Thursday, January 30, 2014

A Little Too Hot by Lisa Desrochers (Blog Tour)

About A LITTLE TOO HOT
Author: Lisa Desrochers
Series: A Little Too Far #3
Publication Date: January 21, 2014
Publisher: William Morrow Impulse
Description…
From USA Today bestselling author Lisa Desrochers, comes the third book in her sizzling New Adult series.
If you play with fire…
Tossed out of college and cut off by her parents, Samantha West is in pretty dire straits. So when her rocker best friend hooks her up with a job dancing at a gentlemen’s club, who is she to turn it down? Plus, there are rules to dancing at Benny’s: No touching, keep your clothes on at all times, and never get closer than three feet. Unfortunately for Sam, her first private client makes her want to break every single one of them.
Harrison Yates is scorching hot, but he’s got a past that involves being left at the altar not too long ago. Sam is determined to make him forget about his ex, but when she makes her move, it flings her life into a spiral of chaos she never saw coming.
Because Harrison Yates isn’t who he seems to be. And his secret will probably get her killed.

Praise for A LITTLE TOO HOT

Every page is deliciously breathtaking, wickedly sexy and sensational. A LITTLE TOO HOT is wonderfully unique and a LOT HOT! I am a HUGE Lisa Desrochers fan.
   — Katy Evans, New York Times bestselling author of REAL, MINE, and REMY

“Lisa is brilliant at creating sizzling sexual tension and impossible circumstances that make the reader hold their breath all the way to happy ever after. Sam and Harrison are more than A Little Too Hot, they are scorching!"
   — Jay Crownover, New York Times bestselling author of RULE, JET, and ROME

“Lisa Desrochers’ best yet! A LITTLE TOO HOT is hotter than hot with all the emotional punch to back it up!”
   — Sophie Jordan, New York Times bestselling author


About Lisa Desrochers
Lisa Desrochers is the USA Today bestselling author of A LITTLE TOO FAR , courtesy of HarperCollins, and companions, A LITTLE TOO MUCH (Nov 12, 2013), and A LITTLE TOO HOT (Jan 21, 2014). Also in stores is her YA PERSONAL DEMONS trilogy (Macmillan).
She lives in central California with her husband and two very busy daughters. There is never a time that she can be found without a book in her hand, and she adores stories that take her to new places, and then take her by surprise.



Review:

This book was definitely HOT because everything about it was fitting. Lisa Desrochers did an amazing job in her third book in the Little Too Far series and I loved the first one!!  This has now my favorite of the series! The story got me captivated from the very beginning and to see Sam as the main character made it more interesting. Even the cover is hot!! 

The very first page is what caught my eye since it draws you in immediately. After being failed out of college and not much love from her parents Sam finds herself desperate to make money, she takes a job dancing to make rent. She may have made bad choices but her mess is also fixable. Her parents were a little crazy and you do understand why they cut her off. She is also very good at her job as a dancer and it attracts the attention of customers like Harrison Yates. 


Harrison connects with Sam with almost familiar backgrounds. He is so sexy, and as he gains her trust about his broken heart. Sam is so far liking her job but when Harrison comes to her work it makes her dancing better. Harrison will change Sam's life forever. 


The hotness in this book is HOT. From the first page was instantly sucked in. The secondary characters are funny and easy to like. Definitely different than the first book! After her heartbreak with Trent I found that she is a relate-able character some can connect with. You feel bad for her as she goes through challenges during the entire book. 


Harrison is so easy to love from the moment you meet him! His confidence and the ways he makes Sam safe makes me love him more! He is definitely book boyfriend material. Together the attraction between them is steamy and when these moments came they were hot! The tension is really there! 

I loved everything about this book. Its a book you will love and will leave you wanting more of their story! The series is easy to follow and are each individual. Sam and Harrison are truly special characters. This series is a must read if you are looking for New Adult romances with a great plot, and passionate love! Lisa Desroches did a great job writing this and I am looking forward to many more by her!

