Saturday, January 24, 2015

The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand

Title: The Last Time We Say Goodbye
Author: Cynthia Hand
Pages: 400
Genre: Contemporary 
Publisher: HarperTeen 
Release Date: February 10, 2015
Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo| B&N
** ARC was provided by publisher for review*

Summary (Goodreads


There's death all around us.
We just don't pay attention.
Until we do.


The last time Lex was happy, it was before. When she had a family that was whole. A boyfriend she loved. Friends who didn't look at her like she might break down at any moment.

Now she's just the girl whose brother killed himself. And it feels like that's all she'll ever be.

As Lex starts to put her life back together, she tries to block out what happened the night Tyler died. But there's a secret she hasn't told anyone-a text Tyler sent, that could have changed everything.

Lex's brother is gone. But Lex is about to discover that a ghost doesn't have to be real to keep you from moving on.

From New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand, The Last Time We Say Goodbye is a gorgeous and heart-wrenching story of love, loss, and letting go.


Review: 

I have always loved Cynthia Hand's writing because it feels like you are actually in that main characters place.This book just broke my heart and then started to bring it slowly back together by the end of the book. The Last Time We Say Goodbye is one book that brings awareness to what happens to a family who has lost someone very close to them and the ramifications of their suicide that can happen. I was aware that there has been a number of teen suicides has been rising but Hand does an amazing job with her main character Lex, who is going through an emotional rollercoaster since her brother killed himself. 

Lex's brother Ty, has committed suicide at the age of 16. He was popular, a basketball star who has a ton of friends, but then decides to end it during his junior year of high school. I feel bad for Lex because she blames herself.  Why did he want to do this? Did she notice the signs? Why didn't she reply to the text he sent her? Lex has pushed away her friends, boyfriend and is having a hard time with her grief. In therapy her therapist asks her if she can write a journal to recall her past with her memories of what happened to explain what was happening with her brother. She also wants to know if there was a specific reason why he ended his life. Lex then connects with his friends and ex-girlfriend. 

Death can affect a family differently. Lex's views throughout the novel was normal because she just lost her brother at the same time trying to move on since its her last year of high school. Along the way she reconnects with her neighbor who is helping her through this process. Lexie's boyfriend Steven is so cute. He is also a math nerd like her and has been her friend since grade school. He has been by her side since Ty's death but did not give up on her as a friend when she broke up with him. I did love the flashbacks of their past as well since he is such a romantic. I was totally rooting for them to hopefully get back together. 


When I read emotional books I know I will cry. I loved Cynthia Hands other series (Unearthly) which I adored! The Last Time We Say Goodbye was incredibly moving that at the end the author shares her own story of what happened to her brother. Loss is very hard but its real. Even though the book is fiction, the author's experience definitely shows in her writing since it felt realistic. Recommending this one to everyone! 

5/5
 

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Cover Reveal: All Played Out (Rusk University #3) by Cora Carmack

Holy smokes are we excited to bring you the cover for Cora Carmack's ALL PLAYED OUT! ALL PLAYED OUT is a New Adult Contemporary Romance and is the 3rd book in the Rusk University Series, published by William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins. It is due to be released on May 12, 2015!! If you haven't had a chance to read this sexy, fun series yet, be sure to grab ALL LINED UP and ALL BROKE DOWN!   Image Map  

Pre-Order Your Copy Today!

Amazon ** Barnes & Noble ** iTunes

Add ALL PLAYED OUT on Goodreads!

About ALL PLAYED OUT: First person in her family to go to college? CHECK. Straight A’s? CHECK. On track to graduate early? CHECK. Social life? …..yeah, about that…. With just a few weeks until she graduates, Antonella DeLuca’s beginning to worry that maybe she hasn’t had the full college experience. (Okay... Scratch that. She knows she hasn't had the full college experience). So Nell does what a smart, dedicated girl like herself does best. She makes a "to do" list of normal college activities. Item #1? Hook up with a jock. Rusk University wide receiver Mateo Torres practically wrote the playbook for normal college living. When he’s not on the field, he excels at partying, girls, and more partying. As long as he keeps things light and easy, it's impossible to get hurt... again. But something about the quiet, shy, sexy-as-hell Nell gets under his skin, and when he learns about her list, he makes it his mission to help her complete it. Torres is the definition of confident (And sexy. And wild), and he opens up a side of Nell that she's never known. But as they begin to check off each crazy, exciting, normal item, Nell finds that her frivolous list leads to something more serious than she bargained for. And while Torres is used to taking risks on the field, he has to decide if he's willing to take the chance when it's more than just a game. Together they will have to decide if what they have is just part of the experiment or a chance at something real.  

