Sunday, July 28, 2013

Saturday, July 27, 2013

Obsession by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Obsession
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 370
Publisher: Entangled Publishing (Covet)
Release Date: May 31, 2013
Genre: Romance
Source: Publisher for Review
5/5
Read: June 1, 2013

Buy: Amazon| Kobo|

Summary (Goodreads)

This is a stand alone novel that is an adult spin-off
of the Lux Series


He’s arrogant, domineering, and... To. Die. For.

Hunter is a ruthless killer. And the Department of Defense has him firmly in their grasp, which usually doesn’t chafe too badly because he gets to kill bad guys. Most of the time he enjoys his job. That is, until he’s saddled with something he’s never had to do before: protect a human from his mortal enemy.

Serena Cross didn’t believe her best friend when she claimed to have seen the son of a powerful senator turn into something... unnatural. Who would? But then she witnesses her friend’s murder at the hands of what can only be an alien, thrusting her into a world that will kill to protect their secret.

Hunter stirs Serena’s temper and her lust despite their differences. Soon he’s doing the unthinkable—breaking the rules he’s lived by, going against the government to keep Serena safe. But are the aliens and the government the biggest threats to Serena’s life… or is it Hunter?


Review: 


That was one amazing book! In this new novel as a whole new brand of hotness because I am seriously obsessed with this book!! While reading I have a new appreciation for the Arum because they have a total different view than what the Lux. Now I am torn between Hunter and Daemon, both are bad boys that are arrogant and hot! Jennifer did an amazing job with this story between Serena and Hunter. Told between Hunter and Serena's point of view we get to see the undercover operations of the Lux/Arum. If you have read the book you know what I mean!  


Obsession was one crazy ride full of passion, action, and a lot of lust! I did not put this book down! Like any of Jen's books she know how to grab our attention to the lead male, Hunter. He is one with an attitude, a hired killer, and does what he wants. Don't get him mad because he is one pissed off Arum (also powerful). With the drive that was his sisters death, Hunter will do anything he can to protect the ones he loves. While he is a great fighter he is also a great lover. There was so many sexy scenes that you will fall in love with Hunter! 


Serena is snarky and does not take any crap from anyone.  When she meets Hunter the sparks fly and it makes her hot and bothered. She does not listen to Hunter and is very stubborn. I really liked her character because she does remind me of Katy is some ways. She is a very loyal friend who will do anything. Since I am a big fan of the Lux series I couldn't wait to read this book because any book Jennifer writes I will read it. 

The familiarity of the Lux world is what ties everything into this story because as you read Obsession you get a different side of the Arum POV as well as what is possibly going to happen in book 5 (Origin) The Arum have always been known as the bad guys but reading this, I may have changed my mind. I have a love for both of them now. This was one super amazing book that was sexy and JLA knows how to write! If you love a steamy romance, with laughs, and adventures this book is one you need to pick up! I am excited for any JLA adult romance! 


Friday, July 26, 2013

Blog Tour: Nearly Broken by Devon Ashley


Nearly Broken
by Devon Ashley
Release Date: 06/04/13

Summary from Goodreads:
We’d both gone missing at one point, but Claire had one thing I didn’t. Someone to notice. So why was I the one still here and she the one still gone?

Nineteen year old Megan Smith has spent the past year working in a small town diner in the middle of nowhere. Life is quiet, simple, safe. Then comes the news that her look-a-like has gone missing.

Claire.

Still damaged both physically and mentally, Megan's not looking to be noticed. Wherever she goes from here, it's a road she needs to take alone. But when Nickolas Ellis takes the job as the new nightshift cook, it scares her how easily her defenses crumble down, down, down for him. But there are secrets she can't bear to share with just anyone, unspeakable acts that continue to haunt, and when the similarities of Claire’s abduction couples with the fear of an unwanted visitor in town, the urge to run before it all happens again intensifies, threatening the only happiness Megan's ever found.

New Adult Romantic Suspense / Realistic Fiction
Recommended for 17+ for mature and disturbing situations, language and sexual content.

Purchase at:
 photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg  photo 111AD205-AA04-4F9E-A0F4-C1264C4E9F30-1855-000001A1E8CEB6D7_zps9b730b94.jpg  photo KoboIcon_zps515cdc1a.jpg

About the Author
Devon Ashley was born in Huntington Beach but has spent most of her life residing in Texas. She spends a great deal of her time taking care of her husband and son but always seems to find time to write, knit and create unique decorative pieces. She particularly likes to write Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance.  Interesting Fact: Devon Ashley shares her birthday with her favorite author, Jane Austen.

Author Links:
 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png

Review:

I was really blown away of how much I really loved this book! I don't even know what to write since it deals with heavy serious subjects. Be completely prepared to read this because I know I was not ready. It was a very good book that I had to put it down because of all the emotion. Loved every page, but it felt that the ending was a little rushed. Devon Ashley you are an amazing author who did a great job!! 


