Thursday, May 26, 2016

Cover Reveal: Bedmates by Nichole Chase

Image Map
Title: Bedmates (American Royalty #1)  
Author: Nichole Chase
Pages: 384
Genre: Romance
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks/HarperCollinsCA
Release Date: October 4, 2016

Summary (Goodreads)

Everyone makes mistakes, especially in college. But when you're the daughter of the President of the United States, any little slip up is a huge embarrassment. Maddie McGuire's latest error in judgment lands her in police custody, giving the press a field day. Agreeing to do community service as penance and to restore her tattered reputation, Maddie never dreams incredibly good looking but extremely annoying vice president's son, Jake Simmon, will be along for the ride.

Recently returning from Afghanistan with a life-altering injury, Jake is wrestling with his own demons. He doesn't have the time or patience to deal with the likes of Maddie. They're like oil and water and every time they're together, it's combustible. But there's a thin line between love and hate, and it's not long before their fiery arguments give way to infinitely sexier encounters.

When Jake receives devastating news about the last remaining member of his unit, the darkness he's resisted for so long begins to overwhelm him. Scared to let anyone close, he pushes Maddie away. But she isn't about to give up on Jake that easily. Maddie's fallen for him, and she'll do anything to keep him from the edge as they both discover that love is a battlefield and there are some fights you just can't lose.

About Nichole Chase
Nichole Chase is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Suddenly Royal and Recklessly Royal. She lives in Georgia with her husband, toddler, superhero dog, Sulcata tortoise, and two cats. When not devouring novels by the dozens, you can find her writing, painting, crafting, or chasing her daughter around the house while making monster noises.



Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) by Sarah J. Maas

Title: Empire of Storms
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Pages: 704 
Genre: Fantasy/Teen
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children/Raincoast Books
Release Date: September 6, 2016
Preorder: Amazon|Chapters Indigo|

Summary (Goodreads)

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don't.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin's journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?




Thursday, May 19, 2016

Giveaway: The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout


I haven't given away a book in a while so I thought I would giveaway one of my favourite books: The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout!!!! 

Summary:

For some people, silence is a weapon. For Mallory “Mouse” Dodge, it’s a shield. Growing up, she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime.

Now, after years of homeschooling with loving adoptive parents, Mallory must face a new milestone—spending her senior year at public high school. But of all the terrifying and exhilarating scenarios she’s imagined, there’s one she never dreamed of—that she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood, on her very first day.

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realize that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet the deeper their bond grows, the more it becomes apparent that she’s not the only one grappling with the lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider’s life spiral out of control, Mallory faces a choice between staying silent and speaking out—for the people she loves, the life she wants, and the truths that need to be heard.


Check out my Review!! 


The giveaway is US/CAN 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven

Title: Holding Up the Universe
Author: Jennifer Niven 
Pages: 400
Genre: Contemporary Teen
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers/Penguin Random House CA
Release Date: October 4, 2016

Summary (Goodreads) 
From the author of the New York Times bestseller All the Bright Places comes a heart-wrenching story about what it means to see someone—and love someone—for who they truly are.
Everyone thinks they know Libby Strout, the girl once dubbed “America’s Fattest Teen.” But no one’s taken the time to look past her weight to get to know who she really is. Following her mom’s death, she’s been picking up the pieces in the privacy of her home, dealing with her heartbroken father and her own grief. Now, Libby’s ready: for high school, for new friends, for love, and for EVERY POSSIBILITY LIFE HAS TO OFFER. In that moment, I know the part I want to play here at MVB High. I want to be the girl who can do anything.  

Everyone thinks they know Jack Masselin, too. Yes, he’s got swagger, but he’s also mastered the impossible art of giving people what they want, of fitting in. What no one knows is that Jack has a newly acquired secret: he can’t recognize faces. Even his own brothers are strangers to him. He’s the guy who can re-engineer and rebuild anything in new and bad-ass ways, but he can’t understand what’s going on with the inner workings of his brain. So he tells himself to play it cool: Be charming. Be hilarious. Don’t get too close to anyone. 
Until he meets Libby. When the two get tangled up in a cruel high school game—which lands them in group counseling and community service—Libby and Jack are both pissed, and then surprised. Because the more time they spend together, the less alone they feel. . . . Because sometimes when you meet someone, it changes the world, theirs and yours.
Jennifer Niven delivers another poignant, exhilarating love story about finding that person who sees you for who you are—and seeing them right back.


Wednesday, May 11, 2016

Blog Tour: The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout


Title: The Problem with Forever
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 480
Genre: Contemporary
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Release Date: May 17, 2016
Buy: Amazon| B&N|iBooks|Kobo|Indiebound

Summary (Goodreads)
For some people, silence is a weapon. For Mallory “Mouse” Dodge, it’s a shield. Growing up, she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime.

Now, after years of homeschooling with loving adoptive parents, Mallory must face a new milestone—spending her senior year at public high school. But of all the terrifying and exhilarating scenarios she’s imagined, there’s one she never dreamed of—that she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood, on her very first day.

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realize that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet the deeper their bond grows, the more it becomes apparent that she’s not the only one grappling with the lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider’s life spiral out of control, Mallory faces a choice between staying silent and speaking out—for the people she loves, the life she wants, and the truths that need to be heard.


