Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: Say You'll Remember Me by Katie McGarry

Title: Say You'll Remember Me 
Author: Katie McGarry 
Pages: 400
Genre: Teen/Contemporary 
Publisher: Harlequin Teen 
Release Date: January 30, 2018

Summary (Goodreads) 

When Drix was convicted of a crime--one he didn't commit--he thought his life was over. But opportunity came with the new Second Chance Program, the governor's newest pet project to get delinquents off the streets, rehabilitated and back into society. Drix knows this is his chance to get his life back on track, even if it means being paraded in front of reporters for a while.

Elle knows she lives a life of privilege. As the governor's daughter, she can open doors with her name alone. But the expectations and pressure to be someone she isn't may be too much to handle. She wants to follow her own path, whatever that means.

When Drix and Elle meet, their connection is immediate, but so are their problems. Drix is not the type of boy Elle's parents have in mind for her, and Elle is not the kind of girl who can understand Drix's messy life.

But sometimes love can breach all barriers.

Fighting against a society that can't imagine them together, Drix and Elle must push themselves--Drix to confront the truth of the robbery, and Elle to assert her independence--and each other to finally get what they deserve.
 



Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Fireblood (Frostblood Saga #2) by Elly Blake

Title: Fireblood (Frostblood Saga #2)
Author: Elly Blake
Pages: 416
Genre: YA/Fantasy
Publisher: HBG Canada/ Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: September 12, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
*Recieved for review from HBG Canada

Summary (Goodreads)
Against all odds, Ruby has defeated the villainous Frost King and melted his throne of ice. But the bloodthirsty Minax that was trapped inside is now haunting her kingdom and everyone she loves. The answers to its demise may lie to the south in Sudesia, the land of the Firebloods, and a country that holds the secrets to Ruby's powers and past....

Despite warnings from her beloved Arcus, Ruby accompanies a roguish Fireblood named Kai to Sudesia, where she must master her control of fire in a series of trials to gain the trust of the suspicious Fireblood queen. Only then can she hope to access the knowledge that could defeat the rampaging Minax--which grows closer every moment. But as sparks fly in her moments alone with Kai, how can Ruby decide whom to trust? The fate of both kingdoms is now in her hands.


Review:

If you haven't started this series you must pick it up immediately! I could not put it down as it left me either in shock or heartbroken. Elly Blake's writing was beautifully written and the background story was very insightful. Once I finished Frostblood, I knew that I couldn't wait to read Fireblood which is now one of my favourite books of this year! If you follow me on Goodreads, I mentioned that Chapter 5 left me heartbroken. It was a fast-paced, action packed and in the end surpassed my expectations and

Fireblood starts a few days after Frostblood ended and Ruby is trying to adjust to the Frost blood world. I would say I'm definitely invested in the characters and the entire novel. While you might see a love triangle in this novel my heart will still be with Arcus. But I still had a hard time choosing between him and Kai. But overall, I'm happy with Ruby's choice at the end! Looking forward to where Elly is going to go with this in Nightblood! As you go along we get to see more about Ruby's past and learn more about the Minax's history and learning to control her fire from the Fireblood masters.

Elly Blake has written a series that you get you hooked because I know I am! If you are looking for a great fantasy read you will want to grab this book series. The writing is spot on and the ending will make you wish Nightblood was already out! Plus look at the beautiful covers.  Can't wait to see what is going to happen next in the series!

5/5



Monday, September 4, 2017

If There's No Tomorrow by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: If There's No Tomorrow
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 480
Genre: Contemporary/Teen/Romance
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Release Date: September 5, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
*Received for review by author/publisher and Indigo Books and Music*

Summary (Goodreads)

Lena Wise is always looking forward to tomorrow, especially at the start of her senior year. She's ready to pack in as much friend time as possible, to finish college applications, and to maybe let her childhood best friend Sebastian know how she really feels about him. For Lena, the upcoming year is going to be epic--one of opportunities and chances.

Until one choice, one moment, destroys everything.

Now Lena isn't looking forward to tomorrow. Not when friend time may never be the same. Not when college applications feel all but impossible. Not when Sebastian might never forgive her for what happened.

For what she let happen.

With the guilt growing each day, Lena knows that her only hope is to move on. But how can she move on when she and her friends' entire existences have been redefined? How can she move on when tomorrow isn't even guaranteed?


Review: 

Jennifer has done it again!! If There's No Tomorrow is about how one choice can change your life in an instant. But it doesn't have to define who you are unless you make that happen. It's a story of family, regret, forgiveness, and even second chances. We have all made a similar choice as Lena did but reading about the experience makes you think that we need to be aware of others and how to protect them because it could have been a different outcome in the end. One of the reasons I love Jen's writing is that Lena was easy to relate to and even get tears in our eyes.

I loved this book! It had moments where it was heartbreaking to next were sweet moments of humor. Plus Lena is reading an awesome book about Fae. Sebastian is the boy next door who Lena has been in love with. The chemistry between them from a friends to lovers romance since you can see the emotions between them from the beginning. I fell in love with everyone in the book because the dynamic was perfect. Lena's journey was handled respectfully and in a sensitive way.

