Wednesday, December 31, 2014

My Top Reads of 2014

In no particular order here are some of my favorite books of the year! I have read over 85 books this year so it was a little hard picking them because I did read books that come out next year. Let me know what you think!














2014 has been a great year because I have meet so many new friends and authors! I am excited to see what next year has in store for me! Thanks everyone who has followed my blog !!!

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Frigid by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Frigid
Author: J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout)
Pages: 240
Publisher: Spencer Hill Contemporary
Release Date: July 15, 2013(e-book) /November 5(print)
Genre: New Adult
Read: July 25, 2012

Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Book Depository|

Summary: (Goodreads)

For twenty-one-year-old Sydney, being in love with Kyler isn't anything new. They'd been best friends ever since he pushed her down on the playground and she made him eat a mud pie. Somewhere over the years, she fell for him and fell hard. The big problem with that? Kyler puts the 'man' in man-whore. He's never stayed with a girl longer than a few nights, and with it being their last year in college, Syd doesn't want to risk their friendship by declaring her love. 

Kyler has always put Syd on a pedestal that was too high for him to reach. To him, she's perfect and she's everything. But the feelings he has for her, he's always hidden away or focused on any other female. After all, Kyler will always be the poor boy from the wrong side of tracks, and Syd will always be the one girl he can never have. 

But when they're stranded together at a posh ski resort due to a massive Nor'easter, there's nothing stopping their red-hot feelings for each other from coming to the surface. Can their friendship survive the attraction? Better yet, can they survive at all? Because as the snow falls, someone is stalking them, and this ski trip may be a life-changer in more ways than one.


Review:


Ahh I love Kyler !!! Jennifer you are an amazing author! While reading I was immediately was hooked to both the characters and the plot. What I liked most about Frigid was the characters and the love story between friends. In this New Adult novel by Jennifer she make it steamy and worth the read! When I read this book I knew I was going to love Kyler! This book has to be on your shelf!


Let's start off with getting to know Kyler, he is a player but he likes to protect and watch over Syd. You can see from the beginning that he has feelings for her but parts of him feel like she deserves better than him. Kyler is one cute character who tries to be honest with the girls he is with but doesn't remember the girl who climbs into his lap. He is totally a player, but he has this charm and sweetness only for Syd. He can also become really jealous if any guy talks to her, or can tell if a guy like her or not. Any guy who is interested in Syd he considers them a douche and is not the right person for Syd. Plus it's set during Christmas Eve, and they are snowed in together! 

Sydney has always loved Kyler, and has hidden her feeling from him for the fear of maybe losing him and their friendship. Sydney's past boyfriend was such a jerk that Kyler then wanted to hit him, it left Sydney to not date anyone. It is very interesting to see how well Sydney and Kyler really do fit in each other's life because in some way they are both determined to be a part of each other's lives, even if she cannot have him. The title of the book Frigid does play an interesting part in the book, but it made you want to read more and more of the story. 

I wish I could give more stars to this book because of how much I loved it, JLA out did herself on this one and is a very close to Wait for You! The relationship of the characters were beautiful and HOT! If you are in a YA Romance contemporary mood add this book to your shopping cart because it also looks great on the shelf! Jennifer L. Armentrout's writing is pure addicting!! 

5/5

Saturday, December 27, 2014

Since You've Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Title: Since You've Been Gone
Author: Morgan Matson
Pages: 449
Genre: YA
Publisher: Simon & Schuster/ Simon Pulse
Release Date: May 6, 2014
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo| B&N
*received for review by Simon Schuster Canada*

Summary: (Goodreads)

The Pre-Sloane Emily didn't go to parties, she barely talked to guys, she didn't do anything crazy. Enter Sloane, social tornado and the best kind of best friend—the one who yanks you out of your shell.But right before what should have been an epic summer, Sloane just... disappears. No note. No calls. No texts. No Sloane. There’s just a random to-do list. On it, thirteen Sloane-selected-definitely-bizarre-tasks that Emily would never try... unless they could lead back to her best friend. Apple Picking at Night? Ok, easy enough.Dance until Dawn? Sure. Why not? Kiss a Stranger? Wait... what?

