Wednesday, July 29, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Riders by Veronica Rossi

Title: Riders (Riders #1)
Author: Veronica Rossi 
Pages: 384
Publisher: Tor Teen/Raincoast Books
Release Date: February 16, 2016

Summary (Goodreads)

For eighteen-year-old Gideon Blake, nothing but death can keep him from achieving his goal of becoming a U.S. Army Ranger. As it turns out, it does.

Recovering from the accident that most definitely killed him, Gideon finds himself with strange new powers and a bizarre cuff he can’t remove. His death has brought to life his real destiny. He has become War, one of the legendary four horsemen of the apocalypse.
Over the coming weeks, he and the other horsemen—Conquest, Famine and Death—are brought together by a beautiful but frustratingly secretive girl to help save humanity from an ancient evil on the emergence.
They fail.

Now—bound, bloodied, and drugged—Gideon is interrogated by the authorities about his role in a battle that has become an international incident. If he stands any chance of saving his friends and the girl he’s fallen for—not to mention all of humankind—he needs to convince the skeptical government officials the world is in imminent danger.
But will anyone believe him?


Look at that cover!!! 

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Release Week Blitz: Every Last Breath by Jennifer L. Armentrout

The Epic Finale in Jennifer L. Armentrout’s

Dark Elements Series...Who Will She Choose?

ELB Teaser 3
 

Every choice has consequences—but seventeen-year-old Layla faces tougher choices than most. Light or darkness. Wickedly sexy demon prince Roth, or Zayne, the gorgeous, protective Warden she never thought could be hers. Hardest of all, Layla has to decide which side of herself to trust.

Don't miss the conclusion to this stunning Young Adult Paranormal series filled with danger and romance published by HarlequinTEEN.

Grab your copy today!

Amazon ** Barnes and Noble ** iBooks ** IndieBound ** Kobo ** BAM

 
9780373211142_prd_proof_FC  EVERY LAST BREATH Synopsis: Some loves will last ‘til your dying breath Every choice has consequences—but seventeen-year-old Layla faces tougher choices than most. Light or darkness. Wickedly sexy demon prince Roth, or Zayne, the gorgeous, protective Warden she never thought could be hers. Hardest of all, Layla has to decide which side of herself to trust. Layla has a new problem, too. A Lilin—the deadliest of demons—has been unleashed, wreaking havoc on those around her…including her best friend. To keep Sam from a fate much, much worse than death, Layla must strike a deal with the enemy while saving her city—and her race—from destruction. Torn between two worlds and two different boys, Layla has no certainties, least of all survival, especially when an old bargain comes back to haunt them all. But sometimes, when secrets are everywhere and the truth seems unknowable, you have to listen to your heart, pick a side—and then fight like hell…

Amazon ** Barnes and Noble ** iBooks ** IndieBound ** Kobo ** BAM

 
“Armentrout is a major talent…I just can’t stop reading!”
--New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter
“Armentrout works her magic with swoon-worthy guys and a twist you never see coming.”
--#1 New York Times bestselling author Abbi Glines on White Hot Kiss
image2
 

And don’t miss the first titles in the Dark Elements Series!

BITTER SWEET LOVE

Amazon ** Barnes and Noble ** iBooks ** BAM ** Kobo

WHITE HOT KISS

Amazon ** Barnes and Noble ** BAM ** iBooks ** IndieBound ** Kobo

STONE COLD TOUCH

Amazon ** Barnes and Noble ** iBooks ** IndieBound ** Kobo ** BAM

JLA_Author-photo  About Jennifer L. Armentrout: # 1 New York Times and # 1 International Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing, she spends her time reading, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki. Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV. Her young adult romantic suspense novel DON’T LOOK BACK was a 2014 nominated Best in Young Adult Fiction by YALSA. She also writes Adult and New Adult contemporary and paranormal romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.

