Saturday, June 30, 2012

Stacking The Shelves (9) E-books/Swag Edition

e-books:

 Review:

Before We Go by Amy Bright
Brave Music of a Distant Drum by Manu Herbstein 
Through To You by Emily Hainsworth 
Breathe (Breathe‪ # 1) by Sarah Crossan 
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas 
Collateral by Ellen Hopkins

Thank You Edelweiss, Fitzhenry & Whiteside, HarperCollins, Bloombury UK, Simon Schuster,

Bought:

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson
Once (Eve 2) by Anna Carey
White Walls (Asylum 2) by Lauren Hammond
A Want So Wicked by Suzanne Young

Swag packs:

Spencer Hill Press bag and Swag- Thank You YA Sisterhood
Obsidian Swag from Entangled Publishing





Cover Reveal: Requiem (Delirium #3) by Lauren Oliver

OMG THIS COVER!!

 

Thursday, June 28, 2012

Cover Reveal Week!!

Hey Everyone!! There were A LOT of Cover Reveals this week!! So here they are! Click on them to go to their Goodreads page:)  I think I fell in love with all of the covers and also because I am excited for mostly all of them!

Everbound (Everneath #2) by Brodi Ashton

Two months ago, the Tunnels of the underworld came for Nikki Beckett. That night, Nikki's boyfriend, Jack, made the ultimate sacrifice. All Nikki wants is to save Jack before it's too late. All Cole wants is to find his queen - and he thinks Nikki is the one. Both determined, both desperate, Nikki and Cole form a tense alliance, leading them on a dangerous journey to The Heart of The Everneath.
 

Sever (The Chemical Garden #3) by Lauren DeStefano 
What if you knew exactly when you would die? In the not-too-distant future, genetic engineering has turned every newborn into a ticking time bomb — males only live to age 25 and females only live to age 20.
In this bleak landscape, young girls are kidnapped and forced into polygamous marriages to keep the population from dying out. When 16-year-old Rhine Ellery is taken by "the Gatherers" to become a bride, she enters a world of wealth and privilege. Rhine has only one purpose after she has been married to her new husband, Linden: to escape and find her twin brother.
But Rhine has more to contend with than losing her freedom. Linden's eccentric father is bent on finding an antidote to the genetic virus that is getting closer to taking his son, even if it means collecting corpses in order to test his experiments. With the help of Gabriel, a servant to whom she is dangerously attracted, Rhine is desperate to learn the truth and protect those closest to her. But, as her sister wife Cecily keeps insisting, her role may be much bigger than that.
In the first two books of the Chemical Garden trilogy, Wither and Fever, Rhine struggles to escape the mansion and then to navigate the brutal world outside. Now in Sever, the third and final book, Rhine uncovers some shattering truths about the past that her parents never had the chance to tell her and the alarming implications regarding her own genes. She may be the one who can save the human race.


Taken by Erin Bowman
 There are no men in Claysoot. There are boys—but every one of them vanishes at midnight on his eighteenth birthday. The ground shakes, the wind howls, a blinding light descends...and he’s gone.

They call it the Heist.

Gray Weathersby’s eighteenth birthday is mere months away, and he’s prepared to meet his fate–until he finds a strange note from his mother and starts to question everything he’s been raised to accept: the Council leaders and their obvious secrets. The Heist itself. And what lies beyond the Wall that surrounds Claysoot–a structure that no one can cross and survive.

Climbing the Wall is suicide, but what comes after the Heist could be worse. Should he sit back and wait to be taken–or risk everything on the hope of the other side



 Through The Ever Night (Under the Never Sky #2) by Veronica Rossi 



-no description




The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines #3) by Richelle Mead





- No Description 





Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2) by Tahereh Mafi 





- No Description


Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Canada Day Blog Hop

Happy Canada Day!!! YAY!! This year I will be giving away Reflection!! I seriously LOVED this book and I want everyone to read it too!! 


*Open Internationally*


1 copy of This Is Not A Test by Courtney Summers
+
One person will win an e-book of Reflection by Jessica Roberts

About Reflection: 

Bright, spunky Heather Robbins has escaped her small hometown and is anxiously beginning her freshman year of college. Rising above her rocky childhood, she’s found a place where good things are finally starting to happen: her own private apartment, refreshing college classes, and an intense attachment to a mysterious and rugged classmate, Nick Richards.

But when her dreamy college life turns out to be nothing more than a wonderful dream while resting in a coma, questions threaten.

Now, Heather must press forward to unlock the real past, and find the answers buried deep in her mind. What she unlocks instead is a roller coaster ride through flashbacks, embellished memories, and a whirlwind romance.

