Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (33)

Title: The Summer of No Regrets
Author: Katherine Grace Bond
Pages: 304
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Expected Release: May 1, 2012

Summary: (Goodreads

Is he or isn't he? Brigitta's best friend is convinced that Brigitta's new crush, Luke, is actually egotistical teen heartthrob Trent Yves, hiding from his fans in their tiny town. But Brigitta actually likes Luke, whereas Trent is an arrogant jerk. As the two spend the summer together raising orphaned cougar cubs, Brigitta still can't be sure of his true identity. But then again, since her grandparents' death, her father's sudden urge to give away all their possessions and become a shaman, and her own awkward transition from girlhood into a young woman, what can she be sure of?

Why I Am Excited:

1. I love the cover!
2. The summary sounds awesome
3. Who is this crush Luke
4. I love contemporary
5. I want to read it:) + Sourcebooks has tons of great books coming out!  

What is your Waiting on Wednesday??? Tell me yours in the comments!! 

ADD TO YOUR LISTS !!

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Embrace (The Violet Eden Chapters #1) by Jessica Shirvington

Title: Embrace
Author: Jessica Shirvington
Pages: 367
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire / Raincoast Books
Expected Publication: March 6, 2012

Summary: (Goodreads)

It starts with a whisper: “It’s time for you to know who you are…”

Violet Eden dreads her seventeenth birthday. After all, it’s hard to get too excited about the day that marks the anniversary of your mother’s death. As if that wasn’t enough, disturbing dreams haunt her sleep and leave her with very real injuries. There’s a dark tattoo weaving its way up her arms that wasn’t there before.

Violet is determined to get some answers, but nothing could have prepared her for the truth. The guy she thought she could fall in love with has been keeping his identity a secret: he’s only half-human—oh, and same goes for her.

A centuries-old battle between fallen angels and the protectors of humanity has chosen its new warrior. It’s a fight Violet doesn’t want, but she lives her life by two rules: don’t run and don’t quit. When angels seek vengeance and humans are the warriors, you could do a lot worse than betting on Violet Eden…

Look for the sequels ENTICED in September 2012 and EMBLAZE in March 2013!

* an ARC was provided by Raincoast Books for review*

Review: 

I thought this book was Amazing!! It had a great plot, and is officially one of my new favorite angel books. Jessica Shirvington novel Embrace had action, romance, and mystery that you want to know more of what is happening. It was captivating, addictive and it had amazing characters that you will absolutely love! In this debut Jessica Shirvington will have you from the beginning to the end. 


I loved Violet! She is one of those characters that is able to defend herself, but at the same time is very independent. Violet is a character with whom I did connect with and similar to ourselves. She will shock you and wanting to root for despite all the drama around 2 hot men who both want her. She discovers more about herself and what she is meant to do.  The choices to come will be interesting and I cant wait to read what will happen next. 


Now to the YUM part!! The boys in this book were HOT, ones that will take your breath away and some that are willing to make sacrifices for. Lincoln who is introduced first is soo cute that I want him! Lincoln really had me from the beginning and his respect for her was one of the reasons he is the perfect man who is loyal. This chemistry will be exciting and painful at the same time But he is hiding something important from Violet, her future and he would sacrifice himself for Violet, At the end, I was so torn between Lincoln and Violets other love interest Phoenix because the writing is brilliant!

Phoenix is the bad boy who will also tear your heart and have you begging for more because he is a character full of surprises, and every time either Lincoln or Phoenix were with Violet my heart was racing like crazy!! I still am having trouble of who I want Violet to be with. But these boys are addictive and you must read about them because they are to die for.  He was the one who was hard to figure out because he also will surprise you at the end and show himself for who he is. 


This book will definitely want you to read more by Jessica Shivington because it was out of this world awesome! It has tons of emotion which was very well because the writing was very addicting and I am soo looking forward to the sequel Entice because I need to know what will happen in the next book. The ending was very good, no cliffhanger but it does make you think which is good because it more excitement for the next one. Add this one to your TBR list because it will be one of those books you will always remember!


5/5

Thursday, February 23, 2012

Giveaway: A Million Suns by Beth Revis (Razorbill Celebration)

Title: A Million Suns (Across the Universe #2)
Author: Beth Revis
Pages: 386
Publisher: Razorbill
Release Date:  January 10, 2012
Format: Hardcover

Summary: (Goodreads)

 Godspeed was once fueled by lies. Now it is ruled by chaos. It’s been three months. In that time, Amy has learned to hide who she is. Elder is trying to be the leader he’s always wanted to be. But as the ship gets more and more out of control, only one thing is certain: They have to get off the ship.



