Monday, September 30, 2013

Blog Tour: Unchained (Nephilim Rising #1) by J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout)


Title: Unchained (Nephilim Rising #1)
Author: J. Lynn (JLA)
Pages: 400
Publisher: Entangled: Edge
Release Date: September 17, 2013
Genre: Romance/Paranormal
Unchained Blurb:


Between the pissed off creatures that want demon-hunter Lily Marks dead and the fallen angel who just...wants her, Lily is about ready to trade in forever for a comfy job in a cubicle farm.
The fact that she and Julian are civil to one another is enough to have her thrown out of the Sanctuary, but she can't shake her not-so-angelic stalker or how he brings her dangerously close to ecstasy.
Her forbidden relationship with Julian provides the perfect fuel for suspicion when a traitor is discovered to be working within the Sanctuary. Lily quickly finds herself hunted by well, everyone.
Her only hope is to discover the real traitor before she loses everything--and she'll need Julian's help. That is, if Julian is really there to help her...and not destroy her.
Yeah, being a Nephilim isn't everything it's cracked up to be.
About J. Lynn:
 
# 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author J. Lynn, who also writes YA under the name Jennifer L. Armentrout, lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you've heard about her state aren't true. Well, mostly. When she's not hard at work writing, she spends her time reading, working out, watching zombie movies, and pretending to write. She shares her home with her husband, his K-9 partner named Diesel, and her hyper Jack Russell Loki.

Where you can find her:
Review:
In this new novel by J. Lynn/Jennifer L. Armentrout, Unchained was a great read that made me crave more of the characters. This is definitely another series that I will love because of Jen's creative characters and kick-ass heroine. It was full of action, suspense, steamy scenes, and even some heartbreak. The idea of angels was a new concept, and when Jen writes I knew I would be instantly hooked to this book! It was also dual point of view from Lily, Michael and some other characters for plot purposes. 
Lily was an awesome character who is an angel offspring and is not trained to track down + kill minions, deadheads and Fallen. The last thing Lily expects is to find a Fallen who is now like the rest. She was taught at a very young age as well as the rules. Julian is a handsome piece of pie. He can get to Lily like nobody can, he has also been infatuated with her for the past eight years and has made himself her protector. She would call him a stalker. The Sanctuary where all the Nephilim trained to get rid of all the evil, they would not accept the friendship between Lily and Julian.  Their relationship is also forbidden as Lily confronts Julian after so many years of sexual frustrations between them. 
With everything that is happening Lily also stumbles upon Michael is who did not know he was a Nephilim. He is also a police officer. Lily is also to train Michael to fight against this evil. This plot just gets more intense after every chapter! She also needs to learn that she needs to learn who to trust or who is lying to her. I loved every character in this book but Lily and Julian are my most favorite because of their tension and chemistry. While this romance is forbidden they truly do belong together. And who can resist a super hot fallen angel, who is good at everything! 
Jennifer's writing is still addicting as always which doesn't surprise me since  I have read all her of books already. I am looking forward to what will happen in this series because its just starting to get interesting! If you havent read any of Jen's books, pick them up right away! Julian will definitely be another book boyfriend to add to my list! 

5/5

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Allegiant Challenge: Why I Love the Series

As we are approach the release of Allegiant which is the most anticipated book of this year, Harpercollins Canada has a challenge for readers to participate in where you can win some Allegiant goodies for the release of Allegaint in less than a month! Be sure to add the countdown to your blog!

 First post is Why do I love this series? 

When I first read this series back in 2012 near the almost release of Insurgent I already heard amazing things about it from bloggers that it is full of action and that the writing was amazing. The funny thing when I read it I was at school trying to write a 20 page paper. Of course I was instantly sucked in by the plot as well as the connections between the characters. In those amount of hours that I read it, I established that my favorite scene in Divergent was the Ferris Wheel (capture the flag) It had courage, and a little chemistry between the characters. This is a really diverse book that really pulled me in as the reader. 

