Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Sweet by Erin McCarthy (Excerpt)



SWEET Excerpt
For a few seconds, he just studied me, until I started to get nervous. What was he thinking?
I said, “What are you doing? Are we going in or just going to stand here all night?” If he wasn’t feeling mean what was he feeling? Riley wasn’t as easy to figure out as other guys.
“I’m wondering if I kiss you if somehow your father will know and smite me. That’s the word, right? Smite? Smited? Smitten?”
Smitten? No, that had not just come out of his mouth.
But my body started to tingle in anticipation, relief surging through me. He was asking for encouragement. I could do that, no problem, because I most definitely wanted him to kiss me.
“Are you going to kiss me?” I asked, completely confident he would now, with a little coaxing. “And no, you won’t be smote. My dad is a preacher, not God.”
“So what if I am going to kiss you? Are you down with that?”
“I’m good with it, but I thought you hated me,” I teased him, leaning on the door frame out of his touch, amused that he was asking for permission. It made me feel more confident, less at a disadvantage in that I probably liked him more than he liked me. “You said I’m like a little sister to you.” I wanted him to kiss me, but I also wanted to hear him say out loud that he was attracted to me. Hey, guys aren’t the only ones who need their egos stroked.
“Hate is such a strong word,” he said, reaching out and fingering the cross I wore around my neck, the one that had been a gift from my father for my sixteenth birthday. Pure gold. “I never said I hated you.”
Desire started to simmer as he leaned in close to me, as I anticipated the kiss I had somehow known we’d been heading toward all week, or at least hoping for. I opened my mouth and crossed my ankles, the tight ache between my thighs distracting.
Then he ruined it.
“I mean, I find you annoying and bratty, but I don’t hate you.”
Really? I tried to pull away, but he put his hands on the wall on either side of me, trapping my body against the house as he grinned at me.
“You’re an ass,” I said.
“I’m just being honest. Because you are bratty, even you have to admit that, but I also find you intelligent, sexy as hell, and strong. I like that you’ll take the public bus even though you have no clue what you’re doing and you’re scared. I like that you’re staying in this dump when you could probably call up Daddy and get money for a hotel, even if he doesn’t know where you really are.”
The last bit wasn’t even close to the truth, but I was too busy enjoying his compliments to correct him. Because Riley was right—I was all those things. I could be annoying and bratty, yet I liked to think I was somewhat smart, and I knew I was strong, tenacious. That he saw me for who I was did weird things to my inside that had nothing to do with sex.
“I admire that you’re willing to pitch in and pull up nasty carpet to help me keep my brother.”
“It’s no big deal.” But it was a big deal. All of it. All of this.
His lips barely brushed mine in the most innocent kiss I’d shared since middle school. It made me shiver again.
“Now you can tell me what you like about me,” he prompted, while I stood there struck silent.
It was hard to think with his arms engulfing me like they were, his mouth so close to mine. I wanted to run my fingers through the stubble of his beard and bite his bottom lip. But I managed to focus long enough to say, “You are definitely an asshole, but what I like is that you are so responsible, you take care of your brothers, you do what you have to do, and yet you still laugh. You have a sense of humor, and you don’t take yourself too seriously.”
“I guess we’re pretty fucking awesome, aren’t me?” he asked.

Reprinted by arrangement with InterMix, a member of Penguin Group (USA) LLC, A Penguin Random House Company. Copyright © Erin McCarthy, 2013.



Erin McCarthy is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of more than 40 novels and novellas in the paranormal, contemporary romance, young adult, and new adult genres.  The author is a RITA award finalist and an American Library Association winner of the Reluctant Young Reader award.  She lives with her family in Ohio. 

