Sunday, September 30, 2012

Friday, September 28, 2012

Entice (The Violet Eden Chapters #2) by Jessica Shirvington

Title: Entice (The Violet Eden Chapters #2) 
Author: Jessica Shirvington
Pages: 464
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Release Date: September 4, 2012

Buy: AmazonCA|Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Barnes & Noble| Book Depository

Summary: (Goodreads

Violet Eden is Grigori - part angel, part human. Her destiny is to protect humans from the vengence of exiled angels.
Knowing who to trust is key but, when Grigori reinforcements arrive, it becomes clear everyone is hiding something. Even Lincoln. The only thing Violet does know: Phoenix's hold over her is more dangerous than ever.
The race to find the one thing that could tilt the balance of power brings them all to the sacred mountains of Jordan, where Violet's power will be pushed to the extreme. And the ultimate betrayal exposed.

Enticed is the second compelling book in The Violet Eden Chapters.

*Received for review from Raincoast Books for an honest review*

Review:  

In the second novel of Jessica Shirvingtons, Violet Eden series, it had me in a mixture of emotions with all the characters. This highly anticipated sequel to Embrace was definitely worth the wait because in Entice it has more actions, romance, and Violet beginning to realize more about her abilities as an Grigori. I loved every minute of reading this book because these characters are so fun to read about. There are new characters introduced which was awesome! With her relationship with Linc hanging in the balance. Phoenix is back and he will surprise us with what he is planning. 

Jessica Shirvington creativity has brought many reasons of why you should read this series. Violet is a character who some readers can relate too. Her love triangle between Linc and Phoenix is more interesting than every after what happened in the first book! While struggling to still be a teenager as well as becoming a Grigori with training her abilities we see her grow more comfortable in this position. As in the last book I had a hard time choosing who I wanted Violet to be with but in this book I was totally rooting for the awesome trainer who stole my heart, Linc. He was a little sneaky in the beginning but he got more heroic and with him and Violet together in the room you can feel the tension. Steph is one of the best friends who is able to help the Grigori team as well as meet the new team of Spence and other team members. 

A lots of things happened in the novel which I won't giveaway because this book was fantastic at making you understand what was going to happen with the plot and what the meaning of finding out what the Scriptures are with some help with Onyx who makes his reappearance. I did not like Magda from the beginning and she did some stuff that will make you think about what was happening at the beginning. Spencer is one of my new favorite characters because he is the jokester whose personality can make you laugh. He still hasnt found his partner yet since they haven't turned of age but he is a little like Violet in trying to be sneaky and get into trouble. 

Entice was one great read! If you enjoyed Embrace definitely pick up the sequel because it will bring you on an emotional roller coaster at the same time rooting for the good Grigori! Phoenix will be playing a major role in the next one and I wonder what will happen in book 3 because Entice was really good and the story made me want to re-read it!! Tons of action, kissing, and intensity that will make you breeze through this big book, but its worth it! Now I need book 3!!


5/5

Thursday, September 27, 2012

Cover Reveal: Release by M.R. Merrick

Title: Release (The Protector #3)
Author: M.R. Merrick
Release Date: December 10, 2012

RELEASE SYNOPSIS:

After uniting the shifters and calling in reinforcements, Chase has to face his toughest challenge yet: learning to control his emotions. But as tensions rise and his powers grow, controlling his emotions becomes the least of his problems.

Terrorized by a multi-shifter who is hell-bent on turning him, Chase questions just how far he’s willing to go to stop his father.  Meanwhile, Tiki’s virtuous nature has placed him in the middle of Vincent’s past, leaving Chase to oppose a senate of vampires and defend a demon he hates.

Trying to balance his friends, his enemies, and his inner demons, Chase is left searching for answers about the Mark, his destiny, and where he can find the next soul piece. Stopping Riley is his top priority, but as more obstacles arise, he finds himself doubting all the decisions he’s made - especially regarding Rayna.
One thing is for certain: Chase has finally realized that he doesn’t know anything. The light doesn’t always quell the darkness, the monsters don’t always stay in the shadows, and the past doesn’t always stay in the past - sometimes, the demons inside are the hardest to fight.

Links:

Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (56) Boundless (Unearthly #3) by Cynthia Hand

Title: Boundless (Unearthly #3) 
Author: Cynthia Hand
Pages: 320
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: January 22, 2013

Summary: (Goodreads) 

The past few years held more surprises than part-angel Clara Gardner ever could have anticipated. Yet through the dizzying high of first love to the agonizing low of losing someone close to her, the one thing she could no longer deny was that she was never meant to have a normal life.

