Thursday, April 30, 2015

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Pages: 432
Genre: Fantasy, Fairy Tale Retelling
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's/RazorbillCA
Release Date: May 5, 2015
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo| B&N

Summary (Goodreads)

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


Review:

Sarah J. Maas you are amazing at writing books because like the Throne of Glass series, I was instantly hooked !! This is a Fae retelling of Beauty and the Beast which was haunting and compelling! Tamlin has to be one of my favorite male leads (HOT) and her characters are strong and fierce! .  Sarah J. Maas is a brilliant writer who knows how to hook you in immediately and finish her books in one day. 

When nineteen year old Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, she later finds out that it was a faerie in disguise. Torn away from her family, she is forced to live with her captor, Tamlin on his estate. She doesn't trust Tamlin and his court but as time goes on she begins to learn more about their world as well as a curse that has fallen upon their land. 

What I liked most about this book was how well developed the characters were. Feyre is smart, strong and wants to help provide for her family. Tamlin may have taken a while but it was totally worth the wait. He is hot, swoony and just knows how to make you smile.  The book definitely has some steamy parts and took things to a new level than her other series (Throne of Glass) but it was totally appreciated because I kinda fell in love with him. Then Rhys who also surprised me with his wit and his friendship with Tamlin. I look forward to seeing more of his character in the next book! 

This is one of my favorites of the year! I recommend any of Sarah J. Maas' books because they are full of fantasy, romance and mystery! The world building in this book was created like you can imagine it right in front of you which is easy to do with her books.  This retelling of Beauty and the Beast will blow you away with its strong writing and amazing characters. Overall, A Court of Thorns and Roses will appeal to readers who love the elements of romance, action, and a lot more! I am very excited to see what Sarah has up her sleeve for the sequel! 

5/5

Wednesday, April 29, 2015

Cora Carmacks Special Announcement!!

HERE’S THE SCOOP!

Fans of Cora Carmack’s Rusk University, we have a SUPER exciting announcement:

ALL CLOSED OFF Coming 2016
 

ALL CLOSED OFF, Book 4 in the Rusk University Series, is coming!!!

Check out this message from Cora!

*WARNING: This letter contains spoilers for All Broke Down. If you haven't yet read that book, read at your own peril. SECOND WARNING: this letter talks about fictional characters as if they are real people. Sorry I'm not sorry. THIRD WARNING: The letter below broaches a serious topic that could be a trigger for some people*
Hello beloved readers! 