After reading Divergent I knew it was going to be an excruciating next few months before the release of Insurgent but it was full worth the wait since it was another amazing read! I had to know what was going to happen and with Veronica's writing it was a fast read that near the end I was looking for more pages. I love this series for its creativity and the fact that its different than any other dystopian novel I have ever read.  AND I have read many of them. The development of the Fractions were a great idea!I have re-read Divergent multiple times which I can say I am a HUGE Divergent fan and I am looking forward to the movie which comes out in March 2014, because after watching that trailer and watching the HOTNESS of Four well....If you haven't read this series yet add it to your wishlist! You will not regret this decision while you are at the bookstore trying to look for your next book to read! 

My excitement for Allegiant is over the top because I have been waiting over a year but as this day finally approaches it will be worth the wait to see how the series will end after that ending in Insurgent. It will be hard to believe that the series will be over at first but thats why they develop re-reading them. I am excited that it will be posted from Four (Tobias) and Tris' point of views which is awesome because Tobias has a whole lot going on with him with his father and his fears. It will be interesting how it will go. 

Top 10 Reasons to read This Series:

1. The intense Action
2. Tris is one kick ass main character who tries to overcome herself
3. Four (Need I say more)
4. Insurgent was OMG
5. Veronica Roth is an amazing author, I look forward to any future books by her
6. LESS THAN A MONTH UNTIL ALLEGIANT!!
7. It is being made into a movie!
8. Add these book onto your reading list immediately!
9. It is addictive 
10. Set in the beautiful city of Chicago 

About Divergent: 

In Beatrice Prior's dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue--Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is--she can't have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are--and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she's chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she's kept hidden from everyone because she's been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, Tris also learns that her secret might help her save the ones she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

Monday, September 23, 2013

Cover Reveal: What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Title: What I Thought Was True
Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Pages: 416
Publisher: Dial Books for Young Rivers
Release Date: April 15, 2014

Summary: (Goodreads)

From the author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.
Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her Nantucket-esque island this summer. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-me-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.


Slammed (Slammed #1) by Colleen Hoover

Title: Slammed (Slammed #1)
Author: Colleen Hoover
Pages: 352
Publisher: Atria Books
Release Date: January 4, 2012/September 18, 2012
Genre: New Adult

Buy: AmazonCA| Kobo| Chapters Indigo| B&N| Book Depository

Summary (Goodreads)

Falling in love can feel like poetry. Or it can feel like a slam to the heart.

Colleen Hoover’s romantic, emotion-packed debut novel unforgettably captures all the magic and confusion of first love, as two young people forge an unlikely bond before discovering that fate has other plans for them.

Following the unexpected death of her father, eighteen-year-old Layken becomes the rock for both her mother and younger brother. She appears resilient and tenacious, but inside, she's losing hope. Then she meets her new neighbor Will, a handsome twenty-one-year-old whose mere presence leaves her flustered and whose passion for poetry slams thrills her.

Not long after a heart-stopping first date during which each recognizes something profound and familiar in the other, they are slammed to the core when a shocking discovery brings their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together and the forces that tear them apart. Only through the poetry they share are they able to speak the truth that is in their hearts and imagine a future where love is cause for celebration, not regret.


Review:


Adding another book to my favorites is Slammed by Colleen Hoover. I am surprised I haven't heard of this before I even read it. I was so interested in reading it I bought it right away since I loved the characters and the plot which captured my heart. This is my first Colleen Hoover book which is not going to be my last since I am hooked to her writing. From the moment you finish you have to pick up Point of Retreat (sequel), you will need it since I did finish Slammed in one day. It was beautiful, romantic, calm and full of inspiration after reading.

Within a few chapters were shocking and sad. The main character Layken (Lake) are just moving to Michigan after losing her father. Kel her little brother and mother then find friends in their neighbours across the street. The older brother Will, catches Lake's eye. These two characters were created beautifully and you got to know the person while reading it. Colleen Hoover did a great job of writing about the characters.

This book was fantastic and the fact that its a contemporary romance, I fell in love with it. The date scene was an adorable date because you got to see a different side of Will. The poetry made me cry and laugh. Slamming is very inspirational because that how many people can express how they feel. The moment Lake does find out that Will works and she was not able to continue their relationships, and it broke my heart! Julia, Lake's mom also is a major character because she as well goes through so many things. She is very cool and respects Will.

