Thursday, February 25, 2016

Follow Friday




Feature and Follow Friday is hosted by Alison Can Read & Parajunkee 

Ten Reasons You Read Your Favorite Genre

My favorite genres include:
YA, Romance, Fiction 

1. I love it! It is never boring 
2. Variety of genres 
3. The characters go through growth (easier to connect with)
4. They are popular and are now becoming movies
5. Its my go to genre
6. All the authors are so friendly and amazing
7. Lots of my friends love YA as well 
8. The writing is addicting 
9. Love how the plots are set out 
10. Connecting with other bloggers 

Wednesday, February 24, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Dead Girls Society by Michelle Krys

Title: Dead Girls Society
Author: Michelle Krys
Pages: 304
Genre: YA Thriller 
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Release Date: November 8, 2016 

Summary (Goodreads) 

A slick thriller from the author of HEXED, perfect for fans ofTHE CELLAR by Natasha Preston and PANIC by Lauren Oliver.

You are cordially invited to participate in a game of thrills and dares. Tell no one, and come alone. If you dare.

Hope is sick of everyone treating her like she’s breakable. Sure, she has cystic fibrosis (basically really bad lungs), but she’s tired of being babied by her mom and her overprotective best friend, Ethan, not to mention worrying about paying for her expensive medication and how she’s going to afford college.And she’s bored with life in her run-down New Orleans suburb. 

When an invitation arrives from a mysterious group that calls itself the Society, Hope jumps at the chance for some excitement. This could be her ticket out. All she has to do is complete a few dares and she just might win some real money. 
But the Society isn’t all that it seems . . . and soon Hope finds that playing the game isn’t a choice—it’s a requirement.


Tuesday, February 23, 2016

The Power (Titan #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout



Title: The Power (Titan #2)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 344
Genre: Paranormal, New Adult/Romance
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Release Date: February 23, 2016
Buy: AmazonCA|Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo| Book Depo
*Copy was provided by publisher/blog tour*

Summary (Goodreads)

With any great change, there is always strife, and the Covenant University has become the frontline between pure-bloods who want the Breed Order reinstated and the half-bloods who want the right to control their own destinies.
Fate has other plans.

The violence is escalating and war between the races seems inevitable, and it couldn’t come at a worse time. Hyperion may be out of commission, but Josie and Seth know they have only earned a reprieve. Seth must get Josie fully prepared, which means controlling her newfound abilities, and they need to find the other demigods before the Titans do.
But the gods are sensing a greater threat.

Only one thing is more dangerous than a bunch of starved Titans, and that’s an out-of-control Apollyon. The aether in Josie is drawing Seth in deeper, and when lust mixes with love and gives way to power, he knows being close to her is not only dangerous to her, but to everyone around them, but letting her go requires a level of selflessness that just isn’t Seth’s style.

The paths taken in the past are becoming the roads of the future.

Just as chaos breaks out, familiar faces from the past return, complicating the already strained bond between Josie and Seth, and when the danger from the Titans erupts with devastating consequences, the dark allure of power calls to Seth again, but this time Josie might not be able to pull him back.

And when the struggle between power and love becomes the deadliest battleground, there may be no salvation.


Review:

I'm currently shocked and very happy after reading The Power. Jennifer you have never let me down with your second book in any of your series especially with an incredible plot lines and characters. Seth has been one of my favorites since the Covenant series. In the sequel to The Return, Josie and Seth's relationship is building as well as we get to see some of my favorite characters and more Gods. It was emotionally gripping, sexy, heated, funny and extremely addicting. Once you start you will not put it down. I really need book 3 right now!

Seth's entire journey has many twists, turns and we discover what Seth didn't know about himself. I felt everything was about to explode when I finished the book. The Power has a lot of swoony scenes and seeing past characters!!!! I loved seeing Alex and Aiden again because they are my favorite couple and I just love reading about their world since the removal of the breed order. I will say this because anyone who has read this series will know that with any of Jen's books there is a loss, and this one really got me, but it's not just about that because The Power also had many laughs, and getting to see that Seth is not selfish as everyone thinks. I also really liked seeing Josie grow as a character.