And when it’s all over and she comes face to face with the truth, will she lose everything she’s fallen in love with

Check out my Review --> HERE

Enter HERE: 
 a Rafflecopter giveaway







Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (45) The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Title: The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #2)
Author: Michelle Hodkin
Pages: 272
Publisher: Simon & Schuster for Young Readers
Release Date: October 23, 2012

Summary: (Goodreads)
 
The truth about Mara Dyer's dangerous and mysterious abilities continues to unravel in this gripping sequel to the thrilling "The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer." One week after Mara walked into a police station in Miami at the close of "The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer," she has been committed to psychiatric treatment for what her parents believe was a mental breakdown. But what seems like a hallucination to everyone else is a chilling reality for Mara. Someone from her past has discovered her strange, deeply disturbing secret and that someone wants her to pay. But when no one believes the truth, Mara is totally helpless. The only person on her side is Noah Shaw, as sexy and handsome as he is loyal and cunning. Noah is the only person who can help Mara--as long as he doesn't get himself killed in the process.
 
 I LOVED the first book and I am soo excited for the sequel!!! I cannot wait to find out what happens next!! The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer was one of my favorite books last year!! And the cover is amazing!! Be sure to also check out my review of The Umbecoming of Mara Dyer

What are you waiting on?

Review: Reflection (#1) by Jessica Roberts

Title: Reflection
Author: Jessica Roberts
Type: Kindle Edition
Publisher: S/P
Release Date: February 17, 2012


Summary: (Goodreads)

Bright, spunky Heather Robbins has escaped her small hometown and is anxiously beginning her freshman year of college. Rising above her rocky childhood, she’s found a place where good things are finally starting to happen: her own private apartment, refreshing college classes, and an intense attachment to a mysterious and rugged classmate, Nick Richards.

But when her dreamy college life turns out to be nothing more than a wonderful dream while resting in a coma, questions threaten.

Now, Heather must press forward to unlock the real past, and find the answers buried deep in her mind. What she unlocks instead is a roller coaster ride through flashbacks, embellished memories, and a whirlwind romance.

And when it’s all over and she comes face to face with the truth, will she lose everything she’s fallen in love with?

                          *Received for review by the author*
Review: 

I thought Reflection was perfect, my emotions were everywhere and the chemistry between Heather and Nick OMG! In Jessica Roberts novel, Reflection the characters, writing and romance where out of this world beautiful! The setting is college which is unique because there is independence,  and romance. This was different than any other novel I have read. It started off a little slow but then all the events of her being in a coma. It is written with Heather past as she remembers her past as well as where she is when she wakes up in the hospital.  Jessica Roberts writing is addictive and beautiful that you will not be able to put this book down. 

I loved all of the characters. After reading the novel you really bond with them all and I love how everything unfolded. You can really relate to Heather's personality because I was nervous, shy a little nerdy. Heather wanted to be somebody new when she came to a different school. Her relationship with Nick Richards was out of this world romantic and swoon worthy. Nick is one of those mysterious guys that you have to know and once they meet its like love at first sight but they remain friends before they enter a relationship. Nick is adorable, unique and I want one of him! I loved how the relationship wasn't a insta-love thing also because everything they did was adorable. All the secondary characters were hilarious. I could gush about this book all day because its amazing, emotional and full of twists and turns.

As the book goes on the relationship and the novel takes a turn as we learn how Heather got into a coma. But looking into Heather's memories of Nick were unforgettable moments because it made you laugh, and I loved how they started to fall in love by starting to be friends. Now the ending, the ending was mouth-dropping because it had me in tears, and now I get to wait for the sequel which comes out in the fall 2012 which seems like forever because that ending was OMG and I think I am addicted to this author now.  I definitely recommend this book to ANYBODY because its amazing and Jessica Roberts is a great writer!!


5/5

Monday, June 25, 2012

An Expected Baby by Shadonna Richards Blog Tour



 TOP 15 LOVE SONGS FEATURING “BABY”

Hi, everyone!
I’m Shadonna, author of An Unexpected Baby, the sequel to An Unexpected Bride and a romantic comedy about Emma Wiggins who after believing her pregnancy test was positive is now faced with telling her darling husband the truth—only it’s not that easy, since he’s showering her with tons of love and affection thinking he’s going to become a daddy. He goes as far as to reveal to her his inner-most fear of not being able to conceive which he no longer has now that they are expecting. How could she break the news to her him without breaking his heart? It’s not as easy to burst his bubble of hope as she thinks, so she delays telling him, hoping she’d get pregnant for real. But the trouble is one can only fake pregnancy for so long. Since An Unexpected Baby is a romance that centers around the theme of having a baby, I thought I’d compile a list some of the most romantic songs featuring “Baby” in the title. Check this list out:

