Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves

Title: Blood Rose Rebellion (#1)
Author: Rosalyn Eves
Pages: 416
Genre: Fantasy, YA, Historical 
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers/Penguin Random House Canada
Release Date: March 28, 2017

Summary (Goodreads)

The thrilling first book in a YA fantasy trilogy for fans of Red Queen. In a world where social prestige derives from a trifecta of blood, money, and magic, one girl has the ability to break the spell that holds the social order in place.

Sixteen-year-old Anna Arden is barred from society by a defect of blood. Though her family is part of the Luminate, powerful users of magic, she is Barren, unable to perform the simplest spells. Anna would do anything to belong. But her fate takes another course when, after inadvertently breaking her sister’s debutante spell—an important chance for a highborn young woman to show her prowess with magic—Anna finds herself exiled to her family’s once powerful but now crumbling native Hungary.

Her life might well be over.

In Hungary, Anna discovers that nothing is quite as it seems. Not the people around her, from her aloof cousin Noémi to the fierce and handsome Romani Gábor. Not the society she’s known all her life, for discontent with the Luminate is sweeping the land. And not her lack of magic. Isolated from the only world she cares about, Anna still can’t seem to stop herself from breaking spells.

As rebellion spreads across the region, Anna’s unique ability becomes the catalyst everyone is seeking. In the company of nobles, revolutionaries, and Romanies, Anna must choose: deny her unique power and cling to the life she’s always wanted, or embrace her ability and change that world forever.
 


Saturday, November 26, 2016

Blog Tour: Fire In You (Wait For You #6) by Jennifer L. Armentrout (J. Lynn)


   

fire-in-you-feature-tour-banner     

Some are born with fire in them.

✮✮✮SECOND CHANCES, HOPE, & RED-HOT CHEMISTRY…FIRE IN YOU, the final book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Wait For You World, releases November 28, 2016! Don’t Miss Brock and Jillian’s passionate and richly moving story in this standalone contemporary romance! And check out each stop on the FIRE IN YOU Feature Tour taking place November 21-December 3!✮✮✮

Let the FIRE IN YOU burn and order your copy today!

fire-in-you-cover
About FIRE IN YOU (Standalone Contemporary Romance Releasing November 28, 2016):
From the # 1 New York Times and International bestselling author comes a richly moving story about heartbreak and guilt, second chances and hope. Full of familiar, fan-favorite characters and no two people more deserving of a happy ending, Fire In You will burn bright beyond the last page…
Jillian Lima’s whole world was destroyed in a span of a few hours. The same night her childhood love, Brock ‘the Beast’ Mitchell, broke her heart, her life was irrevocably altered by the hand of a stranger with a gun. It takes six years to slowly glue together the shattered pieces of her life, but Jillian is finally ready to stop existing in a past full of pain and regret. She takes a job at her father’s martial arts Academy and she’s going out on her first date since a failed relationship that was more yuck than yum. Jillian is determined to start living.
She just never expected Brock to be a part of her life again. But he’s firmly back in her life before she knows it, and not only is he older, he’s impossibly more handsome, more teasing and more everything. And when he sees Jillian, he’s no longer capable of thinking of her as the little girl who was his shadow growing up or the daughter of the man who gave him a second chance at life. He sees the woman who’d always been there for him, the one person who believed in him no matter what.
Brock knows she’s the one he should’ve made his, and what begins as a tentative friendship quickly turns to red-hot chemistry that sparks a flame that burns brighter than lust. Falling for Brock again risks more than her heart, because when the sorrow-filled and guilt-ridden past resurfaces, and a web of lies threatens to rip them apart, the fallout could lay waste to everything they’ve fought to build together, and destroy the dreams of those they care most about.

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks

    fire-in-you-feature-tour-teaser-1
 

Pre-Order a digital or paperback copy of FIRE IN YOU by Jennifer L. Armentrout, writing as J.Lynn, AND fill out THIS FORM by December 3rd, and get an exclusive bonus scene-an Epilogue featuring POVs from all the major couples throughout the Wait For You World!

