Wednesday, January 3, 2018

Everless (Everless #1) by Sara Holland

Title: Everless
Author: Sara Holland
Pages: 336
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
Publisher: HarperTeen/HarperCollins Canada
Release Date: January 2, 2018
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo

Summary (Goodreads)

In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood, bound to iron, and consumed to add time to one’s own lifespan. The rich aristocracy, like the Gerlings, tax the poor to the hilt, extending their own lives by centuries.

No one resents the Gerlings more than Jules Ember. A decade ago, she and her father were servants at Everless, the Gerlings’ palatial estate, until a fateful accident forced them to flee in the dead of night. When Jules discovers that her father is dying, she knows that she must return to Everless to earn more time for him before she loses him forever.

But going back to Everless brings more danger—and temptation—than Jules could have ever imagined. Soon she’s caught in a tangle of violent secrets and finds her heart torn between two people she thought she’d never see again. Her decisions have the power to change her fate—and the fate of time itself.
 


Review:

What got my attention to start reading Everless is the summary and the cover. I was so engrossed in the pages that I wish that the end had more pages! The story is so twisted, the characters are even more interesting. There is so many secrets, mystery, hints of romance and danger at every turn. Sara Holland's beautiful debut will definitely an amazing read that will capture the readers attention and wish you had the second book in your hands.

The Kingdom of Sempera is where time is the currency, which is extracted from blood and added to another's own lifespan. The Gerlings have lived centuries. Then we meet our main character Jules Ember. She is a strong female lead who is in need of saving her father who is her only family. After being sent away from Everless as a child, she must go back in order to save him. Jules is very fearless and smart. She cares more about helping others than helping herself.

The ending will completely shock you as you won't be expecting it at all!! I was in total shock that I didn't even see it coming. There is betrayal and many secrets that Jules will uncover about the Queen, the Gerlings and and most of all herself. I will say that one character surprised me the most throughout the entire book and I was happy with who is was. I found that he was more firm with his decisions and kept to himself for many reasons. Overall, Everless was a fantastic debut to this series!! Now to wish for book two!!!

5/5

Tuesday, January 2, 2018

The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air #1) by Holly Black

Title: The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air #1)
Author: Holly Black
Pages: 384
Genre: Fantasy, YA
Publisher: Little Brown for Young Readers/HBG Canada
Release Date: January 2, 2018
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
*Received for review by HBG Canada for honest review*

Summary (Goodreads)

Of course I want to be like them. They’re beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever.

And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I hate him more than all the others. I hate him so much that sometimes when I look at him, I can hardly breathe.


Jude was seven years old when her parents were murdered and she and her two sisters were stolen away to live in the treacherous High Court of Faerie. Ten years later, Jude wants nothing more than to belong there, despite her mortality. But many of the fey despise humans. Especially Prince Cardan, the youngest and wickedest son of the High King.

To win a place at the Court, she must defy him–and face the consequences.

In doing so, she becomes embroiled in palace intrigues and deceptions, discovering her own capacity for bloodshed. But as civil war threatens to drown the Courts of Faerie in violence, Jude will need to risk her life in a dangerous alliance to save her sisters, and Faerie itself.


Review: 

If you are a fan of Sarah J. Maas, this book has to be on your list of most anticipated 2018 releases! The Cruel Prince was very well written and such a compelling story that you will not be able to put the book down. This is my first Holly Black book and lets say I was not disappointed. I was immediately drawn into the story as well as loving all the characters. This book will be one of your favourite books of the year!

Jude is only seven when her parents are murdered. Along with her two sisters she is now living in the High Court of Faerie. The book begins ten years after where the fey despise humans. Then we meet Prince Cardan, the wickedest son of all of the High King's sons. I really enjoyed seeing the way both Jude and Cardan both interacted throughout the book. But he was definitely cruel to Jude throughout most of the book. He can definitely not be trusted...... or not.

Holly Black is well known for writing fantasy featuring faeries. It had a bit of everything like action, drama, romance (you will see!) and tons of surprises that will make you want to throw the book across the room. The ending will not disappoint you, but it will leave you wishing you had the second book in your hands! If you are looking for a great fantasy this is the perfect book for you to start!

5/5

Friday, December 29, 2017

Top 2018 Most Anticipated Books (Part 1)

War Storm (Red Queen #4) by Victoria Aveyard 
Out: May 15, 2018
Publisher: HarperTeen

About: (Goodreads)

VICTORY COMES AT A PRICE.