Website ** Facebook ** Twitter ** Novel Goodreads ** Author Goodreads



EVERY LAST BREATH Excerpt 
Roth cleared his throat. “Shortie, look…look at your hand.”
Look at my hand? Why in the world would he be asking me to do that in the midst of all the cray?
“Do it,” he said quietly and too gently.
The dread exploded in my gut like buckshot, and my gaze dropped to my left hand. I expected to see the weird marbling of black and gray, a mixture of the demon and Warden that existed inside of me and a combination I’d become almost familiar with by now. My nails had lengthened and sharpened, and I could tell they were hard enough to cut through steel, as hard as my skin, but my skin…it was still pink. Really pink.
“What the…?” My gaze traveled to my other hand. It was the same. Just pink. My wings twitched, reminding me that I had shifted.
Zayne swallowed. “Your…your wings…”
“What about my wings?” I almost screeched, reaching be‑ hind me. “Are they broken? Did they not come out—” The tips of my fingers came into contact with something as soft as silk. My hand jerked back. “What…”
Stacey’s watery eyes had doubled in size. “Um, Layla, there’s a mirror above the fireplace. I think you need to look in it.”
I met Roth’s gaze for a second before I spun around and all but ran to the fireplace I was sure Stacey’s mom had never used. Clutching the white mantel, I stared at my reflection.
I looked normal, like I did before I shifted…like I was going to class or something. My eyes were the palest shade of gray, a watered-down blue. My hair was so blond it was almost white, and a mess of waves that went in every direction like usual. I looked like a colorless china doll, which was nothing new, except for the two fangs jutting out of my mouth. I wouldn’t show them off at school, but that wasn’t what caught my attention and held it.
It was my wings.
They were large, not as massive as Zayne’s or Roth’s, and normally they were almost leathery in texture, but now they were black…black and feathered. Like legit feathered. That soft, silky thing I’d felt? It had been tiny feathers.
Feathers.
“Oh my God,” I whispered at my reflection. “I have feathers.”
“Those are definitely feathered wings,” Roth commented.
I whipped around, knocking over a lamp with my feathered right wing. “I have feathers on my wings!”
Roth cocked his head to the side. “Yeah, you do.”
He was absolutely no help, so I turned to Zayne. “Why do I have feathers on my wings?”
Zayne shook his head slowly. “I don’t know, Layla. I’ve never seen anything like this.”
“Liar,” hissed Roth, shooting him a dark look. “You’ve seen that before. So have I.”

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer

Title: Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4)
Author: Marissa Meyer
Pages: 824 
Genre: Fantasy/Fairy Tale retelling (Teen)
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends/Raincoast Books
Release Date: November 10, 2015

Summary (Goodreads)
Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend–the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?


Friday, July 17, 2015

Getting To Know Bloggers (1) - Ryley@The Paperback Princess



Why did you start blogging
Obviously I love to read, so that's the main thing that started it. I really just wanted a place where I could share all my thoughts and talk to other book addicts like me, so this seemed like a good option!

Favorite part of being a blogger?
Definitely the sense of community! I haven't been at this for a very long time but it's so nice to have a bunch of people with similar interests who are genuinely nice people. As far as I've seen in the time that I've been blogging, everyone is incredibly supportive. 

Do you prefer paperback or digital? 
I love hard copies. I've never been able to focus with ereaders or audiobooks, to be honest. 

Most anticipated book? 
I recently found out that Morgan Matson has a new book coming out in 2016 and almost screamed with excitement. I'd read her grocery lists, I swear. 

One book you would recommend and why? 
The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry. It's one of my favourite books of all time, and I honestly think it should be required reading for anyone who loves books. Such a good story and message and oh my god I want to read it again. 

Favorite genre to read about?
I've always been fond of YA contemporaries just because they're easy to relate to, but I've found myself drifting toward fantasy and dystopia lately! 

Name an author you would love to meet in person and why? 
J.K. Rowling, no question about it. Everything about her inspires me and I would love the chance to thank her for getting me into reading. I was 12 when the last Harry Potter book came out, and I was one of those kids who always pre-ordered the books and then sat up reading them pretty much non-stop until I was finished, so the series was definitely a huge part of my childhood. As cheesy as it sounds, I am a hundred percent sure that I would not be the person I am today if it weren't for those books. 

