Monday, June 19, 2017

The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord

Title: The Names They Gave Us
Author: Emery Lord
Pages: 384
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult, Romance
Publisher: Bloomsbury/Raincoast Books
Release Date: May 16, 2017
Buy: Amazon|Chapters Indigo| Kobo
*ARC was provided by Raincoast Books for honest review*

Summary (Goodreads)
When it all falls apart, who can you believe in?

Everything is going right for Lucy Hansson, until her mom’s cancer reappears. Just like that, Lucy breaks with all the constants in her life: her do-good boyfriend, her steady faith, even her longtime summer church camp job.

Instead, Lucy lands at a camp for kids who have been through tough times. As a counselor, Lucy is in over her head and longs to be with her parents across the lake. But that’s before she gets to know her coworkers, who are as loving and unafraid as she so desperately wants to be.

It’s not just new friends that Lucy discovers at camp—more than one old secret is revealed along the way. In fact, maybe there’s much more to her family and her faith than Lucy ever realized.
 


Review: 

There are no words about how deep and moving The Names They Gave Us is. I connected with Lucy as a character who also had a parent who has dealt with cancer. It did really make you feel what she was feeling when you are reading the book. Emery Lord is an amazing writer who knows how to engage her readers and this is no different than her past books. She depicted each relationship that Lucy engaged in and made it more special. Also the importance of family. You will definitely want tissues after reading it.

I absolutely love this cover! It plays a key component in the book. Its eye catching! Lucy is the daughter of a Pastor and faith play a part in her life. But then her mother's cancer returns and now Lucy is on her own path. Even a pause relationship with her boyfriend. Eventually, she finds her own voice at a new camp her mother suggests and connecting with a diverse group. The romance between her and Henry was adorable from the beginning. I also loved the strong connection with her mother that it made you cry even more of what she is going through.

The Names They Gave Us is book to definitely pick up. Until the very last page I was emotional and I felt that it could've been more! Reading this book made my heart full and made me think of my father. Even through the smile and tears I was happy by the end. Emery Lord is definitely an auto-buy author for me so I will be anticipating her next book!

5/5

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: Kissing Max Holden by Katy Upperman

Title: Kissing Max Holden 
Author: Katy Upperman
Pages: 304
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Swoon Reads and Raincoast Books
Release Date: August 1, 2017

Summary (Goodreads) 

Kissing Max Holden was a terrible idea...

After his father has a life-altering stroke, Max Holden isn't himself. As his long-time friend, Jillian Eldridge only wants to help him, but she doesn't know how. When Max climbs through her window one night, Jill knows that she shouldn't let him kiss her. But she can't resist, and when they're caught in the act by her dad, Jill swears it'll never happen again. Because kissing Max Holden is a terrible idea.

With a new baby sibling on the way, her parents fighting all the time, and her dream of culinary school up in the air, Jill starts spending more and more time with Max. And even though her father disapproves and Max still has a girlfriend, not kissing Max is easier said than done. Will Jill follow her heart and allow their friendship to blossom into something more, or will she listen to her head and stop kissing Max Holden once and for all?

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air #1) by Holly Black

Title: The Cruel Prince
Author: Holly Black
Pages: 384
Genre: YA, Paranormal 
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers/Hatchette Book Group Canada
Release Date: January 2, 2018 

Summary (Goodreads
Of course I want to be like them. They’re beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever.

And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I hate him more than all the others. I hate him so much that sometimes when I look at him, I can hardly breathe.


Jude was seven years old when her parents were murdered and she and her two sisters were stolen away to live in the treacherous High Court of Faerie. Ten years later, Jude wants nothing more than to belong there, despite her mortality. But many of the fey despise humans. Especially Prince Cardan, the youngest and wickedest son of the High King.

To win a place at the Court, she must defy him–and face the consequences.

In doing so, she becomes embroiled in palace intrigues and deceptions, discovering her own capacity for bloodshed. But as civil war threatens to drown the Courts of Faerie in violence, Jude will need to risk her life in a dangerous alliance to save her sisters, and Faerie itself.


Sunday, May 28, 2017

Always and Forever, Lara Jean (To All The Boys I've Loved Before #3) by Jenny Han

Title: Always and Forever, Lara Jean (To All The Boys I've Loved Before #3)
Author: Jenny Han
Pages: 336
Genre: YA Contemporary/Romance
Publisher: Simon Schuster for Young Readers/Simon Schuster Canada
Release Date: May 2, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo 
*Received a finished copy to review from Simon Schuster Canada

Summary (Goodreads)
Lara Jean’s letter-writing days aren’t over in this surprise follow-up to the New York Times bestselling To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You.

