Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Mortal Heart (His Fair Assassin #3) by Robin LaFevers

Title: Mortal Heart (His Fair Assassin #3) 
Author: Robin LaFevers 
Pages: 444
Genre: YA
Publisher: HMH Young Readers/Thomas Allen Ltd 
Release Date: November 4, 2014
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo| B&N
*ARC was provided by the publisher for honest review*

Summary (Goodreads)
Annith has watched her gifted sisters at the convent come and go, carrying out their dark dealings in the name of St. Mortain, patiently awaiting her own turn to serve Death. But her worst fears are realized when she discovers she is being groomed by the abbess as a Seeress, to be forever sequestered in the rock and stone womb of the convent. Feeling sorely betrayed, Annith decides to strike out on her own.

She has spent her whole life training to be an assassin. Just because the convent has changed its mind doesn't mean she has...


Review: 


Mortal Heart is the last book in the His Fair Assassin series which has now become one of my favorites because this book was phenomenal! It was written beautifully with the mix of historial fiction, romance, action and suspense! Each book in the series has been a great read that gets you hooked instantly which I really liked! If you haven't started this series yet I recommend you get the books immediately!

Annith is the strongest trained at St. Mortain, but she is quiet and timid. Her abilities are based on how she was taught which is totally opposite of LaFevers past books in the series when Ismae and Sybella were born with their gifts from Mortian. Annith is still waiting for her gifts to be shown to her. She is also been serving longer at the Covenant for long than the other girls and a very skilled assassin. Annith is obedient, but there is rebellion laced into her heart as she determines the truth about the abbess' schemes. 

The romance in the book was unexpected as we get to see a new male love interest be presented in the story. Balthazaar is one amazing character who is dangerous and edgy!  It is very interesting how it was resolved with the romance, because it left you in so much suspense! Overall the romance was breathtaking! 


The ending of the series was perfect! I am looking forward to many more of Robin LaFevers books because of the writing and how well it flowed in the story.  It is very rich in historical detail with that a paranormal edge that it is irresistible. Get this entire series today because after reading it I want to read them all now all over again! 

5/5

Waiting on Wednesday: Wicked (A Wicked Saga #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Wicked (A Wicked Saga #1)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout 
Pages: 300
Genre: New Adult Paranormal 
Release Date: December 8, 2014

Summary (Goodreads

Things are about to get Wicked in New Orleans.

Twenty-two year old Ivy Morgan isn’t your average college student. She, and others like her, know humans aren’t the only thing trolling the French Quarter for fun… and for food. Her duty to the Order is her life. After all, four years ago, she lost everything at the hands of the creatures she’d sworn to hunt, tearing her world and her heart apart.

Ren Owens is the last person Ivy expected to enter her rigidly controlled life. He’s six feet and three inches of temptation and swoon-inducing charm. With forest-green eyes and a smile that’s surely left a stream of broken hearts in its wake, he has an uncanny, almost unnatural ability to make her yearn for everything he has to offer. But letting him in is as dangerous as hunting the cold-blooded killers stalking the streets. Losing the boy she loved once before had nearly destroyed her, but the sparking tension that grows between them becomes impossible for Ivy to deny. Deep down, she wants… she needs more than what her duty demands of her, what her past has shaped for her.

But as Ivy grows closer to Ren, she realizes she’s not the only one carrying secrets that could shatter the frail bond between them. There’s something he’s not telling her, and one thing is for certain. She’s no longer sure what is more dangerous to her—the ancient beings threatening to take over the town or the man demanding to lay claim to her heart and her soul.

I cannot wait to read Jen's new book in 2 weeks!! She is my favorite author because of her amazing series. I have read all of her books so I am very excited to what is going to happen in this book!

Sunday, November 23, 2014

Most Anticipated Books of 2015 Soo Far!! (Part One)

As a blogger we get the opportunity to read advanced copies of many books from many publishers that allow us to read for review purposes. Author's are great to work with because as we get to know them they become our friends. There are so many 2015 books coming out in upcoming months that I had to put up some of my most anticipating books! *Note- There are so many more that I would love to add to this list!* This list from--> Goodreads

1.  The Heart of Betrayal (The Remnant Chronicles #2) by Mary E. Pearson 

I absolutely need this sequel immediately! The first book was definitely one of my favorite books of this year and I look forward to where Pearson will take the series! 


