Tuesday, December 31, 2013

Top 10 Books I've Read in 2013


Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas- I loved this sequel to Throne of Glass because it was even better than the first one. The characters were kick a** and the plot was amazing +beautifully written

The Secret of Ella and Micha by Jessica Sorensen- This book tore my heart out! Its New Adult and definitely one of my favorites since I have been reading the entire series. Ella and Micha are great characters who go through a lot as well as falling in love. 



Suddenly Royal by Nichole Chase- LOVED It!! I love a good story that reminded me of The Princess Diaries. The writing was addicting and made me want to find my own Alex! (he is mine!!) I look forward to many more books by Nichole :)

How to Love by Katie Cotungo- This was beautifully written and I read it in 2 days. Its heartbreaking and also put together. The characters are true to themselves. Definitely a favorite for the year!



Finding It (Losing It #3) by Cora Carmack - I fell in love with this book immediately since I have already loved Cora's previous books from the beginning. Jackson was HOT! I need more Cora Carmack books !!

Sentinel (Covenant #5) by Jennifer L. Armentrout- As you all know I Love all JLA books + one of her biggest fans from Canada! I am sad that the series ended but it ended on a really good note. JLA did not disappoint in the last book of the Covenant series. I laughed and cried through the book. Aiden you are still my book boyfriend for life!



The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay - I remember reading this last year but I did reread it throughout the year since this book will make you think and cry! The characters were written like they were a movie. I loved Josh Bennett so much that I think Katja must write more books so I can read them all 

Origin (Lux #4) by Jennifer L. Armentrout- Origin has to be on this list because it was AMAZING and Daemon's POV was one of a kind, I just love being back in Katy and Daemon's minds. I need Opposition right away. If you haven't read this series yet pick it up now! I am now on a JLA hangover since I can finish her books in days! *also am mentioned in the acknowledgements!!!* hugs Jen!!



Slammed (Slammed #1) by Colleen Hoover-To the beautiful writing and now my addiction to Colleen Hoover, which I have read almost ALL of her books. Will and Layken are one of my favorite New Adult characters that show real love can succeed! Colleen Hoover is one author you need to read immediately since her books are amazing.

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey- In this high thriller, it was original and definitely creative! It was addictive to read and if any alien invasion like this happened it would definitely sound like this!! Looking forward to the sequel next year!!


Wednesday, December 18, 2013

One Week Until Christmas Giveaway: Boxed Set of Divergent!!


Hey everyone!! Since its only ONE week until Christmas, I will be giving away a Boxed Set of the Divergent Series. I love this series so much that giving away one will make another reader even happier if they read this series. Already having 3 copies of the series, am willing to part with this boxed set.

Be sure to check out my reviews of the series:


Divergent

Insurgent
Allegiant


About Divergent:



In Beatrice Prior's dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue--Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is--she can't have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are--and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she's chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she's kept hidden from everyone because she's been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, Tris also learns that her secret might help her save the ones she loves . . . or it might destroy her.


How to enter:


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, December 14, 2013

Awesome Price Drop!!

Both


Download NAKED by Raine Miller and LOVE UNSCRIPTED by Tina Reber for just  $1.99, through 12/29.
Love Unscripted by Tina Reber:  Kobo|Amazon
Naked by Raine Miller: Kobo|Amazon
Raine Miller is the New York Times bestselling author of the Blackstone Affair series.  She lives with her husband and two sons in California, where she writes love stories about all those characters that share time in her head.

cvr9781476735245_9781476735245_lg11641_411288414


Naked by Raine Miller is on sale now

Tina Reber got her first library card at the age of four and, as the daughter of a small town librarian, books have always held a special place in her life.  She lives in a suburb of Allentown, Pennsylvania with her husband and son who allow her to slip away into fictional worlds on a daily basis.  Visit TinaReber.com.
cvr9781476718682_9781476718682_lg11195_409197896
Love Unscripted by Tina Reber is on sale now

Thursday, December 12, 2013

Avoiding Temptation (Avoiding Commitment #3) by K.A. Linde


Title: Avoiding Temptation
Author: K.A. Linde
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Cover By: Okay Creations
Photo By: Toski Covey Photography

Synopsis (Goodreads)

Two years after walking out of Jack’s wedding, Lexi has finally put her past behind her. She has made up her mind about where her life is headed. This time, she is sticking to her guns, no matter what.