Jen's writing as always is beyond excellent. She is my favorite author and is an auto-buy immediately if I hear she has another book out since her books are soo addicting. I am one happy reader. If you haven't gotten addicted to Jen's books I recommend you do it immediately, be ready for more Seth and Josie. Overall, get this book you will not regret it. Now to patiently wait for the third book.

5/5

About Jennifer L. Armentrout (Headshot Attached):
# 1 New York Times and #1 International Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki.

Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV. Her young adult romantic suspense novel DON’T LOOK BACK was a 2014 nominated Best in Young Adult Fiction by YALSA.

She also writes Adult and New Adult contemporary and paranormal romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.

Friday, February 19, 2016

Follow Friday



Question this Week:

Why did you start blogging? 

When I first heard about blogging, I was in my last year of high school and just starting to begin my passion of reading again after reading Twilight. I know! But I would like to thank this book because it opened me up to new genres and meeting the blogging community. I first started by just posting small reviews up on Chapters Indigo. One day I noticed that someone already read a book not even out so I clicked on the link that was provided and saw that they created a book blog. So I immediately opened up blogger and began my blog here at Stuck In YA Books. This journey has been the greatest because I've become friends with many bloggers, authors and even making connections with publishing companies which was very hard for me to do at first because finding the publicists were a bit challenging at first. My first e-galley site was Galley Grab that was featuring Simon Schuster books then I eventually found Netgalley and Edelweiss. I have even made connections with local authors in my hometown and also started to work at my local bookstore (Chapters).  Looking back I don't regret starting this blog because I've meet with all of you amazing people all around the world. Even meeting authors in person along the way. Thank you for the past 5 1/2 years! 

Let me know how you started! 



Wednesday, February 17, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnston

Title: Exit, Pursued by a Bear
Author: E.K. Johnston 
Pages: 256
Publisher: Dutton Books for Young Readers
Release Date: March 15, 2016

Summary (Goodreads) 

Veronica Mars meets William Shakespeare in E.K. Johnston’s latest brave and unforgettable heroine.

Hermione Winters is captain of her cheerleading team, and in tiny Palermo Heights, this doesn’t mean what you think it means. At PHHS, the cheerleaders don’t cheer for the sports teams; they are the sports team—the pride and joy of a tiny town. The team’s summer training camp is Hermione’s last and marks the beginning of the end of…she’s not sure what. She does know this season could make her a legend. But during a camp party, someone slips something in her drink. And it all goes black.

In every class, there’s a star cheerleader and pariah pregnant girl. They’re never supposed to be the same person. Hermione struggles to regain the control she’s always had and faces a wrenching decision about how to move on. The assault wasn’t the beginning of Hermione Winter’s story and she’s not going to let it be the end. She won’t be anyone’s cautionary tale.
 

Why I am excited?

Since I got to meet E.K. Johnston back in June of last year, she mentioned this as one of her projects and it sounded amazing! It also brings up issues that we as a society are facing today. 

Monday, February 15, 2016

Me Before You (Me Before You #1) by Jojo Moyes

Title: Me Before You
Author: Jojo Moyes
Pages: 369
Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Penguin Canada/Viking
Release Date: December 31, 2016
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo

Summary (Goodreads)
Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn't know is she's about to lose her job or that knowing what's coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he's going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn't know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they're going to change the other for all time.


Review:

I wish I've read this book earlier because this book made me feel happy and heartbroken throughout the entire book. Jojo Moyes you got me to love your characters and even cry at few times, which is hard to do. Once I picked up Me Before You, I could not put it down! Started reading it at 6pm and stayed up until 3am to finished over half of it and then finished it around 5pm the next day! I didn't expect what exactly would happen but once those tears came I cried until the end of the book.

Lou our main character is living a simple life, working at a local coffee shop, lives at home with her parents in a small house. Then the coffee shop ends up closing leaving her jobless. She then finds a job as a caregiver to a paraplegic who has no function except his arm and his face. Will. What has started off as a horrible job for her turns into a love where life and death comes to the forefront. I really loved Lous as a character because she is different and can bring a smile to anyone she meets. I did not like her boyfriend Patrick, he cared too much about himself and not about his relationship with Lou.