Tuesday, October 29, 2013

Pure Day!! Sentinel Blog Tour





Book summary for Pure

There is need. And then there is Fate. 
Being destined to become some kind of supernatural electrical outlet isn't exactly awesome--especially when Alexandria's "other half" is everywhere she goes. Seth's in her training room, outside her classes, and keeps showing up in her bedroom--so not cool. Their connection does have some benefits, like staving off her nightmares of the tragic showdown with her mother, but it has no effect on what Alex feels for the forbidden, pure-blooded Aiden. Or what he will do--and sacrifice--for her. When daimons infiltrate the Covenants and attack students, the gods send furies--lesser gods determined to eradicate any threat to the Covenants and to the gods, and that includes the Apollyon--and Alex. And if that and hordes of aether-sucking monsters didn't blow bad enough, a mysterious threat seems willing to do anything to neutralize Seth, even if that means forcing Alex into servitude--or killing her. When the gods are involved, some decisions can never, ever be undone

Buy Links:




Author bio:

# 1 New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author Jennifer L. Armentrout Lives in West Virginia. 

All the rumors you heard about her state aren’t true. 

Well, mostly. When she's not hard at work writing, she spends her time, reading, working out, watching zombie movies, and pretending to write.

She is the author of the Covenant Series (Spencer Hill Press), the Lux Series (Entangled Teen), Don't Look Back (Disney/Hyperion) and a yet untitled novel (Disney/Hyperion), and new YA paranormal series with Harlequin Teen. 

Jennifer also writes New Adult and Adult romance under the pen name J. Lynn. The Gamble Brothers Series (Tempting the Best Man/Tempting the Player) and Wait for You. Under her pen name, she is published with Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.


Author Links:



Giveaway:




Spencer Hill Press is giving away a $200 gift card to Barnes & Noble, Amazon, Book Depository or any indie bookstore of the winner's choice to not only stock up on amazing books, but to perhaps buy a Nook HD or Kindle Fire. 

Here is the code:


Review: 
This has to be the BEST BOOK EVER!! I LOVED this book!!! Jennifer has done it again, and its better than the first one! Pure had romance that made you root for Alex, made your body feel tingly inside waiting for that special thing to happen.Seth also surprises you with his funny charm and charisma that he opens up himself to Alex. I was so torn at which one I wanted Alex to be with. The Zoo scene, Pool scene left me like this O_O because my heart was pounding like crazy!! Jennifer's writing is the best addiction ever!! It was at a great pace, left me wanting more!

The surprises along the way had me in tears that I was grabbing tissues because it was unpredicted and unknowing due to the amount of love I have for this book. If I do cry in the book, it means that its a winning read. Armentrout will leave you wanting more of her writing because its addicting, you will fall back in love with every character except the Daimons. The process of what was happening was mind blowing!! The scenes with Alex, Aiden and Seth would leave me breathless, and the tension between Aiden and Seth was soo funny.  Alex is still kicking butt, and is my favorite heroine. Aiden is one of those characters that you really want to get to know. Aiden is still forbidden unfortunately but you can still feel the tension between after what happened in Half-Blood. This love traingle is getting more interesting after getting to know more of Seth and Aiden. I still love Aiden, but Seth was growing on me. 

This book has got to be my favorite of all Covenant books for the moment, and I think Deity will leave me the same way because knowing Jennifer Armentrout's novels, she will leave me with a cliffhanger. I am still suffering from JLA withdrawal!!  If you havent read Half-Blood I recommend you buy it now because you dont know what you are missing. If you give me any of Jennifer's books I would be in happyland. Now I am excited to read Deity because that ending in Pure was like OMG I need the next one now!! 
For Pure posting blogs:
For JLA – Pure has been called Seth’s book.  Did fans reaction to Seth surprise you?  I wasn’t really surprised by the reaction to Pure because I knew that the book focused more on Seth than Aiden.
For Alex -  Knowing what you know about Leon, do you think there was more to him being the one to find you in labyrinth?  Oh, I’m sure there was more to it.

For Aiden -  By far, the zoo was the best scene in Pure.  What did you enjoy most about being at the zoo with Alex?  I loved knowing that I was doing something for her that made her happy. 

For Seth – That whole sleeping issue that you and Alex have in Pure, did you realize what was up or were you just going with it?  I would’ve just gone with it.  But, truth?  I knew what was up.

Friday, October 25, 2013

The Only One by Magan Vernon (Excerpt)


The Only Exception by Magan Vernon
October  2013


BOOK SUMMARY:
Honor student, manager at the campus coffee shop, owner of an impressive sweater collection – Melanie Wilder has it all together. Then John “John Boy” Walden strolls into her life wearing nothing more than an impish grin and all-too-revealing loin cloth.