2. Confess by Colleen Hoover

I can read any of Colleen Hoover's books and be in a book hangover. All her books feel real and you can connect with her characters so easily. Great New Adult writer! I will read anything that she put out!

3. The Winner's Crime (The Winner's Trilogy #2) 
To be honest, I have already read this book since I had to know what happens! Marie Rutkoski is one author to look out for because this series is plain amazing! I want the third book right now since The Winner's Crime was even better than the first book! Even the covers are super pretty! Everyone who has read the first book will not be disappointed! Be sure to look out for my review in upcoming months!

4.  A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas/ Book 4  of Throne of Glass
As many of your know I am a huge fan of Sarah J. Maas' books, so I had to group both of her series together since I want to read them both. This new series sounds amazing! The cover definitely makes you more interested in the book! Plus who doesn't love a fairy tale retelling with faerie lore! Secondly, I need book 4 in the Throne of Glass series right now (Heir of Fire put me in a book hangover!)

5. Things We Know by Heart by Jessi Kirby 
Read any of Jessi Kirby's books and you will feel a tug in your heart right after you read her books! If you are a big fan of Morgan Matson you will love her books as well since they are great YA contemporary novels! This sounds like my kinda read on a good sunny day! *Golden is my favorite book*

6.  The Girl at Midnight (The Girl at Midnight #1) by Melissa Grey 
This one sounds awesome!! The cover is very pretty and gets your attention to all the details. Can it be 2015 yet? Looks like a very addicting read that many will probably adore! I will probably pre-order this closer to release day!

Which books are you excited for next year?

Friday, November 21, 2014

Caged in Winter (Caged in Winter #1) by Brighton Walsh

Title: Caged in Winter (Caged in Winter #1)
Author: Brighton Walsh
Pages: 304
Genre: New Adult
Publisher: Berkley Books
Release Date: November 4, 2014
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo| B&N

*Thank you Berkley for a review copy*

Summary: (Goodreads)

In this emotional and sexy New Adult debut from Brighton Walsh, the only thing more frightening than commitment is hope…...
 
Aspiring chef Cade Maxwell is immediately, viscerally attracted to Winter Jacobson. But it’s not her mouthwatering curves he’s drawn to—it’s the strange emptiness in her eyes. When Cade saves her from a drunken customer with grabby hands, he’s shocked at her response…...
 
Winter doesn’t need Cade’s help. After a lifetime of getting by on her own, she’s happy to rely on herself. She’s exactly seventy-six days away from graduating college, and if she can hold it together that long, she’ll finally be able to rise above the crappy hand she was dealt.
 
But now, every time she turns around, Cade is there, ready to push her, smile at her, distract her from her plans. Winter knows she can’t afford to open up—especially to a man she’s terrified to actually want….


Review:

I am in love with this book!! It was sexy, captivating and brilliant. Brighton Walsh is definitely an author to add to your to be read lists because it was breathtaking of how connected you feel with her characters. Caged in Winter has been one of my favorites for sure this year in the New Adult books. I could not put it down since I had to try not to read it during school. It was a rollercoaster of emotions!

It is told from both Cade and Winter, both who are in college carrying a lot on their plate. Winter has been alone from the day she could remember. She is very focused on school and hates working as a waitress at a bar just to make by. Cade is an aspiring chef whose goal is to travel the world and open his own restaurant, but life sometimes gets in the ways of your goals when he has a sister and niece to look after. These characters were real and issues are relate-able. Both are very driven and hardworking that you would be looking forward to seeing how they will meet and their connection comes alive with the power of the story.

This book is definitely a book to pick up because it is different than any of the other New Adult books that I have read lately. Brighton Walsh is a author to look out for because it felt real, and the writing was beautiful how it just flowed. I felt like I devoured it too quickly. Cade and Winter's story is memorable and consuming that by the end you want the next book (especially after that preview!!) + Cade is a hot chef that will melt your heart!! Get this book!