Review: 

The Problem with Forever has to be one of the best books Jennifer has ever written. I could talk about this book for a long time because I loved every little thing about it from the relationships, friendships, setting, family and love plus all the characters: Rider, Mallory, Jayden, Hector and many more! I couldn't put the book down because it just drew me in from the first page!

Jennifer does not shy away from anything when she writes. It was raw and emotional that even I was crying by the end because the characters feel real and once you read Mallory's story you will understand how many emotions there are to the story. I have also suffered some anxiety since a few years ago and I can tell you that you that this book brings out more awareness and was realistic that I was beginning to identify with Mallory because I am shy as well. Jennifer wrote about a real situation, a broken girl who overcomes the challenges in her life. It was great seeing her growth throughout the book.

The chemistry in this book between Rider and Mallory could possibly break your heart as well as want to make Rider your book boyfriend. I'm not going to give too much away! But you will fall in love with Rider as well. There is many swoon worthy moments that you will make you blush. The Problem with Forever is a must read! It can leave your speechless. The writing was amazing as always. This is why Jen is my favorite author and read all her books immediately.

5/5
*I received an ARC for honest review + blog tour*

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Register your preorder of THE PROBLEM WITH FOREVER by May 20th to receive a FREE fan pack! Includes inspirational wall art, a colorful poster, and flag-as-you-read stickers. You will also get immediate access to an extended excerpt from the book.
JUST FILL OUT THE FORM HERE> http://bit.ly/24awVFw
About Jennifer L. Armentrout:
 # 1 New York Times and #1 International Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing, she spends her time reading, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki.
Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV. Her young adult romantic suspense novel DON’T LOOK BACK was a 2014 nominated Best in Young Adult Fiction by YALSA.


Waiting on Wednesday: Bright Smoke, Cold Fire by Rosamund Hodge

Title: Bright Smoke, Cold Fire
Author: Rosamund Hodge
Pages: 448
Publisher: Balzer + Bray/ HarperCollinsCA
Release Date: September 27, 2016

Summary (Goodreads) 

When the mysterious fog of the Ruining crept over the world, the living died and the dead rose. Only the walled city of Viyara was left untouched.

The heirs of the city’s most powerful—and warring—families, Mahyanai Romeo and Juliet Catresou share a love deeper than duty, honor, even life itself. But the magic laid on Juliet at birth compels her to punish the enemies of her clan—and Romeo has just killed her cousin Tybalt. Which means he must die.

Paris Catresou has always wanted to serve his family by guarding Juliet. But when his ward tries to escape her fate, magic goes terribly wrong—killing her and leaving Paris bound to Romeo. If he wants to discover the truth of what happened, Paris must delve deep into the city, ally with his worst enemy . . . and perhaps turn against his own clan.

Mahyanai Runajo just wants to protect her city—but she’s the only one who believes it’s in peril. In her desperate hunt for information, she accidentally pulls Juliet from the mouth of death—and finds herself bound to the bitter, angry girl. Runajo quickly discovers Juliet might be the one person who can help her recover the secret to saving Viyara.

Both pairs will find friendship where they least expect it. Both will find that Viyara holds more secrets and dangers than anyone ever expected. And outside the walls, death is waiting. . . .
 


Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Title: It Ends With Us 
Author: Colleen Hoover
Pages: 384
Genre: Romance/Contemporary 
Publisher: Atria Books/Simon Schuster Canada
Release Date: August 2, 2016

Summary (Goodreads)

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up. She graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true. 

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant and has a total soft spot for Lily; and the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his no dating rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place. 

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan, her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened. 

With this bold and deeply personal novel Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. Combining a captivating romance with a cast of all too human characters, “It Ends with Us” is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

Gah!! I need this book because I love Colleen Hoover's books! 

Monday, May 2, 2016

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

Title: The Unexpected Everything
Author: Morgan Matson
Pages: 496
Genre: YA Contemporary
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Release Date: May 3, 2016
Buy: Amazon|Chapters Indigo| Kobo|
*ARC was provided by Simon Schuster Canada & Edelweiss for review*

Summary (Goodreads)

Andie had it all planned out. 

When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks)

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing - if everything's planned out, you can never find the unexpected. 

And where’s the fun in that?


Review: 

I loved this book!! Morgan Matson definitely got me hooked immediately from the start until the very end, where I had tears in my eyes. Like any of her other books Matson does a great job with the importance of friendships and easily relate-able characters. When I first heard about The Unexpected Everything, I knew right away that I had to read it just based off the title, cover and synopsis. Morgan Matson's books are definitely worth the wait because you will never be disappointed. This is definitely one of my top favorite contemporary books of this year!

Every character was enjoyable to read. In all of Morgan's books friendship and family play an important part in her books. Andie's friendships with her friends were familiar and complex as you read through the story. The romance was adorable because Andie and Clark are easy to relate to and it was great to see how the relationship develops. I loved how Clark was shy and awkward which made me like him even more! Andie is strong, organized and very smart. She was considerate of others because her friends are important. I really liked Andie's relationship with her father. I liked seeing how they both grew in the book.

The Unexpected Everything is perfect from beginning to end. I was smiling and laughing throughout the book. It deals with serious topics and also a little fun. Morgan Matson is one author that needs to be on everyone's list. Also Clark will become one of your favorite book boyfriends! Now I can't wait to re-read it.

5/5 


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...