Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Down To You (Bad Boys #1) by M. Leighton

Title: Down To You (Bad Boys #1)
Author: M. Leighton
E-book: Kindle
Release Date: September 23, 2012
Publisher: Penguin Group  
Read: September 2012
Genre: Romance

Buy: Chapters Indigo |Amazon| Kobo

Summary (Goodreads) 

The scorching tale of one girl, two brothers and a love triangle…that’s not.

Olivia Townsend is nothing special. She’s just a girl working her way through college so she can return home to help her father run his business. She’s determined not to be the second woman in his life to abandon him, even if it means putting her own life on hold. To Olivia, it’s clear what she must do. Plain and simple. Black and white.

But clear becomes complicated when she meets Cash and Nash Davenport. They’re brothers. Twins.
Cash is everything she’s always wanted in a guy. He’s a dangerous, sexy bad boy who wants her in his bed at any cost. He turns her insides to mush and, with just one kiss, makes her forget why he’s no good for her.

Nash is everything she’s ever needed in a guy. He’s successful, responsible and intensely passionate. But he’s taken. Very taken, by none other than Marissa, Liv’s rich, beautiful cousin. That doesn’t stop Olivia from melting every time he looks at her, though. With just one touch, he makes her forget why they can never be together.

Black and white turns to shades of gray when Olivia discovers the boys are hiding something, something that should make her run as far and as fast as she can. But it’s too late to run. Olivia’s already involved. And in love. With both of them.

Both brothers make her heart tremble. Both brothers set her body on fire.

She wants them both.

And they want her.

How will she ever choose between them?


Review: 

 I want the next book!! Down to You was an amazing read and it was full of mixed emotions, lies, lust and love all bundled into one!! This is my first book I read by Michelle and she did not disappoint. I loved all the characters and romance that Cash swept me off my feet as well! IT WAS HOT!!! It was so full of action, romance and I loved how the story gave an open view of what was happening. This series is one book that you cannot put down! 

From the beginning of reading it I knew I was going to either fall for Cash or Nash because they almost have the same personality and at the same time they were such bad boys. Olivia was a great lead character, she is funny, determined to win the man, sweet and also can pick the right man. Cash is sexy and sweet and all around bad boy because he is also has a successful business. Nash is the total opposite of Cash, he is clean and proper, responsible and he is becoming a lawyer. These characters were definitely funny and have so many secrets that it shocked me at what happened at the end. 

The entire plot was just incredible and I could not wait to read this book! I could read all of M.Leighton's books because she has great writing that can hook people. I love romance novels with a good twist and this book did not disappoint! Leighton is creative and in this book these ideas made me love her writing. This book was jaw-dropping fantastic, and it will take you on a HOT ride. 

5/5

Saturday, April 27, 2013

Stacking the Shelves (48)


Sorry I haven't been posting much this week! It was a busy week with working, first communions, and lovely dentist appointments and me trying to write reviews/reading. I am going to be writing more reviews hopefully this week! Thank you for all your patience!! 

*- Read

Review:

The Forever of Ella and Micha (The Secret #2) by Jessica Sorensen *Just finished and it was amazing!!*

Bought:

The Girl of Fire and Thorns (Fire and Thorns #1) by Rae Carson *Read*
The Crowns of Embers (Fire and Thorns #2) by Rae Carson
Crush (Crash #3) by Nicole Williams *Read*
This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith *READ*
Suddenly Royal by Nichole Chase *READ*

Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday (79) The Forever of Ella and Micha

Title: The Forever of Ella and Micha
Author: Jessica Sorensen
Pages: 336
Publisher: Forever
Release Date: May 28, 2013 (e-book)

Summary: 

Ella and Micha have survived tragedy and heartbreak. When they're together, anything seems possible. But now they are thousands of miles apart, and managing their long distance relationship will put their love to the test.