Lara Jean is having the best senior year a girl could ever hope for. She is head over heels in love with her boyfriend, Peter; her dad’s finally getting remarried to their next door neighbor, Ms. Rothschild; and Margot’s coming home for the summer just in time for the wedding.

But change is looming on the horizon. And while Lara Jean is having fun and keeping busy helping plan her father’s wedding, she can’t ignore the big life decisions she has to make. Most pressingly, where she wants to go to college and what that means for her relationship with Peter. She watched her sister Margot go through these growing pains. Now Lara Jean’s the one who’ll be graduating high school and leaving for college and leaving her family—and possibly the boy she loves—behind.

When your heart and your head are saying two different things, which one should you listen to?
 


Review: 

I'm officially in love with all of Jenny Han's series! It had the perfect conclusion that will leave you smiling from head to toe. I read it so fast that I couldn't put it down and it took me less than 24 hours. When Jenny announced that there was to be a third book I was so excited because the ending to the second book left us wanting more. Lara Jean and Peter are an adorable couple! Just love them so much.

This series had family, sisters becoming closer, good pop culture references that will bring you back, Lara Jean and Peter preparing for college and the marriage of their father. I loved being back in their world. It was like any normal teenager waiting to be accepted into the university of their choice. For Lara Jean it was UVA. Peter already had an early scholarship to play lacrosse, so they had started to make plans together in hopes she gets accepted. But some things don't always go as planned.

To All The Boys I've Loved Before, series is a recommended series for all to read because its one of those books that you can connect with the main character and how she is going through emotionally. If you haven't picked out this series start them because you definitely want Peter as your book boyfriend! Jenny Han's writing is flawless like always and I'm looking forward to what she has next for us readers!

5/5 


Friday, May 19, 2017

Perfect Strangers by Megan Miranda Blog Tour


Title: The Perfect Stranger
Author: Megan Miranda
Pages: 337
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Fiction
Publisher: Simon Schuster/Simon Schuster Canada
Release Date: April 11, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo

Summary (Goodreads)
In the masterful follow-up to the runaway hit All the Missing Girls, a journalist sets out to find a missing friend, a friend who may never have existed at all.

Confronted by a restraining order and the threat of a lawsuit, failed journalist Leah Stevens needs to get out of Boston when she runs into an old friend, Emmy Grey, who has just left a troubled relationship. Emmy proposes they move to rural Pennsylvania, where Leah can get a teaching position and both women can start again. But their new start is threatened when a woman with an eerie resemblance to Leah is assaulted by the lake, and Emmy disappears days later.

Determined to find Emmy, Leah cooperates with Kyle Donovan, a handsome young police officer on the case. As they investigate her friend’s life for clues, Leah begins to wonder: did she ever really know Emmy at all? With no friends, family, or a digital footprint, the police begin to suspect that there is no Emmy Grey. Soon Leah’s credibility is at stake, and she is forced to revisit her past: the article that ruined her career. To save herself, Leah must uncover the truth about Emmy Grey—and along the way, confront her old demons, find out who she can really trust, and clear her own name.

Everyone in this rural Pennsylvanian town has something to hide—including Leah herself. How do you uncover the truth when you are busy hiding your own?


Review: 

This is the perfect suspense book if you have to pick up because Megan Miranda is a genius when it comes to mystery books! I definitely was drawn to it immediately because of her work with Young Adult books. You will get lost in the pages and the great plot that you will be trying to figure out who did it.

Leah works as a newspaper reporter and is forced to resign after getting threatened with a lawsuit. She then leaves Boston. She then sees an old friend in a bar who has recently was in a bad relationship and looking for a fresh start. So they both relocate to Pennsylvania. Leah is overall a complex character and though she is clever she can be obsessive and run to conclusions. Then we meet Kyle who is also a cop who forms a relationship with her. This book was so twisty that it has blown me away.

Megan Miranda did a great job with telling the story in first person (Leah) to tell us the story. Her writing style was easy to fly through the entire book (which means that I was hooked) and stay up all through the night. Perfect Stranger did not disappoint just like her previous book, All The Missing Girls which I will have to read now (my TBR list is long). This also includes the amount of details and transitions in her writing. I already can't wait to see what book is next by Megan!

