Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: The Girl from Everywhere (#1) by Heidi Heilig

Title: The Girl form Everywhere
Author: Heidi Heilig
Pages: 464
Genre: Y.A. Historical Fiction 
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Release Date: February 16, 2016/HarperCollins Canada

Summary (Goodreads)

Heidi Heilig’s debut teen fantasy sweeps from modern-day New York City to nineteenth-century Hawaii to places of myth and legend. Sixteen-year-old Nix has sailed across the globe and through centuries aboard her time-traveling father’s ship. But when he gambles with her very existence, it all may be about to end. The Girl from Everywhere, the first of two books, will dazzle readers of Sabaa Tahir, Rae Carson, and Rachel Hartman.

Nix’s life began in Honolulu in 1868. Since then she has traveled to mythic Scandinavia, a land from the tales of One Thousand and One Nights, modern-day New York City, and many more places both real and imagined. As long as he has a map, Nix’s father can sail his ship, The Temptation, to any place, any time. But now he’s uncovered the one map he’s always sought—1868 Honolulu, before Nix’s mother died in childbirth. Nix’s life—her entire existence—is at stake. No one knows what will happen if her father changes the past. It could erase Nix’s future, her dreams, her adventures . . . her connection with the charming Persian thief, Kash, who’s been part of their crew for two years. If Nix helps her father reunite with the love of his life, it will cost her her own.

In The Girl from Everywhere, Heidi Heilig blends fantasy, history, and a modern sensibility with witty, fast-paced dialogue, breathless adventure, and enchanting romance.


Look at that cover!!! Plus its set in my favorite place: Hawaii !! I've only heard the most amazing things about this book too which is why its my pick this week! 

Monday, November 23, 2015

Before We Were Strangers by Renee Carlino


Title: Before We Were Strangers
Author: Renee Carlino
Pages: 320
Genre: Romance/New Adult
Publisher: Atria Books/Simon Schuster Canada
Release Date: August 18, 2015
Buy: AmazonCA| Chapters Indigo| Kobo 
*received an ARC for review purposes from Atria Books*

Summary (Goodreads)

To the Green-eyed Lovebird:
We met fifteen years ago, almost to the day, when I moved my stuff into the NYU dorm room next to yours at Senior House.
You called us fast friends. I like to think it was more.
We lived on nothing but the excitement of finding ourselves through music (you were obsessed with Jeff Buckley), photography (I couldn’t stop taking pictures of you), hanging out in Washington Square Park, and all the weird things we did to make money. I learned more about myself that year than any other.
Yet, somehow, it all fell apart. We lost touch the summer after graduation when I went to South America to work for National Geographic. When I came back, you were gone. A part of me still wonders if I pushed you too hard after the wedding…
I didn’t see you again until a month ago. It was a Wednesday. You were rocking back on your heels, balancing on that thick yellow line that runs along the subway platform, waiting for the F train. I didn’t know it was you until it was too late, and then you were gone. Again. You said my name; I saw it on your lips. I tried to will the train to stop, just so I could say hello.
After seeing you, all of the youthful feelings and memories came flooding back to me, and now I’ve spent the better part of a month wondering what your life is like. I might be totally out of my mind, but would you like to get a drink with me and catch up on the last decade and a half?

M

AMAZON   ***   BARNES & NOBLE ***  iBooks




RenĂ©e Carlino is a screenwriter and bestselling author of romantic women's novels. She lives in Southern California with her husband, two sons, and their sweet dog June. When she’s not at the beach with her boys or working on her next project, she likes to spend her time reading, going to concerts, and eating dark chocolate.




Review: 

I absolutely loved this book that I had to finish it in one day! Loved every minute of reading because while reading it I got all nervous and anxious at what was going to happen next for these characters. There was tears happening during some points. Renee Carlino is a great writer that immediately drew me in with just the plot and I am very glad that I own all the rest of her books since I've only heard amazing things about all of them. But I was very happy with the entire novel! 

Before We Were Strangers is told from Matt and Grace's point of views and divided into four parts. Part one is set were Matt is 36. He is a photographer who lives in NYC, divorced and not happy with how his life turned out so far. Then one day while standing on the platform he sees Grace who is his college girlfriend. But then the doors to the subway closes and he then wonders if he can ever find her again.

I loved the entire premise of how the book sounded because it takes place back 15 years and the present. Both Grace and Matt's point of views felt real and also heartbreaking at some parts because you got to see what they were both feeling during their relationship. Renee did a brilliant job between their narration. Part 2 is when they reflect on what happened in college in their dorms. Part 3 is when we go back to the future. I was excited to see how they met  and how they really understood each other from being friends first then becoming more.

Then we go back to the present and Matt puts an Ad out about Grace that only she would understand. It was adorable!! Also Grace's point of view was very interesting because we got to see her passion in music and Matt's photography. Part 3 is one of the parts that made me cry and I felt that the book ended on a good note for me because it was a beautiful story that I want to probably re-read it after writing this review. Overall if you haven't pick up any of Renee Carlino's books I recommend you do because her writing reminds me of Colleen Hoover which is also addicting. If you go to the bookstore, be sure to check this one out!

