Thursday, August 28, 2014

Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3) by Sarah J. Maas

Title: Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Pages: 565
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA/ RazorbillCA
Release Date: September 2, 2014

Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo| B&N

Summary (Goodreads)

Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan’s Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King’s Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan’s biggest threat – and his own toughest enemy. 

While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love?


Review: 

Sarah J. Maas is the Queen of YA Fantasy with her amazing series, Throne of Glass. Here I thought the Crown of Midnight was the best, but here comes Heir of Fire which blew it away!! It picks up a few months after Celaena leaves after the death of her dear friend. If you haven't read this series, read it right away! It's definitely addicting. Sarah's world building is so detailed and rich that its one of the reasons it took me a while to finish.

After waiting a year for Heir of Fire after that amazing ending of Crown of Midnight. There were so many feels throughout the book and while it was a little slow in the beginning it would begin to go so fast that I did not realize I was almost done the book. Celaena's situation definitely get more complicated but it is understandable with her past. It got darker, but with Celaena's past coming back to haunt her as well as to help with the future and promise to Nehemia. Loved seeing Chaol (since I am rooting for him still (while now pining for Rowan) 

Maas definitely upped the magic for sure! There was surprises, new characters and more of her past that is revealed. Celaena is definitely one of my favorite characters because she also learns that she has magic. So she goes to her fey aunt, but there is a catch, she must train with Rowan to help with her magic. Rowan is very hot, smart and a warrior. He is the perfect to help train Celaena because they are very alike when they have a dream. Secrets of his pasts are also revealed but you will understand why he did them. 

Back at the Glass palace, Chaol and Dorian are dealing with the King of Adarlan, figuring out his plans. Chaol is looking into why magic disappeared from the kingdom and who he trusts. He deals with his last few days with Celaena from Crown of Midnight. His friendship with Dorian has been strained. Dorian, I felt was more left out in the beginning but he begins a new relationship with his own powers and who he trusts. Heir of Fire will make you want to read the next book (hopefully soon). Manon is a character who is feisty and her point of view gives insight of what is happening on both fronts of the book. She is an evil character but her history is interesting. I can see her playing a major role in the next book. 


I loved Heir of Fire soo much that I am so excited for the next book! Need it right now especially after that ending! This installment of this amazing series will not disappoint you since Maas knows how to hook you into her books! It is the perfect fantasy for people who love strong heroines. Read this series, you will not be disappointed! 


5/5

Thursday, August 21, 2014

The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey Giveaway!!!

The riveting follow-up to the New York Times bestselling The 5th Wave, hailed by Justin Cronin as “wildly entertaining.”

How do you rid the Earth of seven billion humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.

Surviving the first four waves was nearly impossible. Now Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a new world, a world in which the fundamental trust that binds us together is gone. As the 5th Wave rolls across the landscape, Cassie, Ben, and Ringer are forced to confront the Others’ ultimate goal: the extermination of the human race.

Cassie and her friends haven’t seen the depths to which the Others will sink, nor have the Others seen the heights to which humanity will rise, in the ultimate battle between life and death, hope and despair, love and hate

OUT SEPTEMBER 16, 2014

TThe 5th Wave Trailer:


SNEAK AT THE INFINITE SEA

  
  J
Answers theses 3 Questions in the Rafflecoper form!

What 3 books would you want to bring in the event of an apocalypse?
· What 5 items would you like to have in the event of an apocalypse?
· What is your favorite quote from THE 5TH WAVE?
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Title: Red Queen 
Author: Victoria Aveyard 
Pages: 320
Genre: Fantasy/YA
Publisher: HarperCollins/ HarperTeen 
Release Date: February 10, 2015

Summary: (Goodreads) 

Mare Barrow's world is divided by blood—those with red and those with silver. Mare and her family are lowly Reds, destined to serve the Silver elite whose supernatural abilities make them nearly gods. Mare steals what she can to help her family survive, but when her best friend is conscripted into the army she gambles everything to win his freedom. A twist of fate leads her to the royal palace itself, where, in front of the king and all his nobles, she discovers a power of her own—an ability she didn't know she had. Except . . . her blood is Red.