The first person who read one of my Rusk University books was my older sister. I gave her All Lined Up when I finished, and her first question was "Are Ryan and Stella going to be together?"
At the time, I told her no. I had plans for both of them that included their own storylines. I thought they were too much alike. They'd make great friends. They might even hook-up, but in the end... I couldn't envision anything serious for them. So I actually rewrote some of their scenes trying to make that aspect of their connection more obvious. And still, when All Lined Up released, amidst the chatter about sweet Carson and sassy Dallas, I had people asking if Stella and Ryan were next. I denied it again (and again and again). 
But sometimes in writing, the stars align and a character will become bigger and more real than you could have possibly imagined. It's a wonderful experience, but in Stella's case it was also incredibly heartbreaking. While I was writing All Broke Down, the news was inundated with information about the Steubenville rape trial and other tragedies and injustices like it. Tragedies where women have been violated first by an attacker, then by judgmental and hateful people, and finally by a justice system that repeatedly fails survivors of sexual assault. Having grown up in Texas, where too often football stars are treated like gods and can get away with just about anything, it hit particularly close to home. And since All Broke Down featured a passionate activist heroine, I felt compelled to reference this chronic dark underbelly of elite sports. 
I can remember vividly sitting on my couch, brainstorming how I would incorporate such an event into the book. I had thought the assault would happen to an unknown character, and maybe I would focus on the way it divided the team and the school and the town. But like I said... Sometimes a character will become bigger and more human than I anticipated. And it sounds crazy, but in my mind, I felt Stella push her way forward and say, "Mine. This is my story." I immediately began to cry. Sob, really. Because I loved her as a character. She was hilarious and strong and didn't take crap from anyone. She was everything I always hope to be. And I didn't want her to go through that. Even as I cried, my brain began to tell me that it made sense. Stella was vibrant and enjoyed a wild party. She was not afraid of her sexuality, and she had no problem with casual sex. She was the kind of girl that probably had a reputation. The kind of girl who could be heinously and violently taken advantage of, and people would STILL blame her. Because she was in the wrong place, wearing the wrong clothes, behaving in the wrong way. But just because it COULD happen to her, didn't mean I wanted it to. But once again, Stella was there in my head saying, "Someone needs to tell this story. And I'm strong enough to do it. Let me." And when Stella chose her story, she also chose the man I'd been adamant wasn't right for her. Because as it turns out... Those two characters who I thought were too alike aren't so alike anymore. And Stella needs Ryan to help her hold on to that vibrant and strong girl she was before. 
So I let go of all the plans I had for her, and allowed her to tell me her story, which is about more than just sexual assault. It's about the aftermath. Depression. Shame. Guilt. Anger. Injustice. Victim-blaming. Slut-shaming. It's about the way that kind of event can change everything-- how you relate to people, how you think, how you dream, how you love. It's about the way the rest of the world moves on to the next big tragedy, and you're still left holding the broken pieces of who you used to be, with no idea how to put them together again or even if you want to. It will be the most difficult story I ever tell. And the most important. Because it’s a story that belongs not just to Stella, but to millions of people around the world. It’s a story that belongs to a new person every 107 seconds*. And that’s just in the United States. Think about that for a moment. 107 seconds. Stella’s story won’t be any easier to read than it will be to write. But I hope you’ll help me drag this story into the light. 
So now I’ll step off my soapbox and just tell you about the book… 
*WARNING: This letter contains spoilers for All Broke Down. If you haven't yet read that book, read at your own peril. SECOND WARNING: this letter talks about fictional characters as if they are real people. Sorry I'm not sorry. THIRD WARNING: The letter below broaches a serious topic that could be a trigger for some people*

Hello beloved readers! 

The first person who read one of my Rusk University books was my older sister. I gave her All Lined Up when I finished, and her first question was "Are Ryan and Stella going to be together?" 
At the time, I told her no. I had plans for both of them that included their own storylines. I thought they were too much alike. They'd make great friends. They might even hook-up, but in the end... I couldn't envision anything serious for them. So I actually rewrote some of their scenes trying to make that aspect of their connection more obvious. And still, when All Lined Up released, amidst the chatter about sweet Carson and sassy Dallas, I had people asking if Stella and Ryan were next. I denied it again (and again and again). 
But sometimes in writing, the stars align and a character will become bigger and more real than you could have possibly imagined. It's a wonderful experience, but in Stella's case it was also incredibly heartbreaking. While I was writing All Broke Down, the news was inundated with information about the Steubenville rape trial and other tragedies and injustices like it. Tragedies where women have been violated first by an attacker, then by judgmental and hateful people, and finally by a justice system that repeatedly fails survivors of sexual assault. Having grown up in Texas, where too often football stars are treated like gods and can get away with just about anything, it hit particularly close to home. And since All Broke Down featured a passionate activist heroine, I felt compelled to reference this chronic dark underbelly of elite sports. 
I can remember vividly sitting on my couch, brainstorming how I would incorporate such an event into the book. I had thought the assault would happen to an unknown character, and maybe I would focus on the way it divided the team and the school and the town. But like I said... Sometimes a character will become bigger and more human than I anticipated. And it sounds crazy, but in my mind, I felt Stella push her way forward and say, "Mine. This is my story." I immediately began to cry. Sob, really. Because I loved her as a character. She was hilarious and strong and didn't take crap from anyone. She was everything I always hope to be. And I didn't want her to go through that. Even as I cried, my brain began to tell me that it made sense. Stella was vibrant and enjoyed a wild party. She was not afraid of her sexuality, and she had no problem with casual sex. She was the kind of girl that probably had a reputation. The kind of girl who could be heinously and violently taken advantage of, and people would STILL blame her. Because she was in the wrong place, wearing the wrong clothes, behaving in the wrong way. But just because it COULD happen to her, didn't mean I wanted it to. But once again, Stella was there in my head saying, "Someone needs to tell this story. And I'm strong enough to do it. Let me." And when Stella chose her story, she also chose the man I'd been adamant wasn't right for her. Because as it turns out... Those two characters who I thought were too alike aren't so alike anymore. And Stella needs Ryan to help her hold on to that vibrant and strong girl she was before. 
So I let go of all the plans I had for her, and allowed her to tell me her story, which is about more than just sexual assault. It's about the aftermath. Depression. Shame. Guilt. Anger. Injustice. Victim-blaming. Slut-shaming. It's about the way that kind of event can change everything-- how you relate to people, how you think, how you dream, how you love. It's about the way the rest of the world moves on to the next big tragedy, and you're still left holding the broken pieces of who you used to be, with no idea how to put them together again or even if you want to. It will be the most difficult story I ever tell. And the most important. Because it’s a story that belongs not just to Stella, but to millions of people around the world. It’s a story that belongs to a new person every 107 seconds*. And that’s just in the United States. Think about that for a moment. 107 seconds. Stella’s story won’t be any easier to read than it will be to write. But I hope you’ll help me drag this story into the light. 