Ella is back at school, trying hard not worry so much about her future. But with her father in and out of rehab, she's having a hard time making it through the days. All she wants is Micha by her side, but she refuses to let her problems get in the way of his dreams.

Micha spends his days touring the country with his band, but deep down he knows something is missing. Being away from Ella is harder than he thought it would be. He wants her closer to him-needs her with him. But he won't ask her to leave college, just to be with him.

The few moments they do spend together are intense and passionate, but it only makes it more difficult when they have to part. They know they want to be together, but is wanting something enough to get them to their forever?

Saturday, April 20, 2013

Stacking the Shelves (47)




Review/Won:

Life's A Witch (Life's A Witch #2) by

















Friday, April 19, 2013

Cover Reveal: This is Forever by S.A. Price



Did it get you curious? Winter is the very sexy bassist for the band 13 Shades of Red, and his book, THIS IS FOREVER will be releasing December 2013. Wanna see the cover?
Now isn’t that just sexy? From now till December if you check out some of your favorite blogs that are rocking the mini graphic on the side column, we will be giving some teasers, excerpts and interviews about the book, on the 10th of the month.
Believe me; it really is going to be a Long Hard Winter. *wink*
And now… for a sexy sneak peek at THIS IS FOREVER…
Seeing Lola after eight months was a fucking kick in the teeth. She had changed her hair, it was purple with black streaks, and she was wearing one fucker of an outfit. Platform Mary Jane’s, her signature, purple torn fishnet thigh highs with garters that ended in bows with skulls on them, micro mini in black satin with a lace trim. She had tripled up on her belts, her little baby tee molding to her torso like a second skin. It was razor cut in places, showing skin and the purple of her lace bra. Her arms warmers were knitted with little skulls on them. He was pretty sure she wasn’t wearing underwear also, the girl just loved to shock. Dare he think it was for his benefit? He wasn’t sure he even saw her, thinking he was dreaming the perfection before him.
But dreams don’t blow you off… at least his didn’t. His dreams, her especially, blew him. When dreams blew you off, those were called nightmares, and those sucked. Sucked like life was sucking right now. She had walked in with the rest of her band, greeted everyone but him, her gaze lingering a little too long on Colin, Rhys’ little brother, but then moved on as she kissed cheeks and hugged people.
 He had to adjust his groin, discreetly of course, when she and Saffron hugged and snuggled. Apparently over the past several months Saffron and Lola had become quite the BFF, with Lola staying at Saffron’s place in New York when she had to go in for several shoots and meetings with her record company. Rhys had teased him about getting face timed and seeing both of them in little booty shorts and white tank tops… but he didn’t think they were that close.
And worse, he didn’t think seeing her all snuggly with Saffron would illicit the images rolling through his head. Not that Saffron wasn’t hot, but he just didn’t dig his best friend’s girl like that.  He grabbed a tootsie pop and unwrapped it, sticking the thick ball into his mouth. He watched her move from person to person, but never to him.
What. The. Fuck.
When everyone sat down, she sat at the other end, didn’t even bother to look at him. He went through dinner in a blur, his anger getting to him more and more. What the fuck was going on? He was beginning to feel like he was invisible. Maybe it was a nightmare?
When she got up and went to the bathroom, he followed, after exchanging a meaningful look with Rhys.
“So you’re just not going to say anything to me?” he said as he caught her coming out of the bathroom.
She looked at him and then sighed. “I didn’t want a public thing to happen.”
Public thing?
He cocked his head and scowled. “And what the fuck does that mean?”
She looked him up and down. “I don’t know if I’m ready to say hi like I want to.”
Winter rolled his eyes. “So you can wrap yourself around Saffron, eye Colin up like he’s a steak, which by the way he’s not even eighteen yet, eww,” he ticked off on his fingers, “Yet you can’t even just turn and wave at me?”
Lola shook her head. “It’s not what I wanted. And Colin is going to be very popular…”
“You just didn’t wanna talk to me at all?” he asked, thoroughly confused. She was the one that pushed for the tour, and by all accounts she didn’t have issue with their past. It was what gave him hope.
She moved closer and shook her head. “That’s not it.”
“Then what’s it?” he bit out, his hands clenched at his sides. Gods, only she could infuriate him like this. Fuck she smelled good. All honey and warm clover… no one smelled like Lola.
Her voice lowered. “Do you like my outfit Winter?”
He growled. Fuck yes he liked her outfit. Loved. Wanted it crumpled on the floor of his bedroom. Wanted to peel it from her slowly, kissing every inch of skin he exposed.
She reached for him, her fingers tugging him closer by the belt loops of his jeans. “Good. You’re supposed to. You don’t get anything from me Winter Tulane. No greeting, no, little wave, no explanation. Eat your heart out baby.”
She got closer, her lips just against his, a slight almost imperceptible move of the hoop through the middle of his lip and then she was gone, back towards the party, her ass shaking with a sashay that had blood rushing from every place in his body to his cock. Fuck. What the hell was going on?
“Hey Lo,” he called after her. She gave him the finger and kept walking.
Game on. Game fucking on, he thought as he followed her back into the room. Confusion didn’t even convey how he was feeling about what happened, but holy fuck the signals she was throwing off were so convoluted he didn’t know if he should fist pump for getting her so close to him or brood over her words.