Soon, make-out sessions replace homework, lust triumphs over work. And to further crumble her perfect world, an unexpected phone call threatens to take away everything she’s worked for.

Now, as Melanie struggles to pick up the pieces, she realizes that John may be the only one to put her life back together…unless he shatters it first.

Their differences threaten to tear them apart, unless they can make one another their only exception.


Author Information

Magan Vernon is a Young Adult and New Adult writer who lives with her family in the insurance capital of the world. When not writing she spends her time fighting over fake boyfriends via social media. You can find her online at www.maganvernon.com.



THE ONLY ONE Amazon link: http://amzn.to/1aasI39 
THE ONLY ONE B&N link: http://bit.ly/19zOHj6

GIVEAWAY: 
Magan is giving away a necklace, edited “chapter 14”, and a coverflat with the playlist, handwritten.  

a Rafflecopter giveaway

EXCERPT

 “Now let’s see if I can get you to let go. For once,” he whispered into my ear.
I closed my eyes, relishing the feel of his warm fingers as he slid them under my top and ran them along my skin. He splayed his fingers, his thumb traveling up to my belly ring and his pinky ran just underneath the waistband of my jeans. My body seized up from his touch and I rolled my hips back in a circle against his groin. We may have been on the dance floor, but we were far enough away from the crowd, with our backs to them, that no one would probably know what was going on. And if they did I was too turned on to care at that moment.
He let out a moan into my ear before his lips touched the skin of my neck and then trailed down to where my neck met my shoulders. I reached my hand up and pulled at the choppy spikes of his hair. He pressed the ever-growing bulge in his pants against my butt, rocking his hips against me in response.
With delicate fingers, he rubbed against the lace fabric of my panties. A strong surge of pleasure went straight between my legs. We were in the middle of a crowded club, but my body still responded to him. I rolled my hips forward to his awaiting fingers.
The song changed to a faster paced dance one, but we didn’t move. I didn’t think I could move. His fingers traced slow circles on the outside of my panties. The combination of the silky material and his warm fingers pulsating through the thin fabric made my whole body tremble below his. I was on the verge of orgasm before he even really touched me.
He inched his fingers underneath the waistband of my panties and then ran them over me. Everything between my legs heated up and I was glad that the loud music hid the moan that escaped my mouth.
“I want to make you come alive,” he whispered into my ear. My body tensed with resistance as his fingers slipped beneath my panty line. A hot sensation flooded me as he hooked a finger inside of me. I couldn’t think about anything else except how much I wanted him. He seemed to know what I wanted as his finger delved deeper and his thumb pressed against my clit.
I let out a hissed breath, my walls caving in around him and I shivered, about to let go as his fingers worked their magic. Sweat beaded on my stomach and my body heated up with desire. My legs constricted and I gripped tighter onto his hair. He emitted a low groan onto my neck.
“Fuck, Red, I want you so bad right now,” he whispered into my shoulder.
I couldn’t hold it anymore. My climax consumed me, making my entire body shudder and I had to grip even harder onto John’s hair so I wouldn’t fall over from my release.
John suddenly jolted forward, which plunged his finger deeper into me. I involuntarily gasped as another surge of bliss waved over me, but quickly suppressed it once he pulled his hand out of my pants and put it back on my stomach, warmer and wetter than it was the first time.
John pulled me back against him and turned around, putting me nose-to-chest with Gabe. I figured he either was trying to keep me against him so Gabe wouldn’t hit on me, or he was trying to hide his massive bulge.
“Hey, I was looking for you guys,” Gabe yelled.
“Yeah? What’s up?” John yelled, leaning over me.
“Me and Brad are gonna head on over to Fibs. Too many grenades in this place. You two wanna come?”


Monday, October 21, 2013

Blog Tour: Finding It (Losing It #3) by Cora Carmack

Title: Finding It (Losing It #3)
Author: Cora Carmack
Pages: 320 
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks/HarperCollins
Release Date: October 15, 2013 
Genre: New Adult
Source: Edelweiss via William Morrow PB 

Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo| B&N


Summary: (Goodreads

Sometimes you have to lose yourself to find where you truly belong...