FIRE IN YOU will be available in paperback and eBook November 28th, 2016!

Just enter your name, age, email address, and the order number from your digital or paperback pre-order receipt athttps://a.pgtb.me/M7KhMCto receive your exclusive FIRE IN YOU bonus scene! All entrants will receive the bonus scene on December 5th, 2016 through email using the email given when the entrant filled out THIS FORM.

   
FIRE IN YOU Feature Tour
November 21
The Book Bratz-Review This Wacky Mama Reads!-Review & Excerpt Booklovers For Life-Character Q & A-Jillian
November 22
The Reading Geek-Review Words With Sarah-Review & Author Interview
November 23
November 24
A Bookish Escape-Review Star-Crossed Book Blog-Review & Author Interview
November 25
Book Bitches Blog-Review & Excerpt The Irish Banana Reviews-Review & Author Interview
November 26
Stuck In YA Books-Review & Top 5 List Step Into Fiction-Review & Excerpt
November 27
Less Reality, More Books-Review & Character Q & A-Kristen My YA NA Book Obsession-Review & Author Interview
November 28
November 29
Milky Way of Books-Review Love Between the Sheets-Review & Character Q & A-Brock Book Boyfriend Reviews-Review
November 30
The Cover Contessa-Review & Top 5 List Deity Island-Review & Excerpt All Romance Reviews-Review & Excerpt
December 1
Cocktails and Books-Review Readers Live 1000 Lives-Review & Character Q & A-Avery & Cam K-Books-Review
December 2
Tome Tender-Review & Excerpt The Book Hookup-Review & Excerpt
December 3
Nose Stuck in a Book-Review & Excerpt Kimberlyfaye Reads-Review & Top 5 List


These are the Top 5 Anticipated Reads for 2017 for Jen!
1.  The Chosen by J.R. Ward
2.  A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas -- I'm also excited for this one!
3. Riveted by Jay Crownover
4.  Every Little Thing by Samantha Young
5. Firstborn by Tosca Lee


Review: 

As any Jennifer L. Armentrout book, this one was no different because it was amazing! It definitely got me out of my reading funk and it was great being back into the lives of all the characters in the Wait for You series! It was a perfect ending to a great series because now we got to see a new romance begin with Brock and Jillian. Watching their romance unfold was written beautifully and left me smiling at the end when you have become so invested in all the characters Jen has created.

The chemistry between Brock and Jillian was HOT, steamy, and very seductive that I just wanted after the book ended! You might even have to fan yourself with all the fun that happens between these two because Brock takes Jillian out of her comfort zone with his personality, attitude and just being charming when he says the perfect things!

The background story between them was the perfect way to put them together because Jillian has known Brock since she was only eight years old after her father helped him out when he was fourteen. You see how much she looked up to him from the beginning. Until one night tears them apart by a gunman. The book begins 6 years after the incident where you see Jillian start to slow put her life together. We get to see how our other favorite characters are doing! But we see that Jillian is not prepared to see Brock again as well as to final face the past. 

For anyone who knows me or reads my reviews, they can definitely see that Jen is my favorite author and this book is no different because you do get invested in all her books, characters and all the hot man candy she creates within the pages. Thank you InkslingerPR for letting me be apart of this tour since you know how much I love reading all of Jen's books! If you haven't picked up the rest in the Wait for You series go pick it up immediately! 

5/5


author-photo-jla_j-lynn    About Jennifer L. Armentrout: # 1 New York Times and # 1 International Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. She spends her time reading, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki. Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV. Jennifer has won numerous awards, including the 2013 Reviewers Choice Award for Wait for You, the 2015 Editor’s Pick for Fall With Me, and the 2014/2015 Moerser-Jugendbuch- Jury award for Obsidian. Her young adult romantic suspense novel DON’T LOOK BACK was a 2014 nominated Best in Young Adult Fiction by YALSA. She also writes Adult and New Adult contemporary and paranormal romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.  

