Wednesday, May 28, 2014

Armchair BEA: Giveaway (Day 4)


Today I will be giving away a signed copy of Hexed by Michelle Krys (it will be after June 14 when I can ship it)


Open to US + Canada
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Waiting on Wednesday: Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Title: Snow Like Ashes (Snow Like Ashes #1)
Author: Sara Raasch
Pages: 432
Genre: YA/Fantasy
Publisher: HarperCollins/Balzer + Bray
Release Date: October 14, 2014 

Summary: (Goodreads) 

A heartbroken girl. A fierce warrior. A hero in the making.

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, and serving her kingdom just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.


Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Armchair BEA: Author Interaction (Day 2)



Let’s talk interacting with authors IRL (in real life) or online. This is your opportunity to talk about your favorite author readings that you have attended. Or, you can feature your favorite author fan moment (i.e., an author sent you a tweet or commented on your blog). Maybe you even want to share how your interactions have changed since becoming a blogger or share your own tips that you have learned along the way when interacting with authors as a blogger. 
~
I actually have not attended any of my favorite author reading. This is because not many authors come up to my area in Northern Canada. I have had favorite fan moments with my favorite authors like Jennifer L. Armentrout, Michelle Krys (who I know), Miranda Kenneally and many others. My interactions with them changed since I was becoming a blogger due to their awesome support in acknowledging bloggers who help them while they are writing and get input. I even call some of them my friend now. Being acknowledged in a book definitely makes me feel that I am supporting these authors novels. Thank You Jen!
I am the "Amanda from Canada" in Origin & Sentinel by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Hopefully I can maybe attend more signings in the future because I would LOVE to meet all my favorite authors in one place! My tip to other bloggers about interacting with authors would be to have fun and get to know them when you see them in person or even in emails for blog tours.

Monday, May 26, 2014

Day One: Armchair BEA- Introductions



  1. Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging? 
 My name is Amanda. I love to read almost everything. I have 3 other siblings. I am currently going to be going into have a history degree and going to the college in the fall. I have been blogging for almost 5 years now. I got into blogging by starting to post mini reviews on Chapter Indigo. My reading progressed after I read the Twilight series. I started to blog on blogger after a few months after.  I am a Canadian blogger from Thunder Bay, Ontario. The special thing about Thunder Bay is that we have great scenery and yummy food! We are a great community who all know each other, or related. Persians are one of the most popular desserts in town (like a cinnamon roll with strawberry icing) Also great history! and the Sleeping Giant!


2Describe your blog in just one sentence. Then, list your social details -- Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, etc. -- so we can connect more online

My blog is fun, loves to interact with authors to support their writing. 



Instagram

3. What genre do you read the most? I love to read because ___________________ . 

The genre I read the most is Young Adult, Romance and a bit of fiction. I love to read because its the one thing that is relaxing. I love getting to know all the authors and publishers too!

4. What was your favorite book read last year? What’s your favorite book so far this year? 

This is soo hard!! I have too many favorites but my most favorite would be Opposition by Jennifer L. Armentrout, Apollyon (Covenant #5) by JLA, How to Love by Katie Cotugno  and Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas . My favorite so far this year is between Open Road Summer by Emery Lord,  The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson, The Winners Curse by Marie Rutkoski, and Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi (see too many!!


5. What does your favorite/ideal reading space look like?

My favorite ideal place would be the library like in Beauty and the Beast 


6. Name your favorite blog(s) and explain why they are your favorite(s). 

Xpresso Reads- She has great taste in books and writes awesome reviews + she has a tour line and graphics! Definitely a favorite
Book Nerd Canada- I love visiting her blog! So wish I could meet her!

7.  If you were stranded on a deserted island, what 3 books would you bring? Why?  

I would bring ALL of Jennifer L. Armentrout's books if I could (more Half-Blood, White Hot Kiss) and Divergent because Jen is my favorite author, I would read ANY of her books because she is amazing!

8. What book would you love to see as a movie? 

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas or The Shatter Me Series!

