Thursday, December 12, 2019

Blog Tour: Regretting You by Colleen Hoover



Regretting You by Colleen Hoover
ISBN: 9781542016421
Pub date: December 10, 2019
Publisher: Montlake Romance
Available in Canada through Thomas Allen & Son
*Received for review from Thomas Allen & Son

Add to Goodreads: https://bit.ly/2Ob4mof

Description: 

From #1 New York Timesbestselling author of It Ends with Uscomes a poignant novel about family, first love, grief, and betrayal that will touch the hearts of both mothers and daughters.

Morgan Grant and her sixteen-year-old daughter, Clara, would like nothing more than to be nothing alike.

Morgan is determined to prevent her daughter from making the same mistakes she did. By getting pregnant and married way too young, Morgan put her own dreams on hold. Clara doesn’t want to follow in her mother’s footsteps. Her predictable mother doesn’t have a spontaneous bone in her body.

With warring personalities and conflicting goals, Morgan and Clara find it increasingly difficult to coexist. The only person who can bring peace to the household is Chris—Morgan’s husband, Clara’s father, and the family anchor. But that peace is shattered when Chris is involved in a tragic and questionable accident. The heartbreaking and long-lasting consequences will reach far beyond just Morgan and Clara.

While struggling to rebuild everything that crashed around them, Morgan finds comfort in the last person she expects to, and Clara turns to the one boy she’s been forbidden to see. With each passing day, new secrets, resentment, and misunderstandings make mother and daughter fall further apart. So far apart, it might be impossible for them to ever fall back together.


REVIEW:

As many of you know, I'm a huge Colleen Hoover fan! If I hear she has a new novel coming out I will automatically preorder it because all the books she has written I must read! Regretting You was no different. From the first chapter to the last few pages I was either in tears are cheering these characters on because like any of her books, you immediately connect with them on many emotional levels. Plus, I love reading about a mother and daughter relationship. Now I wish there was more pages for me to read. 

Told in dual POV's between Morgan and Clara you can see that their relationship is not alike. But like any family relationship sometimes we can be different than our mothers but also similar than we think. I loved reading their different POV's from Morgan's past to the present and how Clara is in that current moment. Colleen Hoover is a master-storyteller who can instantly get you try to finish the book in one night. She talks about real issues talked about today that connects all her readers. I also really did enjoy the past between Chris, Jenny, and Jonah back when they were in their teens right from the start. 

I can officially say this is now one of my new favourites by Colleen. Heart-Wrenchingly beautiful that you need tissues. There was some tough decisions they both faced. Regretting You is a must read for everyone! Go grab this book immediately off the shelves or just by ordering it! After reading it you might want to order all of her other books!

5/5


About Colleen Hoover:

Colleen Hoover is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of several novels, including the bestselling women’s fiction novel It Ends with Us and the bestselling psychological thriller Verity. She has won the Goodreads Choice Award for Best Romance three years in a row—for Confess(2015), It Ends with Us(2016), and Without Merit( 2017). Confess was adapted into a seven-episode online series. In 2015, Hoover and her family founded the Bookworm Box, a bookstore and monthly subscription service that offers signed novels donated by authors. All profits go to various charities each month to help those in need. Hoover lives in Texas with her husband and their three boys. Visit www.colleenhoover.com.


Tourwide Giveaway

The winner will receive 1 copy of Regretting You by Colleen Hoover!

Giveaway Details: 
-       Canada Only (excl. Quebec—full rules found in the T&C on Rafflecopter)
-       Giveaway begins on December 9thand ends on January 5th, 2020 at 11:59 pm EST
-->
-       Winner will be drawn randomly through Rafflecopter, contacted via email & will have 48 hours to claim their prize

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, November 21, 2019

Blog Tour: Dirty Letters by Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward


Title: Dirty Letters
Author: Vi Keeland, Penelope Ward
Pages: 300
Genre: Romance
Publisher: Montlake Romance/Thomas Allen
Release Date: November 5, 2019
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo|
* Received a copy from Thomas Allen L
Summary (Goodreads)

I’d never forgotten him—a man I’d yet to meet.

