Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3) by Sarah J. Maas

*Grabby Hands** I WANT THIS BOOK!

Title: Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3) 
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Pages: 530
Genre: YA Fantasy
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens/RazorbillCA
Release Date: September 2, 2014

Summary: (Goodreads)

Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien's only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan's Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. 

Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King's Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan's biggest threat - and his own toughest enemy. 

While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love? 

This third novel in the Throne of Glass sequence, from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, is packed with more heart-stopping action, devastating drama and swoonsome romance, and introduces some fierce new heroines to love and hate.


If you haven't read this series READ IT Immediately because its amazing and addicting! Sarah J. Maas has created this amazing series and world that will make you crave more especially after Crown of Midnight! 



Monday, April 28, 2014

Cover Reveal: Opposition (Lux #5) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

OPPOSITION OFFICIAL BLURB:
 
 Katy knows the world changed the night the Luxen came. She can't believe Daemon welcomed his race or stood by as his kind threatened to obliterate every last human and hybrid on Earth. But the lines between good and bad have blurred, and love has become an emotion that could destroy her—could destroy them all. Daemon will do anything to save those he loves, even if it means betrayal. They must team with an unlikely enemy if there is any chance of surviving the invasion. But when it quickly becomes impossible to tell friend from foe, and the world is crumbling around them, they may lose everything— even what they cherish most—to ensure the survival of their friends…and mankind. War has come to Earth. And no matter the outcome, the future will never be the same for those left standing. -

 
 
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

# 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer Armentrout lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell, Loki.
Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen.
She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.

 
Where You Can Find More:

 

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19081403-beginningshttps://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19081402-consequenceshttps://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13644055-opposition?from_search=true
 

Friday, April 25, 2014

What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Title: What I Thought Was True
Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Pages: 416
Genre: YA
Publisher: Dial Books/Razorbill CA
Release Date: April 15, 2014

Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo|

Summary (Goodreads):

From the author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her Nantucket-esque island this summer. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-me-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.


Review:

I just loved Huntley's second novel! Cass was a total swoon throughout the entire book! It was a little different than My Life Next Door book it was very close to how much I love these books! I finished this book so fast because the writing was beautiful and the setting of the book makes you want to wish it was summer right now. This book has made my top favorite books because it does deal with issues of honesty, lies, and so much more like her debut, My Life Next Door.  What I Thought Was True looks at the beginning of becoming an adult, honesty, romance that does have some issues) and if the relationship is strong enough to survive.

Gwen Castle has been spending her days working hard and dreaming of the day she will be able to leave the island she is living on. Her family is blue collar, dad owns a restaurant and her mom cleans the houses of the wealthy. Right from the beginning Gwen has secrets of her own that involve rich, handsome boy Cassidy Somers. While two different worlds or a bridge that separates them in Stony Bay, that she thought not to worry about him, but instead she sees him get a job on the island as a yard boy, where she can't avoid him. 

You can definitely feel the tension between them and that there is history that no one will be prepared for. Huntley did an amazing job creating these characters from Gwen who you can relate too as being an island girl. Cass is definitely charming and book boyfriend worthy because throughout the book you can't help but fall in love with him too! Nic (cousin) and his girlfriend Vivien (best friend) play an important part of Gwen's growth in character in the novel. There were so many layers to the book that will make you fall in love with What I Though Was True. 

There was a complex dynamics of Gwen's family is also important as Gwen doesn't have a normal household. With her parents not together, her mother still communicates with him, her grandfather lives in the house, her younger brother and cousin Nic. This makes it interesting because many people live in this situation and it made interactions with the characters interesting. Her brother, Emory does have special needs that impacts the entire family. 

Now for Cass, who is charming and can make Gwen smile. Add in that he is helping to teach Emory with swimming lessons that make him more swoon-worthy. I was smiling at all the scenes and ways to try to get Gwen's attention. Their history is one of the things that tore them apart but can bring them together.


"I leaned toward him without meaning to, without a clear thought in my head, and he bent forward and kissed me. It was such a good, sweet kiss- a simple press of the lips at first until I opened, wanting more, and he was ready." 

