Monday, March 31, 2014

Lux: Consequences (Opal & Origin) by Jennifer L. Armentrout (Cover Reveal)


Lux: Beginnings (Obsidian & Onyx) official Blurb:

Obsidian
There's an alien next door. And with his looming height and eerie green eyes, he's hot...until he opens his mouth. He's infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, he lights me up with a big fat bulls-eye. Turns out he has a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal his abilities and the only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to him until my alien mojo fades. If I don’t kill him first, that is.

Onyx
Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro alien connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems. I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?


Lux: Consequences (Opal & Origin) official blurb:


Opal
After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different... And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing alien hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.
Origin
Daemon will do anything to get Katy back. After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he’s facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on? And will they even be together?  




LUX: BEGINNING (Obsidian & Onyx)Links:




LUX: CONSEQUENCES (Opal & Origin) Links:





Additional links to Jennifer’s pages:


We will also be raffling off two fan inspired artwork from fans of the Lux series sent from the author, Jennifer L. Armentrout, herself.
a Rafflecopter giveaway


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

# 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer Armentrout lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell, Loki.

Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen.

She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.

Wednesday, March 26, 2014

A Whisper in Time by Elizabeth Langston Blog Hop

Book Blurb:
“I have never been useless in my life…”

Rescued from a life of servitude by the boy she loves, Susanna Marsh escapes across two centuries, only to be plunged into a world she’s ill-prepared to face. Unable to work or go to school, Susanna finds herself dependent on others to survive.   

Immersed in the fun and demands of his senior year of high school, Mark Lewis longs to share his world with the girl who’s captured his heart. But first he must tackle government bureaucracy to prove Susanna’s identity.

Overwhelmed by her new home, Susanna seeks refuge in history and in news of the people she left behind. But when she learns that danger stalks her sister, Susanna must weigh whether to risk her own future in order to save Phoebe’s happiness.

Links:

Book Information:
Paperback: 360 pages
Expected publication: April 8th 2014 by Spencer Hill Press
ISBN: 1937053814

Dedicated to the Ones I Love

One of the hardest things to write in a book is the dedication.  While the Acknowledgments are where I thank people who have helped me, I use the dedication to honor someone special. Doing that in ten words or less can be incredibly hard to get right.
For A Whisper In Time, I honored my parents.
To Bobbye and Chuck, my first model of selfless love
They were an easy choice. The story of Susanna and Mark is ultimately about selfless love—so it felt natural to honor the two people who taught me.
The dedication for Whisper Falls has a more poignant story behind it.
Charlie was my nephew—sweet, beautiful, and so much fun. He developed a fatal disease at the age of four and left us a few months later. Norah was the daughter of friend, lovely and joyous. She died when she was six.  Both of them would have been in their late teens now—the same age as Mark and Susanna.
I’ve decided to include the two of them in every book series that I write. For the Whisper Falls series, Norah and Charlie are the names that I have given to a pair of my favorite characters, Mark’s Gran and Granddad. It’s a little way that I can remember two adorable kids. And now, so can you.
For Norah and Charlie…We have not forgotten

Author Bio:
Elizabeth Langston lives in North Carolina, halfway between the beaches and the mountains. She has two teen-ish daughters and one husband (a geek like her). When she's not writing software or stories, Elizabeth loves to travel with her family, watch dance reality TV shows, and dream about which restaurant ought to get their business that night.

Elizabeth's debut novel WHISPER FALLS released in November 2013. Its sequels, A WHISPER IN TIME and WHISPERS FROM THE PAST, release in 2014. Learn more about her at http://www.elizabethLangston.net.

Author Links:
A WHISPER IN TIME MEGA Giveaway

We're offering a MEGA giveaway in honor of the release of the second book in the WHISPER FALLS series! Bloggers who participate in spreading the word about this giveaway (tweeting, posting on Facebook, etc...) will receive additional entries via the Rafflecopter widget



1st Prize
One red "Metro" picnic basket;
One picnic blanket;
Two "Country Drinking" picnic jars;
Two "Sip-N-Spoons" (yellow and green);
One yellow star spoke reflector;
One North Carolina Museum of Art map and postcard;
One copy of FIREBLOOD by Trisha Wolfe;
One copy of SWAMP ANGEL by Colleen Boyd;
One copy of THE DOLLHOUSE ASYLUM by Mary Gray;
One copy of SING SWEET NIGHTINGALE by Erica Cameron;
One copy of THE WITCH OF BLACKBIRD POND by Elizabeth George Speare (inscribed by Elizabeth Langston);
One copy of DAIMON by Jennifer L. Armentrout;
One (signed) copy of CURSED by Jennifer L. Armentrout;
One copy of PERSUASION by Jane Austen (inscribed by Elizabeth Langston);
One (signed) copy of DARE YOU TO by Katie McGarry; AND
Various swag (some signed).