So now I’ll step off my soapbox and just tell you about the book… 
#WhenitHappened banner

ALL CLOSED OFF:
Stella Santos is fine. 
Maybe something terrible happened to her that she can’t even remember. And maybe it drives her crazy when her friends treat her like she’s on the verge of breaking because of it. Maybe it feels even worse when they do what she asks and pretend that it never happened at all. And maybe she’s been getting harassing emails and messages for months from people who don’t even know her, but hate her all the same. 
But none of that matters because she’s just fine
For Ryan Blake, Stella was always that girl. Vibrant and hilarious and beautiful. He wanted her as his best friend. His more than friends. His everything and anything that she would give him. Which these days is a whole lot of nothing. She gets angry when he’s there. Angry when he’s not there. Angry when he tries to talk and when he doesn’t.  
When Stella devises an unconventional art project for one of her classes all about exploring intimacy—between both friends and strangers—Ryan finds himself stepping in as guinea pig after one of her subjects bails. What was supposed to be an objective and artistic look at emotion and secrets and sex suddenly becomes much more personal. When he hits it off with another girl from the project, Stella will have to decide if she’s willing to do more than make art about intimacy. To keep him, she’ll have to open up and let herself be the one thing she swore she’d never be again. 
Vulnerable. 
*****
ALL CLOSED OFF will be releasing sometime in early 2016. I don't have a date yet for several reasons. The first and most important, is that I want to do this story justice. And as such, I have no intentions of rushing the process. Secondly, I'll be returning to indie publishing for the remainder of the Rusk series. As you can probably tell, this story means a great deal to me. And by having the ultimate control over everything from timing to editing to price, I'll be able to ensure that I'm able to create exactly the story I envision. Unfortunately, that means you won't be seeing the paperback of ALL CLOSED OFF on the shelves in most stores. Nor is it currently available for pre-order. But I hope you'll add the book on goodreads, follow me on social media, and/or join my newsletter. I promise to shout it all over the place when I have a set release date or pre-order links. 
Thank you for listening as I told you the evolution of Stella's story. When it's finished, I hope you will feel as passionately about it as I do. 
All my best, 
Cora Carmack 
*Statistic from RAINN (Rape, Abuse, Incest National Network)

And an opportunity to add your voice to Stella’s…

Stella’s experience is only one story of many. She was with someone she trusted when it happened, and the only memories she has are pieced together from her own blurred recollections and the things people have told her.  Not everyone’s experience with sexual assault is the same. Each person reacts, copes, and overcomes differently. And while this book is about one specific character’s journey, I would like to tell as many sides of this story as possible. As Stella grapples with her thoughts and emotions she’ll be searching for advice, for comfort, for a place where people understand her and can identify with what she’s experiencing. There will be room for truth within the fiction, and if you’d like that truth to be yours, this is your chance.
If you have a story like Stella’s, and you want your voice to be heard….
If there’s something you wish more people understood about what you’ve gone through….
If there’s something you’d like to tell people struggling with a story like yours…
I’d like to give you the opportunity to add your voice to Stella’s. Use the hashtag #WhenItHappened and let your voice be heard on your own by posting on your own social media, or if you’d rather I share your words fill out this google document and tell me your story. You can fill out this form anonymously or not. I’d like to begin this discussion now because April is Sexual Assault Awareness Month. But my hope is to include as many stories as possible within the book itself.
So many have stories of #WhenItHappened. Your voice and your story deserve to be heard. I’m listening.
#WhenItHappened Google Formhttp://goo.gl/forms/4VRjWgZYSW
HeadshotABOUT Cora Carmack:
Cora Carmack is a twenty-something New York Times bestselling author who likes to write about twenty-something characters. She's done a multitude of things in her life-- boring jobs (like working retail), Fun jobs (like working in a theatre), stressful jobs (like teaching), and dream jobs (like writing). She now splits her time between Austin, TX and New York City and spends her days writing, traveling, and spending way too much time on the internet. In her books, you can expect to find humor, heart, and a whole lot of awkward. Because let’s face it . . . awkward people need love, too. 