The romance was controlled and I thought it was beautiful how everything worked together to find the one person who inspires you to be yourself. Colleen Hoover is an amazing author who can create this book that everyone can love. I loved how the book ended and I am glad to have already read the other two in this series. In this New Adult it has made it one of my go-to reads. This is one book everyone must read!

Saturday, September 21, 2013

The Secret of Ella and Micha (Secret #1) by Jessica Sorensen

Title: The Secret of Ella and Micha (Secret #1)
Author: Jessica Sorensen
Pages: 320
Publisher: Forever (Grand Central Publishing)/Hatchette
Release Date: October 2, 2012
Source: Netgalley/Bought
Genre: New Adult

Buy: Amazon|Kindle| Kobo| AmazonCA| Chapters Indigo

Summary: (Goodreads)

If you loved Beautiful Disaster then you're ready to discover . . .

THE SECRET OF ELLA AND MICHA
A rule-breaker with a fiery attitude, Ella always wore her heart on her sleeve. Then she left everything behind to go to college, where she transformed into someone who follows the rules, keeps everything together, and hides all her problems. Now it's summer break and she has nowhere else to go but home. But once there, Ella fears that everything she's worked so hard to bury might resurface-especially with Micha living right next door.

Smart, sexy, and confident, Micha can get under Ella's skin like no one else. He knows everything about her, including her darkest secrets. If he tries to tempt the old Ella to return, he will be impossible to resist. But what Ella doesn't realize is that when she left, she took a piece of Micha's heart with her. Now he's determined to win back the girl he lost, no matter what it takes


Review: 

This is definitely a must read in those who love New Adult because this will make you laugh, cry and so much more!! I cannot say how much I adored this book from beginning to end. I am happy that I finally read it after so long because its a definite book to read. The Secret of Ella and Micha was unput-downable as I finished it in one day since I loved it to much. Plus who wouldn't love Micha and his hotness. This book made my emotions go everywhere! 

Ella has tried to forget everything when she moves to away for school after the horrible memories at home. While she was away she changes everything about her including dressing like her normal self to become a preppy girl wearing dresses and skirts. She is the complete opposite of what she used to be before she moved away. She comes back to her hometown after being away for 8 months with no contact to anyone. When she arrives with her best friend Lila, they both meet Micha who was her best friend. Micha is one hot boy who knows Ella so much that he knows everything she likes and who the real girl she is underneath the preppy clothes. Micha has been searching for Ella as well as in love her since the beginning (when she disappeared). Both their lives has not been perfect but they both have lots of baggage. With Ella's return all these emotions come back with both of them and he is determined to bring back his Ella.  Told from dual Point of views of Ella and Micha we get a clear understanding of what is happening and how they can survive fall in love. 

Filled with drama and one heck of a roller-coaster ride there was also many sweet and dramatic moments that will capture your heart. It focused on bringing back Ella and Micha together and realizing how much they mean to each other. Micha is definitely one of my favorite lead males because he plays in a band is sexy hot. With his charming looks and lip ring, I fell in love with him as well. I was swooned over by his personality and willingness to be with Ella. His determination to get to Ella to finally fall in love with him was priceless. He kinda puts her back together and deals with their issues. These two are the perfect couple. Ella can be stubborn at the same time is dealing with a lot of issues. While reading you see the pain that she goes through and Micha really shows her the true meaning of life with the one you love. I thought Ella was great lead character who loves cars and is the normal girl who is best friends with her next door neighbor. Overall the entire book will make you swoon and wanting more. 

The writing was addicting and Jessica Sorensen know how to write contemporary New Adult they way it should be with the perfect balance of romance and personal things happening in their life. Its not the perfect fairytale book which many people can relate to. If you love New Adult I recommend this series to the top because it know how to connect you to the characters. Ella is a strong character and Jessica created a very lovable Micha whom we can all fall in love with. After reading I knew I needed more! 

5/5

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

The Indigo Love of Reading Foundation

From Sept. 15 to Oct. 5 Indigo, Chapters and Coles locations across Canada will invite Canadians to raise funds to supply more than 64,000 books for high-needs elementary schools across Canada.