What I Thought Was True was the perfect summer read, with strong characters, interesting plot and more than just falling in love. Each of the issues of family, and many heavy issues. Huntley Fitzpatrick is a brilliant writer who knows how to hook me into a book! I am very excited for any of her books!. This book is also about forgiveness and moving on to a new part of life. Put this book immediately on your list or even check out her amazing debut My Life Next Door

5/5

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Cover Reveal: Tempting the Bodyguard by J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout)


TEMPTING THE BODYGUARD OFFICIAL BLURB:


A sexy category romance from Entangled’s Brazen imprint…
He can protect her from everyone except himself.
Alana Gore is in danger. A take-no-prisoners publicist, her way with people has made her more than a few enemies over the years, but a creepy stalker is an entirely different matter. She needs a bodyguard, and the only man she can ask is not only ridiculously hot, but reputed to have taste for women that goes beyond adventurous.
Chandler Gamble has one rule: don't protect anyone you want to screw. But with Alana, he's caught between his job and his increasingly hard libido. On one hand, Alana needs his help. On the other, Chandler wants nothing more than to take the hot volcano of a woman in hand. To make her writhe in pleasure, until she's at his complete mercy.
She needs protection. He needs satisfaction. And the moment the line is crossed, all hell will break loose…
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


# 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer Armentrout lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell, Loki.


Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen.


She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.


Where You Can Find Jennifer:

Sunday, April 20, 2014

Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

Title: Open Road Summer
Author: Emery Lord
Pages: 342
Genre: YA
Publisher: Walker/Bloomsbury/ Razorbill CA 
Release Date: April 15, 2014

Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo| B&N


Summary (Goodreads

After breaking up with her bad-news boyfriend, Reagan O’Neill is ready to leave her rebellious ways behind. . . and her best friend, country superstar Lilah Montgomery, is nursing a broken heart of her own. Fortunately, Lilah’s 24-city tour is about to kick off, offering a perfect opportunity for a girls-only summer of break-up ballads and healing hearts. But when Matt Finch joins the tour as its opening act, his boy-next-door charm proves difficult for Reagan to resist, despite her vow to live a drama-free existence. This summer, Reagan and Lilah will navigate the ups and downs of fame and friendship as they come to see that giving your heart to the right person is always a risk worth taking. A fresh new voice in contemporary romance, Emery Lord’s gorgeous writing hits all the right notes.

Review: 

This has to one of my favorite books of this year!! Emery did an amazing job capturing the characters as well as learning a few lessons on the way. I was blushing throughout the entire book (Matt Finch) as well as some swoon-worthy moments. You can really connect with these characters (like cry a little). Open Road Summer was a perfect read compared to my weather situation (snow in April) There will be some gushing in this review because I loved this book SOO much! I will now read ANY of Emery Lord's future books. 

Open Road Summer was fun, and will make you smile while reading it. I was either laughing at some of the things going on or I couldn't wipe the smile off my face when good things were happening. This was the perfect road trip book especially if it involves musicians and hot boys. Perfect blend of everything. Some moments there was pure emotion where I was either sad with Reagan or feeling her anger. Big Rollercoaster for sure! 

It opens up with Reagan going on tour with her best friend, Delilah who is a country music star. She is fresh out of a breakup, and is ready to turn her life around. Both of them go on a journey to reflect on their life and determine what they want to do. Their relationship was a true friendship that has its up and downs. They have been with each other through the good and the bad, support each other's decisions and genuine loyalty. It is when good boy Matt Finch shows up on tour with Delilah that there is another dynamic that opens up for Reagan. He is the perfect fit because he is there for both of them, either to help out Dee's social media and to help Reagan with her stress and image. 

Reagan is a smart, tough 17 year old who is sarcastic and tough, after her breakup with an older man. She has both secrets and a tough wall to break. As she turns her life around she does become independent and confident while on tour. I loved how Dee also has problems of her own with her own breakup and her past. She reminded me of Taylor Swift (for fame) as her songs are about the heart. Even Matt Finch is adorable at times, I loved how he can write a song (swoon) and about his story with his mom. 

The romance was beautiful and Reagan really did need this to fix her heart and let people in. At first she was hesitant but Matt can really get in there with all his effort to catch her attention. They are so fun together and he doesn't hold her back from who she wants to be. As hard as she tried to push him away his character was perfect (in my eyes) I loved how they get together! The tension was so fun to read. 

"As I walk next to Matt, I feel a flutter beneath my rib cage that hasn't been there in months. I'm nervous. Worse than that. I actually find myself wondering if he'll reach over and grab my hand. Such a simple gesture-- one I normally don't think about." (178, Open Road Summer)

Emery Lord writing was flawlessly beautiful and addicting. I am looking forward to her next book whenever it comes out. Open Road Summer is a MUST READ for those in need of a road trip book with a  great romance and friendship. I almost felt like crying at some parts including the end because that ending was by far one of my favorites in a contemporary novel. It was realistic and its also a story of strong bonds of friendship and a sweet romance that will make you wish there were more pages. Pick this one up today!

