Wednesday, March 30, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Crystal Storm (Falling Kingdoms #5) by Morgan Rhodes

Title: Crystal Storm (Falling Kingdoms #5)
Author: Morgan Rhodes
Pages: 336
Genre: Fantasy Teen
Publisher: Razorbill
Release Date: December 13, 2016

Summary (Goodreads) 

*Note this does have spoilers*

do not read if you have not read the series


An epic clash between gods and mortals threatens to tear Mytica apart . . . and prove that not even the purest of love stands a chance against the strongest of magic.

MAGNUS and CLEO are forced to test the strength of their love when Gaius returns to Mytica claiming he's no longer the King of Blood but a changed man seeking redemption.

LUCIA, pregnant with the child of a Watcher, has escaped the clutches of the unhinged fire god. Her powers are dwindling as she goes forth to fulfill a prophecy that will keep her baby safe . . . but could mean her demise.

JONAS treks back to Mytica with a plan to overtake Amara, but fate takes hold when he runs into the beautiful Princess Lucia and joins her on her perilous journey.

AMARA has taken the Mytican throne, but with no way to unleash the water magic trapped within her stolen crystal, she'll never be able to seize glory and get sweet revenge.

And what kind of darkness will descend--and who will be safe--after Prince Ashur reveals the dangerous price he paid to cheat death?
 

Tuesday, March 29, 2016

Blog Tour: The Winner's Kiss (The Winner's Trilogy #3) by Marie Rutkoski

Title: The Winner's Kiss (The Winner's Trilogy #3)
Author: Marie Rutkoski
Pages: 352
Genre: Fantasy/YA
Publisher: Farrar Straus & Giroux/Raincoast Books
Release Date: March 29, 2016
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo| B&N
*Received for review by publisher*
eARC from Netgalley

Summary (Goodreads)
War has begun. Arin is in the thick of it, with the East as his ally and the empire as his enemy. He’s finally managed to dismiss the memory of Kestrel, even if he can’t quite forget her. Kestrel turned into someone he could no longer recognize: someone who cared more for the empire than for the lives of innocent people—and certainly more than she cared for him. At least, that’s what he thinks.

But far north lies a work camp where Kestrel is a prisoner. Can she manage to escape before she loses herself? As the war intensifies, both Kestrel and Arin discover unexpected roles in battle, terrible secrets, and a fragile hope. The world is changing. The East is pitted against the West, and Kestrel and Arin are caught between. In a game like this, can anybody really win?


Review: 

As many of you know, The Winner's Trilogy has been one of my favorite series since the very beginning. Even before the first book came out. Marie Rutkoski is a brilliant writer. I was so excited to be able to get an advance copy from Macmillan that I was beyond excited to be able to review it! When I finished the series it did not prepare for what I thought would happen but it was better. My heart felt way better after reading Kestrel and Arin's story.

I loved getting back into this world because after a year of waiting after The Winner's Crime, it was great to get into the story. It well worth the wait. From the very first pages until the very last page The Winner's Kiss will leave you breathless because it made me cry, laugh, jump for joy and also crave for more. Marie's writing was beautiful, exquisite and when she writes her characters and the relationships is amazing. It is very complex the world she has created and when you get to the end of the book you will be wanting more! The plot was excellent because it was always intriguing, detailed scenes and political strategies that were interesting. There was also Arin's cultural beliefs as well as Krestrel's disbelief was handled with respect and love. It came full circle with the entire series!

The final volume to this series begins with Krestrel as a prisoner and Arin believing she is the enemy but their reunion was nothing you will expect because they do go through obstacles and struggles throughout the book. But the romance between them was OMG, that is all I'm going to say because I love this couple since the beginning and rooting for them because their dialogue and tension is flawless. Their relationship felt real because they go through communication issues, accepting their faults with their strengths and have a growing trust between them. The war is still ongoing and you will not expect what is the end result until you get to the end.

Overall, The Winner's Kiss was a hit that I was very happy with it. I already need more Marie Rutkoski book already. I will be rereading this series for sure and I'm sad to see it ending but I look forward to what series she will come up with next!