Since discovering the special role she plays among the other angel-bloods, Clara has been determined to protect Tucker Avery from the evil that follows her . . . even if it means breaking both their hearts. Leaving town seemed like the best option, so she’s headed back to California—and so is Christian Prescott, the irresistible boy from the vision that started her on this journey in the first place.

As Clara makes her way in a world that is frighteningly new, she discovers that the fallen angel who attacked her is watching her every move. And he’s not the only one. . . . With the battle against the Black Wings looming, Clara knows she must finally fulfill her destiny. But it won’t come without sacrifices and betrayal.

In the riveting finale of the Unearthly series, Clara must choose her fate once and for all


I cannot wait to read this!!! I Love Cynthia Hand's writing!!  

 

Monday, September 24, 2012

Cover Reveal: Losing It by Cora Carmack

LOSING IT by Cora Carmack releases October 16th.

About the Book

College student Bliss Edwards is sick of being the only virgin among her friends. She decides the best way to deal with the problem is to lose her virginity quickly and simply— a one-night stand. Her plan turns out to be anything but simple when she chickens out and leaves a gorgeous guy alone and naked in her bed. Already embarrassed, it only gets worse when she arrives for her first class of her last college semester, and recognizes her new Theatre professor. She’d left him naked in her bed about eight hours earlier. 


About the Author

Cora Carmack is a twenty-something writer who likes to write about twenty-something characters. She’s done a multitude of things in her life-- boring jobs (like working at Target), Fun jobs (like working in a theatre), stressful jobs (like teaching), and dream jobs (like writing). She loves theatre, travel, and anything that makes her laugh. She enjoys placing her characters in the most awkward situations possible, and then trying to help them get a boyfriend out of it. Awkward people need love, too. Her first book, a New Adult Contemporary Romance called LOSING IT releases October 16th.

Thank you YA Sisterhood for letting me take part!! 


Thursday, September 20, 2012

Cover Reveal: Opal (Lux #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout




No one is like Daemon Black.

When he set out to prove his feelings for me, he wasn’t fooling around. Doubting him isn’t something I’ll do again, and now that we’ve made it through the rough patches, well... There’s a lot of spontaneous combustion going on.

But even he can’t protect his family from the danger of trying to free those they love.

After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different... And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.

Together we’re stronger... and they know it.

Follow this link to an ~~~ EPIC CONTEST ~~~ Announcement. You will want to bookmark this page!

USA TODAY Bestselling author, Jennifer L. Armentrout, lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing, she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell, Loki. Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She also writes adult romance under the name J. Lynn.
Find Jennifer on: Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Website | Blog

AHHHHHH I CANNOT WAIT TO READ THIS!!!

Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Cover Reveal + Giveaway: The Holders by Julianna Scott


 Title: The Holders (The Holders #1)
Author: Julianna Scott
Pages: 320
Publisher: Strange Chemistry/Random House
Release Date: March 2013

Summary: (Goodreads)

17-year-old Becca spent her whole life protecting her brother from, well, everything. The abandonment of their father, the so called 'experts' who insist that voices in his head are unnatural and must be dealt with, and the constant threat of being taken away to some hospital and studied like an animal. When two representatives appear claiming to have the answers to Ryland's perceived problem, Becca doesn't buy it for one second. That is until they seem to know things about Ryland and about Becca and Ryland's family, that forces Becca to concede that there may be more to these people than meets the eye. Though still highly skeptical, Becca agrees to do what's best for Ryland.

What they find at St. Brigid's is a world beyond their imagination. Little by little they piece together the information of their family's heritage, their estranged Father, and the legend of the Holder race that decrees Ryland is the one they've been waiting for. However, they are all--especially Becca--in for a surprise that will change what they thought they knew about themselves and their kind.

She meets Alex, a Holder who is fiercely loyal to their race, and for some reason, Becca and Ryland. There's an attraction between Becca and Alex that can't be denied, but her true nature seems destined to keep them apart. However, certain destinies may not be as clear cut as everyone has always believed them to be.

Becca is lost, but found at the same time. Can she bring herself to leave Ryland now that he's settled and can clearly see his future? Will she be able to put the the feelings she has for Alex aside and head back to the US? And can Becca and Ryland ever forgive their father for what he's done?

 
GIVEAWAY: Big thank you to Julianna!

Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (55) Black City by Elizabeth Richards

Title: Black City (Black City #1)
Author: Elizabeth Richards
Pages: 384
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons BYR 
Release Date: November 13, 2012

Summary: (Goodreads

A dark and tender post-apocalyptic love story set in the aftermath of a bloody war

In a city where humans and Darklings are now separated by a high wall and tensions between the two races still simmer after a terrible war, sixteen-year-olds Ash Fisher, a half-blood Darkling, and Natalie Buchanan, a human and the daughter of the Emissary, meet and do the unthinkable—they fall in love. Bonded by a mysterious connection that causes Ash’s long-dormant heart to beat, Ash and Natalie first deny and then struggle to fight their forbidden feelings for each other, knowing if they’re caught, they’ll be executed—but their feelings are too strong.

When Ash and Natalie then find themselves at the center of a deadly conspiracy that threatens to pull the humans and Darklings back into war, they must make hard choices that could result in both their deaths.


 

Monday, September 17, 2012

Teaser Tuesday: Breaking Point (Article 5 #2) by Kristen Simmons

Title: Breaking Point (Article 5 #2) 
Author: Kristen Simmons
Pages: 384
Publisher: Tor Teen
Release Date: February 5, 2013

Summary: (Goodreads
The second installment in Kristen Simmons's fast-paced, gripping YA dystopian series.

After faking their deaths to escape from prison, Ember Miller and Chase Jennings have only one goal: to lay low until the Federal Bureau of Reformation forgets they ever existed.

Near-celebrities now for the increasingly sensationalized tales of their struggles with the government, Ember and Chase are recognized and taken in by the Resistance—an underground organization working to systematically take down the government. At headquarters, all eyes are on the sniper, an anonymous assassin taking out FBR soldiers one by one. Rumors are flying about the sniper’s true identity, and Ember and Chase welcome the diversion….

Until the government posts its most-wanted list, and their number one suspect is Ember herself.

Orders are shoot to kill, and soldiers are cleared to fire on suspicion alone. Suddenly Ember can’t even step onto the street without fear of being recognized, and “laying low” is a joke. Even members of the Resistance are starting to look at her sideways.

With Chase urging her to run, Ember must decide: Go into hiding…or fight back?
 
TEASER:
 
"I need this, needed him, and he needed me as well. His arms surrounded me and pulled me close, and then I was kissing him and he was kissing me back, his lips pressed hard into mine."
 
 

Thursday, September 13, 2012

Entice Me Blog Tour- Violet Eden


Made by Refactured Light




Title: Entice (The Violet Eden Chapters #2)
Author: Jessica Shirvington 
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Summary: 

Violet Eden is Grigori – part angel, part human. Her destiny is to protect humans from the vengence of exiled angels. 
Knowing who to trust is key but, when Grigori reinforcements arrive, it becomes clear everyone is hiding something. Even Lincoln. The only thing Violet does know: Phoenix’s hold over her is more dangerous than ever. 

The race to find the one thing that could tilt the balance of power brings them all to the sacred mountains of Jordan, where Violet’s power will be pushed to the extreme. And the ultimate betrayal exposed.

Becoming the Person You Are Destined to Be

VIOLET EDEN!!!!

Kickboxing, marathon training, rock climbing—Violet Eden is not a girl to mess with. What she wanted for her future was an art scholarship and to finally have her kickboxing trainer look at her as more than a friend. What she got instead was a gift from her long-dead mother and a complicated web of folklore and mythology, angels and exiles, and a central role in the eternal battle between light and dark.
 
And then there’s Phoenix.  And Lincoln.  Both guys pretty high on the hotness scale. But Violet isn’t exactly a swooning kind of girl.

Vi has two rules: I don’t run and I don’t quit.  When angels seek vengeance and humans are the warriors, you could do a lot worse than betting on her. Violet is the perfect blend of light and shade—the new hope in an endless war. And she’s not afraid to kick some ass.

From the famous Sydney Opera House, Jessica talks about the character she knows better than she knows herself!

Check out Violet character bio with more details about her character!  HERE
Also there is a fun Favorite Quote quiz  HERE
 Also use the hashtag #EnticeMe

Here is a video of Jessica talking about her lead character VIOLET

Cover Reveal: Fireblood by Trisha Wolfe

Fireblood: Fireblood #1
Release Date: 2013
From Spencer Hill Press

Book Description from Goodreads:

To save a kingdom, Zara must choose between a prince who could be the answer and a rising rebellion that threatens to take control.

When Zara Dane is chosen to marry Prince Sebastian Hart, son of the man who ordered her father’s capture, Zara knows she must fight to save everything she loves from ruin.

