Friday, July 29, 2016

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Title: It Ends With Us
Author: Colleen Hoover
Pages: 384
Genre: Romance/Fiction
Publisher: Atria Books
Release Date: August 2, 2016
Buy: Amazon|Kobo| Chapters Indigo
*Received ARC for review purposes*

Summary (Goodreads)
Sometimes it is the one who loves you who hurts you the most.

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened. 

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. Combining a captivating romance with a cast of all-too-human characters, It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.


Review: 

This book was just breath-taking and heart-wrenching all at once. Ever since I've read Colleen Hoover's books they never disappointed me. But It Ends With Us blew it out of the water. I was literally crying at the end and wishing it didn't end but, at the same time happy for Lily and the choices she had to make. I could not put this book down! Colleen you did it again with this strong powerful book that will be talked about. Now I have an epic book hangover and just want to re-read it again. Everyone needs to read this books. 

It Ends With Us is not just about love it's also about what can really happen in homes today. Hoover did an amazing job writing about this. I went in without knowing what was going to happen because it just made me love Hoover's writing more as she developed this story. This is Colleen Hoovers best book hands down because it was just phenomenal from the start. It had love, grief, sadness, fear and so many emotions that you see our main character Lily go through. While the story of the subject is hard to discuss, Colleen blew my expectations. 

Lily's strength over the course of the book was what you call a true heroine and what you want to see happen after what she goes through. She felt real the way she took control of her own life. I literally wanted to give her a big hug. While there was a the question of Ryle and Atlas that it is not the focus of the book. This is different than any other book Colleen has every written. As many of you know I love reading Romance books and this book was deeper and represented more because of the strong message. 

I will say that writing this review has been hard because I still want to re-read it for a second or even third time as I still think about it. Everything about It Ends With Us stood out to me. The title fits it perfectly as well. Going into this book as one of my most anticipated has now turned it into my top favorites of 2016 because like always I was not able to put it down. Be sure to pick up this incredible book!

6/5 (5+ Stars) 

Thursday, July 28, 2016

Blog Tour: A Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson (Thoughts|Giveaway)

Title: The Beauty of Darkness
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Pages: 688
Genre: Fantasy/YA
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co/Raincoast Books
Release Date: August 2, 2016

Summary (Goodreads)

Lia and Rafe have escaped Venda and the path before them is winding and dangerous - what will happen now? This third and final book in The Remnant Chronicles is not to be missed.

Bestselling author Mary E. Pearson's combination of intrigue, suspense, romance and action make this a riveting page turner for teens.


My Thoughts on the first few chapters:

After reading the first chapters of The Beauty of Darkness, I was instantly hooked because they way The Heart of Betrayal ended was like an epic hangover. I definitely love where its going to be heading and I am looking forward to see Lia's decisions will take her after Rafe and her escape from Venda. Now to wait patiently for the book! 


Series as a whole:

Mary E. Pearson has taken us readers on an incredible journey through this series from the very beginning with The Kiss of Deception. The Remenant Chronicles is one of my top favorite series, that I recommend it to everyone who loves a good fantasy read at the same time suspense because you never know what it going to happen to our beloved characters in any story. Trust me when I first saw the cover I knew immediately that I had to read it. The development of the story as well as the characters are spot on and you will be hooked! 
GIVEAWAY!!

Thank you Macmillian for providing a copy of The Beauty of Darkness for a giveaway! 



a Rafflecopter giveaway



What are you most excited for when you read A Beauty of Darkness?

Wednesday, July 27, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday:The Valiant by Lesley Livingston

Title: The Valiant
Author: Lesley Livingston 
Pages: 288
Genre: Young Adult, Historical/Fantasy 
Publisher: Razorbill/HarperCollins Canada
Release Date: February 14, 2017

Summary (Goodreads)

The youngest daughter of a proud Celtic king, Fallon has always lived in the shadow of her older sister Sorcha's legendary reputation as a warrior. But when Fallon was a young child, the armies of Julius Caesar invaded the island of Britain and her beloved older sister was killed in battle.

On the eve of her seventeenth birthday, Fallon is excited to follow in her sister's footsteps and earn her rightful place in her father's royal war band. But she never gets the chance. Instead, Fallon is captured by a band of ruthless brigands who sell her to an exclusive training school for female gladiators—and its most influential patron is none other than Julius Caesar himself. In a cruel twist of fate, Fallon's worst enemy, the man who destroyed her family, might be her only hope of survival.