There are two ways to get involved:
 

1. Make a donation – Donations will be accepted in-store at Indigo, Chapters and Coles locations across Canada or online at AdoptaSchool.indigo.ca. Every $12 donation equals one new book. 

2. Adopt a school – Canadians can also “adopt” a local school at AdoptaSchool.indigo.ca and, through their online networks, encourage friends and family to raise funds for books at their selected school. For every school who receives 50 “adoptions” Indigo Love of Reading Foundation will donate one book to the school. 

Today in Canada more than 42% of the population are functionally illiterate and struggle with day-to-day reading tasks. A large number of Canadian children do not own a single book and school libraries are their only access to books. Current school library budgets allow for about a third of a book per student. 




Waiting on Wednesday: Hexed (The Witch Hunter #1) by Michelle Kyrs

Title: Hexed (The Witch Hunter #1) 
Author: Michelle Krys
Pages: 369
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Release Date: June 10, 2014

Summary: (Goodreads)

If high school is all about social status, Indigo Blackwood has it made. Sure, her quirky mom owns an occult shop, and a nerd just won’t stop trying to be her friend, but Indie is a popular cheerleader with a football-star boyfriend and a social circle powerful enough to ruin everyone at school. Who wouldn’t want to be her?

Then a guy dies right before her eyes. And the dusty old family Bible her mom is freakishly possessive of is stolen. But it’s when a frustratingly sexy stranger named Bishop enters Indie’s world that she learns her destiny involves a lot more than pom-poms and parties. If she doesn’t get the Bible back, every witch on the planet will die. And that’s seriously bad news for Indie, because according to Bishop, she’s a witch too.

Suddenly forced into a centuries-old war between witches and sorcerers, Indie’s about to uncover the many dark truths about her life—and a future unlike any she ever imagined on top of the cheer pyramid.


1. I have meet the author (who is super nice) and it sounds really great!
2. Witches!!
3. It looks like it has a ton of action and romance!
4. Add it to your TBR lists! 

Monday, September 16, 2013

Cover Reveal: Recklessly Royal by Nichole Chase

RECKLESSLY ROYAL by Nichole Chase
On Sale from Avon Books March 25, 2014
Summary:
Catherine has spent her life being the perfect princess. She’s kept her hands clean, her head down, and most importantly-men at arm’s length. After all, most men are after only one thing, and for Cathy there’s a lot more at stake than her bed; she has to worry about the fate of an entire nation. But at the rate she’s going, Cathy is afraid she’ll give the Virgin Queen a run for her money. She is tired of waiting for someone good enough to come along. She has a plan, and it all hinges on seducing the one man who seems utterly unimpressed by all things royal. The one man she is tempted by more than any other . . . 


When David arrives at the royal wedding of his friend, the newly ordained Duchess Samantha Rousseau, he expected to feel uncomfortable and out of his element, but he wasn’t prepared to be targeted by Prince Alex’s gorgeous younger sister. With Cathy’s giant blue eyes, killer figure, and sense of humor, it won’t take long before he gives in. But when he finds out just how innocent the crown princess really is, will he play the part of knight in shining armor or the dashing rogue? 


Friday, September 13, 2013

A Little Too Far by Lisa Desrochers (Blog Tour)

Title: A Little Too Far (A Little Too Far #1) 
Author: Lisa Desrochers
Pages: 371
Publisher: William Morrow/HarperCollins
Release Date: September 17, 2013
*ARC copy was provided by Edelweiss for honest review/Blog Tour*

Praise: 
“More than a ridiculously sexy, HOT read, Desrochers takes you on a wild ride of self-discovery and bittersweet romance.”
— JENNIFER L. ARMENTROUT, #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR

Summary: (Goodreads

Have you ever gone just a little too far?

Lexie Banks has.

Yep. She just had mind-blowing sex with her stepbrother. In her defense, she was on the rebound, and it’s more of a my-dad-happened-to-marry-a-woman-with-a-super-hot-son situation. But still, he’s been her best friend and confidant for the better part of the last few years … and is so off limits. It’s a good thing she’s leaving in two days for a year abroad in Rome.