Now on to the story. There are some disturbing scenes and dark moments. Megan Smith is working at a diner for a year. It is clear that Megan is hiding from her pas, but unlike most girls Megan has every cause because she has to stay in hiding. Until she meets the new cook Nickolas. He makes the food at the restaurant more delicious and pleasurable. Megan and Nick have a connection from the day they first meet. Nick does take things slowly as well as he looks out for her. Their relationship really does go through a test and they do strive to save it as well as a struggle. 

In this story about a girl who was kidnapped at seventeen, it did break my heart from reading this. Megan has gone through so much in her life.This book with a lot of social issues and real life about the world today. It had a good plot as well as an emotional connection with the characters trying to move on. Be sure to read this book!! 

5/5

Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Cover Reveal: The Mephisto Mark by Trinity Faegen


The Mephisto Mark: The Redemption of Phoenix
He’s living on the edge  – she’s completely broken.
 Orphaned at six and sent to live with abusive relatives in Bucharest, Mariah learned early in life to box up violent, agonizing memories and put them in permanent mental storage. Now almost nineteen, she has a paying job, a tiny apartment, and a plan to attend university. She loves her independence and is steadily overcoming her past, but when an enigmatic stranger walks into the pub where she works and the trajectory of her life changes yet again, she begins to wonder if she’ll run out of mental shelf space.
 The only females unafraid of the Mephisto brothers are the extremely rare Anabo, born without Original Sin. Over one hundred years ago, Phoenix was first to find one, but he made a fatal mistake and she was murdered by his oldest brother and enemy, Eryx. Phoenix soldiered through the next century wrapped up in grief and guilt, his only outlet planning takedowns of those who pledged their souls to Eryx. When one of his brothers brings Mariah to Mephisto Mountain, he’s torn between his instinctive, powerful need to pursue her, and his certainty that he can never have her.
 Drawn into the world of the Mephisto, Mariah sees the pain and misery Eryx unleashes on humanity, and the boxes in her mind begin to fly open, one by one. All that keeps her from slipping off the edge is her unlikely, sexually charged friendship with Phoenix. He’s incredibly screwed up; she’s completely broken. It would take a miracle for them to find happiness. Then Eryx brings the war for Hell to a whole new level, forcing Mariah and Phoenix to make a choice that will bind them together for all eternity, or rip them apart forever.

ABOUT TRINITY FAEGEN:

Trinity Faegen is a multi-published RITA winning author who also writes romance as Stephanie Feagan. A practicing CPA who loves travel, books, and smart guys, she lives in the outback of west Texas with her husband and a mean cat. For bonus content and more about the Mephisto, please visit her website at www.trinityfaegen.com.


Links:

Tuesday, July 16, 2013

Frigid Trailer Reveal


Frigid Description 

For twenty-one-year-old Sydney, being in love with Kyler isn’t anything new. They’d been best friends ever since he pushed her down on the playground and she made him eat a mud pie. Somewhere over the years, she fell for him and fell hard. The big problem with that? Kyler puts the ‘man’ in man-whore. He’s never stayed with a girl longer than a few nights, and with it being their last year in college, Syd doesn’t want to risk their friendship by declaring her love.

Kyler has always put Syd on a pedestal that was too high for him to reach. To him, she’s perfect and she’s everything. But the feelings he has for her, he’s always hidden away or focused on any other female. After all, Kyler will always be the poor boy from the wrong side of tracks, and Syd will always be the one girl he can never have.

But when they’re stranded together at a posh ski resort due to a massive Nor’easter, there’s nothing stopping their red-hot feelings for each other from coming to the surface. Can their friendship survive the attraction? Better yet, can they survive at all? Because as the snow falls, someone is stalking them, and this ski trip may be a life-changer in more ways than one.

To Buy Links





About Jennifer L. Armentrout

# 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki.
Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen.
She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.


Frigid Embed Code:







If you guys can also include a link to the contest I’m running on the blog, the link is:
http://www.jenniferarmentrout.com/frigid-is-out-winners-contest/

Wednesday, July 10, 2013

Cover Reveal: A Little Too Far (A Little Too Far #1) by Lisa Desrochers

Title: A Little Too Far
Author: Lisa Desrochers
Release Date: November 12, 2013
Goodreads

SYNOPSIS:
Have you ever gone just a little too far? 
Lexie Banks has.
Yep. She just had mind-blowing sex with her stepbrother.In her defense, she was on the rebound, and it’s more of a my-dad-happened-to-marry-a-woman-with-a-super-hot-son situation. But still, he’s been her best friend and confidant for better part of the last few years…and is so off limits. It’s a good thing she’s leaving in two days for a year abroad in Rome.But even thousands of miles away, Lexie can’t seem to escape trouble. Raised Catholic, she goes to Confession in hopes of alleviating some of her guilt…and maybe not burning in hell. Instead, she stumbles out of the confessional right into Alessandro Moretti, a young and very easy on the eyes deacon…only eight months away from becoming a priest. As Lexie and Alessandro grow closer, and when Alessandro’s signals start changing despite his vow of celibacy, she doesn’t know what to think. She’s torn between falling in love with the man she shouldn’t want and the man she can’t have. And she isn’t sure how she can live with herself either way.

