Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Waiting On Wednesday (61) Requiem (Delirium #3) by Lauren Oliver

Title: Requiem (Delirium #3)
Author: Lauren Oliver
Pages: 400
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: March 5, 2013


Summary:

Now an active member of the resistance, Lena has been transformed. The nascent rebellion that was under way in Pandemonium has ignited into an all-out revolution in Requiem, and Lena is at the center of the fight.

After rescuing Julian from a death sentence, Lena and her friends fled to the Wilds. But the Wilds are no longer a safe haven—pockets of rebellion have opened throughout the country, and the government cannot deny the existence of Invalids. Regulators now infiltrate the borderlands to stamp out the rebels, and as Lena navigates the increasingly dangerous terrain, her best friend, Hana, lives a safe, loveless life in Portland as the fiancĂ©e of the young mayor. Requiem is told from both Lena’s and Hana’s points of view. The two girls live side by side in a world that divides them until, at last, their stories converge.


I CANNOT WAIT TO SEE HOW THIS SERIES ENDS!!!!  PLUS LENA what happened at the end of Pandemonium! :) As you can see I love this series and the characters, also

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Losing It by Cora Carmack


Title: Losing It 
Author: Cora Carmack
Pages: 204 Kindle
Released: October 12, 2012

Buy: Amazon

Summary: (Goodreads

Virginity.

Bliss Edwards is about to graduate from college and still has hers. Sick of being the only virgin among her friends, she decides the best way to deal with the problem is to lose it as quickly and simply as possible-- a one-night stand. But her plan turns out to be anything but simple when she freaks out and leaves a gorgeous guy alone and naked in her bed with an excuse that no one with half-a-brain would ever believe. And as if if that weren't embarrassing enough, when she arrives for her first class of her last college semester, she recognizes her new theatre professor. She'd left him naked in her bed about 8 hours earlier.


Review:  

I knew I had to read this book from the first moment I saw the cover when I participated in the cover reveal. Cora Carmack is a great author because this plot will grab your attention from beginning to end! It was a whirlwind of a read because I finished it soo quickly because it was a great read. I am also starting to love how Young Adult is branching off to college setting because its a different part of life in books that many people go through and can relate too. . Plus who else couldnt resist Carrick and Bliss' romance! 

Losing It begins with Bliss and her best friend getting ready for a night out so bliss can lose her virginity. Once we get to the particular place we meet the HOT Garrick, who is also British!!! I instanly fell in love with him! With similar interests as Bliss, about theatre etc. Once we find out that her one night with Garrick, who later in the book sweeps her off her feet literay with his motorcycle which this romance and story will make you hooked to Losing It.  The chemistry between them was steamy. I really loved this book and the characters kept me turning the pages!  The characters were very interesting and Bliss was a very open character who loved to act but at the same time falls in love with the surprise relationship with Garrick. the ending was by far one of my favorites because I had a feeling it would bring me a smile on my face, now I need to re-read this book because of Garrick

Check out this book because its AMAZING, romantic and very full of chemistry between the two. This book will capture your heart at the same time making you think of falling in love with both characters. It was funny and had steamy scenes! I am looking forward to the next book Cora comes out with!!

Monday, October 29, 2012

Double Cover Reveals!!! HarperCollins Edition

Title: A Darkness Strange and Lovely (Something Strange & Deadly #2)
Author: Susan Dennard
Pages: 416
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: July 23, 2013

Summary: (Goodreads)
 
Following an all-out battle with the walking Dead, the Spirit-Hunters have fled Philadelphia, leaving Eleanor alone to cope with the devastating aftermath. But there’s more trouble ahead—the evil necromancer Marcus has returned, and his diabolical advances have Eleanor escaping to Paris to seek the help of Joseph, Jie, and the infuriatingly handsome Daniel once again. When she arrives, however, she finds a whole new darkness lurking in this City of Light. As harrowing events unfold, Eleanor is forced to make a deadly decision that will mean life or death for everyone. (Preorder the book here!)

Title: Goddess (Starcrossed #3) 
Author: Josephine Angelini
Pages: 432
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: May 28, 2012

Summary: (Goodreads
 
After accidentally unleashing the gods from their captivity on Olympus, Helen must find a way to re-imprison them without starting a devastating war. But the gods are angry, and their thirst for blood already has a body count.