LIKE? Add it to your TBR pile
on
GOODREADS: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17672271-this-is-forever
Books before this: Giving Up the Ghost (#1):
You Burn Me(Prequel/ Bridge book):

Wanna Win something awesome? Well easy peasy!

Add THIS IS FOREVER to your TBR pile on goodreads and you will be entered to win:
A Merch Package: t-shirt, Poster, Pin, Card, Door hanger, tote bag, and Keychain, a 25$ GC to Amazon.com, a Print copy of Giving Up the Ghost with a special short story from Saffron’s past and a Print copy of You Burn Me. Book MUST be ADDED between April 19 and April May 1st. Winner will Be announced on May 4th!

Thursday, April 18, 2013

Apollyon (Covenant #4) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Apollyon (Covenant #4)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 360
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Release Date: April 9, 2013
Genre: Young Adult
Source: SHP for Review

Buy: AmazonCA|Amazon| Book Depository|Kindle

Summary (Goodreads)

Fate isn’t something to mess with… and now, neither is Alex.

Alex has always feared two things: losing herself in the Awakening and being placed on the Elixir. But love has always been stronger than Fate, and Aiden St. Delphi is willing to make war on the gods—and Alex herself—to bring her back.

The gods have killed thousands and could destroy entire cities in their quest to stop Seth from taking Alex’s power and becoming the all-powerful God Killer. But breaking Alex’s connection to Seth isn’t the only problem. There are a few pesky little loopholes in the whole “an Apollyon can’t be killed” theory, and the only person who might know how to stop the destruction has been dead for centuries.

Finding their way past the barriers that guard the Underworld, searching for one soul among countless millions, and then somehow returning will be hard enough. Alex might be able to keep Seth from becoming the God Killer… or she might become the God Killer herself.


Review:  

I absolutely loved Apollyon from beginning to end! Jennifer L. Armentrout has done it again in capturing this series and make it addicting to readers! This is by far the best book in the Covenant series!! Alex and Aiden were adorable and I was really excited to see their relationship grow more passionately. Through it all I did cry during some parts with characters that were brought back to the scene. Apollo will always be Apollo when it comes to popping up in awkward situations. This was way better than Deity!!

Apollyon is by far my favorite in the series.  Seeing these characters from the beginning makes me think that it will be sad to see them go in the final book. Alex in the beginning was like a person hypnotized during her awakening and devotion to Seth, but it was a little entertaining with her thoughts of what was going on around her.  Aiden St. Delphi is one HOT man because throughout the entire novel I wanted to kiss him! There was so much romance, drama, fighting scenes that I could not put this book down! I am so glad that Jen writes fast because her writing is like a drug and us readers are the addicts.