Now, Fallon must overcome vicious rivalries, chilling threats and the dangerous attention of Caesar himself to survive the deadly fights that take place both in and out of the arena—and claim her place in history among the Valiant.


Thursday, July 21, 2016

Guest Post: Kendra C. Highley (Playlist for Defying Gravity)

The Songs of Defying Gravity

I can’t write in silence, so I have to have a playlist specific to each book I write, complete with songs that the major characters. Zoey and Parker had some trouble finding their way in the beginning, so I turned back to the music again and again to help me define their characters and shape their story. Here are some of my favorites from the Defying Gravity playlist:

1.      “Can’t Pretend” by Tom Odell
2.      “Stay” by Rihanna, feat. Mikky Ekko
3.       “Do or Die” by Thirty Seconds to Mars
4.      “A Head Full of Dreams” by Coldplay
5.      “Dream” by Imagine Dragons
6.      “Light It Up” by One Republic
7.      “Unstoppable” by Sia
8.      “She Is Rising” by INXS
9.      “Look What You’ve Done” by Jet
10.  “Fooled Around and Fell in Love” by Elvin Bishop
11.  “Maybe I’m Amazed” by Paul McCartney
12.  “MK Ultra” by Muse
13.  “Wicked Game” by Emika
14.  “Little Talks” by Of Monsters and Men



Kendra C. Highley lives in north Texas with her husband and two children. She also serves as staff to four self-important and high-powered cats. This, according to the cats, is her most critical job. She believes in everyday magic, extraordinary love stories and the restorative powers of dark chocolate.

Find her on:



About Defying Gravity

Two guys. One girl. May the best man win.
Disclaimer: This book contains enough sexual tension to melt snow, the hottest near-kiss in the history of near-kisses, and a sexy snowboarder determined to win the heart of the girl he loves.
Zoey Miller lives for her holidays in Aspen. Her time up on the mountain with the Madison brothers, Parker and Luke, is everything. But for the first time, it’s not enough. This time, she’s determined to win one of the brothers’ hearts.

But the brother she has in mind is a renowned player, with hordes of snow-bunnies following him around Snowmass resort. And the other…well, he’s her best friend and knows she deserves better. Namely him. And he’s going to win her heart.


Be Sure to check out this book when it comes out on July 25, 2016 

Wednesday, July 20, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Spindle Fire by Lexa Hillyer

Title: Spindle Fire
Pages: 368
Genre: Fantasy/Retelling
Publisher: HarperTeen/HarperCollins Canada
Release Date: April 11, 2017

Summary (Goodreads) 

Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo, Spindle Fire is an enthralling, wholly original re-imagining of a classic faerie story.

Half-sisters Isabelle and Aurora are polar opposites: Isabelle is the king’s headstrong illegitimate daughter, whose sight was tithed by faeries; Aurora, beautiful and sheltered, was tithed her sense of touch and voice on the same day. Despite their differences, the sisters have always been extremely close.

And then everything changes, with a single drop of Aurora’s blood, a Faerie Queen who is preparing for war, a strange and enchanting dream realm—and a sleep so deep it cannot be broken.

Spindle Fire is a tour de force fantasy set in the dwindling, deliciously corrupt world of the fae, and featuring two truly unforgettable heroines.
 


Monday, July 18, 2016

Torn (A Wicked Trilogy #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Torn (A Wicked Trilogy #2)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 299
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Paranormal 
Release Date: July 19, 2016
Buy: Amazon| Kobo| ibooks
*Received ARC for Review*

Summary (Goodreads)

Torn between duty and survival, nothing can be the same.

Everything Ivy Morgan thought she knew has been turned on its head. After being betrayed and then nearly killed by the Prince of the Fae, she’s left bruised and devastated—and with an earth-shattering secret that she must keep at all costs. And if the Order finds out her secret, they’ll kill her.

Then there’s Ren Owens, the sexy, tattooed Elite member of the Order who has been sharing Ivy’s bed and claiming her heart. Their chemistry is smoking hot, but Ivy knows that Ren has always valued his duty to the Order above all else—he could never touch her if he knew the truth. That is, if he let her live at all. Yet how can she live with herself if she lies to him?

But as the Fae Prince begins to close in on Ivy, intent on permanently opening the gates to the Otherworld, Ivy is running out of options. If she doesn’t figure out who she can trust—and fast—it’s not only her heart that will be torn apart, but civilization itself.