5.5



The Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Week One: Day One

Jan. 20th - Page Turners Blog - Review + Excerpt
Jan. 20th - Lost in Literature - Review
Jan. 20th - The Reading Cafe - Review + Guest Post
Jan. 20th - City of Books - Review
Jan. 20th - Sun Mountain Reviews - Review

Week One: Day Two 

Jan. 21st - Fiktshun - ALT Scene from Harrison's POV
Jan. 21st - Step Into Fiction - Review + Deleted Scene
Jan. 21st - Lovin' Los Libros - Review
Jan. 21st - The Autumn Review - Review
Jan. 21st - A Love Affair With Books - Review
Jan. 21st - Alii's Book Jungle - Review
Jan. 21st - Book Labyrinth - Review + Character Interview

Week One: Day Three 

Jan. 22nd - Books Complete Me - Review + Excerpt
Jan. 22nd - In the Best Worlds - Review
Jan. 22nd - Globug and Hootie Need A Book - Review
Jan. 22nd - My Favorite Things - Playlist Post
Jan. 22nd - Ginger-read Reviews - Review
Jan. 22nd - Book Angel Booktopia - Review

Week One: Day Four 

Jan. 23rd - Ramblings From This Chick - Review
Jan. 23rd - The Demon Librarian - Review
Jan. 23rd - Books Over Boys - Excerpt or Deleted Scene
Jan. 23rd - Keepin' It Real Book Blog - Review
Jan. 23rd - No Bent Spines - Author Interview

Week One: Day Five 

Jan. 24th - Seeing Night Reviews - Guest Post
Jan. 24th - Bookhounds YA - Guest Post
Jan. 24th - The Book Swarm - Review
Jan. 24th - The Book Review - Review
Jan. 24th - bookaholics anonymousonline - Guest Post
Jan. 24th - Little Bookworm Reviews - Review

Week Two: Day Six

Jan. 27th - Owl Always Be Reading - Review + Guest Post
Jan. 27th - BookChic - Review
Jan. 27th - The Book Whore-der's Delights - Review
Jan. 27th - Paranormal Book Club - Guest Post
Jan. 27th - Ticket to Anywhere - Deleted Scene
Jan. 27th - Nocturne Romance Reads - Review + Author Interview

Week Two: Day Seven 

Jan. 28th - The Busy Bibliophile - Review
Jan. 28th - The Cover Contessa - Guest Post
Jan. 28th - Book Crushin - Review
Jan. 28th - Rumpled Sheets Blog - Review
Jan. 28th - Good Books & Good Coffee - Guest Post

Week Two: Day Eight 

Jan. 29th - Michelle & Leslie's Book Picks - Review + Character Interview
Jan. 29th - Waiting For Wentworth - Review
Jan. 29th - Nestled in a Book - Review
Jan. 29th - The Scarlet Siren - Review
Jan. 29th - Nerd Alert Book Love - Review
Jan. 29th - Allodoxophobia: The Fear of Opinions - Review

Week Two: Day Nine 

Jan. 30th - The Irish Banana Review - Review + Guest Post
Jan. 30th - Stuck In YA Books - Review + Excerpt
Jan. 30th - adventures-in-word - Review
Jan. 30th - The Bookmark Blog - Review
Jan. 30th - All in a Book - Review
Jan. 30th - Booklovers LaceyCat - Deleted Scene or Excerpt

Week Two: Day Ten 

Jan. 31st - Fade Into Fantasy - Guest Post
Jan. 31st - Hot Stuff Book Reviews - Review
Jan. 31st - Kimberlyfaye Reads - Review
Jan. 31st - Sugar and Spice Book Reviews - Excerpt
Jan. 31st - Polished Readers - Review
Jan. 31st - A Bookish Escape - Review

Thursday, January 23, 2014

Defy (Defy #1) by Sara B. Larson

Title: Defy (Defy #1)
Author: Sara B. Larson
Pages: 336
Genre: YA/Fantasy
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Release Date: January 7, 2014
Rating: 5/5
Received for Review by Publisher and Work

Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo|

Summary: (Goodreads)

A lush and gorgeously written debut, packed with action, intrigue, and a thrilling love triangle.