 I also liked how Jen incorporated some Daemon Black in the story because it was LOL. There was a little amount of Seth but he still is a main character who plays a major role near the end of the entire series. The scenes with Alex and Aiden were my favorite, I have been routing for these two from Half-Blood, and to see there relationship bloom even more was the best part of the book because their love will conquer evil. Aiden is still over protective of Alex and he sees something in Alex that nobody else sees, and like any other couple they fight and also make up:) He would do anything for her which makes me love him more for his passion to love and protect his one agapi mou. 

Apollyon is one book you need to buy immediately because with its action, laughs and steamy moments, those feelings while reading where ones that were pure love for the Apollyon series. Alez really grows up and we see some very important and unexpected Gods that have come to create havoc on Alex's pending "connection with Seth". The store was very entertaining and progessed well. It left with a mini cliffhanger which was an O_O moment because it will lead to the final book. sad :( Thank you  Jennifer L. Armentrout for being an awesome author!! I look forward to the next book!!

Teaser: 
"Stretching up, I placed my lips to Aiden’s, but the kiss turned out more chaste than the hot and steamy action I was going for. His arm tightened, though, and a fine tremor coursed through his body as if he was fighting the pull between us."

Armentrout, Jennifer L.  Apollyon (Covenant)

Wednesday, April 17, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday (78) Distance Between Us by Kasie West

Title: The Distance Between Us
Author: Kasie West
Pages: 320
Publisher: Harper Teen/HarperCollins Canada
Release Date: July 2, 2013

Summary:

Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers studies the rich like her own personal science experiment, and after years of observation she’s pretty sure they’re only good for one thing—spending money on useless stuff, like the porcelain dolls in her mother’s shop.

So when Xander Spence walks into the store to pick up a doll for his grandmother, it only takes one glance for Caymen to figure out he’s oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and that he’s one of the first people who actually gets her, she’s smart enough to know his interest won’t last. Because if there’s one thing she’s learned from her mother’s warnings, it’s that the rich have a short attention span. But Xander keeps coming around, despite her best efforts to scare him off. And much to her dismay, she's beginning to enjoy his company.

She knows her mom can’t find out—she wouldn’t approve. She’d much rather Caymen hang out with the local rocker who hasn’t been raised by money. But just when Xander’s attention and loyalty are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn’t a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she’d ever realized. And that Xander’s not the only one she should’ve been worried about.


Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Cover Reveal: Trophy Husband by Lauren Blakely

 
BOOK AND AUTHOR INFO:

Trophy Husband  by Lauren Blakely
Publication date: May 21st 2013
Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance (the author describes it as mid-20s Sex and the City vibe)

Synopsis:
Sometimes you can't help falling in love, even when you try to do the opposite...Successful fashion blogger McKenna Bell has spent far too long protecting herself after the way her ex-fiancĂ© left her at the altar for a college chick he met the night of his bachelor party. Loving again, trusting again, well, that's just not in the cards. Especially now that her ex is back in town with his new woman, demanding custody of McKenna's favorite creature in the whole world--her dog. No effing way. McKenna's had enough of him, and she decides to even the score by finding her own hot young thing -- a Trophy Husband. Sure, she's only twenty-seven, but doesn't that make it even more fun -- and infuriating to her ex -- to pursue a younger man? When she declares her intentions on her daily blog, her quest quickly skyrockets in popularity, and that's when Chris enters the picture, and he’s got all the assets. He's handsome, successful, and turns her inside out with a kiss to end all kisses, the kind that makes you feel like a shooting star. But loving again could mean losing again, and it's so much easier to focus on getting even, isn't it? Unless, you just can't help falling in love. Which means McKenna will have to come face to face with what she really wants in life -- protecting her heart from hurt, or letting go of her fears of a new beginning.