Giveaway: 


Razorbill Canada has generously  offered one hardcover copy of A Million Suns by Beth Revis. In the spirit of the new site opening up in Canada. Its really an great site to go on to, talk about books and meet others. Penguin Canada is really awesome!

How to Enter: 




Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (32)

Title: Struck 
Author: Jennifer Bosworth
Pages: 373
Publisher:  Farrar, Straus and Giroux BYR 
Release Date: May 8, 2012

Summary: (Goodreads
Mia Price is a lightning addict. She’s survived countless strikes, but her craving to connect to the energy in storms endangers her life and the lives of those around her.

Los Angeles, where lightning rarely strikes, is one of the few places Mia feels safe from her addiction. But when an earthquake devastates the city, her haven is transformed into a minefield of chaos and danger. The beaches become massive tent cities. Downtown is a crumbling wasteland, where a traveling party moves to a different empty building each night, the revelers drawn to the destruction by a force they cannot deny. Two warring cults rise to power, and both see Mia as the key to their opposing doomsday prophecies. They believe she has a connection to the freak electrical storm that caused the quake, and to the far more devastating storm that is yet to come.

Mia wants to trust the enigmatic and alluring Jeremy when he promises to protect her, but she fears he isn’t who he claims to be. In the end, the passion and power that brought them together could be their downfall. When the final disaster strikes, Mia must risk unleashing the full horror of her strength to save the people she loves, or lose everything.

Why I am excited??

1.  I love the idea of the plot
2. The characters look really interesting
3. I cant wait!!!
4. The Cover is awesome
5. Pre-order this book!!

Add it here

Tuesday, February 21, 2012

The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg

Title: The Catastrophic History of You and Me
Pages: 400
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group 
Expected Release Date: February 21st 2012
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Barns & Noble| Book Depository

Summary (Goodreads

Brie's life ends at sixteen: Her boyfriend tells her he doesn't love her, and the news breaks her heart - "literally." But now that she's in heaven, Brie is about to discover that love is way more complicated than she ever imagined. Back in Half Moon Bay, her family has begun to unravel. Her best friend knows a secret about Jacob, the boy she loved and lost - and the truth behind his shattering betrayal. And then there's Patrick, Brie's mysterious new guide and resident Lost Soul who's been D&G (dead and gone) much longer than she? and who just might hold the key to her forever after. With Patrick's help, Brie will have to pass through the five stages of grief before she's ready to move on? but how do you begin again, when your heart is still in pieces?


   * Copy was provided from Penguin Canada Young Readers for honest review*


Review:  

I really loved this book!! Overall it took me one day to finish this awesome book about heaven, secrets, the 5 stages of death and some really good twists that I didnt see it coming. Brie is a very interesting main character because from her point of view we find out some of what was happening. This book had me in tears at some parts because it was beautifully written. I loved every single character! It has to be one of my favorite books to read. It also has an awesome cover that is no denying beautiful because it really does make it really awesome. 

The Catastrophic History of You and Me was very good from the beginning because at first we learn about the main character Brie who did suffer from a heart break (literally) but before she died her boyfriend Jacob who says he doesn't love her. At first I was like OMG poor Brie, now she has to find herself and look back at her life as she is in between heaven and hell.  I was shocked at some of the parts because I didnt expect it to happen. The story with Jacob was an interesting one, that will leave you with your mouth open. 

I think the plot was very good and it always kept me on the edge because you would never know what was going to happen. I think I did also fall in love with the male lead Patrick because when we first met him, from Brie arriving he announces he is a lost soul, but he plays a major part of Bries life in many ways you cant even think about. Patrick is one of those boys that you will love because of his smart comments and the way he encourages Brie to move on with her life than mess with what was going on in the present. There was heartbreak, love and a mix of emotion that goes with this book (bring a tissue). Patrick and Brie together are a fun thing because they are similar in way, he brings the best/worst of her but he does it for her benefit and she does realize this. The ones that show this message about love is the best!! Its a great read!! 