Griffin Quinn was my childhood pen pal, the British boy who couldn’t have been more different from me. Over the years, through hundreds of letters, we became best friends, sharing our deepest, darkest secrets and forming a connection I never thought could break.

Until one day it did.

Then, out of the blue, a new letter arrived. A scathing one—one with eight years of pent-up anger. I had no choice but to finally come clean as to why I stopped writing.

Griffin forgave me, and somehow we were able to rekindle our childhood connection. Only now we were adults, and that connection had grown to a spark. Our letters quickly went from fun to flirty to downright dirty, revealing our wildest fantasies. So it only made sense that we would take our relationship to the next level and see each other in person.

Only Griff didn’t want to meet. He asked that I trust him and said it was for the best. But I wanted more—more Griff, in the flesh—so I took a big chance and went looking for him. People have done crazier things for love.

But what I found could change everything.


Review: 

If you have never read a Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward book you must get this one immediately! It was told in two perspectives and the cover is HOT! I couldn't put this book down once I finally sat down after work. It was emotional, heartbreaking and was an amazing romance between childhood friends.

We meet Luca and Griffin who were pen pals when they were children. After many letters and sharing all their deepest secrets become best friends. Until one day Luca stops writing. Fast forward now 8 years she finds a letter in her father's apartment. After they reconnect we find out that Griffin now is a rockstar that lives in California. The romance between them was so swoon-worthy and by the time its the end of the book you wish it was not the end of the story. My emotions were all over the place and both authors do a great job of creating their story and connecting us with their characters.

If you are looking for a heartfelt, swoony, that I was hoping they would be together by the end. Plus, I loved Griffin!! I'm already excited for what these two amazing authors will bring us next because their writing is addicting. Are you a romance reader? Then this is the perfect book for you! Go pick this one up right away you won't be disappointed!

4.5/5

Thursday, October 10, 2019

The Burning Shadow (Origin #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: The Burning Shadow (Origin #2)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 649
Genre: YA, Sci-Fi
Release Date: October 8, 2019
Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo
*Received ARC from TorTeen and author for honest review*

Summary (Goodreads)

#1 New York TimesUSA Today, and internationally bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout returns to the world of the Lux with The Burning Shadow, the steamy, shocking second installment of the Origin series that will leave readers reeling.

When Evelyn Dasher crossed paths with Luc, she was thrown headfirst into the world of the Lux―only to discover that she was already far more involved in their world than she ever suspected.

Because the Luxen aren’t the only ones with a hidden past. There’s a gap in Evie’s memory, lost months of her life and a lingering sense that something happened, something she can’t remember and nobody is willing to tell her. She needs to find out the truth about who she is―and who she was. But every answer she finds only brings up more questions.

Her search for the truth brings her ever closer to Luc, the Origin at the center of it all. He’s powerful, arrogant, inhumanly beautiful, extremely dangerous…and possibly in love with her. But even as Evie falls for him, she can’t help but wonder if his attraction is to her, or to the memory of a girl who no longer exists.

And all the while, a new threat looms: reports of a flu-like, fatal virus that the government insists is being spread by Luxen. A horrifying illness that changes whoever it touches, spreading panic across a country already at its breaking point.


Review:

Holy Macaroni!! What have you done to me Jen that has caused me tears, heartache and wishing there were more pages than the already 600+ pages! Many people know that I'm a huge JLA fan and I know for a fact that every book that she has written has never disappointed me. The Burning Shadow has that same feeling. Now I'm just still in a state of shock after that ending.

Evelyn (Evie) and Luc are back and now she is thrown into the Lux world only that she knows that she is more involved than she ever thought. Her memory is still in gaps, but she is determined more than ever to find the truth. This second instalment in the series is one book you won't be able to put down with the plot-twists, action-packed and intense chemistry between Luc and Evie!! Armentrout's writing is addicting and shines through-out the entire book which is one of Jen's ways to get the reader hooked is her ability to write relatable characters. Plus the romance was swoon!!! Evie also along the way was finding her identity and the many things that happen when you are a teen.