That is, until a phone call shatters the fragile grasp she has on her new life. Lexi is forced to question everything she thought she knew about what she wanted, and life-changing events push her to reevaluate the very plans she holds so dear. Nevertheless, Lexi has to choose her true path. That might just mean deciding, once and for all, that she doesn’t have to answer to anyone but herself.

In this highly anticipated final installment of the bestselling Avoiding series, follow Lexi as she juggles a new career, a new city, and the burgeoning affections of three very different men.

Amazon (US) |Amazon (UK) |Barnes & Noble |iTunes |

Excerpt:


“Into the park,” he demanded, pointing at the entrance.
“Nope.  We should go home now.”
He smiled, clearly contemplating her suggestion.  Then, as she began to drag him back to their cars, he hoisted her up into his arms and carried her into the park himself.
“Oh my God!  What are you doing?” she squealed as he walked forward. 
He held her gingerly in his arms as if she weighed nothing. 
“I can walk! I can walk!”
“Are you going to behave?” he asked, smirking down at her face.
“Not if you keep carrying me!”
“Then, why would I put you down?”
She threw her head back, exasperated, and he just laughed at her. 
“All right, all right.  I’ll put you down.”  He placed her lightly on her feet.
“Thank you,” she said, steadying herself against him in her high heels.  “Can we try to act like civilized adults now?”
“What’s the fun in that?”
“You have a point.”
As they walked farther into the park, the trees began to cluster together, and the city lights gradually disappeared. The characteristic speeding of cars on the interstate and honking of horns in traffic through the commuter city faded away to a dull hum, and they were left with each other. The winding path they had selected was even farther off the beaten track, and Lexi actually noticed that some stars were overhead. The stars had come out for them tonight, like the stars had known they were going to take this moonlit stroll through the city.
The weight of his hand was peaceful against hers, and the sound of each other’s breathing kept a slow, easy rhythm about their movements—so much so, that she hardly realized just how dark it was where they were. They had walked so deep into the woods that even the lights in the park were missing or had been extinguished.
“Hey,” she whispered, not even sure why she was being so quiet.  “It’s really dark out here.  Don’t you think we should go back?”
“Yeah, probably,” he agreed, stopping and staring down at her.  “Let’s just go a little farther, and if we don’t find the other side, we’ll circle back.”
Lexi nodded. 
After another minute of walking on the darkened path, they followed a bend in the trail, and suddenly, light illuminated the path before them. 
“Oh, good,” she murmured, breathing a sigh of relief.  “We made it.”
He smiled back at her.  “We did.”
Lexi looked into his face and saw a glint of something she hadn’t recognized before. Had she not been looking?  He appeared absolutely ecstatic.  She hadn’t even realized how happy he was and that such a small walk with her could brighten his mood.
Walking forward along the path, Lexi noticed it narrowed as they ventured toward the light.  Her eyes widened as everything came into focus.
No wonder he was grinning like an idiot.
White candles of all different shapes and sizes flickered along the path. Hundreds of them illuminated their way, and she noticed, where she hadn’t before, the streetlights were all still in place but had been shut off to allow the red-and-orange flames to be the only source of light.  He had turned off the world in Piedmont Park to give Lexi one of her own.
She stared forward, perplexed and in awe at what was materializing, as she followed him down the pathway. The candles opened up to a small clearing where a giant blanket was laid out with a picnic basket and a dozen long-stemmed red roses in a clear vase.
“What is this?” she whispered, facing him once more.

He just smiled. “Dessert?”

About the Author
K.A. Linde graduated with her Masters in political science from the University of Georgia in 2012. She also has a bachelors in political science and philosophy. She wrote her the Avoiding Series while struggling through advanced statistical modeling and writing her thesis. She enjoys dancing and writing novels that keep you guessing until the very end.

She currently resides in Georgia with her boyfriend and two puppies, Lucy and Riker.

Connect with K.A. Linde
Facebook  https://www.facebook.com/authorkalinde
Twitter  https://twitter.com/authorkalinde

Purchase Links for the Series

Avoiding Commitment

Avoiding Responsibility

Avoiding Intimacy 
  

Avoiding Decisions

Wednesday, December 11, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday: Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

Title: Maybe Someday
Author: Colleen Hoover
Pages: 320
Publisher: Atria Books
Genre: New Adult
Release Date: March 18, 2014

Summary: (Goodreads) 

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover, a passionate tale of friendship, betrayal, and romance—and the enchanting music that inspires one young woman to put her life back together.