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads





    inkslinger-blogger-final

Wednesday, November 16, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Frostblood (Frostblood Saga #1) by Elly Blake

Title: Frostblood (Frostblood Saga #1)
Author: Elly Blake
Pages: 384
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy 
Publisher: Little Brown Books for Young Readers/Hatchette Book Group Canada
Release Date: January 10, 2017 

Summary (Goodreads) 

Seventeen-year-old Ruby is a fireblood who must hide her powers of heat and flame from the cruel frostblood ruling class that wants to destroy all that are left of her kind. So when her mother is killed for protecting her and rebel frostbloods demand her help to kill their rampaging king, she agrees. But Ruby's powers are unpredictable, and she's not sure she's willing to let the rebels and an infuriating (yet irresistible) young man called Arcus use her as their weapon.

All she wants is revenge, but before they can take action, Ruby is captured and forced to take part in the king's tournaments that pit fireblood prisoners against frostblood champions. Now she has only one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who has taken everything from her and from the icy young man she has come to love.

Fast-paced and compelling, Frostblood is the first in a page-turning new young adult three-book series about a world where flame and ice are mortal enemies—but together create a power that could change everything.


Tuesday, November 15, 2016

Bloggers Block

BLOGGERS BLOCK

This year has been one roller-coaster for my family and I. In January you think that the year will be great! Instead mine has been very hard due to losing my grandfather and father in the same year. If you have been noticing a decline in posting it is because of everything going on personally in my life. Noticing these things have prompted me to post this because it is hard for me to keep up to date with posts and writing reviews at times. I'm even having trouble reading at the moment due to all the stress.

If you have any suggestions please let me know to help me during this time. 




Current read: Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas 


Thursday, November 3, 2016

Mr. President (White House #1) by Katy Evans

Title: Mr. President (White House #1)
Author: Katy Evans
Genre: Romance, Contemporary
Release Date: October 31, 2016
Buy: Amazon|Kobo|

Summary (Goodreads)

He's won the hearts of millions. But is he willing to lose his? I met the president's son when we were both young. Matthew Hamilton was handsome, polished, and intelligent. I'd never met a guy like him. He promised me that he'd never run for president. I promised that if he did, I'd be by his side. Two terms later, an invitation to join Matthew Hamilton's campaign is the most exhilarating opportunity I've ever experienced. I'm determined to make a difference; he is determined to win. Focused on his goal, Matt is steadfast, ruthless, and disarming. All eyes are on him and his popularity is surging. But soon, the next possible president of the United States is possessing me in more ways than one-and despite the risks, I'm helpless to resist. We're stealing touches, stealing moments, and stealing away at night. But our chemical connection is quickly becoming dangerously combustive, putting not only my heart, but Matt's chance at the presidency on the line. Winning will take everything. Walking away will be the hardest thing of all.

Review:

I have been a fan of Katy Evans since her first book came out. Say hello to Matt Hamilton. I even learnt more about American politics (I live in Canada). While I do love a good debate Mr. President was a much better than watching what is happening. From the moment I heard about this book I knew it was going to be amazing. Good thing because it was INCREDIBLE! Katy did her research because it was a slow burning romance that will leave you wanting more!

Matt Hamilton is a young, hot, sexy, motivated, and just loves his country since his father was president so long ago. He is single and is not currently looking for a wife. I love how loyal he is to all his supporters and is well respected like his father was.  Then enter, Charlotte Wells who wasn't part of the plan when he decided to run for president.

Plus I love a good scandal romance. The secret love affair between Matt and Charolotte, who is a member of his campaign. I loved their chemistry together. You could feel the tension between them. It was intoxicating that I flew through the book. By the end I knew I needed the next book. It was a smart, sexy, steamy romance that you see how political campaigns work. If you haven't picked up this book you need to immediately!

4.5/5

Wednesday, November 2, 2016

#CuddleWithTuttle Wednesday



Preorder Links: 
Want to be notified when MORE THAN FRIENDS goes live on Amazon Kindle? Sign up here! http://bit.ly/2eauYTp
iBooks preorder link: http://apple.co/2elBtCx
Nook: http://bit.ly/2e4sAPn
Amazon US (print): http://amzn.to/2e4tjAa

Summary (Goodreads)
He's not perfect, but he's all I want...

