Friday, February 27, 2015

Cover Reveal: Getting Dirty by Mia Storm


We are so please to introduce brand new author Mia Storm with her debut release, Getting Dirty

Releasing on March 19th





Dirty
A poem by Blaire Leon

If sex is dirty, why would I do it with someone I love?
If sex is dirty, then didn’t we all come from the dirt?
What if I like the dirt?
What if I want to get dirty?
What if I want to roll in the mud until I’m so fucking filthy that I’ll never be clean again?


When twenty-five-year-old graduate assistant Caiden Brenner asked Blaire Leon how old she was, she said she was a senior. He chose to believe she meant in college. They connect over Lord Byron’s Don Juan and, as their conversations become increasingly thicker with sexual innuendo, Caiden finds himself obsessing over a totally off-limits undergrad who’s bold, beautiful, brilliant, and one of the most passionate poets he’s ever met.

But it turns out Blaire hasn't been totally honest. She's the seventeen-year-old valedictorian of her high school class, taking courses at Sierra State while awaiting her acceptance to Stanford.



Will Caiden get too deeply into Blaire to back away before he finds out the truth? Or will their connection be enough to seduce him into risking his entire future on Jail Bait?





"A thousand and one feels....Getting Dirty is a thrilling, tantalizing forbidden romance you

 do not want to miss! I not only devoured this book, it devoured me right back!"--Katy 

Evans, New York Times Bestselling author of REAL










EXCERPT


“What year are you?” I don’t even realize I’ve said it until it’s out of my mouth.
Her eyes flick from the book to mine. “A senior.”
I feel my eyebrows arch before I can stop them. “You look younger.”
She bites her lips between her teeth for a moment. “Is that good or bad?”
“Neither, I suppose.” But my insides burn, knowing that she’s not as off-limits as I originally thought. It’s nearing the end of January. Commencement will be here soon enough. She graduates and all bets are off.
“So…” she says, twisting a finger into the ends of her hair. “I know you like old, dead poets. How do you feel about hearing something fresher?”
I lean toward her. “Such as?”
“I’m reading in a poetry slam tonight. It’s just something over at Tino’s in Jonestown on the fourth Friday of every month. There’s no prize money or anything, but I perform something new pretty much every month.”
“A poetry slam…” I want to say yes in the worst way, but it feels dangerously like a date.
She must read the hesitation in my eyes. “If it’s too weird, no worries. I just thought, since you like poetry…”
She leaves the thought dangling. Like a noose. And I jump right into it. “Yeah. Why not?”
The answer to that rhetorical question is that it’s not May yet and she hasn’t graduated. I’m risking everything I’ve worked the last three years toward. My entire future. But the voice of reason is being drowned out by the raging waves of something rolling up from the deepest layers of my being like an undertow. Something base and essential. And unrelenting.
“Do you want to meet me there?” she asks, standing from her seat and giving me a better view of the entire exquisite length of her.
“Yeah…that’s probably best.” Plausible deniability. No, Dr. Duncan, I didn’t have any clue she’d be there. Just went to hear the poetry.
“Great,” she says as she gathers her book and shoves it in her bag. “It starts at nine. There are usually five or six poets and it’s a random draw, so I don’t know what time I’ll be reading.”
I nod without standing, no longer able to tame my erection. “I’ll be there at nine.”
“You know where Tino’s is?”
Electricity crackles under my skin. I’m really doing this. “Yeah. I’ll find it.”



About the Author:


Mia Storm is a hopeless romantic who is always searching for her happy ending. Sometimes she’s forced to make one up. When that happens, she’s thrilled to be able to share those stories with her readers. She lives in California and spends much of her time in the sun with a book in one hand and a mug of black coffee in the other, or hiking the trails in Yosemite. Connect with her online at MiaStormAuthor.blogspot.com , on Twitter at @MiaStormAuthor, and on Facebook at www.facebook.com/MiaStormAuthor
HTML for WordPress:

Thursday, February 26, 2015

Cover Reveal: Untamed (A Thoughtless Novel) by S.C. Stephens

About UNTAMED
Release Date: November 3, 2015
Publisher: Forever Romance 
Griffin Hancock is tired of being stuck behind Kellan Kyle's spotlight. He's the best, the main event, and everyone should know it. He has Anna, and his beautiful daughter Gibson, and to hell with the rest of them. A new venture presents itself, and Griffin decides this is his chance. When he tells the band about his new side gig, they are less than supportive. Undaunted by their criticism, Griffin decides to take matters into his own hands. Packing up his family, he leaves Seattle behind and returns to L.A. to break out on his own. But success isn't as easy as Griffin thought it would be, and he soon finds that the phrase 'You don't know what you've got until it's gone', is all too true.

 About S.C. Stephens
S. C. Stephens is a #1 bestselling author who enjoys creating stories that are packed with emotion and heavy on romance. In addition to writing, she likes spending lazy afternoons in the sun reading, listening to music, watching movies, and spending time with her friends and family.  She and her two children reside in the Pacific Northwest. 
Connect with S.C. online!
@SC_Stephens_

Pre-order UNTAMED
Soon to be at retailers everywhere including Barnes & Noble, Books-A-Million, iTunes, Kobo, and IndieBound too!
GooglePlay: http://bit.ly/1vwDPV8

Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Manwhore (Manwhore #1) by Katy Evans


A feature exclusively titled by Breaking the Spine that is used by several bloggers to display a highly anticipated novel.
Title: Manwhore (Manwhore #1) 
Author: Katy Evans
Pages: 368
Genre: Romance
Publisher: Gallery Books
Release Date: March 24, 2015

Summary (Goodreads) 

Is it possible to expose Chicago’s hottest player—without getting played?

This is the story I've been waiting for all my life, and its name is Malcolm Kyle Preston Logan Saint. Don’t be fooled by that last name though. There’s nothing holy about the man except the hell his parties raise. The hottest entrepreneur Chicago has ever known, he’s a man’s man with too much money to spend and too many women vying for his attention.

Mysterious. Privileged. Legendary. His entire life he’s been surrounded by the press as they dig for tidbits to see if his fairytale life is for real or all mirrors and social media lies. Since he hit the scene, his secrets have been his and his alone to keep. And that’s where I come in.

Assigned to investigate Saint and reveal his elusive personality, I’m determined to make him the story that will change my career.

But I never imagined he would change my life. Bit by bit, I start to wonder if I'm the one discovering him...or if he's uncovering me.

What happens when the man they call Saint, makes you want to sin?

Tuesday, February 24, 2015

Release Day Launch: Losing At Love by Jennifer Iacopelli

L@L RDL Banner
 It's release day for Jennifer Iacopelli's Losing at Love. This is the second book in Jennifer's Outer Banks Tennis Academy series, and I am so excited to be sharing it with you!! Check out all the fantastic release day info, and be sure to enter Jennifer's giveaway!!