 I was either shocked or overwhelmed with happiness from reading. I was reading this on the way back from a trip and read it in roughly 6-7 hours. It was addictive and beautiful that it is a must read!! I will definitely be reading Jess Rothenberg's books in the near future because they are amazing!! 

Monday, February 20, 2012

Cover Reveal: Hidden (Firelight #3) by Sophie Jordan

A dangerous journey.
Shattered bonds.
Undying passion.
Jacinda was supposed to bond with Cassian, the "prince" of their pride.
But she resisted long before she fell in love with Will—a human and, worse,
a hunter. When she ran away with Will, it ended in disaster, with Cassian's
sister, Miram, captured. Weighed down by guilt, Jacinda knows she must rescue
her to set things right. Yet to do so she will have to venture deep into the heart
of enemy territory.


The only way Jacinda can reach Miram is by posing as a prisoner herself,
though once she assumes that disguise, things quickly spiral out of her control.
As she learns more about her captors, she realizes that even if Will and Cassian
can carry out their part of the plan, there's no guarantee they'll all make it out
alive. But what Jacinda never could have foreseen is that escaping would be
only the beginning....

Loyalties are tested and sacrifices made in the explosive conclusion to Sophie
Jordan's Firelight trilogy.
OMG This cover is sooo pretty!! I cant wait to see what is going to happen next in the end this amazing trilogy!! And it comes out on September 11, 2012 from HarperTeen!! 
What do you think??

Cover Reveal: Inbetween (Kissed by Death, #1) by Tara Fuller

Title: Inbetween
Author: Tara Fuller
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
Expected Release: August 7, 2012

Summary:

Since the car crash that took her father’s life three years ago, Emma’s life has been a freaky—and unending—lesson in caution. Surviving “accidents” has taken priority over being a normal seventeen-year-old, so Emma spends her days taking pictures of life instead of living it. Falling in love with a boy was never part of the plan. Falling for a reaper who makes her chest ache and her head spin? Not an option.

It’s not easy being dead, especially for a reaper in love with a girl fate has put on his list not once, but twice. Finn’s fellow reapers give him hell about spending time with Emma, but Finn couldn't let her die before, and he’s not about to let her die now. He will protect the girl he loves from the evil he accidentally unleashed, even if it means sacrificing the only thing he has left…his soul.
  
 


Paperback Available for Pre-Order from Amazon:

Saturday, February 18, 2012

In My Mailbox (32)


 Hosted by Kristi @ The Story Siren
I have had one awesome week!! I went to Minneapolis this past weekend and I went to Barns & Noble, which was awesome because I found a pretty hardcover of Shatter Me + Article 5! Then Monday was an awesome day because I got 2 packages in the mailbox from Raincoast Books and Gina Rosati. I was soo excited when I opened it up because the books from Raincoast included the most awesome books, Of Poseidon, a finished copy of Article 5 (I now have 2 copies), another copy of Embrace (love the original cover) Girl Meets Boy and Among Others. In Gina's package, which was soo exciting because she is an awesome author, she sent me an ARC of her debut novel Auracle (signed) and some awesome swag <3 Be sure to follow her on twitter:) On Wednesday, HarperCollins Canada sent me 40 Things I Want To Tell You for an upcoming blog tour, and Once by Anna Carey, really excited to read it! I suck at book bans LOL, I bought Harbinger and The Iron King because I have heard nothing but great things about the series. 

On Thursday, I was in contact with one of the publicists of RazorbillCA and I can say that this is an awesome community to get involved in. They just had a launch a few weeks ago in bring Razorbill to Canada. This is very exciting because tons of great books, I have an awesome giveaway coming up for one of the books! From Razorbill Canada was A Million Suns by Beth Revis and Once Every Never by Lesley Livingston (cant wait!) JOIN Razorbill --> HERE

For Review:

Of Poseidon by Anna Banks (ARC)
Girl Meets Boy by Various Authors (ARC)
Embrace (The Violet Eden Chapters #1) by Jessica Shirvington (ARC)
Article 5 (Article 5 #1) by Kristen Simmons (Finished Copy) --> MY REVIEW
Among Others by Jo Walton (Finished Copy)

--> Thanks to Raincoast Books!! 