If There's No Tomorrow is a coming of age story that will make you think because its insightful and uplifting at the same time. As a huge JLA fan this one is definitely one of my favorites by her. The writing was as always expertly written and has a powerful message that everyone needs to be aware of. Be sure to pick this book up on September 5 because you will want this on your shelf!!

5/5

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: Everless by Sara Holland

Title: Everless
Author: Sara Holland
Pages: 336
Genre: Fantasy/YA
Publisher: HarperTeen/HarperCollins Canada
Release Date: January 2, 2018

Summary (Goodreads

In the land of Sempera, time is extracted from blood and used as payment. Jules Ember and her father were once servants at Everless, the wealthy Gerling family’s estate, but were cast out after of a fateful accident a decade ago. Now, Jules’s father is reaching his last hour, and she will do anything to save him. Desperate to earn time, she arrives at the palace as it prepares for a royal wedding, ready to begin her search into childhood secrets that she once believed to be no more than myths. As she uncovers lost truths, Jules spirals deeper into a past she hardly recognizes, and faces an ancient and dangerous foe who threatens her future and the future of time itself.

What is your Waiting on Wednesday?


Tuesday, August 29, 2017

Frostblood (Frostblood Saga #1) by Elly Blake

Title: Frostblood (Frostblood Saga #1)
Author: Elly Blake
Pages: 376
Genre: Fantasy, Teen
Publisher: Little Brown for YR/ HBG Canada
Release Date: January 10, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
*An ARC was provided by the publisher for review*

Summary (Goodreads)

The frost king will burn.

Seventeen-year-old Ruby is a Fireblood who has concealed her powers of heat and flame from the cruel Frostblood ruling class her entire life. But when her mother is killed trying to protect her, and rebel Frostbloods demand her help to overthrow their bloodthirsty king, she agrees to come out of hiding, desperate to have her revenge.

Despite her unpredictable abilities, Ruby trains with the rebels and the infuriating—yet irresistible—Arcus, who seems to think of her as nothing more than a weapon. But before they can take action, Ruby is captured and forced to compete in the king’s tournaments that pit Fireblood prisoners against Frostblood champions. Now she has only one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who has taken everything from her—and from the icy young man she has come to love.


Review: 

Let me just say right away how much I loved this book! I read it so quickly that I wish it wasn't over. While it did start off slow it definitely picked up. Elly Blake did an amazing job with the world building as well as the characters. Immediately I was sucked into the world of Ruby's and even more so a love towards Arcus. Especially with that ending!! There were myths from both the Firebloods and the Frostblood that really make the story relevant and super interesting to the world. While the story does remind me of others it had its own unique twists.

Elly Blake's beautiful debut was definitely a book that got me out of a book funk. Ruby is a feisty character who you will love by the end. Then there's Arcus who I just loved from the beginning. Love at first read thats for sure. I got to care about both of them by the end of the book.  Plus the monks were awesome! In Frostblood the focus was more on destroying the Frost King but all the while there was even a slow burning romance. Loved every moment between them because there was flirting and lots of bickering between them.

By the end I was definitely in love with the book. That when I had the chance to request Fireblood I had to request it (review up soon). You will be drawn into this world and probably will finish it quickly like I did. While there was still some unanswered questions I think they will be said in the second book. Also beware of the many twists and secrets because I was shocked by them! If you haven't picked this one up you need too since it was amazing!

5/5

Monday, August 28, 2017

Fallen Heir (The Royals #4)

Title: Fallen Heir (The Royals #4)
Author: Erin Watt
Pages: 300 (e-book)
Genre: New Adult/Romance/YA
Release Date: August 28, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Kobo|
*Received for review from author*

Summary (Goodreads)
These Royals will ruin you.

Easton Royal has it all: looks, money, intelligence. His goal in life is to have as much fun as possible. He never thinks about the consequences because he doesn’t have to.

Until Hartley Wright appears, shaking up his easy life. She’s the one girl who’s said no, despite being attracted to him. Easton can’t figure her out and that makes her all the more irresistible.

Hartley doesn’t want him. She says he needs to grow up.

She might be right.

Rivals. Rules. Regrets. For the first time in Easton’s life, wearing a Royal crown isn’t enough. He’s about to learn that the higher you start, the harder you fall.


Review: 

I have been definitely ruined by these Royals!! Erin Watt has done it again and sucked me into the world of these amazing characters. It's great to be back and see Ella, Reed, Easton and even new ones like Hartley, who by the way is a favorite. But now we are in the POV of Easton, who is the life of the party in the Royal house but he can be reckless in some ways. I was instantly hooked with Fallen Heir! Easton is definitely the broken boy underneath but we see him in a whole new light. It was a crazy, emotional, shocking and even chaotic way. But of course in Erin Watt style we were left with a JAW DROPPING finish that you will be OMG at.

Already being in love with Easton already this book made me smile and laugh. Easton is adorable, funny, and very charming at times. He definitely has a big ego about himself. Even though he can behave like a spoiled brat he has a lot of issues that are more explained in the book. I loved the way he is around Hartley by being flirtatious at the beginning. Even though you could be mad at him at thinking that its one big game for him to just play with his money. But Fallen Heir has shown him having frustrating moments, and even hilarious ones. He may be a mess that is spiraling down but this is his fall.

