Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Cover Reveal: Light in the Shadows by A. Meredith Walters (Thursday)


Release date is March 26th
Blurb:

How do you keep going when you feel like your life is over?
Maggie never thought she’d see Clay again. So, she attempts to put her life back together after her heart has been shattered to pieces. Moving on and moving forward, just as Clay wanted her to.

Clay never stopped thinking of Maggie. Even after ripping their lives apart and leaving her behind to get the help he so desperately needed. He is healing...slowly. But his heart still belongs to the girl who tried to save him.

When a sudden tragedy brings Maggie and Clay face to face again, nothing is the same. Yet some things never change. Can the darkness that threatened to consume them be transformed into something else and finally give them what they always wanted? And can two people who fought so hard to be together, finally find their happiness? Or will their demons and fear drive them apart for good?

The thing about love, is even when it destroys you, it has a way of mending what is broken. And in the shadows, you can still see the light.
 
 
 

Tuesday, January 29, 2013

Cover Reveal: While He Was Away by Karen Schreck

While He Was Away Walmart-Exclusive Cover Reveal
 and How Inspiration Can Come From Anywhere:
Even a Trip to the Grocery Store and a Handful of Long-Lost Photographs
By Karen Schreck


I sometimes wonder what my mother would say if she knew that her story—one of the saddest, sweetest love stories I’ve ever heard—was retold in a new way in my young adult novel, While He Was Away.

Now Sourcebooks Fire is sharing the story yet again, in a second, exclusive edition, released nation-wide at Walmart.  The fact that Sourcebooks believed enough in While He Was Away to bring it to life the first time felt like a much-needed confirmation of years of hard work.  The fact that they are standing behind my book again in this way . . . well, it feels like a miracle.  I’m truly grateful.

I wonder what my mother would say to this incredible news? I like to think she would be grateful too.  I like to think she would be happy.  She wanted her story heard after all.  So much so that it was one of the last things she told me, just before she died.

One rainy night when I was fourteen, right before cancer left her to ill to talk, let alone drive a car, my mother said, “Come with me.  We’re going shopping.”  We drove to the little local market and wandered up and down the aisles, as she threw in a can of tuna, some dishwashing soap, and other little things we didn’t need.  We paid for these little things.  She looked anxious and tired, still she hadn’t said a thing; we hadn’t spoken a word.

It was only when we were parked in our driveway again that my mother said, “I was married once before when I was very young.  He died a hero in WWII.”

And that was that.  Soon after, she died.

I thought about my mother’s mysterious love story for many years.  I talked to relatives, found long-lost photographs.  The story took seed in me.  It flowered into a novel about a young women whose boyfriend leaves for the Iraq War.  In her loneliness, she seeks out a grandmother she’s never met, whose first husband died in WWII.  She seeks out a character inspired by mother.

A late night drive, a few words spoken in the dark.  Even things as simple as this can inspire a novel.

Waiting on Wednesday (69) Rush (The Game #1) by Eve Silver

Title: Rush (The Game #1)
Author: Eve Silver
Pages: 352
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Release Date: June 11, 2013


Summary: (Goodreads)  
So what’s the game now? This, or the life I used to know?

When Miki Jones is pulled from her life, pulled through time and space into some kind of game—her carefully controlled life spirals into chaos. In the game, she and a team of other teens are sent on missions to eliminate the Drau, terrifying and beautiful alien creatures. There are no practice runs, no training, and no way out. Miki has only the guidance of secretive but maddeningly attractive team leader Jackson Tate, who says the game isn’t really a game, that what Miki and her new teammates do now determines their survival, and the survival of every other person on this planet. She laughs. He doesn’t. And then the game takes a deadly and terrifying turn.


Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday (68) Elegy (Hereafter #3) by Tara Hudson

Title: Elegy (Hereafter #3)
Author: Tara Hudson
Pages: 400
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: June 4, 2013

Summary: (Goodreads

A stalker ghost, misguided Seers, and spellbinding wraiths—Amelia Ashley has faced them all. Now her greatest hope is to spend the rest of her afterlife with her living boyfriend, Joshua. But the demonic forces return to give her an ultimatum: turn herself over to the darkness or watch them murder one living person per week until she does.

Amelia fears she might really be doomed, until the forces of light give her another option. She can join them in their quest to gather souls, with a catch: Once she joins them, she can never see Joshua again.

Faced with impossible choices, Amelia decides to take her afterlife into her own hands—and fight back.


Teaser Tuesday: If You Stay by Courtney Cole

Title: If You Stay
Author: Courtney Cole
Publisher: Lakehouse Press
Release Date: February 12, 2013
Genre: New Adult

Summary: (Goodreads)

24-year old Pax Tate is an asshole.
Seriously.