Most girls would kill to spend months traveling around Europe after college graduation with no responsibility, no parents, and no-limit credit cards. Kelsey Summers is no exception. She's having the time of her life . . . or that's what she keeps telling herself.

It's a lonely business trying to find out who you are, especially when you're afraid you won't like what you discover. No amount of drinking or dancing can chase away Kelsey's loneliness, but maybe Jackson Hunt can. After a few chance meetings, he convinces her to take a journey of adventure instead of alcohol. With each new city and experience, Kelsey's mind becomes a little clearer and her heart a little less hers. Jackson helps her unravel her own dreams and desires. But the more she learns about herself, the more Kelsey realizes how little she knows about Jackson.


Review: 


As I am a huge fan of Cora Carmack, this one is her best one yet! Finding It delivers this amazing story of Kelsey and Hunt. I loved how Kelsey was able to have this adventure in Europe as well as fall in love. Cora Carmack knows how to grab your attention with her male leads who know how make your heart feel fluttery.This is a companion to Losing It, and Faking It which is great since I loved those two books! New Adult has been another favorite genre of mine and Finding it did not disappoint me since I loved it!! 

Kelsey is very different from Bliss, (her best friend from Losing It) and are polar opposites since she is more outgoing, but Bliss has loosened up since we last saw her. Kelsey has been traveling in Europe, because she needs the space from her life. She explores many cities and countries that anyone would love to do. Until she meets Jackson Hunt. He is HOT, mysterious and can make you think about what to do next. As they set off on this adventure there are many secrets between them that can either pull them apart or bring them closer. I loved each of the scenes that these two were together in because they have this intense chemistry. 

I really liked Kelsey because she is so different than any other main characters Cora has introduced us to. She is a wild child, knows how to have fun at a party. Kelsey really hides behind closed doors.  You can really sympathize with what has happened to her. She was normal and ya she has baggage, who is not perfect. Kelsey is strong and has this charm to her that will make you like her more. 

Jackson (aka Hunt) is one amazing guy. He is ex-military, he takes care of Kelsey even though she does not know her. He also joins in Kelsey's European trip which was adorable since they have this connection. Jackson has to be in the top 10 of NA males leads in my book! I do wish that he did have more a POV since some of those scenes need him!! Finding it addresses many issues than the other two. At times it was light, then get to a really heavy scenes. I loved reading about their excursions in Prague and Rome which was really cool since it made me actually want to imagine being there. Cora knows how to open your eyes to what more there is in the world. 

After reading it, I was happy and full of joy with the ending. Their journey was beautiful and incredible. If you are a fan of Cora Carmack or any New Adult novel I recommend you pick up her books right away since you will definitely swoon over these characters. Now I cannot wait for Jackson's novella! Thank YOU Cora Carmack for these amazing reads, glad to be part of this journey with you with your amazing books! 

5/5



Cora Carmack Bio:

Cora Carmack is a twenty-something writer who likes to write about twenty-something characters. She's done a multitude of things in her life-- boring jobs (like working retail), Fun jobs (like working in a theatre), stressful jobs (like teaching), and dream jobs (like writing). She enjoys placing her characters in the most awkward situations possible, and then trying to help them get a boyfriend out of it. Awkward people need love, too. Her first book, LOSING IT, is a New York Times and USA Today bestseller.

Links:






FINDING IT Blog Tour Schedule

October 13th
K-Books-Author Interview

October 14th

October 15th

October 16th
I Heart Big Books-Character Interview (Jackson Hunt)BookGoonie-Review OnlyRumpled Sheets Blog-Review Only

October 17th
The Book HookUp-Author InterviewJenuine Cupcakes-Review Only

October 18th
Stuck in Books-ExcerptPutting Pen to Page-Review OnlyBook Loving Mom-Review Only

October 19th
Mean Girls Luv Books-Review OnlyWhollyBooks-Review OnlyMartini Times-Guest Post

October 20th
The Story Siren-Author InterviewLive Read and Breathe-Review Only

October 21st
I Read Indie-Dream CastA Book Lover’s Review-Review OnlyStuck in YA Books-Review Only

October 22nd
Whirlwind Books-This and ThatSMI Book Club-Review Only

October 23rd
Scandalicious Book Reviews-Review OnlyThe Bookish Babe-Author InterviewBooks Over Boys-Excerpt