Website ** Twitter ** Facebook **Newsletter **Author Goodreads

  z-InkSlinger Blogger

Waiting on Wednesday: Until Friday Night (The Field Party #1) by Abbi Glines

Title: Until Friday Night (The Field Party #1)
Author: Abbi Glines
Pages: 352
Genre: Teen/Contemporary
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Release Date: August 25, 2015

Summary (Goodreads)

To everyone who knows him, West Ashby has always been that guy: the cocky, popular, way-too-handsome-for-his-own-good football god who led Lawton High to the state championships. But while West may be Big Man on Campus on the outside, on the inside he’s battling the grief that comes with watching his father slowly die of cancer.

Two years ago, Maggie Carleton’s life fell apart when her father murdered her mother. And after she told the police what happened, she stopped speaking and hasn’t spoken since. Even the move to Lawton, Alabama, couldn’t draw Maggie back out. So she stayed quiet, keeping her sorrow and her fractured heart hidden away.

As West’s pain becomes too much to handle, he knows he needs to talk to someone about his father—so in the dark shadows of a post-game party, he opens up to the one girl who he knows won’t tell anyone else.

West expected that talking about his dad would bring some relief, or at least a flood of emotions he couldn’t control. But he never expected the quiet new girl to reply, to reveal a pain even deeper than his own—or for them to form a connection so strong that he couldn’t ever let her go…
 

Monday, April 27, 2015

Release Day Blitz: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir + Giveaway!




I am so excited that AN EMBER IN THE ASHES by Sabaa Tahir releases today and that I get to share the news, along with a special introduction from Sabaa herself!

If you haven’t yet heard about this wonderful book by Author Sabaa Tahir, be sure to check out all the details below.
This blitz also includes a giveaway for a signed copies of the book and some of those awesome sword letter openers we’ve seen around courtesy of Sabaa, Penguin Teen, and Rockstar Book Tours. So if you’d like a chance to win, enter in the Rafflecopter at the bottom of this post.


A letter from Sabaa Tahir.


Dear Readers,

Today, my “baby” AN EMBER IN THE ASHES is finally out in the world! From inception to pub date, this journey took eight years. And what a journey it was: writing, rewriting, revising, editing, querying, submitting; Meeting other debuts, bloggers, booksellers and librarians, and hearing their thoughts on EMBER. There aren’t enough superlatives to describe the radness.

And now, the book is here! I am so excited to see it in the hands of readers. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it. To celebrate release day, I’m giving away two signed, first-edition hardcovers of the book. Details below!

All my best,


Sabaa

Title: AN EMBER IN THE ASHES
Author: Sabaa Tahir
Pub. Date: April 28, 2015
Publisher: Razorbill
Pages: 464
Set in a terrifyingly brutal Rome-like world, An Ember in the Ashes is an epic fantasy debut about an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It’s a story that’s literally burning to be told.

LAIA is a Scholar living under the iron-fisted rule of the Martial Empire. When her brother is arrested for treason, Laia goes undercover as a slave at the empire’s greatest military academy in exchange for assistance from rebel Scholars who claim that they will help to save her brother from execution.

ELIAS is the academy’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias is considering deserting the military, but before he can, he’s ordered to participate in a ruthless contest to choose the next Martial emperor.

When Laia and Elias’s paths cross at the academy, they find that their destinies are more intertwined than either could have imagined and that their choices will change the future of the empire itself.

MY REVIEW --->>> CLICK HERE

Check out the book trailer!