Thursday, May 22, 2014

Blog Tour: The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes



Lainey synopsis:
Soccer star Lainey Mitchell is gearing up to spend an epic summer with her amazing boyfriend, Jason, when he suddenly breaks up with her—no reasons, no warning, and in public no less! Lainey is more than crushed, but with help from her friend Bianca, she resolves to do whatever it takes to get Jason back.

And that’s when the girls stumble across a copy of The Art of War. With just one glance, they're sure they can use the book to lure Jason back into Lainey’s arms. So Lainey channels her inner warlord, recruiting spies to gather intel and persuading her coworker Micah to pose as her new boyfriend to make Jason jealous. After a few "dates", it looks like her plan is going to work! But now her relationship with Micah is starting to feel like more than just a game.

What's a girl to do when what she wants is totally different from what she needs? How do you figure out the person you're meant to be with, if you're still figuring out the person you're meant to be?

Official bio:
Paula Stokes is half writer, half RN, and totally thrilled to be part of the world of YA literature. She grew up in St. Louis, Missouri where she graduated from Washington University and the Goldfarb School of Nursing. When she's not writing, she's kayaking, hiking, reading, or seeking out new adventures in faraway lands. Paula loves interacting with readers! Find her online at www.authorpaulastokes.com or on twitter as @pstokesbooks.


Or order a signed copy from Paula's favourite indie, Left Bank Books. More info here: ^
Music in The Art of Lainey
I’m not sure if music has actually saved my life, but I can say with certainty that it’s kept me from doing reckless and self-destructive things. When I’m anxious, angry, or sad (three emotions common to a lot of creative types, from what I’ve seen) music makes me feel better.
Musical references:
I knew that The Art of Lainey would have music in it, and my first decision was whether to use real bands. Sometimes I feel like I’m the only author who doesn’t do this, but here’s why I decided to use made-up (for the most part) musical references.

  1. These kids would not listen to the bands I’d want to name-check, and it would have been inauthentic to make them fans of 90s music just because that’s what I like.

  1. Putting real references in your book can be a bad idea for lots of reasons. What if your fave band commits some heinous crime? If you put them in your book, you’re basically endorsing them for years. Or what if they die? The fictional soccer star in The Art of Lainey started out as a fictional actor based 100% on Paul Walker. If I were the type who didn’t fictionalize references, I would have made him Paul Walker and that would have affected how people read the book. RIP, Paul. I <3 font="" you.="">

  1. Fictionalizing references is fun. I learned it from Libba Bray’s Going Bovine. (She’s a master at fictionalizing.) I like making up band names, restaurant names, etc. :-)

So I opted to fictionalize most of my band names, though if you’re a savvy listener of 90s music you might be able to figure out one or two bands I was secretly referencing. Micah does reference Black Flag at one point and possibly Social Distortion (I can’t remember if that got cut) and I was okay with that because those are classic punk bands whose reputation is basically solidified and will stand the test of time.


Musical awakenings:
What I think is cool about The Art of Lainey, is that every character likes different music. (This is really evident on the EpicReads playlist, which contains everything from The Ramones to Jason DeRulo to Taylor Swift.) Micah is into punk and metal. Jason is into rap and R&B. Bianca strikes me as a Top 40 kind of girl.
And then there’s Lainey. At the beginning of the book, music isn’t really a big deal to her. She starts out as kind of a sponge—she likes what Jason likes since they’re together a lot. Then, thanks to Micah, she’s exposed to different stuff and she has a musical awakening of sorts. Micah’s music makes her FEEL THINGS. And it freaks her out a little bit
Musical emotions:
Here’s an unstated truth from the book: when someone is doing something they love, they are at their most attractive. Lainey realizes quickly that Micah is an okay guy, but OMG when she sees him all blissed out by his music, it’s a whole different kind of awakening for her. Later Micah sees her play soccer and has a similar visceral response.