To make matters worse, the Oracle reveals that a diabolical Tyrant is lurking among them, which drives a wedge between the once-solid group of friends. As the gods use the Scions against one another, Lucas’s life hangs in the balance. Still unsure whether she loves him or Orion, Helen is forced to make a terrifying decision, for war is coming to her shores.

In Josephine Angelini’s compelling conclusion to the masterfully woven Starcrossed trilogy, a goddess must rise above it all to change a destiny that’s been written in the stars. With worlds built just as fast as they crumble, love and war collide in an all-out battle that will leave no question unanswered and no heart untouched.


Title: Sweet Peril (The Sweet Trilogy #2)
Author: Wendy Higgins
Publisher: Harper Teen
Pages: 464
Release Date: April 30, 2013

Summary: (Goodreads)

Anna Whitt, daughter of a guardian angel and a demon, promised herself she’d never do the work of her father—polluting souls. She’d been naive to make such a claim. She’d been naive about a lot of things.

Haunted by demon whisperers, Anna does whatever she can to survive, even if it means embracing her dark side and earning an unwanted reputation as her school’s party girl. Her life has never looked more bleak. And all the while there’s Kaidan Rowe, son of the Duke of Lust, plaguing her heart and mind.

When an unexpected lost message from the angels surfaces, Anna finds herself traveling the globe with Kopano, son of Wrath, in an attempt to gain support of fellow Nephilim and give them hope for the first time. It soon becomes clear that whatever freedoms Anna and the rest of the Neph are hoping to win will not be gained without a fight. Until then, Anna and Kaidan must put aside the issues between them, overcome the steamiest of temptations yet, and face the ultimate question: is loving someone worth risking their life?


 Title: Elegy (Hereafter #3) 
Author: Tara Hudson
Pages: 400
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: July 4, 2013

Summary: (Goodreads

 A stalker ghost, misguided Seers, and spellbinding wraiths—Amelia Ashley has faced them all. Now her greatest hope is to spend the rest of her afterlife with her living boyfriend, Joshua. But the demonic forces return to give her an ultimatum: turn herself over to the darkness or watch them murder one living person per week until she does.

Amelia fears she might really be doomed, until the forces of light give her another option. She can join them in their quest to gather souls, with a catch: Once she joins them, she can never see Joshua again.

Faced with impossible choices, Amelia decides to take her afterlife into her own hands—and fight back.

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Blog Tour: Gravity by Melissa West *Excerpt*








Author:
Melissa West
Publication Date:
October 30, 2012
Publisher:
Entangled Publishing
Formats:
Trade paperback, 304 pages
Source:
An ePub was provided by Shane @ Itching For Books
Buy:
Amazon
chapters.indigo.ca
Add:
GoodReads

Description

In the future, only one rule will matter:
Don’t. Ever. Peek.
Seventeen-year-old Ari Alexander just broke that rule and saw the last person she expected hovering above her bed — arrogant Jackson Locke, the most popular boy in her school. She expects instant execution or some kind of freak alien punishment, but instead, Jackson issues a challenge: help him, or everyone on Earth will die.
Melissa WestAri knows she should report him, but everything about Jackson makes her question what she’s been taught about his kind. And against her instincts, she’s falling for him. But Ari isn’t just any girl, and Jackson wants more than her attention. She’s a military legacy who’s been trained by her father and exposed to war strategies and societal information no one can know — especially an alien spy, like Jackson. Giving Jackson the information he needs will betray her father and her country, but keeping silent will start a war.

About the author

Melissa lives in a tiny suburb of Atlanta, GA with her husband and daughter. She pretends to like yoga, actually likes shoes, and could not live without coffee. Her writing heroes include greats like Jane Austen and Madeleine L’Engle.
She holds a B.A. in Communication Studies and an M.S. in Graphic Communication, both from Clemson University. Yeah, her blood runs orange.
Web site | Twitter | Facebook | GoodReads

Excerpt:

"My eyes fly open.
He hovers above me as light as air. A bright glow encircles him. His eyes are closed. A
sweet smile rests on his perfect face. Another drop hits my cheek, and I glance up to see his hair
shiny and wet, with beads of water gliding down his blond strands like leaves after an April rain.
I can’t look away. I want to reach out to him. Touch his face. My heart beats, beats, beats
inside my chest. Until it stops.
My Ancient is Jackson Locke." (Page 6)


Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (60) Avoiding Responsibility (Avoiding #2) by K.A. Linde

Title: Avoiding Responsibility
Author: K.A. Linde
Pages: 269
Self Publication
Release Date: December 1, 2012
Summary:

Lexi has finally given up her once destructive relationship and moved onto bigger and better things, namely Ramsey Bridges. But things are amiss with her new beau and she discovers things about him and his past that would make any girl turn the other way. And she's not sure his past can coincide with hers. A year after his entrance into her life, he's trying to make amends and does the one thing she never expects: invites her to a wedding...Jack's wedding. Find out what happens to Lexi as she deals with all the twists and turns that proceed from that question, throw in a few new players to shake up the mix, and don't forget all her old partners in crime.

I REALLY, REALLY WANT TO READ THIS!!! I fell in love with Avoiding Commitment and now I really want to see what happens between Lexi, Ramsey and Jack!!

What are you waiting for this week??

Cover Reveal: Shadow of the Mark by Leigh Fallon

Title: Shadow of the Mark (Carrier Trilogy #2)
Author: Leigh Fallon
Pages: 352
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: July 9, 2013
Pre-Order: Amazon|


Summary: 

Life for Megan Rosenberg just got a lot more complicated.

While she evoked the air element, and her feelings for Adam intensified, a web of lies, deceit, and betrayal was spun around her. With the Order tightening its hold, and the reinstatement of the Mark Knights, Megan has more questions than answers as the Marked Ones grow in strength.

New people arouse suspicion, the DeRises start behaving strangely, and Megan begins to unravel a destiny shrouded in mystery. It’s a destiny the Order has struggled to hide, and a destiny someone from the past… far in the past, has already laid claim to.

Alliances will be made, and friends will be lost, as the Order’s dark secrets are revealed by the very thing they sought to destroy.

About the Cover:
 
I know, there's no mistaking it. This is definitely a Carrier Series   
cover, but that was the intention. After the amazing reception to the   
cover of Carrier of the Mark, HarperCollins wanted Shadow's cover to   
be instantly recognizable. And it is, but the new darker color palette  
  reflects the darker tone that this installment brings, and the pink   
and purple really make it pop. I love it and think HarperCollins have   
done another amazing job. I hope you like it too.

About Leigh Fallon 


I started out life in South Africa. A year later my parents moved home to Dublin, Ireland. When I was older and realized my parents had moved me from exotic Durban, to sedate Rathfarnham, Dublin 16, I was rightly ticked off.

Giving up lions for sheep, I grew up in the foothills of the Dublin Mountains where I went to a convent school and had to contend with uniforms, gabardines, and nuns. When not dodging the beady glare of  the Sisters of Mercy, I was devouring every book I could get my hands on.

I traveled all over Europe while working in banking and treasury, but I gave up my calculator in favor of a keyboard and haven't stopped writing since. My first book, Carrier of the Mark, was published by HarperTeen in 2011.

Our home is in Cork in the south of Ireland, but we're currently on loan to Massachusetts in the US where I continue to write books about magic, ghosts, and romance, with a bit of Irish flavor.
Here's A Giveaway Leigh is Hosting!! (Click on the Link)

href="http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/388e392/"   
rel="nofollow">a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, October 18, 2012

Crewel (Crewel World #1) by Gennifer Albin

Title: Crewel (Crewel World #1) 
Author: Gennifer Albin
Pages: 368
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) 
Release Date: October 16, 2012


Summary: (Goodreads)

Incapable. Awkward. Artless.

That’s what the other girls whisper behind her back. But sixteen year-old Adelice Lewys has a secret: she wants to fail.

Gifted with the ability to weave time with matter, she’s exactly what the Guild is looking for, and in the world of Arras, being chosen as a Spinster is everything a girl could want. It means privilege, eternal beauty, and being something other than a secretary. It also means the power to embroider the very fabric of life. But if controlling what people eat, where they live and how many children they have is the price of having it all, Adelice isn’t interested.

Not that her feelings matter, because she slipped and wove a moment at testing, and they’re coming for her—tonight.

