Thursday, March 28, 2013

Book Giveaway: Hell's Hollow by Summer Stone

Title: Hell's Hollow
Author: Summer Stone
Pages: 182
Release Date: March 14, 2013


Summary: (Goodreads)

When Seraphina was younger, she healed her best friend's injured hand. Terrified by the inexplicable cure, the girl shunned her. From that day on, Seraphina found herself without friends, a freak and an oddity. And so she obeyed her mother’s rule to refrain from using her innate ability, heeded her mother's warning that its use could land her in the local mental health facility alongside her aunt and grandmother.

But when sixteen-year-old Seraphina finds a mysterious, wounded boy hiding in the hollow in the woods behind her house, she can't hold out against the overpowering urge to help him. She is drawn to him each night, and as they come to know one another, their irresistible attraction blooms.

She longs to uncover his secrets — where he comes from and why he's hiding and how he came to be so wounded — and to share her own, though she knows it's forbidden. And while her healing touch seems to be helping him, it's hurting her. When the symptoms of psychosis — experienced by the women in her bloodline who used their powers — begin to plague Seraphina, she is faced with the unbearable choice of saving her sanity or the boy she’s come to love


Giveaway!! 

Summer has graciously offered to giveaway 3 copies of her novel. 
Open International *Accepts e-books*


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Promo Post- Picture Perfect


PICTURE PERFECT Synopsis:
Fashion design major Cat Mitchell has a closet full of gorgeous clothes - and not a single thing fits. After two years of runway modeling for easy cash, an accident shattered her lower leg bone and her self-esteem in just one swift fall. Ten months of no exercise, prescription steroids, comfort eating and yoga pants meant returning to campus as a size twelve instead of her former size two. When her gorgeous long-time friend with benefits sees her for the first time after her accident and snubs her in front of all her friends, Cat’s self-image hits rock bottom. Her sorority sisters all insist that she looks gorgeous, but all Cat sees is the roll of her stomach when she sits down, or the dimpling at the back of her thighs that wasn't there last year. Cat’s therapist prescribes something radical to stop the downward spiral - nude modeling for a nearby college's human form drawing classes. When Cat faces her fears and bares it all for the class, she realizes that she's posing naked in front the most gorgeous, buffest guy she's ever seen in her life. He asks her out after the class, and after one steamy night together, Cat's absolutely smitten.
Nate’s pretty close to perfect – he takes Cat rock climbing when he discovers that it makes her feel strong and becomes a great chef after he learns that the perfect pesto sauce makes her swoon. Cat starts to feel like her old self again - confident and beautiful - as long as Nate's around. Even when he discourages her from entering the Real Woman Project, a design competition for plus-sized apparel, she reasons that he's just trying to prevent old body image wounds from splitting wide open again. But when Cat goes home with Nate for Thanksgiving, she discovers something shocking from his recent past that proves that he hasn’t always been so encouraging of women of all shapes and sizes. Cat has no idea what to think, but she does know one thing - this might destroy their relationship before it's even had a chance to get off the ground.
Before Cat can figure out whether the real Nate is the sensitive, adoring guy she fell in love with, or an undercover asshole, she'll have to finally feel comfortable in her own skin - even if it means leaving him forever.


Author Bio:

Alessandra Thomas is a New Adult writer who swears she was in her twenties yesterday. Since she's not, she spends her time looking back on her college years fondly, and writing sexy stories about guys and
girls falling in love and really living life for the first time. When she's not writing, you can find her with a spoonful of ice cream in one hand and the newest New Adult release in the other.


Rafflecopter Embed Code:





Links:


Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/alessandra.thomas.98?ref=ts&fref=ts 

Cover Reveal: Frigid by J. Lynn




Cover design: Okay Creations
Photographer: Jennifer Rush

For twenty-one-year-old Sydney, being in love with Kyler isn't anything new. They'd been best friends ever since he pushed her down on the playground and she made him eat a mud pie. Somewhere over the years, she fell for him and fell hard. The big problem with that? Kyler puts the 'man' in man-whore. He's never stayed with a girl longer than a few nights, and with it being their last year in college, Syd doesn't want to risk their friendship by declaring her love.

Kyler has always put Syd on a pedestal that was too high for him to reach. To him, she's perfect and she's everything. But the feelings he has for her, he's always hidden away or focused on any other female. After all, Kyler will always be the poor boy from the wrong side of tracks, and Syd will always be the one girl he can never have.