Being betrothed to the prince means a life trapped behind the towering stone walls of the Camelot-forged realm. Under the watchful eye of the prince's first knight, Sir Devlan Capra, changing her future becomes difficult.

When an unlikely rebel reveals the truth about the deadly secrets that fuel King Hart’s twisted world, Zara’s path to rescue her father becomes clouded by deception. The Rebels clear her path by forcing Zara’s hand with an ultimatum: sway Prince Sebastian to join the Rebels, convincing him of his father’s evil nature, or they will take him out.

But Zara is uncertain about a future under the Rebels’ command and where the prince’s heart truly lies. She must decide who to trust, what to believe, and what she’s truly fighting for before the king destroys all of Karm, including her heart.

Add Fireblood to your Goodreads shelf!
About the Author

I’m the author of the YA Steampunk/Paranormal Romance DESTINY'S FIRE (Omnific Publishing) and the upcoming YA Sci-Fi Utopian FIREBLOOD from Spencer Hill Press, November 2013. My published short stories have appeared in YA literary journals, Fantasy magazines, and anthologies. I’ve written four books in the past two years, and I’m currently working on a new YA Sci-Fi project.

I’m the creator of YA Bound, a promotional blog for the Young Adult genre.  Also a proud  member of YALITCHAT.ORGSCWW, and The Apocalypsies.

And I’m also a business owner, partnered with my partner, my husband. When I’m not busy doing all of the above, I’m a wife and the mother of a gorgeous teen boy who's the sounding board for my male characters.

Check out my website TrishaWolfe.com for more on my books and short stories. Follow me on Twitter @TrishWolfe

 Thanks Trisha and Spencer Hill Press for letting me take part of the Cover Reveal!! I am soo excited to read this book!! I love the cover!:D

Cover Reveal: With All My Soul by Rachel Vincent

Publisher: Harlequin Teen 
Release Date: 1st April, 2013

Summary:

There's no summary announced yet

Tuesday, September 11, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (54) Asunder (Newsoul #2) by Jodi Meadows

Title: Asunder (New Soul #2)
Author: Jodi Meadows 
Pages: 384
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins
Release Date: January 29, 2013

Summary:  
  
DARKSOULS
Ana has always been the only one. Asunder. Apart. But after Templedark, when many residents of Heart were lost forever, some hold Ana responsible for the darksouls–and the newsouls who may be born in their place.

SHADOWS
Many are afraid of Ana’s presence, a constant reminder of unstoppable changes and the unknown. When sylph begin behaving differently toward her and people turn violent, Ana must learn to stand up not only for herself but for those who cannot stand up for themselves.

LOVE
Ana was told that nosouls can’t love. But newsouls? More than anything, she wants to live and love as an equal among the citizens of Heart, but even when Sam professes his deepest feelings, it seems impossible to overcome a lifetime of rejection.

In this second book in the Incarnate trilogy, Ana discovers the truth about reincarnation and will have to find a way to embrace love and make her young life meaningful. Once again, Jodi Meadows explores the extraordinary beauty and shadowed depths of the soul in a story equal parts epic romance and captivating fantasy.

I WANT TO READ THIS SOO BAD!! LOVE Jodi Meadows!! + I need more Sam :D 
 

Saturday, September 8, 2012

Entice Me Day-God Squad

 

A Terrifying Trio

For Exiles that is! The Man With Something to Prove. The Foreigner. The Rebel. They may just be Grigori-in-training but whether they’re together or on their own, these three pack a real punch. 

Spencer Gregory: Best Friend in a Brawl
He’s 17 and looks it, with floppy sandy blond hair green eyes and slender, but fit build. As a Grigori-in-training he dreams for the day when he’ll be allowed to fight—even though he doesn’t yet have a partner. He just pretty much he just wants to bring down the
baddies.  And get the last word in.

Salvatore Gavi: The Seeker of Lies
He may not speak English but he is one tough, strong Grigori-in-training. He has dark brown hair, bushy eyebrows, and broad shoulders—but don’t let his appearance fool you, he is very warm and approachable. He may not have a girl to call his own, but with Steph in the picture his relationship status is definitely changing…

Zoe Clarke: Emo Grigori-In-Training
Zoe is one short spiky haired, heavily rimmed eyeliner chick you don’t want to mess with. She has an affinity with nature and a gift of manipulating with motion. She loves dying her hair and has a weakness for M&Ms.

Listen as Jessica explains some new insights into Violet’s comrades-in-arms from gorgeous Balmoral Beach.  You couldn’t find a better place to hang with your friends!




Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...