Fallen Heir was perfect in so many ways! Easton and Hartley are so similar to try to keep their family separate from them and their lives. But it's their slow burning dynamic that brings them together. It definitely did explode. I wish I didn't read it so fast! Now I need the next book. Erin Watt you have left me blown away and shocked all rolled up in one. There were moments I just wanted to throw my phone because some of those scenes were OMG! Be sure to pick up this book once you finish with the first three in the series!! Be carefully or you will be ruined again.

5/5 

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

Title: What to Say Next
Author: Julie Buxbaum
Pages: 292
Genre: Teen Contemporary
Publisher: Delacorte Press/Penguin Random House Canada
Release Date: July 11, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo

Summary (Goodreads)

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How could they? I don’t even understand.

DAVID: In the 622 days I’ve attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I’ve never once sat with someone until now. “So your dad is dead,” I say to Kit, because this is a fact I’ve recently learned about her. 

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David. Kit appreciates David’s blunt honesty—in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit’s attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad’s tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they’ll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?


Review: 

I have read one of Julie's books in the past and this is no different that this book was beautiful and tragic. What To Say Next is a compelling read that you feel for both of the main characters who are both experiencing different lives, but at the same time once their lives come together a relationship happens. I feel that the author appreciated the handling of autism and bully really well throughout the book.

It has only been one month since Kit lost her father in a car crash. She starts to pull away from her friends and their problems. When she then sits next to David who has a high functioning type of autism (aka Asperger's syndrome) they are both struggling through the real issues involving their families. Their relationship was adorable and very honest between them. David's POV felt authentic and they both help each other back into reality.

As an ECE its important to see inclusion as we include children with diversity and embracing it. Julie Buxbaum did a great job writing their voices and dealing with the real issues out their in schools. Especially death and bullying. There were many times where my heart broke but at the same time it was pulled together by the writing. If you haven't picked up her past books you definitely need to pick them up immediately.

4.5/5

Thursday, August 10, 2017

Wish You Were Here by Renee Carlino

Title: Wish You Were Here
Author: Renee Carlino
Pages: 320
Genre: Romance/Contemporary
Publisher: Atria Books/Simon Schuster Canada
Release Date: August 15, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo

Summary (Goodreads)
Charlotte has spent her twenties adrift, floating from interest to interest, job to job, and guy to guy, searching for a spark but never quite finding it. All she knows is that she won’t discover it working as a waitress at a pies-and-fries joint in Los Angeles or living with her fun but aimless best friend in a tiny apartment in the Arts District.

Then Charlotte collides with Adam, a gorgeous and soulful painter who seems just as lost as she feels. Their instant connection turns into a midnight drink… and a whirlwind night of champagne, Chinese food, and the kind of conversation that only happens in romantic comedies. But the next morning, Adam gives Charlotte the cold shoulder, leaving her confused and hurt—and wondering if the few odd moments between them the night before were red flags in disguise.

Months later, Charlotte hasn’t been able to shake Adam, so she decides to find out what happened the morning after their magical night together. This fateful decision rewrites their wild love story, but what Charlotte doesn’t know yet is that the ending has already been written.


Review:

I have many favourite contemporary/romance books but, Wish You Were Here is one of those books that blew me away and cry all at the same time. Being in Toronto at the time of reading it, I was remembering everything that happened with my father and that life is short and be with the ones you love most. Renee Carlino really out did herself with this book. I was pretty much an emotional wreck through some scenes. You can always count of Renee with writing a stunning story about love and loss. I was done with it in a matter of hours.

Charlotte is our main character who is in her mid-late twenties and is not having very good luck at finding the one, working as a waitress and is changing jobs a lot. Then she meets Adam and her world changes. They have one unforgettable night that changes her for the next few months because she can't forget him. I seriously loved Adam to pieces!! His character had a lot of soul and love that he will not leave your mind until the last page because you also fall in love with him when Charlotte does. She grows so much throughout the book that in the end she is the one who is selfless and would do anything to help others.

Wish You Were Here is a story that will make you fall in love and cry at the same time. It will touch your heart in many ways. Carlino's writing was as always beautiful and flawless. I have fallen in love with her books for the past few years and I can say that she is one of my favorite writers and auto-buys. If you're looking for a great emotional read with romance you definitely want to read this book!

5/5

Sunday, July 23, 2017

Roar (Stormheart #1) by Cora Carmack

Title: Roar (Stormheart #1)
Author: Cora Carmack
Pages: 380
Genre: Fantasy, YA
Publisher: Tor Teen/Raincoast Books
Release Date: June 13, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
*Recieved copy of book through Tor Teen and Indigo Books and Music for honest review*

Summary (Goodreads)

In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them.

Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged fealty and service to her family in exchange for safe haven, and a kingdom was carved out from the wildlands and sustained by magic capable of repelling the world’s deadliest foes. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora’s been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honorable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic she’ll need to protect her people.

To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. At first, the prince seems like the perfect solution to all her problems. He’ll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe. But the more secrets Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks—storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters.