Mare Barrow learned this all too well when Cal’s betrayal nearly destroyed her. Now determined to protect her heart—and secure freedom for Reds and newbloods like her—Mare resolves to overthrow the kingdom of Norta once and for all… starting with the crown on Maven’s head.

But no battle is won alone, and before the Reds may rise as one, Mare must side with the boy who broke her heart in order to defeat the boy who almost broke her. Cal’s powerful Silver allies, alongside Mare and the Scarlet Guard, prove a formidable force. But Maven is driven by an obsession so deep, he will stop at nothing to have Mare as his own again, even if it means demolishing everything—and everyone—in his path.

War is coming, and all Mare has fought for hangs in the balance. Will victory be enough to topple the Silver kingdoms? Or will the little lightning girl be forever silenced?

In the epic conclusion to Victoria Aveyard’s stunning series, Mare must embrace her fate and summon all her power… for all will be tested, but not all will survive.


______________________________________________________________________

A Reaper At the Gates (An Ember in the Ashes #3) by Sabaa Tahir
Publisher: Razorbill
Out: June 12, 2018

Summary: (Goodreads)

Beyond the Empire and within it, the threat of war looms ever larger. 

The Blood Shrike, Helene Aquilla, is assailed on all sides. Emperor Marcus, haunted by his past, grows increasingly unstable, while the Commandant capitalizes on his madness to bolster her own power. As Helene searches for a way to hold back the approaching darkness, her sister’s life and the lives of all those in the Empire hang in the balance.

Far to the east, Laia of Serra knows the fate of the world lies not in the machinations of the Martial court, but in stopping the Nightbringer. But while hunting for a way to bring him down, Laia faces unexpected threats from those she hoped would aid her, and is drawn into a battle she never thought she’d have to fight. 

And in the land between the living and the dead, Elias Veturius has given up his freedom to serve as Soul Catcher. But in doing so, he has vowed himself to an ancient power that will stop at nothing to ensure Elias’s devotion—even at the cost of his humanity.



________________________________________________________________________

Restore Me (Shatter Me #4) by Tahereh Mafi 
Publisher: HarperTeen
Out: March 6, 2018 

Summary (Goodreads)

Juliette Ferrars thought she'd won. She took over Sector 45, was named the new Supreme Commander, and now has Warner by her side. But she's still the girl with the ability to kill with a single touch—and now she's got the whole world in the palm of her hand. When tragedy hits, who will she become? Will she be able to control the power she wields and use it for good?










________________________________________________________________________

Immortal Reign (Falling Kingdoms #6) by Morgan Rhodes 
Publisher: Razorbill
Out: February 6, 2018 

Summary (Goodreads

As two lethal elemental gods set out to destroy Mytica, sworn enemies must become allies in the final fight to save the kingdoms.

Jonas continues to willfully defy his destiny, but the consequences of plotting his own course are drastic. As the fight for Mytica rages on, he must decide just how much more he's willing to sacrifice.

Lucia knows there's something special about her daughter and she'll do anything to protect her, even if that means facing Kyan alone.

Amara is called back home to Kraeshia. Grandma Cortas has her own plans for Mytica's future. She promises Amara power, revenge, and dominance if she agrees to be part of her scheme.

Magnus and Cleo's love will be put to the ultimate test. Dark magic is causing widespread destruction throughout the kingdom. Enemies across the sea are advancing. And unrest is stirring throughout the land. Is their love strong enough to withstand the outside forces tearing them apart?


________________________________________________________________________

Here are MORE!!! Click on the cover to go to Goodreads!!











 Which ones are you most excited for? I definitely could add more to this list! 









Monday, December 11, 2017

Brave (A Wicked Trilogy #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Brave (A Wicked Trilogy #3)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 362
Genre: New Adult/Fantasy/Paranormal
Release Date: December 11, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Kobo|
*received for review by author*

Summary (Goodreads)

Ivy Morgan hasn't been feeling like herself lately. Not like anyone can blame her. After all, being held captive by a psychotic fae prince hell-bent on permanently opening the gates to the Otherworld is bound to leave some mental scars.

It’s more than that, though. Something dark and insidious is spreading throughout Ivy, more powerful than she could ever imagine... and it’s coming between her and the man she’s fallen deeply in love with, elite Order member Ren Owens.