5/5

Wednesday, March 23, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: With Malice by Eileen Cook

Title: With Malice
Author: Eileen Cook 
Pages: 320
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Release Date: June 7, 2016

Summary (Goodreads) 

A read about a teenage girl who wakes up in a hospital bed and cannot remember the last six weeks of her life, including the accident that killed her best friend--only what if the accident wasn't an accident?

Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron wakes up in a hospital room, leg in a cast, stitches in her face and a big blank canvas where the last 6 weeks should be. She comes to discover she was involved in a fatal accident while on a school trip in Italy three days previous but was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident...wasn't an accident. Wondering not just what happened but what she did, Jill tries to piece together the events of the past six weeks before she loses her thin hold on her once-perfect life.


Tuesday, March 22, 2016

Top Ten Tuesday (2)



Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We'd love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!


    Ten Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven't Talked About Enough/In A While








 I'm cheating and going to go will 12 because I love all of these books. Give me any of Jennifer L. Armentrout or any of these authors books because they are officially auto-buys for me! I could talk about these books all day because they are my favorites (I have many) but these are what come to mind right away. Everyone should read The Sea of Tranquility because its beyond amazing and you will be surprised and love this book to pieces. Go read these books!



Friday, March 18, 2016

Follow Friday (6)



Top 10 Favorite Book Covers:

Here are some of my favorite covers!










 I love many more covers but it was really hard to choose which ones but all of these are some of my favorites! 




Wednesday, March 16, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: The Crown's Game (#1) by Evelyn Skye

Title: The Crown's Game
Author: Evelyn Skye
Pages: 416
Publisher: Balzer +Bray 
Release Date: May 17, 2016

Summary (Goodreads)
Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are enchanters—the only two in Russia—and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the Tsar needs a powerful enchanter by his side.

And so he initiates the Crown’s Game, an ancient duel of magical skill—the greatest test an enchanter will ever know. The victor becomes the Imperial Enchanter and the Tsar’s most respected adviser. The defeated is sentenced to death.

Raised on tiny Ovchinin Island her whole life, Vika is eager for the chance to show off her talent in the grand capital of Saint Petersburg. But can she kill another enchanter—even when his magic calls to her like nothing else ever has?

For Nikolai, an orphan, the Crown’s Game is the chance of a lifetime. But his deadly opponent is a force to be reckoned with—beautiful, whip smart, imaginative—and he can’t stop thinking about her.

And when Pasha, Nikolai’s best friend and heir to the throne, also starts to fall for the mysterious enchantress, Nikolai must defeat the girl they both love... or be killed himself.

As long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes dangerously clear... the Crown’s Game is not one to lose.
 


Tuesday, March 15, 2016

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books On My Spring/Summer TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We'd love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Ten Books On My Spring/Summer TBR

1) The Last Star by Rick Yancey 
2) Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum 
3) A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
4) A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir 
5) The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh 


6) The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead
7)It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover 
8)The Crown's Game by Evelyn Skye 
9)The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson 
10) The Crown by Kiera Cass 
11) Swear On This Life by Renee Carlino
12) The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout



Friday, March 11, 2016

Feature & Follow Friday



What are some of your biggest pet peeves with books ie. Love triangles?

I would say that some of my pet peeves in books would be:

1) Insta love
2) weird topics that don't relate to the book
3) Cliff-hangers (depends on what happened in the book)
4) Characters that you can't relate to
5) Where the plot doesn't make sense

This was a hard one for me to answer!

Wednesday, March 9, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Frost Like Night (Snow Like Ashes #3) by Sara Raasch

Title: Frost Like Night
Author: Sara Raasch 
Pages:496
Genre: Fantasy
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Release Date: September 20, 2016

Summary (Goodreads) 

Angra is alive, his Decay is spreading—and no one is safe.