I’m your average girl at your average high school, trying to figure out my place in life. After catching my now ex-boyfriend messing around with my now ex-best friend, I’ve made some big changes. No more band, no more backstabbing friends and no more boring old life. Now I have new friends, a new job and new interests.

But there’s a certain someone who’s interested in me, and I don’t get it. Jordan Tuttle could have anyone he wants. He’s the most popular boy in school. Rich, gorgeous, smart and the star quarterback, he’s perfect. Yet he acts like he wants no one else but…me.

So despite my fears and doubt, I let him get close. Probably too close. I discover that he’s not so perfect after all, but it doesn’t matter. I’m falling for him, even though he runs so hot and cold. I know someday he’s going to break my heart.

And I’m going to let him.

Waiting on Wednesday: Dark Breaks the Dawn by Sara B. Larson

Title: Dark Breaks the Dawn
Author: Sara B. Larson
Pages: N/A
Genre: YA Fantasy
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Release Date: May 30, 2017

Summary (Goodreads) 

On her eighteenth birthday, Princess Evelayn of Eadrolan, the Light Kingdom, can finally access the full range of her magical powers. The light looks brighter, the air is sharper, and the energy she can draw when fighting feels almost limitless.

But while her mother, the queen, remains busy at the war front, in the Dark Kingdom of Dorjhalon, the corrupt king is plotting. King Bain wants control of both kingdoms, and his plan will fling Evelayn onto the throne much sooner than she expected.

In order to defeat Bain and his sons, Evelayn will quickly have to come into her ability to shapeshift, and rely on the alluring Lord Tanvir. But not everyone is what they seem, and the balance between the Light and Dark comes at a steep price.


Thursday, October 20, 2016

Cover Reveal: Lucian Divine by Renee Carlino


LUCIAN DIVINE
By Renee Carlino
Standalone
Release Day – January 9, 2017
Goodreads


“My guardian angel is a drunk.”
 Evelyn Casey's life is at a standstill. She's in her mid-twenties, struggling with the dating scene in San Francisco. Nothing seems to be working out, and she’s starting to think that she’ll live out her days in her crummy apartment with her overbearing roommate, Brooklyn. It's absurd, but sometimes Evey longs for a guardian angel to show up and save the day.

And then he does. Seriously. His name is Lucian and he's a guardian angel, been on the job for two thousand years. His sudden presence in her life is both good—he's brilliant, witty, and warm—and bad—he's brilliant, witty, warm, and hot as ----. But as perfect as Lucian seems, he’s got problems of his own. He’s taken up drinking and he’s brazenly inserted himself into Evey’s life, going against the greatest cosmic law ever created.
 For Evey, the rules are simple: You are not allowed to hook up with your guardian angel. But sometimes fulfilling your destiny requires a leap of faith, a confrontation with God.

Yes, God as in God.


Pre-order:

Like this page to receive a notification: http://amzn.to/2dGcuxM



ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Renée Carlino is a screenwriter and bestselling author of contemporary women's novels and new adult fiction. Her books have been featured in national publications, including USA TODAY, Huffington Post, Latina magazine, and Publisher's Weekly. She lives in Southern California with her husband, two sons, and their sweet dog June. When she's not at the beach with her boys or working on her next project, she likes to spend her time reading, going to concerts, and eating dark chocolate. Learn more at www.reneecarlino.com


Wednesday, October 19, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios

Title: Bad Romance
Author: Heather Demetrios 
Pages: 368
Genre: YA Contemporary
Publisher: Henry Holt & Co. (BYR)/Raincoast Books
Release Date: June 13, 2017

Summary (Goodreads) 

Grace wants out. Out of her house, where her stepfather wields fear like a weapon and her mother makes her scrub imaginary dirt off the floors. Out of her California town, too small to contain her big city dreams. Out of her life, and into the role of Parisian artist, New York director—anything but scared and alone.