About Sabaa:
Sabaa Tahir grew up in California’s Mojave Desert at her family’s 18-room motel. There, she spent her time devouring fantasy novels, raiding her brother’s comic book stash and playing guitar badly. She began writing An Ember in the Ashes while working nights as a newspaper editor. She likes thunderous indie rock, garish socks and all things nerd. Sabaa currently lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her family.








Giveaway Details:

2 winners will receive a signed hardcover of AN EMBER IN THE ASHES. US Only.

3 winners will receive a hardcover of AN EMBER IN THE ASHES and a Sword Letter Opener! US Only.

Ends on May 9th at Midnight EST!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Saturday, April 25, 2015

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Title: An Ember in the Ashes
Author: Sabaa Tahir
Pages: 443
Genre: Fantasy (YA)
Publisher: Razorbill
Release Date: April 28, 2015
Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo| B&N
*Received e-ARC for honest review*
Summary (Goodreads)

Set in a terrifyingly brutal Rome-like world, An Ember in the Ashes is an epic fantasy debut about an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It’s a story that’s literally burning to be told.

LAIA is a Scholar living under the iron-fisted rule of the Martial Empire. When her brother is arrested for treason, Laia goes undercover as a slave at the empire’s greatest military academy in exchange for assistance from rebel Scholars who claim that they will help to save her brother from execution.

ELIAS is the academy’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias is considering deserting the military, but before he can, he’s ordered to participate in a ruthless contest to choose the next Martial emperor.

When Laia and Elias’s paths cross at the academy, they find that their destinies are more intertwined than either could have imagined and that their choices will change the future of the empire itself.


Review: 

Sabaa Tahir, I have a serious book hangover after reading this amazing debut! This book really does destroy you because I already need more to this book! It has to be one of favorite fantasy books that I have read! Hope that there is more from Sabaa from this creative world because it was addicting! From the moment I read the synopsis I had a good feeling this book will be amazing! 

An Ember in the Ashes pulls you in immediately right from the start when you meet the main character, Laia. What happens to her family (brother) is heartbreaking and will leave you thinking what is going on and the different society this book endures. Laia's situation was to find the Scholar Rebellion in order to get her brother back during the raid from the Martial Empire who is holding him for trial. 

I loved reading from bother Laia and Elias (academies finest soldier) points of views because there was no confusion with the story line and the transition between the two didn't want you to put the book down. The story was smooth and easy to read since it didn't always left were it left off in the previous character points of view. The world Sabaa Tahir created is easy to imagine and the details were perfect. (since I had the e-book it was a little different to view it with the map). 


Now to the interactions/chemistry between Laia and Elias, though it wasn't a lot you can feel the tension at some points of the book. It was not a strong romantic book were we see these two characters meet but it had more action and plot twists that as you see both Laia and Elias characters grow even bigger. There was also Laia's relationship with Kennan where you can see a different side to both the rebellion and her trust in Elias as well. 

While many things happened that will make you speechless by the end of the book, you will want to wish there was a second book! Sabaa Tahir is an amazing writer and I am already wishing for a sequel because that ending O_O. I can tell you that I had a book hangover that lasted a few days. I couldn't pick up a book for a few days!! Overall, get this book on April 28, you will love it and reread it over and over!! 

5/5

Wednesday, April 22, 2015

The Deal (Off-Campus #1) by Elle Kennedy

Title: The Deal (Off-Campus #1)
Author: Elle Kennedy
Pages: 358
Genre: New Adult/Romance
Release Date: February 24, 2015
Buy: Amazon| Kobo

Summary (Goodreads)

She’s about to make a deal with the college bad boy... 

Hannah Wells has finally found someone who turns her on. But while she might be confident in every other area of her life, she’s carting around a full set of baggage when it comes to sex and seduction. If she wants to get her crush’s attention, she’ll have to step out of her comfort zone and make him take notice... even if it means tutoring the annoying, childish, cocky captain of the hockey team in exchange for a pretend date. 

...and it’s going to be oh so good. 

All Garrett Graham has ever wanted is to play professional hockey after graduation, but his plummeting GPA is threatening everything he’s worked so hard for. If helping a sarcastic brunette make another guy jealous will help him secure his position on the team, he’s all for it. But when one unexpected kiss leads to the wildest sex of both their lives, it doesn't take long for Garrett to realize that pretend isn't going to cut it. Now he just has to convince Hannah that the man she wants looks a lot like him.