Auracle by Gina Rosati (ARC) *signed* + Swag 
--> Thank you Gina for letting me review your upcoming book, and creating beautiful swag <3

Once (Eve #2) by Anna Carey (ARC)
40 Things I Want To Tell You by Alice Kuipers *Tour*
--> Thank you HarperCollins Canada 


A Million Suns (Across the Universe #2) by Beth Revis 
Once Every Never (#1) by Lesley Livingston 
--> Thank you Razorbill Canada 

Bought: 

The Iron King (Iron Fey #1) by Julie Kagawa
Harbinger  by Sarah Willion Entiennne

Thank you to Gina Rosati, HarperCollins Canada, Raincoast Books, Razorbill Canada, , for all the awesome books this week!

Whats was in you mailbox!

Friday, February 17, 2012

Cover Reveal: Finn Finnegan by Darby Karchut

Title: Finn Finnegan
Author: Darby Karchut
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press (www.SpencerHillPress.com) 
ISBN: 978-1-937053-32-1 
Release Date: March 12, 2013
Formats: Paper, e-book
Genres: Middle Grade/Young Adult, Fantasy
 
Summary:
 
Finn (not bleedin' Finnegan) MacCullen is eager to begin his apprenticeship. He soon discovers the ups and downs of hunting monsters in a suburban neighborhood under the demanding tutelage of the Knight, Gideon Lir. Both master and apprentice are descendents of the Tuatha De Danaan, a magical race of warriors from Ireland. Scattered long ago to the four corners of the world, the De Danaan wage a two thousand year old clandestine battle with their ancient enemy, the Amandán, a breed of goblin-like creatures.

Now with the beasts concentrating their attacks on Finn, he and his master must race to locate the lost Spear of the Tuatha De Danaan, the only weapon that can destroy the Amandán, all the while hiding his true identity from his new friends, Rafe and Savannah, twins whose South African roots may hold a key to Finn's survival. Armed with a bronze dagger, some ancient Celtic magic, and a hair-trigger temper, Finn is about to show his enemies the true meaning of "fighting Irish." 
 
This is a really cool cover: What do you think?? 
 

Thursday, February 16, 2012

Cover Reveal: Gravity by Melissa West

GRAVITY by Melissa West (October 2012)
Publisher: Entangled Publishing

BLURB:
In the future, only one rule will matter:

Don’t. Ever. Peek.

Seventeen-year-old Ari Alexander just broke that rule and saw the last person she expected hovering above her bed—arrogant Jackson Locke, the most popular boy in her school. She expects instant execution or some kind of freak alien punishment, but instead, Jackson issues a challenge: help him, or everyone on Earth will die.

Ari knows she should report him, but everything about Jackson makes her question what she’s been taught about his kind. And against her instincts, she’s falling for him. But Ari isn’t just any girl, and Jackson wants more than her attention.  She’s a military legacy who’s been trained by her father and exposed to war strategies and societal information no one can know—especially an alien spy, like Jackson. Giving Jackson the information he needs will betray her father and her country, but keeping silent will start a war.

Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (31)

Title: In Honor 
Author: Jessi Kirby
Pages: 288
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing 
Expected Publication: May 8, 2012

Summary: (Goodreads)

Honor receives her brother’s last letter from Iraq three days after learning that he died, and opens it the day his fellow Marines lay the flag over his casket. Its contents are a complete shock: concert tickets to see Kyra Kelly, her favorite pop star and Finn's celebrity crush. In his letter, he jokingly charged Honor with the task of telling Kyra Kelly that he was in love with her.

Grief-stricken and determined to grant Finn's last request, she rushes to leave immediately. But she only gets as far as the driveway before running into Rusty, Finn's best friend since third grade and his polar opposite. She hasn't seen him in ages, thanks to a falling out between the two guys, but Rusty is much the same as Honor remembers him: arrogant, stubborn. . . and ruggedly good looking. Neither one is what the other would ever look for in a road trip partner, but the two of them set off together, on a voyage that makes sense only because it doesn’t. Along the way, they find small and sometimes surprising ways to ease their shared loss and honor Finn—but when shocking truths are revealed at the end of the road, will either of them be able to cope with the consequences?

WHY I AM EXCITED!!

1. I really love books about road trips
2. The characters looks really fun
3. Heard from others that it is AMAZING
4. Can it be May??
5. PUT IT ON YOUR TBR lists!! 

What are you waiting for???