To hide this impossibility, the king forces her into the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks her new position to aid the Scarlet Guard—the leaders of a Red rebellion. Her actions put into motion a deadly and violent dance, pitting prince against prince—and Mare against her own heart.

From debut author Victoria Aveyard comes a lush, vivid fantasy series where loyalty and desire can tear you apart and the only certainty is betrayal.

I KNOW I REALLY WANT TO READ THIS!!! *good thing I have an ARC of it (Thanks Edelweiss)*


Saturday, August 16, 2014

Opposition (Lux #5) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Opposition (Lux #5)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 500
Genre: YA/Sci-Fi
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Release Date: August 5, 2014
Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo| B&N| Book Depo

Summary: (Goodreads)

Katy knows the world changed the night the Luxen came.

She can't believe Daemon welcomed his race or stood by as his kind threatened to obliterate every last human and hybrid on Earth. But the lines between good and bad have blurred, and love has become an emotion that could destroy her—could destroy them all.

Daemon will do anything to save those he loves, even if it means betrayal.

They must team with an unlikely enemy if there is any chance of surviving the invasion. But when it quickly becomes impossible to tell friend from foe, and the world is crumbling around them, they may lose everything— even what they cherish most—to ensure the survival of their friends…and mankind.

War has come to Earth. And no matter the outcome, the future will never be the same for those left standing.


Review:

What a perfect end to one of my favorite series by my favorite author. It was amazing as always, and I was instantly hooked! While I am sad that the series is over, it will always be one of my favorites. I was either laughing and crying, hoping it would never end. From the day Obsidian came out to today when the series finished it will be forever memorable at how much one author can get you addicted to her novels. Its sad to say goodbye to these characters, but it has been an awesome to get to know them. As always JLA has a great sense of humor when she writes! There was action, suspense and so much drama! It was very hard to put this book down (know I am since I am a huge fan of her books).

Katy at the beginning of the series was strong, lovable, who has all warmed into our hearts as a lot of us who can relate to her (except that she has Daemon) She has certainly grown stronger, and will do anything to be with Daemon despite being tied with him but love does that. My heart was literally pounding throughout some scenes because you never know what will happen between Katy and Daemon! It certainly was a roller coaster of emotions about why the Luxen have come to earth. It was great to see Luc, Archer, Dee, Dawson and Beth.

My love fore Daemon will never end because he is still funny, arrogant and charming because in Opposition you get to see the love he has for Katy is never ending and he learns the truth about his race that can change his opinion of his life. Their relationship is stronger than ever! It was emotional and perfect as they still have that same conversations from the first book (the humor). The romance was HOT too! JLA knows how to balance it with romance and action that you get happy thoughts thinking about it. I just love Daemon and Katy throughout the entire book!

Overall, this book was AMAZING, the ending was perfect. I am sad that it is over but it will still continue because I will always re-read her books. Thank you Jen for creating this series because now many people are now hooked to your amazing books!! Looking forward to many more books by you! *already having a JLA withdrawal!* This is definitely one series you need to read!!

5/5

Thursday, August 14, 2014

How Do You Know What Book To Read Next?


After finishing a book at 3am, trying to figure out what to read next is the hardest thing to do. This is because there are so many books coming out or on your TBR list. Bloggers always have to make a hard decision of what will our next book be? Is it based on blog tours? Reviewing? or just for fun? 

When I choose what to read next, I mostly look at what genre I am interested at the moment. Between Paranormal, Sci-Fi, Contemporary, Dystopian and many more in the Teen area, fiction and even the romance sections at your local bookstore. I suggest making a wishlist. Wishlists are the best because you can also see if your store has that one book you are waiting for. Its a good thing Chapters Indigo has an App for my phone because I would be lost without it. Back to what I would read next after reading a contemporary which would probably be a romance or a paranormal book to balance out the genres and keeps your readers interested in what you recommend. 

I do suggest.... How to Love and The Secret of Ella and Micha. If you like contemporary and romance these two are perfect to read back to back if you are in a good mood to read about teens experiencing different things happening in their life.

