Wednesday, November 21, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday: Bloodleaf (Bloodleaf #1) by Crystal Smith

Title: Bloodleaf 
Author: Crystal Smith 
Pages: 384
Genre: Fantasy, YA
Publisher: HMH for Young Readers/Raincoast Books
Release Date: March 12, 2019 

Summary (Goodreads) 

Princess Aurelia is a prisoner to her crown and the heir that nobody wants. Surrounded by spirits and banned from using her blood-magic, Aurelia flees her country after a devastating assassination attempt. To escape her fate, Aurelia disguises herself as a commoner in a new land and discovers a happiness her crown has never allowed. As she forges new bonds and perfects her magic, she begins to fall for a man who is forbidden to rule beside her.

But the ghosts that haunt Aurelia refuse to abandon her, and she finds herself succumbing to their call as they expose a nefarious plot that only she can defeat. Will she be forced to choose between the weight of the crown and the freedom of her new life?
 


Monday, November 19, 2018

Blog Tour: Hate Notes by Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward



Hate Notes by Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward
Pub date: November 6, 2018
Publisher: Montlake Romance
Available in Canada through Thomas Allen & Son

Add to Goodreads: https://bit.ly/2OKkaQE
Description: 
From New York Timesbestselling authors Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward comes an unexpected love story of secondhand hearts and second chances…
It all started with a mysterious blue note sewn into a wedding dress.
Something blue.
I’d gone to sell my own unworn bridal gown at a vintage clothing store. That’s when I found another bride’s “something old.”
Stitched into the lining of a fabulously feathered design was the loveliest message I’d ever read: Thank you for making all of my dreams come true.
The name embossed on the blue stationery: Reed Eastwood, obviously the most romantic man who ever lived. I also discovered he’s the most gorgeous. If only my true-love fantasies had stopped there. Because I’ve since found out something else about Mr. Starry-Eyed.
He’s arrogant, cynical, and demanding. I should know. Thanks to a twist of fate, he’s my new boss. But that’s not going to stop me from discovering the story behind his last love letter. A love letter that did notresult in a happily ever after.
But thatstory is nothing compared to the one unfolding between us. It’s getting hotter, sweeter, and more surprising than anything I could have imagined.
Something new.
But I have no idea how this one is going to end…
Get Your Copy Today!
Indigo 
àhttps://bit.ly/2yucp7E
Amazon.ca 
àhttps://amzn.to/2PdsuYT
Amazon.com 
àhttps://amzn.to/2yUofao
* Also available to order through your local independent bookstore.

Review:
I absolutely loved this book! Right from the beginning I was immediately hooked with characters and plot. You will most definitely need tissues after finishing it. I also loved how it all started with a message in a wedding dress. Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward are the dynamic duo who knows how to write amazing romance and capture your hearts and also make you cry. These two authors delivered a hate to love relationship. It was sexy, romantic and fun! I was secretly hoping for more pages by the end. Plus that twist at the end was very unexpected. 
Hate Notes begins with Charlotte selling her unused wedding grown, but find another one that she immediately falls in love with. What she doesn't expect is finding a sweet note from Reed Eastwood stitched into the dress.  Now she is more curious than ever to find out what happened between these two. After a drunken night she accidentally finds Reed, who happens to be a very popular Real Estate agent for selling really expensive property. Their meeting is not very great but Reed is a total jerk (but it's understandable). After the encounter she then gets a job offer, but finds out she is working with none other than Reed. 
The chemistry between them I felt was instant. Charlotte definitely gets Reed out of his comfort zone. Starting with the "Bucket List". I loved seeing how they fall in love and all their encounters with each other. There were moments where you will be smiling even if you see them fighting. But the ending was perfect! If you are looking for a good romance be sure to pick up any of their books because you will read them so fast. 
I loved this book!

5/5

About Vi Keeland:
Vi Keeland is a #1 New York Times, #1 Wall Street Journal, and USA TodayBestselling author.  With millions of books sold, her titles have appeared in over one hundred Bestseller lists and are currently translated in twenty languages. She resides in New York with her husband and their three children where she is living out her own happily ever after with the boy she met at age six.
If you would like to send Vi an email you can reach her at vikeeland@gmail.com
Want to sign up for her mailing list? You can sign up HERE
Follow Vi:

About Penelope Ward:
Penelope Ward is a New York TimesUSA Today and #1Wall Street Journal bestselling author.



She grew up in Boston with five older brothers and spent most of her twenties as a television news anchor. Penelope resides in Rhode Island with her husband, son and beautiful daughter with autism.