Blogs Taking Part in the Release Day Launch
Exclusive Excerpt: La Metropolian Hotel Paris, France Indiana Gaffney gasped, her eyes flying open and locking on the glistening object across the hotel room. It reflected the muted television behind her, the French Open final, the red of the court, blurry in the polished silver. A large, round plate, innocuous to the untrained eye, with the sizeable laser carved logo of Roland Garros at the center, was braced against the mirror hanging on the hotel room wall. The mirror reflected the match clearly, the broad steps and fierce rallies of two men battling it out for the French Open Men’s title. But those men were mere afterthoughts as her eye caught a set of shoulders stretching the material of his t-shirt thin, not a mere image from the television, but broad and warm and real. Strong hands slid down her back, fingers twining into the ends of her long blonde hair, tugging on it gently, drawing her gaze away from the mirror and back to the green eyes of the man in her bed. He kissed her soundly, sending shivers down her spine and making her hips rock against his and her legs tighten around his waist. “It’s not gonna disappear if you take your eyes off it,” Jack Harrison muttered into the skin of her neck, nipping at it lightly with his teeth. “Feels like it will,” she whispered back, tilting her head to give him better access. Most of her mind was focused on what he was doing with his hands and mouth, but that plate, the one that declared in no uncertain terms that she was the new French Open junior champion, would not be ignored. Not even for the guy who made her heart pound like no one else ever had before, the guy who, up until a few days ago, could barely look at her without his shoulders slumping with guilt. Their age gap hadn’t shrunk in the days full of soft kisses and nights far more intense — though perhaps not as intense as she’d like — but he wasn’t fighting their attraction anymore. She hadn’t chased him, not really, but he’d known she wanted him, almost from the moment they first met. Then he’d found out how old she was and he started treating her like a flashing red SEVENTEEN was stamped across her forehead, every year between them creating an accompanying foot of distance. In the end, the attraction had been too much, even for someone as painfully good as Jack Harrison. “Hey, Champ, you in there?” Jack’s voice brought her back, his lips spelling out the words against her shoulder. “Champ?” Indy hummed and smiled. “I like the sound of that.” In fact, she liked the sound of it so much she planned on winning again the next chance she got, on the grass courts at Wimbledon. “I bet you do. Get used to it, baby,” Jack said, his whole face lighting up as he shifted his weight forward, tilting her back onto the bed. A shriek bubbled up through her throat and the giggles followed as he leaned over her, bracing himself on his elbows and then smothering her laughter with the press of his mouth. As his tongue slid against hers, she turned herself over to it, letting herself revel in the dreams of future victories and the celebrations that would follow.
book2-publicity-front  Losing At Love Synopsis:
 Grass courts, tennis whites and the fiercest competition in the world. Wimbledon. After two crazy weeks in Paris, the girls of the Outer Banks Tennis Academy are headed to London with just one thing on their minds: winning. Indiana Gaffney is fresh off a surprise win at the French Open junior tournament. Sponsors are clamoring for her attention, but what she wants more than anything—aside from a wild card to Wimbledon—is to be with Jack Harrison, but international fame and a secret relationship rarely mix well. When Penny Harrison dreamed of playing at Wimbledon she never imagined agonizing pain shooting through her ankle with every step. With just a month until the tournament and the whole world expecting her to win, she’s determined to play, with or without the support of her coach or the love of her life, Alex Russell. For the first time ever, no one expects anything from Jasmine Randazzo. After a crushing first-round defeat in the French Open juniors, the tennis world has given up on her, but worse than that, so have her parents, her best friend Teddy and maybe even her coach. With everyone writing her off, can she find it within herself to go after her dreams?
Catch up on the series now with Game. Set. Match:
book1-publicity-front
Screen Shot 2014-08-07 at 3.09.39 PMAbout Jennifer Iacopelli: Jennifer Iacopelli was born in New York and has no plans to leave...ever. Growing up, she read everything she could get her hands on, but her favorite authors were Laura Ingalls Wilder, L.M. Montgomery and Frances Hodgson Burnett all of whom wrote about kick-ass girls before it was cool for girls to be kick-ass. She got a Bachelor's degree in Adolescence Education and English Literature quickly followed up by a Master's in Library Science, which lets her frolic all day with her books and computers, leaving plenty of time in the evenings to write and yell at the Yankees, Giants and her favorite tennis players through the TV.  
Enter Jennifer's Giveaway!!!
  a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, February 23, 2015

Best Kind of Broken (Finding Fate #1) by Chelsea Fine

Title: Best Kind of Broken (Finding Fate #1)
Author: Chelsea Fine
Pages: 352
Genre: New Adult/Romance
Publisher: Forever/Grand Central Publishing
Release Date: March 4, 2014
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo| B&N
Read: February 2014
*Received for review by publisher*

Summary: (Goodreads)

Pixie Marshall wishes every day she could turn back time and fix the past. But she can't. And the damage is done. She's hoping that a summer of free room and board working with her aunt at the Willow Inn will help her forget. Except there's a problem: the resident handyman is none other than Levi Andrews. The handsome quarterback was once her friend-and maybe more-until everything changed in a life-shattering instant. She was hoping to avoid him, possibly forever. Now he's right down the hall and stirring up feelings Pixie thought she'd long buried . . .