Legend says that her ancestors first gained their magic by facing a storm and stealing part of its essence. And when a handsome young storm hunter reveals he was born without magic, but possesses it now, Aurora realizes there’s a third option for her future besides ruin or marriage.

She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she’s brave enough.

Challenge a tempest. Survive it. And you become its master.


Review: 

I absolutely loved Roar!!! This being Cora's first YA book I believe she did an amazing job!! It was intense, amazing and wonderful that I wish I didn't finish so quickly. I already need the next book with that ending!! I loved the concept of the book with the stormhearts, the characters and the world that was created it will grab your attention from the beginning. So many feels and swoons that if you are in a fantasy mood you need to pick this book up!

Our heroine in the book, Aurora is a princess and a stormling who will do anything to save her home. But she has no magic to help them and her people do not know this. The only way is to marry another powerful stormling family. It is right before the wedding that she discovers the magic market and storm hunters. She is interested in learning from them, especially one handsome hunter who is so swoony! There is also Cassius whose character I found very interesting and the next book will be good to see what is going to happen with him but I still don't like/trust him.

While reading you follow Aurora's journey of her discovering who she is while on the road. Roar is captivating and it kept things intriguing and guessing to the end. There are so many questions that I need to know what's going to happen in the next book! Cora Carmack's book is a must read with its epic storm battles, action, romance. If you haven't picked up her romance series be sure to check those out as well because you will fall in love with those ones as well!

5/5

Thursday, July 13, 2017

Fate of Flames (The Effigies #1) by Sarah Raughley

Title: Fate of Flames (The Effigies #1)
Author: Sarah Raughley
Pages: 368
Genre: Fantasy/ YA
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Release Date: November 22, 2016
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo|Kobo

Summary (Goodreads)
Years ago, everything changed. Phantoms, massive beasts of nightmare, began terrorizing the world. At the same time four girls, the Effigies, appeared, each with the unique power to control a classical element. Since then, they have protected the world from the Phantoms. At the death of one Effigy, another is chosen, pulled from her normal life into the never-ending battle.

When Maia unexpectedly becomes the next Fire Effigy, she resists her new calling. A quiet girl with few friends and almost no family, she was much happier to admire the Effigies from afar. Never did she imagine having to master her ability to control fire, to protect innocent citizens from the Phantoms, or to try bringing together the other three Effigies.

But with the arrival of the mysterious Saul—a man who seems to be able to control the Phantoms using the same cosmic power previously only granted to four girls at a time—Maia and the other Effigies must learn to work together in a world where their celebrity is more important than their heroism.

But the secrets Saul has, and the power he possesses, might be more than even they can handle…
 


** I received an ARC from Simon and Schuster Canada in exchange for an honest review. **
Review: 

Originally pitched like Sailor Moon meets The Avengers/Pacific Rim comes this amazing fantasy by debut author Sarah Raughley! I immediately could not wait to read this book when Simon Schuster Canada had it for review and it was amazing!! Who doesn`t love a Sailor Moon pitch storyline since I watched it as a child after school. So their was high expectations when I started reading. The Effigies series is definitely one to put on your TBR lists because you won`t be able to put it down! Four female superheros against villainous monsters. Hands down one of my favourite books so far!

Fate of Flames starts off immediately with our main character Maia fighting the Phantom and the other Effigies, Belle also fighting it as well. The Effigies are there to defend our world from these monster and they have the power to control the elements!! Can you already feel the Sailor Moon vibes!! Maia was a great narrator with a sense of humor! She really tries to push herself to learn more about her powers which as probably as the series goes one we will see. It was great to see the dynamics of the group that include: Belle, Chae Rin and Lake. Plus who could not love Rhys! Definitely rooting for him!

Sarah Raughley is one good world-builder! To the powers of the Effigies and the characters it was aa great read! Overall, you want to pick up this book! While there was still some ups and downs with Maia she is still growing as a character just like when Sailor Moon didn`t believe in herself right away it does take time. Looking forward to book two!!

5/5

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

The Diabolic (The Diabolic #1) by S.J. Kincaid

Title: The Diabolic
Author: S.J. Kincaid
Pages: 416
Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy, YA
Publisher: Simon Schuster BYR
Release Date: November 1, 2016
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo

Summary (Goodreads)
A Diabolic is ruthless. A Diabolic is powerful. A Diabolic has a single task: Kill in order to protect the person you’ve been created for. Nothing else.

For Nemesis, that person is Sidonia, heir to the galactic Senate. The two grew up side by side, and there’s no one Nemesis wouldn’t kill to keep her safe. But when the power-mad Emperor summons Sidonia to the Imperial Court as a hostage, there is only one way for Nemesis to protect Sidonia.

She must become her.

Now one of the galaxy’s most dangerous weapons is masquerading in a world of corrupt politicians and two-faced Senators’ children, and Nemesis must find within herself the one thing she’s been told she doesn’t have—humanity. With the Empire beginning to fracture and rebellion looming, that could be the one thing that saves her and the Empire itself.


Review: 

While it was slow in the beginning, The Diabolic pulled through with the end because now there was a lot of story-line. S.J. Kincaid written this book well and its a good thing this isn't a standalone anymore! Even before the book came out I had a feeling I was going to enjoy the book! While it may be a slow starter it was definitely a hard book to put down after especially with the concept. Left me asking more questions after finishing it.