Tuesday, February 14, 2012

I've Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

Title: I've Got Your Number
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Pages: 448
Publisher: The Dial Press
Release Date: February 14, 2012
Buy:  Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Barns &Noble| Book Depository

Summary: (Goodreads)

I've lost it. The only thing in the world I wasn't supposed to lose. My engagement ring. It's been in Magnus's family for three generations. And now, the very same day his parents are coming, I've lost it. The very same day. Do not hyperventilate Poppy. Stay positive!!


Poppy Wyatt has never felt luckier. She is about to marry the ideal man, Magnus Tavish, but in one afternoon her 'happy ever after' begins to fall apart. Not only has she lost her engagement ring but in the panic that followed, she has now lost her phone. As she paces shakily round the hotel foyer she spots an abandoned phone in a bin. Finders keepers! Now she can leave a number for the hotel to contact her when they find her ring. Perfect!

Well, perfect except the phone's owner, businessman Sam Roxton doesn't agree. He wants his phone back and doesn't appreciate Poppy reading all his messages and wading into his personal life.

What ensues is a hilarious and unpredictable turn of events as Poppy and Sam increasingly upend each other's lives through emails and text messages. As Poppy juggles wedding preparations, mysterious phone calls and hiding her left hand from Magnus and his parents... she soon realises that she is in for the biggest surprise of her life.

Review:  

One of my new favorites by Sophie Kinsella, I've Got Your Number was full of great humor and even some of the romantic scenes ever! I fell in love with each of the characters, Poppy was such a good person and with her flaws is one that you can relate to. I loved Sam, because despite bringing the comments about Poppy he really got to be one of her best friends and in the end I was happy because it was a great scene. Its one of those books that will leave you wanting more from the story and the ending was done beautifully and I was totally waiting for it to happen! Rings can bring people together!!

The Story: What I liked most was the story lines because it was unique and it had one of Kinsella best humors in it! I have read many books by this author and this one has to be my favorite of all time because I was emotional at some parts with the end and the story with Poppy and Magnus were an interesting couple but as the reader sees, he is more like a child in a way, and that he loves her. As the story does go on it was an up and down emotional ride for me because I just wanted Poppy and Sam together!!! Sam is a really overall great character because Poppy really helps him and they discover this relationship through their cell phones and it can grow into something more.

This book is a definite read because it will leave you wanting more of Kinsella work because she does not disappoint in her novels. Her work is addictive as well as the characters because some people can relate to them. The characters will leave you laughing for more as well as the emotional aspect because despite the waiting it will be worth it! Be sure to pick this book up because you will not be disappointed!! Overall one of the best!! I want a Sam!!

Goddess Interrupted (The Goddess Test #2) by Aimee Carter

Title: Goddess Interrupted (The Goddess Test #2)
Author: Aimee Carter
Pages: 304
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Expected Release Date: March 27, 2012

Summary: (Goodreads)

Kate Winters has won immortality.

But if she wants a life in the Underworld with Henry, she’ll have to fight for it.

Becoming immortal wasn’t supposed to be the easy part. Though Kate is about to be crowned Queen of the Underworld, she’s as isolated as ever. And despite her growing love for Henry, ruler of the Underworld, he’s becoming ever more distant and secretive. Then, in the midst of Kate’s coronation, Henry is abducted by the only being powerful enough to kill him: the King of the Titans.

As the other gods prepare for a war that could end them all, it is up to Kate to save Henry from the depths of Tartarus. But in order to navigate the endless caverns of the Underworld, Kate must enlist the help of the one person who is the greatest threat to her future.

Henry’s first wife, Persephone.

                 * A copy was provided by Harlequin Teen for review through Netgalley*

Review: 
  
Goddess Interrupted was soo good like OMG Awesome!!! I thought its plot was very creative and it was amazing!! From beginning I was caught up in Kate and Henry's life in the Underworld. I loved the first book The Goddess Test, that I couldn't wait to read this book. It did not disappoint either. From every page Carter will grab your attention with Kate and Henry's in the Underworld, and the things that will happen along the way.  Kate was a bit whiny about how she wasn't sure that Henry loved her, but it is hard for him because in a way he still has a connection with his first wife Persephone. Calliope is still evil and I can expect to see her more in the next novel, she will leave us speechless.

Persephone was a very interesting character because we get to see this side of Henry that we never really saw in The Goddess Test. Henry was very cold in the beginning because after Kate got back he got a little jealous. But after he was taken to the Underworld, we see that Kate and Henry are still sorting out their feelings for each other. They are a normal couple, and they are trying to reach each other that people are conflicting with their reunion. I really did like this part because with this block between them because in the end, it was a BIG Surprise ending that I didnt even expect to happen!!