Thank you Simon Schuster Canada for an ARC of this book in exchange for honest review!

4.5/5

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: Top Ten by Katie Cotugno

Title: Top Ten
Author: Katie Cotugno
Pages: 320
Genre: YA Contemporary
Publisher: Blazer + Bray
Release Date: October 3, 2017

Summary (Goodreads) 

Ryan McCullough and Gabby Hart are the unlikeliest of friends. Introverted, anxious Gabby would rather do literally anything than go to a party. Ryan is a star hockey player who can get any girl he wants—and does, frequently. But against all odds, they became not only friends, but each other’s favorite person. Now, as they face high school graduation, they can’t help but take a moment to reminisce and, in their signature tradition, make a top ten list—counting down the top ten moments of their friendship:

10. Where to begin? Maybe the night we met.
9. Then there was our awkward phase.
8. When you were in love with me but never told me…
7. Those five months we stopped talking were the hardest of my life.
6. Through terrible fights…
5. And emotional makeups.
4. You were there for me when I got my heart broken.
3. …but at times, you were also the one breaking it.
2. Above all, you helped me make sense of the world.
1. Now, as we head off to college—how am I possibly going to live without you?
 






Tuesday, April 25, 2017

The Dead List by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: The Dead List
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 316
Genre: YA Thriller
Release Date: April 25, 2017
*Received for review by the author*
Buy: Amazon|Kobo|

Summary (Goodreads)

It's Ella's senior year of high school and she and her best friend Linds plan to make it the best year ever. At Brock Cochran's end of summer pool party, the girls vow to have as much fun as possible before they head off to different colleges next fall. But when Ella is mysteriously attacked on her way home from the party, everything changes. Ella's carefree senior year plans disintegrate as she finds herself at the center of an attempted murder investigation.

Ella tries to move on, but her attacker isn't done yet. He shows himself in the form of horrifying signs and symbols: a clown mask strewn on her bed, a dead bird in her backpack, a shadow moving past her window in the night. And as the weeks pass, it turns out that Ella isn't the only one being tormented.

With the help of an old flame, Jensen Carver, and her friends and family, Ella tries to attain some sense of normalcy, but she can't seem to shake the feeling that there's a dark pattern hidden in the killer's every move. Suddenly, even those in her innermost circle seem suspicious. In her seemingly safe West Virginia town, Ella starts to wonder who she can trust.
 


Review: 

If you haven't read The Dead List yet, go buy it immediately!!! Jennifer definitely knows how to hook me into her books because of course I could not put this one down either! I did take my time with it to digest everything happening. This amazing thriller gave me shivers at some point because of the killer on the loose. Plus the romance is A+ !!

The romance between Ella and Jensen is adorable! I loved them together especially all the amazing things that Jensen says. No wonder why I love all of JLA's leading men because they are swoon-worthy. While we do know that Jensen doesn't date, he hooks up more, it looks like he was waiting for a good opportunity to open up with Ella and had no other interest in other girls. Yup, swoon!! I then knew I would love his character. I also liked Ella's character. She is a survivor after what she had to deal with and a fighter. Her other friends were also great because they were all loyal to each other.

Thank you Jen for letting me review your amazing books! I absolutely loved this one because it had a great romance that felt true from the beginning, mystery around the murderer. It added that extra element of surprise when you find out who the murderer was because you think of the one person then was thrown for a loop a bit when you find out who it really was. If you are a big fan of mystery and romance you will want to add this to your TBR list. It was fast paced and overall great read!

5/5

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Canada 150: Sign Ups

To celebrate Canada turning 150 this year, Stuck in YA Books invites bloggers and authors to be a part of the celebration. Proud to live in this beautiful country we call home I would like to say thank you to all for your great work! Bloggers would able to post why you are proud to be Canadian or would like to share a story, favourite Canadian authors. I would like to make it a fun event for both the authors and bloggers with also providing giveaways!

If you are interested in signing up here are the links!

Authors---> HERE


Bloggers---> HERE


Thanks so much for signing up!

Questions? You can email me at amandapedulla21@hotmail.com 

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: Fireblood (Frostblood Saga #2) by Elly Blake

Title: Fireblood (Frostblood #2) 
Author: Elly Blake 
Pages: 384
Genre: Fantasy, YA
Publisher: Hatchette Book Group Canada/Little Brown
Release Date: September 12, 2017

Summary (Goodreads) 

In this action-packed sequel to Frostblood, the future of Ruby's world and a court ruled by the love of her life depends on the uncovered secrets of her past..