And don’t miss the first two books in the Rusk University Series…

RU books 1and 2 Banner  

ALL LINED UP, Book 1

ALL BROKE DOWN, Book 2

Headshot    About Cora Carmack: Cora Carmack is a twenty-something writer who likes to write about twenty-something characters. She's done a multitude of things in her life-- boring jobs (like working retail), Fun jobs (like working in a theatre), stressful jobs (like teaching), and dream jobs (like writing). She enjoys placing her characters in the most awkward situations possible, and then trying to help them get a boyfriend out of it. Awkward people need love, too. Her first book, LOSING IT, was a New York Times and USA Today bestseller.      

Website ** Twitter ** Facebook ** Author Goodreads

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

Wicked (A Wicked Saga #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Wicked (A Wicked Saga #1)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 300
Genre: New Adult/Paranormal
Release Date: December 8, 2014
Buy: Amazon| Kobo   Paperback: Amazon

Summary: (Goodreads)

Things are about to get Wicked in New Orleans.

Twenty-two year old Ivy Morgan isn’t your average college student. She, and others like her, know humans aren’t the only thing trolling the French Quarter for fun… and for food. Her duty to the Order is her life. After all, four years ago, she lost everything at the hands of the creatures she’d sworn to hunt, tearing her world and her heart apart.

Ren Owens is the last person Ivy expected to enter her rigidly controlled life. He’s six feet and three inches of temptation and swoon-inducing charm. With forest-green eyes and a smile that’s surely left a stream of broken hearts in its wake, he has an uncanny, almost unnatural ability to make her yearn for everything he has to offer. But letting him in is as dangerous as hunting the cold-blooded killers stalking the streets. Losing the boy she loved once before had nearly destroyed her, but the sparking tension that grows between them becomes impossible for Ivy to deny. Deep down, she wants… she needs more than what her duty demands of her, what her past has shaped for her.

But as Ivy grows closer to Ren, she realizes she’s not the only one carrying secrets that could shatter the frail bond between them. There’s something he’s not telling her, and one thing is for certain. She’s no longer sure what is more dangerous to her—the ancient beings threatening to take over the town or the man demanding to lay claim to her heart and her soul.


Review:

Jennifer L. Armentrout, you have left me speechless and in total shock after reading Wicked! I first loved how you wrote about aliens (Daemon), demigods and even made gargoyles hot! In her new series of Fae, it was even better! Any paranormal book I have adored has been written by this fantastic author. Even before this book was out it was on my auto-buy list because its Jennifer L. Armentrout. I pretty much devoured Wicked from the first page, because when I was reading it, you can imagine where you are in New Orleans (which is now on my travel list!). + REN :) 

Ivy has to be one of my favorite characters because she was badass and funny! She has had a tramatic past that has been very influenced who she is. She is also very independent and doesn't rely on anyone to help her. Ivy is also part of The Order who hunt down the bad guys, but also enter The Elite. Then enter Ren, who knows how to charm and swoon you off your feet. I know I feel in love with him (I still love Aiden and Daemon but he is up there as well). I am very excited to see what Jen has in store for these two in the next book, Torn. Especially after those* scenes!

Wicked is definitely a book to be added on your to-be read list! I loved reading every second of it because it always kept me guessing! Especially by that ending!! I have a lot of Jen's books and like any of her others it left me wanting more of the story. Wicked was full of heart melting romances, really awesome characters (Tink who is hilarious). This book is one everyone needs to buy! JLA knows how to give you a book hangover!