Review: 

There is a reason why Jennifer L. Armentrout is my favorite author: her writing is addicting and I'm always in need of the next book in the series because she is an amazing storyteller as she draws you in with her draw-dropping plot lines and hilarious characters. Also, I loved being back in the world with Ivy, Ren and Tink!! Who couldn't love that fairy who loves to order on Amazon almost about everything. Torn definitely did not disappoint!!

It picks up right where we left off in Wicked as we get to see what is going to happen next. Everything heats up the romance, action and the stakes as Ivy learns more about herself as a Fae and the reason of the Order. Plus we get to see more the Prince who is a very interesting character and what he has planned for the world + Ivy. He sheds shows her his plan to make her choose the others and protecting herself. I really enjoyed the humor that Jen adds with the banter with Tink and learning more about him as well.

I still love all the characters so much that I wish Torn never ended because Ren is still hotter than ever especially during some scenes. Overall, I am very happy with this addition and can't wait to read the final book to see what will happen. Thank you Jen and Kelly for allowing me to read this book (hugs) Definitely recommending the series to everyone!

5/5

Wednesday, July 13, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Caraval (#1) by Stephanie Garber

Title: Caraval 
Author: Stephanie Garber
Pages: 416
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy 
Publisher: Flatiron Books/ Raincoast Books
Release Date: January 31, 2017

Summary (Goodreads) 

Before you enter the world of Caraval, you must remember that it’s all a game . . .

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their ruthless father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the legendary, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

Then, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation to Caraval finally arrives. So, Tella enlists a mysterious sailor’s help to whisk Scarlett away to this year’s show. But as soon as the trio arrives, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nonetheless soon becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with her sister, with Legend, and with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.


Friday, July 8, 2016

Cover Reveal: I See You



Buy Links:
Harper Collins: https://www.harpercollins.com/9780062442673/i-see-you
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01BKD6Z18/ref=cm_sw_su_dp?tag=harpercollinsus-20 Barnes & Nobles: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/i-see-you-molly-mcadams/1123384158?ean=9780062442673&st=AFF&2sid=HarperCollins%20Publishers%20LLC_7310909_NA&sourceId=AFFHarperCollins%20Publishers%20LLCM000023 
Google Books: https://play.google.com/store/search?q=9780062442673+&c=books
iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/i-see-you/id1082280521?mt=11&ign-mpt=uo%3D4


I SEE YOU by Molly McAdams
On-Sale: 11/1/2016 | ISBN: 9780062442666

About the Book:
Futures are uncertain, unpredictable-like ink spilled across the purest surface. Nearly imperceptible ripples move and flow until a unique stain is formed. The ink is permanently embedded in the surface…

During one wild night in college, Jentry Michaels is a tidal wave of ink that brands Aurora Wilde's soul. An unparalleled stain she can't forget despite the many months that have passed-and despite the distraction she'd hoped she would find in her new relationship with Declan, the charmer who captured her heart soon after. Jentry has irrevocably touched her soul, and he is intertwined in her present and future in ways she never fathomed. Now Aurora is faced with keeping that night hidden though it feels as if the ink has indelibly etched their story across her skin.

When Declan is confronted with his own personal demons, Aurora must decide if she will continue to hold tight to their relationship and a safe, reliable future with him, or if she will turn to Jentry-the guy she can't forget no matter how hard she tries…

About the Author:
Molly McAdams grew up in California but now lives in the oh-so-amazing state of Texas with her husband, daughter, and fur babies. Her hobbies include hiking, snowboarding, traveling and long walks on the beach … which roughly translates to being a homebody with her hubby and dishing out movie quotes.

Thursday, July 7, 2016

Cover Reveal: Defying Gravity




Excerpt!!!


She breezed through the crowd in a lime-green ski suit, her snowboard resting against her shoulder. Blond hair streamed out behind her under the hot pink knit cap she’d been wearing since they were kids, and her cheeks were flushed with the cold. Her smile could stop traffic…no, really, it had stopped traffic. The sudden loss of coordination among the men near the entrance was proof. He could only imagine what her real smile—the one she only gave him—could do. Wait. No. He didn’t want her smiling at any other guys that way. She searched the crowd, oblivious as always to the way people stared, and Parker waved. Laughing, she barreled straight at him, tossing her snowboard to the side, before knocking him into a snow drift. They landed in a clatter of boots, boards, and limbs, with her on top. Her grin lit up the world. “Parker Madison! How the hell are you?” His entire body went supernova hot. He could feel every inch of her, despite the layers of ski clothes separating them. Jesus. He choked back a groan and tried to think of anything other than how perfectly they fit together. If she felt how his body responded to her… No, not happening. He sighed heavily and brushed melting snow from her cheek. “How am I? Well, Miller, I’m bored.” Lie. So much lying. Whole mountains of lie. “Bored?” She blinked at him. “I’m not that late.” He pretended to scowl at her, enjoying the close-up look at her baby-blues. Huh, was she wearing mascara? Since when did she wear makeup on the mountain? Not that he was complaining—she looked amazing. “Zoey, two ages of the universe passed by while I’ve been waiting for you. Maybe even three.” “Is that so?” She smiled again and tugged on his cap. “I missed you.” There’s the smile he’d been waiting for. His mouth went dry and he had to swallow a few times before he could speak. Maybe he should just kiss her instead. “Yeah?” “Yeah.”