Getting through Sloane’s list would mean a lot of firsts. But Emily has this whole unexpected summer ahead of her, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected) to check things off. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go Skinny Dipping? Um...

Review:

If you are a fan of Jessi Kirby be sure to read any of Morgan Matson's books!! Since You've Been Gone has to be a perfect mixture of friendship, romance and learning about your identity. These are some of the reasons why this is definitely another favorite contemporary reads of this year. I loved Second Chance Summer because her characters feel so real and connect with with what they are going through. Matson writes so strongly that the story will instantly pull you in and with her new release about friendship. 

Emily is shy, and nervous around boys when we first meet her in the beginning. When Sloane left without telling Emily, she leaves her with a list that Emily must complete that are out of her comfort zone that she must force to challenge in her life. They force her to face head on and also to grow. That is one of the reasons why I loved this book so much because it's about personal growth and how to improve on what you want to change. Emily also had a little help with the list with Frank Porter. 


The romance was so sweet and adorable! Frank is also dorky and sweet that once you put him and Emily together they were hilarious! He liked to push her out of her box, but was also there to support her when she needed the help. All the other supporting characters were great because you got to see Emily experiencing new friendships. Her family is also very quirky because they are writers but I thought they were fun parents who supported their daughter. You also get to see her friendship with Sloane also grow when flashbacks of the past came but it also helped her grow into the person she is by the end.


Since You've Been Gone was a great read! Morgan Matson has become one of my favorite YA contemporary writers because she makes it worth reading since it is addicting how fast you can read it. The book is about friendship, growing up and changes that can happen to anyone. It will make you laugh and cry that you will fall in love with the story! Can't wait to read what Matson writes next!!

5/5 

Tuesday, December 23, 2014

Inspire (The Muse #1) by Cora Carmack (Blog Tour +Guest Post)

Title: Inspire (Muse #1) 
Author: Cora Carmack
Pages: 284
Genre: New Adult/Paranormal
Release Date: December 15, 2014
Buy: Amazon| Kobo

Summary (Goodreads)


Kalliope lives with one purpose.

To inspire.

As an immortal muse, she doesn’t have any other choice. It’s part of how she was made. Musicians, artists, actors—they use her to advance their art, and she uses them to survive. She moves from one artist to the next, never staying long enough to get attached. But all she wants is a different life— a normal one. She’s spent thousands of years living lie after lie, and now she’s ready for something real.

Sweet, sexy, and steady, Wilder Bell feels more real than anything else in her long existence. And most importantly… he’s not an artist. He doesn’t want her for her ability. But she can’t turn off the way she influences people, not even to save a man she might love. Because in small doses, she can help make something beautiful, but her ability has just as much capacity to destroy as it does to create. The longer she stays, the more obsessed Wilder will become. It’s happened before, and it never turns out well for the mortal.

Her presence may inspire genius.

But it breeds madness, too.


Review: 

Cora Carmack, Inspire has given me all the feels! When I first heard about the series coming out and the unique plot line that it had I knew I was going to love it (since I love her other books). Add this book immediately on your to be read piles because it is totally worth the read, I could not put this book down. It will leave you speechless and wanting more! 

Kalli, is an immortal Muse who spends her life from artist to artist, with not getting attached to any of them. It hard not to like Kalli because being inside her  head makes you feel like she is making a lot of mistakes and doesn't care who she hurts. But you can see her struggle as part of the story. Wilder Bell is starting a new life, going to college and working to be able to get to his goal for his little sister Gwen. Wilder is on my list of Book Boyfriends since he is tattooed, talented and sexy! I just loved him! Their attraction was just electric that you can devour these pages. Got all fuzzy in from all those scenes!