The Diabolic was a very complex world building that she has built. Nemesis is one strong characters who can kick some a**. She is designed to be a killing machine with no emotions. You would think of not liking her but that is not true. She is destined to be bond to one person and protect them. Nemesis` bond with Sidonia is interesting to see but when she is sent to the imperial court is when all the book really begins when she impersonates Sidonia. There is even a love interest!!

It was great seeing this world come to life. Kincaid brought together an excellent fantasy novel that has political intrigue and lots of drama! If you are looking for a book you cannot put down this is the book you need to get! Each character is unique and I`m already looking forward to the sequel for this series!

4.5/5

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3) by Sarah J. Maas

Title: A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Pages: 705
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, New Adult
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's/ Raincoast Books
Release Date: May 2, 2017
Buy: Amazon|Chapters Indigo|Kobo 
Rating: 5/5

Summary (Goodreads)
A nightmare, I’d told Tamlin. I was the nightmare.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit—and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords—and hunt for allies in unexpected places.



Review: 


I'm addicted to this series!! Sarah J. Maas is by far one of my favourite authors and I will read anything by her since I started reading her books. By far this lovely book was emotional, twisty, surprising, fantastic and overall amazing. I liked how we got to see more of the world building and the surrounding courts in this book because the way the book ends Sarah J. Maas can definitely do more with the story and characters.  There were also moments that I wanted to cry but in the end I was very happy with the end of the series and how the characters were left off.

While A Court of Mist and Fury left us with that amazing cliffhanger with Feyre entering back into the Spring Court. I definitely was Team Rhys by the end of that book and it did not change with this one. I still need more Rhys because he is so swoony + hot. Sarah J. Maas did an excellent job with the end with all her story lines that I was wishing there was more once I got to the last page. A Court of Wings and Ruin brought out more of Feyre's character and her relationship with Rhys. Feyre is an amazing character who has grown through the series. She is not perfect and will do anything to help her friends and family, especially Rhys' court and her sisters. At one point in the book I thought my heart was breaking in two. I even loved all the war scenes!

Overall, ACOWAR was perfect. Very excited that there is going to be more in the series!! Even though it was the end of Feyre's story and the world of Prythian. If you have already started this series you will definitely want to read this amazing book! You will also have a serious book hangover that I already want to re-read the series. Well worth the wait and all the tears!

5/5

Favourite quotes: 

“I would have waited five hundred more years for you. A thousand years. And if this was all the time we were allowed to have... the wait was worth it.”

“it is the family you make, not the one you are born into, that matters.”


Friday, June 23, 2017

Canada 150 Giveaway!

Hey everyone!! To celebrate Canada turning 150 this year I have decided to do a box giveaway!! There will be two boxes that you can enter: one for Adult and the other children and YA books. I'm so excited to share this giveaway as well as others to enjoy all that Canada has offered in its 150 years history.

Giveaway is open to USA/CAN

The prizes are....................................


Adult                                                                              YA/Kids







Adult Package:                                                                        YA/Kids Package:

Life is Better in Canada tote                                                  Canada Tote bag
Canada notebook                                                                   Canada notebook
Canada mug                                                                           Hexed by Michelle Krys
The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood                           With Malice by Eileen Cook
That Night by Chevy Stevens                                           Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill                                The Hockey Sweater by Roch Carrier
Until It Fades by K.A. Tucker                                           The Paper Bag Princess by Robert Munsch


How to Enter:

Once you enter through rafflecopter- in the comments please let me know which prize pack you are interested in and one thing you know about Canada!



a Rafflecopter giveaway



Monday, June 19, 2017

The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord

Title: The Names They Gave Us
Author: Emery Lord
Pages: 384
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult, Romance
Publisher: Bloomsbury/Raincoast Books
Release Date: May 16, 2017
Buy: Amazon|Chapters Indigo| Kobo
*ARC was provided by Raincoast Books for honest review*

Summary (Goodreads)
When it all falls apart, who can you believe in?

Everything is going right for Lucy Hansson, until her mom’s cancer reappears. Just like that, Lucy breaks with all the constants in her life: her do-good boyfriend, her steady faith, even her longtime summer church camp job.

Instead, Lucy lands at a camp for kids who have been through tough times. As a counselor, Lucy is in over her head and longs to be with her parents across the lake. But that’s before she gets to know her coworkers, who are as loving and unafraid as she so desperately wants to be.

It’s not just new friends that Lucy discovers at camp—more than one old secret is revealed along the way. In fact, maybe there’s much more to her family and her faith than Lucy ever realized.
 


Review: 

There are no words about how deep and moving The Names They Gave Us is. I connected with Lucy as a character who also had a parent who has dealt with cancer. It did really make you feel what she was feeling when you are reading the book. Emery Lord is an amazing writer who knows how to engage her readers and this is no different than her past books. She depicted each relationship that Lucy engaged in and made it more special. Also the importance of family. You will definitely want tissues after reading it.