And now the moment you've been waiting for...

Defying Gravity

About Defying Gravity:

Disclaimer: This book contains enough sexual tension to melt snow, the hottest near-kiss in the history of near-kisses, and a sexy snowboarder determined to win the heart of the girl he loves. Zoey Miller lives for her holidays in Aspen. Her time up on the mountain with the Madison brothers, Parker and Luke, is everything. But for the first time, it’s not enough. This time, she’s determined to win one of the brothers’ hearts. But the brother she has in mind is a renowned player, with hordes of snow-bunnies following him around Snowmass resort. And the other…well, he’s her best friend and knows she deserves better. Namely him. And he’s going to win her heart.

Kendra Pic 2010About Kendra C. Highley:

Kendra C. Highley lives in north Texas with her husband and two children. She also serves as staff to four self-important and high-powered cats. This, according to the cats, is her most important job. She believes in everyday magic, extraordinary love stories, and the restorative powers of dark chocolate.

Want to Read More? Pre-order Defying Gravity Today!

add-to-goodreads

Amazon | B&N | Kobo | iBooks | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Wednesday, July 6, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Royally Screwed


Title: Royally Screwed 
Author: Emma Chase 
Genre: Romance 
Release Date: September 19, 2016

Summary (goodreads)  

Emma Chase, New York Times bestselling author of the Tangled Series & Legal Briefs Series, returns with the first of three sizzling standalone books about a family of racy, irresistible Royals. 

Nicholas Arthur Frederick Edward Pembrook, Crowned Prince of Wessco, aka “His Royal Hotness”, is wickedly charming, devastatingly handsome, and unabashedly arrogant—hard not to be when people are constantly bowing down to you. 
I'm
Then, one snowy night in Manhattan, the prince meets a dark haired beauty who doesn’t bow down. Instead, she throws a pie in his face.

Nicholas wants to find out if she tastes as good as her pie, and this heir apparent is used to getting what he wants. 

***
Dating a prince isn’t what waitress Olivia Hammond ever imagined it would be.

There’s a disapproving queen, a wildly inappropriate spare heir, relentless paparazzi, and brutal public scrutiny. While they’ve traded in horse drawn carriages for Rolls Royces and haven’t chopped anyone’s head off lately—the royals are far from accepting of this commoner.

But to Olivia—Nicholas is worth it.

***
Nicholas grew up with the whole world watching, and now Marriage Watch is in full force. In the end, Nicholas has to decide who he is, but more importantly, who he wants to be: a King... or the man who gets to love Olivia forever.







Friday, July 1, 2016

Fast-Forward Friday (2): It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Fast-Forward Friday is a weekly event, hosted here at Between The Spine, that recognizes an upcoming date that you would like to share! What's so special about these upcoming dates? Anything BOOK related! If a book you are anticipating is being released, tell us why you're excited! If a release date has been set for a movie based on your favourite book, let us know! If you are attending a book signing or event, keep us posted! The options are endless! If you would like to share your Fast-Forward Friday blog post please post it in the comments below! 

What I am excited for is.......

Title: It Ends With Us 
Author: Colleen Hoover
Pages: 384
Genre: Romance/New Adult 
Publisher: Atria Books/Simon Schuster Canada
Release Date: August 2, 2016 
   
Summary (Goodreads

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up. She graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true. 

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant and has a total soft spot for Lily; and the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his no dating rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place. 

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan, her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened. 

With this bold and deeply personal novel Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. Combining a captivating romance with a cast of all too human characters, “It Ends with Us” is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

Yes I am desperately waiting for this book!! Can it be August already! I've read most of her books and they have never failed to leave me amazed! Also have been seeing everyone get an early copy which I wish I had. Already got a good feeling about It Ends With Us. 

If you would like to participate in Fast-Forward Friday leave a link to your post! 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...