If you haven't picked up The Darkest Star or the Lux series, I recommend you go read them before you start this series. Jen is the queen of cliffhangers with second books and she definitely left me hanging with this one! Go get this book immediately as you will be addicted to the entire series. Thank you Jen for a copy for review! I'm already anxiously waiting to finding out what is going to happen next in the series!

5/5

Tuesday, July 23, 2019

The King (The Wicked Trilogy #3.6) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: The King (A Wicked Novella)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Genre: Fantasy, New Adult, Fae
Release Date: July 23, 2019
Buy: AmazonCA| Kobo
*Received an E-ARC from author for honest review*

Summary (Goodreads)

From #1 New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout comes the next installment in her Wicked series.

As Caden and Brighton's attraction grows despite the odds stacked against a happily ever after, they must work together to stop an Ancient fae from releasing the Queen, who wants nothing more than to see Caden become the evil Prince once feared by fae and mortals alike.



Review: 

I need more!! Jennifer has got be hooked to Caden and Brighton's story! The King follows what happened at the end of The Prince. Though these are small they have big surprises and how could you do this to us Jen at the end of the book! I wish I had the next book immediately!! Definitely worth the wait after finishing this amazing book.

What I love best about these novella's are that you get to see each character grow. Brighton is a good mix of badass and not letting others define who she is. From the beginning to now you see how much of a character growth she has developed. JLA is one of the best authors for creating characters that are going through real experiences. I did love the steamy romance between Caden and Brighton! There are lots of things revealed that explains his behaviour to the strong connection he has with Brighton.

Overall, if you loved the Wicked series you really need to start these novella's immediately because they have those extras that we didn't see in the original series. Plus we get to see Tink again! Now to wish this one didn't have a cliffhanger. I need The Queen!!

5/5 

Wednesday, June 26, 2019

Blog Tour: The Storm Crow by Kalyn Josephson



Title: The Storm Crow
Author: Kalyn Josephson
Pages: 352
Genre: Fantasy/YA
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Release Date: July 9, 2019

Summary (Goodreads)

In the tropical kingdom of Rhodaire, magical, elemental Crows are part of every aspect of life...until the Illucian empire invades, destroying everything.

That terrible night has thrown Princess Anthia into a deep depression. Her sister Caliza is busy running the kingdom after their mother's death, but all Thia can do is think of all she has lost.

But when Caliza is forced to agree to a marriage between Thia and the crown prince of Illucia, Thia is finally spurred into action. And after stumbling upon a hidden Crow egg in the rubble of a rookery, she and her sister devise a dangerous plan to hatch the egg in secret and get back what was taken from them.


Review:

If you are a fan of Six of Crows, you will definitely love this book! The cover immediately grabs your attention. The main character also deals with depression, her struggles and how she overcomes it. I really loved this book from the first page and is written beautifully. Crows are a very important piece in the show, as they are elemental Crows part of the Rhodaire Kingdom. Josephson did an amazing job with the world building.

The story begins at the kingdom where it is attacked during the crow hatching festival by Illucia. Kingdom is left in ruins and the crows went away which has been hard on the kingdom. Anitha, our main character is princess of Rhodaire and her sister is queen and is agreeing for the crown prince of Illucia to marry each other. She is a character who is also facing depression and this author is talking about it which many of us readers can connect with.

I personally loved Thia's relationship with the crown prince Ericen. He reminds me of some other male leads (ACOTAR), even though he does come off as rude in the beginning. I'm looking forward to what will happen next between them. Then there is Caylus. I sense a love triangle! Well he is a little different than Ericen and there are cute moments between them but it will be interesting to see what the sequel has in store for him as well.