Alexa Hollen is a fighter. Forced to disguise herself as a boy and serve in the king's army, Alex uses her quick wit and fierce sword-fighting skills to earn a spot on the elite prince's guard. But when a powerful sorcerer sneaks into the palace in the dead of night, even Alex, who is virtually unbeatable, can't prevent him from abducting her, her fellow guard and friend Rylan, and Prince Damian, taking them through the treacherous wilds of the jungle and deep into enemy territory.

The longer Alex is held captive with both Rylan and the prince, the more she realizes that she is not the only one who has been keeping dangerous secrets. And suddenly, after her own secret is revealed, Alex finds herself confronted with two men vying for her heart: the safe and steady Rylan, who has always cared for her, and the dark, intriguing Damian. With hidden foes lurking around every corner, is Alex strong enough to save herself and the kingdom she's sworn to protect?


Review: 


Defy was by far one of my favorites of the year because of the fantasy, strong characters, action and even the turmoil. Sara B. Larson writing was addicting and this book even made me cry which is very hard to do since this book was fantasy.  Before I started reading Defy I knew that I would probably love this book. Its full of intense emotion, fighting, magic and the atmosphere took you to a different place. I could actually picture everything while reading it. 


 Alexa is a very strong character whose life as a young girl was to pretend to be a boy and join the Kings Army with her twin brother. To others she is known as Alex who is among the best fighters to Prince Damian. Her twin brother Marcel rescued her and in the beginning of the book it explains why she disguises herself as a boy. The fate of the young girls was shocking because there were breeding houses for the war between Antion and Blevon. Alexa has run away from this fate but there is a bigger threat she has to run from: the black sorcerer who killed her family and home. Also the ruler of Antion is the worst who has not helped the people. 


Alex is a loyal and caring person who has amazing sword skills and I really loved how strong she is. I love the male leads who are both attracted to Alex and they already know the truth that she is not a boy. Daiman is the prince who also has secrets but he really shows how much he cares for her, and Rylan is the sweet and  also has bad timing. I really can't choose who I would choose until the second book! I am excited to see what will happen in the next book which is next year!!  If you loved Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas read this book immediately! Loved this book so much! Sara B. Larson's writing is also addicting and can really pull you in with the plot since I definitely was crying and overjoyed at parts! Pick this book up from your bookstore today because you will not regret it! 

Sunday, January 12, 2014

Cover Reveal: Orenda by Ruth Silver


Title: Orenda
Author: Ruth Silver
Expected Publication: Spring 2014
Publisher: Patchwork Press
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Cover Design: Erica Crouch
Synopsis:
A sword wielding girl, an eternal suit and an alternate universe.
Lil has a gift, one she never thought possible as she finds herself awake after a strange dream with the tell-tale sign that what she dreamt was in fact real.  The dreamscape, was more than just a premonition it happened.  She’d been momentarily tossed into another dimension.  Where most would consider her crazy, not her best friend Bray.
In another reality, one similar and yet slightly different Willow has been kidnapped by the sorceress turned demon, Eilith.  Rawlie, Willow’s friend and companion crosses to our universe for help and brings Lil into his world.  Filled with frightening creatures and magical elements, Lil demands to go home, until she discovers Bray has been taken by Eilith as well.  Unable to watch her best friend die, she joins forces with Rawlie, Jamie and the others to hunt down Eilith and rescue those they care about.