Ren would do anything to keep Ivy safe. Anything. But when he makes a life altering choice for her, the fallout of his act has far reaching consequences that threaten to tear their lives apart. If Ivy is going to have any hope of surviving this, she must put aside the hurt and betrayal she feels, and work with not only those she loves, but with an enemy she would rather kill than ever trust. War is coming, and it soon becomes clear that what Ivy and Ren thought they knew about the Order, themselves, and even their enemies, has been nothing but a cluster of dangerous, deadly lies. Ivy knows she must be more than just brave to save those she loves--and, ultimately, to save herself.

Because behind ever evil fae Prince, there’s a Queen…


Review: 

This is by far the best book in the series! After the end of Torn, I couldn't wait to get my hands on this!! Thank you Stephanie and Jen for letting me review Brave. Immediately once receiving the book I dived in quickly to find that I finished it so fast that I didn't even look at the time!  This is why Jennifer is one of my favourite authors because her writing and characters are so addicting.

Tink definitely stole the show in this one. His character development was spot on and it was exciting to see more of his humour come out especially around Ivy. Brave was much more serious compared to the other two books,  and Tink really helped with that humour part during the big scenes. All the scenes were written expertly and to the point! I loved the surprise end to the series! You definitely won't expect it!

If you are looking for a great New Adult paranormal romance this series is a must read or if you are a big fan of Jen's! Her books will grab your attention immediately and you will fall in love with Ivy, Ren and Tink! Overall, I was very happy with the end that completes Ren and Ivy's story. Get your hands on these books right away!

5/5

Saturday, December 9, 2017

There's Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins

Title: There's Someone Inside Your House
Author: Stephanie Perkins
Pages: 289
Genre: YA/Horror/Contemporary
Publisher: Dutton Books for YR/Penguin Random House Canada
Release Date: September 26, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
*Received for review by Penguin Random House Canada*

Summary (Goodreads)

Love hurts...

Makani Young thought she'd left her dark past behind her in Hawaii, settling in with her grandmother in landlocked Nebraska. She's found new friends and has even started to fall for mysterious outsider Ollie Larsson. But her past isn't far behind.

Then, one by one, the students of Osborne Hugh begin to die in a series of gruesome murders, each with increasingly grotesque flair. As the terror grows closer and her feelings for Ollie intensify, Makani is forced to confront her own dark secrets.


Review: 

A NEW STEPHANIE PERKINS BOOK!!! As you can see I'm so excited for this book to be officially out!! Waiting for years for this book. I'm a big fan of Stephanie Perkins because of the Anna and the French Kiss series that serious has been one of my favourites of all time contemporary books due to the fact that Stephanie is a brilliant writer.

Now on to There's Someone Inside Your House, lets just say that I was not disappointed! It was not like any of her past books which I was perfectly fine with because we get to see a different side of Stephanie's writing skills. Let's say that you will probably enjoy this book because teens do get murdered, even though I'm not a big horror movie buff, this left me a bit scared by the end. Now I have chills after finding out who the killer was because they were certainly diabolical and very twisted.

I'm definitely looking forward to what Stephanie has planned next for her readers because all her books are on my list! It was also diverse characters which was great to see in books!! The book was a thriller but it had many moments that it became a fun read. Beware don't read it alone in the dark/in your house alone!

5/5

Friday, December 8, 2017

Once and for All by Sarah Dessen

Title: Once and for All
Author: Sarah Dessen
Pages: 358
Genre: YA Contemporary
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers/Penguin Canada
Release Date: June 6, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
*Received for review by Penguin Random House Canada*

Summary (Goodreads)

As bubbly as champagne and delectable as wedding cake, Once and for All, Sarah Dessen's thirteenth novel, is set in the world of wedding planning, where crises are routine. 

Louna, daughter of famed wedding planner Natalie Barrett, has seen every sort of wedding: on the beach, at historic mansions, in fancy hotels and clubs. Perhaps that's why she's cynical about happily-ever-after endings, especially since her own first love ended tragically. When Louna meets charming, happy-go-lucky serial dater Ambrose, she holds him at arm's length. But Ambrose isn't about to be discouraged, now that he's met the one girl he really wants. 

Sarah Dessen’s many, many fans will adore her latest, a richly satisfying, enormously entertaining story that has everything—humor, romance, and an ending both happy and imperfect, just like life itself.