Be sure to check out The Storm Crow because it will be possibly one of the best of this year! Thank you Raincoast Books for allowing me to read this great book! Going to for sure recommend this to my customers and patiently wait for the sequel.

4.5/5

Wednesday, June 12, 2019

Storm and Fury (The Harbinger #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Storm and Fury (The Harbinger #1)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 512
Genre: YA/Romance/Fantasy
Publisher: Inkyard Press
Release Date: June 11, 2019
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
* I received an E-ARC from the author for honest review*
Summary (Goodreads)

Eighteen-year-old Trinity Marrow may be going blind, but she can see and communicate with ghosts and spirits. Her unique gift is part of a secret so dangerous that she’s been in hiding for years in an isolated compound fiercely guarded by Wardens—gargoyle shape-shifters who protect humankind from demons. If the demons discover the truth about Trinity, they’ll devour her, flesh and bone, to enhance their own powers.

When Wardens from another clan arrive with disturbing reports that something out there is killing both demons and Wardens, Trinity’s safe world implodes. Not the least because one of the outsiders is the most annoying and fascinating person she’s ever met. Zayne has secrets of his own that will upend her world yet again—but working together becomes imperative once demons breach the compound and Trinity’s secret comes to light. To save her family and maybe the world, she’ll have to put her trust in Zayne. But all bets are off as a supernatural war is unleashed…


Review:

We are back into JLA's world of gargoyles and demons! But who wouldn't be excited being pulled into this world with Zayne as our male lead in this amazing spin-off series from The Dark Elements series. If you haven't read the series I would definitely recommend you read them first so you don't get too confused. So there may be spoilers.

Trinity is eighteen years old and lives in the Warden community. From the moment you start reading the story pulls you in and will probably keep you up all night just to try and finish in the early morning. Storm and Fury has everything that you will love if you have read any of JLA's books. Love, strong female main character, smart banter and lots of swoon between Zayne and Trinity! Even though I did love Roth through The Dark Element series, Zayne still had a special place in my heart. Plus we get to see Layla and Roth again!!

Without spoiling anything, Trinity goes through her own personal battle and you definitely have to read the Author's note and the importance of taking the time to read this note because it does matter. You will not be disappointed while reading because we got to know Trinity who is able to see ghost and spirits. From meeting new characters and seeing more of the Wardens and demons, who both play a big part in the books. The story had so much action, romance and definitely has lots of twists at the end. I'm already looking forward to what Jen has in store for us next in the series!!

5/5



Wednesday, May 15, 2019

Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Title: Daisy Jones & The Six
Author: Taylor Jenkins Reid
Pages: 368
Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Penguin Random House Canada/ Ballantine Books
Release Date: March 5, 2019
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
*Received an ARC for Review from Penguin Random House Canada*

Summary (Goodreads)

Everyone knows Daisy Jones & The Six, but nobody knows the reason behind their split at the absolute height of their popularity . . . until now.

Daisy is a girl coming of age in L.A. in the late sixties, sneaking into clubs on the Sunset Strip, sleeping with rock stars, and dreaming of singing at the Whisky a Go Go. The sex and drugs are thrilling, but it’s the rock and roll she loves most. By the time she’s twenty, her voice is getting noticed, and she has the kind of heedless beauty that makes people do crazy things.

Also getting noticed is The Six, a band led by the brooding Billy Dunne. On the eve of their first tour, his girlfriend Camila finds out she’s pregnant, and with the pressure of impending fatherhood and fame, Billy goes a little wild on the road.

Daisy and Billy cross paths when a producer realizes that the key to supercharged success is to put the two together. What happens next will become the stuff of legend.

The making of that legend is chronicled in this riveting and unforgettable novel, written as an oral history of one of the biggest bands of the seventies. Taylor Jenkins Reid is a talented writer who takes her work to a new level with Daisy Jones & The Six, brilliantly capturing a place and time in an utterly distinctive voice.