Levi can't believe he's living with the one person who holds all his painful memories. More than anything he wants to make things right, but a simple "sorry" won't suffice-not when the tragedy that scarred them was his fault. Levi knows Pixie's better off without him, but every part of him screams to touch her, protect her, wrap her in his arms, and kiss away the pain. Yet even though she's so close, Pixie's heart seems more unreachable than ever. Seeing those stunning green eyes again has made one thing perfectly clear-he can't live without her.


Review: 

This has to be one of my favorite new adult books! Chelsea Fine's writing was flawless. My emotions were everywhere while reading it. I was either laughing out loud at the stuff Pixie was doing that it broke up the sadness and heartbreak between it. Best Kind of Broken will make you fall in love with the characters and the true meaning of love!

Pixie doesn't have a place to go for the summer, so she go to her aunt's inn for room and board, where she will work before heading back to school. What she doesn't expect is to see Levi. It has been almost a year since the terrible accident that happened to them and  they haven't talked about it. They are so torn about it that they want to run away from the past. They are both broken. I had not expected to love this book as much as I did because Pixie and Levi, both have great voices in the book. Levis has to be one of the sweetest male leads ever and has officially joined by book boyfriend lists because he felt real and genuine towards everything that happened. The romance is for sure there and was boiling from the start! Levi and Pixie have so much tension, I was rooting for them from the start!

Told in alternating POV's it was great to get inside their heads because you get to see why they aren't speaking to each other. It is revealed slowly with little flashbacks to their childhood which is really adorable since you can feel their strong connection. Some tears were shed when I reached that point in the book. I loved the secondary characters as well, for example Zack, he was funny, and you can see that he added that extra humor in the book!

Overall, everyone must pick up this book! Best Kind of Broken was beautiful and emotional. I loved Levi and Pixie's relationship because it felt real. Chelsea Fine is one author to look out for because she knows how to hook you in with the story! I can't wait to read the next book in this series!!

5/5

Sunday, February 22, 2015

Giveaway: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

About Red Queen:
Graceling meets The Selection in debut novelist Victoria Aveyard's sweeping tale of seventeen-year-old Mare, a common girl whose once-latent magical power draws her into the dangerous intrigue of the king's palace. Will her power save her or condemn her?

Mare Barrow's world is divided by blood--those with common, Red blood serve the Silver- blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard--a growing Red rebellion--even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal.


Check out my REVIEW!!
Open to US/CAN

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blog Tour: Thoughtful (Thoughtless #1.5) by S.C. Stephens

About THOUGHTFUL
In Thoughtless, Kiera told her story. Now it's time to hear from the sexy rock star who captivated us all . . .
The only place Kellan Kyle has ever felt at home is onstage. Gripping his guitar in a darkened bar, he can forget his painful past. These days his life revolves around three things: music, his bandmates, and hot hookups. Until one woman changes everything . . . Kiera is the kind of girl Kellan has no business wanting-smart, sweet, and dating his best friend. Certain he could never be worthy of her love, he hides his growing attraction . . . until Kiera's own tormented heart hints that his feelings might not be one-sided. Now, no matter the consequences, Kellan is sure of one thing-he won't let Kiera go without a fight.

About S.C. Stephens
S. C. Stephens is a #1 bestselling author who spends her every free moment creating stories that are packed with emotion and heavy on romance.  In addition to writing, she enjoys spending lazy afternoons in the sun reading, listening to music, watching movies, and spending time with her friends and family.  She and her two children reside in the Pacific Northwest. 

S.C. Stephen’s SM:
Twitter: @SC_Stephens_

Buy Links:

Barnes & Noble http://bit.ly/1oaWimC 
Books-A-Millionhttp://bit.ly/169tWjX 
IndieBound http://bit.ly/1AfYQDb 
GooglePlayhttp://bit.ly/1uQgY0W 
Kobohttp://bit.ly/1oVjpwo 

Interview

1. What are five books on your night stand? 
Silver Shadows by Richelle Mead. The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan. Love, in English by Karina Halle. The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black. The Bet by Rachel Van Dyken. 