He’s a tattooed, rock-hard bad-boy with a bad attitude to match.

But he’s got his reasons.

His mother died when Pax was seven, leaving a hole in his heart filled with guilt although he doesn’t understand why. What he does know is that he and his dad are left alone and with more issues than they can count.

As Pax grew up, he tried to be the kid his father always wanted; the perfect golden boy, but it didn’t work. His dad couldn’t overcome his grief long enough to notice and Pax couldn’t keep up the impossible perfect fa├žade.
So he slipped far, far from it.

Now, he uses drugs and women to cope with the ugliness, the black void that he doesn’t want to deal with. If he pretends that the emptiness isn’t there, then it isn’t, right?
Wrong.

And it’s never more apparent than when he meets Mila.
Sweet, beautiful Mila Hill is the fresh air to his hardened frown, the beauty to his ugly heart. He doesn’t know how to not hurt her, but he quickly realizes that he’s got to figure it out because he needs her to breathe.

When memories of his mother’s death resurface from where he’s repressed them for so long, Mila is there to catch him when the guilt starts making sense. Mila is the one…the one who can save him from his broken troubled heart; from his issues, from the emptiness.

But only if he can stop being an asshole long enough to allow it.

He knows that. And he’s working on it.

But is that enough to make her stay?

EXCERPT

Without a word, he ducks his head and his lips meet mine. It is as unexpected as it is amazing. His lips are soft and he tastes like mint.  Gone is the taste of ashtray and vomit.  Gone is the limp man from the other night, the one who convulsed on the pavement.  In his place is someone vibrant and alive, someone who smells delicious and is devastatingly sexy.  Someone who is bad for me.

Courtney Cole  If You Stay . Lakehouse Press. Kindle Edition.

Friday, January 18, 2013

The Reluctant Wife Blog Tour

Hi Amanda, I’m waving really madly from New Zealand. Thanks for having me over to blog today. It’s my first visit here, for my first contemporary release-perfect!

What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Hmmm, everything – no, only joking! As it was my first contemporary everything felt foreign. I had to get use to changing the speech, language, clothes, description, setting used by my characters.  However, I guess the toughest part of writing THE RELUCTANT WIFE,  was dealing with a topic that is quite emotional for me. I suffer from endometriosis and have had to deal with all the issues this condition brings. The journey was rather cathartic  actually. It was fun to give Abby, my heroine, her happy ever after.


Favorite book that you read?

Gosh, you’re asking some tough questions. I have so many it would be too hard to pick one. The latest book I’ve read, which I loved, is my critique partner, Gracie O’Neil’s, Shadow Seer: Book Two of The Scroll of Shadows Trilogy. If you love a great romantic suspense with a dash of paranormal, then I’m sure you’ll love this book.


If you were stuck on an island, name two things you could bring with you? 



Bear Grylls, the survival expert. He’d know what to do in order to survive and he’s HOT! I’m sure I could think of ways to keep us both entertained and warm at night...

Second, I’d take my tooth brush. Even without tooth paste I’d feel fresh if my teeth were clean! Plus I’m sure Bear would appreciate it.


Favorite character to write about in your novel?

I think it was Dante- my hero. He was such a conflicted soul who set down a path that he felt was right for his family, but which was wrong for all the right reasons. He was forced to take over his father’s corporate empire at the age of twenty and he’s responsible for many employees, his large extended family and the family title – he’s a Conte. He feels weighed down by duty and responsibility, and when his brother dies, leaving him the only male, he panics when his latest test results show an abnormality.

If he dies without an heir it would see his mother and sisters lose everything.  His latest test results are not good. He feels his mortality and needs a son.

He needs his wife back but he is scared to love her. Is it far to make Abby fall in love with him, if he’s a dead man walking? His mother never remarried when his father died young and Abby is still in her mid-twenties. He doesn’t want her to pine for him for the rest of her life.

I loved teaching him that Abby would happily have his love even if it was only for one day. Love is everything.


Describe the weirdest/spontaneous thing you’ve done?

LOL – what a question. I’m one of life’s least spontaneous people. I plan, I plot all my books, and I generally have a strategy for everything and anything I do. That does not mean I’m boring. It just  means I have goals that I want to achieve and I try to ensure I meet them.

One of the scariest, spontaneous things I did was buy a house on a whim. I’ve just told you that I plot and plan, yet I bought a house off the plans with little or no thought. My best-friend took me to see the townhouse she was buying off plan and I immediately bought the one next door to her unit. When I got home that night I broke out into a cold sweat and couldn’t sleep for a week. But it all worked out fine. I sold my house once my new town-house was built and my friend and I lived next door to each other quite happily.