Favorite book?
Impossible to choose. That's like asking me to pick which of my dogs I love the most! I will say that I really loved Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler, and Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway. Those, along with the Harry Potter books and The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry, are probably my top five. 

Be sure to check out Ryley's Blog !! http://the-paperbackprincess.blogspot.ca/

Follow her on Twitter! 


If you would like to be featured as a blogger please email me! 

Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Misconduct by Penelope Douglas

Title: Misconduct
Author: Penelope Douglas
Pages: 368
Genre: Romance
Publisher: NAL/Penguin Canada
Release Date: December 1, 2015 
*Standalone*

Summary (Goodreads)

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Fall Away series who never fails to deliver a “powerfully written contemporary love story…”* 

Former tennis player Easton Bradbury is trying to be the best teacher she can be, trying to reach her bored students and trying to forget her past. What brought her to this stage in her life isn’t important. She can’t let it be. But now one parent-teacher meeting may be her undoing…

Meeting Tyler Marek for the first time makes it easy for Easton to see why his son is having trouble in school. The man knows how to manage businesses and wealth, not a teenage boy. Or a young teacher, for that matter, though he tries to. And yet…there is something about him that draws Easton in—a hint of vulnerability, a flash of attraction, a spark that might burn.

Wanting him is taboo. Needing him is undeniable. And his long-awaited touch will weaken Easton’s resolve—and reveal what should stay hidden…



Tuesday, July 14, 2015

Blog Tour: The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson + Giveaway!


Title: The Heart of Betrayal (Remnant Chronicles #2)
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Pages: 470
Genre: Teen Fantasy
Publisher: Henry Holt
Release Date: July 7, 2015
Rating: 5/5

Summary (Goodreads)

Intrigue abounds in this hotly anticipated sequel to The Kiss of Deception!

Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape. Desperate to save her life, Lia's erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komizar that she has the gift, and the Komizar's interest in Lia is greater than anyone could have foreseen.

Meanwhile, nothing is straightforward: there's Rafe, who lied to Lia, but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom Lia always believed to be barbarians. Now that she lives amongst them, however, she realizes that may be far from the truth. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her sense of self, Lia must make powerful choices that will affect her country... and her own destiny.


Mood Board

Since I didn't understand how to create a mood board I decided to stick with my review. or tell you my moods throughout the book. My moods were all over the place since the book started!! Was was lots of shock and betrayal


Review:

Title: The Heart of Betrayal (The Remnant Chronicles #2)
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Pages: 480
Genre: Fantasy/YA
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Release Date: July 7, 2015
Buy: AmazonChapters IndigoB&NKobo
(Received for review from Macmillan & Raincoast Books)
Read: December


Summary: (Goodreads)

Intrigue abounds in this hotly anticipated sequel to The Kiss of Deception!

Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape. Desperate to save her life, Lia's erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komizar that she has the gift, and the Komizar's interest in Lia is greater than anyone could have foreseen.

Meanwhile, nothing is straightforward: there's Rafe, who lied to Lia, but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom Lia always believed to be barbarians. Now that she lives amongst them, however, she realizes that may be far from the truth. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her sense of self, Lia must make powerful choices that will affect her country... and her own destiny.

Review:

I am going to say this now, get this book immediately!!! The Heart of Betrayal really reflects the book from the setting to the entire plot! Even when I am writing this review, I am in utter shock after reading it. This sequel will create an epic book hangover that will leave you craving more and make your jaw drop. It was more intriguing than the first book, The Kiss of Deception.

Like the first book, the novel is told from Lia, Kaden, Rafe and Pauline. It picks up right where it left us. It explored more of the world of Venda, the kingdom that is holding Lia captive and wants her dead (When the assassin was sent to get her). I loved how Mary E. Pearson created this world that when you read it you can imagine what is happening in your mind. As well as meeting new characters like the evil Komizar, who is the ruler of Venda (really good villain). You can get the sense that there are many secrets that are being revealed throughout the book because by the end of the book you will want to know what is going to happen next!