Review:

Daisy Jones & The Six is a must read! I couldn't put it down! Taylor Jenkins Reid has created an unforgettable novel that makes you believe that this band could have been real. The storyline was so well written and researched that it felt like you were transported back into the 1960s and 70s with all the romance, drugs and rock and roll. I also loved how Taylor Jenkins Reid was inspired by Fleetwood Mac to create these amazing characters.

The story is told is a documentary style, told through interviews with the band and the people around them and the reason why the band fell apart. The narration of each character brought it to life, with their struggles and success to their rise to fame. During the entire time my heart was beating so fast during some scenes that I thought I was going to cry. You will feel all the emotions. If you have read any of Taylor's books you know that you will always remember her books since her writing is phenomenal.

If your looking for the next beach read this is the perfect book to pick up! Its already a Reese Witherspoon pick and also has TV rights with it. I'm already excited to see what they are going to do with this amazing book. Be sure to check out the audiobook with a full cast! I've already listened to it and it made it feel more real. Overall, I'm 100% recommending this book!

5/5




Monday, March 18, 2019

Bloodleaf by Crystal Smith (Blog Tour)


Title: Bloodleaf (Bloodleaf #1)
Author: Crystal Smith
Pages: 384
Genre: Fantasy, YA
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers/Raincoast Books
Release Date: March 12, 2019
Buy: Amazon| Chapters| Kobo 
*Received for honest review from publisher*

Summary (Goodreads)

Princess Aurelia is a prisoner to her crown and the heir that nobody wants. Surrounded by spirits and banned from using her blood-magic, Aurelia flees her country after a devastating assassination attempt. To escape her fate, Aurelia disguises herself as a commoner in a new land and discovers a happiness her crown has never allowed. As she forges new bonds and perfects her magic, she begins to fall for a man who is forbidden to rule beside her. But the ghosts that haunt Aurelia refuse to abandon her, and she finds herself succumbing to their call as they expose a nefarious plot that only she can defeat. Will she be forced to choose between the weight of the crown and the freedom of her new life?

Review: 

From the moment I read the summary of Bloodleaf, I had a feeling it was going to be a great read. I was not disappointed! Plus the cover is gorgeous! I did not even know that it is a retelling of "Goose Girl" even though I haven't read that story I went in blind and really enjoyed reading it! After reading Bloodleaf I will definitely be checking it out! The writing will pull you in immediately and then it's hard to put it down.

Princess Aurelia is the heir to the Renalten palace and banned from using blood magic. She is also very strong character despite being hunted down after an assassination attempt. After fleeing to a new land she discovers that she is more happier. But she is actually not safe after there is a terrible plot twist is happening. Aurelia is a quick thinker and though she makes some questionable decisions. The entire book I felt was fast-paced, and it was very well written. The twist and turns are surprising murder, mystery and lots of suspense. There were moments of heartbreak and so many emotions! While the romance is slow it was sweet so I won't spoil it for everyone!

The ending was by far one of the most memorable it felt like it ended on an intense note as well as action-packed. I'm looking forward to what will happen next in the series! If you are a fan of Red Queen, I think you will enjoy Bloodleaf as well and dive deeper into this world.

5/5

Tuesday, February 19, 2019

Blog Tour: You Owe Me A Murder by Eileen Cook

Title: You Owe Me A Murder
Author: Eileen Cook
Pages: 368
Genre: YA/Mystery/Thriller
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers/Raincoast Books
Release Date: March 5,  2019
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
*This book was sent to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.*

Summary (Goodreads)

Seventeen-year-old Kim gets more than she bargained for when she is set up for murder. Perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying, E. Lockhart, and Gillian Flynn.

17-year-old Kim never expected to plot a murder. But that was before her boyfriend dumped her for another girl. Now, Kim’s stuck on a class trip to London with him and his new soulmate and she can’t help wishing he was a little bit dead, even if she’d never really do that.
 