Review: 

This has to be one of my favorite new adult books this year! To be honest I wasn't actually going to read it but I had already heard good things from other bloggers and decided why not! Boy was I wrong! I should have started it right away! The Deal definitely lives up to the hype because it was HOT and the plot was plan addictive! So glad I read it because I read it in a day. The plot may sound similar to other books but once you start you will discover that it was sweet, moving and sexy! All the Feels!

I did love how it alternates chapters between Hannah and Garrett, because their point of views were important. Hannah is a gifted music star who has a crush on a boy in Ethics class. Then enters our very cocky hockey captain who needs Hannah's help tutoring him because he just failed the test. He is the big man on campus who looks at her in  a new light and falls for her.

Throughout the book you can start seeing that these two do have lots in common and are starting to like each other more than just friends. It was a fun light read that made me crave more of their story. Both Hannah and Garrett have gone through traumatic events because she is still trying to move on from that issue. I really liked Hannah because she is the one person who can see through Garrett and discover his personality to get to know the real him. Garrett's story was very well developed which I really liked seeing his family life to move on from his drama. Elle also addresses some major issues that happen a lot in our society. But what happens to Garrett and Hannah in the past has an effect on who they are today.

Elle Kennedy did an amazing job with the story and the direction it took. The romance in some parts were OMG and some will feel like "Why are you doing this to me"! It just kept me to flip through the pages so fast that I wanted to know what was going to happen because I got so into the story.

If you haven't added this to your TBR list I recommend you get it immediate! I am very excited to read the next book in the series: The Mistake (Logan's Story). Basically go get this book right now! You won't regret it! I was totally swooned by this book!

Monday, April 20, 2015

Things We Know by Heart by Jessi Kirby

Title: Things We Know by Heart
Author: Jessi Kirby
Pages: 304
Genre: YA Contemporary
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: April 21, 2015
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo| B&N
*Received from publisher for honest review*

Summary (Goodreads)

When Quinn Sullivan meets the recipient of her boyfriend’s donated heart, the two form an unexpected connection.

After Quinn loses her boyfriend, Trent, in an accident their junior year, she reaches out to the recipients of his donated organs in hopes of picking up the pieces of her now-unrecognizable life. She hears back from some of them, but the person who received Trent’s heart has remained silent. The essence of a person, she has always believed, is in the heart. If she finds Trent’s, then maybe she can have peace once and for all.

Risking everything in order to finally lay her memories to rest, Quinn goes outside the system to track down nineteen-year-old Colton Thomas—a guy whose life has been forever changed by this priceless gift. But what starts as an accidental run-in quickly develops into more, sparking an undeniable attraction. She doesn't want to give in to it—especially since he has no idea how they're connected—but their time together has made Quinn feel alive again. No matter how hard she’s falling for Colton, each beat of his heart reminds her of all she’s lost…and all that remains at stake.
 


Review:

I pretty much devoured this book in one sitting. Jessi Kirby is one of my favorite contemporary writers because she is great at connecting you to her characters and hooking you in with an incredible story about loss and love. Things We Know by Heart is a novel that can make you cry straight from the beginning, and eventually make you smile/grin by the end. My heart is bursting after reading it because it was beautiful, and then fills your heart with butterflies.

Quinn Sullivan has lost her long-time boyfriend Trent in an accident, so she reaches out to the people whose lives were saved by his organs. Everyone replied except the boy who received his heart. So she found him by herself and finds where he lives and it turns to be more than she thought it would be. From the very beginning I felt her pain that she was going through, and it was interesting that she found all the people who lives were saved by Trent. Jessi Kirby definitely knows how to connect you to the character because it made you feel everything. The pain of her loss, the frustration of not getting a response (Colton) and that she will not be able to move on. 

Colton has had a hard time since he received his new heart and move on from what happened, He has to be careful about what he does and take meds. When he meets Quinn it gives him the opportunity to be himself and be normal. Their friendship/relationship between them was very convincing in that both needed to overcome what they were going through. There was some swoony parts that make you love Colton and what he does on their date! 