The sequel was really well done and put together. Aimee Carter is one of my favorite authors and she has created this series that I have fallen in love with her characters. Kate is a very dependent character, but she does show that she is very powerful in this book. We see her starting to get used to the role of Queen of the Underworld, with her husband Walter. It was a very great read and the ending was amazing because now I want the next book!! From beginning to end Aimee Carter left me wanting more of her writing because it was addictive, Goddess Interrupted is definitely a must read!!


5/5

Amanda

Monday, February 13, 2012

A Place in this Life Blog Tour!!

Made by Jacinda@ The Reading Housewives  Thank you!!
 Schedule from February - March
* There is no posts on the weekends* + Giveaway
Monday: 13-(Interview)  Maji Bookshelf
14- Brett @ Demons Read Too (Review)
16 - Shellie *review/interview* @ Creative Reads
Friday: 17 Character Interview- Racquel @The Book Barbies

Monday: 20 -*review/This or That--> Jena @Shortie Says 
21= break
22- Medeia Sharif (Review)
23- Jacinda @ The Reading Housewives  This or That
Friday: 24 - Kayla @ Simply Kayla

Monday 27  - May Abraham
28- Tee @A Diary of a Book Addict *review/character Interview
29 - Excerpt* Tess @ My Pathway to Books
*March*
1- Patricia @ Patricias Particularity (review/ Interview on the 7th of March)
Friday 2 -Ajoop @ on books! Review/Author Interview

Monday 5 Tee @Dreaming Dreams No Mortal Ever Dared This or That
6- Jessy @ Jessys Book Ends Review/Interview
7- Baily @ Novel Nerd Review/ Character Interview
8- Review/This or That Marissa@ For the Love of Films and Novels
Friday 9- Andrea @ Cozy Up   Review/Interview



About A Place in this Life: 
For Natalie Miller, it’s just another family vacation. For someone else, it’s the opportunity he’s been waiting for.

With only a single peck from a guy named Frank, Natalie’s anything but experienced with boys. But when Todd pops out of the water, says hi, and tells Natalie he has leukemia, all of that changes.

She’s never had attention like this from a boy, let alone one who’s a real charmer with sex on the brain and the experience to match. Drawn to Todd like a magnet, Natalie gives him her friendship, her love, and her body. Even when she’s tempted by gorgeous, healthy schoolmate Alex, Natalie’s desire to love and care for Todd pushes her to see how far love can go in spite of the potential for death of the relationship — and death of the one she loves.

GIVEAWAY!!
There will be a prize pack for 1 winner. It will include:

3  e-book copies of A Place in this Life by Julie Duck +
A Swag package from me:) 

How to Enter:


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, February 11, 2012

In My Mailbox (31)

Got a copy of Everneath by Brodi Ashton from Shellie @ Creative Reads

E-Books (Netgalley) for Review Thanks Macmillan Publishing
Before You Go by James Preller
Monstrous Beauty by Elizabeth Fama
Of Poseidon by Anna Banks
All These Lives by Sarah Wylie
Life Is But A Dream by Brain James
Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne
Some One Else's Life by Katie Dale
Struck by Jennifer Bosworth
Supergirl Mixtapes by Meagan Brothers
The Raft by S.A. Bodeen








Thursday, February 9, 2012

Article 5 by Kristen Simmons

Title: Article 5 (Article 5 #1) 
Author: Kristen Simmons
Pages: 384
Publisher: TorTeen/Raincoast Books
Release Date: January 31, 2012 

Summary: (Goodreads)

New York, Los Angeles, and Washington, D.C., have been abandoned.

The Bill of Rights has been revoked, and replaced with the Moral Statutes.

There are no more police—instead, there are soldiers. There are no more fines for bad behavior—instead, there are arrests, trials, and maybe worse. People who get arrested usually don't come back.

Seventeen-year-old Ember Miller is old enough to remember that things weren’t always this way. Living with her rebellious single mother, it’s hard for her to forget that people weren’t always arrested for reading the wrong books or staying out after dark. It’s hard to forget that life in the United States used to be different.

Ember has perfected the art of keeping a low profile. She knows how to get the things she needs, like food stamps and hand-me-down clothes, and how to pass the random home inspections by the military. Her life is as close to peaceful as circumstances allow.