2nd Prize
Signed copy of WHISPER FALLS (book #1) or A WHISPER IN TIME (book #2)

3rd Prize
WHISPER FALLS series Swag Pack

International Only
An Amazon gift certificate for your choice of an e-book copy of WHISPER FALLS (book #1) or A WHISPER IN TIME (book #2)


Monday, March 24, 2014

Cover Reveal: Lux Beginnings (Obsidian + Onyx) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Releases June 3, 2014
Lux: Beginnings (Obsidian & Onyx) official Blurb:
Obsidian
There's an alien next door. And with his looming height and eerie green eyes, he's hot...until he opens his mouth. He's infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, he lights me up with a big fat bulls-eye. Turns out he has a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal his abilities and the only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to him until my alien mojo fades. If I don’t kill him first, that is.
Onyx
Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro alien connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems. I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
# 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer Armentrout lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell, Loki.
Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen.
She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.
LUX: BEGINNING (Obsidian & Onyx) Links:
Additional links to Jennifer’s pages:
a Rafflecopter giveaway


Tell me what you think of the cover!!

Friday, March 21, 2014

Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2) by Tahereh Mafi

Title: Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2) 
Author: Tahereh Mafi 
Pages: 461
Genre: YA
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: February 5, 2013
Read: February 2014
Rating: 5/5

Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo| Book Depo| B&N


Summary (Goodreads)

tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it's almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She's finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam's life.


Review: 

I am sooo happy I finally read this because as expected Tahereh Mafi can definitely leave use hanging with her beautiful writing and who to choose from. Warner or Adam?? Its great being back with what Juliette is up to since I have been waiting to read Unravel Me forever! This book can leave you shattered and with Tahereh's intricate sentences and wonderful monologues you will have a hard decision. I can say that I am Team Warner especially after finishing the book! This series is amazing and definitely one of my favorites. 

After that ending in Shatter Me it picks up immediately with Juliette and Adam joining Omega Point where they try to master their powers. Tahereh definitely made this book better than X-men. Her brilliant writing. She also introduced us to new characters that will play key roles in the next book. Its good to see that Juliette is making new friends. My heart was breaking for both Adam and Juliette because he is has been keeping secrets from Juliette that will have serious consequences for both of their well being and the relationship. But waiting on the sidelines is Warner and he is back full force with his own secrets. I loved seeing a different side to Warner and this is one of the reasons why I switched sides. Adam did feel left out but once you read  the book, it will make sense why his role was cut.  The romance especially THAT chapter was O_O I was soo happy!! 

The major twist was also revealed in Unravel Me and it left me speechless! I totally did not see it coming! Its soo good!! Warner definitely is a character who looks broken but is always prepared. I loved seeing him as a great male lead. Mafi did a great job also creating a suspenseful/action read that will leaving you wanting more. If you have not read this series I recommend you start them right now! Its definitely a book that is full of action, romance and suspense. Its a good thing I already read the next book because that book was amazing. Tahereh Mafi is an author to look out for and I will read any book she writes next!! 

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: All Lined Up by Cora Carmack

Title: All Lined Up (A Rusk University #1)
Author: Cora Carmack
Pages: 320
Publisher: William Morrow PB
Release Date: May 13, 2014
Genre: NA

Summary: 

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Cora Carmack follows up her trio of hits—Losing It, Faking It, and Finding It—with this thrilling first novel in an explosive series bursting with the Texas flavor, edge, and steamy romance of Friday Night Lights.

In Texas, two things are cherished above all else—football and gossip. My life has always been ruled by both.

Dallas Cole loathes football. That's what happens when you spend your whole childhood coming in second to a sport. College is her time to step out of the bleachers, and put the playing field (and the players) in her past.

But life doesn't always go as planned. As if going to the same college as her football star ex wasn’t bad enough, her father, a Texas high school coaching phenom, has decided to make the jump to college ball… as the new head coach at Rusk University. Dallas finds herself in the shadows of her father and football all over again.

Carson McClain is determined to go from second-string quarterback to the starting line-up. He needs the scholarship and the future that football provides. But when a beautiful redhead literally falls into his life, his focus is more than tested. It's obliterated.

Dallas doesn't know Carson is on the team. Carson doesn't know that Dallas is his new coach's daughter.

And neither of them know how to walk away from the attraction they feel.


Wednesday, March 12, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

Title: The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles #1)
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Pages: 492
Genre: YA/Dystopian/Fantasy
Publisher: Raincoast Books/ Henry Holt
Release Date: July 15, 2014

Summary: (Goodreads) 

In this timeless new trilogy about love and sacrifice, a princess must find her place in a reborn world.

In a society steeped in tradition, Princess Lia’s life follows a preordained course. As First Daughter, she is expected to have the revered gift of sight—but she doesn’t—and she knows her parents are perpetrating a sham when they arrange her marriage to secure an alliance with a neighboring kingdom—to a prince she has never met.

On the morning of her wedding, Lia flees to a distant village. She settles into a new life, hopeful when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assasin sent to kill her. Deception abounds, and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—even as she finds herself falling in love.

I Need this book!! 