2. If Kellan and Kiera’s relationship had a theme song, what would it be? 
There are so many good ones, but I always find myself going back to I Can’t Not Love You by Every Avenue.

3. If THOUGHTFUL was being made into a movie, who would you include in your dream cast? 
I’ve grown to love Devin Paisley as Kellan. He definitely has the right look. I’m not sure about the others, except Denny. He’s always been Craig Horner to me.

4. Do you have any hobbies or activities that you enjoy outside of writing? 
I’m a group fitness junkie. I live for my step class! And I’m starting to get into lifting weights, which means I’m sore. A lot. I love that feeling though. I also love sitting on my butt and watching movies all day. Movie-marathon weekends are my favorite!

5. What’s next for you and the series? 
Griffin’s book is coming out later this fall, and then I’m taking a break from the D-Bags crew. I’m not sure how long of a break that will be, since they always seem to draw me back in, but I do have new, really fun projects I’m working on.



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, February 20, 2015

Cover Reveal: Walk on Earth a Stranger (The Gold Seer Trilogy #1) by Rae Carson

This was just revealed today on EpicReads and its looks amazing!!! Can't wait to read this! 

Title: Walk on Earth a Stranger
Author: Rae Carson 
Pages: 432
Genre: Fantasy 
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Release Date: September 22, 2015

Summary: (Goodreads)

The first book in a new trilogy from acclaimed New York Times–bestselling author Rae Carson. A young woman with the magical ability to sense the presence of gold must flee her home, taking her on a sweeping and dangerous journey across Gold Rush–era America. Walk on Earth a Stranger begins an epic saga from one of the finest writers of young adult literature.

Lee Westfall has a secret. She can sense the presence of gold in the world around her. Veins deep beneath the earth, pebbles in the river, nuggets dug up from the forest floor. The buzz of gold means warmth and life and home—until everything is ripped away by a man who wants to control her. Left with nothing, Lee disguises herself as a boy and takes to the trail across the country. Gold was discovered in California, and where else could such a magical girl find herself, find safety?

Rae Carson, author of the acclaimed Girl of Fire and Thorns trilogy, dazzles with the first book in the Gold Seer trilogy, introducing a strong heroine, a perilous road, a fantastical twist, and a slow-burning romance, as only she can.
 

Wednesday, February 18, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Nowhere But Here (Thunder Road #1) by Katie McGarry

Title: Nowhere But Here
Author: Katie McGarry 
Pages: 496
Genre: YA Contemporary 
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Release Date: May 26, 2015

Summary (Goodreads)

An unforgettable new series from acclaimed author Katie McGarry about taking risks, opening your heart and ending up in a place you never imagined possible.

Seventeen-year-old Emily likes her life the way it is: doting parents, good friends, good school in a safe neighborhood. Sure, she's curious about her biological father—the one who chose life in a motorcycle club, the Reign of Terror, over being a parent—but that doesn't mean she wants to be a part of his world. But when a reluctant visit turns to an extended summer vacation among relatives she never knew she had, one thing becomes clear: nothing is what it seems. Not the club, not her secret-keeping father and not Oz, a guy with suck-me-in blue eyes who can help her understand them both. 

Oz wants one thing: to join the Reign of Terror. They're the good guys. They protect people. They're…family. And while Emily—the gorgeous and sheltered daughter of the club's most respected member—is in town, he's gonna prove it to her. So when her father asks him to keep her safe from a rival club with a score to settle, Oz knows it's his shot at his dream. What he doesn't count on is that Emily just might turn that dream upside down. 

No one wants them to be together. But sometimes the right person is the one you least expect, and the road you fear the most is the one that leads you home.



Monday, February 16, 2015

Giveaway: The Breathing Series (Books 1 & 2) by Rebecca Donovan

About the series: (Goodreads)
The Breathing Series is one girl's story of unspeakable cruelty, life-changing love, and her precarious grasp of hope.

Reason to Breathe:
Emma Thomas is hiding a terrible secret. Despite her academic prowess and athletic accomplishments, she focuses on surviving high school by fading into the shadows. Without expecting it, she finds love. It challenges her to recognize her own worth- at the risk of revealing a truth that could destroy everything.

