Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Teaser Tuesday - Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Title: Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Pages: 416
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children's 
Release Date: August 7, 2012 
 
Summary: (Goodreads)
 
 After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men—thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the kings council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom.

Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her... but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead... quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.
 
TEASER:
 
" Though the man grasping her arm was tall and fit, she could see nothing of the features concealed beneath his hood. Another tactic meant to confuse and intimidate her. The black clothes were probably a part of it, too. (page 2)



Saturday, July 28, 2012

Stacking the Shelves (12) Raincoast Edition

Review:

Where We Belong by Emily Giffin--> REVIEW
Dark Companion by Marta Acosta 
Stealing Parker by Miranda Kenneally 
Entice (The Violet Eden Chapters #2) by Jessica Shirvington
Wake (Watersong #1) by Amanda Hocking
Who I Kissed by Janet Gurtler 
Heaven ( Halo #3) by Alexandra Adornetto 
Eve & Adam by Katherine Applegate, Micheal Grant 

Thank You- St. Martin Press, Tor Teen, Macmillan, and the Awesome Raincoast Books

Bought:

Endlessly (Paranormalcy #3) by Kiersten White
Seraphina (#1) by Rachel Hartman

Thursday, July 26, 2012

Giveaway: UnWholly (Unwind #2) by Neal Shusterman

Hey everyone!! I have not read the first book in the Unwind series by Neal Schusterman. I am offering up an ARC of UnWholly today for giveaway!! 

to enter:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (49) Losing Lila (Lila #2) by Sarah Alderson

Title: Losing Lila
Author: Sarah Alderson
Pages: 320
Publisher: Simon and Schuster UK
Release Date: August 2, 2012

Pre-order: Book Depository

Summary: (Goodreads)

Alex and Lila are on the run, desperately trying to stay one step ahead of the Unit, which somehow is managing to track their every move. Whilst Alex is determined to keep Lila safe and her ability secret at any cost, Lila’s only thought is of finding a way back to California so that she can rescue her brother and mother from the military base where they’re being held.

Struggling to control both her growing power and her deepening feelings for Alex, Lila decides the time has finally come to stop running and start fighting. Together with Alex, Demos, and the people she’s come to think of as family, Lila plans not just to save her brother and mother, but to completely destroy the Unit and everything it stands for.

But the plan requires Lila to return alone to California, make friends with the enemy, and to risk losing everything - Alex, her family, and even her life.

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Where We Belong by Emily Giffin

Title: Where We Belong
Author: Emily Giffin
Pages: 384
Publisher: St. Martins Press/Raincoast Books
Expected Release: July 24, 2012

Summary: (Goodreads)

Marian Caldwell is a thirty-six year old television producer, living her dream in New York City. With a fulfilling career and satisfying relationship, she has convinced everyone, including herself, that her life is just as she wants it to be. But one night, Marian answers a knock on the door . . . only to find Kirby Rose, an eighteen-year-old girl with a key to a past that Marian thought she had sealed off forever. From the moment Kirby appears on her doorstep, Marian’s perfectly constructed world—and her very identity—will be shaken to its core, resurrecting ghosts and memories of a passionate young love affair that threaten everything that has come to define her.

For the precocious and determined Kirby, the encounter will spur a process of discovery that ushers her across the threshold of adulthood, forcing her to re-evaluate her family and future in a wise and bittersweet light. As the two women embark on a journey to find the one thing missing in their lives, each will come to recognize that where we belong is often where we least expect to find ourselves—a place that we may have willed ourselves to forget, but that the heart remembers forever.

*Review copy was provided by Raincoast Books/St. Martin's Press for review-THANK YOU*

Review:

Like any of Emily Giffin's books she makes her readers fall in love with the characters. Written in both Marian and Kirby's point of views, it gave us a better view of each character and their reaction to discovering each other and the secrets behind Kirby's adoption. I just fell in love with the entire book. I have read all of Emily's books and this one does not disappoint because it was addicting and full of emotions and love between all the characters. I read this book in one day!! Its one book that you will not be able to put down! 