5/5 

Wednesday, November 18, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

Title: Tell Me Three Things
Author: Julie Buxbaum 
Pages: 270
Genre: YA Contemporary 
Publisher: Delacorte Press 
Release Date: April 15, 2016

Summary (Goodreads)

What if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met?

Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel whose characters will come to feel like friends. Tell Me Three Things will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart. 
 
Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago—the closest place she has to something like home—she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

The thing is, Jessie does need help. It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live in LA with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

Why I am excited:

I have previously read one of her fiction titles and enjoyed it immensely. So I am definitely recommending you read this title! 



Monday, November 16, 2015

Cover Reveal: Inflict (Muse #2) by Cora Carmack

We are absolutely thrilled to bring you the dual cover reveal for Cora Carmack’s Muse Series! INSPIRE and INFLICT are New Adult Paranormal Romance novels and are book 1 and 2 in the Muse Series. INFLICT is due to be released in January 2016! These beautiful covers were designed by Regina Wamba of Mae I Design. Be sure to grab your copy of INSPIRE today!

Inspire - cover
 

Amazon eBook ** Amazon Paperback

INSPIRE (Book 1):

Kalliope lives with one purpose. To inspire. As an immortal muse, she doesn’t have any other choice. It’s part of how she was made. Musicians, artists, actors—they use her to advance their art, and she uses them to survive. She moves from one artist to the next, never staying long enough to get attached. But all she wants is a different life— a normal one. She’s spent thousands of years living lie after lie, and now she’s ready for something real. Sweet, sexy, and steady, Wilder Bell feels more real than anything else in her long existence. And most importantly… he’s not an artist. He doesn’t want her for her ability. But she can’t turn off the way she influences people, not even to save a man she might love. Because in small doses, she can help make something beautiful, but her ability has just as much capacity to destroy as it does to create. The longer she stays, the more obsessed Wilder will become. It’s happened before, and it never turns out well for the mortal. Her presence may inspire genius. But it breeds madness, too.  
Inspire - full cover wrap


And check out the gorgeous cover for INFLICT, coming January 2016!

Inflict -cover
 

About INFLICT (Book 2):

Inflict - full cover wrap

Wilder Bell made a dangerous bargain... For a chance at love, he gave up his life. History knew Kalliope as an ancient Greek muse, but to Wilder, she was simply the woman he wanted to fall asleep with every night and wake up next to every morning. He made a deal with Hades, but the only thing the Lord of the Underworld deals in is death. Now Wilder is wasting away in a cold and wretched afterlife, waiting for Kalli to come for him. She will come. He has to believe that. Because the alternative is worse than death. Kalliope lived her entire existence knowing that she was both a blessing and a curse to anyone she encountered. Wilder was no different. She loved him, and she got him killed. Now to get him back, she’ll have to face a scheming god, a perilous task, and death itself. But before it’s done, the Underworld will take more from her than she ever thought possible. To be made whole, all must first be lost.        


 

About Cora Carmack: Cora Carmack is a twenty-something writer who likes to write about twenty-something characters. She’s done a multitude of things in her life– boring jobs (like working retail), fun jobs (like working in a theatre), stressful jobs (like teaching), and dream jobs (like writing). Raised in a small Texas town, she now lives in New York City and spends her time writing, traveling, and marathoning various television shows on Netflix. In her books, you can expect to find humor, heart, and a whole lot of awkward. Because let’s face it . . . awkward people need love, too. Her first book, LOSING IT, was a New York Times and USA Today bestseller.

Website ** Twitter ** Facebook **Newsletter **Author Goodreads**

INSPIRE Goodreads ** INFLICT Goodreads



InkSlinger PR Blogger Banner - New
 

Wednesday, November 11, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: He Will Be My Ruin by K.A. Tucker

Title: He Will Be My Ruin
Author: K.A. Tucker
Pages: 352
Genre: Suspense 
Publisher: Atria Books/Simon Schuster Canada
Release Date: February 2, 2016

Summary (Goodreads)

The USA TODAY bestselling author of the Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water series makes her suspense debut with this sexy, heartpounding story of a young woman determined to find justice after her best friend’s death, a story pulsing with the “intense, hot, emotional” (Colleen Hoover) writing that exhilarates her legions of fans.

A woman who almost had it all . . .

On the surface, Celine Gonzalez had everything a twenty-eight-year-old woman could want: a one-bedroom apartment on Manhattan’s Lower East Side, a job that (mostly) paid the bills, and an acceptance letter to the prestigious Hollingsworth Institute of Art, where she would finally live out her dream of becoming an antiques appraiser for a major auction house. All she had worked so hard to achieve was finally within her reach. So why would she kill herself?