  1. Baby Love by The Supremes
  2. I’ve Got You, Babe by Sonny and Cher
  3. Baby, Baby by Amy Grant
  4. Baby, Baby, Baby By TLC
  5. Baby, One More Time by Britney Spears
  6. Be My Baby by The Ronettes
  7. Baby, I Love Your Way by Peter Frampton
  8. Born to be my Baby by Bon Jovi
  9. Baby, I Love You by Aretha Franklin
  10. Baby, Come to Me by Denise Austin and James Ingram
  11. Always Be My Baby by Mariah Carey
  12. Baby, What a Big Surprise by Chicago
  13. Baby, It’s Cold Outside by Ray Charles and Betty Carter/ Jessica Simpson and Nick Lache
  14. Baby, I Need Your Lovin’ by Four Tops
  15. Baby by Justin Bieber
 Hope you enjoyed the list. I thought I’d leave you with a synopsis of An Unexpected Baby. Enjoy.

Getting a man is one thing...keeping him is a whole different story!

Recently wed to her hot boss, CEO Evan Fletcher, Emma Wiggins-Fletcher thinks her sizzling hubby is avoiding spending quality time with her...that is until Emma discovers that her pregnancy test is positive.


A baby changes everything. Jetsetter Evan discovers his new wife is pregnant and cancels an important business trip and prepares to rearrange his workaholic life to pamper his newlywed princess. Emma is over the moon about the new special affection from her spouse and her ill grandfather. Gramps has been given six more months to live, and he is so delighted about the baby news, he plans a surprise for the couple.


Too bad her world is turned upside down when she discovers the pregnancy test was false. Emma has been enjoying Evan's renewed attention and he's already shifted his life around to be daddy to their unborn. How could she possibly break the news to her husband and to her ailing grandfather without breaking their hearts? Still, pretending to be pregnant is a whole different story and can only last so long before they find out the truth.

 

**Here’s the set up for the prequel for AN UNEXPECTED BRIDE (Book 1 in The Bride Series) for those who haven’t read the first book.

Emma Wiggins is about to marry her heart-stopping, gorgeous boss, CEO Evan Fletcher, in seven days--too bad he doesn't know it yet!

Desperate to fulfill her ailing grandfather's last wish to see her settle down and get married, Emma Wiggins, a 30-year-old, career-focused executive tells him a little white lie on his deathbed that she is in fact engaged--to her boss, deliciously handsome and emotionally unavailable, Evan Fletcher.

The situation takes an unexpected turn when her grandfather's condition improves slightly and to her shock, he goes ahead and arranges a wedding ceremony at his hospital bedside before he passes on. Now, all Emma has to do is convince unsuspecting, commitment-phobic Evan to tie the knot with her in seven days. Can love blossom in the most unlikely situation?
“A feel good romantic comedy you won’t want to miss”

“The much anticipated sequel to the Kindle #1 Bestseller in Humor 'An Unexpected Bride' (The Bride Series) which has sold 45,000 copies in its first eight months of release on Amazon.com”

What some reviewers have said about An Unexpected Bride (The Bride Series)

"Author Shadonna Richards has an "unexpected" bestseller on her hands with this unheralded romantic comedy....An Unexpected Bride has sold 10,000 copies in its first three months..."
-KINDLE NATION DAILY

"Shadonna Richards is a wonderful author!...It's a sweet and romantic story that will sweep you off your feet."
-REVIEWS BY MOLLY


"This sweet and humorous romance is sure to keep you entertained as well as have you giggling" - TWEEZLEREADS

"I would recommend this book to fans of chick-lit and light romance or anyone looking for a book to curl up with on a rainy afternoon." -HANDS AND Home

 About the Author

Bestselling author Shadonna Richards has a B.A. Degree in Psychology and a Diploma in Nursing. She enjoys reading and writing about the magic of romance and the power of love. She is the author of the non-fiction books, A Gift of Hope and Think & Be Happy: 365 Empowering Thoughts to Lift Your Spirit (an Amazon Kindle #1 Bestseller in Meditation). Winner of Harlequin’s So You Think You Can Write 2010 Day Two Challenge, she is a member of the Romance Writers of America. An Unexpected Bride became a #1 Kindle bestseller in Humor and is her first novel. It has sold over 45,000 copies in its first eight months on Kindle. She’s a proud mommy and wife and lives in Canada with her husband and son.


You can visit her at www.shadonnarichards.blogspot.com and join her mailing list for updates, giveaways and news on upcoming releases.  