October 24th

October 25th
Love Between the Sheets-Review OnlyLove N. Books-Review Only

October 26th

October 27th


Saturday, October 19, 2013

The Dollhouse Asylum by Mary Gray (Blog Tour)

The Dollhouse AsylumTitle: The Dollhouse Asylum
Author: Mary Gray
Pages: 296
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Release Date: October 22, 2013

Summary: Goodreads

A virus that had once been contained has returned, and soon no place will be left untouched by its destruction. But when Cheyenne wakes up in Elysian Fields--a subdivision cut off from the world and its monster-creating virus--she is thrilled to have a chance at survival.

At first, Elysian Fields,with its beautiful houses and manicured lawns, is perfect. Teo Richardson, the older man who stole Cheyenne's heart, built it so they could be together. But when Teo tells Cheyenne there are tests that she and seven other couples must pass to be worthy of salvation, Cheyenne begins to question the perfection of his world.

The people they were before are gone. Cheyenne is now "Persephone," and each couple has been re-named to reflect the most tragic romances ever told. Everyone is fighting to pass the test, to remain in Elysian Fields. Teo dresses them up, tells them when to move and how to act, and in order to pass the test, they must play along.

If they play it right, then they'll be safe.

But if they play it wrong, they'll die.


Review:

I thought this book was so scary and awesome that you will be still thinking about it after reading it! I loved the characters and the plot, it showed lots of scenes and tons of action. It was addicting after the first page!! The cover also gives us a plain sense of what will come! I wanted to see what Teo was thinking as well. But it would be scary to see what is going on through his mind after everything with Cheyenne.

Marcus is another love interest who is also Teo brother, but how can they be related!! It makes no sense because his brother is so evil. Cheyenne is our main character who has to go through so much to get to the main goal. She is the new girl in school and is trying to adjust to this new environment until she meets Teo. Teo is an interesting because he is plain crazy and has this God complex of where he thinks he can do anything.

Mary Gray's writing was addicting and full of suspense. Her myth based on Persephone was definitely interesting to all the other young adult books I have read. I definitely recommend to those in need of a good fix of creepy and mystery!

Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Read Pink: Support of Breast Cancer Awareness

Read Pink® in Support of Breast Cancer Awareness

What’s black and white and pink all over?  The initiative by the Penguin Group (USA) called Read Pink® in honor of Breast Cancer Awareness Month (October)!

This literary embrace of a life-saving cause last year resulted in more than 400,000 best-selling romances shipped with Read Pink seals and information about the charity it supports – The Breast Cancer Research Foundation® (BCRF).  Penguin is thrilled to partner once again this year with BCRF, as 91 cents of every dollar spent by BCRF is directed towards breast cancer research and awareness programs.

The $25,000 donation that Penguin Group USA contributes, regardless of sales, provides vital funds to support the mission of BCRF.

In honor of Breast Cancer Awareness Month and Penguin Group (USA)’s Read Pink® editions, we are featuring a few participating authors and what Read Pink® means to them…

Karen White (2013 Read Pink® Spokesperson), The Beach Tree
"To all of those who have fought the fight, or are in the middle of the battle, here’s a two-thumbs up for you.  You are not alone.  We are all in this together.”

Erika Robuck, Hemingway’s Girl
“As one whose life has felt the shadow of breast cancer through two friends’ illnesses this year, it is an honor to be included in Penguin’s READ PINK campaign. It is my greatest hope that this contribution may be a part of raising awareness and finding a cure.” ~Erika Robuck”

Jodi Thomas, Just Down the Road
“Breast Cancer is something all women fear. I’ve walked with two dear friends through the battlefield and both survived. We all must fight until the day comes when no one knows anyone who has had breast cancer.”

Carly Phillips, Perfect Fit
“So many of us have been touched by cancer, either personally, or through a family member or a friend's diagnosis.   I'm honored to be part of the Read Pink! program.  Purchasing a Pink book donates money to the The Breast Cancer Research Foundation.  Buy and Read Pink! and together we can do our part to eliminate this dreaded disease.”