Enter Gavin: charming, talented, adored. Controlling. Dangerous. When Grace and Gavin fall in love, Grace is sure it's too good to be true. She has no idea their relationship will become a prison she's unable to escape. 

Deeply affecting and unflinchingly honest, this is a story about spiraling into darkness—and emerging into the light again.


Friday, October 14, 2016

Giveaway: The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

Title: The Diabolic 
Author: S. J. Kincaid 
Pages: 416
Publisher: Simon Schuster for Young Readers/Simon Schuster Canada
Release Date: November 1, 2016 
Summary (Goodreads) 

A Diabolic is ruthless. A Diabolic is powerful. A Diabolic has a single task: Kill in order to protect the person you’ve been created for. 

Nemesis is a Diabolic, a humanoid teenager created to protect a galactic senator’s daughter, Sidonia. The two have grown up side by side, but are in no way sisters. Nemesis is expected to give her life for Sidonia, and she would do so gladly. She would also take as many lives as necessary to keep Sidonia safe.

When the power-mad Emperor learns Sidonia’s father is participating in a rebellion, he summons Sidonia to the Galactic court. She is to serve as a hostage. Now, there is only one way for Nemesis to protect Sidonia. She must become her. Nemesis travels to the court disguised as Sidonia—a killing machine masquerading in a world of corrupt politicians and two-faced senators’ children. It’s a nest of vipers with threats on every side, but Nemesis must keep her true abilities a secret or risk everything.

As the Empire begins to fracture and rebellion looms closer, Nemesis learns there is something more to her than just deadly force. She finds a humanity truer than what she encounters from most humans. Amidst all the danger, action, and intrigue, her humanity just might be the thing that saves her life—and the empire.

TRAILER

Giveaway:

Enter to win:


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, October 12, 2016

Broken Prince (The Royals #2) by Erin Watt

Title: Broken Prince (Royals #2)
Author: Erin Watt
Pages: 370
Genre: YA/New Adult/Romance
Publisher: Everafter Romance
Release Date: July 25, 2016
Buy: Amazon|Kobo| Chapters Indigo

Summary (Goodreads)
These Royals will ruin you…

From wharf fights and school brawls to crumbling lives inside glittery mansions, one guy tries to save himself.

Reed Royal has it all—looks, status, money. The girls at his elite prep school line up to date him, the guys want to be him, but Reed never gave a damn about anyone but his family until Ella Harper walked into his life.

What started off as burning resentment and the need to make his father’s new ward suffer turned into something else entirely—keep Ella close. Keep Ella safe. But when one foolish mistake drives her out of Reed’s arms and brings chaos to the Royal household, Reed’s entire world begins to fall apart around him.

Ella doesn’t want him anymore. She says they’ll only destroy each other.

She might be right.

Secrets. Betrayal. Enemies. It’s like nothing Reed has ever dealt with before, and if he’s going to win back his princess, he’ll need to prove himself Royally worthy.
 


Review:

This book blew me away! After waiting so patiently for this book it was well worth the wait especially after that ending from Paper Princess. Let's say that Erin Watt did it again with a very interesting plot line that is very addictive with secrets and lots of scandal. You will fly through the pages. As the story in Broken Prince progresses you will see some answers, lots of bonds that are broken and the beginning of trust that Ella has been slowly progressing to the Royal family. But there will always be shocking moments where there was only a scratch on the surface.

Broken Prince was a disaster of events for poor Ella. The Royal family is falling apart without her after she runs away. Even though the family is broken but there is so much drama and secrets that I know my jaw was dropping. I love all the characters so much, even though there was some moments that you wanted to console them. But reading from Reed's point of view was very helpful. This series is a rollercoaster you hope to never come off of because you get so invested with all the plot lines.

As in Erin Watt form, of course they leave us with a crazy ending that you will not predict. But do now be scared of reading this amazing book because its worth it. I'm already looking forward to reading Twisted Palace because these two amazing authors are a great team and I will read anything by them now. Be sure to buckle up and enjoy the ride!!!!!