The secondary characters were very well developed and added great scenes to the story. Kalli's friend Lennox, Wilder's friend Rook who is another very interesting character and his mother who is very protective of him. Gwen was very adorable and added the lighter side to the story, that can make you life when you read it! It was so diverse that Cora knows how to create!

I am going to be very excited to read the second book because now I need it after finishing Inspire. I need more Kalli and Wilder right about now since that ending!! Go add this book to your e-reader right now!!


About Cora Carmack:
Cora Carmack is a twenty-something writer who likes to write about twenty-something characters. She's done a multitude of things in her life-- boring jobs (like working retail), Fun jobs (like working in a theatre), stressful jobs (like teaching), and dream jobs (like writing). She enjoys placing her characters in the most awkward situations possible, and then trying to help them get a boyfriend out of it. Awkward people need love, too. Her first book, LOSING IT, was a New York Times and USA Today bestseller.
GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway



GUEST POST
So, I love Greek mythology. I was fascinated by it when I was younger. It was my favorite thing to teach when I taught high school (for a whopping two years). But it is SERIOUSLY messed up. In writing INSPIRE, I had tons of information about Greek mythology in my head already. I did even more research. Then I just kind of let all that go and wrote my story. I didn’t want to be hemmed in by following myths exactly as they had been told. For one, many of the myths are obscure and unclear and have multiple versions. That’s what comes from being passed down through generations by word of mouth. Stuff gets changed and forgotten. So I merely used the myths as a starting point, and then created a world and a character of my own in Kalliope.

All that being said… Greek mythology is just too much fun to not talk about. So, lets talk about some of the weirder aspects and myths from those crazy Greeks.

Medusa had snakes for hair.

Aside from the fact that she could turn people into stone by looking them in the eye (which I’m sure made dating a nightmare), let’s just think about how impractical this must have been.  Did she have to feed the snakes? If so, where did the snake's, erm, waste go? Did Medusa just have snakes pooping on her head all the time? And you know how cats will try and wake you up when they're hungry - did the snakes do that too? What about when they shed their skin? I just have so many questions about the logistics.

Cronus ate his own children.

So Cronus heard a prophecy that one of his children would usurp his throne, and to prevent this from happening….he ate all of his children. Because that’s totally a rational response. I mean, I can kind of understand being afraid that one of your kids will overthrow you, but resorting to cannibalism to prevent it is a little extreme. What baffles me even more, though, is how Zeus survived - his mother delivered him in secret and then gave Cronus a rock wrapped in baby clothes. And Cronus ate it and DIDN’T REALIZE IT WAS A ROCK INSTEAD OF A BABY.  Dude.

Medea gave really terrible wedding gifts.

Medea did a lot of pretty messed up stuff, mostly because she was in love with Jason. But then Jason left her for another woman, and you better believe that shit hit the fan. In classic mean girl fashion, Medea acted all friendly to Glauce (Jason’s new side chick) and gave her a really gorgeous dress and coronet to wear for her upcoming wedding. But surprise! They were covered in poison, and when Glauce put them on, she spontaneously burst into flames. Medea then killed her own children to REALLY piss off Jason, and then rode off in a dragon-drawn chariot, probably flipping everyone off while the song “Boss Ass Bitch” blasted in the background.

Zeus had a longer list of ex-lovers than Taylor Swift (not that I don’t love me some Tay-Tay).

(Take a second and think of the song Blank Space being sung by the King of the Gods and let me know if you laugh as hard as I did.)
Zeus was, for lack of a better word, a manwhore. Everyone called him Father, and most of them were correct - Zeus was everyone’s baby daddy and he didn’t care who knew it. It didn’t matter if you were immortal or not; if Zeus wanted to sleep with you, he was gonna sleep with you, even if he had to take the form of an animal to do it. What an asshole.


There’s something called a “hippalectryon.”

And it’s half horse, half rooster. To me, this looks like a freakier version of Buckbeak the Hippogriff from Harry Potter, and I just cannot even.