About the Author:

Ruth Silver attended Northern Illinois University and graduated with a Bachelor's in Communication in the spring of 2005.  While in college, she spent much of her free time writing with friends she met online and penning her first novel, Deuces are Wild, which she self-published in 2004.  Her favorite class was Creative Writing senior year where she often handed in assignments longer than the professor required because she loved to write and always wanted to finish her stories.  Her love of writing led her on an adventure in 2007 to Melbourne, Australia.  Silver enjoys reading, photography, traveling and most of all writing.  She loves dystopian and fantasy young adult stories.  Her debut novel published by Lazy Day Publishing and Patchwork Press, ABERRANT, was released April 2013.  The second novel in the series, MOIRAI, continues the saga. ISAURA, is the final installment in the ABERRANT trilogy. Ruth has been actively writing since she was a teenager.  Her current writing projects include a YA science-fiction fantasy series, ORENDA, and a YA/NA paranormal series, DEAD GIRL WALKING. Both novels are due for release in 2014. She currently resides in Plainfield, Illinois.
You can visit her online at http://writeawaybliss.com

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, January 8, 2014

Rome (Marked Men #3) by Jay Crownover (Review)


Title: Rome (Marked Men #3)
Author: Jay Crownover
Genre: New Adult
Publication Date: January 7, 2014
Publisher: William Morrow an imprint of HarperCollins Publishing
Event organized by: Literati Author Services, Inc.

Synopsis
Cora Lewis is a whole lot of fun, and she knows how to keep her tattooed bad boy friends in line. But all that flash and sass hide the fact that she’s never gotten over the way her first love broke her heart. Now she has a plan to make sure that never happens again: She’s only going to fall in love with someone perfect.
Rome Archer is as far from perfect as a man can be. He’s stubborn and rigid, he’s bossy and has come back from his final tour of duty fundamentally broken. Rome’s used to filling a role: big brother, doting son, super soldier; and now none of these fit anymore. Now he’s just a man trying to figure out what to do with the rest of his life while keeping the demons of war and loss at bay. He would have been glad to suffer it alone, until Cora comes sweeping into his life and becomes the only color on his bleak horizon.
Perfect isn’t in the cards for these two, but imperfect might just last forever . . .

About the Author
I’m supposed to share interesting details about myself so that my readers get to know me so here we go in no particular order: I’m an natural redhead even though I haven’t seen my real hair color in years, I’m a big fan of tattoos and have a half sleeve on either arm and various other pieces all over the place, I’ve been in the bar industry since I was in college and it has always offered interesting insight into how men and women interact with each other, I have 3 dogs that are all crazy, I live in Colorado and love the snow, I love music and in all reality wish I could be a rock star not a writer or a bartender but I have zero talent so there is that. I love to write, love to read and all I’m interested in is a good story with interesting characters that make the reader feel something.
Connect with Jay: Facebook | Twitter | Website | Goodreads

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Review:

This was my first Jay Crownover book and I have to say it was an awesome read and Jay is a brilliant writer. Rome and Cora are complex characters who are perfect for each other. I wish I read them in order but it will be okay since now I will read them all. Rome felt like a big brother who has gone through a lot and is a good son for his parents in his parents view. 

Rome is an American Soldier who went off to the army and comes back changed from his last tour. He is broken from what he has seen and knows that if he goes home it would not be easy. He comes home and him and Rule start to form a bond that he is starting to feel happy about. But he does feel like he is missing a part of himself and in his life. 

Then he meets Cora Lewis who will change his life because she is a force of nature who can relate to Rome is more ways than I can count. She will show Rome what life is and Cora knows how to keep men in line because she also is protecting herself from being hurt again. Cora meets Rome her life, both of their lives are turned upside down but together the two of them will guide each  other out of the dangerous water. 


While bother are broken can they both open themselves to love and let go of their past? Once you read this book you will not get enough since it was addicting and the characters feel real. Jay's writing was beautiful and I cannot wait to read more of your books. These alpha men are starting to get to me. The romance is intense and Rome is definitely Swoonworthy! 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...