I absolutely love this cover! It plays a key component in the book. Its eye catching! Lucy is the daughter of a Pastor and faith play a part in her life. But then her mother's cancer returns and now Lucy is on her own path. Even a pause relationship with her boyfriend. Eventually, she finds her own voice at a new camp her mother suggests and connecting with a diverse group. The romance between her and Henry was adorable from the beginning. I also loved the strong connection with her mother that it made you cry even more of what she is going through.

The Names They Gave Us is book to definitely pick up. Until the very last page I was emotional and I felt that it could've been more! Reading this book made my heart full and made me think of my father. Even through the smile and tears I was happy by the end. Emery Lord is definitely an auto-buy author for me so I will be anticipating her next book!

5/5

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: Kissing Max Holden by Katy Upperman

Title: Kissing Max Holden 
Author: Katy Upperman
Pages: 304
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Swoon Reads and Raincoast Books
Release Date: August 1, 2017

Summary (Goodreads) 

Kissing Max Holden was a terrible idea...

After his father has a life-altering stroke, Max Holden isn't himself. As his long-time friend, Jillian Eldridge only wants to help him, but she doesn't know how. When Max climbs through her window one night, Jill knows that she shouldn't let him kiss her. But she can't resist, and when they're caught in the act by her dad, Jill swears it'll never happen again. Because kissing Max Holden is a terrible idea.

With a new baby sibling on the way, her parents fighting all the time, and her dream of culinary school up in the air, Jill starts spending more and more time with Max. And even though her father disapproves and Max still has a girlfriend, not kissing Max is easier said than done. Will Jill follow her heart and allow their friendship to blossom into something more, or will she listen to her head and stop kissing Max Holden once and for all?

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air #1) by Holly Black

Title: The Cruel Prince
Author: Holly Black
Pages: 384
Genre: YA, Paranormal 
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers/Hatchette Book Group Canada
Release Date: January 2, 2018 

Summary (Goodreads
Of course I want to be like them. They’re beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever.

And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I hate him more than all the others. I hate him so much that sometimes when I look at him, I can hardly breathe.


Jude was seven years old when her parents were murdered and she and her two sisters were stolen away to live in the treacherous High Court of Faerie. Ten years later, Jude wants nothing more than to belong there, despite her mortality. But many of the fey despise humans. Especially Prince Cardan, the youngest and wickedest son of the High King.

To win a place at the Court, she must defy him–and face the consequences.

In doing so, she becomes embroiled in palace intrigues and deceptions, discovering her own capacity for bloodshed. But as civil war threatens to drown the Courts of Faerie in violence, Jude will need to risk her life in a dangerous alliance to save her sisters, and Faerie itself.


Sunday, May 28, 2017

Always and Forever, Lara Jean (To All The Boys I've Loved Before #3) by Jenny Han

Title: Always and Forever, Lara Jean (To All The Boys I've Loved Before #3)
Author: Jenny Han
Pages: 336
Genre: YA Contemporary/Romance
Publisher: Simon Schuster for Young Readers/Simon Schuster Canada
Release Date: May 2, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo 
*Received a finished copy to review from Simon Schuster Canada

Summary (Goodreads)
Lara Jean’s letter-writing days aren’t over in this surprise follow-up to the New York Times bestselling To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You.

Lara Jean is having the best senior year a girl could ever hope for. She is head over heels in love with her boyfriend, Peter; her dad’s finally getting remarried to their next door neighbor, Ms. Rothschild; and Margot’s coming home for the summer just in time for the wedding.

But change is looming on the horizon. And while Lara Jean is having fun and keeping busy helping plan her father’s wedding, she can’t ignore the big life decisions she has to make. Most pressingly, where she wants to go to college and what that means for her relationship with Peter. She watched her sister Margot go through these growing pains. Now Lara Jean’s the one who’ll be graduating high school and leaving for college and leaving her family—and possibly the boy she loves—behind.

When your heart and your head are saying two different things, which one should you listen to?
 


Review: 

I'm officially in love with all of Jenny Han's series! It had the perfect conclusion that will leave you smiling from head to toe. I read it so fast that I couldn't put it down and it took me less than 24 hours. When Jenny announced that there was to be a third book I was so excited because the ending to the second book left us wanting more. Lara Jean and Peter are an adorable couple! Just love them so much.

This series had family, sisters becoming closer, good pop culture references that will bring you back, Lara Jean and Peter preparing for college and the marriage of their father. I loved being back in their world. It was like any normal teenager waiting to be accepted into the university of their choice. For Lara Jean it was UVA. Peter already had an early scholarship to play lacrosse, so they had started to make plans together in hopes she gets accepted. But some things don't always go as planned.

To All The Boys I've Loved Before, series is a recommended series for all to read because its one of those books that you can connect with the main character and how she is going through emotionally. If you haven't picked out this series start them because you definitely want Peter as your book boyfriend! Jenny Han's writing is flawless like always and I'm looking forward to what she has next for us readers!

5/5 


Friday, May 19, 2017

Perfect Strangers by Megan Miranda Blog Tour


Title: The Perfect Stranger
Author: Megan Miranda
Pages: 337
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Fiction
Publisher: Simon Schuster/Simon Schuster Canada
Release Date: April 11, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo

Summary (Goodreads)
In the masterful follow-up to the runaway hit All the Missing Girls, a journalist sets out to find a missing friend, a friend who may never have existed at all.