Only in Greek Mythology can you be a place AND a person!
Tartarus is a place. The darkest, deepest pit of the Underworld. Hell if you will. But somehow… Gaia (who was the Earth. Literally. But also the Father of the Titans) manages to make a child with Tartarus. That child is the monsters of all monsters, the Typhon, who among other things, had dragon heads for fingers.

Aphrodite, goddess of love, came from testicles 
I’m not even joking. I wish I were. Cronus (we’ve already discussed how cray-cray he was) is jealous of his father Gaius and his power. And his mother, angry with her husband for imprisoning some of her more monster-ish children, convinces Cronus to attack and castrate his father. Cronus then throws his father’s junk in the ocean. The sea foams up and out pops Aphrodite. I’m just gonna let that sink in for a bit.

In Greek Mythology, you don’t have to be born from a mother’s womb

Nope. Not even close. Adonis was born from a tree! That tree used to be his mother, who slept with her own father. But that’s another story. TREE!

Athena was born from papa Zeus’s head. Just sprung up right from his skull. And you thought the birth of baby Renesmee was creepy. IMAGINE THAT. *shudders*
  
Why be born once when you can be born three times?

So the myths on this are contradictory and a little unclear. But there was this dude Dionysus. God of Wine (and Theatre!). Imagine the festival at Woodstock in human form and you’ve got Dionysus. Dude was a little wild. He had an affair with Persephone, and when Hades found out, he was naturally angry at his wife’s unfaithfulness. He had the titans tear Dionysus into pieces and eat them (why all the eating? Gah). But tricky Persephone managed to save his heart and gave it to Dionysus’s father Zeus, who then slept with a mortal woman named Semele and somehow impregnated her with said heart. Who knows? Then Zeus’s wife Hera found out. And as always, she was angry and decided to get her revenge. She befriended Semele and convinced her to ask Zeus to reveal himself in full god form to her. When he did so, the sight of Zeus was too much for her and she literally burst into flames. Before she died though, Zeus took Dionysus from her womb (that’s birth #2!). Then just in case little baby D wasn’t done baking yet, he sowed the child up in his own thigh until the child was healthy enough to be birthed for a third time. FROM A THIGH.


Helen of Troy, the face that launched a thousand ships, was hatched. Not born.


Again, there’s some dissent here about exact lineage. Zeus might have changed into the form of a swan and impregnated the woman Leda. Because that makes sense. Story goes that she was just chilling naked by the lake, like you do. She sees an eagle chasing a swan (that’s Zeus) who leaps into her arms to get away. And somehow the sex just happens.*GIANT SHRUG* OR… in another version, Zeus might have impregnated the goddess Nemesis while she was in goose form. Because sometimes you just feel like being a goose. Either way… the woman often hailed as the most beautiful in all of Greece came from an egg.


Most of that was probably a lot more than you wanted to know. But I just find it so hilarious the ways in which modern society has romanticized the Greek gods as these ethereal figures. I’m guilty of it, too! When in reality, their lives and stories were FAR from pretty. But let’s all just agree to go back to pretending like we don’t know any of the information above.

Okay? Okay.

P.S. I promise there is no eating of people, mystifying births, or castration of any kind in INSPIRE. You have my word.



Tuesday, December 16, 2014

Most Anticipated Books of 2015: Part Two!

MOST ANTICIPATED:

Check out  PART ONE

7. Red Queen (Red Queen #1) by Victoria Aveyard


Thoughts:
Pre-order this book immediately!! This book will blow your socks off, because the plot and the characters hook you into this incredible world of power and blood. I am already craving the next book in the series! Definitely add this book to your lists because you will have a book hangover. (Already read this)

8.  An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir 


Thoughts 

I need this book right now! Been hearing amazing things about the entire book that I know it will be a hit in 2015 since it has been on many lists! It's set in a terrifyingly brutal Rome-like world which sounds like my kind of book! Even the cover attracts the reader!! I really wish this title was available!! 