But when they're stranded together at a posh ski resort due to a massive Nor'easter, there's nothing stopping their red-hot feelings for each other from coming to the surface. Can their friendship survive the attraction? Better yet, can they survive at all? Because as the snow falls, someone is stalking them, and this ski trip may be a life-changer in more ways than one.

Frigid will be available in digital formats on July 30th 2013
Print release of Frigid will be November 5th 2012




J. Lynn, also known as Jennifer L. Armentrout, is a # 1 New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author. She lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russel Loki.
Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen.
She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.

Twitter  https://twitter.com/JLArmentrout
Facebook http://www.facebook.com/JenniferLArmentrout
Website http://www.jenniferarmentrout.com/


Between Friends by Amanda Cowen

Title: Between Friends
Author: Amanda Cowen
Published: March 22, 2013
Self-Published
Genre: New Adult

Buy: Amazon|AmazonCA

Summary (Goodreads)

The only way to have a friend is to be one…especially between the sheets…

When neurotically challenged and unlucky in love Megan Daniels, is propositioned by her life-long friend Ben Romano with a coin toss (heads, they sleep together, tails they don’t) the night before they are about to attend a destination wedding, she drunkenly accepts his challenge. But when Megan wakes up the next morning with a bad hang-over and Ben in her bed, she is more than mortified. It isn’t until the tropical heat begins to ignite emotions Megan never ever believed she could possibly have, that she starts to question if risking their friendship is the answer to finding true love


Review:

Between Friends was fun, sexy and one great read! As a reader who loves New Adult novels, this was definitely one of those books that people will either love the characters and their personalities or dislike what was going to happen. I thought the story was very clever and was full of love between the characters. There was some grammar, but it was easy to over look. Amanda Cowen has created a good addictive read for all readers who are interested in this new genre!I did wish there was more stories of Megan's friends, because we did not get to see what they were like.

The main character Megan is the maid of honor for her best friend Jessica's wedding in Costa Rica. The night before she meets her best friend Ben for drinks where everything changes with just a coin toss. I though Megan was a bit whiny through some of the situations with what was happening with Ben. What I liked about him was that he was honest with Megan at the same time you get to see what he wants to be with Megan from the beginning of the book. Megan thought it would ruin their relationship as friends with the complication with sex, but as you read the book, they are really perfect for each other. I did like Cowen writing but at times it did have some repetitive words in the beginning of the novel.

Overall, Between Friends was a really quick read for me since I did like it! The chemistry between Ben and Megan were both funny during the preparations for Jessica's wedding to the most sweetest thing he could do to win her heart! The ending was adorable because I was totally rooting for these characters! Definitely check this book out if you love romance, tropical setting and friends crossing the line to relationship. 


4/5

Sunday, March 24, 2013

The Boys of Summer Blog Tour: Promo Post



Welcome to my stop on The Boys of Summer blog tour hosted by YA Bound.  Click HERE to check out the full blog tour schedule!

The Boys of Summer (Summer #1)
Release Date: 12/17/12
294 pages

Summary from Goodreads: 

It seemed only natural to nickname them the ‘OnslowBoys’. Every time they swaggered in the front doorof the Onslow Hotel after a hard week’s work, their laughter was loud and genuine as they settled onto their bar stools. I peeked through the restaurant partition, a flimsy divider between my world and theirs. I couldn’t help but smile whenever I saw them, saw him ... Toby Morrison.

Quiet seventeen-year-old Tess doesn’t relish the thought of a summertime job. She wants nothing more than to forget the past haunts of high school and have fun with her best friends before the dreaded Year Twelve begins.
To Tess, summer is when everything happens: riding bikes down to the lake, watching the fireworks at the Onslow Show and water bomb fights at the sweltering Sunday markets.

How did she let her friends talk her into working?

After first-shift disasters, rude, wealthy tourists and a taunting ex-boyfriend, Tess is convinced nothing good can come of working her summer away. However, Tess finds unlikely allies in a group of locals dubbed ‘The Onslow Boys’, who are old enough to drive cars, drink beer and not worry about curfews. Tess’s summer ofworking expands her world with a series of first times with new friends, forbidden love and heartbreaking chaos.

All with the one boy she has never been able to forget. 
It will be a summer she will always remember.
Warning: sexual references, and occasional course language.