TWITTER

Friday, June 22, 2012

Cover Reveal: Boundless (Unearthly #3) by Cynthia Hand

ahhhhhh Look at this beautiful cover!! I love this series and they have the best covers!!!



Isnt it beautiful!! I think HarperCollins did a beautiful job with all the covers!! Be sure to read this books because they are amazing!! <3 Cynthia Hand!!! 



Add Boundless to your TBR lists!! 

This Is Not A Test by Courtney Summers Blog Tour (Interview)

Hey Everyone! I would like to thank Courtney Summers and Raincoast books for the privilege of being apart of the This Is Not A Test Blog Tour! I really did love this book from the beginning to end since now I have been liking more zombie type books lately. Here is my interview with Courtney Summers!!

1. How did you come up with the idea for This is Not a Test?
 
Courtney S: I've always been a fan of zombies and I always knew I'd write a zombie book one day, so
when the time came for me and my editor to decide what my fourth book would be about, I
submitted two zombie related ideas to her.  The pitch for THIS IS NOT A TEST was
basically, "Teens stuck in a high school during the zombie apocalypse."  She liked its
potential, so she gave me the go ahead.  As I was developing the idea, I thought a lot
about the zombie movies I watch and enjoy and one thing I noticed is survival is usually
hardwired into the main character from the get-go and then I started to wonder--how would
I react in a zombie apocalypse?  Would I be that character?  The one that wants to live? 
I'd like to think I'd fight, but if I've lost everything, the people I love, would I
still really want to?  I decided it would be interesting to write about a character who
doesn't want to survive--who is, in fact, determined to die--during the zombie apocalypse
and it all snowballed from there!
 
2. Name 2 things that describe Sloane?
 
CS:Two things... Sloane is very defined by other people in her life, initially.  So these
aren't things, but people (but there are two of them!):  her sister and her father.
 
3. How would you describe your books in 3 words?
  
CS: Not very uplifting.  :)
 
4. What was your favorite scene to write?
 
CS: My favourite scene is a huge spoiler, so I'll have to go with my second favourite:  I
loved writing the first chapter.  It was fun to explore that chaos and panic--and gore!
 
5. What kind of research did you do for this book?
 
CS: I mostly researched the ways technology--cell phones etc--would fail and how the water
could continue to run in the school.  In a lot of zombie movies, the power miraculously
stays on for the duration of the story but that's not realistic.  I had lots of notes and
exchanged emails with people in the know about that sort of thing.  I also did a lot
research about what would be believable in terms of the design of the school itself.  I
wanted it to be easily fortified since I knew I was going to center most of my conflict
on interpersonal relationships.  I looked into windowless schools (some do, scarily
enough, exist!) before deciding on transom lighting and skylights so the place wouldn't
be as easy to break into--stuff like that.  I also know the cause of my zombie outbreak,
though my characters don't.  I'm keeping that to myself for now, though.  :)
 
Thanks for having me on your blog, Amanda!
 
About the book:
 
It’s the end of the 
world. Six students have taken cover in Cortege High but shelter is 
little comfort when the dead outside won’t stop pounding on the doors. 
One bite is all it takes to kill a person and bring them back as a 
monstrous version of their former self.

To Sloane Price, that doesn’t sound so bad. Six months ago, her world collapsed
and since then, she’s failed to find a reason to keep going. 
Now seems like the perfect time to give up. As Sloane eagerly 
waits for the barricades to fall, she’s forced to witness the apocalypse
 through the eyes of five people who actually want to live.

But as the days crawl by, the motivations for survival change in startling 
ways and soon the group’s fate is determined less and less by what’s 
happening outside and more and more by the unpredictable and violent 
bids for life—and death—inside.  When everything is gone, what do you hold on to?

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Midsummers Eve Giveaway Hop- The Jennifer Pre-Orders!!!




 One Winner gets a chance to win either one of these two awesome pre-orders!! 

Such A Rush by Jennifer Echols 

OR

Onyx (Lux #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

These two are one of my favorite authors in the world and I loved ONYX!!! Its definitely one book everyone should pre-order!! and today I will be giving it away for pre-order as well as Such A Rush by Jennifer Echols!!

This giveaway is international!!

Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Waiting On Wednesday (44) The Things About The Truth by Lauren Barnholdt

Title: The Things About The Truth
Author: Lauren Barnholdt
Pages: 304
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Release Date: July 10, 2012

Summary: (Goodreads)

In this humorous love story from the author of Two-Way Street, an unlikely romance is the best sort of surprise—but the wrong secret can ruin everything. Kelsey’s not going to let one mistake ruin her life. Sure, she got kicked out of prep school and all her old friends are shutting her out. But Kelsey’s focused on her future, and she’s determined to get back on track at Concordia High.