Lia is one tough princess that continues to hold her own and adapt to this other world that she is not usually in, even with making plans. She is very smart and always tries to learn her surroundings when she is in Venda. But I would say that love is one of her vulnerabilities because as many of you know there is a love triangle and as the reader I’m still wondering who she is going to end up with because even my heart is torn with both Rafe and Kaden despite what they did in the books. Really looking forward to what Pearson is going to do for the last book! 

The Heart of Betrayal had a lot of details and the plot sucked me in immediately! I could not put this book down! Thank you Mary E. Pearson for giving me a book hangover by the end of the book because that last 10% was amazing!!! It had action, romance, suspense, death (mostly everything that makes me happy). It was the perfect sequel that makes you crave for more!! 
I am eagerly  waiting what is going to happen next! If you haven't read The Kiss of Deception, I recommend you pick it up ASAP.  (now I want to reread it)

5/5 


Date
Blog 
7-Jul
7-Jul
Two Chicks on Books
8-Jul
Adventures of a Book Junkie
9-Jul
Eater of Books
9-Jul
10-Jul
MacTeenBooks
10-Jul
11-Jul
My Friends Are Fiction
12-Jul
A Perfection Called Books
13-Jul
Stuck in YA Books
13-Jul
FictionFare
14-Jul
Belle of the Literati


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, July 13, 2015

Trailer Reveal: Every Last Breath by Jennifer L. Armentrout

ELB - series banner
 

We are very excited to bring you the trailer for the Epic Finale in Jennifer L. Armentrout's Dark Elements Series, EVERY LAST BREATH! Published by HarlequinTeen, EVERY LAST BREATH is a young adult paranormal filled with romance and danger being released on July 28th, 2015. Be sure to pre-order your copy today and enter to win some AMAZING Dark Elements prizes!

Every Last Breath - Cover
 

Amazon ** Barnes and Noble ** iBooks ** IndieBound ** Kobo ** BAM

  EVERY LAST BREATH Synopsis: Some loves will last ‘til your dying breath Every choice has consequences—but seventeen-year-old Layla faces tougher choices than most. Light or darkness. Wickedly sexy demon prince Roth, or Zayne, the gorgeous, protective Warden she never thought could be hers. Hardest of all, Layla has to decide which side of herself to trust. Layla has a new problem, too. A Lilin—the deadliest of demons—has been unleashed, wreaking havoc on those around her…including her best friend. To keep Sam from a fate much, much worse than death, Layla must strike a deal with the enemy while saving her city—and her race—from destruction. Torn between two worlds and two different boys, Layla has no certainties, least of all survival, especially when an old bargain comes back to haunt them all. But sometimes, when secrets are everywhere and the truth seems unknowable, you have to listen to your heart, pick a side—and then fight like hell… “Armentrout is a major talent…I just can’t stop reading!” --New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter “Armentrout works her magic with swoon-worthy guys and a twist you never see coming.” --#1 New York Times bestselling author Abbi Glines on White Hot Kiss  

And here's the amazing trailer for EVERY LAST BREATH...

 
 

And don't forget to preorder your copy of EVERY LAST BREATH today and enter to win!

ELB - prize teaser
 

Enter now to win an INCREDIBLE Dark Elements prize pack including a VISA GIFT CARD! Register your pre-order of Jennifer L. Armentrout's EVERY LAST BREATH now to enter PLUS help unlock MORE prizes! ► http://bit.ly/1Fy7ekS

EVERY LAST BREATH Preorder Links

Amazon ** Barnes and Noble ** iBooks ** IndieBound ** Kobo ** BAM

 

Don’t miss the first titles in the Dark Elements Series!