With over a million books sold, she is a seventeen-time New York Times bestseller and the author of over fifteen novels, including RoomHate which hit #2 on the New York Times bestseller list and #1 on the Wall Street Journal bestseller list. Other New York Timesbestsellers include Stepbrother Dearest, Neighbor DearestDrunk DialCocky BastardStuck-Up SuitPlayboy Pilotand Mister Moneybags (the latter four co-written with Vi Keeland).
Follow Penelope:


Rafflecopter embed link: 


Hate Notes Blog Tour Schedule: 
Nov. 12 – BookCatPin 
Nov. 13 – RemarkablyLisa 
Nov. 14 – BritReadsBooks 
Nov. 15 – Simply Patty 
Nov. 19 – Stuck in YA Books 
Nov. 22 – Between the Spine 


Wednesday, November 7, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday: Never-Contented Things by Sarah Porter

Title: Never-Contented Things
Author: Sarah Porter
Pages: 368
Genre: Fantasy/YA
Publisher: Tor Teen/Raincoast Books 
Release Date: March 19, 2019

Summary (Goodreads) 

Seductive. Cruel. Bored
Be wary of… 


Prince and his fairy courtiers are staggeringly beautiful, unrelentingly cruel, and exhausted by the tedium of the centuries―until they meet foster-siblings Josh and Ksenia. Drawn in by their vivid emotions, undying love for each other, and passion for life, Prince will stop at nothing to possess them.

First seduced and then entrapped by the fairies, Josh and Ksenia learn that the fairies' otherworldly gifts come at a terrible price―and they must risk everything in order to reclaim their freedom.


Tuesday, October 30, 2018

The Darkest Star (Origin #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout


the darkest start blog tour

Image result for the darkest star

Title: The Darkest Star (Origin #1)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 368
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction
Publisher: Tor Teen
Release Date: October 30, 2018
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo|
*Received for review by publisher for honest review*

Summary: (Goodreads)

When seventeen-year-old Evie Dasher is caught up in a raid at a notorious club known as one of the few places where humans and the surviving Luxen can mingle freely, she meets Luc, an unnaturally beautiful guy she initially assumes is a Luxen...but he is in fact something much more powerful. Her growing attraction for Luc will lead her deeper and deeper into a world she'd only heard about, a world where everything she thought she knew will be turned on its head...

#1 New York Times, USA Today, and internationally bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout returns to the universe of the Lux in this brand new series, featuring beloved characters both new and old.



Review: 

Let's just say that I was left speechless after finishing The Darkest Star! From the beginning, I was immediately hooked from the first page. I'm just very excited that Jennifer was able to jump back into the world of the Lux again because this one did not disappoint. As a big fan of Jen's I felt that Luc and Evie's story was one of the best, plus we get to see our favourite characters as well. Thank you Tor Teen and Raincoast for allowing me to review one of my all-time favourite series.

The Darkest Star follows Evie, where the Luxen are living among the humans after the events of Opposition. When Evie meets Luc you can feel the chemistry between them, but also a feeling that she has known him before. Throughout the book Evie and Luc get to know each other and also the word Peaches will never look the same once you are done because their relationship is adorable. But the more she spends time with him, the more secrets that are being revealed about who she really is.

This book is one of my favourites of the year! The writing was perfect and I loved everything about it. Lots of action and romance that you will be swooning Luc. JLA is one of those authors that will become your auto-buys because all her books are written like you are there and are transported into the world she has created. Thank you Jen for bringing us back into this world!! Now I will be patiently waiting until the next book. Maybe a Luc POV?? If you are a fan of the Lux series go pick up The Darkest Star! You won't be able to put it down!

5/5


Friday, October 19, 2018

All We Ever Wanted by Emily Giffin

Title: All We Ever Wanted
Author: Emily Giffin
Pages: 400
Genre: Fiction/ Contemporary
Publisher: Ballantine Books/Penguin Random House Canada
Release Date: June 26, 2018
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
* Received for review by Penguin Random House Canada*

Summary (Goodreads)

In the riveting new novel from the #1 New York Timesbestselling author of First Comes Love and Something Borrowed, three very different people must choose between their family and their values.

Nina Browning is living the good life after marrying into Nashville’s elite. More recently, her husband made a fortune selling his tech business, and their adored son has been accepted to Princeton. Yet sometimes the middle-class small-town girl in Nina wonders if she’s strayed from the person she once was.