Review: 

This is my first Sarah Dessen novel that I finally read! Once I heard about the summary of this book I knew I had to request a copy because it sounded like my kind of book. I was immediately drawn to the characters as well as hooked to the plot. Lets say that I was not disappointed when I finished the book because the main character does not believe in happy endings but she works with her mom who is a wedding planner. Louna is definitely a character who is independent and knows what she wants.

I was immediately drawn to the originality of the entire book. The behind the scenes about wedding planning is so intense and it seriously takes a long time to plan a wedding. Louna then meets the charming Ambrose who is up for the challenge for her to be the one girl he really wants. Plus he is funny! The way the book was written is by past (a year before) and present. You really understand why is written this way because near the end you get to become an emotional mess.

For this being my first Sarah Dessen novel it certainly did not disappoint. While I was a little sad/mad with the end, it made me smile by the end of the book. The romance in its entirely was a little disappointing and it made me feel like it was incomplete by the end. Overall, I did enjoy the read and I will probably be picking up more of her books in the future!

4/5

Thursday, December 7, 2017

Bonfire by Krysten Ritter

Title: Bonefire
Author: Krysten Ritter
Pages: 288
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Fiction
Publisher: Hutchinson/Penguin Random House Canada
Release Date: November 7, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo
*Received for review by Penguin Random House Canada

Summary: (Goodreads)

Should you ever go back?

It has been ten years since Abby Williams left home and scrubbed away all visible evidence of her small town roots. Now working as an environmental lawyer in Chicago, she has a thriving career, a modern apartment, and her pick of meaningless one-night stands.

But when a new case takes her back home to Barrens, Indiana, the life Abby painstakingly created begins to crack. Tasked with investigating Optimal Plastics, the town's most high-profile company and economic heart, Abby begins to find strange connections to Barrens’ biggest scandal from more than a decade ago involving the popular Kaycee Mitchell and her closest friends—just before Kaycee disappeared for good.

Abby knows the key to solving any case lies in the weak spots, the unanswered questions. But as Abby tries to find out what really happened to Kaycee, she unearths an even more disturbing secret—a ritual called “The Game,” which will threaten the reputations, and lives, of the community and risk exposing a darkness that may consume her.

With tantalizing twists, slow-burning suspense, and a remote, rural town of just five claustrophobic miles, Bonfire is a dark exploration of the question: can you ever outrun your past?


Review:

Krysten Ritter definitely knows how to write! Yes, she plays Jessica Jones on Netflix!! You will definitely not be able to put this thriller down because it leaves you on the edge of your seat. It's so fast paced that you will not expect to be done so quickly! It's so dark and twisty that you will question  them.

Abby Williams is an environmental lawyer who has returned to her small town roots in Barren, Indiana after ten years being away. She has many bad memories of her hometown before she left after  graduation. I thought the plot was very interesting and how Abby's relationship with the town is not fully resolved and then you have more unanswered questions. Told in her point of view you get to see  at times she can become and unreliable character and struggles with being back.

Overall, Bonfire was an interesting read! I enjoyed Krysten's writing style and will probably read another if there's more by her. If you are looking for a great suspense novel like Gillian Flynn's, you will want to try reading this book. While there is a love triangle it is dealt with appropriately. I did also like how it ended. It was a very compelling mystery that you must grab today!

4/5


Wednesday, December 6, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: Rage (Stormheart #2) by Cora Carmack

Title: Rage (Stormheart #2)
Author: Cora Carmack
Pages: 352
Genre: YA Fantasy
Publisher: Tor Teen/Raincoast Books
Release Date: June 5, 2018 

Summary (Goodreads)

New York Times bestselling author Cora Carmack's young adult debut series: the second in a captivating new YA fantasy/romance series perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard

Princess or adventurer.

Duty or freedom.

Her Kingdom or the Stormhunter she loves.

If Aurora knows anything, it's that choices have consequences. To set things right, she joins a growing revolution on the streets of Pavan. 

In disguise as the rebel Roar, she puts her knowledge of the palace to use to aid the rebellion. But the Rage season is at its peak and not a day passes without the skies raining down destruction. Yet these storms are different—they churn with darkness, and attack with a will that’s desperate and violent. 

This feels like more than rage. 

It feels like war.