9. The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows 

*GRABBY HANDS*
I need this book!!! Jodi Meadows writes another amazing world with her next series based on a girl named Wilhelmina. I really love the cover too! "Jodi Meadows introduces a vivid new fantasy full of intrigue, romance, dangerous magic, and one girl’s battle to reclaim her place in the world."

10. The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall 


I just want to read this one soo badly!! Look at the cover!


11.  The Return (Titan #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout


I just loved Seth in the Covenant series to its natural for me to want this book since I loved that series so much! Jennifer L. Armentrout is my favorite author and I own all of her books so this one is a guaranteed pre-order! If you haven't read the Covenant series I recommend you do immediately!


12. All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven 


 This sounds amazing!! The summary says it a cross between The Fault in Our Stars and Eleanor & Park which means its going to be a good contemporary read for the new year! Its a good thing it comes out on January 6! 

Wednesday, December 10, 2014

Pre-Order- Verum by Courtney Cole

VERUM-PreorderDrive-Graphic

You loved Courtney Cole's NOCTE in all it's dark, twisted, spellbinding, messed-up awesomeness. You can't wait until VERUM (Nocte Trilogy Book 2) releases in February 2015. And now Courtney Cole is going to release an exclusive VERUM excerpt...but only if we can get it to the top 1000 on Amazon!

All you have to do is go to Amazon and pre-order VERUM right now. Go, pre-order, and get all your NOCTE-obsessed friends to pre-order, too. If enough people do it, VERUM will climb up the ranks, and we'll get a sneak peek at the follow-up to what's being called "a haunting psychological suspense" and "the rare kind of story that leaves permanent marks on your heart and your soul."


About NOCTE

NOCTE-300pxSAVE ME AND I'LL SAVE YOU....

My name is Calla Price. I’m eighteen years old, and I’m one half of a whole. My other half-- my twin brother, my Finn--is crazy.

I love him. More than life, more than anything. And even though I’m terrified he’ll suck me down with him, no one can save him but me.

I’m doing all I can to stay afloat in a sea of insanity, but I’m drowning more and more each day. So I reach out for a lifeline.

Dare DuBray.

He’s my savior and my anti-Christ. His arms are where I feel safe, where I’m afraid, where I belong, where I’m lost. He will heal me, break me, love me and hate me. He has the power to destroy me.

Maybe that’s ok. Because I can’t seem to save Finn and love Dare without everyone getting hurt.

Why? Because of a secret.

A secret I’m so busy trying to figure out, that I never see it coming.

You won’t either.


About VERUM

VERUM-300pxTHE TRUTH SHALL SET YOU FREE.

My name is Calla Price and I'm drowning.

My new world is a dark, dark ocean and I'm being pulled under by secrets.

Can I trust anyone? I don't know anymore.

The lies are spirals. They twist and turn, binding me with their thorns and serpentine tongues. And just when I think I have it figured out, everything is pulled out from under me.

I'm entangled in the darkness.

But the truth will set me free.

It's just ahead of me, so close I can touch it. But even though it shines and glimmers, it has glistening fangs and I know it will shred me.

Are you scared?

I am.

Tuesday, December 9, 2014

Release Week Blitz: Wicked by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Wicked RWB Banner

 

We are over the moon excited to bring you the Release Day Launch for Jennifer L. Armentrout's WICKED! WICKED is a New Adult Paranormal Romance and the first book in Jennifer’s Wicked Trilogy!