Against all odds, Ruby has defeated the villainous Frost King and melted his throne of ice. But the bloodthirsty Minax that was trapped inside is now haunting her kingdom and everyone she loves. The answers to its demise may lie to the south in Sudesia, the land of the Firebloods, and a country that holds the secrets to Ruby's powers and past....

Despite warnings from her beloved Arcus, Ruby accompanies a roguish Fireblood named Kai to Sudesia, where she must master her control of fire in a series of trials to gain the trust of the suspicious Fireblood queen. Only then can she hope to access the knowledge that could defeat the rampaging Minax--which grows closer every moment. But as sparks fly in her moments alone with Kai, how can Ruby decide whom to trust? The fate of both kingdoms is now in her hands.

Friday, April 14, 2017




Writing Real Characters--How I Got to Know the Characters in Me (and) Me


You may have noticed when you’re in a café that there’s a person sitting there with headphones on, humming to themselves, and seemingly in deep conversation with their own thoughts.

See, I’m that person in the café, listening to quiet music, and having conversations with the people who live in my head. This is a weird confession, but my characters feel like real people already. Sometimes I even hear them chatting to me, or to each other. My job as a writer, it seems to me, is to make those characters real to my readers too.

I actually follow a series of steps, honed during writing five published novels (and many more unpublished ones). Below I’ve shared these steps with you, just in case any of you have characters chatting to you in your head too.

Step One: I search the Internet for a face who looks like the made-up person whispering to me. Here’s a picture of a guy who looks a bit like Alec (Alec is one of the main characters in Me (and) Me). This guy doesn’t look exactly like Alec, but he’s close enough to give me someone to look at when I need to write visual descriptions.

 (Picture is not uploading) 

Step Two: I interview my characters, using this interview from my website. There are lots of other writing workshops on there for those of you who love to write.

Step Three: I spend some time researching the things my character loves. Lark is the protagonist of Me (and) Me. She’s a singer-songwriter. I didn’t know much about that so I had to interview real singer-songwriters to get a sense of what that life might be like. I needed to flesh out what Lark would know about singing and writing songs. I also read a lot of books about writing songs, and listened to tons of great bands.

Alec loves parkour. I spent time with the parkour community in Saskatoon, where I live, watching them and asking questions. I tried a few moves (I am NOT good at parkour), and sought out YouTube videos of people doing parkour and free-climbing to root Alec’s passion in reality.

Step Four: I listen to people all the time. I make notes about dialogue I’ve overheard. This helps me think about how characters sound. Then, when I’ve written a draft, I read the dialogue aloud over and over again—I need to make sure the words I’m using echo the person speaking in my head. I need them to sound as real to you as they do to me.

Step Five: I let go. I write the characters as best I can, and then I trust that my reader is smart and has their own imagination. They can take the details I’ve shared and make the characters whomever they want them to be. I want my readers to have their own relationships with my characters and the only way for that to happen is for me to keep MOST of what I know about my characters to myself. I have to choose which bits to share to serve my story and then keep the rest in my head, knowing that I’ve done my best to make those people lurking in my mind as vivid and real as I can.

If you feel inspired to do some writing, come and find me on Instagram where I share image writing prompts regularly.

Thanks so much for having me on your great site. I really appreciate it!




Bestselling, award winning author Alice Kuipers has published four award-winning YA novels internationally, most recently, The Death of Us, a CLA shortlisted title. Her two picture books feature twins Violet and Victor and she has an upcoming chapter books series with Chronicle Press. Me (and) Me, her fifth YA novel, is described by Bif Naked as mesmerising.
Alice has four children.
Find her writing tips here: www.alicekuipers.com




ORDER NOW:


Tuesday, April 11, 2017

The Playboy Bachelor by Rachel Van Dyken REVEAL!!


THE PLAYBOY BACHELOR
by Rachel Van Dyken
The Bachelors of Arizona, #2
April 11, 2017
Forever
eBook: $4.99 USD
Add to Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2o5XmKC

She's no Sleeping Beauty. And he's definitely no prince . . .

Margot McCleery could have lived her whole life without seeing Bentley Wellington again—her ex-best friend and the poster boy for Hot, Rich Man-Whores everywhere. But Margot's whiskey-augmented grandmother "buys" Bentley at a charity bachelor auction, and now suddenly he's at her door. Impossibly charming. Impossibly sexy. And still a complete and utter jackass.