Some of my favorite Paranormal or Sci-fi would even go together! For example any of Jennifer L. Armentrout's books since she has many genre's to choose from. She writes NA, romance, Teen and even paranormal. Sarah J. Maas is a great fantasy writer and both of these authors are great at hooking you in to their stories of great lead characters. 

In my opinion I would choose what book you most want to read and enjoy it! Its more fun to write about too! If you are on a deadline for reviewing the title, be sure to plan it ahead of time or write down the day you are to feature that book. 

What books would you recommend?

Check out what I recommend!! http://lovesbooksreviews.blogspot.com/p/recommendations-staff-picks.html






Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Waiting On Wednesday: Stay with Me (Wait for You #3) by J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout)

Title: Stay with Me (Wait For You #3)
Author: J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout)
Pages: 336
Genre: NA
Publisher: William Morrow/HarperCollins Canada
Release Date: September 23, 2014

Summary: (Goodreads)

At 21, Calla hasn’t done a lot of things. She’s never been kissed, never seen the ocean, never gone to an amusement park. But growing up, she witnessed some things no child ever should. She still carries the physical and emotional scars of living with a strung-out mother, Mona—secrets she keeps from everyone, including her close circle of college friends.

But the safe cocoon Calla has carefully built is shattered when she discovers her mom has stolen her college money and run up a huge credit card debt in her name. Now, Calla has to go back to the small town she thought she'd left behind and clean up her mom’s mess again. Of course, when she arrives at her mother’s bar, Mona is nowhere to be found. Instead, six feet of hotness named Jackson James is pouring drinks and keeping the place humming.

Sexy and intense, Jax is in Calla’s business from the moment they meet, giving her a job and helping her search for Mona. And the way he looks at her makes it clear he wants to get horizontal . . . and maybe something more. Before Calla can let him get close, though, she’s got to deal with the pain of the past—and some very bad guys out to mess her up if she doesn’t give them her mom.


Tuesday, August 12, 2014

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Title: Ugly Love
Author: Colleen Hoover
Pages: 336
Genre: New Adult/Fiction
Publisher: Atria Books/Simon Schuster Canada
Release Date: August 5, 2014
Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo| B&N| SimonSchusterCA

Summary: (Goodreads)


When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she doesn't think it's love at first sight. They wouldn't even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn't want love, she doesn't have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past. 
Don't expect a future.
  They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can't handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated. 
Promises get broken. 
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.




Review: 

I devoured this book is one day! Started last night and stayed up till 3am then finished it up this morning. I think this is another favorite added to my list because Colleen Hoover is a beautiful writer that will guarantee to make you cry (which I did through most of it). I loved the story of Tate and Miles. This book is definitely one to pick up! From beginning to end I knew that it would most likely bring me to tears since Colleen Hoover is good at playing with emotions. This is definitely different than anything she has written.  Her stories are definitely powerful at the ways she makes the connections with her characters.

Ugly Love was HOT, Heart-Wrentching and it was unique. It is not like any other story I have read and after I finished reading, I just wanted to re-read it. From the beginning I fell in love with the story and connected with it. The plot was very steady and its was easy to breeze through since it was addicting and made me not want to go to bed it was definitely an emotional rollercoaster. 


When we first meet Tate, she just arrives to move in with her brother to start school and get her masters degree, when she meets airline pilot Miles Archer (LOVE HIM) as he is passed out near her brothers apartment. She then learns a different side of him by the way he shows his pain and sadness. While she isn't looking for a serious relationship and Miles wants nothing to do with love, they do  have a strong attraction that is too hot to handle. They are drawn together to form a friends with benefits situation following Miles' two rules and keep distance between them. It became more complicated between their friendship and love began to seep in. Tate's flashbacks brought on what happened to him and in the present got to see him fall in love, but the pain of the past still haunts him and he forces himself that he does not deserve to love again. 