But even thousands of miles away, Lexie can’t seem to escape trouble. Raised Catholic, she goes to confession in hopes of alleviating some of her guilt … and maybe not burning in hell. Instead, she stumbles out of the confessional and right into Alessandro Moretti, a young and very easy-on-the-eyes deacon … only eight months away from becoming a priest. Lexie and Alessandro grow closer, and when Alessandro’s signals start changing despite his vow of celibacy, she doesn’t know what to think. She’s torn between falling in love with the man she shouldn’t want and the man she can’t have. And she isn’t sure how she can live with herself either way.

 Review:

This book was definitely a favorite in the romance/New Adult category since it had everything that I would want to read in this genre. A Little Too Far is definitely a unique kind of book because you fall in love with both of the male leads and wonder who is she going to pick! I was on the edge of my seat wondering between Trent (Hot step-brother or Alessandro (priest)). It was heartbreaking, teary eye and beautiful. It was an addictive read because I sped through it in 2 days. This story has romance and it opens up your mind to what it means to discovering true love. A Little Too Far is about self-discovery and becoming who you want to be. Each character goes through this journey. 

It first starts off with Lexi Banks discovering that her ex cheated on her, and while she considers getting back together with him she also has new feelings resurfacing with and entirely new person, Trent. Lexi definitely goes a little too far by sleeping with him. But Lexi has already had feelings for him since she was fifteen. Trent is her best friend. I loved Trent, he is a musician and has tattoos and owns his own bike. She is one hot man! Two nights before her exchange to Rome for school things get heated up and intense between them. Lexi also mentions that this was the most mind-blowing passion in her life. After everything they both feel guilt and shame. The mixed feelings between them all throughout the book make you want to hope they make it in the end. As the reader I felt the chemistry between them. 

Lexi does got to Italy where she meets the intelligent and handsome Alessandro who is also a new and upcoming priest. Alessandro really got underneath my skin because of his personality and how he treated Lexi with the utmost respect. But with Lexi's track record she is already having thoughts about him too. Torn between both men Lexi must confess and discover herself. A Little Too Far will leave you hanging for more and it will either cause your heart to break or leave you breathless. Lisa Desrochers writing left me hooked! From the very first page to the last I enjoyed every minute of reading this novel. It was an explosive read! 

5/5 

Other books in the series

A LITTLE TOO MUCH (A companion novel coming November 12, 2013) - on Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17824633-a-little-too-much

A LITTLE TOO HOT (coming January 21, 2014)

Buy Links:



About Lisa Desrochers

Lisa Desrochers lives in northern California with her husband, two very busy daughters, and Shini the tarantula. If you'd told her five years ago she'd write a book, she'd have laughed in your face. As it turns out, she'd owe you an apology. Writing has become an addiction for Lisa and A Little Too Far, courtesy of HarperCollins, is her first novel for adults. She is also the author of the young adult Personal Demons trilogy from Macmillan.

When she's not writing, she's reading, and she adores stories that take her to new places, and then take her by surprise. Connect with her online at www.lisadwrites.com, on her blog at lisadesrochers.blogspot.com, on Twitter at @LisaDez, and on Facebook at www.facebook.com/LisaDesrochersAuthor.

The Giveaway Prizes:

- An iPad Mini - one winner
-  A knowledge pendant, tote bag, and tattoos (Trent’s tattoo!) - one winner
-  A signed copy of HarperCollins’ BETWEEN THE COVERS sampler with the 1st two chapters of A LITTLE TOO FAR annotated, knowledge tote, and tattoos - one winner
-  A signed copy of BETWEEN THE COVERS with the 1st two chapters of A LITTLE TOO FAR annotated, and tattoos - two winners

The Giveaway Details:

-  Giveaway is US/Canada ONLY.
-  There will be FIVE winners total.