Meira will do anything to save her world. With Angra trying to break through her mental defenses, she desperately needs to learn to control her own magic—so when the leader of a mysterious Order from Paisly offers to teach her, she jumps at the chance. But the true solution to stopping the Decay lies in a labyrinth deep beneath the Season Kingdoms. To defeat Angra, Meira will have to enter the labyrinth, destroy the very magic she’s learning to control—and make the biggest sacrifice of all.

Mather will do anything to save his queen. He needs to rally the Children of the Thaw, find Meira—and finally tell her how he really feels. But with a plan of attack that leaves no kingdom unscathed and a major betrayal within their ranks, winning the war—and protecting Meira—slips farther and farther out of reach.

Ceridwen will do anything to save her people. Angra had her brother killed, stole her kingdom, and made her a prisoner. But when she’s freed by an unexpected ally who reveals a shocking truth behind Summer’s slave trade, Ceridwen must take action to save her true love and her kingdom, even if it costs her what little she has left.

As Angra unleashes the Decay on the world, Meira, Mather, and Ceridwen must bring the kingdoms of Primoria together…or lose everything.

Saturday, March 5, 2016

Cover Reveal: Swear On This Life by Renee Carlino


I cannot wait to read this book! I was a huge fan after reading Before We Were Strangers and now I am just as excited to read this book! Can it be August 

Summary (Goodreads) 

When a bestselling debut novel from mysterious author J.Colby becomes the literary event of the year, Emiline reads it reluctantly. As an adjunct writing instructor at UC San Diego with her own stalled literary career and a bumpy long-term relationship, Emiline isn’t thrilled to celebrate the accomplishments of a young and gifted writer.
Yet from the very first page, Emiline is entranced by the story of Emerson and Jackson, two childhood best friends who fall in love and dream of a better life beyond the long dirt road that winds through their impoverished town in rural Ohio.
That’s because the novel is patterned on Emiline’s own dark and desperate childhood, which means that “J. Colby” must be Jase: the best friend and first love she hasn’t seen in over a decade. Far from being flattered that he wrote the novel from her perspective, Emiline is furious that he co-opted her painful past and took some dramatic creative liberties with the ending.
The only way she can put her mind at ease is to find and confront “J. Colby,” but is she prepared to learn the truth behind the fiction?

Friday, March 4, 2016

Feature & Follow Friday



This week's question:

Write a letter to your favorite author


Gah!! This is going to be hard to write since I have a lot of favorite authors. But I will say this to all of them:

Dear authors,

To each and everyone one of you, thank you for writing some of my favorite books because they are amazing, create an image of your characters, recommend to other readers when I am working at my job because if you didn't write I would be without a job and would not be reading. Being a blogger, getting to know you during this experience and being able to meet you in person creates joy in me as we become friends. Thank you for giving every reader a chance to explore your minds! Can't wait to read all your upcoming books and to eventually meet in person!


- Amanda

Thursday, March 3, 2016

Cover Reveal (News!!): It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

The day has finally come for the cover reveal of It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover! She is one of my favorite contemporary new adult books and has never made me hate her books. Just fall in love with them more. This book will be no different but definitely an auto-buy for me! It doesn't have a description but its still looks good!

Here is the cover
...
.


....


........


.................



..................................


...................................................



Comes out on August 2, 2016!!!!

Sometimes it is the one who loves you who hurts you the most.
Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.
Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.
As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.
With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. Combining a captivating romance with a cast of all-too-human characters, It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.







Wednesday, March 2, 2016

The Winner's Kiss by Marie Rutkoski Blog Tour

 
The Winner's Kiss
by Marie Rutkoski
On Sale March 29th, 2016


War has begun. Arin is in the thick of it with untrustworthy new allies and the empire as his enemy. Though he has convinced himself that he no longer loves Kestrel, Arin hasn’t forgotten her, or how she became exactly the kind of person he has always despised. She cared more for the empire than she did for the lives of innocent people—and certainly more than she did for him.
At least, that’s what he thinks.
In the frozen north, Kestrel is a prisoner in a brutal work camp. As she searches desperately for a way to escape, she wishes Arin could know what she sacrificed for him. She wishes she could make the empire pay for what they’ve done to her.
But no one gets what they want just by wishing.
As the war intensifies, both Kestrel and Arin discover that the world is changing. The East is pitted against the West, and they are caught in between. With so much to lose, can anybody really win?
 