AUTHOR BIO (no author picture)
Lauren Blakely is an unabashed fan of clever jokes, toast, and good guys in novels. Like the heroine in CAUGHT UP IN US, she thinks life should be filled with movie kisses and coffee drinks. Lauren lives in California with her husband and children, and spends her days writing both true stories and make-believe ones.

Author links:


Saturday, April 13, 2013

Stacking the Shelves (46) The One With All the Review Copies



Bought: 

Flawed by Kate Avelynn *read*
What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen 
Review:

The Bitter Kingdom (Fire and Thorns #3) by Rae Carson
The Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White
The Burning Sky (The Elemental Trilogy #1) by Sherry Thomas
No Angel by Helen Keeble
Don't Look Now (Persefone #2) by Michelle Gagnon
Not A Drop To Drink by Mindy McGinnis 

*Thank You HarperCollins and Edelweiss 

All I Need by Susane Colasanti
Proxy (Proxy #1) by Alex London
Flicker and Burn (Cold Fury #2) by T.M. Goeglein
The Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Robin Palmer
Imposter (Variants #1) by Susanne Winnacker
Belladonna (Secrets of the Eternal Rose #2) by Fiona Paul
Phoenix (Black City #2) by Elizabeth Richards
Five Summers by Una LaMarche
Our Song by Jordanna Fraiberg


*Thank You Penguin Young Readers and Netgalley *

True by Erin McCarthy - thank you Intermix
The Testing (The Testing #1) Joelle Charbonneau - HMH Childrens
Canary by Rachele Alpine  *Thank you Rachele and Medallion Press*

Thursday, April 11, 2013

Cover Reveal: One Tiny Lie by K.A. Tucker

 
ABOUT ONE TINY LIE:


Livie has always been the stable one of the two Cleary sisters, handling her parents' tragic death and Kacey's self-destructive phase with strength and maturity. But underneath that exterior is a little girl hanging onto the last words her father ever spoke to her. “Make me proud,” he had said. She promised she would...and she’s done her best over the past seven years with every choice, with every word, with every action.

Livie walks into Princeton with a solid plan, and she’s dead set on delivering on it: Rock her classes, set herself up for medical school, and meet a good, respectable guy that she’s going to someday marry. What isn’t part of her plan are Jell-O shots, a lovable, party animal roommate she can’t say ‘no’ to, and Ashton, the gorgeous captain of the men’s rowing team. Definitely him. He’s an arrogant ass who makes Livie’s usually non-existent temper flare and everything she doesn’t want in a guy. Worse, he’s best friends and roommates with Connor, who happens to fits Livie’s criteria perfectly. So why does she keep thinking about Ashton?

As Livie finds herself facing mediocre grades, career aspirations she no longer thinks she can handle, and feelings for Ashton that she shouldn’t have, she’s forced to let go of her last promise to her father and, with it, the only identity that she knows.




                                                               ABOUT K.A. TUCKER:

Born in small-town Ontario, Kathleen published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader and the farthest thing from a genre-snob, loving everything from High Fantasy to Chick Lit. Kathleen currently resides in a quaint small town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.


LINKS:



Wednesday, April 10, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday (77) Revelations by J.A. Souders

Title: Revelations (The Elysium Chronicles #2)
Author: J.A. Souders
Pages: 320
Publisher: Tor Teen
Release Date: November 5, 2013

Summary: 

The follow-up to J. A. Souders’s riveting SF psychological thriller for teens, Renegade

Six weeks ago, Evelyn Winters was locked away in Elysium, a city hidden miles beneath the sea, brainwashed into submission. With the help of Gavin, she fought free of her captors and the fog in her own mind. He took her back with him to the Surface, a world she's never known. Now she will begin a new life.

But her past is closer than she thinks...