The concert scene is one of my favorite scenes, because not only is Lainey experiencing this cool mix of rock and classical for the first time, she’s also seeing Micah completely unguarded. The song Wake Up Dreaming is fictionalized, but if you’re struggling to imagine what rock music mixed with classical music sounds like, listen to Queensryche’s Real World. Yeah, I know they’re hella old and I know Geoff Tate has kind of a weird (awesome, like nine-octave) voice, but there’s a guitar/violin solo before the whole song goes crazy instrumental and I could listen to it 1000 times in a row. I would link it, but I couldn’t find a licensed youtube so check it out on Spotify or iheartradio, maybe. Peter Gabriel’s My Body is a Cage is another great mix of rock and classical.
And just in case you’re wondering how into music Micah can get, he’s probably a lot like me. And I’m typing this at 0130 while singing along to Real World and playing air violin. Seriously. And if you were here with me I would be doing the same thing because the songs that move me, own me in an “Oh crap. I’d better pull the car over so I don’t get in a wreck” kind of way. And if you think that’s crazy, if you’ve never had a song get inside of you and pump through your body with every heartbeat, and render you pretty much incapable of doing anything but surrendering to it, then your musical awakening is still ahead of you. Prepare to have your world changed forever someday.

What about you? Was there one song or band or concert that changed the way you feel about music? Tell me about a time music made you feel things and I’ll give one random commenter (INTL) a $15.00 iTunes gift card, or if you prefer, a copy of The Art of Lainey from the Book Depository. Winner to be announced at the end of the blog tour.

Check out Paula Playlist on Epic Reads!! HERE
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Waiting On Wednesday: Atlantia by Ally Condie

Title: Atlantia
Author: Ally Condie
Genre: YA
Publisher: Dutton Juvenile
Release Date: October 28, 2014 

Summary: (Goodreads)

"Can you hear Atlantia breathing?" 
For as long as she can remember, Rio has dreamt of the sand and sky Above--of life beyond her underwater city of Atlantia. But in a single moment, all her plans for the future are thwarted when her twin sister, Bay, makes an unexpected decision, stranding Rio Below. Alone, ripped away from the last person who knew Rio's true self--and the powerful siren voice she has long hidden--she has nothing left to lose. 
Guided by a dangerous and unlikely mentor, Rio formulates a plan that leads to increasingly treacherous questions about her mother's death, her own destiny, and the complex system constructed to govern the divide between land and sea. Her life and her city depend on Rio to listen to the voices of the past and to speak long-hidden truths


This sounds really interesting, plus the cover is O_O 

Saturday, May 17, 2014

The Temptation of Lila and Ethan (The Secret #3) by Jessica Sorensen

Title: The Temptation of Lila and Ethan (The Secret #3)
Author: Jessica Sorensen
Pages: 336
Publisher: Forever (Grand Central Publishing)
Genre: New Adult
Release Date: October 22, 2013

Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo

Summary: (Goodreads)

On the surface, Lila Summers is flawless: good looks, expensive clothes, and a big, beautiful smile. But a dark past and even darker secrets are threatening to bubble over her perfect fa├žade. She'll do anything to keep the emptiness inside hidden-which leads her into situations that always end badly. Whenever she hits bottom, there's only one person who's there to pull her out: Ethan Gregory.

Ethan set the rules a long time ago: he and Lila are just friends. He doesn't do relationships. Although his tattooed, bad boy exterior is a far cry from Lila's pretty princess image, Ethan can't deny they have a deeper connection than he's used to. If he's not careful, he could be in serious danger of becoming attached-and he's learned the hard way that attachment only leads to heartbreak.

When Lila falls farther than she ever has before, can Ethan continue to help as a friend? Or is he also getting close to falling . . . for her?

Review: 

Jessica Sorensen is one amazing author! I loved reading from both Lila and Ethan's point of views because its definitely a different perspective from our regular/complicated characters of Ella and Micha. The Temptation of Lila and Ethan picks up right after The Forever of Ella and Micha which really gives us a view into what is also happening between Ella and Micha and how their move went. Now on to Lila and Ethan. Their story was by far the most compassionate love story ever. From the first moment they met I know they were going to get together but this temptation and many obstacles could tear them apart or bring them together.