Catherine Anderson, Lucky Penny
“Breast cancer is a killer that robbed me of one friend and threatened the life of another.  One out of four women may get this dreaded disease.  I am honored that this is my fourth title to be featured in the READ PINK campaign, and I am proud to be writing for a publishing house willing to engage, year after year, in the battle to save the lives of women.”

LuAnn McLane, Pitch Perfect
“Shortly after my mother’s diagnosis with breast cancer, I found out I was pregnant with my fourth child, a risky pregnancy that wasn’t supposed to happen. I believe that during the treatments my mother drew strength from the determination to see her granddaughter born. That was twenty-two years ago and my mother still refers to Cara as ‘her gift’.  Cara’s birthday is a lovely reminder that my mother is cancer free.  I am thrilled to have Pitch Perfect as part of the Read Pink program. Any small part I can play in the fight against cancer is a huge honor for me.”

Liane Moriarty, What Alice Forgot
The last three generations of my family have been affected by breast cancer. We, like so many other families, understand all too well the importance of research.
So I feel very moved and privileged to be a part of such a wonderful initiative as Read Pink.”

Alyson Richman, The Lost Wife
"My own life changed dramatically when I was diagnosed with thyroid cancer just before the publication of "The Lost Wife" in 2011, so it is incredibly meaningful that the book is now helping to find a cure for other women who have been afflicted with breast cancer.  Read Pink is helping to unite readers and authors for an extremely important cause.  Please buy a book for a mother, a daughter, or a friend to show your support for this disease that takes too many lives. My children lost their grandmother to breast cancer, so I know I'll be buying the other books included in the program, to honor this woman we all loved.”

Sarah Jio, The Last Camellia
"Breast cancer is a villain more sinister than any shadowy figure in my stories. I know someone with an advanced case of the disease, a woman who is bravely fighting, but who has been given a short time to live. She will leave behind three children, a husband and a truly beautiful life. All I can says is that if there is hope to end this horrific disease, to bring this villain to justice, I want to be part of it. And I'm so very honored that The Last Camellia was chosen to be a part of Penguin's Read Pink campaign. Together, we can help write a new story for breast cancer and hopefully give more women the happy endings they deserve."

Full List of 2013 Participating Authors:
Karen White, The Beach Trees
Nora Roberts, Chasing Fire
Erika Robuck, Hemingway’s Girl
Jodi Thomas, Just Down the Road
Carly Phillips, Perfect Fit
JoAnn Ross, Sea Glass Winter
Karen Rose, Did You Miss Me?
Catherine Anderson, Lucky Penny
Kate Jacobs, The Friday Night Knitting Club
LuAnn McLane, Pitch Perfect
Liane Moriarty, What Alice Forgot
Alyson Richman, The Lost Wife
Sarah Jio, The Last Camellia
Penelope Lively, How It All Began

Mark your calendars and remember to join in the conversation with @BerkleyRomance and @PenguinGroupUSA on Twitter in October.  Make sure to use the hashtag #ReadPink!

For more information follow @BerkleyRomance and @PenguinGroupUSA, and visit www.us.penguingroup.com/readpink.

Read Pink® Blog Tour Schedule
Please support the blogs taking part in this special, Read Pink® Spotlight Tour!

October 1 – Guest post and entire Read Pink 2013 collection giveaway by spokesperson Karen White on Chick Lit Is Not Dead

“Spotlight” Blog Tour
September 25     The Allure of Books; Ticket to Anywhere
September 26     Bookish Babe; Swoon Worthy Books
*
October 1           Eye on Romance; Books, Books, and More Books
October 2           Books-N-Kisses; Reviews By Tammy and Kim
October 3           Urban Fantasy Investigations; The Book Cellar
October 4           Supernatural Snark; Got Fiction? Books
*
October 9           Bitten By Love Reviews; Kindles & Wine
October 10         The Book Bellas; Stuck in Books
*
October 14         Boekie's Book Reviews; The Romance Studio
October 15         Paranormal Book Club; Ruby’s Reads
October 16         Stuck in YA Books; Caffeinated Book Reviewer
October 18         Fiction Fare; My Book Addiction and More
*
October 24        The Book Binge; SheReads.org
October 25        The Irish Banana Reviews; Harlequin Junkie
*
October 29        Reviewing Wonderland;
October 30        Smexy Books; Hesperia Loves Books


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...