the beginning of each chapter. 

Nikki was brought back after just waking up from a 100 year nightmare in Everneath. The one that that kept Nikki sane was her love for Jack because he is her boyfriend and she love him. Jack has to be the sweetest boyfriend, and when Nikki shows us what was leading up to her fall to the Everneath, it does piece together at why she went along with Cole. Cole was a very cool character, he was interesting even though he is very persistent with Nikki about returning to the underworld as his queen. Love triangles are a very interesting thing because we don't know what man she will choose, but its very clear that she is still in love with Jack (unconditionally). Even I fell in love with Jack and his personality. Cole I think will be playing with my heart in the next one!

The story does have a great scenes and it picks up when Nikki wants to fight against going back to the evil place that took her in the first place. It was very different to any other mythical books. The writing was very well done, I was hooked from the start. It is definitely one series that I will be looking forward to when the next 2 books come out!!! Be sure to pick this one up!!

5/5 



Saturday, January 21, 2012

In My Mailbox (28)

This week is has been my favorite for IMM for the new year because some of the most awesome things came in the mail this week!! I got Unearthly and Hallowed both from the best author Cynthia Hand <3 her because she signed both of her books to me!!! I will covet these books forever!! I also got one surprise from Penguin Canada/ Razorbill from my account with them, I will be lending this out to Reading Angel. It was The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour. I have heard great things from this author. Also another package that came with Cynthia Hands was my winnings from Kiersten White!! I won from her Christmas giveaway, and won the WHOLE set of the Paranormalcy series!! YES I have an ARC of ENDLESSLY which I cannot wait to read because I loved the series + they are all signed!!!!  <3 <3 It has been an EPIC week because both of these authors are Super AWESOME!! I did buy Tempest by Julie Cross and Everneath by Brodi Ashton (check soon for a review) I found them at Coles and was excited! For Review: I've Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella from Netgalley!! Here are the Pics:

Books Mentioned:
For Review:
Lies Beneath (#1) by Anne Greenwood Brown (Netgalley) Thanks Random House
I've Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella (Netgalley) Thanks Random House
The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour.
--> Thanks Penguin Canada <3

Bought: 
Tempest (#1) by Julie Cross  (My Review)
Everneath (#1) by Brodi Ashton (Review will be posted soon)
Existence (#1) by Abbi Glines 

Surprise/Won:
Unearthly (#1) by Cynthia Hand (signed) + swag (My Review
Hallowed (Unearthly #2) by Cynthia Hand (signed) (My Review)
Paranormalcy (#1) by Kiersten White (signed) 
Supernaturally (Paranormalcy #2) by Kiersten White (signed) (My Review)
Endlessly (Paranormalcy #3) by Kiersten White (signed) one of the First ARCs given away by Kiersten!!!


       





Cover Reveal: Predestined by Abbi Glines

Predestined (Existence #2)


   Predestined (Existence #2)
coming Spring 2012

You would think after helping save her boyfriend from an eternity in Hell that things would go back to normal. Well, as normal as life can be when you can see souls and your boyfriend is Death. But for Pagan Moore, things are just getting weirder. 
The high school quarterback and reigning heartthrob, Leif Montgomery, is missing. While the town is in a frenzy of worry, Pagan is a nervous wreck for other reasons. Apparently good ‘ol Leif isn’t your average teenage boy. He isn’t even human. According to Death, Leif doesn’t have a soul. The quarterback may have skipped town but he’s still showing up in Pagan’s dreams... uninvited. 
Dank has known from the beginning Leif wasn’t human. But he hadn’t worried about a simple soulless creature. Now, he realizes he made a grave mistake. Pagan’s soul has been marked since birth as a restitution, to a spirit so dark not even Death walks near it.  Dank knows saving Pagan’s soul won’t be easy but Pagan is his. And he’s already proven he’ll defy Heaven to keep her. If Hell wants a piece of him too,  then bring it on. 
 
 
THIS COVER IS AWESOME!!!! I am currently reading Existence and its sooo good!! 

BUY THE BOOK: Existence
 AmazonBarnes & Noble

Friday, January 20, 2012

March Madness Giveaway Preview

Hello!! 
As many of you know, March is in 2 months, and in the spirit of "spring cleaning" + I need room I will be doing a surprise box giveaway!! YAY =) I am showing a sneak peek at this box of goodies!! This giveaway will be CAN/US. Sorry International viewers. I wish I could send out to you since all of you are awesome, but being a student, its a bit expensive :( But here is a few pics of the giveaway!!

MARCH MADNESS GIVEAWAY!!

 Trust me there is more!!! I just need to find a bigger box! 

Follow Friday (5)

Q: What's the craziest thing you've ever done to get your hands on any particular book?

A: That`s a hard question, but I guess it was when I was at Chapters looking for Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. I knew beforehand that they had the book in the store, but they didnt put them on the shelves yet. I asked one of the workers if they were able to help me. They searched their system and told me that it was just delivered yesterday (this was a Tuesday). So they searched the shelves, nothing, then she told me they would put it on hold for me. But being me, I knew one of the workers, who usually knows me to maybe get the book from the back:) It took a little while, but I did get the book. This has happened a lot to me, but eventually I do get that particular book that I want.   

Whats the craziest you have done!