But when Kim meets Nicki, a stranger on the plane who’s more than willing to listen to Kim’s woes, things start to look up. Nicki's got a great sense of humor, and when she jokes about swapping murders, Kim plays along—that is, until Kim’s ex-boyfriend mysteriously dies.
 
Blackmailed by Nicki to fulfill her end of the deal, Kim will have to commit a murder or take the fall for one.


Review: 

From the moment you read the title of the book you get a chill and have a good feeling that it's going to be good. If you love thriller books you will definitely not be able to put it down. Normally, I don't read thrillers, but I have read Eileen's other books I had a feeling this one would be the same. It left me definitely shocked and may have caused anxiety with the murder plot.

Kim is a 17-year old who meets a stranger at the airport during a delay during a trip to London with her ex and his new girlfriend. This stranger named Nicki listens to her and has a good sense of humor. Then she starts talking about murders which Kim plays along until her ex mysteriously dies. While your thinking what is happening and why are you making these decisions. Kim is a smart character who also seems to like puzzles. Nicki on the other hand was a mystery there were times where you felt like saying OMG. However, I really did love Alex. He is sweet and you can find out why once you read this one!

This story will keep you guessing and there were many plot twists. I did only wish we got a better ending and that some things were still missing. But overall, if you need a good thriller go pick this up on March 5! It might even help with a reading slump because it hooks you in immediately.  Looking forward to the next book by Eileen in the near future.

4/5


Q&A with Eileen Cook

Q: How did the idea for You Owe Me A Murder come to you?  
A: I promise it didn’t come from personal experience!  The inspiration for this book came from a bunch of ideas colliding. I’ve always been interested in toxic friendships. I have some of the most amazing friends in my life, but this wasn’t always the case, so understanding how and why we let ourselves get into relationships that are so bad for us, is interesting to me. Another obsession is thinking about self-identity, who are we? Do we believe in ourselves? Is that identity influenced by the people around us-and what are we REALLY capable of if we’ve been pushed. 
Once I had that foundation, I layered in a passion for Alfred Hitchcock films and the writing of Patricia Highsmith- in this case, the classic movie/book, Strangers on a Train. And then the icing on the inspiration for this book was a love for travel and the idea that when we are out of our normal world it changes us and how we see things. I mixed all of that together, added hours of wandering around talking to myself and sweating over a keyboard, and I ended up with this book.

Tuesday, January 29, 2019

Review: Moonlight Scandal (de Vincent #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Moonlight Scandals (de Vincent #3)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 400
Genre: Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal
Publisher: Avon Books
Release Date: January 29, 2019
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo 
*Received for review from author/publisher for honest review*

Summary (Goodreads)

It takes a fearless woman to love the most scandalous man alive in New York Times Bestselling Author Jennifer L. Armentrout’s breathtaking novel

Even a ghost hunter like Rosie Herpin couldn’t have foreseen the fateful meeting between two mourners that has brought her so intimately close to the notorious and seductive Devlin de Vincent. Everyone in New Orleans knows he’s heir to a dark family curse that both frightens and enthralls. To the locals, Devlin is the devil. To Rosie, he’s a man who’s stoking her wildest fantasies. When a brutal attack on her friend is linked to the de Vincents, he becomes a mystery she may be risking her life to solve.

Devlin knows what he wants from this sexy and adventurous woman. But what does Rosie want from him? It’s a question that becomes more pressing—and more dangerous—when he suspects her of prying into the shadows of his past.

Now, the legends surrounding the de Vincents may not be myths at all. But if she’s to discover the truth, she must follow them straight into the arms of the man she can’t resist—the handsome devil himself.
 


Review: 

I think this is my favourite de Vincent novel. Jennifer definitely knows how to finish off this series and save the best for last with Devlin. You will not expect what will happen with all of the many twists and turns that Jen is very good at by hooking us the reader. I loved all the characters and the plot that I was not able to put the book down.  If you haven't started this series, go pick up Moonlight Sins. Each one is connected and woven together by the characters and the romance between all the de Vincent's.