Confronted by a restraining order and the threat of a lawsuit, failed journalist Leah Stevens needs to get out of Boston when she runs into an old friend, Emmy Grey, who has just left a troubled relationship. Emmy proposes they move to rural Pennsylvania, where Leah can get a teaching position and both women can start again. But their new start is threatened when a woman with an eerie resemblance to Leah is assaulted by the lake, and Emmy disappears days later.

Determined to find Emmy, Leah cooperates with Kyle Donovan, a handsome young police officer on the case. As they investigate her friend’s life for clues, Leah begins to wonder: did she ever really know Emmy at all? With no friends, family, or a digital footprint, the police begin to suspect that there is no Emmy Grey. Soon Leah’s credibility is at stake, and she is forced to revisit her past: the article that ruined her career. To save herself, Leah must uncover the truth about Emmy Grey—and along the way, confront her old demons, find out who she can really trust, and clear her own name.

Everyone in this rural Pennsylvanian town has something to hide—including Leah herself. How do you uncover the truth when you are busy hiding your own?


Review: 

This is the perfect suspense book if you have to pick up because Megan Miranda is a genius when it comes to mystery books! I definitely was drawn to it immediately because of her work with Young Adult books. You will get lost in the pages and the great plot that you will be trying to figure out who did it.

Leah works as a newspaper reporter and is forced to resign after getting threatened with a lawsuit. She then leaves Boston. She then sees an old friend in a bar who has recently was in a bad relationship and looking for a fresh start. So they both relocate to Pennsylvania. Leah is overall a complex character and though she is clever she can be obsessive and run to conclusions. Then we meet Kyle who is also a cop who forms a relationship with her. This book was so twisty that it has blown me away.

Megan Miranda did a great job with telling the story in first person (Leah) to tell us the story. Her writing style was easy to fly through the entire book (which means that I was hooked) and stay up all through the night. Perfect Stranger did not disappoint just like her previous book, All The Missing Girls which I will have to read now (my TBR list is long). This also includes the amount of details and transitions in her writing. I already can't wait to see what book is next by Megan!

Thank you Simon Schuster Canada for an ARC of this book in exchange for honest review!

4.5/5

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: Top Ten by Katie Cotugno

Title: Top Ten
Author: Katie Cotugno
Pages: 320
Genre: YA Contemporary
Publisher: Blazer + Bray
Release Date: October 3, 2017

Summary (Goodreads) 

Ryan McCullough and Gabby Hart are the unlikeliest of friends. Introverted, anxious Gabby would rather do literally anything than go to a party. Ryan is a star hockey player who can get any girl he wants—and does, frequently. But against all odds, they became not only friends, but each other’s favorite person. Now, as they face high school graduation, they can’t help but take a moment to reminisce and, in their signature tradition, make a top ten list—counting down the top ten moments of their friendship:

10. Where to begin? Maybe the night we met.
9. Then there was our awkward phase.
8. When you were in love with me but never told me…
7. Those five months we stopped talking were the hardest of my life.
6. Through terrible fights…
5. And emotional makeups.
4. You were there for me when I got my heart broken.
3. …but at times, you were also the one breaking it.
2. Above all, you helped me make sense of the world.
1. Now, as we head off to college—how am I possibly going to live without you?
 






Tuesday, April 25, 2017

The Dead List by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: The Dead List
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 316
Genre: YA Thriller
Release Date: April 25, 2017
*Received for review by the author*
Buy: Amazon|Kobo|

Summary (Goodreads)

It's Ella's senior year of high school and she and her best friend Linds plan to make it the best year ever. At Brock Cochran's end of summer pool party, the girls vow to have as much fun as possible before they head off to different colleges next fall. But when Ella is mysteriously attacked on her way home from the party, everything changes. Ella's carefree senior year plans disintegrate as she finds herself at the center of an attempted murder investigation.

Ella tries to move on, but her attacker isn't done yet. He shows himself in the form of horrifying signs and symbols: a clown mask strewn on her bed, a dead bird in her backpack, a shadow moving past her window in the night. And as the weeks pass, it turns out that Ella isn't the only one being tormented.

With the help of an old flame, Jensen Carver, and her friends and family, Ella tries to attain some sense of normalcy, but she can't seem to shake the feeling that there's a dark pattern hidden in the killer's every move. Suddenly, even those in her innermost circle seem suspicious. In her seemingly safe West Virginia town, Ella starts to wonder who she can trust.
 


Review: 

If you haven't read The Dead List yet, go buy it immediately!!! Jennifer definitely knows how to hook me into her books because of course I could not put this one down either! I did take my time with it to digest everything happening. This amazing thriller gave me shivers at some point because of the killer on the loose. Plus the romance is A+ !!

The romance between Ella and Jensen is adorable! I loved them together especially all the amazing things that Jensen says. No wonder why I love all of JLA's leading men because they are swoon-worthy. While we do know that Jensen doesn't date, he hooks up more, it looks like he was waiting for a good opportunity to open up with Ella and had no other interest in other girls. Yup, swoon!! I then knew I would love his character. I also liked Ella's character. She is a survivor after what she had to deal with and a fighter. Her other friends were also great because they were all loyal to each other.