Tuesday, April 9, 2013

Second Chance Boyfriend by Monica Murphy- Book Launch

SECOND CHANCE BOYFRIEND Synopsis:


Lost. That one single word best describes my life at this very moment. I lost the last games of the season and both my team and my coach blame me. I lost the last two months because I drowned in my own despair like a complete loser. And I lost the only girl who ever mattered because I was afraid being with me would destroy her.

But now I realize how truly lost I am without her. She has become my story…and even though she acts like she’s moved on, I know she still thinks about me just as much as I think about her. She’s beautiful, sweet—and so damn vulnerable, all I want to do is help her. Be there for her. Love her…

If only I could convince Fable to give me a second chance. Then I wouldn’t feel so lost anymore, and neither would she. We could be found together.

Forever.


SECOND CHANCE BOYFRIEND Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17316075-second-chance-boyfriend?ac=1

Author Bio:

Monica Murphy writes books with boys and kissing in them. She also likes to read books with boys and kissing in them. Writer of new adult contemporary romance-ish stuff. Mom and wife. Native Californian.

Rafflecopter Embed Code:below





Links:







Sunday, April 7, 2013

The Collector (Dante Walker #1) Blog Tour/Review



Welcome to my stop on the ‘2013 Belongs to Dante’ blog event hosted by YA Bound.  Click HERE to see the rest of the blog tour schedule!


The Collector (Dante Walker #1)
From Entangled Teen
Release Date: April 2nd, 2013
Paperback/e-book
400 pages

Summary from Goodreads:
Dante Walker is flippin’ awesome, and he knows it. His good looks, killer charm, and stellar confidence has made him one of hell’s best—a soul collector. His job is simple, weed through humanity and label those round rears with a big, red good or bad stamp. Old Saint Nick gets the good guys, and he gets the fun ones. Bag-and-tag.

Sealing souls is nothing personal. Dante’s an equal opportunity collector and doesn’t want it any other way. But he’ll have to adjust, because Boss Man has given him a new assignment:

Collect Charlie Cooper’s soul within 10 days.

Dante doesn’t know why Boss Man wants Charlie, nor does he care. This assignment means only one thing to him, and that’s a permanent ticket out of hell. But after Dante meets the quirky, Nerd Alert chick he’s come to collect—he realizes this assignment will test his abilities as a collector, and uncover emotions deeply buried.


Add The Liberator to your Goodreads shelf:

About the Author
Inline image 1
I'm a YA writer represented by Laurie McLean. Author of THE COLLECTOR (Entangled Teen, April 2013) and THE BRIMSTONE BLEED (Scholastic, 2014). I have a master's degree in marketing, and live in Dallas with my husband. When not writing, I can be found munching cotton candy and snuggling obese cats.


Links:



***Giveaway Code***

Review: 

What an Amazing Read!!! I am now officially a fan of Dante because his character was funny, he is a hot character. This is a young adult paranormal romance series that follows, Dante who is a Collector who works for the Big Boss downstairs. Everyone who knows Dante is the main man to collect souls. In the first book in the series, Dante's assignment to to collect the soul of Charlie Cooper, who is a dorky teenage girl, who quickly means something more to Dante. I loved the connection between the characters because while he realizes that he can redeem himself and fall in love with his assignment, or he can go against the Boss Man and change his life forever. 

I was hooked from the beginning from his witty comments of his job to him trying to win Charlie over to make sins. The writing was amazing and Dante can really tell a story. He is the bad boy main character who is gorgeous and funny. I loved his attitude problem to him being the hottest guy on earth. He then changes when he meets innocent and sweet Charlie. I would say Charlie really gives Dante a run for him money when he tries to get her to drink and go to parties which aren't her scene. With Dante's help he give her a new look and makes her feel better about who she is. Underneath all that exterior he does see the good in himself and also encourages him to face his own personal problems before he died.  Dante is definitely funny and I did also like the references that Victoria put into the story of Las Vegas to the biblical references of a bar! 

5/5
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...