ENTER


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Week One

Sept. 3rd - Katie's Book Blog - Review
Sept. 3rd - Book Briefs - Guest Post
Sept. 4th - The Busy Bibliophile - Review
Sept. 4th - Fade Into Fantasy - Interview
Sept. 5th - The Irish Banana - Review
Sept. 5th - Emilie's Book World - Guest Post
Sept. 6th - Fic Fare - Interview
Sept. 6th - Narratively Speaking - Review & Guest Post
Sept. 7th - BookHounds YA - Review
Sept. 7th - Nocturne Romance Reads - Interview
Sept. 8th - Burning Impossibly Bright - Guest Post
Sept. 8th - Lovin' los libros - Review

Week Two

Sept. 9th - Books Complete Me - Review
Sept. 9th - Always YA at Heart - Review
Sept. 10th - A Glass of Wine - Interview
Sept. 10th - In the Best Worlds - Review
Sept. 11th - Once Upon a Twilight - Review
Sept. 11th - Readers Live A Thousand Lives - Interview
Sept. 12th - The Book Cellar - Review
Sept. 12th - Book Labyrinth - Review
Sept. 13th - Lili's Reflections - Review
Sept. 13th - Stuck in YA Books - Review
Sept. 14th - A Bookish Escape - Review & Guest Post
Sept. 14th - Ramblings From This Chick - Guest Post
Sept. 15th - In Bed With Books - Review
Sept. 15th - Coffee and Characters - Guest Post

Week Three

Sept. 16th - Waiting For Wentworth - Review
Sept. 16th - Michelle & Leslie's Book Pics - Review
Sept. 17th - Good Choice Reading - Review

Sept. 17th - Me, My Shelf and I - Review

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday: Three (Article 5 #3) by Kristen Simmons



Title: Three (Article 5 #3)
Author: Kristen Simmons
Pages: 400
Publisher: Tor Teen/Raincoast Books
Release Date: February 11, 2014

Summary: (Goodreads) 

Ember Miller and Chase Jennings are ready to stop running. After weeks spent in hiding as two of the Bureau of Reformation’s most wanted criminals, they have finally arrived at the safe house, where they hope to live a peaceful and quiet existence—but all that’s left is smoking ruins.

Devastated by the demolition of their last hope, Ember and Chase follow the one thing left to them—tracks leading away from the wreckage. The only sign that there may have been survivors.

Because of their high profiles, they know they can’t stay out in the open for long. They take shelter in the wilderness and amid the ruins of abandoned cities as they follow the tracks down the coast, eventually finding refugees from the destroyed safe house. Among them is someone from Chase’s past—someone he thought he’d never see again.

Banding together, they search for a place to hide, aiming for a settlement a few of them have heard about… a settlement that is rumored to house the nebulous organization known as Three. The very group that has provided Ember with a tiny ray of hope ever since she was first forced on the run.

Three is responsible for the huge network of underground safe houses and resistance groups across the country. And they may offer Ember her only chance to tell the world her story—and to fight back.


Wednesday, September 4, 2013

The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

Title: The Beginning of Everything 
Author: Robyn Schneider 
Pages: 330
Publisher: HarperCollins
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary 
Release Date: August 27, 2013

Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo| B&N|Book Depository

Summary: 

Golden boy Ezra Faulkner believes everyone has a tragedy waiting for them—a single encounter after which everything that really matters will happen. His particular tragedy waited until he was primed to lose it all: in one spectacular night, a reckless driver shatters Ezra’s knee, his athletic career, and his social life.

No longer a front-runner for Homecoming King, Ezra finds himself at the table of misfits, where he encounters new girl Cassidy Thorpe. Cassidy is unlike anyone Ezra’s ever met, achingly effortless, fiercely intelligent, and determined to bring Ezra along on her endless adventures.

But as Ezra dives into his new studies, new friendships, and new love, he learns that some people, like books, are easy to misread. And now he must consider: if one’s singular tragedy has already hit and everything after it has mattered quite a bit, what happens when more misfortune strikes? 

Robyn Schneider’s The Beginning of Everything is a lyrical, witty, and heart-wrenching novel about how difficult it is to play the part that people expect, and how new beginnings can stem from abrupt and tragic endings.


Review:

Now this book is a Must Read!! The Beginning of Everything was one crazy and addicting read because of the amazing plot and the craziness of high school. It makes you think how one day you are popular then next you are at the bottom of the high school ladder. Golden boy Ezra Faulkner was the star of the Tennis team, had the beautiful girlfriend, then an accident happens and his knee is injured. He goes through a depression of sorts. 