"I want to feel the way they pool together – his touch and smell, the sound of his voice. I want the tipsiness, the giddy ache that comes as he slides his thumb across my lower lip, as his eyes fixate on my mouth."

5/5 

Thursday, April 17, 2014

Happenstance by Jaime McGuire

We are thrilled to share the gorgeous cover and a teaser for Happenstance by New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author Jamie McGuire! We'd love to know what you think, so please be sure to comment below AND don't forget to check out the amazing giveaway!

Title: Happenstance
Author: Jamie McGuire
Publisher: Jamie McGuire LLC (May 9, 2014)
Print Length: 100 pages
ASIN: B00JOPR0ZK

PRE-ORDER LINKS:




#1 New York Times Bestseller Jamie McGuire returns to self-publishing with this page-turning YA account of Erin Easter, one of three Erins in the small senior class of rural Blackwell High School who not only share a first name, but also their birthday. Erin Easter, raised by a neglectful single mom, keeps to herself and admires Weston Gates from afar. The other Erins, Erin A. and Erin M. are the darlings of the community: daughters of the two wealthiest families in town, best friends, cheerleaders, and everything Erin Easter isn't--and they never let her forget it. Erin A. has even claimed Weston since the 8th grade. 

Weston is a well-liked star athlete, and the son of two prominent attorneys. He struggles daily with the pressures of living up to his family name and secretly empathizes with Erin Easter's feeling that she belongs somewhere else; in a different life. Not until he begins sneaking nights out with Erin does he gain the courage to buck expectations and acknowledge his feelings ... both for his future, and for her. 

But when a shocking tragedy rocks the tiny town, Erin's life is turned upside down in the best way possible. But when the truth is revealed and everything Erin thinks she wanted falls into her lap, life only becomes more complicated.



TEASER
“What are you reading?” A deep voice asked from the seat behind me. 

I barely acknowledged Weston’s question, holding the cover of my book just high enough for him to see. 

He nodded, waiting for me to speak. When I didn’t, he offered a small smile, and began to sit back. “What are you reading?” I asked. 

Weston immediately leaned toward me, sharing his cover the way I had. 

“Piers Anthony?” Weston cleared his throat to stifle a cough, and then smiled. “I like his stuff.” 

I nodded. “I approve.” 

“Good,” Weston whispered. “I was worried.” After a short pause, he leaned into my ear again. “Why don’t you ever talk to me in Art class?” 

We had Art together in seventh period, the class I looked forward to all day. Weston was in there, but more importantly, people like the Erins and Brady weren’t. We were serious about our work, and it was the one place during the school day that I could be myself. 

“I guess I was just busy.” 

“Are you going to be busy today?” 

“Probably.” 

“Well, maybe I’ll get lucky and you’ll take a break.” I turned around to hide my grin, but not before glancing back and seeing the familiar look of hatred in Alder’s eyes. 

Whore, she mouthed, glaring at me.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author:

New York Times best selling author Jamie McGuire has penned the Providence series and contemporary romance Beautiful Disaster. She lives in Oklahoma with her husband and three children. She is an RT(R), a graduate of Autry and Oklahoma Northern College, and a full time writer.

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Don't Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Don't Look Back
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout 
Pages: 372
Genre: YA
Publisher: Disney Hyperion/ Hatchette Book Group Canada
Release Date: April 15, 2014
*ARC from Disney/Hatchette for review*

 Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo

Summary: (Goodreads)

Samantha is a stranger in her own life. Until the night she disappeared with her best friend, Cassie, everyone said Sam had it all-popularity, wealth, and a dream boyfriend. 

Sam has resurfaced, but she has no recollection of who she was or what happened to her that night. As she tries to piece together her life from before, she realizes it's one she no longer wants any part of. The old Sam took "mean girl" to a whole new level, and it's clear she and Cassie were more like best enemies. Sam is pretty sure that losing her memories is like winning the lottery. She's getting a second chance at being a better daughter, sister, and friend, and she's falling hard for Carson Ortiz, a boy who has always looked out for her-even if the old Sam treated him like trash. 