At twenty-two years old, aspiring musician Sydney Blake has a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her good friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers Hunter cheating on her with Tori—and she is left trying to decide what to do next.

Sydney becomes captivated by her mysterious neighbor, Ridge Lawson. She can’t take her eyes off him or stop listening to the daily guitar playing he does out on his balcony. She can feel the harmony and vibrations in his music. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either: He seems to have finally found his muse. When their inevitable encounter happens, they soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one…

From the author of the New York Times bestsellers Slammed, Point of Retreat, Hopeless, This Girl, and Losing Hope, Maybe Someday is destined to become another bestseller and long-lasting fan favorite
.



I NEED THIS BOOK!!!!

Monday, December 9, 2013

Sneaking Candy by Lisa Burstein (Book Blitz)



Sneaking Candy Synopsis:
All I ever wanted was to make a name for myself as Candice Salinas, creative writing grad student at the University of Miami. Of course, secretlyI already have made a name for myself: as Candy Sloane, self-published erotic romance writer. Though thrilled that my books are selling and I have actual fans, if anyone at UM found out, I could lose my scholarship…and the respect of my faculty advisor, grade-A-asshole Professor Dylan.
Enter James Walker, super-hot local barista and—surprise!—my student. Even though I know a relationship is totally off-limits, I can’t stop myself from sneaking around with James, taking a few cues from my own erotic writing…if you catch my drift. Candy’s showing her stripes for the first time in my real life, and I’ve never had so much fun. But when the sugar high fades, can my secrets stay under wraps?
Lisa Burstein Bio:

Lisa Burstein is a tea seller by day and a writer by night. She received her MFA in Creative Writing from the Inland Northwest Center for Writers at Eastern Washington University. She is the author of the YA Novels: Pretty Amy and Dear Cassie and the NA Novella: The Next Forever. Sneaking Candy is her first full-length new adult novel.
 Giveaway:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, December 8, 2013

A Beautiful Wedding (Excerpt) by Jamie Mcguire

So excited for Day 2 of the Wedding Countdown!  Today we have something NEW that you can share EXCLUSIVELY with your readers. Here is an excerpt of the soon to be released A Beautiful Wedding by Jamie McGuire!



#BeautifulWedding by @JamieMcGuire

9781476759548
Pre-order links:
Jamie McGuire is the New York Times bestselling author of five other novels: Walking Disaster, Beautiful Disaster, Providence, Requiem, and Eden.  She and her husband, Jeff, live with their children just outside Enid, Oklahoma, with three dogs, six horses, and a cat named Rooster.  Please visit her at JamieMcGuire.com.
Jamie
A Beautiful Wedding by Jamie McGuire is on sale December 10, 2013

Friday, December 6, 2013

Storm Warning by E. Lee & C. Quinn (Excerpt)





 About STORM WARNING:
Sometimes you don’t see the storm coming until it’s too late...

Severe Storm Warning Tip #1:
Be alert to changing weather conditions. Look for approaching storms.

Severe Storm Warning Tip #2:
If you see approaching storms or any of the danger signs, be prepared to take shelter immediately.

Severe Storm Warning Tip #3:
They may strike quickly, with little or no warning.

Situated just outside of Oklahoma City, Calumet County is divided into two drastically different communities: Hope’s Grove and Summit Bluffs. One is the small backward town where dirt roads lead the way to field parties and railroad tracks. And the other, a sprawling suburb where paved drives lead to the landscaped lawns of the wealthy and privileged.

For five teenagers smack in the middle of Tornado Alley, summer is heating up fast. The winds of change are blurring the invisible line that divides the rich and the rural.

One has a secret. 
One has a crush.
One has been lying. 
One will get caught.
And one might not make it out alive.

They’re from two different worlds…but one summer is about to change everything.