Ezra was an upcoming tennis star and one night in an accident his knee is injured and he distances himself from his friends and his popular status. When his friends turn him away, his girlfriends starts dating his friend. With the accident behind him, Ezra will have to find another thing to do because he cannot play sports now. He also admits to being intelligent and to rediscover his relationship with Toby after so long. 

When they were best friends until the age of fourteen until the horrible accident on the rollercoaster at Disney. The tourist's head then landed in Toby's lap! (hence the original title- Severed Heads, Broken Hearts.) I really did love Toby throughout the book, he was a great supporting character who was fun. But after that day Ezra was never close to Toby.

Cassidy is definitely a character who in a way resembles Ezra. She is smart and carefree while he is more reserved. There relationship was a unique one. There is not any insta-love but with this, we can see the characters fall in love. They were friends at first (with a lot of bantering and not so friendly encounters). Cassidy is a mystery, she is brilliant and she opens Ezra to a new side of himself that he never knew. The romance is slow yet it works. Ezra takes an interest in Cassidy immediately, and they have chemistry, but she always holds back and never opens herself to Ezra. She does like his buns and is very snarky in return. There is the realization of how she actually  is the perfect girl for him because they are more alike than it seems. She opens him up to the debate team and many other things. 


The Beginning of Everything was told beautifully and it is definitely is one of my favorites of this year. The entire story was phenomenal and it hooked me from the beginning. The writing was humorous and full of drama. This book will not disappoint!  Ezra is a very complex character going through a lot.  Overall it was fun, romantic and self-discovery of who you are. Robyn Schneider is another we definitely have to watch. I liked the ending at the same time it was clever. This is a book of coming of age and you must have this on your shelf!! 

5/5 

Allure by Lea Nolan: Cover Reveal

Today, we're celebrating the cover reveal of Allure, the sequel to Lea Nolan's Conjure, coming October 1st from Entangled Teen!



Worst. Summer. Ever.

Emma Guthrie races to learn the hoodoo magic needed to break The Beaumont Curse before her marked boyfriend Cooper's sixteenth birthday. But deep in the South Carolina Lowcountry, dark, mysterious forces encroach, conspiring to separate Emma and Cooper forever. When Cooper starts to change, turning cold and indifferent, Emma discovers that both his heart and body are marked for possession by competing but equally powerful adversaries.

Desperate to save him, Emma and her twin brother, Jack, risk their lives to uncover the source of the black magic that has allured Cooper and holds him in its grip. Face with the horror of a soul-eating boohag, Emma and Jack must fight to resist its fiendish power to free Cooper long enough to join their strengths and face it together, before it destroys them all.


Praise for Conjure

"Richly filled with exquisite imagery, a compelling story, and a strong, smart heroine, Conjure will keep you up way past your bedtime." ~ Trinity Faegen, author of The Mephisto Covenant series

"A true adventure, complete with pirates, romance, a flesh-eating curse, and ancient magic. I couldn't put it down!"  ~ Inara Scott, author of The Talents (Delcroix Academy) series

"If there is one book teens and adults should have on their must read list, Conjure is it! Fans of young love and adventure will hurry to the end of each chapter, in anticipation of what will happen next. Unfolding at an easy pace, this tale is magical and spellbinding. Nolan is one to watch!" ~ RT Book Reviews, 4 ½ Stars Top Pick

"Conjure is a sweet, adventure-packed romp for young teen readers... There are pirates, lost treasure, curses, and ancient curses, chases, narrow escapes, and secret letters galore." ~ New York Journal of Books

"This is an unexpected read: exciting, dangerous, adventurous - everything we want from a good book. Yet Nolan puts that creative twist on all the elements, making Conjure something special. Conjure is recommended, 4 out of 5 stars." ~ Teen Librarian's Toolbox

About the Author


Lea Nolan couldn’t read until the third grade. After a lot of hard work she finally got the hang of it and quickly learned the best way to get out of doing chores was to tell her parents she was reading. Soon she was hooked, devouring books by Roald Dahl, E.B. White, Judy Blume, C.S. Lewis, and anything with a shiny Newberry Award sticker on the cover. Books provided a portal to enchanted lands where anything was possible and characters relied on their wits to wiggle out of sticky situations. Today, even though she’s all grown up, Lea writes the kinds of stories she sought as a teen--smart paranormals with bright heroines, crazy-hot heroes, diabolical plot twists, plus a dose of magic, a draft of romance, and a sprinkle of history. She holds degrees in history and women’s studies concentrating in public policy and spent fifteen years as a health policy analyst and researcher. She lives in Maryland with her heroically supportive husband and three clever children, who’ve figured out how to get out of doing their chores.