Thanks for blogging with me. I thought I’d share an excerpt from The Reluctant Wife

Lunch went smoothly. Everybody was trying so hard to disguise their amazement at Abby’s return. Now they were off to the hospital to see her grandmother.

Abby held tightly to the seat as she sat alongside Dante in his sports car while he expertly edged it through the city’s busy traffic. She loved the rumble of the powerful engine and felt safe with Dante in control behind the wheel.

“I should be able to make up the fifteen minutes. Don’t worry, we won’t be late.”

They’d been late to the luncheon, where she’d had to suffer all the family’s teasing over their freshly showered arrival. It was good-natured banter and she got a reminder of what a fabulous actor Dante was. She could almost believe he was a man totally besotted at being reconciled with his wife.

The luncheon had been the soothing balm she’d needed. Dante might not be welcoming, but his family certainly was. Her grandmother would love being fussed over by the gregarious Lombardi extended family. It should help her recuperation immensely. For that, and his help in quickly organizing the surgery, she owed him.

She reached forward and turned the car’s air-conditioning up another notch. Dante’s mood should have cooled her significantly, but her nervousness over her grandmother’s condition, and the pointed questions she’d no doubt face when they met, made her perspire.

“Are you too hot or too cold?”

She eyed him over her sunglasses. Not as cold as your heart, she wanted to yell. Instead, not trusting herself to speak, she shook her head.

“I can put the top down if you like.”

“No, I’m fine,” she said lying.

The black Porsche suited him to a tee. It was powerful, fast, and sleek, and it screamed wealth and sex. Everything about the car matched the man. Why had she not seen it before they married? The car hardly spoke of a man used to compromise.

Because all she’d seen at nineteen was the excitement of him, the beauty of him—and the fairy tale.

The one thing the Porsche Carrera definitely did not represent was family man. Before she thought about what she was saying the words popped out of her mouth. “I think you’ll need a new car.”

“I’m going to, actually. I’m awaiting the new Carrera GTS.”

“That’s not what I meant. This car is not suitable for children.”

She watched the frown lines appear around his eyes and his mouth firm.

“In what way?”

“Besides being too fast and dangerous? The baby’s seat can’t go in the front and there isn’t enough room to safely position it in the back. Let alone fit a stroller.” She watched his hands tighten on the steering wheel. “I’d make the most of driving this car while you can.”

 “You’re right. I’ll need to get something that is safe and sturdy. With loads of airbags.” He finally looked briefly at her. “What do you suggest? A station wagon perhaps?”

The thought of a man as virile and as testosterone-filled as Dante driving a station wagon made her laugh out loud.

“What’s so funny?”

“You. Driving a station wagon.”

“I’ll drive whatever car is best for our child.”

 “A child means the world to you, doesn’t it?”

He remained silent concentrating on the road. “It isn’t only about duty, though. I admit I want a son to carry on the Lombardi name and title, but it’s more than that. And, yes, I married you because I thought it was time to be a father and…you were very desirable.”

The truth hurt. He’d never loved her. Even though she’d known it deep inside, the shock of hearing him admit it made her heart shrivel up.

“It was my brother’s death that made me understand I couldn’t take anything for granted. It was time and you—the first time I looked in your eyes I realized you’d be perfect.”

“Every girl’s dream. To be swept off her feet to become a baby-maker.”

 “I’m sorry. I’m sorry for not getting to know you properly first. I thought marriage to me, to be a part of my family, was what you wanted.”

He was looking at the road, straight ahead. His mouth was a firm line and she could almost see regret etched on his forehead. Regret for marrying her or regret that he’d been so dictatorial?

Giveaway: Now, tell me what kind of car Dante drives, and I’ll draw one lucky winner who’ll receive a copy of my May 2012 Regency historical, Invitation to Scandal, in book or eBook format.


About Bron:


New Zealander Bronwen Evans grew up loving books. She’s always indulged her love for story-telling, and is constantly gobbling up movies, books and theatre. Her head is filled with characters and stories, particularly lovers in angst. Is it any wonder she’s a proud romance writer?

She writes both historical and contemporary sexy romances for the modern woman who likes intelligent, spirited heroines, and compassionate alpha heroes. Her debut Regency romance, Invitation to Ruin won the RomCon 2012 Readers Crown Best Historical and was an RT Reviewers’ Choice Nominee Best First Historical 2011. To Dare the Duke of Dangerfield was a FINALIST in the Kindle Book Review Indie Romance Book of the Year 2012. Look out for her first Entangled Publishing Indulgence released Dec 2012, The Reluctant Wife.

Bronwen loves hearing from avid romance readers at romance@bronwenevans.com
you can keep up with Bronwen’s news by visiting her website www.bronwenevans.com




Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...