The plot was great!! I loved the point of views from both Marian and Kirby because as a reader we see the past, future and what they are both up to after the adoption. Each of the characters were amazing to read about because many people can connect with Emily's writing. I even loved how she showed how Marian and Conrad met on that fateful night as well as falling in love during that great summer as well as discovering the truth of family, as well as finding pieces of yourself showing up on your doorstep. As the story went on the development of each character evolved as they got to know each other better. I really liked Conrad because he was one of those bad boys who is Marian's real true love and despite what was happening Marian did make a choice with her situation (not telling) and then meeting him in the book once Kirby sees him is the most rewarding to read about. 

Kirby is a character many can relate too because as young adults we go through the stages. Her own story is remarkable and her meeting Marian really changes her life because compared to her life at her "family" she never felt that she belonged and related to, but she is a smart, talented girl who would later discover who she is and where she belongs. Marian life has changed ever since meeting her daughter who she gave up for adoption and when these two women meet each other they develop a relationship and this is a different type of view compared to Emily Giffin past writing which makes this book shine!

Where We Belong is one of the best books yet!! I am a big fan of Emily Giffin, because her writing is one of the best out there for those who love romance/contemporary in fiction. I could re-read this book over and over again because its soo memorable to go back and enjoy it again! I am looking forward to many more books by this fabulous author. I also love how she incorporate updates from her past books!! If you love Sophie Kinsella, Meg Cabot this book is for you!! You are missing out on this amazing book!! DEFINITELY A MUST READ!! + the cover is adorable

5/5

Monday, July 23, 2012

Such A Rush by Jennifer Echols

Title: Such A Rush
Author: Jennifer Echols
Pages: 325
Publisher: MTV Books
Release Date: July 10, 2012

Summary: (Goodreads)

A sexy and poignant romantic tale of a young daredevil pilot caught between two brothers.

High school senior Leah Jones loves nothing more than flying. While she’s in the air, it’s easy to forget life with her absentee mother at the low-rent end of a South Carolina beach town. When her flight instructor, Mr. Hall, hires her to fly for his banner advertising business, she sees it as her ticket out of the trailer park. And when he dies suddenly, she’s afraid her flying career is gone forever.    

But Mr. Hall’s teenage sons, golden boy Alec and adrenaline junkie Grayson, are determined to keep the banner planes flying. Though Leah has crushed on Grayson for years, she’s leery of getting involved in what now seems like a doomed business — until Grayson betrays her by digging up her most damning secret. Holding it over her head, he forces her to fly for secret reasons of his own, reasons involving Alec. Now Leah finds herself drawn into a battle between brothers — and the consequences could be deadly.

Review:  

Such A Rush was such a refreshing read!! I love Jennifer Echol's books because they show how love can come from different situations. This is one of her best books yet as it shows how Leah is a young girl with the love of flying ever since she was fourteen. It was is creative, funny, and sexy read that any teenager would enjoy! I cant describe how much I loved this book because it was a great read. Jennifer Echol's is one of my favorite authors who knows how to grab readers attention! I could not put this book down! BIG fan of Jennifer Echols!

I loved Leah's character because she was one tough cookie who knows what she is doing and what she wants to do. She is very independent rather than her mother who very rarely appears in the novel. Leah lives in a trailer park, as well as following her mom around from one trailer to another, like her mother's boyfriends. Where it would leave us on the last stop, a local beach town where the local airport is right near the airport, then Leah develops the dream of becoming a pilot. 

I love how Leah has a dream right from the start. She then meets Mr. Hall who makes her dream come true and trains her to fly a plane. Girls are not very common flying planes and Mr. Hall teaches her lessons where she gets a job. Echols is brilliant at creating the story and romance. Grayson (Leah's crush) and his brother Alec consider her as one of their pilots. Grayson is very different than any other boys that I have read about because when you first read about him he is a huge a** and as a Hall man he and his brother are HOT!! 