About E. Lee and C. Quinn:


Whether you believe in destiny, divine intervention, or just plain ol' dumb luck, several things happened in 2013 that caused E. Lee and C. Quinn's paths to cross. It may have been that the stars aligned perfectly, or the fact anytime Luke Bryan was mentioned on a social media site both of them were tagged, or maybe it was just that their small town roots and country girl attitudes were magnetically drawn together—calling out to one another, “Y'all should write a book!” Despite geography keeping them apart—Lee in Illinois and Quinn in Alabama—they did. Thanks to three-hour phone calls, ridiculous amounts of online chats, and umpteen Google Docs—Storm Warning is the first book in their edgy new Young Adult series,  Broken Heartland.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Links:

Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/fqBT5Ynob2o

Excerpt: 
Hope’s Grove was small. Everyone knew about her parents, and she was already dreading facing them since the news of her dad’s affair had hit. But facing them without her brother and her best friend would be her worst nightmare.
After the girls had said their goodbyes and she’d watched her friend’s taillights fade down the drive, Ella Jane scuffed her boots along the winding dirt road that led her home.
She was about halfway there, watching the sun sink low in the evening sky, when the unmistakable rumble of a pickup truck came barreling down the road behind her. She stepped aside to let it pass without looking back. But it didn’t pass. It slowed practically to a stop right next her.
She turned, wondering what the heck the driver’s deal was. There was more than enough room for him to go around. But the smiling face beneath the backwards trucker hat sent the words on the tip of her tongue swirling away with the dust the truck had riled up.
She bit her lip and grinned. Warm brown eyes gleamed in her direction. “Hey there, Ellie May. Need a ride?”
She rolled her eyes. Why Brantley Cooper couldn’t call her by her actual name was beyond her. But as long as he was talking to her, she really didn’t care much what he called her. He can call me ‘flower’ if he wants to.
He was a year older than her and a year younger than her older brother, Kyle. Smack in the middle of their ages and grades in school and usually smack in the middle of their arguments. Coop kept the peace. Balanced them out perfectly.
The three of them had met at the same time as kids but Coop and Kyle had become like brothers instantly. She’d always tagged along wherever they went. Kyle had whined about it when they were younger but Coop always made her feel welcome. He held doors open for her so she didn’t get left behind, made sure to invite her despite her brother’s protests, and lately he’d even stopped by and hung out even when Kyle wasn’t home. And this year, she’d be a junior and Coop would be a senior. With her big brother away at college, she couldn’t help but fantasize about what might happen if she and Coop spent time together alone.
“Hey, Coop. Lynlee just left so I was just…” She glanced toward home. Kyle wasn’t back from football camp yet, and her mom was baking herself to death, trying to keep her mind off of everything.
“Yeah, I heard the Wicked Witch was moving west. You up for some fishing? I have to drop my bike off at the house but we could swing by the lake after.”
She should get home. She knew she should. Should order a pizza and convince her mom to take it easy for a night. Except…it was Coop. And in all her sixteen years, he was the one boy she’d never been able to say no to.
“Yeah. Yeah I’m up for it.”

Thursday, December 5, 2013

Sentinel (Covenant #5) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Sentinel (Covenant #5)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 312
Genre: Young Adult
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Release Date: November 2,  2013
Buy: Amazon| B&N| AmazonCA| Book Depository
Rating: 5/5

Summary: (Goodreads)

It's a beautiful day for a war.

As the mortal world slowly slips into chaos of the godly kind, Alexandria Andros must overcome a stunning defeat that has left her shaken and in doubt of their ability to end this war once and for all.

And with all the obstacles between Alex and her happily-ever-after with the swoonworthy Aiden St. Delphi, they must now trust a deadly foe as they travel deep into the Underworld to release one of the most dangerous gods of all time.

In the stunning, action-packed climax to the bestselling Covenant series, Alex must face a terrible choice: the destruction of everything and everyone she holds dear… or the end of herself.


Review: 


Sentinel was by far the best of the series and the last in this amazing series. Jennifer L. Armentrout pulled me in with her beautiful writing, it was fast paced and action packed. It was great to be back in Alex's head because I just love what her character stands for as well as her snarkiness. This book made me cry which is very hard to do, but Jennifer knows how to make me cry. Half-Blood to Sentinel, I have fallen in love with this series and I was very happy with how this book ended. Aiden was even sexier and hotter in this book! The ending was amazing to this memorable and swoon-worthy series.  Greek mythology comes back to life with humor (mainly Apollo). Seeing the Gods made it more interesting and the characters in the book was great!


The entire story from the beginning captivated me and was instantly hooked at the way the plot was progressing. Alex and Aiden are still a steamy couple and like in my past reviews I still love them. Alex is just as snarky and feisty in this book. This may be the last book but, Sentinel was by far my favorite with all the Alex and Aiden scenes. I just want to hug Aiden because of how she stands by Alex, sacrifices for her. He get jealous when Seth is around and I am proud of his character. (I wish there was a real Aiden!)  Apollo was hilarious whenever he come into the scene or make a joke. Deacon was also funny when he creates the name of the army.  The story really pieced together after Apollyon and it was 10x better. 