5/5

Sunday, January 11, 2015

Red Queen (Red Queen Trilogy #1) by Victoria Aveyard

Title: Red Queen (Red Queen Trilogy #1)
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Pages: 400
Genre: Fantasy
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: Feburary 10, 2015
Buy: Amazon| Kobo| B&N| Chapters Indigo

Summary (Goodreads)

Graceling meets The Selection in debut novelist Victoria Aveyard's sweeping tale of seventeen-year-old Mare, a common girl whose once-latent magical power draws her into the dangerous intrigue of the king's palace. Will her power save her or condemn her?

Mare Barrow's world is divided by blood--those with common, Red blood serve the Silver- blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard--a growing Red rebellion--even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal.

Review: 

I can't believe how amazing this book was!! This  amazing book needs to be on everyone's shelf! My mind is still hung over with all the plot twists and everything! Victoria Aveyard you have created this fantastic world building and characters that you will love.I am literally shocked after reading it! When you start reading this book you don't know if it is going to be dystopian or high fantasy, but it was both! Red Queen is one book you want to add to your lists, it was dangerous, thrilling and exciting!!This has been one of my favorite books of this year!

Mare Barrow is a 17-year old Red girl from The Stilts where the Reds are the commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, who are the elite warriors with god-like powers.  As she determines her identity as a Red, she is also a thief from a large family trying to survive in this world and where her life has no value. If she doesn't find a job, she must go to war-over land, where she will serve as a cannon fodder while real warriors go. It was so easy to get sucked into this world and the descriptions and dialogues of the characters.  Mare's point of view was beautiful and you can feel her emotions. You can imagine this world and the places which is amazing.

The plot is intriguing and full of mystery of the royal family, forbidden love and action! Victoria Aveyard's debut has such strong writing that you want to have it on the shelf. Each character has a key role in the novel. We get to see a side of Mare that she doesn't even know herself. The other characters make the story for Mare to shine through the book. Cal is evidence that not all the Silvers are stuck up but some characters did drive me crazy. Maven his brother was a very interesting and his role in Mare's life can either make or break her. The romance was little but it had a ton of action because of that love triangle! The villains were conniving and brilliant because the scheming and planning where nothing I was expecting. I was shocked and mindblown! It was full of betrayal and trust.  This book literally rips your heart out!

Red Queen is for sure 5 stars or more because I really loved the story, was shocked, and it also gave me a book hangover that the end will shock you! I am very excited to see what is in store for the next book because of ending. I wish I had the next book! Red Queen is one of my favorites of this year and with all the emotions and the crazy plot. Overall, really loved it, fantasy world building was amazing that you will be getting a book hangover after reading it! 


5/5

Wednesday, January 7, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Title: An Ember in the Ashes
Author: Sabaa Tahir
Pages: 464
Genre: Fantasy (YA)
Publisher: Razorbill/Penguin Canada
Release Date: April 28, 2015

Summary: (Goodreads)

Set in a terrifyingly brutal Rome-like world, An Ember in the Ashes is an epic fantasy debut about an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It’s a story that’s literally burning to be told.

LAIA is a Scholar living under the iron-fisted rule of the Martial Empire. When her brother is arrested for treason, Laia goes undercover as a slave at the empire’s greatest military academy in exchange for assistance from rebel Scholars who claim that they will help to save her brother from execution.

ELIAS is the academy’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias is considering deserting the military, but before he can, he’s ordered to participate in a ruthless contest to choose the next Martial emperor.

When Laia and Elias’s paths cross at the academy, they find that their destinies are more intertwined than either could have imagined and that their choices will change the future of the empire itself.
 


I NEED THIS BOOK!! Sounds really awesome!

Saturday, January 3, 2015

Happy New Year!!!


I hope everyone had a great new year with family and friends. Hope that everyone is safe and healthy!! As 2014 has now passed 2015 is going to be even better for us book lovers since there are so many coming out in the next few months! There are many goals I want to set up for this year which is to try and focus on school, at the same time also focus on my blog. My school schedule is going to be a little busy this semester so I am not guaranteeing that I will make them all.

Goals:

  • Read 100 books 
  • Lose 20 pounds (2 pounds a week)
  • Eat healthier 
  • Post at least 2 reviews a week
  • Try to post everyday (if I can)
  • Be Me!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...