5/5

Friday, November 14, 2014

Cover Reveal: Becoming Rain (Burying Water #2) by K.A. Tucker

We are so stoked about this cover reveal for K.A. Tucker's BECOMING RAIN! BECOMING RAIN is a New Adult Romantic Suspense novel, and the second novel in K.A. Tucker’s Burying Water Series, published by Atria Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster. BECOMING RAIN is set to be released March 3, 2015!

Becoming Rain
 

US BUY LINKS:

Amazon ** Barnes & Noble ** Books-a-Million ** IndieBound ** Apple ** Blio ** Books-a-Million ** Google

UK BUY LINKS

Amazon ** Barnes & Noble ** Apple ** Google ** Waterstones ** Foyles

  About BECOMING RAIN: Luke Boone doesn't know exactly what his uncle Rust is involved in but he wants in on it-the cars, the money, the women. And it looks like he's finally getting his wish. When Rust hands him the managerial keys to the garage, they come with a second set-one that opens up the door to tons of cash and opportunity. Though it's not exactly legal, Luke's never been one to worry about that sort of thing. Especially when it puts him behind the wheel of a Porsche 911 and onto the radar of gorgeous socialite named Rain. Clara Bertelli is at the top of her game-at only twenty-six years old, she's one of the most successful undercover officers in the Washington D.C. major crime unit, and she's just been handed a case that could catapult her career and expose one of the west coast's most notorious car theft rings. But, in order to do it, she'll need to go deep undercover as Rain Martines. Her target? The twenty-four-year old nephew of a key player who appears ready to follow in his uncle's footsteps. As Clara drifts deeper into the luxurious lifestyle of Rain, and further into the arms of her very attractive and charming target, the lines between right and wrong start to blur, making her wonder if she'll be able to leave it all behind. Or if she'll even want to.  

And don't miss the first book in this thrilling series BURYING WATER...

Burying Water

Amazon ** Barnes & Noble ** iBooks ** Kobo ** IndieBound

About BURYING WATER: The top-selling, beloved indie author of Ten Tiny Breaths returns with a new romance about a young woman who loses her memory—and the man who knows that the only way to protect her is to stay away. Left for dead in the fields of rural Oregon, a young woman defies all odds and survives—but she awakens with no idea who she is, or what happened to her. Refusing to answer to “Jane Doe” for another day, the woman renames herself “Water” for the tiny, hidden marking on her body—the only clue to her past. Taken in by old Ginny Fitzgerald, a crotchety but kind lady living on a nearby horse farm, Water slowly begins building a new life. But as she attempts to piece together the fleeting slivers of her memory, more questions emerge: Who is the next-door neighbor, quietly toiling under the hood of his Barracuda? Why won’t Ginny let him step foot on her property? And why does Water feel she recognizes him? Twenty-four-year-old Jesse Welles doesn’t know how long it will be before Water gets her memory back. For her sake, Jesse hopes the answer is never. He knows that she’ll stay so much safer—and happier—that way. And that’s why, as hard as it is, he needs to keep his distance. Because getting too close could flood her with realities better left buried. The trouble is, water always seems to find its way to the surface.  

Author Photo


About K.A. Tucker: Born in small-town Ontario, Kathleen published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader and the farthest thing from a genre-snob, loving everything from High Fantasy to Chick Lit. Kathleen currently resides in a quaint small town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.        


Website ** Twitter ** Facebook ** Novel Goodreads ** Author Goodreads ** YouTube ** Pinterest ** Instagram

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall

Title: The Conspiracy of Us 
Author: Maggie Hall 
Pages: 336
Genre: YA
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile/ Razorbill 
Release Date: January 13, 2015  

Summary: (Goodreads

To fight her destiny as the missing heir to a powerful and dangerous secret society, sixteen-year-old Avery West must solve an ancient puzzle in a deadly race across Europe. Forbidden love and code-breaking, masked balls and explosions, destiny and dark secrets collide in this romantic thriller, in the vein of a YA DaVinci Code.