Now she has one hour to eat her mom’s overcooked pot roast. One hour to listen to her sister’s academy gossip and laugh at her Dad’s stupid jokes. One hour to pretend everything’s okay. And one hour to escape.

Because once you become a Spinster, there’s no turning back.

 *Received  from Macmillan for honest review*

Review: 

Wow, what a great book!! I am still in shock of how amazing it was!! From learning about this novel from other bloggers I had to see what the hype was which only excites readers more!! I was not disappointed but thrilled when I got able to read Crewel from the awesome people at Macmillan. Crewel was creative, thrilling and words cannot descrive how Gennifer Albin weaves her characters. The cover is gorgeous because it somewhat represents some of the story.

Adelice was an awesome character because she appears shy, but in reality she like to get in trouble, has a sense of humor and will always surprise you with what she is up to next. She is compelling to read about because of the action that takes place in the novel. I really liked her because in this world she is a Spinster and she has soo much determination to get back her family. In the beginning her refusal to be brought into a life of Spinster life is to help those around her. Her abilities are out of this world!! its a mind-blowing book !

The romance was lets say which boy will steal your heart and which one belongs with Adelice because these two men are HOT and Gorgeous, Erik and Jost are also interesting characters because they have soo much background that is important of what is happening in this society of Spinsters. I thought they were both developed perfectly and is intriguing what Gennifer Albin will be doing in the next book involving Adelice's love interests. Enora is a mentor to Adelice and treated her like a daughter, save her from the evil Guild. The ending was an OMG moment thinking what will happen next after what happened

Overall, Crewel was amazing and interesting that this is a MUST read!! Gennifer Albin created a great series and I am looking forward to the next book in the series!! I also liked the idea of Adelice being able to  create things by weaving it into time and matter. It felt magical because you can see all the things Gennifer wrote coming to life in your mind. This book is definitely one of my favorite books of 2012! 

5/5

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (59) Things I Can't Forget by Miranda Kennelly

Title: Things I Can't Forget
Author: Miranda Kenneally
Pages: 304
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire/Raincoast Books
Release Date: March 1, 2013



Summary:

Companion to Catching Jordan and Stealing Parker.

Kate has always been the good girl. Too good, according to some people at school—although they have no idea the guilty secret she carries. But this summer, everything is different…

This summer she’s a counselor at Cumberland Creek summer camp, and she wants to put the past behind her. This summer Matt is back as a counselor too. He’s the first guy she ever kissed, and he’s gone from a geeky songwriter who loved The Hardy Boys to a buff lifeguard who loves to flirt…with her.

Kate used to think the world was black and white, right and wrong. Turns out, life isn’t that easy…

Read an excerpt here

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Halloween Giveaway!!

 
Hey everyone!! To celebrate Halloween Stuck In YA Books and the awesome publishing company Thomas Allen LTD are hosting a giveaway for CANADIAN book followers! For this Halloween giveaway it is...... 2 books by popular author Beth Fantaskey:

and

Rules: 

Open to Canada
Ends on November 1, 2012
* This giveaway is also hosted by Thomas Allen LTD who is giving away the copies to one lucky winner of both books!


Sunday, October 14, 2012

Cover Reveal: The Dollhouse Asylum by Mary Gray

Title: The Dollhouse Asylum 
Author: Mary Gray
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Release Date: October 8, 2013


Summary: 

A virus that had once been contained has returned, and soon no place will be left untouched by its destruction. But when seventeen-year-old Cheyenne wakes up in Elysian Fields--a subdivision cut off from the world and its monster-creating virus--she is thrilled to have a chance at survival.

At first, Elysian Fields,with its beautiful houses and manicured lawns, is perfect. Teo Richardson, the older man who stole Cheyenne's heart, built it so they could be together. But when Teo tells Cheyenne there are tests that she and seven other couples must pass to be worthy of salvation, Cheyenne begins to question the perfection of his world.

The people they were before are gone. Cheyenne is now "Persephone," and each couple has been re-named to reflect the most tragic romances ever told. Everyone is fighting to pass the test, to remain in Elysian Fields. Teo dresses them up, tells them when to move and how to act, and in order to pass the test, they must play along.

If they play it right, then they'll be safe.

But if they play it wrong, they'll die

This book sounds really good!!!!

Stacking the Shelves (23) Publishers Rock!!