Tuesday, December 5, 2017

Whichwood by Tahereh Mafi

Title: Whichwood (Furthermore #2)
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Pages: 368
Genre: Fantasy, Middle Grade
Publisher: Dutton Books for Young Readers/Penguin Random House Canada
Release Date: November 14, 2017
Buy: AmazonCA| Kobo | Chapters Indigo
* Received for review by Penguin RandomHouse Canada*

Summary (Goodreads)

A new adventure about a girl who is fated to wash the bodies of the dead in this companion to Furthermore.

Our story begins on a frosty night…

Laylee can barely remember the happier times before her beloved mother died. Before her father, driven by grief, lost his wits (and his way). Before she was left as the sole remaining mordeshoor in the village of Whichwood, destined to spend her days washing the bodies of the dead and preparing their souls for the afterlife. It’s become easy to forget and easier still to ignore the way her hands are stiffening and turning silver, just like her hair, and her own ever-increasing loneliness and fear.

But soon, a pair of familiar strangers appears, and Laylee’s world is turned upside down as she rediscovers color, magic, and the healing power of friendship.
 


Review: 

I loved Whichwood! As always Tahereh Mafi has written a beautiful story about friendship, magic and it was very detailed. This is a companion novel to Furthermore but it could be read individually. I'm slowly starting to get back into reading middle grade as one of my goals and Whichwood is a great start to that list. Plus look at the beautiful cover!!

Whichwood follows our main character Laylee who lives in Whichwood, set in the same world as Furthermore's Farenwood but its a totally a different city. Farenwood is where colours come to life while in Whichwood is a town of contrast. Laylee spends her days washing the dead and preparing them for the afterlife. Now she wants something new and sets off on an adventure with Alice and Oliver.

Tahereh Mafi is an amazing storyteller who knows how to hook her readers and create an interesting world + characters that you want to see this series become a movie eventually. Whichwood is such a creative read that you get to know more about Alice and Oliver from the Furthermore as well as more characters. If you haven't read any of Tahereh's books you definitely want to pick up any of them because when you are reading you feel like you are in the book and can imagine it. Be ready to follow this great adventure in Whichwood! You won't put it down.

4.5/5

Thursday, November 30, 2017

Berkley Bookmas!!


Stuck in YA Books is so excited to participate in Berkley Bookmas and we’re hosting Chanel Cleeton today! Berkley Bookmas is chock full of exclusive content from authors like exclusive excerpts, deleted scenes, author recipes and more! Check out the calendar of events below:

One of my favorite holiday traditions is celebrating Noche Buena. In the Cuban culture, Christmas Eve is the night where we have our big meal, and throughout my childhood, my family would celebrate the evening with a pig roast and some of my favorite dishes like black beans and rice, yucca, flan, and more. The pig roasts in either a pit or a wooden box with coals on top of a grate all day long, and everyone gathers in the backyard, listening to music, relaxing and celebrating while the meal cooks. It’s a really fun way to pass the day and in Florida the weather is usually perfect for spending it outside. Once the pig is ready and the other food is cooked, the party goes on into late hours of the night (or early hours of the morning). While roasting a whole pig can be a daunting endeavor, if you want to celebrate Noche Buena in Cuban style, here’s my favorite family recipe for black beans and rice that’s the perfect side to any Christmas Eve dinner.

Black Beans & Rice Recipe

1 15.5 oz. can Goya Black Beans
2 tbl. olive oil 
1 tbl. white cooking wine
2 minced cloves of garlic
1 tsp. oregano
1 bay leaf
3/4 cup of water
1 tsp. cumin
1/2 cup onion, finely chopped
1/4 cup green pepper, finely chopped
1/4 tsp. Goya Adobo seasoning
Salt
Pepper
Cilantro

2 cups cooked long grain white rice



Place the beans and the water in a small to medium sized saucepan and cook over low to medium heat until warm. Add oil, cooking wine, garlic, oregano, bay leaf, cumin, onion, green pepper, and Adobo to the beans and mix. Bring to a boil. Lower heat and cook on low for one hour. Check regularly to make sure it doesn’t foam/bubble over. Serve over two cups of cooked long grain white rice (either according to package instructions in saucepan or in rice cooker). Season with salt and pepper to taste when serving. Can top with cilantro. 




For tomorrow’s fun, head to one of the following blogs: 
·         Book briefs
·         kimberlyfaye reads
·         Booklovers For Life
·         Shh Moms Reading





Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...