Tom Volpe is a single dad working multiple jobs while struggling to raise his headstrong daughter, Lyla. His road has been lonely, long, and hard, but he finally starts to relax after Lyla earns a scholarship to Windsor Academy, Nashville’s most prestigious private school.

Amid so much wealth and privilege, Lyla doesn’t always fit in—and her overprotective father doesn’t help—but in most ways, she’s a typical teenage girl, happy and thriving.

Then, one photograph, snapped in a drunken moment at a party, changes everything. As the image spreads like wildfire, the Windsor community is instantly polarized, buzzing with controversy and assigning blame.

At the heart of the lies and scandal, Tom, Nina, and Lyla are forced together—all questioning their closest relationships, asking themselves who they really are, and searching for the courage to live a life of true meaning.


Review

Emily Giffin is definitely one of my fiction auto-buy authors because you just fall in love with all of her characters and the story. All We Ever Wanted is one of those books that you won't put down. It is definitely different than her past books which are more romantic contemporary, but this one is talking about issues that are happening in today's society/media.

Told in three point of views of Tom, Lyla and Nina we are told about how one photograph can change everything for Lyla. Nina is the mother to Finch, who is one of the kids, who is married to Kirk (very rich) by selling his tech company. Tom is a single father struggling with working two jobs while taking care of Lyla who is going to a prestigious high school on financial aid.

Overall I felt that this book was relevant, and that each voice was different as they question themselves and truths. It's well written and the story will hook you in immediately. The epilogue was everything plus emotional. The story was so complexed and layered its one book that makes you think. All We Ever Wanted is for sure one of my favourites by Emily Giffin and it won't be the last. Thank you Penguin Random House Canada for letting me review this great book!

4/5

Wednesday, October 3, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday: Hate Notes by Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward

Title: Hate Notes
Authors: Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward
Pages: 304
Genre: Romance
Publisher: Montlake Romance 
Release Date: November 6, 2018

Summary (Goodreads) 

It all started with a mysterious blue note sewn into a wedding dress.

Something blue.

I’d gone to sell my own unworn bridal gown at a vintage clothing store. That’s when I found another bride’s “something old.”

Stitched into the lining of a fabulously feathered design was the loveliest message I’d ever read: Thank you for making all of my dreams come true.

The name embossed on the blue stationery: Reed Eastwood, obviously the most romantic man who ever lived. I also discovered he’s the most gorgeous. If only my true-love fantasies had stopped there. Because I’ve since found out something else about Mr. Starry-Eyed.

He’s arrogant, cynical, and demanding. I should know. Thanks to a twist of fate, he’s my new boss. But that’s not going to stop me from discovering the story behind his last love letter. A love letter that did not result in a happily ever after.

But that story is nothing compared to the one unfolding between us. It’s getting hotter, sweeter, and more surprising than anything I could have imagined.

Something new.

But I have no idea how this one is going to end . . .


Thursday, August 16, 2018

The Prince (A Wicked Novella) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: The Prince (A Wicked Novella #3.5)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 125
Genre: New Adult/Romance
Publisher: Evil Eyes Concepts
Release Date: August 14, 2018
*Received a copy for review by the author*
Buy: AmazonUS

Summary (Goodreads)

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout comes a new story in her Wicked series… 

She’s everything he wants…. 

Cold. Heartless. Deadly. Whispers of his name alone bring fear to fae and mortals alike. The Prince. There is nothing in the mortal world more dangerous than him. Haunted by a past he couldn’t control, all Caden desires is revenge against those who’d wronged him, trapping him in never-ending nightmare. And there is one person he knows can help him. 

She’s everything he can’t have… 

Raised within the Order, Brighton Jussier knows just how dangerous the Prince is, reformed or not. She’d seen firsthand what atrocities he could be capable of. The last thing she wants to do is help him, but he leaves her little choice. Forced to work alongside him, she begins to see the man under the bitter ice. Yearning for him feels like the definition of insanity, but there’s no denying the heat in his touch and the wicked promise is his stare. 

She’s everything he’ll take…. 

But there’s someone out there who wants to return the Prince to his former self. A walking, breathing nightmare that is hell bent on destroying the world and everyone close to him. The last thing either of them needs is a distraction, but with the attraction growing between them each now, the one thing he wants more than anything may be the one thing that will be his undoing. 

She’s everything he’d die for…. 