Giveaway

Enter the giveaway below to win one of the first five electronic ARCs of Allure from Entangled Teen!




Tuesday, September 3, 2013

Origin (Lux #4) by Jennifer L. Armentrout (Blog Tour)

Title: Origin (Lux #4) 
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 400
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
Genre: Young Adult
Release Date: August 27, 2013
*Received for Review by Publisher*

Buy: Amazon| Kobo| B&N| Book Depository| Chapters Indigo

Summary: (Goodreads)

Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.

After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he’s facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anyone who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With pleasure.

All Katy can do is survive.

Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that don’t seem entirely crazy, but the group’s goals are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the real bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?

Together, they can face anything. 

But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on? 

And will they even be together?


Review:

Wow am in a state of happiness and shock after reading Origin. It was EPIC and extraordinary!! Jennifer L. Armentrout for sure added lots of twists and shocks in her books and this one totally blew me away. While writing this am still processing what is going to happen next! I need that last book (more Katy and Daemon). As my favorite author, Jennifer knows how to draw you into her writing and has always gave me a thrill of happiness to read her books. Still in a state of shock yet surprise after reading this!! 

The plot really intensifies in Origin as we see the aftermath of what happened to Katy. Daemon would do anything and I mean anything because he loves her and would protect her. Origin really opened up of the secrets behind Daedalus and their plans. I loved Daemon's point of view because he has so much on his mind that any fan of this series will love it! Daemon Black you are the knight in shining armor in my book love because I loved how he would do anything to save the person he loved most Katy. This book will leave you speechless and wanting more by the ending. 


I think the Daedalus parts were very interesting and seeing what they were doing to the Lux and what they are doing with them really changes the plot. When Daemon goes to see Luc after Mount Weather I wasn't sure I trusted him but as the book went on, it really explained what he is. While at Area 51 Katy doesn't know who to trust and if there is an enemy near by. Everytime Daemon enters the scene I was always thinking that he will save the day.  There is a lot of action and unexpected events that will shock you! 


Daemon, there are no words for you, I loved you more in this book than all the rest and you proved that anyone could love you more as a character. He is one of the most swooniest characters created. If you have read the series Daemon has many sides to him, and he really brings it out in Origin. This Daemon is romantic, angry and even cocky. When reading you will be melting by his words! Katy is the best, she is very strong in Origin and as the heroine of the book she is kick-ass and at the same time is very vulnerable when she is captured. Like any other JLA books you sympathize with her characters. 


Jennifer L. Armentrout's writing is by far amazing and so many other words that relate to that word. I was sucked in instantly and I could not stop until the very end. Like when Obsidian came out it was like that, with the anticipation of reading more of her books. Jennifer is the Queen of writing and am very glad I emailed her about Half-Blood 2 years ago. When I met Katy and Daemon or Alex and Aiden I knew Jennifer would be a successful author because she has amazing writing skills. Reading Origin be prepared for lots of emotions, laughing and even action. Origin did make me laugh (DB) and crying because of what was going on between the characters.  If I could rate this book higher I would over 10x. 


I loved every moment of this book. The ending of Origin was speechless and jaw dropping. I still feel shocked yet wanting more. I was like where are the rest of the pages!! What is going to happen next??? Origin is a must read for those who have been reading the Lux series. Having been reading Jen's other Covenant series which is very high on my favorite lists, I knew this is the series EVERYONE needs to read. Drama, action, romance and a whole bunch of awesome. These aliens will change your life! 


5/5 


About Jennifer L. Armentrout

# 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing, she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell, Loki.

Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen.

She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.

Where you can find her:






Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...