A man who was supposed to be her salvation . . .

Maggie Sparkes arrives in New York City to pack up what’s left of her best friend’s belongings after a suicide that has left everyone stunned. The police have deemed the evidence conclusive: Celine got into bed, downed a lethal cocktail of pills and vodka, and never woke up. But when Maggie discovers a scandalous photograph in a lock box hidden in Celine’s apartment, she begins asking questions. Questions about the man Celine fell in love with. The man she never told anyone about, not even Maggie. The man Celine believed would change her life.

Until he became her ruin. 

On the hunt for evidence that will force the police to reopen the case, Maggie uncovers more than she bargained for about Celine’s private life—and inadvertently puts herself on the radar of a killer. A killer who will stop at nothing to keep his crimes undiscovered.


Thursday, November 5, 2015

Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by Leigh Bardugo

Title: Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1)
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Pages: 465
Genre: Fantasy
Publisher: Henry Holt and Company/Raincoast Books
Release Date: September 29, 2015
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo|
*Received for review from Raincoast Books*

Summary (Goodreads)

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can't pull it off alone...

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can't walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz's crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction—if they don't kill each other first.
 


Review:

This has to be one of my favorite books of this year, especially how Leigh Bardugo is amazing at world building. When I heard about her new series, I immediately wanted to request the book. If you haven't read her Grisha trilogy, you can still read this one. You will not be able to put this book down because of its intricate world building, characters and the entire story. If you are a fan of her other series: Shadow and Bone you will definitely be interested in reading this one!

Throughout the entire book I saw references to Leigh's Shadow and Bone trilogy. If you haven't read her other series, you can still understand what is happening. It was more the names that were mentioned in Six of Crows. I have fallen in love with the world building because the Grisha world is huge and I am glad that she continued into this world. When I first began reading Six of Crows it started off a little slow but once I got to know each of the six characters points of views it just made me fall in love with them and where the story was going. It just took me a while to understand each character once I got to see more of their pasts.

It begins when we meet the leader of the Dregs, Kaz (aka Dirtyhands) located in the Barrel which is the lowest place in Kerch. His role is to be the leader in the biggest heist he has ever done. Kaz then brings everyone together and his skills to the test. He is always coming up with crazy plans and will take anything it takes to get what he wants especially if it involves money. Even though Kaz is very quiet about his past I felt like crying when we got to see a new side of him, what haunts him and why he works with the Dregs. Next is Inej (Wraith) who sneaky, smart and very strong. I just loved her. She does have plans for the future but no one is going to stop her from reaching what she wants. Jesper also part of the crew has gambling problems and loves guns. I found his character is not yet trustworthy, but we shall see what will happen to him in the second book. Another favorite was Nina, who is a Grisha. She is a heart render who is stuck helping Kaz because all the Grisha's there are taken advantage of. But when she also has a past and wants help to get back to Ravka. Matthias has to be one of the most interesting characters of the group, he is not a part of the Dregs but he never did have a choice when entering the plan and also his past coming back. Lastly, is Wylan is very new to the group. He is very smart and is can take a lot of the crap that is on his shoulders.

The main goal for them is the heist. Even if Kaz likes to changes ideas, but once they come up with a plan. This part of the book flew so quickly that I didn't want it to end!! While there was a little romance it wasn't the main focus of the book. It was pretty easy to get sucked into this story. Overall Six of Crows is a must read for fans of Leigh Bardugo or any fantasy series. It is definitely one of my favorite books of the year and I'm looking forward to what is going to happen in the next part of the series. Be sure to pick up this book immediately!

5/5

Wednesday, November 4, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: The Year We Fell Apart by Emily Martin

Title: The Year We Fell Apart
Author: Emily Martin
Pages: 320
Genre: YA Contemporary 
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Release Date: January 26, 2016

Summary (Goodreads)

In the tradition of Sarah Dessen, this powerful debut novel is a compelling portrait of a young girl coping with her mother’s cancer as she figures out how to learn from—and fix—her past.

Few things come as naturally to Harper as epic mistakes. In the past year she was kicked off the swim team, earned a reputation as Carson High’s easiest hook-up, and officially became the black sheep of her family. But her worst mistake was destroying her relationship with her best friend, Declan.

Now, after two semesters of silence, Declan is home from boarding school for the summer. Everything about him is different—he’s taller, stronger…more handsome. Harper has changed, too, especially in the wake of her mom’s cancer diagnosis.

While Declan wants nothing to do with Harper, he’s still Declan, her Declan, and the only person she wants to talk to about what’s really going on. But he’s also the one person she’s lost the right to seek comfort from.

As their mutual friends and shared histories draw them together again, Harper and Declan must decide which parts of their past are still salvageable, and which parts they’ll have to let go of once and for all.

In this honest and affecting tale of friendship and first love, Emily Martin brings to vivid life the trials and struggles of high school and the ability to learn from past mistakes over the course of one steamy North Carolina summer.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...