The story of Lila and Ethan and their relationship was perfect. Both are in some ways damaged in different ways, keep secrets and don't completely trust others. Their families, abuse, addiction and much more that you never thought this was happening when I was reading The Secret of Ella and Micha. I thought Lila is definitely a different but you saw a different side to her which is not what you would think of her. She is a very strong character and Ethan really does get her, which is why I always wanted them together. While it may be explosive and would alter their original relationship.We get a glimpse of Ethan's past as well which was interesting Jessica Sorensen writes about what really people go through and face in their life. With the many problems there is also also happiness and love blooming between Lila and Ethan. 

The romance is sweet and I liked how they were friends first, gotten to know each other and also figuring out what they want to do with the future. I loved when they fought, came together when they needed to, and the sexual tension was through the roof!! It was funny and romantic all in one book! Loved this entire book and now I want to re-read this entire series! Be sure to check out this amazing series because its addicting and a must read! 

5/5

Sunday, May 11, 2014

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Title: We Were Liars
Author: E. Lockhart
Pages: 240
Genre: YA/Suspense
Publisher: Random House Canada/Delacorte Press
Release Date: May 13, 2014
*Received to review*
Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo| B&N

Summary: (Goodreads)

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart. 

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

Review:

This book was amazing! I was instantly hooked with the story and was guessing until the end of what was happening with the plot. There was also crying involved which is very hard for me but if there is crying it was a good book that must be read by all. A friend of mine even recommended it to me (Michelle) and I saw her enthusiasm for the book so I bought it and read it practically in a day. Its a good thing I had tissues in my room so no one saw me crying like a baby. 

We Were Liars was heartbreaking, emotional, suspenseful and just written in that intense way that you will already know it will be great. Each of the characters were intense and there were so many secrets just on this one island.  I found it also cryptic and in a way can change your view in the entire novel.  Cady is our main character that comes from a wealthy family as well as there is secrets in between the ages of 15-17.  It definitely kept me intrigued with how Lockhart created these intense scenes. I don't want to give any of the plot away or spoil the book (this is why you have to read it!) 


The story maintained almost like a fairy-tale retelling with a major twist that was in the novel and really went with the story of Cady's life. I wish there was so much more to say about this book other than I loved it! I haven't read any of E. Lockhart's books before but I am definitely putting more of them on my list after reading this read. While there is greed, power and even the most important things in life family are the ones who are with you the entire time even after all the characters in this book feel like really life people. If you have not read this book yet pick it up at your bookstore immediately!! 

5/5

Thursday, May 8, 2014

Blog Tour: Royally Lost by Angie Stanton


Title: Royally Lost
Author: Angie Stanton
Publisher: Harper Collins
Publication Date: May 6, 2014
Summary: Dragged on a family trip to Europe’s ancient cities, Becca wants nothing more than to go home. Trapped with her emotionally distant father, over-eager stepmother, and a brother who only wants to hook up with European hotties, Becca is miserable. That is until she meets Nikolai, a guy as mysterious as he is handsome. And she unknowingly finds herself with a runaway prince.


Nikolai has everything a guy could ask for-he's crown prince, heir to the throne, and girls adore him. But the one thing he doesn't have...is freedom. Staging a coup, he flees his kingdom and goes undercover on his own European tour.


When Nikolai and Becca meet, it’s their differences that draw them together. Sparks fly as they share a whirlwind of adventures, all the while dodging his royal guard. But Becca's family vacation ends in a matter of days. Will Nikolai and Becca be forced to say goodbye forever, will his destiny catch up to him, or will they change history forever?