Devlin de Vincent also know as the devil to the locals. From the first book I think everyone would agree that we had to find out more about him! He was more mysterious and sometimes I felt he had more secrets to hide. We met Rosie as one of Devlin's brothers girlfriend and already had a moment in book 2. So it is only right that these two are finally coming together. They are both hilarious and there are times where you can't help laughing. There are so many swoon-worthy moments that I wish the book never ended.

The love story along with the banter between them was steamy but Rosie would always go head to head with Devlin. Which then Rosie started to earn more respect from Devlin when she would fight against him. But you can feel the tension between them then the fireworks. I loved everything about this book from the plot twists to having the right feeling when you would find out. Now to wish that there could be another book!! Can't wait to see what JLA will come out next.


5/5

Sunday, January 27, 2019

Review: Paperless Post



Example
*Thank you to Paperless Post who sent me coins to check out the site to see all the beautiful cards they have to offer. 

It is environmentally friendly and easy to use. Paperless Post is a premium digital card service. You can send out invitations to birthday's, wedding, event planning and thank you cards etc. Did you know that Paperless Post is the perfect site for you to check out because instead of paper cards you can send them electronically! Plus there are SO MANY OPTIONS to choose from!

You customize from the background to the envelope liner and postmark. While some are included with the price, some are a little more. Once you are done choosing you can see the total of the card. From one to any number you can send out how many invites are needed for your event. 

Paperless Post does run on a coin system. Every card has a set price as low as 2 coins. If you are adding extra it is going to cost a bit more. If you buy more coins the cheaper it will be to send. I would say that it is a reasonable cost to get. Having tested a few of the design's I definitely loved how easy it was to use. They have beautiful designs you can choose from as well. From Rifle Paper and more! 

Here is a preview of a Thank you card envelope.

 I would definitely recommend using this service! Its a great that you can personalize these beautiful digital cards!

4/5

Friday, January 18, 2019

Handle With Care by Helena Hunting (Cover Reveal + Excerpt)

Out August 27, 2019 

NOTE: This is an unedited excerpt and is subject to change.

I’m startled out of my thoughts when my brother jumps up and shouts a bunch of profane nonsense, hands flailing like he’s trying to swim on land, or approximate the chicken dance while on an LSD trip. 
“You can’t do this! It’s absolute bullshit!” Armstrong yells.
I look around the table, trying to piece together what I missed.
“I’m sorry, Armstrong. I know this is a shock, but we feel it’s in the company’s best interest to put Lincoln at the helm during this transitional stage,” G-mom says firmly.
At the helm? I look to G-mom who’s busy not looking at me.
Armstrong jabs at finger at himself. “But I’m the one who’s put in all the time here! I deserve to run the company! Lincoln doesn’t know the first thing about Moorehead. All he knows how to do is dig wells and forage for food in the wilderness. How are those valuable assets here?” He turns his attention to our mother. “Did you know about this? How can you let this happen? Look at him. How can thatbe the face of our company? He looks like he crawled out of a gutter and mugged a twenty-year-old college kid on a bender. How is this better for our bottom line?”
My mother clasps her hands in front of her. “I’m sorry, Armstrong, but this decision wasn’t mine to make. I know this is hard for you, but your grandmother and fath—” 
Armstrong stomps his foot, exactly as a toddler would. “The company is mine! Lincoln can’t have it!”
I raise a hand, half to quiet my brother and also to find out what the freaking deal is. “Whoa, let’s back this bus up.  Can someone explain what’s going on?”
“You’ve been appointed as the CEO of Moorehead Media, according to the will,” Christophe—no R, because that would make it far too pedestrian a name—my father’s lawyer says.
I’m working on trying to remain calm as I address my grandmother. “You didn’t say anything about me being CEO. You said you needed my help.”
“Running the company, yes,” she says through a practiced, stiff smile. 
It’s her warning face, but seriously, when she said she needed my help for a few months I figured it meant I’d be keeping Armstrong in line while she sorted out who was going to take over the company, which I realize now was a stupid assumption. 
“I didn’t think that meant CEO. How am I going to run a company with this dickhead on staff?” I motion to my brother. 
“The name calling is unnecessary,” G-mom replies.
“Lincoln’s not even part of this family! He hasn’t attended one event in the past five years except for Dad’s funeral. He didn’t bother coming to my wedding and now he’s going to run the company? How is that fair?”
I snort. “Your wedding was an expensive joke.”
He crosses his arms over his chest. “I was set up. Amalie had cold feet and made me out to look like the bad guy.”
The woman beside him shoots him disgusted look.
Armstrong clears his throat and tugs at his collar. “My wedding is not the real issue. The point is that you’ve never involved yourself in any part of this family and now you think you can come in and take over. I will not stand by and let this happen!” He keeps jabbing his finger at me, as if he’s engaged in a finger sword fight.
I lean back in my chair and lace my fingers behind my neck. Armstrong has always been reactive. And self-absorbed. For a while it seemed like he finally had it together—back when he was engaged. But ever since that fiasco of a wedding he seems to have come completely unglued. Again. But worse this time. “Someone needs a timeout.”