Add to Goodreads:

Add An Endless Summer (Summer #2) to your Goodreads shelf:

About the Author
C.J Duggan is an Australian author who lives with her husband in a rural border town of New South Wales, Australia.
The Boys of Summer is Book One in her Mature Young Adult Romance Series.


Buy Links:


Excerpt 2

Moon rays filtered through the windshield, giving the cabin an otherworldly glow.
Toby’s perfect teeth were illuminated when he smiled. “You know, you are the worst winner!” He shook his head. “Ever since you won the bet, you’ve been apologising. Just go with it, enjoy it, because I assure you, next time …” - he leaned closer - “… you will not be the winner.” He pulled back, smug.
I curved a brow. “Next time?”
He nodded. “I fully intend to redeem myself.”
“Want a chance to rebuild your shattered ego, do you? I bet you’re itching to fix my bike so you can be rid of me once and for all.” I shouldered him gently, teasing him as I would Adam. And then I realised what I had done; I had treated him like my friends. He looked down at his shoulder, then up at me. His eyes shadowed with untold meanings that I couldn’t read.
“What if I didn’t want to fix your bike?” he said in all seriousness.
“Why, is my company so stimulating that you can’t bear the thought of being without me?” I teased nervously.
I was aiming for light and airy, but something must have gone wrong with my delivery because Toby’s face went blank. He looked out into the lights of Onslow, ran his tongue over his bottom lip and sighed.

***GIVEAWAY***
Enter below to win one of 5 e-book copies of The Boys of Summer, open Internationally!


Buy Links:
 photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg  photo 111AD205-AA04-4F9E-A0F4-C1264C4E9F30-1855-000001A1E8CEB6D7_zps9b730b94.jpg

Saturday, March 23, 2013

Stacking the Shelves (44)


Review:

Walking Disaster (Disaster #2) by Jamie McGuire
Hopeless (Hopeless #1) by Colleen Hoover *READ*
The 5th Wave (The 5th Wave #1) by Rick Yancy 
Crash (Crash #1) by Nicole Williams *Read* Its also signed + invitation for Crush!
Earthbound by Aprilynne Pike 

*Thank You Penguin Canada(HUGs), Atria Books, and HarperCollins for the amazing books this week!

Bought: 

Clockwork Princess (Infernal Devices #3) by Cassandra Clare
Breaking Point (Article 5 #2) by Kristen Simmons
Delirium Stories: Hana, Annabel, Raven by Lauren Oliver

Thursday, March 21, 2013

Wait For You (Wait For You #1) by J. Lynn

Title: Wait For You
Author: J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout)
Release Date: February 26, 2013
E-Book Pages: 332
Genre: New Adult 
*New*- Will be released by HarperCollins! Congrats Jen!! 

Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Nook| AmazonCA

Summary: (Goodreads)

Some things are worth waiting for…

Traveling thousands of miles from home to enter college is the only way nineteen-year-old Avery Morgansten can escape what happened at the Halloween party five years ago—an event that forever changed her life. All she needs to do is make it to her classes on time, make sure the bracelet on her left wrist stays in place, not draw any attention to herself, and maybe—please God—make a few friends, because surely that would be a nice change of pace. The one thing she didn’t need and never planned on was capturing the attention of the one guy who could shatter the precarious future she’s building for herself.

Some things are worth experiencing…

Cameron Hamilton is six feet and three inches of swoon-worthy hotness, complete with a pair of striking blue eyes and a remarkable ability to make her want things she believed were irrevocably stolen from her. She knows she needs to stay away from him, but Cam is freaking everywhere, with his charm, his witty banter, and that damn dimple that’s just so… so lickable. Getting involved with him is dangerous, but when ignoring the simmering tension that sparks whenever they are around each other becomes impossible, he brings out a side of her she never knew existed.

Some things should never be kept quiet…

But when Avery starts receiving threatening emails and phone calls forcing her to face a past she wants silenced, she has no other choice but to acknowledge that someone is refusing to allow her to let go of that night when everything changed. When the devastating truth comes out, will she resurface this time with one less scar? And can Cam be there to help her or will he be dragged down with her?

And some things are worth fighting for…


My Review:


This book was amazing, and I love anything Jennifer L. Armentrout writes because it can leave people wanting more or just plain speechless. Wait For You is the first book Jen has written in the New Adult category, and she does it brilliantly! Everyone should read this book because its one of the best books out there that I have read this year. I can now say that I am excited for any future JLA New Adult book. 

