Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: A Million Junes by Emily Henry

Title: A Million Junes
Author: Emily Henry
Pages: 350
Genre: YA/Fantasy
Publisher: Razorbill/Penguin Canada
Release Date: May 16, 2017

Summary (Goodreads)

Romeo and Juliet meets One Hundred Years of Solitude in Emily Henry's brilliant follow-up to The Love That Split the World, about the daughter and son of two long-feuding families who fall in love while trying to uncover the truth about the strange magic and harrowing curse that has plagued their bloodlines for generations. 

June O'Donnell—a.k.a. Junior, a.k.a. Jack, a.k.a. Jonathan O'Donnell IV, a.k.a. the first female O'Donnell first-born—has always been haunted by her family's mythic but complicated legacy. As she prepares to begin her final year of high school, June is itching to leave behind her ghosts in Five Fingers, Michigan, and travel the world. 

And then, just like it always happens to the O'Donnells, a painful glimmer from her past returns to mess everything up. Enter Saul Angert, the eldest son of Eli Angert, a.k.a. June's late father's mortal enemy, back in town from a prestigious writing program to care for his ailing father. June can't seem to avoid Saul, whose very presence makes her ache with grief over her father, and soon the unthinkable happens: She finds she doesn't exactly hate the gruff, sarcastic, and strangely tender boy whom she was born to loathe. 

When June and Saul accidentally stumble into a bit of the forest magic, they are allowed a glimpse into the past at the fateful, horrible moment that started all the trouble between their families. Now June doesn't know if this new discovery means she should hate the Angerts even more or if it's finally time for her—and all of the O'Donnells before her—to let go.



Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Giveaway: Bossman & Playboy Pilot

Hey Everyone!! I know its been a while since I did a giveaway and I absolutely loved these two books and authors! Be sure to enter to win! Spread the news!

There will be 2 winners!

Bossman Summary (Goodreads)                                       Playboy Pilot (Goodreads


From New York Times Bestseller, Vi Keeland, comes a sexy new standalone novel.

The first time I met Chase Parker, I didn't exactly make a good impression.I was hiding in the bathroom hallway of a restaurant, leaving a message for my best friend to save me from my awful date.He overheard and told me I was a bitch, then proceeded to offer me some dating advice.So I told him to mind his own damn business―his own tall, gorgeous, full-of-himself damn business―and went back to my miserable date.When he walked by my table, he smirked, and I watched his arrogant, sexy ass walk back to his date.
I couldn't help but sneak hidden glances at the condescending jerk on the other side of the room. Of course, he caught me on more than one occasion, and winked.

When the gorgeous stranger and his equally hot date suddenly appeared at our table, I thought he was going to rat me out.But instead, he pretended we knew each other and joined us―telling elaborate, embarrassing stories about our fake childhood.My date suddenly went from boring to bizarrely exciting.

When it was over and we parted ways, I thought about him more than I would ever admit, even though I knew I'd never see him again.I mean, what were the chances I'd run into him again in a city with eight million people?Then again...

What were the chances a month later he'd wind up being my new sexy boss?



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: By Your Side by Kasie West

Title: By Your Side
Author: Kasie West
Pages: 352
Genre: Teen Contemporary/Romance
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: January 31, 2017

Summary (Goodreads) 

In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?


Thursday, September 15, 2016

Turbulence by Whitney G.

Title: Turbulence
Author: Whitney G.
Pages: 412
Format: e-book
Genre: Romance (+18)
Release Date: August 30, 2016
Buy: Amazon|Kobo|

Summary (Goodreads)

Fuck me recklessly
Kiss me harder.
Take me again and again… 


He and I met under a cloud of clich├ęs:
Boy meets girl. Boy charms girl. Boy fucks girl.
Our story was supposed to end right after the orgasms, right after we went our separate ways.

But then we saw each other again…
And neither of us could walk away.

Our rules were simple.
Our passion was scandalous.
Our hearts were supposed to be safe…

But when you find something so all-consuming—something so intoxicating and inescapable, you’ll risk everything you’ve ever had, even if you’re destined to crash and burn.

This is us.
This is our messed up love.
This is turbulence.


Review: 

I devoured Turbulence so fast that I wish that the story never ended!! Told from both Jake and Gillian and their very turbulent romance. Jake is very swoon-worthy and super hot! I love a good pilot romance and it perfectly defines the Mile High Club! Whitney G. did an amazing job writing this book because it was pure addiction. You will finish it in one day! If you are a fan of intense forbidden romance, this is the book you need to pick up immediately!

The entire book had me drawn to the characters and also made me swoon and even blush. The romance between Gillian and Jake was HOT and the chemistry was sizzling like crazy! But I loved it because their job. He was a pilot and she is the stewardess and the company has a non-fraternizing policy and with their instant connection was forbidden but undeniable because there was hookups everywhere. But they always were coming back together. You will be hooked from the first page and into the turbulence of their rocky relationship. It was crazy and chaotic, but everything about the book was amazing.