But Cassie is still missing, and the facts about what happened to her that night isn't just buried deep inside of Sam's memory-someone else knows, someone who wants to make sure Sam stays quiet. All Sam wants is the truth, and if she can unlock her clouded memories of that fateful night, she can finally move on. But what if not remembering is the only thing keeping Sam alive?


My Review:

This book was beyond creepy and Jen did an amazing job creating the characters and the plot! Don't Look Back was definitely a book that will pull you in because of the characters and what happened to Sam. After 4 days they find Sam wondering on the road and she cant remember her name or who her family is, friends and even her boyfriend. This book is definitely full of twists and turns even some shocking events!

Don't Look Back was a thriller that keeps you guessing until the end. There was a lot of "what is happening right now" moments, all in a positive way. There was so much romantic scenes or what Jen will use is a lot of tension.  It had strong characters that Armentrout uses with her same fun, wit and even mysterious works (totally not like all of her other books) but you will definitely fall in love with Carson!! 

I would totally want  a do-over but it does not have to involve what Sam goes through. After being found Sam does the best she can to piece together the night she went missing, at the same time make amends for all she did to everyone at school. This includes her twin brother Scott, Julie, and Carson. She does try with her mom but there is a lot of strain in their relationship. 


A long time ago Sam and Carson were best friends, but since high school she discovers that things change and she then starts hanging with Cassie and Del (boyfriend). By the time the "night" happens, people make fun of Carson for being the help. As she starts to remember what happened and the kind of person she was, Sam wasn't the nicest person around and the world isn't perfect. Truths will be revealed with dangerous and heartbreaking results. This book will keep you hanging!

I loved Sam's relationship with Carson because it is so different and it flows way better than her boyfriend Del who is a tool. Carson is a person who Sam can go to her problems with and help her. He gives her a second chance even if she might not deserve it during this time. Don't Look Back was definitely gave me the chills after reading it and maybe throw away my music box ....

Rating: 5/5

Thursday, April 10, 2014

Cover Reveal: Make It Count by Megan Erickson




MAKE IT COUNT excerpt:
Kat gathered her books and stuffed them into her plaid Burberry messenger bag, then headed toward the front doors, smoothie from the library snack shop in hand. Head bent, fiddling with the clasp of her bag, she stumbled into a wall of human on the pavement outside.
“Oh, I’m sorry—” Her voice dropped out when she realized the solid flesh belonged to Alec, Max’s best friend.
She’d only met him once or twice before he’d moved in with Max this semester and every time, he cocked his eyebrow with a half frown like he knew something she didn’t. Which he actually did, since he had brainy superpowers. Smarter than a speeding Einstein. Able to leap over C-minus students like her in a single bound.
She didn’t trust people that smart. And she didn’t trust a guy who didn’t ogle her ass or leer at her boobs like every other member of the straight male species on the planet.
Right now, that raised-eyebrow frown pinned her where she stood. His pale green eyes behind thick black frames roamed over her shoulder to the library and then back to her. With his pin-stripe button-down, dark jeans with Converse shoes and hair styled in a short, messy pompadour, he looked like a nerdy Elvis.
His frown morphed into a smile when he spotted the smoothie in her hand, and she definitely didn’t notice his full lips. “You know, you don’t have to venture into the forbidden zone just to get a smoothie.”
Oooh. The jerk. She glanced around surreptitiously, then leaned in and spoke in a low voice. “Just play it cool. Don’t let it slip someone like me snuck in the library.” She gripped his forearm and whispered. “Password today is rosebud.”
His face blanked and he looked at her like he’d never seen her before. Kat debated whether or not that was an improvement over his other look.
But then those intelligent eyes narrowed and a smirk curled his lips. “I know. We nerds get an e-mail every morning.”
See? He always needed the last word. She propped a hand on her hip and leaned in. “Well, sounds like you have a mole. Might want to look into that.”
He opened his mouth but she cut him off. “Just looking out for you guys. Anyway, see ya around!”
Before he could shoot back a snarky comeback, Kat skirted around him and bounded down the stairs. She chalked that up as Kat 1, Alec 0.

Author bio:
MEGAN ERICKSON grew up in a family that averages 5’3” on a good day and started writing to create characters who could reach the top kitchen shelf.
She’s got a couple of tattoos, has a thing for gladiators and has been called a crazy cat lady. After working as a journalist for years, she decided she liked creating her own endings better and switched back to fiction.
She lives in Pennsylvania with her husband, two kids and two cats. And no, she still can’t reach the stupid top shelf.

Links:
Author website: http://meganerickson.org/

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...