About the Author: 
New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of PUCKED, Helena Hunting lives on the outskirts of Toronto with her incredibly tolerant family and two moderately intolerant cats. She's writes contemporary romance ranging from new adult angst to romantic sports comedy.
Social Media Links:

Thursday, January 17, 2019

The Wicked King (The Folk of the Air #2) by Holly Black

Title: The Wicked King (The Folk of the Air #2)
Author: Holly Black
Pages: 336
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
Publisher: LBYR/HBG Canada
Buy: AmazonCA| Chapters Indigo| Kobo 
*Thank you to the publisher for providing an ARC for review*

Summary (Goodreads)

The enchanting and bloodthirsty sequel to the New York Times bestselling novel The Cruel Prince.

You must be strong enough to strike and strike and strike again without tiring.

The first lesson is to make yourself strong.


After the jaw-dropping revelation that Oak is the heir to Faerie, Jude must keep her younger brother safe. To do so, she has bound the wicked king, Cardan, to her, and made herself the power behind the throne. Navigating the constantly shifting political alliances of Faerie would be difficult enough if Cardan were easy to control. But he does everything in his power to humiliate and undermine her even as his fascination with her remains undiminished.

When it becomes all too clear that someone close to Jude means to betray her, threatening her own life and the lives of everyone she loves, Jude must uncover the traitor and fight her own complicated feelings for Cardan to maintain control as a mortal in a Faerie world.
 


Review: 

Holly Black you have done it again and have left me speechless! The Wicked King was jaw-dropping and is the perfect sequel to The Folk of the Air series. If you love to read about faeries this is the series you need to pick up immediately because it is bloodthirsty. It makes you wish you had the third book. I'm still in shock after finishing it! A big thank you to HBGCanada for providing me an ARC of this book! It was my most anticipated books of 2019 and it did not disappoint.

The Wicked King starts off a little after the first book after that crazy ending after Jude takes charge of the secret of who Oak really is the true heir of Faerie, so she sent him to the human world while Cardan seats on the throne. There are so many alliances that are starting to shift as well as the politics in the court that Jude is controlling. I did enjoy seeing more of the world that has been created and the events that are starting to conspire. You will be enthralled with the plot, characters and seeing how it affects the Elfhame. The sequel had lots going on especially the tension between Jude and Cardan. You will not be able to put this book down!

Cardan has to be one of my favourite characters. While he is cruel, you can see that he does show more emotion in this book than the first book. When you get to a certain chapters you will swoon for him. But at the same will be shocked by that ending. Jude has grown a lot in this book as she navigates the political scene, complicated relationship, and family. If you haven't read The Cruel Prince you definitely need to pick it up immediately! I think I loved this one better so far.  Wishing for The Exiled Queen to come out!


5/5
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...