 
Marie Rutkoski is the author of The Kronos Chronicles, including The Cabinet of Wonders and The Celestial Globe. The Cabinet of Wonders, her debut novel, was named an Indie Next Kids’ List Great Read and a Bank Street Best Children’s Book of the Year, among other honors. Rutkoski grew up in Bolingbrook, Illinois (a suburb of Chicago), as the oldest of four children. She attended the University of Iowa, where she took Writers’ Workshop classes and studied with Pulitzer Prize-winner James Alan McPherson. After graduating, she lived in Moscow and Prague. Upon receiving her Ph.D. from Harvard University, she held dual appointments as a lecturer there in both English and American Literature and Language, and History and Literature. Rutkoski is currently a professor at Brooklyn College, where she teaches Renaissance Drama, children’s literature and creative writing. She lives in New York City with her husband and cat. 
 

This was very hard for me to choose from because I have many favorite kiss moments like Pride & Prejudice is one of my favorites, The Kiss of Deception and much much more!
 
What book is your favorite literary kiss in?
 
My favorite kiss would be in Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout (I just love all her books!

 
Who is kissing?
 
Aiden and Alex!!

 
Why is it your favorite?
 
"Then Aiden pressed down, and I wasn't the one doing the kissing. His lips moved against mine, his fingers pressing into my skin. After only a few seconds he broke off the kiss and sprung away from me." (Half-Blood)

This is my favorite because you can see how the two characters connect just from that one kiss and you are rooting for them for the rest of the series!

Bonus Question: what kiss do you hope will occur in Marie Rutkoski's The Winner's Kiss?
--
 
I really want Arin to kiss Krestel because those two have so much tension throughout the scenes in the past two books that I just want their characters to be happy. Marie Rutkoski definitely knows how to keep us readers into suspense ! I have already read The Winner's Kiss and it did not disappoint where kisses have been involved! Thank you Marie for writing this amazing series and letting us get to know Arin and Krestel!

Waiting on Wednesday: First Comes Love by Emily Giffin

Title: First Comes Love
Author: Emily Giffin 
Pages: 400
Genre: Contemporary 
Publisher: Ballantine Books/Random House Canada
Release Date: June 28, 2016

Summary (Goodreads) 

In this dazzling new novel, Emily Giffin, the #1 New York Timesbestselling author of Something Borrowed, Where We Belong, andThe One & Only introduces a pair of sisters who find themselves at a crossroads.
 
Growing up, Josie and Meredith Garland shared a loving, if sometimes contentious relationship. Josie was impulsive, spirited, and outgoing; Meredith hardworking, thoughtful, and reserved. When tragedy strikes their family, their different responses to the event splinter their delicate bond.
 
Fifteen years later, Josie and Meredith are in their late thirties, following very different paths. Josie, a first grade teacher, is single—and this close to swearing off dating for good. What she wants more than the right guy, however, is to become a mother—a feeling that is heightened when her ex-boyfriend’s daughter ends up in her class. Determined to have the future she’s always wanted, Josie decides to take matters into her own hands.
 
On the outside, Meredith is the model daughter with the perfect life. A successful attorney, she’s married to a wonderful man, and together they’re raising a beautiful four-year-old daughter. Yet lately, Meredith feels dissatisfied and restless, secretly wondering if she chose the life that was expected of her rather than the one she truly desired. 
 
As the anniversary of their tragedy looms and painful secrets from the past begin to surface, Josie and Meredith must not only confront the issues that divide them, but also come to terms with their own choices. In their journey toward understanding and forgiveness, both sisters discover they need each other more than they knew . . . and that in the recipe for true happiness, love always comes first.
 
Emotionally honest and utterly enthralling, First Comes Love is a story about family, friendship, and the courage to follow your own heart—wherever that may lead.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...