About Angie: Angie Stanton never planned on writing books; she wanted to be a Rockette. However, growing up in rural Wisconsin, with her brothers' 4-H pigs as pets, dance didn't work out. Instead she became an avid daydreamer. After years of perfecting stories in her head, she began to write them down, and the rest is history.



Angie is the author of six books including Royally LostRock and a Hard Place, and Snapshot. She graduated with a Journalism degree from the University of Wisconsin, and is a proud double finalist of the National Readers Choice Awards for Love 'em or Leave 'em.




Twitter: angie_stanton



Giveaway

Tuesday, May 6, 2014

The Warrior (Dante Walker #3) by Victoria Scott (Blog Tour)

About the Book
Title: THE WARRIOR
Author: Victoria Scott
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Pages: 352
Pub. Date: May 6, 2014


Dante’s girlfriend, Charlie, is fated to save the world. And Aspen, the girl who feels like a sister, is an ordained soldier. In order to help both fulfill their destiny and win the war, Dante must complete liberator training at the Hive, rescue Aspen from hell, and uncover a message hidden on an ancient scroll.

Dante is built for battle, but even he can’t handle the nightmares where spiders crawl from Aspen’s eyes, or the look on Charlie’s face that foretells of devastation. To make matters worse, the enemy seizes every opportunity to break inside the Hive and cripple the liberators. But the day of reckoning is fast approaching, and to stand victorious, Dante will have to embrace something inside himself he never has before—faith.

About Victoria:
Victoria Scott is a teen fiction writer represented by Sara Crowe of the Harvey-Klinger Literary Agency. She’s the author of the FIRE & FLOOD series published by Scholastic, and the DANTE WALKER trilogy published by Entangled Teen. Her books have been bought and translated in eleven foreign markets including the UK, Turkey, China, Poland, Israel, Germany, Australia, Brazil, Taiwan, New Zealand, and the Netherlands.

Victoria lives in Dallas with her husband and hearts cotton candy something fierce.

Review

I am so sad that the Dante Walker series is over!! He has been my favorite bad boy since Daemon Black. Victoria Scott finished off this series wishing that it would never end. If you did not think the series could get better watch out because it was amazing!! There were many feels and swoons that make me want to re-read the book.  Charlie, Aspen, and the whole gang are back in this action-packed book that I could not put down. 

After reading the book and watching the series grow, it was great to see that Dante is still the same but is learning from his past. He has a better understanding of his life and see glimpses of what his life would have been if he was still human. Victoria Scott writes Dante so hilarious that I want to just to have one of him! Her wittiness and laughter is what makes the book worth reading. He is bad when he wants to be which is natural Dante. He is more vulnerable and you get to sympathize with his character of where he gets his insecurities from. 

I was very happy with the entire book from start to finish, even the ultimate final battle of good vs. evil but it was perfect! It lead up to the preparation, relationships, traitors and more book that it will keep you guessing What Will Happen Next! Dante's point of view was all 100% Dante Walker. Charlie definitely does shine in this book more ways than one because we didn't get to see her lots in The Liberator, but she influences Dante in a good way. 

Overall it was a great read, I will re-read this series since it is one of my favorite series and the characters are just amazing! Victoria did an amazing job with supporting characters and much more. It was a great ending to this series and I look forward to reading MANY more books by Victoria. I love Dante Walker!!


5/5

Giveaway Details:
- 1 US winner to receive -
Signed copy of The Collector
Signed copy of The Liberator
Signed copy of The Warrior

Rafflecopter Code:

Rafflecopter link:

Tour Schedule

Week One:
4/28/2014- Library of a Book WitchReview
4/29/2014- Fantasy Book AddictExcerpt
4/30/2014- Meredith & Jennifer's MusingReview
5/1/2014- Fictitious DeliciousReview
5/2/2014- A Dream Within A DreamReview

Week Two:
5/5/2014- Jenna Does BooksReview
5/6/2014- Stuck In YA BooksReview
5/7/2014- K-Books- Review
5/8/2014- Jenuine CupcakesReview

5/9/2014- FiktshunExcerpt
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...