Avery West's newfound family can shut down Prada at the Champs-Elysees when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. 

They are part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle of Twelve, and Avery is their missing heir. If they discover who she is, some of them will want to use her as a pawn. Some will want her dead. 

To thwart their plans, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the landmarks of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul and through a web of ancient legends and lies. And unless she can stay one step ahead of beautiful, volatile Stellan, who knows she’s more than she seems, and can decide whether to trust mysterious, magnetic Jack, she may be doomed after all.


Tuesday, November 4, 2014

Blog Tour: Spotlight + Giveaway- Caged in Winter by Brighton Walsh


CAGED IN WINTER by Brighton Walsh
Blog tour from 11/1 – 11/12!
·         Book Blurb:

In this emotional and sexy New Adult debut from Brighton Walsh, the only thing more frightening than commitment is hope…

Aspiring chef Cade Maxwell is immediately, viscerally attracted to Winter Jacobson. But it’s not her mouthwatering curves he’s drawn to—it’s the strange emptiness in her eyes. When Cade saves her from a drunken customer with grabby hands, he’s shocked at her response…

Winter doesn’t need Cade’s help. After a lifetime of getting by on her own, she’s happy to rely on herself. She’s exactly seventy-six days away from graduating college, and if she can hold it together that long, she’ll finally be able to rise above the crappy hand she was dealt.

But now, every time she turns around, Cade is there, ready to push her, smile at her, distract her from her plans. Winter knows she can’t afford to open up—especially to a man she’s terrified to actually want…

               Author Bio:

Brighton Walsh spent nearly a decade as a professional photographer before deciding to take her storytelling in a different direction and reconnect with writing. She lives in the Midwest with her husband and two children.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

CAGED IN WINTER – Excerpt

I bend my knees so we’re eye level and tug on her hand until she meets my gaze. “I don’t know what we could have. It might be nothing. But I’ll be honest . . . I haven’t felt like this in a long time, and that’s enough for me to know I want to see where it goes. Can’t we just see where it goes?”
With a deep sigh, she says, “I’m not right for you, Cade.”
“How about you worry about if I’m right for you. Let me decide the other.”
And then before she can stop me, before she can utter another word of opposition, I slide my hand up her arm, over her shoulder, until it’s wrapped around her neck. With my other hand, I swipe a piece of hair back with my fingers, and then lean in, brushing my lips against hers. After only a moment, I pull back just enough for her to be able to tell me to stop. When nothing comes, I close the distance between us once again, taking her bottom lip in between mine. I brush my tongue against it, coaxing her mouth open, and she breathes this sexy little gasp as I slip inside. She tastes like cookies and wine, and I want to fucking devour her.
She grips my shirt with both hands, clutching me to her, and I stop holding back and press every inch of my body against hers, groaning as my cock presses fully against her. The moment a whimper comes from her, I know she feels it. And I can’t muster up any embarrassment, because I want her to feel it. Even with all her brass balls and fuck-everything attitude, something tells me she needs reassurance, so I give it to her. In every stroke of my tongue against hers, every brush of my thumb along her jaw, I show her how much I want her.
When her chest is heaving, her lips parted and swollen and so fucking hot, I trail kisses down her neck, seeking out every inch of skin that’s uncovered. Her head thumps back against the wall, one of her hands gone from gripping fistfuls of my shirt. Instead, she’s holding my head to her, and I don’t want to stop. I want to kiss and lick every inch of her, slip my hands under the material of her sweater, unbutton her jeans, and not stop until I feel her soft wetness against my fingertips.
But the knowledge that she’ll regret it if I don’t stop forces me to slow down.
I pull back, loosening my grip on her and putting an inch of space between us. I kiss the corner of her mouth, her cheek, and then her ear. Against it, I whisper, “Don’t say no.”
There’s a beat of silence. Two. Three. And then she says the sweetest word I’ve ever heard.

“Okay.”


Social Media Links:

Buy Links:
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...