Thank you Jen for letting me review your amazing books! I absolutely loved this one because it had a great romance that felt true from the beginning, mystery around the murderer. It added that extra element of surprise when you find out who the murderer was because you think of the one person then was thrown for a loop a bit when you find out who it really was. If you are a big fan of mystery and romance you will want to add this to your TBR list. It was fast paced and overall great read!

5/5

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Canada 150: Sign Ups

To celebrate Canada turning 150 this year, Stuck in YA Books invites bloggers and authors to be a part of the celebration. Proud to live in this beautiful country we call home I would like to say thank you to all for your great work! Bloggers would able to post why you are proud to be Canadian or would like to share a story, favourite Canadian authors. I would like to make it a fun event for both the authors and bloggers with also providing giveaways!

If you are interested in signing up here are the links!

Authors---> HERE


Bloggers---> HERE


Thanks so much for signing up!

Questions? You can email me at amandapedulla21@hotmail.com 

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: Fireblood (Frostblood Saga #2) by Elly Blake

Title: Fireblood (Frostblood #2) 
Author: Elly Blake 
Pages: 384
Genre: Fantasy, YA
Publisher: Hatchette Book Group Canada/Little Brown
Release Date: September 12, 2017

Summary (Goodreads) 

In this action-packed sequel to Frostblood, the future of Ruby's world and a court ruled by the love of her life depends on the uncovered secrets of her past..

Against all odds, Ruby has defeated the villainous Frost King and melted his throne of ice. But the bloodthirsty Minax that was trapped inside is now haunting her kingdom and everyone she loves. The answers to its demise may lie to the south in Sudesia, the land of the Firebloods, and a country that holds the secrets to Ruby's powers and past....

Despite warnings from her beloved Arcus, Ruby accompanies a roguish Fireblood named Kai to Sudesia, where she must master her control of fire in a series of trials to gain the trust of the suspicious Fireblood queen. Only then can she hope to access the knowledge that could defeat the rampaging Minax--which grows closer every moment. But as sparks fly in her moments alone with Kai, how can Ruby decide whom to trust? The fate of both kingdoms is now in her hands.

Friday, April 14, 2017




Writing Real Characters--How I Got to Know the Characters in Me (and) Me


You may have noticed when you’re in a café that there’s a person sitting there with headphones on, humming to themselves, and seemingly in deep conversation with their own thoughts.

See, I’m that person in the café, listening to quiet music, and having conversations with the people who live in my head. This is a weird confession, but my characters feel like real people already. Sometimes I even hear them chatting to me, or to each other. My job as a writer, it seems to me, is to make those characters real to my readers too.

I actually follow a series of steps, honed during writing five published novels (and many more unpublished ones). Below I’ve shared these steps with you, just in case any of you have characters chatting to you in your head too.

Step One: I search the Internet for a face who looks like the made-up person whispering to me. Here’s a picture of a guy who looks a bit like Alec (Alec is one of the main characters in Me (and) Me). This guy doesn’t look exactly like Alec, but he’s close enough to give me someone to look at when I need to write visual descriptions.

 (Picture is not uploading) 

Step Two: I interview my characters, using this interview from my website. There are lots of other writing workshops on there for those of you who love to write.

Step Three: I spend some time researching the things my character loves. Lark is the protagonist of Me (and) Me. She’s a singer-songwriter. I didn’t know much about that so I had to interview real singer-songwriters to get a sense of what that life might be like. I needed to flesh out what Lark would know about singing and writing songs. I also read a lot of books about writing songs, and listened to tons of great bands.

Alec loves parkour. I spent time with the parkour community in Saskatoon, where I live, watching them and asking questions. I tried a few moves (I am NOT good at parkour), and sought out YouTube videos of people doing parkour and free-climbing to root Alec’s passion in reality.

Step Four: I listen to people all the time. I make notes about dialogue I’ve overheard. This helps me think about how characters sound. Then, when I’ve written a draft, I read the dialogue aloud over and over again—I need to make sure the words I’m using echo the person speaking in my head. I need them to sound as real to you as they do to me.

Step Five: I let go. I write the characters as best I can, and then I trust that my reader is smart and has their own imagination. They can take the details I’ve shared and make the characters whomever they want them to be. I want my readers to have their own relationships with my characters and the only way for that to happen is for me to keep MOST of what I know about my characters to myself. I have to choose which bits to share to serve my story and then keep the rest in my head, knowing that I’ve done my best to make those people lurking in my mind as vivid and real as I can.

If you feel inspired to do some writing, come and find me on Instagram where I share image writing prompts regularly.

Thanks so much for having me on your great site. I really appreciate it!




Bestselling, award winning author Alice Kuipers has published four award-winning YA novels internationally, most recently, The Death of Us, a CLA shortlisted title. Her two picture books feature twins Violet and Victor and she has an upcoming chapter books series with Chronicle Press. Me (and) Me, her fifth YA novel, is described by Bif Naked as mesmerising.
Alice has four children.
Find her writing tips here: www.alicekuipers.com




ORDER NOW:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...