"More than a ridiculously sexy, HOT read, Desrochers takes you on a wild ride of self-discovery and bittersweet romance." Jennifer L. Armentrout (J. Lynn), New York Times bestselling author of Wait for You.


a Rafflecopter giveaway



Sunday, July 7, 2013

The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay

Title: The Sea of Tranquility 
Author: Katja Millay
Pages: 448
Publisher: Atria Books
Release Date: September 5, 2012 or June 4, 2013 (paperback)
Genre: New Adult/Fiction

Buy: Amazon| AmazonCA| Chapters Indigo| Barnes & Noble| Kobo| Book Depository

Summary:  (Goodreads)

I live in a world without magic or miracles. A place where there are no clairvoyants or shapeshifters, no angels or superhuman boys to save you. A place where people die and music disintegrates and things suck. I am pressed so hard against the earth by the weight of reality that some days I wonder how I am still able to lift my feet to walk.

Full of rage and without a purpose, former pianist Nastya Kashnikov wants two things: to get through high school without anyone discovering her past and to make the boy who took everything from her pay.

All 17 year-old Josh Bennett wants is to build furniture and be left alone, and everyone allows it because it’s easier to pretend he doesn’t exist. When your name is synonymous with death, everyone tends to give you your space.

Everyone except Nastya, a hot mess of a girl who starts showing up and won’t go away until she’s insinuated herself into every aspect of his life. The more he gets to know her, the more of a mystery she becomes. As their relationship intensifies and the unanswered questions begin to pile up, he starts to wonder if he may ever learn the secrets she’s been hiding or if he even wants to.

The Sea of Tranquility is a slow-building, character-driven romance about a lonely boy, an emotionally fragile girl, and the miracle of second chances.


*Received for review by Atria Books/Simon Schuster Canada for honest review* 

Review: 

One word: AMAZING!! This book has to be one of the best books I have ever read!! The Sea of Tranquility was mind-blowing and I felt like re-reading it over again and again. Katja Millay is one talented writer because this book was phenomenal, and is definitely a must read! I read this during the holidays and I could not put it down, because I had to know what was going to happen! I feel like a reread already!

As a good way to begin this review I am going to tell you to pick this book up immediately and to never put it down because as characters and plot goes it was very well done. When I heard about this book I did not expect to love it as much as I did. But I was wrong and I fell in love with the book. It was honest, intriguing, and the characters will have you crying! It was a little hard to get through the beginning but it was worth it due to the immense plot and understanding of Nastya and Josh. The Sea of Tranquility is a story that is full of emotion, love and forgiveness. As the plot deepens you see that Nastya and Josh grow together in order to move on from their past. 


Told in two different perspectives of Nastya 
Kashnikov  and Josh Bennett we get to learn about their story and Nastya is one tough character who has gone through a lot. You feel for them throughout the entire novel. What I loved most about them is that some people have gone through different ways to succeed and fall in love. Katja Millay makes you feel connected with her characters as each goes through different stages of their lives. The relationship between Nastya and Josh started of rough as you get to see Nastya's dark stage as she wants to hide away from the past as she says that she is broken, as well as not speaking to any of her family members for 2 years. Josh opens up about his past at the same time Nastya also is confronting herself as well. This was no insta-love at all, it was a growing relationship starting off as friends developed later as they got to know each other, finding they are alike in certain ways. It was character driven and insanely addictive to read! 


As you can see in this review, I have fallen in love with Katja Millay debut novel, The Sea of Tranquility because it was written beautifully at the same time was full of self redeeming characters who get through pain. This has definitely become one of my favorite all time books. Your emotions will run high but you will be thinking about this book for days after you read it! I am looking forward to many more works by Katja Millay because this book was perfect and its what every book should be! I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a passionate novel.


5/5

Monday, July 1, 2013

Cover Reveal: Finding It by Cora Carmack


Look at this cover!!!
CANNOT WAIT TO READ THIS!!!


Most girls would kill to spend months traveling around Europe after college graduation with no responsibility, no parents, and no limit credit cards. Kelsey Summers is no exception. She''s having the time of her life. or that''s what she keeps telling herself.
It''s a lonely business trying to find out who you are, especially when you''re afraid you won''t like the you that''s found. No amount of drinking or dancing can chase away Kelsey''s loneliness, but maybe Jackson Hunt can. After a few chance meetings, he convinces her to take a journey of adventure instead of alcohol. With each new city and experience, Kelsey''s mind becomes a little clearer, and her heart a little less hers. Hunt helps her unravel her own dreams and desires, but the more she knows about herself, the more she realizes how little she knows about him.


Cover Reveal: Origin (Lux #4) by Jennifer L. Armentrout


ORIGIN official Blurb:


Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.
After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he’s facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anyone who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With 
pleasure.

All Katy can do is survive.

Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that don’t seem entirely crazy, but the group’s goals are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the real bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?

Together, they can face anything.  

But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on? And will they even be together?





ORIGIN Link:




Additional links to Jennifer’s pages:


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

# 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer Armentrout lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell, Loki.

Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen.

She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...