Review:

The Almost Truth by Eileen Cook
Sever (The Chemical Garden #3) by Lauren DeStefano
Flash Point by Nancy Kress 
Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) by Sarah J. Maas
Uses for Boys by Erica Lorraine Scheidt
Stolen Nights (Vampire Queen #2) by Rebecca Maizel
Touch of Death by  Kelly Hashway

BIG Thank YOUs to Simon Schuster Canada, Penguin Canada/Razorbill, Macmillan Kids (Netgalley), Spencer Hill Press!!

Bought: 

Eve and Adam by Michael Grant & Katherine Applegate
Mystic City (Mystic City #1) by Theo Lawrence
Love Left Behind by S.H. Kolee

I had an awesome mail week!! I was soo excited to find a package from all these amazing publishers and I cannot wait to read all of these books!!


Saturday, October 13, 2012

Deity Book Trailer and Apollyon Cover Reveal



Title: Deity
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Release Date: November 6th, 2012

History is on repeat, and things didn’t go so well the last time.

Alexandria isn’t sure she’s going to make it to her eighteenth birthday–to her Awakening. A long-forgotten, fanatical order is out to kill her, and if the Council ever discovers what she did in the Catskills, she’s a goner… and so is Aiden.


If that’s not freaky enough, whenever Alex and Seth spend time “training”–which really is just Seth’s code word for some up-close and personal one-on-one time–she ends up with another mark of the Apollyon, which brings her one step closer to Awakening ahead of schedule. Awesome.


But as her birthday draws near, her entire world shatters with a startling revelation and she’s caught between love and Fate. One will do anything to protect her. One has been lying to her since the beginning. Once the gods have revealed themselves, unleashing their wrath, lives will be irrevocably changed… and destroyed.


Those left standing will discover if love is truly greater than Fate…
Barnes & Noble | Amazon | IndieBound | Book Depository
Deity (The third book in the Covenant Series)
Available in both print and digital version on Nov. 6, 2012
Official Deity Book Trailer 

Did you read an ARC of Deity and been dying to get your hands on Elixir, the novella told in Aiden’s POV and picks up right after the end of Deity? Well, you don’t have to wait any longer. The free novella is available now. DO NOT read Elixir if you have not read Deity. It will spoil Deity for you and not to mention, you will have no idea what is going on.
Elixir will be available in print. Kindle, and Nook formats on November 27, 2012.
Click HERE to read Elixir. 

YAY Elixir is finally OUT!!! I LOVE THIS SERIES!!! Be sure to check out the blog for a review of Deity, which was AMAZING!!
And we’re super excited to share the cover for the 4th book in the Covenant Series, Apollyon, which is due out April 2013.

Title: Apollyon
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Release Date: April 9th, 2013

Check out Jennifer L. Armentrout on the following sites:
Facebook
Twitter
Official Website

What do you think of the cover and the trailer??

Tuesday, October 9, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (58) Shadows in the Silence (Angelfire #3) by Courtney Allison Moulton

Title: Shadows in the Silence (Angelfire #3)
Author: Courtney Allison Moulton
Pages: 384
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Release Date:  January 29, 2012

Summary: (Goodreads)

 Your strength in heart and hand will fall. . . .
Ellie knows that the darkest moments are still to come, and she has everything to fight for:

She must fight for Will.
The demonic have resorted to their cruelest weapons to put Will in mortal danger, and Ellie makes an unlikely alliance to save him and to stop Lilith and Sammael, who seek to drown the world in blood and tear a hole into Heaven.

She must fight for humanity.
As the armies of Hell rise and gather for the looming End of Days, Ellie and her band of allies travel to the world’s darkest and most ancient regions in her quest to come into her full glory as the archangel Gabriel.

And Ellie must save herself.
Her humanity withers beneath the weight of her cold archangel power, but Ellie must hold tight to who she is and who she loves as she prepares for the ultimate battle for Heaven and Earth.

In this final installment in the Angelfire trilogy, Courtney Allison Moulton brings her dark world of epic battles and blistering romance to a blazing bright conclusion.



Thursday, October 4, 2012

Cover Reveal: The Elite (The Selection #2) by Kiera Cass

Title: The Elite (The Selection #2)
Author: Kiera Cass
Pages: 336
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: April 23, 2013

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.

 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...