5/5

Waiting on Wednesday: The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord

Title: The Names They Gave Us
Author: Emery Lord
Pages: 400
Genre: Contemporary/Teen
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens/Raincoast
Release Date: May 16, 2017

Summary (Goodreads)

From acclaimed author Emery Lord comes a vibrant, compelling story of love, loss, faith, and friendship.

Lucy Hansson was ready for a perfect summer with her boyfriend, working at her childhood Bible camp on the lake. But when her mom’s cancer reappears, Lucy falters—in faith, in love, and in her ability to cope. When her boyfriend “pauses” their relationship and her summer job switches to a different camp—one for troubled kids—Lucy isn’t sure how much more she can handle. Attempting to accept a new normal, Lucy slowly regains footing among her vibrant, diverse coworkers, Sundays with her mom, and a crush on a fellow counselor. But when long-hidden family secrets emerge, can Lucy set aside her problems and discover what grace really means?

Emotionally-charged and unforgettable, Emery Lord’s storytelling shines with the promise of new love and true friendship, even in the face of life’s biggest challenges.


Wednesday, October 5, 2016

Excerpt Reveal: Touching Down by Nicole Williams


  


AP new - buy the book.jpg
Coming October 9th


Pre-order exclusively on
iBooks   



goodreads-badge.png
AP new - synopsis.jpg


The whole world might be in love with him. But all he’s ever loved is her.


Grant Turner’s name is synonymous with football. The fans and media can’t get enough of the player known as The Invincible Man, a nickname he earned while growing up in one of the toughest neighborhoods in the country and the nickname he’s kept by being one of the best players in professional football today. No one can take him down. He’s unstoppable.

But even a suit of armor has its weak point, and Grant’s has always been Ryan Hale.
They were a couple of kids when they fell in love, and just when it looked like the happy ending neither expected was within reach, Ryan disappeared. No explanations. No good-byes.

Grant coped by throwing himself into the game for seven years, and he’s finally moved on. Or so he thinks.

When she walks back into his life, all of those feelings come crashing back, despite the warnings in his head that tell him she’ll leave him again. Grant can withstand the league’s toughest defensive line, but he’s always been weak where she’s concerned.

No man can take Grant Turner down.

But one woman certainly can.

One woman will.