**Every 1001 Dark Nights novella is a standalone story. For new readers, it’s an introduction to an author’s world. And for fans, it’s a bonus book in the author’s series. We hope you'll enjoy each one as much as we do.** 



Review:

This was everything I expected it to be! As every Jennifer L. Armentrout book this was definitely one I couldn't put down. Even though after finishing this I was wishing for more pages to appear. To the swoon-worthy Prince Caden to the awesome Brighton, it felt amazing to be back into the Wicked world again. Now to wish the story was longer!!

Like any of her other books, JLA definitely knows how to make us love even the bad guys. So of course I loved Caden by the end of the book! There is even action, romance and an appearance from our favourites: Ivy, Ren and Tink! The Prince gets you all caught up about past events. Brighton Jussier has an administrative job within The Order, she was not part of patrolling the city for Fae, plus you already loved her from the previous books, so we already knew her personality a bit. But reading this, you see a whole new side of her with her growing confidence and her background is also hasn't been the easiest.

Now onto Prince Caden. My heart was all over the place with this man! While his past haunts him it also breaks your heart after the horrors that happened to him. In the beginning he is more cold and distant, but not with Brighton. Caden was more seductive and himself while he was with her (also very protective). I found that the tension between them was HOT + SEXY! Caden knows how to kiss with passion. You won't keep the smile off your face.

I LOVED The Prince! I can't wait to see what is going to happen next to see what is going to happen between these two!!!!

5/5

Tuesday, August 14, 2018

The Prince by Jennifer L. Armentrout (Release Blitz)

 

From #1 New York Times Bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout, comes THE PRINCE, a new novella in her Wicked Series, brought to you by 1,001 Dark Nights! Be sure to grab your copy today!

 

From #1 New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout comes a new story in her Wicked series…

She’s everything he wants….

Cold. Heartless. Deadly. Whispers of his name alone bring fear to fae and mortals alike. The Prince. There is nothing in the mortal world more dangerous than him. Haunted by a past he couldn’t control, all Caden desires is revenge against those who’d wronged him, trapping him in never-ending nightmare. And there is one person he knows can help him.

She’s everything he can’t have…

Raised within the Order, Brighton Jussier knows just how dangerous the Prince is, reformed or not. She’d seen firsthand what atrocities he could be capable of. The last thing she wants to do is help him, but he leaves her little choice. Forced to work alongside him, she begins to see the man under the bitter ice. Yearning for him feels like the definition of insanity, but there’s no denying the heat in his touch and the wicked promise is his stare.

She’s everything he’ll take….

But there’s someone out there who wants to return the Prince to his former self. A walking, breathing nightmare that is hell bent on destroying the world and everyone close to him. The last thing either of them needs is a distraction, but with the attraction growing between them each now, the one thing he wants more than anything may be the one thing that will be his undoing.

She’s everything he’d die for….

 

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon Canada

Download the Free Kindle App

  EXCERPT: Did it make you a bad friend if you were completely, a hundred percent envious of that friend? Yes? No? Kind of? I figured it was somewhere in between. That’s what I was mulling over as I watched Ivy Morgan brush thick, red curls over her shoulder, laughing at something her boyfriend Ren Owens had said to her. At least I wasn’t envious of that—their love. Okay, well, that wasn’t entirely true. Pretty sure anyone who was as single as me would be envious of all that warm and fuzzy that was passed back and forth with each long look or casual brush of skin. The two could barely tear their gazes away from one another to eat the dinner we’d grabbed at the cute little diner inside the shopping center on Prytania Street. I honest to God couldn’t be happier for them. They’d been through so much—way more than two people should ever have to go through to be together, and here they were, stronger and more in love than ever, and they deserved that happiness. But their epic love story wasn’t the source of a current case of the green-eye monster that was sitting on my shoulder. Ivy was just such a… badass. Even right now, relaxed in the chair, surrounded by twinkling Christmas lights with her hand in Ren’s and her belly full of a cheeseburger deluxe and crinkle fries and half of my tater tots, she could kick ass and take names along with addresses, telephone numbers, and social security numbers. If the proverbial poo hit the fan, you called Ivy or Ren. If you needed to know what streets Royal intersected with, you called… me. Or if you needed coffee or fresh beignets but were currently busy, you know, saving the world, you’d call me. The three of us were all members of the Order, a widespread organization that was literally the only thing that stood between mankind and complete, utter enslavement and destruction by the fae. And not the super cute fae found in Disney movies or some crap like that. Humans thought they were on top of the food chain. They were wrong. The fae were. The only thing pop culture got right about the fae was their slightly pointy ears. That was it. The fae were more than just beings from another world—the Otherworld—they were capable of glamouring their appearance to blend in with humans. But all Order members, even me, were warded at birth against the glamour. We saw through the human façade to the creature that lurked beneath.    
  About Jennifer L. Armentrout: # 1 New York Times, USA Today and international bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki. Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV. She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.  