The secondary characters were very supportive to Quinn. I loved her grandmother who was funny and Ryan her sister who knows her sister and calls her out when she is not okay. As Quinn is starting to move on the reality of what she did comes to the surface and Ryan helps her work through them. Quinn's family is very important to the story because they were also concerned with her behavior and also give advice for her.  

If you are need of a great story with well developed characters read this book! Jessi Kirby will grab you from the first page of any of her beautifully written books!Things We Know by Heart will speak to you and bring you to tears that you will want to reread it again! I am looking forward to her next book since they are fun and romantic reads! 


5/5

Thursday, April 16, 2015

Blog Tour: Play On by Michelle Smith (Top Ten)

Title: Play On
Author: Michelle Smith
Pages: 258
Genre: YA
Publisher: Spencer Hill Contemporary
Release Date: April 21, 2015
 
Summary (Goodreads)
 
In the small town of Lewis Creek, baseball is everything. Especially for all-star pitcher Austin Braxton, who has a one-way ticket out of town with his scholarship to a top university. All that stands between him and a new start is one final season. But when Austin starts flunking Chemistry, his picture-perfect future is in jeopardy. A failing grade means zero playing time, and zero playing time means no scholarship.

Enter Marisa Marlowe, the new girl in town who gets a job at his momma's flower shop. Not only is Marisa some home-schooled super-genius; she's also a baseball fanatic and more than willing to help Austin study. As the two grow closer, there's something about Marisa that makes Austin want more than just baseball and out of Lewis Creek -- he wants a future with her. But Marisa has a past that still haunts her, one that she ran all the way to South Carolina to escape.

As Austin starts to peel back the layers of Marisa’s pain, it forces him to look beyond the fa├žade of himself and everyone he thought he knew in his town. What he sees instead is that in a small town like Lewis Creek, maybe baseball isn’t everything—maybe it is just the thing that ties them all together.
Top Ten Songs for PLAY ON

We Run This Town by Luke Bryan
“From crazy kids to dirt-road kings.”
In Lewis Creek, baseball is everything. And the players? They’re treated like gods. When I hear this song, I immediately think of the team because they do pretty much run their town.
We Rode In Trucks” by Luke Bryan
Austin was born and raised in a tiny town, where everybody knows everybody. Lewis Creek is full of dirt roads and open fields and pick-up trucks. The guys Austin played tee ball with are the same ones who’ll stand beside him at graduation. For him, this song could absolutely be a dedication to Lewis Creek.
The Outsiders” by Eric Church
I listened to this one a lot while writing game scenes. The guys shift into a different mode when it’s game time: They’re focused. Pumped. And they’re ready to have each other’s backs (which comes in handy at one point—WAIT I’VE SAID TOO MUCH.).
Young, Dumb, and In Love by Matt Kearney
Austin and Marisa are goofy, and they’re fun, and they’re slightly dorky and cheesy at times, which I love. This song is pure FUN and just makes me smile.
Kiss Me Slowly” by Parachute
Yes, there is a first kiss in Play On. Yes, I listened to this song over, and over, and over again while writing that scene. And yes, I really, really love it.
Say Something by A Great Big World
Ohhh, yeahI went there. While Play On has plenty of fun moments, it also hits on some tough ones. This song came into play for one of those tough moments.
Counting Stars” by Augustana
“’Til you’re back in my arms, I’ll be waiting up, counting the stars.”
BUT. Then we go into this song, which is an absolutely, positively perfect follow-up. 
Play On” by Carrie Underwood
You will never, ever, ever guess where the title came from. EVER. It did come from this song, and for good reason. Just…listen. Because it’s perfect.
Want Crazy” by Hunter Hayes
This. Song. I wrote an entire chapter to it. Like the Matt Kearney song above, it’s SO much fun.
We Are Tonight” by Billy Currington
This is another song that makes me think of the guys.Austin has such an awesome relationship with his friends, and I love their bond just as much as I love the relationship between him and Marisa. They have SUCH a blast whenever they’re together, and this song encompasses that perfectly.

Author Bio
Michelle Smith was born and raised in North Carolina, where she developed a healthy appreciation for college football, sweet tea, front porches, and a well-placed “y’all.” She’s a lover of all things happy, laughs way too much, and fully believes that a little bit of kindness goes a long way.
Michelle lives near the Carolina coast with her family.
Author Social Media Links:
a Rafflecopter giveaway
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...