How had I gotten here?
That was the question still cycling through my head when I heard the shower turn off. In the minute that followed, I did everything I could not to think about what was behind that closed bathroom door. What being a wet and naked Grant Turner.
What being the only man I’d ever loved and the only man I ever would. My life felt like it was ending, but his was only really getting started. There’d be more for him, despite whatever he said or thought. There’d be love, heartache, and more love. For Grant, I would be one of the many. For me, he was the one of them all.
When the bathroom door opened, a fog of steam burst into the bedroom. It wasn’t a plume; it was a thick fog.
“Do you have any skin left after that scalding shower?” I asked, turning toward the dresser so my back was to the bathroom. Grant fresh from a shower had always been a weakness for me, and I guessed nothing about that had changed.
“I don’t know. What do you think?”
I saw him from the corner of my eyes, standing beside me. When my gaze shifted to confirm whether he had or had not scalded off his skin, my breath caught.
“Why are you naked?” I blinked a few times to keep my eyes facing north. It was a chore though. I felt as though two metal weights dangled from my eyeballs and were trying to draw them downward.
Grant chuckled, pulling open the bottom drawer. “I’m not naked.”
“Why are you mostly naked?” When the fight against gravity became too much and my eyes dropped below his navel, I literally felt flames licking up my throat. Fuck me. That man had always had an amazing body, but now . . . I knew women who’d auction off their souls for a chance to be entertained by a body like that for a night.
“Because I figured you wouldn’t prefer the alternative of me being fully naked.” Grant pinched at the white towel tied around his waist as he pulled a pair of light grey sweats from the drawer. “But since I can tell from your shock I was wrong, what the hell.” In one flick of a finger, the towel fell to the floor.
“Grant!” It came out as more of a shriek than I’d intended, but he was standing two feet in front of me, fully naked.
“What?” His voice was innocent, but his smirk was the opposite. “Nothing you haven’t seen before.” His muscles rippled when he shrugged, tugging on his sweats. “Just seven years older is all.”
When he turned to pick up his abandoned towel, I got the full view of his back which, like this, looked as wide as the span of my arms.
“And seven years bigger,” I muttered, still unable to believe he’d just bared it all like that. Actually, the more I thought about it, I shouldn’t have been so shocked. Grant wasn’t exactly modest.
Glancing back at me, he winked. “Why thank you. Glad you noticed.”
When I caught what he was getting at, heat settled beneath my cheeks. “That’s not what I was talking about.”
“Maybe. But that doesn’t mean it wasn’t what you were thinking about.” He slid the waistband of his sweats around until he found a comfortable spot. Which happened to be a good half foot below his navel.
“In your hurry to make me uncomfortable, you forgot to put on underwear.” I flattened my expression to give the impression that I was not half as shook up as he thought I was.
The truth was, I was probably twice as shook up as he thought.
“I don’t believe in them,” he said simply.
“You don’t believe in what? Underwear?” I felt my forehead crease.
“I’m anti-underwear.”
“Anti-underwear?”
“You know how some people are anti-gun or anti-abortion? Well, I’m anti-underwear,” he explained with a shrug. “But are you?”
My arms folded and I looked across the room. “Am I what?”
“Uncomfortable?” He moved a step closer, when he’d already been five steps too close.
Now, it wasn’t just the image of him clouding my mind. It was the way he smelled. The sound of his breath. The feel of the warmth cascading off of his body.
Sealing my eyes closed, I focused. I imagined the most Zen, peaceful place on the planet. “No,” I said as firmly as I was capable.
“Liar.” I heard the twisted smile in his voice. After a moment, I felt him move closer. “Why do I make you uncomfortable? I never used to.”
My eyes opened right into his. As dark as Grant’s eyes were, a person would never notice the flecks of light in them if they didn’t get close enough to see them. Up close, his eyes were more light than dark.
“You don’t make me uncomfortable.” I could hear the lie in my voice like it was a shout.
One by one, Grant’s hands formed around the outsides of my elbows, his fingers circling around my arms. His body pressed closer until his chest touched mine each time he inhaled. “Then why are you trembling?” His head dropped, his mouth moving just outside of my ear. “Why do I make you uncomfortable, Ryan?”
His voice, his body. His words, his touch. He was wrecking my resolve, one moment at a time, until I could feel the last of it about to crumble.
“It’s been a long day, Grant.”
“It has.” His head nodded beside mine. “Let’s keep up this trend and make it a long night too.”
My heart started to echo in my eardrums as a growing ache pulsed inside me.
“We should get to bed.” My voice was trembling now too.
“We should.” His head dropped lower to my neck. He took in a long breath, like he was trying to take me inside him. “Yours or mine?”
Despite my resolve, I smiled. “They’re all yours technically.”
“They’re whatever you want them to be just as long a you say which one you want me to carry you into. Or feel free to point in the general area too. I can figure it out.”

AP  new -about the author.jpg


Nicole Williams is the New York Times and USATODAY bestselling author of contemporary and young adult romance, including the Crash and Lost & Found series. Her books have been published by HarperTeen and Simon & Schuster in both domestic and foreign markets, while she continues to self-publish additional titles. She is working on a new YA series with Crown Books (a division of Random House) as well. She loves romance, from the sweet to the steamy, and writes stories about characters in search of their happily even after. She grew up surrounded by books and plans on writing until the day she dies, even if it’s just for her own personal enjoyment. She still buys paperbacks because she’s all nostalgic like that, but her kindle never goes neglected for too long. When not writing, she spends her time with her husband and daughter, and whatever time’s left over she’s forced to fit too many hobbies into too little time.

Nicole is represented by Jane Dystel, of Dystel and Goderich Literary Agency.







ArdentProse_LogoMain.jpg


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...