Wicked
 

Amazon ** Barnes and Noble ** iBooks ** Kobo

  WICKED Synopsis: Things are about to get Wicked in New Orleans. Twenty-two year old Ivy Morgan isn’t your average college student. She, and others like her, know humans aren’t the only thing trolling the French Quarter for fun… and for food. Her duty to the Order is her life. After all, four years ago, she lost everything at the hands of the creatures she’d sworn to hunt, tearing her world and her heart apart. Ren Owens is the last person Ivy expected to enter her rigidly controlled life. He’s six feet and three inches of temptation and swoon-inducing charm. With forest-green eyes and a smile that’s surely left a stream of broken hearts in its wake, he has an uncanny, almost unnatural ability to make her yearn for everything he has to offer. But letting him in is as dangerous as hunting the cold-blooded killers stalking the streets. Losing the boy she loved once before had nearly destroyed her, but the sparking tension that grows between them becomes impossible for Ivy to deny. Deep down, she wants… she needs more than what her duty demands of her, what her past has shaped for her. But as Ivy grows closer to Ren, she realizes she’s not the only one carrying secrets that could shatter the frail bond between them. There’s something he’s not telling her, and one thing is for certain. She’s no longer sure what is more dangerous to her—the ancient beings threatening to take over the town or the man demanding to lay claim to her heart and her soul.   Wicked Teaser 1   
  Excerpt:
He left me standing there as he disappeared into the bathroom, and I tried to make sense of what just happened. All I knew was that the punch-in-the-chest sadness that came whenever I thought of Shaun wasn’t there. And I didn’t know what to make of that.
Or anything.
Taking a deep breath, I put my clothes on his dresser and all but dashed into the bed, and good Lord, the mattress was comfy! I scooted to the middle and froze, having no idea what side he slept on or if he had a side. I totally had a side—always the furthest away from closet doors because I was a dork. Straightening the shirt out so my undies weren’t saying hi to the world, I tugged the blanket up to my hips and lay flat on my back.
I so needed an adult to explain to me what the hell I was supposed to do from this point on.
There wasn’t much time to stress over it because Ren returned from the bathroom. His ever-present half grin spread as he saw me. I clutched the blanket, my breath caught in my throat. My heart pounded so fast that I wondered if I was going to have a heart attack, and God, wouldn’t that be embarrassing. I swallowed nervously and willed my heart to slow.
Turning off the lamp, shadows fell around Ren, but when he faced me, I could tell that he’d frozen. I couldn’t make out his expression as he bent, taking a hold of the covers on his side.
“Ivy?”
“Hmm?”
He slowly edged the covers back from his side and climbed in, and although I couldn’t make out his eyes, I knew he was watching me. “I’m happy that you’re here.”
My fingers eased off the blanket.
As he stretched out beside me, my eyes adjusted to the lack of light, and I could see that he was smiling. “Are you?”
“Yeah,” I whispered.
“Good. That’s all I wanted to hear.”
Wow, the warmth that flooded my chest could’ve turned me into a puddle of goo in that bed. I waited for him to make a move on me, but seconds ticked by. He seriously was behaving himself. I dared a quick peek at him, and found I could not look away.
Ren lifted his arm closest to me, and a heartbeat passed. I hesitated for a moment, and then, my heart pounding even more, I slid over until my leg brushed his. He curved his arm around my waist and drew me up against his side, guiding me down until I was nestled against his warm, bare chest. Another moment passed and then I lowered my cheek, and the simple pleasure of lying like this nearly broke me right open.
A picture of a fresh cupcak placed on a sensual female butt
   
Author PhotoAbout Jennifer L. Armentrout: # 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki. Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV. She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.

Website ** Facebook ** Twitter ** Novel Goodreads ** Author Goodreads

 

Thursday, December 4, 2014

Release Day Launch: The Accidental Assassin by Nichole Chase

TAA RDL Banner

We are so incredibly excited to bring you the Release Day Launch for Nichole Chase's THE ACCIDENTAL ASSASSIN! THE ACCIDENTAL ASSASSIN is a New Adult contemporary romantic suspense novel and it was so worth the wait!! Read the excerpt, enter to win, then go grab your copy today!