I really liked Miles as a character because he is smart, sexy, and a mystery that Tate has to put the puzzle pieces together. From his pain and not wanting to move on but he was struggling with his attachment to Tate. It felt read and I just feel like hugging him throughout the book, especially his point of view. It was told from both Miles and Tate's POVs  from the beginning of Tate to Mile's flashbacks six years earlier. It felt like two different stories and it joined near the end perfectly, while we got to see Mile's grow and his behaviour reflects both his past and future. 

While the author does not writes pages and pages of sex, her sex scenes and words keep the reader keep reading. The bold letters are very important during these scenes. It was also very steamy that were very consistent and the entire scenes were very intimate as well. (18+ for these scenes) It does reflect their complex love story. 

There was painful scenes and ugly times during their relationship but love is what brings people together and to heal. It was emotional and I still feel happy and satisfied with the entire book. Overall this has to be one of the best books Colleen Hoover has written since I was so immersed into the story and Ugly Love really lives up to its name. I totally wish I could give it more stars because it deserves it! The story is powerful and breathtaking.  Thank you Colleen Hoover for this amazing book and the words were beautiful + Lyrical! It will make you feel what they are feeling. It was a very emotional journey of this love story. Super excited to read the next book book!! *Hugs book*

5/5

Thursday, August 7, 2014

Upside Down (Off the Map #1) by Lia Riley Blog Tour

UPSIDE DOWN by Lia Riley (August 5, 2014; Forever E-Book; $3.99)
If You Never Get Lost, You'll Never Be FoundNatalia Stolfi is saying good-bye to the past-and turning her life upside down with a trip to Australia. Everything is going to plan until she meets a brooding surfer with hypnotic green eyes.

Bran Lockhart is having the worst year on record. Yet no amount of disappointment could blind him to the pretty California girl who gets past all his defenses. He's never wanted anyone the way he wants Talia. But when Bran gets a stark reminder of why he stopped believing in love, he and Talia must decide if what they have is once in a lifetime . . . of if they were meant to live a world apart.



Buy Links:

About the author: 
After studying at the University of Montana-Missoula, LIA RILEY scoured the world armed only with a backpack, overconfidence and a terrible sense of direction. When not torturing heroes (because c'mon, who doesn't love a good tortured hero?), Lia herds unruly chickens, camps, beach combs, daydreams about as-of-yet unwritten books, wades through a mile-high TBR pile and schemes yet another trip. She and her family live mostly in Northern California.

Social Media Links: Website |Facebook  | Twitter |Tumblr |Goodreads 

Review: 

I really liked this book! It had the perfect balance of love, romance and even a lot of issues that in New Adults face. The Australian setting made it feel like I was there. I did not put this book down at all, it was addicting and the characters were really well developed. The pace of the novel was good and lots of drama between Bran and Talia. Each of their pasts are the things that bring them together but Lia did a great job with them. 

Talia (Love her name) has suffered the terrible loss of losing her sister and her mother leaving the country. She tries to create a Talia 2.0 and try to be normal. You can see that it is very hard to keep this hiding from anybody since her vulnerability and mask are easy to see past of. She is very kind and wants to move on from her past without the guilt of what happened back home. 

Bran Lockhart is facing similar things that Talia is faced with but he is more closed off until the end. In the beginning doubts were crossing my mind if he was serious with trying to tell the truth. He did make some bad decisions and likes to live in the past, but he is a very likable character, and I am excited to see where it will lead him next. 

I loved how Talia and Bran met because it was in a way funny that he was in a costume. It is a complicated relationship but with Bran's past coming he kind of put Talia elsewhere in the back of his mind. They do have a strong connection which is easy to see. Overall it was a great novel and I am excited to see what Lia Riley will do in the next book! 

4/5

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Opposition by Jennifer L. Armentrout - Release Day Launch

Opposition RDL Banner  

We are ridiculously excited to bring you the Release Day Launch for Jennifer L. Armentrout's OPPOSITION! OPPOSITION is a young adult Paranormal Romance being published by Entangled Teen and the fifth book in her LUX Series!