Barely Breathing:
When Emma's torment is horrifyingly exposed, all those involved are still haunted by the memories. The bruises fade, but the scars and fears remain. And while some try to mend the wounds of the past, more secrets are revealed, along with a long-forgotten heartache.

The Breathing Series will have readers gasping until the very last page.

OPEN to USA + CANADA! 
Good luck!! 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Release Day Launch: The Return by Jennifer L. Armentrout

The Return Release Week Blitz banner

We have been dying to bring you the Release Blitz for Jennifer L. Armentrout's THE RETURN! THE RETURN is a New Adult Paranormal Romance and is a part of Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Titan Series. Seth is looking to be just as dangerously delicious as we all hoped!!

The Return - Cover
 

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | iBooks | Booksamillion

THE RETURN Excerpt: 
 I was a half-blood, but I was also the Apollyon, a child of a pure and a half, a union that had been forbidden for thousands of years because an Apollyon was more powerful than any pure or half could ever hope to be. And I always got to the traitors’ hideouts before they did, so the Sentinels were usually left with the cleanup, which I was sure absolutely thrilled them. The first to enter was a female half-blood dressed just as I was. Her black hair was pulled back in a neat little knot at the top of her head. She was older, probably in her mid-thirties. It was pretty rare for a Sentinel to live that long. Her dark skin paled as she stopped just inside the entrance. She clenched titanium daggers in her hands like she expected something vicious to pop out from under the bloody mess. The female Sentinel tipped her chin up, and the overhead light sliced across her broad cheekbones. She bore a jagged scar under her right eye, the skin lighter in tone. She saw me and froze. My smile widened. Behind her, another Sentinel rushed in, almost mowing her over. He saw me and whispered, “Seth.” He’d said my name like I was the monster under his bed, and I sort of liked that. Then another Sentinel and another rolled in. The fifth took one look at my interior design work and keeled over. Slamming his hands on his knees, he hurled up his dinner. Nice. Our society existed completely unknown to the average mortal and had operated under what was known as the Breed Order for thousands of years. The Order had been dismantled, which meant halfs were no longer forced to choose between becoming Sentinels—hunting down violent creatures, protecting pures, enforcing laws, and otherwise usually dying pretty damn quickly on the job—or servants, which was a job that really wasn’t a job, but more like slavery. Since then, many pampered pures had signed on to be Sentinels, making up for the loss of the halfs who’d pretty much said “screw this shit, I’m out.” This wasn’t necessarily a good thing. For example, the dumbass puking all over my blood-covered floor was a pure. When he straightened, his face a greenish hue, he backed away, shaking his head. “I can’t,” he gasped out. “I can’t do this.” Then he turned and hauled ass out the doors.
I sighed. This was why we couldn’t have nice things. 


  THE RETURN Synopsis:
The Fates are cackling their bony asses off... It's been a year since Seth made the deal with the gods that pledged his life to them. And so far, the jobs they've given him have been violent and bloody--which is kind of all right with him. But now Apollo has something else in mind for Seth. He's got to play protector while keeping his hands and fingers off, and for someone who really has a problem with restraint, this new assignment might be the most challenging yet. Josie has no idea what this crazy hot guy's deal might be, but it's a good bet that his arrival means the new life she started after leaving home is about to be thrown into an Olympian-sized blender turned up to puree. Either Josie is going insane or a nightmare straight out of ancient myth is gunning for her. But it might be the unlikely attraction simmering between her and the golden-eyed, secret-keeping Seth that may prove to be the most dangerous thing of all. Because history has once again been flipped to repeat.   


About Jennifer L. Armentrout: # 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki. Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV. She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.  

Website ** Facebook ** Twitter ** Novel Goodreads ** Author Goodreads

 
The Return -- Avaialable Now

Saturday, February 14, 2015

The Winner's Crime (The Winner's Trilogy #2) by Marie Rutkoski

Title: The Winner's Crime (The Winner's Trilogy #2)
Author: Marie Rutkoski
Pages: 352
Genre: Fantasy/YA
Publisher: Farrar Straus Giroux/Raincoast Books
Release Date: March 3, 2015
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo| B&N
*Received for review from publisher*

Summary: (Goodreads)

Book two of the dazzling Winner's Trilogy is a fight to the death as Kestrel risks betrayal of country for love.