Bentley's just been coerced by his grandfather to spend the next thirty days charming and romancing the reclusive red-haired beauty who hates him. The woman he abandoned when she needed him the most. Bentley knows just as much about romance as he knows about love—nothing. But the more time he spends with Margot, the more he realizes that "just friends" will never be enough. Now all he has to do is convince her to trust him with her heart . . .

BUY THE BOOK HERE!
Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/2om2Lgi

THE BACHELORS OF ARIZONA SERIES
The Bachelor Auction, #1
The Playboy Bachelor, #2

Series Page on Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2nLI77V

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Rachel Van Dyken is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of New Adult, Regency, and contemporary romances. When she's not writing you can find her drinking coffee at Starbucks and plotting her next book while watching The Bachelor. She keeps her home in Idaho with her husband, son, and their snoring boxer, Sir Winston Churchill. She loves to hear from readers!







RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY
Enter to win 1 of 10 free eBook downloads of The Playboy Bachelor!


—OR—


EXCERPT 

“I’m writing a kissing scene!” she blurted, mentally kicking herself for screaming it in his face. “And the guy’s a complete jackass. Since my only experience with jackasses is you…” Her voice was shaky, just like her body. Could he tell how much she wanted him? How much she hated that her response was this—raw. “I-I figured you were the only one who could show me what it’s like.” Good one, Margot. Do you really have to sound so…desperate?
“What what’s like?”
“A kiss. From a jackass.”
“Got the jackass part.” He treaded water and then grabbed her by the arm and pulled her deeper into the pool until they were on the opposite end, his body pressed against hers. At least his eyes were still locked on her face. “And you’ve never been kissed?”
She rolled her eyes. “Not by someone like—”
“If you keep insulting me, this kiss won’t ever happen, Red.”
“Don’t call me that,” Margot whispered. Was she so weak that she’d forgive his abandonment for one kiss? “Please?”
“This kiss.” His calculated gaze didn’t make her feel any better about the situation. “How long does it need to be? How deep? Where do you want my hands?”
Margot’s mouth dropped open. “That’s not how kisses work! You can’t just map out the kiss. That takes all the romance out of it!”
“Oh, so you want romance?”
“Yes! No! I mean. I didn’t say that!” Her face flamed, and she sagged in defeat. Admitting she wanted romance kind of felt like she was on the losing end of the little battles they’d been having, like she was giving him an in. And if he got in, he’d only hurt her again.
“I was joking,” he said, just before his lips brushed hers. His tongue slid across her bottom lip and then sucked it for a few seconds before he slid it into her mouth and deepened the kiss.
Her lips softened beneath his gentle coaxing, and his hard thighs pressed against hers as a deep hunger awakened within her.
Oh, this was bad.
So bad.
And very, very good at the same time.




Thursday, March 30, 2017

Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett

Title: Alex, Approximately
Author: Jenn Bennett
Pages: 400
Genre: Contemporary Teen
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Release Date: April 4, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
*Received for review by Simon Schuster*

Summary (Goodreads)
In this delightfully charming teen spin on You’ve Got Mail, the one guy Bailey Rydell can’t stand is actually the boy of her dreams—she just doesn’t know it yet.

Classic movie buff Bailey “Mink” Rydell has spent months crushing on a witty film geek she only knows online by “Alex.” Two coasts separate the teens until Bailey moves in with her dad, who lives in the same California surfing town as her online crush.

Faced with doubts (what if he’s a creep in real life—or worse?), Bailey doesn’t tell Alex she’s moved to his hometown. Or that she’s landed a job at the local tourist-trap museum. Or that she’s being heckled daily by the irritatingly hot museum security guard, Porter Roth—a.k.a. her new arch-nemesis. But life is whole lot messier than the movies, especially when Bailey discovers that tricky fine line between hate, love, and whatever-it-is she’s starting to feel for Porter.

And as the summer months go by, Bailey must choose whether to cling to a dreamy online fantasy in Alex or take a risk on an imperfect reality with Porter. The choice is both simpler and more complicated than she realizes, because Porter Roth is hiding a secret of his own: Porter is Alex…Approximately.
 


Review:

I fell in love with Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett. Last year I read her book: The Anatomical Shape of a Heart, which was also amazing because I finished that one in a day as well. I was captivated with the story, writing and the characters. The concept of a You've Got Mail was brilliant along with the setting in beautiful California. You will be smiling the entire novel!