  Opposition Cover

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iTunes | IndieBound | Others via Entangled

About OPPOSITION: Katy knows the world changed the night the Luxen came. She can't believe Daemon welcomed his race or stood by as his kind threatened to obliterate every last human and hybrid on Earth. But the lines between good and bad have blurred, and love has become an emotion that could destroy her—could destroy them all. Daemon will do anything to save those he loves, even if it means betrayal. They must team with an unlikely enemy if there is any chance of surviving the invasion. But when it quickly becomes impossible to tell friend from foe, and the world is crumbling around them, they may lose everything— even what they cherish most—to ensure the survival of their friends…and mankind. War has come to Earth. And no matter the outcome, the future will never be the same for those left standing. EXCERPT: Katy I still stared at Daemon, completely aware that everyone else except him was watching me. Closely. But why wouldn’t he look at me? A razor-sharp panic clawed at my insides. No. Thiscouldn’t be happening. No way.My body was moving before I even knew what I was doing. From the corner of my eye, I saw Dee shake her head and one of the Luxen males step forward, but I was propelled by an inherent need to prove that my worst fears were not coming true. After all, he’d healed me, but then I thought of what Dee had said, of how Dee had behaved with me. What if Daemon was like her? Turned into something so foreign and cold? He would’ve healed me just to make sure he was okay. I still didn’t stop.
 Please, I thought over and over again. Please. Please. Please. On shaky legs, I crossed the long room, and even thoughDaemon hadn’t seemed to even acknowledge my existence, I walked right up to him, my hands trembling as I placed them on his chest. “Daemon?” I whispered, voice thick. His head whipped around, and he was suddenly staring down at me. Our gazes collided once more, and for a second I saw something so raw, so painful in those beautiful eyes. And then his large hands wrapped around my upper arms. The contact seared through the shirt I wore, branding my skin, and I thought—I expected—that he would pull me against him, that he would embrace me, and even though nothing would be all right, it would be better. Daemon’s hands spasmed around my arms, and I sucked in an unsteady breath. His eyes flashed an intense green as he physically lifted me away from him, setting me back down a good foot back. I stared at him, something deep in my chest cracking. “Daemon?” He said nothing as he let go, one finger at a time, it seemed, and his hands slid off my arms. He stepped back, returning his attention to the man behind the desk. “So . . . awkward,” murmured the redhead, smirking. I was rooted to the spot in which I stood, the sting of rejection burning through my skin, shredding my insides like I was nothing more than papier-mâché. “I think someone was expecting more of a reunion,” the Luxen male behind the desk said, his voice ringing with amusement. “What do you think, Daemon?” One shoulder rose in a negligent shrug. “I don’t think anything.” My mouth opened, but there were no words. His voice, his tone, wasn’t like his sister’s, but like it had been when we first met. He used to speak to me with barely leashed annoyance, where a thin veil of tolerance dripped from every word.The rift in my chest deepened.
For the hundredth time since the Luxen arrived, SergeantDasher’s warning came back to me. What side would Daemon and his family stand on? A shudder worked its way down my spine. I wrapped my arms around myself, unable to truly process what had just happened. “And you?” the man asked. When no one answered, he tried again. “Katy?” I was forced to look at him, and I wanted to shrink back from his stare. “What?” I was beyond caring that my voice broke on that one word. The man smiled as he walked around the desk. My gaze flickered over to Daemon as he shifted, drawing the attention of the beautiful redhead. “Were you expecting a more personal greeting?” he asked. “Perhaps something more intimate?” I had no idea how to answer. I felt like I’d fallen into the rabbit hole, and warnings were firing off left and right. Something primal inside me recognized that I was surrounded by predators. Don't miss the books that started it all... LUX Special edition cover  

LUX: BEGINNINGS...

&

LUX: CONSEQUENCES...

  Author PhotoAbout Jennifer L. Armentrout: # 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki. Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV. She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.

Website ** Twitter ** Facebook ** Author Goodreads ** OPPOSITION on Goodreads

LUX Giveaway
We will be giving away a Lux Series Basket with Lux themed jewelry, a signed set of the Lux Series and a $50 gift card to a retailer of the winner’s choice (Amazon, Barnes&Noble, or Indiebound).
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...