The engagement of Lady Kestrel to Valoria’s crown prince means one celebration after another. But to Kestrel it means living in a cage of her own making. As the wedding approaches, she aches to tell Arin the truth about her engagement…if she could only trust him. Yet can she even trust herself? For—unknown to Arin—Kestrel is becoming a skilled practitioner of deceit: an anonymous spy passing information to Herran, and close to uncovering a shocking secret.

As Arin enlists dangerous allies in the struggle to keep his country’s freedom, he can’t fight the suspicion that Kestrel knows more than she shows. In the end, it might not be a dagger in the dark that cuts him open, but the truth. And when that happens, Kestrel and Arin learn just how much their crimes will cost them.

Review:

This book has my emotions in a swirl! I am so torn after reading it that I need to know what is going to happen next!! Marie Rutkoski knows how to hook you into this amazing fantasy that the work was even more expanded that we got to see beyond what was happening. The chemistry and story was even more amazing that I thought it was better than the first book! 

Kestrel is a character who doesn't think of the consequences of her decisions. Especially when Arin is involved. Her love for him blinds her from the truth that she is not thinking the ways she usually does. Kestrel's character development grows as now she is engaged to the Prince of Valoria. Getting back into Arin point of view was interesting because you can see that he was still broken up about Kestrel leaving him, but he knows that she loves him, even though she won't admit it. But they are both reckless as well since many other minor characters die for their mistakes. But their chemistry was through the roof!! I had butterflies in my stomach during some scenes. 

The friendship with Jess, has been rough since what was seen in The Winner's Curse. Jess is mad at Kestrel or even warned her about what was happening. But she has become broken and she doesn't trust herself around Kestrel or her family. The Winner's Crime had more torture that both Kestrel and Arin face throughout the book. She even learns the downfalls of becoming an Empress and how she is playing a game. Rutkoski has a way of making you understand the characters and I read it so fast that I never wanted it to end because of that hangover!

I loved this book so much! Pre-order this book immediately because it was phenomenal and it will look amazing on the shelf next to The Winner's Curse. Marie Rutkoski is one author to look out for because of the amazing plot and characters that she has created. It was twisty and full of emotion that it can possibly make you cry. It feels like you are literally sucked into the story and have a book hangover by the end of the book. Now I need The Winner's Kiss (2016) is soo far away!! 

5/5

If you loved The Winner's Trilogy..

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson 
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas 

Thursday, February 12, 2015

Cover Reveal: Ice Like Fire (Snow Like Fire #2) by Sara Raasch

About ICE LIKE FIRE:

It’s been three months since the Winterians were freed and Spring’s king, Angra, disappeared—thanks largely to the help of Cordell.
Meira just wants her people to be safe. When Cordellan debt forces the Winterians to dig their mines for payment, they unearth something powerful and possibly dangerous: Primoria’s lost chasm of magic. Theron sees this find as an opportunity—with this much magic, the world can finally stand against threats like Angra. But Meira fears the danger the chasm poses—the last time the world had access to so much magic, it spawned the Decay. So when the king of Cordell orders the two on a mission across the kingdoms of Primoria to discover the chasm’s secrets, Meira plans to use the trip to garner support to keep the chasm shut and Winter safe—even if it means clashing with Theron. But can she do so without endangering the people she loves?
Mather just wants to be free. The horrors inflicted on the Winterians hang fresh and raw in Januari—leaving Winter vulnerable to Cordell’s growing oppression. When Meira leaves to search for allies, he decides to take Winter’s security into his own hands. Can he rebuild his broken kingdom and protect them from new threats?
As the web of power and deception weaves tighter, Theron fights for magic, Mather fights for freedom—and Meira starts to wonder if she should be fighting not just for Winter, but for the world.
Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch goes on sale October 13, 2015!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...