Isaac’s been kicked out of more schools than he can count. Since his father’s a state senator, Isaac’s life is under constant scrutiny—but Concordia High’s his last stop before boarding school, so Isaac’s hoping to fly under the radar and try to stay put for a change.

When Kelsey and Isaac meet, it’s anything but love at first sight. She thinks he’s an entitled brat, and he thinks she’s a stuck-up snob. So it surprises them both when they start to fall for each other. Kelsey’s happy for the first time in months, and Isaac’s never felt this way about anyone before...But nothing’s ever completely perfect. Everyone has secrets, and Isaac and Kelsey are no exceptions. These two may have fallen hard, but there’s one thing that can ruin it all: the truth.


My Life Next Door By Huntley Fitzpatrick

Title: My Life Next Door
Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Pages: 395
Publisher: Dial Books for Young Readers
Release Date: June 14, 2012

Purchase: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo| Barnes &Noble| Book Depository

Summary: (Goodreads)

A gorgeous debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another

“One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time.”

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, numerous, messy, affectionate. And every day from her balcony perch, seventeen-year-old Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs her terrace and changes everything. As the two fall fiercely in love, Jase's family makes Samantha one of their own. Then in an instant, the bottom drops out of her world and she is suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

A dreamy summer read, full of characters who stay with you long after the story is over.

Review:  
*May Contain Spoilers* 

I think I fell in love with this book! The entire story stole my heart from beginning to end! It shows that love can win in any circumstances! This is the BEST contemporary's I have read this year. The characters are easy to connect with and we all go through this stage. I loved the plot, characters, the romance between Sam and Jase. I was very excited to read this book when I first saw the cover because it really one of my top favorite covers that I could stare at all day. My Life Next Door was dramatic with its ups and downs and left me wanting more of Sam & Jase's story. This is the perfect summer read! Its a definite re-read!

Throughout the entire novel which is told from Samantha's 's point of view, which was really well written. I loved how she described this summer and to even finally meet her HOT next door neighbor Jase and his big family which consists of altogether 8 children + 2 parents. I loved their family dynamic because sometimes it would sound like my family but with 4 less kids. From the first moment we meet Jase Garrett is the falling in love moment because he is handsome and would do anything with Samantha. It was adorable reading about them and the progress of their relationship throughout the entire book with their ups and downs. Jase is down to earth, friendly, protective, loves animals and sexy in his own way! The Garrett family is one everyone can connect with because many families now a days have big families. I loved all the children! George was soo cute!!

Sam is very independent and doesn't rely on her mother for anything in the book, until near the end. I found Sam mother to be stuck up and her initial reaction of when the Garrett's first move in 10 years ago still is there. Compared to Sam who used to look out her window and want to be a part of the craziness. Compared to her family which consists of her sister Tracy and her mom. We also see Samantha's moms boyfriend Clay who also is in the novel. It was up to date with all the events that were going on during the summer it takes place and the scene was perfect to imagine. I was on the edge during some of the book and it was worth it because it is a AWESOME book!!  Huntley Fitzpatrick is one talented writer who knows how to create a memorable book for young adults because this one is the perfect read.  

The plot was great, it was never boring and I loved how Huntley shows that beginning of Samantha's and Jase relationship, there isn't the insta-love, it developed at a normal pace which every couple does grow through. It was romantic how Jase and Samantha fell in love. Their relationship allows us to see also the changes that come along the way once Samantha meets Jase, he has opened up the world to her. As the obstacles come into place Samantha and Jase's relationship is tested at the hardest times. It was emotional at times but I was rooting for these two to come together. These two are soo cute!! As rating the novel there is not many swearing and there is a little sexuality (not graphic) and some other things that teenagers do on weekends.

I love the writing! Huntley is by far up on the list of favorite writers, she is soo sweet and friendly, I would love to meet her. My Life Next Door is brilliant and I know its one book that I will re-read over and over again!! I am looking forward to Huntley's future books. I recommend this book to anyone!! I was very happy with the end. Characters were amazing and the plot was very well developed! With this book you can read it in one day. Perfect summer read and you will also love this book! Be sure to buy this one!! 

My Rating: 5/5

Sunday, June 17, 2012

Cover Reveal: Breaking Point (Article 5 #2) by Kristen Simmons

Here is the awesome cover for Breaking Point the next book in Article 5 trilogy!!

 Expected Publication: February 5, 2013
Publisher: Tor Teen 

No summary yet!! :(

What do you think of the cover???
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...