That is, until her mother is arrested for noncompliance with Article 5 of the Moral Statutes. And one of the arresting officers is none other than Chase Jennings…the only boy Ember has ever loved.


 *ARC provided by Raincoast Books for Review*
Review:  

I really LOVED this book, it had great chemistry with the characters, the plot was fantastic and it grabs your attention right away.  I really liked how Kristen Simmons has created this world of dystopian. I knew I had to read this when I saw the summary of the book, because I love the sound of it. I wasn't wrong, because it blew me away with the characters and the plot. I really liked how Simmons put it together and the back history of the character with scenes of Chase and Ember. 


Article 5 was action packed and full of mystery of this new community that has risen after they had their wars. The world had some really outrageous laws that I could not believe that this was happening in this book. The soldiers which play a major role in this "world" has been the puppets in this plan to help take over old society with Brock as the main women to help "proper" young women since their parents were taken away or they were killed. I would run away from this society. 


Now to the main characters of whom I have loved since they are so great together, you have to know what is going on with their friendship/romance. I was rooting for these two since reading the back, and knowing that she loves him was even more encouraging because you want to know if Chase feels the same way as Ember (you see this develop more in the book) Simmons does it beautifully because I was crying at some parts, because of what was going on with there search for Ember's mom and how they clash as a couple in a way. As themselves they are both worthy, intelligent people, that out maneuver the law and save each other because they are a part of each others past.


They are the cutest couple through the beginning of how they are neighbors to the day he decides to become a soldier, her love for Chase is ever growing. After being apart from each other, you can see the tension raising between them. I love this type of romance because the anticipation is soo worth it, and they are very alike + Chase is soo dreamy!!


Based on this, I thoroughly recommend this book!! If you love dystopians this is a book for you! It had the perfect amount of action heart pounding scenes that will make you continue to read it. From beginning to end, you will want to know what is going to happen in the next book in this fantastic debut novel by Kristen Simmons. Pick this book up today!!!  


5/5

Amanda

On the Bright Side Blog Tour



S.R. Johannes Top 10 Middle Grade/Tween Books

I didn’t read much tween or middle grade books until I started writing one. So my list does’t go back as far as it probably should. But this is my top ten, mostly of recent books with a few classics.

Radiance by Alyson Noel
I love this book. Based on timeline, Alyson and I were writing our books at the same time and I love how they work parallel to each other. Riley is from the Evermore series and she becomes a soul catcher. I think Riley and Gabby would be good friends.

Harry Potter series by (oh…what’s her name?)
Seriously, need I say more? This book put children’s books on the map and has done so much for reluctant readers. But for me the plotting and character building was perfection.

Selling Hope by Kristin Tubb
I love how she weaves the historical element of the comet and Buster Keeton into this book

Princess For Hire series by Lindsey Leavitt
I think this series was adorable. I loved the concept of stepping in for another princess. It was a modern day Audrey Hepburn in Holiday.

Hatchett by Gary Paulson
One of my favorite books of all time. Survival at its best.

The Wanteds by Lisa Mcmann
I love that she brought dystopia to middle grade.

The Borrowers by Mary Norton
I loved this series when I was little. And I’m excited about the movie Arrietty

Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls
I think this is classified as middle grade. The whole book torn me apart but I love it still the same.

Bedknobs and Broomsticks by Mary Norton
This book is nothing like the movie. But it is a fantastic adventure through London, England and a tropical island.

Purchase Information

ISBNs

ebook: (available Jan 31st)
ISBN 10 – 0984799117
13 - 978-0-9847991-1-4

paperback (available in Feb)
ISBN-10: 0984799133
ISBN-13: 978-0-9847991-3-8

How to Buy:

Paperback will be available in Feb.

To buy the Kindle ebook - The ebook is .99 for the first month and can be purchased at amazon or B&N for now.


Author Bio:

S.R. Johannes is the author of Untraceable (a teen wilderness thriller) and On The Bright Side ( a tween paranormal). She lives in Atlanta Georgia with her dog, British-accented husband, and the huge imaginations of their little prince and princess, which she hopes- someday- will change the world. After earning an MBA and working in corporate america, S.R. Johannes traded in her expensive suits, high heels, and corporate lingo for a family, flip-flops, and her love of writing. 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...