Avery is the main character in Wait For You, who is in need to get away from her home and move away from being called names from all her friends at her high school. With a fresh new start far from her parents the perfect way is to move to West Virginia. One her first day of classes she almost knock's over the gorgeous Cam Hamilton. Sparks fly between them right away as well as a friendship. Both have secrets they don't want to reveal. 

Jennifer L. Armentrout is a literary genius when it comes to books because I remember reading Half-Blood, I was already in love with her novels. I am such a huge fan!  The writing was addictive which is something I could read fast because of the plot and the characters. Wait For You is by far one of my favorite books! Cam is definitely a favorite and a man you can make you cookies and look at the stars (Move over McDreamy say hello to Cam!) Cam is funny, determined and a little mysterious, which makes him a really well rounded character whom any girl can fall for. But any male lead JLA creates is a boy the reader can fall in love with.

 Avery is one tough cookie and put a front with all her friends, she begins to understand what happened in the past cannot go away and while she is determined to hide her past, she falls in love with the amazing, handsome Cam who is very her soul mate because they have so much in common.You will love the plot and the characters! If you have not read any of Jen's novels, you should definitely check out this New Adult novel! I am happy to say she is my favorite author. 

5/5


Wednesday, March 20, 2013

Cover Reveal: The Precious Things by Stephanie Parent


Precious Things
Release Date: May 2013
Cover Deisgned by: Allie Brennan of B Design 
Cover reveal organized by: YA Bound

Summary from Goodreads:
Isabelle Andrews isn’t supposed to be here. She isn’t supposed to be a freshman at Hartford Community College, she isn't supposed to be living at home and working at her dad’s failing bakery, and she definitely isn’t supposed to be taking Intro to Electronic Music Production, a class that will get her nowhere toward her goal of an English Ph.D. by age twenty-five. But when her dad’s latest business fiasco eats up her college fund, Hartford Community College is exactly where Isabelle finds herself—and thanks to her late enrollment, she doesn’t even get to choose her classes. Stuck with Electronic Music and way-too-easy English courses, Isabelle is determined to wallow in all the misery she feels entitled to.


But community college brings some unexpected benefits…like the fact that a certain overworked, over-scheduled Electronic Music professor hands over most of his duties to his teaching assistant. His tall, green-eyed, absolutely gorgeous teaching assistant. When TA Evan Strauss discovers Isabelle’s apathy toward electronic music—and, well, all music—he makes it his mission to convert her. The music Evan composes stirs something inside Isabelle, but she can’t get involved—after all, she’ll be transferring out as soon as possible. 

Still, no matter how tightly Isabelle holds on to her misery, she finds it slipping away in the wake of all Hartford Community offers: new friendships, a surprisingly cool poetry professor, and most of all, Evan. But Evan’s dream of owning his own music studio is as impractical as Isabelle’s dad’s bakery, and when Evan makes a terrible decision, everything Isabelle has gained threatens to unravel. Soon Isabelle discovers that some of the most important lessons take place outside the classroom…and that in life, as in Evan’s favorite Depeche Mode song, the most precious things can be the hardest to hold on to.

About the Author
Stephanie Parent is a graduate of the Master of Professional Writing program at USC and attended the Baltimore School for the Arts as a piano major. She moved to Los Angeles because of Francesca Lia Block's WEETZIE BAT books, which might give you some idea of how much books mean to her. She also loves dogs, books about dogs, and sugary coffee drinks both hot and cold.
Follow Stephanie at:
Blog
| Twitter|Goodreads  

Waiting on Wednesday (75) The Ward by Jordana Frankel

Title: The Ward 
Author: Jordana Frankel
Pages: 384
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins
Release Date: April 30, 2013

Summary:

Sixteen-year-old Ren is a daredevil mobile racer who will risk everything to survive in the Ward, what remains of a water-logged Manhattan. To save her sister, who is suffering from a deadly illness thought to be caused by years of pollution, Ren accepts a secret mission from the government: to search for a freshwater source in the Ward, with the hope of it leading to a cure.

However, she never expects that her search will lead to dangerous encounters with a passionate young scientist; a web of deceit and lies; and an earth-shattering mystery that’s lurking deep beneath the water’s rippling surface.

Jordana Frankel’s ambitious debut novel and the first in a two-book series, The Ward is arresting, cinematic, and thrilling—perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld or Ann Aguirre

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...