I really liked Jake because he felt damaged immediately, but he is intelligent, broken, doesn't like to apologize and is definitely an alpha male who doesn't like people getting close to him. From his mannerisms to just being an ass most of the time. But as you read you definitely want him to fall in love. Gillian is trying to put her life together, plus different than the rest of her family she is trying to find success rather than ask her parents especially when moving to New York. One of her jobs includes working in housekeeping, where she cleans a penthouse, whose owner is never present. This plot sequence was super unique how it was put in. Despite the shock that would come, Jake is drawn to Gillian. Never after just one girl or develop attachment/exclusiveness. Loved every thing about this book!! I could go on and on about this book!

Really hope Whitney G. writes more about these two because I need to know more about them plus some of the other storylines and epilogue or bonus scene would be great. This is my first book by this author and it will not be the last!

4.5/5

Wednesday, September 14, 2016

No Words........



Loss: the fact or process of losing something or someone.

Over the past month and a half has been crazy for my family. Since the end of July to September 5th has been tremendously stressful for me. I have been not posting anything on my blog over the past week because I recently lost my father. He was my hero, the first person I would call if I had any trouble or even just to see how his day was going. Since finding out he was sick it was very quick because we didn't expect him to go so quickly.

While it has been only a week since he past away, my heart is still hurting over this huge loss in my family. You can say that it is not the same in the house without him. As I'm writing this am tearing up. My dad had a charismatic personality, generous, and was a kindhearted soul you could have known. I will miss him so much because he was always so supportive when I was in school and was slowly warming up to me blogging. While he may not be here now I know he will always be watching me from above.

"Goodbyes are not forever. Goodbyes are not the end. They simply mean, "I'll miss you, until we meet again"   UNKNOWN 


Friday, September 2, 2016

The Thousandth Floor (The Thousandth Floor #1) by Katharine McGee

Title: The Thousandth Floor (The Thousandth Floor #1)
Author: Katharine McGee
Pages: 448
Genre: Dystopia, Science Fiction, YA
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: August 30, 2016
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
Rating: 5/5
*Received for review by publisher*

Summary (Goodreads)

New York City as you’ve never seen it before. A thousand-story tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future, where anything is possible—if you want it enough.

Welcome to Manhattan, 2118.


A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. But people never change: everyone here wants something…and everyone has something to lose.

Leda Cole’s flawless exterior belies a secret addiction—to a drug she never should have tried and a boy she never should have touched.

Eris Dodd-Radson’s beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart.

Rylin Myers’s job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world—and a romance—she never imagined…but will her new life cost Rylin her old one?

Watt Bakradi is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he’s hired to spy by an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught up in a complicated web of lies.

And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is Avery Fuller, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all—yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have.

Debut author Katharine McGee has created a breathtakingly original series filled with high-tech luxury and futuristic glamour, where the impossible feels just within reach. But in this world, the higher you go, the farther there is to fall….
 



Review:

Let me just tell you that I am literally shocked after reading this book. It was jaw-dropping at the ways that Katherine McGee created this amazing world set in 2118 with a thousand floor tower as the setting. I flew through this book so fast because the plot and characters were captivating. With its 5 point of views and the way it was written it felt like it was a futuristic gossip girl.

Each character is very different, but they bring something very important to the entire story. They come from different floors. The higher you are the wealthier. This fantastic world building that McGee created was very high-tech, hover cars and eye scans as well as sending pings or texts. The world is very interesting as you still see that drugs are still very common. It starts off with a girl falling off the highest floor, we don't know who but as the story goes back 2 months later we see what really happened.

 The Thousandth Floor has love, betrayal, secrets and the typical drama that will leave your shocked right to the very end. When I first started the book it was a little slow getting to know what Avery, Leda, Rylin, Eris and Watt and their personalities you will see the tangle of mistrust between the characters. I hated Leda immediately! While Avery is her best friend and is beautiful and genetically designed to be perfect. She lives on the highest floor with her parents and her brother Atlas. She is tormented by the only thing she could never have - you will have to read this book to find out!

Overall, this book was drama-crazy good and an excellent amount of diversity. If you enjoy a good mystery with backstabbing, romance and so much more, The Thousandth Floor is the book to read right now. Looking forward to what the next book will bring!

4.5/5

Playboy Pilot Teaser




Are you excited to read Playboy Pilot on September 19th? 

We have a link for you to read Chapter 1 NOW! 
Read Chapter 1 of Playboy Pilot early: http://www.subscribepage.com/i1a4m5

Exclusive pre-order on iBooks: http://apple.co/1Wb06Cf
Add Playboy Pilot to your TBR list on Goodreads!
Playboy Pilot will be available on Amazon, B&N, Kobo & Google on release day.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...