Saturday, March 8, 2014

The Winner's Curse (The Winner's Trilogy #1) by Marie Rutkoski

Title: The Winner's Curse (The Winner's Trilogy #1)
Author: Marie Rutkoski
Pages: 368
Genre: YA
Publisher: Farrar Straus Giroux/ Raincoast Books/ Macmillan
Release Date: March 4, 2014
My Rating: 5/5
Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo| B&N|

*Thank you Macmillan for letting me review this ARC*

Summary (Goodreads)

Winning what you want may cost you everything you love 

As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions. 

One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin. 

But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined. 

Set in a richly imagined new world, The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski is a story of deadly games where everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart.


Review:


This book was amazing! This is definitely one of my favorite books of the year!! I can't believe I have to wait another year for book 2!!! After everything that was happening my anticipation is through the roof due to the ending. Krestel and Arin were characters you see and have all the feels for over the course of the novel. This is my first book that I have read by Marie and I am now a fan because the writing was beautiful. 


Marie has created a fascinating world that hooked me from the beginning of the page. I already heard amazing things about it before reading it so there was high expectations that it exceed them when I read it. The beginning was slow but it set up the book perfectly. There was action, suspense and romance. Krestrel our main character is a Valorian and is also the daughter of General Trajan. She is easy to like, passionate and is easy to relate to. It opens up as Krestrel and her best friend Jess are out shopping when they come upon a Herrani slave auction, and here we meet Smith (Arin)  who is bitter, can supposedly sing. Krestrel makes many moves throughout the book. I really liked her and the fact they she loves music  rather than follow in her fathers footsteps. 


The story was flawlessly beautiful that while you are reading you can picture the setting and the hints of the society. The romance between Krestrel and Arin through the book was one of my favorites because it started off slow and my anticipation for them was through the roof!! Arin's character is complex, smart and strong willed. These two are perfect for each other even when he is her slave. The chemistry is tender and makes your heart melt (Bite and Sting) and many other scenes. 


As the story is inspired by the Greco- Roman period is focuses on the Valorian empire. It is set after the Herrani War and the enslavement of their people. The Valorians fueled the plot and its also seen through cultural and power are still remaining in The Winner's Curse. The Valorians focus more on war while the Herrani are remembered for their literature and art. I loved being in this world and with the way Marie put everything together we are just at the beginning. Even the ending made it interesting and made me crave for more. 

The Winner's Curse is one book everyone must read! I want the next book ASAP. Its story was constructed, and written beautifully. It has the perfect amount of intrigue, romance and definitely a lot of emotion was happening near the end. I am still thinking about it from those last final pages.. This is officially one of my favorite books of the year. 

5/5 

Thursday, March 6, 2014

Cover Reveal: Mortal Gods (Goddess War #2) by Kendare Blake


Title: Mortal Gods (Goddess Wars #2)
Author: Kendare Blake
Release Date: September 1, 2014
Publisher: Orchard Books 

Stone Cold Touch by Jennifer L. Armentrout Cover Reveal

It's Time!! The STONE COLD TOUCH cover is here!

Cold Stone Touch
We cannot wait to share the cover for Jennifer L. Armentrout's STONE COLD TOUCH with you all! STONE COLD TOUCH is a young adult paranormal romance by Jennifer L. Armentrout and is the second full-length novel in The Dark Elements Series being published by Harlequin Teen. You'll want to add this to your TBR pile ASAP. Check out this amazing cover!   Isn't it awesome?! You can Pre-order it right now!

**Amazon** **Barnes & Noble** **iTunes** **Kobo**

STONE COLD TOUCH Synopsis: Every touch has its price Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task for a seventeen-year-old who’s pretty sure things can’t get worse. Her impossibly gorgeous best friend, Zayne, is forever off-limits thanks to the mysterious powers of her soul-stealing kiss. The Warden clan that has always protected her is suddenly keeping dangerous secrets. And she can barely think about Roth, the wickedly hot demon prince who understood her in ways no one else could. But sometimes rock bottom is only the beginning. Because suddenly Layla’s powers begin to evolve, and she’s offered a tantalizing taste of what has always been forbidden. Then, when she least expects it, Roth returns, bringing news that could change her world forever. She’s finally getting what she always wanted, but with hell literally breaking loose and the body count adding up, the price may be higher than Layla is willing to pay… "Constantly entertaining...the narrative sizzles with as much tension as romance." Kirkus Reviews on White Hot Kiss
And...Don't forget to check out the first book in The Dark Elements Series,

WHITE HOT KISS!

White Hot Kiss
ABOUT WHITE HOT KISS: One kiss could be the last. Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she's anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses. Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she's crushed on since forever. Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she's not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn't an issue, considering Roth has no soul. But when Layla discovers she's the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne…it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world.

**Amazon** **Barnes and Noble** **BAM** **iBooks** **IndieBound** **Kobo** **Walmart**

  Author PhotoAbout Jennifer L. Armentrout: # 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki. Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV. She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.

The Dark Elements Series Website

Website

Twitter

Facebook

Jennifer L. Armentrout Goodreads

STONE COLD TOUCH Goodreads

WHITE HOT KISS Goodreads


Ahhhh!! THIS COVER IS Soo AWESOME!! 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...