Now on to Will. *breath* I adored him. He was funny and when Lou came into his life it brighten him in ways that many would not understand. They formed a special bond then eventually bloomed slowly into romance. It felt real. There is not that insta-love that normally happens in books, and Jojo Moyes did an amazing job with his character and you can see how he did want to be strong for his parents and even for Lou (currently crying while writing this review). I even loved all the secondary characters!

Me Before You is definitely one of my favorite books and has given me a new perspective to live life to the fullest because you may never know what will happen the next day. It definitely ripped my heart into little pieces near the end but it was worth it. If you haven't picked up Me Before You, go get it immediately, you will not regret it as it is one unforgettable read. It will one book that will forever be on your mind! Very excited to see the movie as well in June!

5/5



Wednesday, February 10, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday:The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: The Problem with Forever 
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout 
Pages: 384
Genre: Contemporary 
Publisher: Harlequin Teen 
Release Date: May 17, 2016

Summary (Goodreads)

For some people, silence is a weapon. For Mallory “Mouse” Dodge, it’s a shield. Growing up, she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime.

Now, after years of homeschooling with loving adoptive parents, Mallory must face a new milestone—spending her senior year at public high school. But of all the terrifying and exhilarating scenarios she’s imagined, there’s one she never dreamed of—that she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood, on her very first day.

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realize that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet the deeper their bond grows, the more it becomes apparent that she’s not the only one grappling with the lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider’s life spiral out of control, Mallory faces a choice between staying silent and speaking out—for the people she loves, the life she wants, and the truths that need to be heard.
 

Wednesday, February 3, 2016

Me Before You Trailer!!

Look at the trailer for Jojo Moyes famous book Me Before You! I will eventually read this book because I've only heard amazing things about it! 


About Me Before You:

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn't know is she's about to lose her job or that knowing what's coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he's going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn't know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they're going to change the other for all time.

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Starflight by Melissa Landers (Launch Release Blitz)



Hey there, booklovers!

I’m author Melissa Landers, and I’m thrilled to announce the release of STARFLIGHT, the first in a brand new sci-fi series from Disney-Hyperion. I originally pitched this story to my editor as “Overboard” (one of my favorite romantic comedies) meets “Firefly” (an amazing show that was tragically cancelled after one season). STARFLIGHT follows the misadventures of Solara Brooks, a penniless felon who indentures herself to her high school nemesis, Doran Spaulding, in exchange for passage to a new world. But when Doran’s memory is temporarily erased, Solara convinces him their roles are reversed—that she’s the master and he’s the servant—and leads him onto a renegade spaceship, where intergalactic shenanigans ensue. STARFLIGHT is very different in tone from the Alienated trilogy, but the story is still filled with all the things I love: humor, heart, and adventure.


What do reviewers have to say?

“Get ready for blast-off! Action-packed and utterly addictive, nobody writes like Melissa Landers. A smart, satisfying romance set in a vividly detailed world, Starflight was just plain fun!” –New York Times bestselling author Amie Kaufman

Teens will be bracing themselves during the swashbuckling action scenes. A great choice for fans of raw sci-fi action, reminiscent of the lawlessness presented in the television series Firefly.” –School Library Journal

“A lively tale of romance, space pirates, conspiracy, and made (as opposed to genetic) families.” –Booklist

If you like your sci-fi adventure served with a side of romance, I hope you’ll pick up a copy of STARFLIGHT today. It’s now available in stores and online.

Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1MKVTwt
Book Depository (free international shipping): http://bit.ly/1OoN2WD
Indie Bound: http://bit.ly/1IIMPx7

To celebrate my book birthday, I’m offering one lucky winner a STARFLIGHT swag pack, complete with custom nail wraps, bookmarks, and a mini poster! The giveaway is open internationally. Due to sweepstakes laws, entrants must be 18 years or older to participate.

Best of luck, and happy reading!



Melissa Landers is a former teacher who left the classroom to pursue other worlds. A proud sci-fi geek, she isn’t afraid to wear her Princess Leia costume in public—just ask her husband and three kids. She lives outside Cincinnati in the small town of Loveland, “Sweetheart of Ohio.” For more information or just to say hello, visit www.melissa-landers.com.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...