There was tons of drama, which I love because Jennifer Echols does it best!! It was fun, awesome and a great read for those fans of Jennifer Echols you will love this one and its definitely the best one yet!! Leah is a great character and that ending was adorable!! I love a good ending! Looking forward to Jennifer's next novel!! 

5/5

Saturday, July 21, 2012

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (48) Stealing Parker by Miranda Kenneally

Title:Stealing Parker
Author: Miranda Kenneally
Pages: 245
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire/Raincoast Books
Release Date: October 1, 2012

Summary: (Goodreads)

Parker Shelton pretty much has the perfect life. She’s on her way to becoming valedictorian at Hundred Oaks High, she’s made the all-star softball team, and she has plenty of friends. Then her mother’s scandal rocks their small town and suddenly no one will talk to her.

Now Parker wants a new life.

So she quits softball. Drops twenty pounds. And she figures why kiss one guy when she can kiss three? Or four. Why limit herself to high school boys when the majorly cute new baseball coach seems especially flirty?
But how far is too far before she loses herself completely?
 
 

Monday, July 16, 2012

Vote for NOAH SHAW



Introduction
Hello my name is Amanda from Stuck In YA Books, I am representing Noah, who is from the debut novel: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin.  Noah is Mara Dyer’s love interest. He is one of the most interesting characters because he is smart, British and is a ladies’ man.  Once you read this book you will not be able to put this down!! Noah is one crush worthy guys in the YA Crush Tourney and he is very good with words (especially Euphemisms) He is one HOT bad boy who is super sweet to Mara.

First Meeting+ LOOKS
“I whipped around at the sound of the warm, lilting British accent behind me.
         The person it belonged to sat on the picnic table under the tiki hut. His general state of disarray was almost enough to distract me from his face. The boy- if he could be called that, looking like he belonged in college not high school- wore Chucks with holes worn through, no laces. Slim charcoal pants and a white button down shirt covered his lean, spare frame. His tie was loose, his cuffs undone, and his blazer lay in a heap beside him as he lazily leaned back on the palms of his hands.
        His strong jaw and chin were slightly scruffy, as though he hadn't shaved in days, and his eyes looked gray in the shade. Strands of his dark chestnut hair stuck out every which way… He could be considered pale compared to everyone else I'd observed in Florida thus far, which is to say he wasn't orange.
        He was beautiful. And he was staring at me.” (Chapter 4)
There is nothing for me to explain there  
Personality:
Noah is sarcastic, awesome, funny, romantic and BRITISH!! Who wouldn’t want to have a crush on a British Boy with good looks.! He loves the word “rubbish” and listening to a British boy what is not to love about his personality. Noah is also VERY rich and lives in a mansion. He would also defend those who need defending example is that he always defends Mara who mocks her for dating Noah but he would also never give up on her. He is also a gentleman and also has chivalry (due to him and his British culture + upbringing  Here is an example of his funny side: 

"I'm picking you up tomorrow morning," Noah said, as he brushed a strand of hair from my face and tucked it behind my ear...
        I blinked hard, and shook my head to clear it. "But it's out of your way."
        "And?"
        "And Daniel has to drive to school anyway."
        "So?" 
        "So wh-"
        Noah placed a finger on my lips. "Don't. Don't as me why. It's annoying. I want to. That's it. That's all. So let me."
        Focus, Mara. "Everyone's going to think that we're together."
        "Let them," he said as his eyes searched my face.
        "But-"
        "But nothing. I want them to think that."
        [...] "I'm a bad actress," I said by way of explanation.
        [...] "Then don't act. See you at eight." He let go of my hand and walked back to his car.
Loyalty and Wit – (With help from Sara @ The Page Sage) 
When Noah cares about someone, he’ll do anything for them, especially in Mara’s case. He also has a quick wit, and he uses it both to defile children’s stories and to stand up for Mara.
 A perfect example of this is when Anna (the mean girl) steals Mara’s sketchbook (which is full of drawings of Noah) to embarrass her.
                        