We meet Bailey (Mink), who has been communicating with a witty film geek just like herself who is known as Alex and lives in the city as her dad. She then moves there and lands her a job at a local tourist museum and you get to meet the hot Porter Roth! I loved him so much! There was so much banter between them that you were already rooting for them to get together! He was so swoony that you will even fall in love with him! The entire book was addicting from the story line, secrets, heartbreaks and all the laughs.

 I am already looking forward to Jenn's next book. If you haven't read any of her books go pick them up immediately! Also pre-order this great book or add it to your TBR lists. Plus it will help you get out of a reading slump and have you smiling from beginning to end.

5/5 


Wednesday, March 29, 2017

Cora Carmack- ANNOUNCEMENT!!

AllClosedOff_AnnouncementBanner    


From New York Times bestselling author Cora Carmack, comes the highly anticipated fourth standalone title in her Rusk University Series, ALL CLOSED OFF! A passionate story and journey, get ready to be mesmerized with Stella’s story! ALL CLOSED OFF is coming your way May 1, 2017!

    ALL CLOSED OFF - cover

Cover Design and Photography by Kelsey Kukal-Keeton at K. Keeton Designs

ABOUT ALL CLOSED OFF (Releasing May 1, 2017):

Stella Santos is fine.

Maybe something terrible happened to her that she can’t even remember. And maybe it drives her crazy when her friends treat her like she’s on the verge of breaking because of it. Maybe it feels even worse when they do what she asks and pretend that it never happened at all. And maybe she’s been getting harassing emails and messages for months from people who don’t even know her, but hate her all the same.
But none of that matters because she’s just fine.
For Ryan Blake, Stella was always that girl. Vibrant and hilarious and beautiful. He wanted her as his best friend. His more than friends. His everything and anything that she would give him. Which these days is a whole lot of nothing. She gets angry when he’s there. Angry when he’s not there. Angry when he tries to talk and when he doesn’t.
When Stella devises an unconventional art project for one of her classes all about exploring intimacy—between both friends and strangers—Ryan finds himself stepping in as guinea pig after one of her subjects bails. What was supposed to be an objective and artistic look at emotion and secrets and sex suddenly becomes much more personal. When he hits it off with another girl from the project, Stella will have to decide if she’s willing to do more than make art about intimacy. To keep him, she’ll have to open up and let herself be the one thing she swore she’d never be again.
Vulnerable.
    ALL CLOSED OFF - full cover wrap  

Add it to your Goodreads

    ALL CLOSED OFF - Announcement Teaser  

Don’t Miss All of Cora’s Standalone Rusk University Series Titles!

 

ALL LINED UP

Amazon ** Barnes & Noble ** iTunes

ALL BROKE DOWN

Amazon ** Barnes & Noble ** iTunes

ALL PLAYED OUT Amazon ** Barnes & Noble ** iTunes

Cora Carmack - author pic      About Cora Carmack: Cora Carmack is a twentysomething New York Times bestselling author who likes to write about twentysomething characters. Raised in a small Texas town, she now lives in New York City and spends her time writing, traveling, and marathoning various TV shows on Netflix. She lives by one rule: embrace whatever the world throws at you and run with it (just not with scissors).          

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Cora Carmack Goodreads






    InkSlinger-Blogger banner-New

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

The Struggle (Titans #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: The Struggle (Titans #3)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 370 (TBD)
Genre: New Adult/Mythology/Paranormal
Release Date: March 20, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Kobo|
(ARC was received for honest review by the author)

Summary: (Goodreads)
A bloody path has been chosen… 

The war against the Titans continues, and they remain determined to wreak havoc on the world, but Seth has become something all gods fear. Now the most dangerous, most absolute power no longer resides in those who have been freed from their tombs. 

The Great War fought by the few is coming… 

All may doubt and fear what Seth has become. All except the one woman who might be his final chance at redemption. Josie will do anything to prove that Seth is on their side, but fate has a nasty way of changing lives, of changing people. 

In the end, the sun will fall… 

The only way they can save the future and save themselves is by facing the unknown together. It will take more than trust and faith. It will take love and the kind of strength not easily broken. No matter what, their lives will never be the same. 