 

The Accidental Assassin

Amazon ** Barnes & Noble ** IndieBound ** Kobo ** iBooks

About THE ACCIDENTAL ASSASSIN: Ava McKenzie is a creature of habit. Life is passing her by and she has nothing to show for it. She’s had the same job since she started college, she orders the same dish every time she goes to her favorite restaurant, and only reads books from authors she knows. There is nothing new or surprising in her life… until her best friend marries a man from London. When her newlywed friend asks her to house-sit while she honeymoons, Ava jumps at the chance. She thinks this could be the very thing she needs to shake up her life. Ava throws herself head first into her new lifestyle; she wants to try everything, go everywhere, and never get stuck in a rut again. Of course, offing a man in a car garage hadn’t been one of the things on her list to try. Owen Walker spends every day in a new place with a new case. As one of the most renowned assassins in the world, he has his choice of marks—and he’s never failed in a mission. When a new hit takes him back to his hometown, he looks forward to spending time somewhere familiar. What he isn’t expecting is to help an attractive, confused American woman find out how she’s ended up on a hit man’s list. As Ava and Owen dodge bullets, will they be able to escape their undeniable attraction to each other? Or will all of that chemistry blow up in a shower of hot and dangerous sparks?  

Excerpt:
 I twisted the steering wheel sharply as I exited the garage and almost knocked over the doorman. But he was holding a large gun in one hand and to my shock he fired directly at my window. The glass shattered, but I didn’t feel any pain, which I hoped meant I wasn’t hit. I ducked in a belated reaction and the car swerved wildly, but the gun-toting hottie next to me steadied the wheel. “I knew that doorman didn’t like me.” I gritted my teeth. “What an asshole. He’s almost as bad as you are.” “I’ll drive now, if you’d like.” He said it like we were taking turns on a road trip, not running for our lives. Maybe he wasn’t running for his life. But I was still running for mine. I didn’t know what this guy wanted with me. Was I supposed to just let him drive me to some creepy kill room? An image of walls draped in plastic, knives on a table, and a bed with chains filled my mind. I didn’t think so. “Now? You want to drive now?” My voice rose with each word. “Sure, I’ll pull over at the corner for a snack and let you take over. Holy shit! Are you crazy?” “Has anyone ever told you that for such a beautiful woman you have a very dirty mouth?” He smiled at me as my mouth worked silently. “I think I like the odd combination.” “Fuck you.” I glared at the road. “So does that mean you don’t want me to drive?” He nodded toward the traffic that was growing thicker. “Do you have a plan for where to go?” “The cops.” I didn’t mention that I had no idea where they would be located. I’d just stop the first one I saw. “And you told me to get in the driver seat.” “You’re sure you want to go to the police?” He leaned back into his seat, getting comfortable. He looked, for all the world, as if riding around in a car with a bomb attached to it was normal. “You killed a man and fled the scene in his stolen car—which has a bomb attached to it. Oh, and someone was trying to kill you. I’m sure being locked in a tiny room with nowhere to run will make their job much more difficult.” “Maybe they were trying to kill you. I can imagine why they’d want to.” I growled and turned down a street that was one way only. And I was going the wrong way. I muttered under my breath as I dodged cars and people honked at me. “I should’ve stayed in bed today.” “Possibly. They were very sloppy.” He pointed to a street. “You should turn here and take the roundabout.” “Roundabout?” My heart dropped into my stomach and I broke into a cold sweat. “That seems like a bad idea.” Roundabouts were the devil. If you’ve ever tried to drive through a roundabout after years of driving in America, you’d understand. Everything was completely backward to how you instinctually drove. It gave me an ulcer just thinking about it. “We’re being followed. We need to lose them.” He looked at me with serious eyes. “If you want to live, we need to put distance between us and the people in the black sedan.” “Oh, Jesus.” I jerked the wheel and our car shot down the road toward the evil traffic circle of death.   Author PhotoNichole Chase Bio: Nichole Chase is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Suddenly Royal, Flukes, The Dark Betrayal Trilogy, and several short stories. She is also the instructor of Say What? a dialogue class at the Romance Academy. Nichole lives in Georgia with her husband, energetic daughter, superhero dog, Sulcata tortoise, and two cats. When not writing, you may find her reading, painting, crafting, or chasing her daughter around the house while making monster noises.      

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Author Goodreads | THE ACCIDENTAL ASSASSIN Goodreads

 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...