Dark Elements - series covers banner
 

 

BITTER SWEET LOVE

Amazon ** Barnes and Noble ** iBooks ** BAM ** Kobo

WHITE HOT KISS

Amazon ** Barnes and Noble ** BAM ** iBooks ** IndieBound ** Kobo

STONE COLD TOUCH

Amazon** Barnes and Noble ** iBooks ** IndieBound ** Kobo** BAM

    About Jennifer L. Armentrout: # 1 New York Times and # 1 International Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing, she spends her time reading, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki. Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV. Her young adult romantic suspense novel DON’T LOOK BACK was a 2014 nominated Best in Young Adult Fiction by YALSA. She also writes Adult and New Adult contemporary and paranormal romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.  

Website ** Facebook ** Twitter ** Novel Goodreads ** Author Goodreads

InkSlinger PR Blogger Banner - New
   

Saturday, July 11, 2015

Scorched (Frigid #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Scorched (Frigid #2)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 248
Genre: New Adult
Publisher: Spencer Hill Contemporary
Release Date: June 16, 2015
Buy: Amazon| AmazonCA| Book Depo|
Rating: 5/5

Summary (Goodreads)
Sometimes life leaves a mark...

Most days, Andrea doesn’t know whether she wants to kiss Tanner or punch him in the gut. He is seriously hot, with legit bedroom eyes and that firefighter body of his, but he’s a major player, and they can’t get along for more than a handful of minutes. Until now.

Tanner knows he and Andrea have had an epic love/hate relationship for as long as he can remember, but he wants more love than hate from her. He wants her. Now. Tomorrow. But the more he gets to know her, the more it becomes obvious that Andrea has a problem. She’s teetering on the edge, and every time he tries to catch her, she slips through his fingers.

Andrea’s life is spiraling out of control, and it doesn’t matter that Tanner wants to save her, because when everything falls apart and she’s speeding toward rock-bottom, only she can save herself.

Sometimes life makes you work for that happily ever after...
 


Review

After waiting so long to read this book it was definitely worth the wait! Plus how awesome does the cover look? Jennifer L. Armentrout once again gives her readers a story about love, friendship, her own humor and swoony male leads! Andrea's life unfolds in Scorched and it was not easy but at the same time you want her to be happy. Plus you get to see more Sydney and Kyler!!

Andrea is one tough chick who is also troubled. She has to deal with many problems that she is trying to hide from her friends. I think lots of people can relate to her because its one of those subjects like panic attacks, and drinking. Though I don't go through all of what she is going through I can understand how she feels that the fear sometimes won't go away.

JLA makes her readers more aware of the real issues of what happens in real life in Scorched like mental health. Tanner and Andrea's relationship was very interesting from the start since she did have a crush on him at the beginning but they never liked each other to begin with. Syd and Kyler both invite Andrea and Tanner to come on a trip with them for hiking etc. Their banter is so funny at first but underneath, Tanner would do anything for Andrea as their romance has spiked and he is also a very good support for Andrea even though she does push him away. The way many situations played out was great and to see how supportive her family is during this time and Tanner as well doesn't want to walk away. Plus he is soo hot!

Overall, I loved this book from the beginning until the very last pages. I couldn't put it down when I was reading it on the plane! Jen is one of those authors that knows how to pull you in and is easy to relate to. If I could recommend one author she would be one of them since she writes amazing stories and a strong female heroine who is very strong willed. I already need more of her books!

5/5

Wednesday, July 8, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: When We Collided by Emery Lord

Title: When We Collided
Author: Emery Lord
Pages: 352
Genre: Teen Contemporary 
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens/RazorbillCA
Release Date: April 6, 2016

Summary (Goodreads) 

Meet Vivi and Jonah: A girl and a boy whose love has the power save or destroy them.

Vivi and Jonah couldn't be more different. Vivi craves anything joyful or beautiful that life can offer. Jonah has been burdened by responsibility for his family ever since his father died. As summer begins, Jonah resigns himself to another season of getting by. Then Vivi arrives, and suddenly life seems brighter and better. Jonah is the perfect project for Vivi, and things finally feel right for Jonah. Their love is the answer to everything. But soon Vivi's zest for life falters, as her adventurousness becomes true danger-seeking. Jonah tries to keep her safe, but there's something important Vivi hasn't told him.

Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Jandy Nelson, When We Collided is a powerful story of two teens whose love is put to the test by forces beyond their control.
 

Wednesday, July 1, 2015

Blog Tour: Dream of You (Wait for You #4.5) by Jennifer L. Armentrout


Title: Dream of You (Wait for You #4.5)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 131 (kindle edition)
Genre: New Adult
Publisher: Evil Eye Concepts 
Release Date: June 23, 2015

Summary: (Goodreads)

Abby Erickson isn't looking for a one-night stand, a relationship, or anything that involves any one-on-one time, but when she witnesses a shocking crime, she's thrust into the hands of the sexiest man she's ever seen - Colton Anders. His job is to protect her, but with every look, every touch, and every simmering kiss, she's in danger of not only losing her life but her heart also.

Review: 

Like many other books by Jennifer L. Armentrout (JLA), her book are a guaranteed read that will get you out of any reading slump. Her writing is addicting and humorous as she incorporates past characters in her Wait for You series/novella. I always get pulled into her books immediately because her writing is flawless and I need more of this series! JLA is one author that needs to be on your list of what books to read!

Abby Erickson is leaving her disastrous date when she accidentally witnesses a murder.  Then she meets the very hot Colton Anders who is the detective on the case as well as her past high school crush.  Now she is in serious danger and Colton is the one to keep her safe. But he also has interest in her. But Abby is very self conscious about herself and thinks that Colton would not be interested in her. 

The chemistry between them was sexy, hot and entertaining. Abby is easy to relate to because of self-esteem and I can relate to her easily. Plus she is an editor for "fictional" authors that are real authors in the book world.  Colton Anders is just plain HOT!! I wish he was real because the way he swept her off her feet was what every girl wishes she needs in her life! When he saw Abby he saw her beauty from the inside. He was sweet, gentle, and swoonworthy! (I need a real Colton!) 

The whole plot was an extra bonus. because it was suspenseful and make you nervous during some parts. Plus we get to see Reese and Roxy again from Fall with Me as well as some more Jax. Overall, I loved reading this book!! JLA is my favorite author and I will read any of them! You can relate to all of her characters which makes the story even better. Read this series right away you will not be disappointed!! 

5/5

Waiting on Wednesday: Cage of Deceit (Reign of Secrets #1) by Jennifer Anne Davis

Title: Cage of Deceit (Reign of Secrets #1)
Author: Jennifer Anne Davis
Pages: N/A
Genre: Fantasy/YA
Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing 
Release Date: August 25, 2015

Summary (Goodreads) 

Jennifer Anne Davis's best-selling True Reign series captivated readers from the very first page. Now, get ready to become entangled in the follow-up series, Reign of Secrets. In this new series, follow Allyssa, the daughter of the beloved Emperor Darmik and Empress Rema— and find out what happens after happily ever after. 

Seventeen-year-old Allyssa appears to be the ideal princess of Emperion—she’s beautiful, elegant, and refined. She spends her days locked in a suffocating cage, otherwise known as royal court. But at night, Allyssa uses her secret persona—that of a vigilante—to hunt down criminals and help her people firsthand. 

Unfortunately, her nightly escapades will have to wait because the citizens of Emperion may need saving from something much bigger than common criminals. War is encroaching on their country and in order to protect her people, Allyssa may have to sacrifice her heart. Forced to entertain an alliance through marriage with a handsome prince from a neighboring kingdom, she finds herself feeling even more stifled than before. To make matters worse, the prince has stuck his nosy squire, Jarvik, to watch her every move. 

Jarvik is infuriating, bossy and unfortunately, the only person she can turn to when she unveils a heinous plot. Together, the unlikely pair will have to work together to stop an enemy that everyone thought was long gone, one with the power to destroy her family and the people of Emperion. Now the cage Allyssa so longed to break free from might just be the one thing she has to fight to keep intact. In order to save her kingdom, she will have to sacrifice her freedom, her heart, and maybe even her life.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...