Thursday, January 19, 2012

Cover Reveals

The Space Between Us by Jessica Martinez


From the author of Virtuosity, a novel about two sisters and the secrets they tell, the secrets they keep, and the secret that tears them apart.

Amelia is used to being upstaged by her charismatic younger sister, Charly. She doesn’t mind, mostly, that it always falls to her to cover for Charly’s crazy, impulsive antics. But one night, Charly's thoughtlessness goes way too far, and she lands them both in serious trouble.

Amelia's not sure she can forgive Charly this time, and not sure she wants to…but the situation is even worse than either of them realizes. Amelia has no choice but to give up everything--her friends, her future, her dream--in order to cover for Charly’s huge mistake.

Amelia doesn't understand how her sister could have done this to them both. What she doesn't know is that Charly is hiding a terrible secret—one with the potential to change everything.

The Goddess Hunt (The Goddess Test #1.5)


No summary












What do you think of the covers!!

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (27)

Title: Deity (Covenant #3)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Release Date: November 6, 2012


Why I cant wait!!
1. I LOVE ANYTHING BY JENNIFER
2. MORE AIDEN/SETH
3. What is going to happen !!
4. The characters are amazing
5. Can it be November LOL
6. PICK UP THESE BOOKS!!

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

Teaser Tuesdays

Anyone can play along, just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (Make sure that what you share doesn't give too much away! You don't want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title and the author, too, so other TT participants can add the book to their TBR List if they like your teaser!
     
    My Teaser:
    "Holding hands with Jax Stone and feeling like we connected. He didn’t seem like a rock star anymore. He wasn’t the guy I saw on posters and in magazines. He wasn’t the hottie I’d seen on MTV. He was just Jax."

Monday, January 16, 2012

Book Blog Tour: Sign Ups

Hello everyone!! Once again, I have teamed up with an awesome author Julie Duck. We will be looking for 20 bloggers to participate in the tour. For this tour, posts can be reviews, interviews with Julie, This or That, character interviews. There will also be prizes that will be included. Once 20 bloggers have participated, I will be sending them all and e-mail for more information. Here is the cover and the blurb for the book A Place In Life. The tour will take place from February 13- March 9. The weekends there will be no reviews. 
Format: E-Book

For Natalie Miller, it’s just another family vacation. For someone else, it’s the opportunity he’s been waiting for.

With only a single peck from a guy named Frank, Natalie’s anything but experienced with boys. But when Todd pops out of the water, says hi, and tells Natalie he has leukemia, all of that changes.

She’s never had attention like this from a boy, let alone one who’s a real charmer with sex on the brain and the experience to match. Drawn to Todd like a magnet, Natalie gives him her friendship, her love, and her body. Even when she’s tempted by gorgeous, healthy schoolmate Alex, Natalie’s desire to love and care for Todd pushes her to see how far love can go in spite of the potential for death of the relationship — and death of the one she loves.
 ______________________________________________
If you are in participating in the tour leave me a comment and a e-mail address and which date you would like (February 13- March 9) *weekends off* and the type of post you would like to do.  
  • Reviews, 
  • Interviews with Julie, 5 Questions max.
  • This or That, 
  • Character interviews
  • Excerpts 
Feb:

Monday: 13-(Interview)  Maji Bookshelf
14- Brett @ Demons Read Too (Review)
16 - Shellie *review/interview* @ Creative Reads
Friday:  17 Character Interview- Racquel @The Book Barbies

Monday: 20 -*review/This or That--> Jena @Shortie Says 
21
22- Medeia Sharif (Review)
23- Jacinda @ The Reading Housewives  This or That
Friday: 24 - Kayla @ Simply Kayla

Monday 27  - May Abraham
28- Tee @A Diary of a Book Addict *review/character Interview
29 - Excerpt* Tess @ My Pathway to Books
*March*
1- Patricia @ Patricias Particularity (review/ Interview on the 7th of March)
Friday 2 -Ajoop @ on books! Review/Author Interview

Monday 5 Tee @Dreaming Dreams No Mortal Ever Dared This or That
6- Jessy @ Jessys Book Ends Review/Interview
7- Baily @ Novel Nerd Review/ Character Interview
8- Review/This or That Marissa@ For the Love of Films and Novels
Friday 9- Andrea @ Cozy Up   Review/Interview

    Thanks soo much from myself and Julie!
    * I will be filling in bloggers as they post comments!*
    P.S. I am also looking for bloggers who are able to make buttons for the tour!**

    Thanks Brett from Demons Read too for making one of the buttons on the tour:D

    Saturday, January 14, 2012

    In My Mailbox (27)

    Hey everyone!! This week has been really good despite me getting sick, but I am feeling much better now:) 

    Review: 
     Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer--> Thanks to Raincoast books <3
    Slide by Jill Hathaway (Netgalley & HarperCollins)
    Partials by Dan Wells (Netgalley & HarperCollins)
    Destiny's Fire by Trisha Wolfe (Thanks to Omnific Publishing)

    Bought: 
    A Million Suns (Across the Universe #2) by Beth Revis
    The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (signed)
    Hallowed (Unearthly #2) by Cynthia Hand <3<3 --> My Review
    Fated by Sarah Alderson

    Won:
    Bloodrose (Nightshade #3) by Andrea Cremer (Thanks Dream)


    Whats in your mailbox?
    Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...