For what the gods have feared has come to pass. The end of the old is here and the beginning of the new has been ushered in…


Review:  

As a huge JLA fan, it never seizes to amaze me how great her books are. Once I start her books I could not put them down! The Struggle has to be one of my favorite books in Seth's story because we get to know more about his past as well as what is going to happen with his fate. Once you start you will not be able to put it down. Being back into the world of the Gods and Greek mythology you get a better understanding of our favorite characters and what revelations are to come.

What brings me always back to this series is the characters. I've always had a soft spot for Seth and this series is not different because his relationship with Josie is currently up and down. He thinks he is not good enough for her. I love that he is thinking of others before himself and has learned how important it is to sacrifice what is the most important in his life. Josie is one of those things. Seth will protect her at any costs. He has come a long way from the boy in Half-Blood.

I loved Josie in The Struggle! She is definitely one character who has gone through a lot and is continually growing throughout this series as well as many struggles and overcoming them with lots of strength. She is for sure the perfect person to be matched with Seth because she can stand up for herself. Can't wait to see what is going to happen next in the series! If you haven't picked up this series, I recommend you order them immediately because you will be hooked! I loved seeing some of my favorite characters like Alex, Aiden and the rest of the crew!

If you haven't the series go get them immediately!

5/5

Wednesday, March 8, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: The Secret History of Us by Jessi Kirby

Title: The Secret History of Us 
Author: Jessi Kirby
Pages: 288
Genre: Contemporary YA
Publisher: Harper Teen
Release Date: August 1, 2017

Summary: (Goodreads)

Gorgeously written and emotionally charged, The Secret History of Us explores the difficult journey of a teenage girl who must piece her life together after losing her memory in a near-fatal accident.

When Olivia awakes in a hospital bed following a car accident that almost took her life, she can’t remember the details about how she got there. She figures the fog is just a symptom of being in a week-long coma, but as time goes on, she realizes she’s lost more than just the last several days of her life—she’s lost her memory of the last four years. Gone is any recollection of starting or graduating high school; the prom; or her steady boyfriend Matt. Trying to figure out who she is feels impossible when everyone keeps telling her who she was. 

As Liv tries to block out what her family and friends say about who she used to be, the one person she hasn’t heard enough from is Walker, the guy who saved her the night her car was knocked off that bridge into the bay below. Walker is the hardened boy who’s been keeping his distance—and the only person Olivia inexplicably feels herself with. With her feelings growing for Walker, tensions rising with Matt, and secrets she can’t help but feel are being kept from her, Olivia must find her place in a life she doesn’t remember living.


Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Till Death by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Till Death
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 384
Genre: Romance/Suspense/NA
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Release Date: February 28, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo|
*Received copy for review by author/publisher*

Summary (Goodreads)

In New York Times bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout’s gripping new novel, a young woman comes home to reclaim her life—even as a murderer plots to end it. . . 

It’s been ten years since Sasha Keaton left her West Virginia hometown . . . since she escaped the twisted serial killer known as the Groom. Returning to help run her family inn means being whole again, except for one missing piece. The piece that falls into place when Sasha’s threatened—and FBI agent Cole Landis vows to protect her the way he couldn’t a decade ago.

First one woman disappears; then another, and all the while, disturbing calling cards are left for the sole survivor of the Groom’s reign of terror. Cole’s never forgiven himself for not being there when Sasha was taken, but he intends to make up for it now . . . because under the quirky sexiness Cole first fell for is a steely strength that only makes him love Sasha more.

But someone is watching. Waiting. And Sasha’s first mistake could be her last.


Review:

I normally don't read romantic suspense, but now I will we reading more because Till Death was phenomenal! I could not put it down! This is one of the reason why I love reading all of Jennifer L. Armentrout, her writing is pure addiction. That is why she is one of my auto-buy authors because I need to read all of her books! If you haven't ordered this book yet, go do it immediately! It had a great romance and whew the mystery was well done!

There were definitely some shocking moments while reading especially about the Groom. Each character got to me. Sasha has come back to her hometown after ten years ago after a traumatic incident. She has struggled but at the same time she is trying to over come them and face her fears . Immediately we meet the very handsome Cole, who just stole my heart with all his smooth words. She is the one that got away and he is very protective of her.

The romance was of course perfect. Jennifer L. Armentrout knows what she is writing and this is one of the reasons why her writing is the best. You fall in love with their romance and the character themselves. Between the romance and all the suspense I was not bored. Overall, you need to read Till Death. If you love Jen's other books you will definitely want to add this to your list!!

5/5


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...