Seth is officially another character I have grown to love him in the past few books, but he really changed my mind in this book. He really changed in this book compared to Apollyon.  From the beginning of the series, I have had a love/hate relationship with him since the pool scene is when I started to become Team Seth but Aiden still has my heart. It was fun to read Seth and Aiden's bickering over who gets Alex. His true intentions come to life and they will surprise you. 

It was faced paced and I could not put this book down!! I am so sad that this series is over, but I am very happy with the why she ended it because it was perfect. This series is one that I will re-read over and over again. I feel like I have grown up with the characters since I first found the series. If you have not read this series I recommend you buy it now!! The Covenant Series is the best and you will not regret reading this book. Thank you Jennifer L. Armentrout for this amazing series!! 

Monday, December 2, 2013

Bitter Sweet Love: Release Day Launch

Jennifer L. Armentrout's amazing novella in her new The Dark Elements Series, BITTER SWEET LOVE, is out and we are excited to join in the release day launch for it. BITTER SWEET LOVE is the Prequel Novella for The Dark Elements Series and is full of Wardens, fantasy, and romance. The first novel in the series, WHITE HOT KISS, will be released February 25, 2014. Check out what we have for you today! There's also a fantastic excerpt for you to check out below!

EXCERPT:


Moving lightning fast, Dez shifted and I was suddenly underneath him. His arms were on either side of my head, caging me in. Our bodies didn’t touch, but I felt him to the tips of my toes anyway.
                The teasing grin disappeared when I dragged in a deep breath and my chest brushed his. Everything changed in an instant. The playful mood faded, replaced by primal heaviness. Our gazes collided and locked. Neither of us moved. His closeness sent a series of shivers skittering across my skin and made it hard to take slow, even breaths. My body tensed when his gaze dropped to my mouth.
                He tilted his head to the side. “I… I honestly have no idea what we were talking about.”
                “Good. Neither do I.”
                He shifted his weight onto one arm, bring him closer. “Have you enjoyed your trip so far?”
                “Yes.” I felt as if I couldn’t get enough air into my lungs.
                “Good.” He lowered his head. His breath was minty as it moved across my cheek and then my lips. “I’m glad.”
                I wasn’t really following the conversation and I wasn’t sure that he was fully aware of what was coming out of his mouth. I searched my hazy brain for something to say and wet my lips. I-
                The sound that came out of Dez’s chest rumbled through me. A stuttered heartbeat passed and then his lips were on mine. There was nothing slow about this kiss. It scorched my skin and caused my body to stretch tight like a bowstring. The kiss deepened, spinning my senses. I shuddered when his hand curved over my shoulder and drifted down to my waist, his long fingers spreading out under the hem of my shirt, grazing the bare skin of my stomach.
                I gasped, floored by the raw sensations pounding through my blood. My skin felt as if I was about to phase. Maybe I was.


                “Jasmine,” he whispered, the word falling against my lips, and then his body was pressing mine into the mattress, heavy, sweet and hard.

ABOUT BITTER SWEET LOVE (The Dark Elements #.5):

In a sizzling prequel novella to her new series The Dark Elements, #1 New York Times bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout draws readers into the extraordinary, irresistible world of Wardens and demons.

Dez wasn't just Jasmine's crush. A gargoyle Warden like Jas, he helped her come to terms with her destiny—fending off demons and maintaining the balance between good and evil. He was her everything…right until the moment he disappeared without a trace. It didn't help that Jas's father had just announced that she and Dez would one day be mated. Hard not to take that personally.

And now he's back, three years older, ten times hotter, ready to pick up exactly where they left off. But Jas isn't taking that risk again. Dez has seven days to meet all her conditions and earn back her trust. Seven days filled with terrifying danger and sweet temptation. Seven days to win her heart—or shatter it all over again…

Don't miss White Hot Kiss, book one in Jennifer L. Armentrout's The Dark Elements series from Harlequin TEEN!

About Jennifer L. Armentrout:


# 1 NEW YORK TIMES Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki. Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV. She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.

Links:


WHITE HOT KISS Buy Links:




Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...