He’s a Gentleman
He opens doors for Mara, gets her coffee without being asked, gives her rides to school… in short, he’s chivalrous, and what girl wouldn’t want that in a guy?
 Not to mention, he knows how to compliment a girl:
            “You smell good,” He whispered into my neck. He was warm against me. Instinctively, I arched back into him and smiled.
            “Really?”
            “Mmm-hmm. Delicious. Like bacon.”
            
Kissing Skills
Noah Shaw knows how to kiss, as proven by this passage:
            Noah parted my legs with his knee and my lips with his tongue, and I was in his mouth and oh. Abandon all hope, ye who enter here. I felt myself unfold, turned inside out by his insistent mouth. When Noah pulled back I gasped at the loss, but he slid his hand beneath my back and lifted me, and we were sitting and his head was dipping and our mouths were colliding and I pushed him down and lingered above, hovered before I crashed into him. 

Supernatural Powers *Spoilers*
Noah can heal any wound by touch alone and he can hear people’s heartbeats, pulses, emotions. He’s determined to help the people he hears that are in danger and he’s even more resolute when it comes to helping Mara. He even helps a poor, abused dog. That’s right, he’s a HOT, KIND guy who helps PUPPIES. 

His Devilish Good Looks (not to mention his British accent)
It certainly doesn’t hurt that Noah Shaw is one of the most (if not *the most*) attractive guys in Young Adult fiction. 
            His strong jaw and chin were slightly scruffy, as though he hadn’t shaved in days, and his eyes looked gray in the shade. Strands of his dark chestnut hair stuck out every which way. Bedroom hair. He could be considered pale in comparison to everyone else I’d met in Florida thus far, which is to say he wasn’t orange.
            He was beautiful. And he was smiling at me.
Vote Noah Shaw as your YA Crush because if we win we get a scene from Michelle Hodkin!!  Check out what we can WIN!! http://michellehodkin.blogspot.ca/2012/07/previews-part-1.html

VOTE HERE 

Sunday, July 15, 2012

Inbetween by Tara Fuller Cover Reveal

Publication Date: August, 2012
Imprint: Entangled Teen
Novel length: 400 pages 
Format: Trade paperback and eBook
           Add Inbetween to Goodreads
           Pre order: Amazon/Barnes & Noble/The Book Depository/Books A Million

 
Blurb:
Since the car crash that took her father’s life two years ago, Emma’s life has been a freaky—and unending—lesson in caution. Surviving “accidents” has taken priority over being a normal seventeen-year-old, so Emma spends her days taking pictures of life instead of living it. Falling in love with a boy was never part of the plan. Falling for a reaper who makes her chest ache and her head spin? Not an option.

It’s not easy being dead; especially for a reaper in love with a girl fate has put on his list not once, but twice. Finn’s fellow reapers give him hell about spending time with Emma, but Finn couldn’t let her die before, and he’s not about to let her die now. He will protect the girl he loves from the evil he accidentally unleashed, even if it means sacrificing the only thing he has left. His soul.

 
About The Author: Tara Fuller writes novels. Some about grim reapers. Some about witches. All of course are delightfully full of teen angst and kissing. Tara grew up in a one stop light town in Oklahoma where once upon a time she stayed up with a flash light reading RL Stine novels and only dreamed of becoming a writer. She has a slight obsession with music and a shameless addiction for zombie fiction, Mystery Science Theater, and black and white mochas. Tara no longer lives in a one stop light town. Now she lives with her family in a slightly larger town in North Carolina where they have at least three stoplights.
Where you can find Tara.

Go to Tara’s website to read the prologue! http://www.tarafuller.com/


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...