Website | Facebook | Twitter

   

Monday, August 13, 2018

The Simple Wild by K.A. Tucker

Title: The Simple Wild
Author: K.A. Tucker
Pages: 400
Genre: Romance
Publisher: Atria Books
Release Date: August 7, 2018
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
*Received for review by Atria Books*

Summary (Goodreads)

Calla Fletcher wasn't even two when her mother took her and fled the Alaskan wild, unable to handle the isolation of the extreme, rural lifestyle, leaving behind Calla’s father, Wren Fletcher, in the process. Calla never looked back, and at twenty-six, a busy life in Toronto is all she knows. But when Calla learns that Wren’s days may be numbered, she knows that it’s time to make the long trip back to the remote frontier town where she was born.

She braves the roaming wildlife, the odd daylight hours, the exorbitant prices, and even the occasional—dear God—outhouse, all for the chance to connect with her father: a man who, despite his many faults, she can’t help but care for. While she struggles to adjust to this rugged environment, Jonah—the unkempt, obnoxious, and proud Alaskan pilot who helps keep her father’s charter plane company operational—can’t imagine calling anywhere else home. And he’s clearly waiting with one hand on the throttle to fly this city girl back to where she belongs, convinced that she’s too pampered to handle the wild.

Jonah is probably right, but Calla is determined to prove him wrong. Soon, she finds herself forming an unexpected bond with the burly pilot. As his undercurrent of disapproval dwindles, it’s replaced by friendship—or perhaps something deeper? But Calla is not in Alaska to stay and Jonah will never leave. It would be foolish of her to kindle a romance, to take the same path her parents tried—and failed at—years ago. It’s a simple truth that turns out to be not so simple after all.
 


Review: 

One of my favourites of this year!! The Simple Wild by K.A. Tucker will make you swoon and cry all at once.  I felt like I was in a similar situation with Calla especially in parts near the end of the book with her father. Plus who wouldn't help falling in love with a rugged, and proud Alaskan pilot named Jonah. Also this book definitely got me out of my book slump. I really also enjoyed that it was  set in Alaska and Toronto which made it even better since I could relate to some of the areas there.

As a big fan of K.A. Tucker, this book had all the emotions between love, loss, and knowing where you come from. After her mother left Alaska when Calla was two, leaving behind her father, Wren Fletcher, after twenty-four years she has finally comes back to see her father and to the town where she was born.  Everything in this book got me. From her relationship with her father, and reconnecting with him. The character growth for Calla, and all the supporting characters that will make you fall in love with the setting.

While I didn't like Jonah right away I knew that the chemistry between them was going to be strong. Even if her mother did warn her about falling in love with a pilot. I did like that the romance was not a insta-romance because you get to see them in their own way fall in love with each other. The ending of the book is full of emotions that you will definitely be crying. I felt like I really connected with Calla at this moment because I went through a similar situation with my own father almost two years ago.

Overall, The Simple Wild was a fantastic read that now has become one of my favourites of this year! If you haven't read any of K.A. Tucker's books I recommend you get them immediately. The last part of the end was also heartwarming that I'm already looking forward to Tucker's next romance book! Thank you Atria for a copy to review!

5/5

Wednesday, July 25, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday: The Chase (Briar U #1) by Elle Kennedy

Title: The Chase (Briar U #1)
Author: Elle Kennedy
Genre: New Adult/ Romance 
Release Date: August 6, 2018

Summary (Goodreads)

Everyone says opposites attract. And they must be right, because there’s no logical reason why I’m so drawn to Colin Fitzgerald. I don’t usually go for tattoo-covered, video-gaming, hockey-playing nerd-jocks who think I’m flighty and superficial. His narrow view of me is the first strike against him. It doesn’t help that he’s buddy-buddy with my brother.

And that his best friend has a crush on me.

And that I just moved in with them.

Oh, did I not mention we’re roommates?

I suppose it doesn’t matter. Fitzy has made it clear he’s not interested in me, even though the sparks between us are liable to burn our house down. I’m not the kind of girl who chases after a man, though, and I’m not about to start. I’ve got my hands full dealing with a new school, a sleazy professor, and an uncertain future. So if my sexy brooding roomie wises up and realizes what he’s missing?

He knows where to find me.
 



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...