Friday, August 31, 2012

Something Like Normal by Trish Dollar

Title: Something Like Normal
Author: Trish Dollar
Pages: 214
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Release Date: June 19, 2012


Summary (Goodreads)

When Travis returns home from a stint in Afghanistan, his parents are splitting up, his brother’s stolen his girlfriend and his car, and he’s haunted by nightmares of his best friend’s death. It’s not until Travis runs into Harper, a girl he’s had a rocky relationship with since middle school, that life actually starts looking up. And as he and Harper see more of each other, he begins to pick his way through the minefield of family problems and post-traumatic stress to the possibility of a life that might resemble normal again. Travis’s dry sense of humor, and incredible sense of honor, make him an irresistible and eminently lovable hero.

Review:  

This book was soo amazing!! I loved it all!! Trish Dollar is a great writer who knows how to write a brilliant story of how Travis is trying to be normal from Afghanistan. There was a perfect balance of romance with Harper because she is such an important character for Travis to hold on to despite their rocky relationship. Something Like Normal has everything from emotional, love, anger, sorrow and anticipation for tomorrow. I like reading from a male voice because its a different perspective, which I dont see too much of. 


Travis is a great character to get to know because he goes through so much when he returns from the Marines. His voice is real, and he makes mistakes as well as learns from his mistakes, and once I finished reading he became my hero for all he does as a Marine as well near the end of the book. Family was a major issue that Travis faced when he got home with tension with his father, brother and even mother as you can feel the tension taking place. Travis is one of those characters that will bring you to tears with all his war stories and all the people he meets there. 

The romance had the perfect amount of chemistry between Travis and Harper was adorable. I love the story between them and how well they connected. I would call it opposites attract since she hated him in the beginning but they both fall in love with each other that makes them a great couple. There are some ups and downs in their relationship but Harper is a great girl who would stick by her man. Some of their scenes could bring you to tears but by the ending you will be giddy with joy with how Trish Dollar ended as you fall in love with Trish's characters. 


Be sure to definitely pick up this book because its AMAZING and its one of my favorite books of 2012. So much emotion, romance and Trish's amazing writing which is addictive! Its a great read that makes you think how life can change with one decision. Travis is a likeable character and is unique. I am really excited to see what she comes up next in her next book! 

5/5

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (53) Mind Games by Kiersten White

Title: Mind Games (Mind Games #1) 
Author: Kiersten White
Pages: 256
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: February 19, 2013

Summary: 

Fia was born with flawless instincts. Her first impulse, her gut feeling, is always exactly right. Her sister, Annie, is blind to the world around her—except when her mind is gripped by strange visions of the future.
Trapped in a school that uses girls with extraordinary powers as tools for corporate espionage, Annie and Fia are forced to choose over and over between using their abilities in twisted, unthinkable ways… or risking each other’s lives by refusing to obey.

In a stunning departure from her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy, Kiersten White delivers a slick, edgy, heartstoppingly intense psychological thriller about two sisters determined to protect each other—no matter the cost


If I Lie by Corrine Jackson

Title: If I Lie
Author: Corrine Jackson
Pages: 276
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Release Date: August 28, 2012

Summary (Goodreads

A powerful debut novel about the gray space between truth and perception.

Quinn’s done the unthinkable: she kissed a guy who is not Carey, her boyfriend. And she got caught. Being branded a cheater would be bad enough, but Quinn is deemed a traitor, and shunned by all of her friends. Because Carey’s not just any guy—he’s serving in Afghanistan and revered by everyone in their small, military town.

Quinn could clear her name, but that would mean revealing secrets that she’s vowed to keep—secrets that aren’t hers to share. And when Carey goes MIA, Quinn must decide how far she’ll go to protect her boyfriend…and her promise.

* Got to read at Pulse It (Imprint of Simon & Schuster) *

Review:  


I have never had so much emotion during a book than reading this one! I felt like crying during some of the book because of what Quinn has to go through. It has to be one of my favorite contemporaries because it was beautifully written. From the first page I was addicted and I had to read what will happen next. I did like how Corrine Jackson made the novel very focused on the topic of Marines fighting in the war, which is a different take in YA but it now making an appearance which is good to read about how relationships are during that time when the boys go on tour. It covers so much and it will give you a perspective of torn families, the army and even friendship. 

The novel begins with a scandal about our main character Sophie Topher Quinn who was caught kissing a guy other than her perfect boyfriend Carey. This is not a good thing in a small town where everyone talks. Mostly everyone in the town is part of the army and when Carey goes missing she is still not able to talk to Carey's family, her friends, when the real truth is that Quinn did not cheat on Carey. With all the blame towards her she still would not reveal Carey's news before he left and, this news would break him apart. The entire novel was intense and heart breaking. I fell in love with each of the characters as I began reading more about their story. Corinne painted the picture for this novel and she succeed with grabbing my attention. 

George was definitely one of my favorite characters because he is the one that does help Quinn become the person she is by the end of the novel. George is soo funny, and he makes the story have a tole model who helps Quinn through all her problems. He is a elderly Veteran of the War at the VA Medical Center where Quinn helps/volunteers which is another thing that holds her together through school. Quinn is stubborn for admitting the truth. She is in a self-less in love with her best friend for Carey. It was moving to see how Quinn was feeling. Her dad pretends to ignore her because of the scandal, Quinn life is like any family: Dysfunctional. I was very sad for her at some parts as well as happy that she is able to stay strong for herself while people were bullying her. 

The characters were realistic and understandable which many teens can relate to. The romance had very little, but that is not the main subject from what the real story takes place and Sophie's relationships are on rocky grounds. This also includes her parents which many children/teens would go through if your father and mother were always fighting. Her father and mother were another story that grew. 

This books is definitely one book people should pick up because so many people can relate to Quinn's position. This story will bring you to tears, and make you fall in love with her story as she tries to come to terms with relationships, family, and finding who she is. It will be unforgettable once you read this amazing read! 


5/5

Monday, August 27, 2012

Cover Reveal: Naturals (The Lost Souls #2) by Tiffany Truitt

 Title: Naturals (The Lost Souls #2) 
Author: Tiffany Truitt
Pages: 352
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Release Date: April 9, 2013

Summary: (GOODREADS)
 Tess is finally safe from the reach of the Council, now that she is living in the Middlelands with the rebel Isolationists. With James having returned to Templeton, she easily falls back into her friendship with Henry, though her newfound knowledge of Robert’s chosen one status still stings. Even surrounded by people, Tess has never felt more alone. So she’s thrilled when James returns to the settlement, demanding to see Tess — until she finds out that it’s because her sister, Louisa, has been recruited into Tess’s old position at Templeton, and that the dangerously sadistic chosen one George has taken an interest in her.

NATURALS is the second book in The Lost Souls trilogy, and follows the dystopian hit CHOSEN ONES.


About Tiffany:  Tiffany Truitt was born in Peoria, Illinois. A self-proclaimed Navy brat, Tiffany spent most of her childhood living in Virginia, but don’t call her a Southerner. She also spent a few years living in Cuba. Since her time on the island of  one McDonald's and Banana Rats (don't ask) she has been obsessed with traveling. Tiffany recently added China to her list of travels (hello inspiration for a new book).

Besides traveling, Tiffany has always been an avid reader. The earliest books she remembers reading belong to The Little House on the Prairie Series. First book she read in one day? Little Woman(5th grade). First author she fell in love with? Jane Austen in middle school. Tiffany spent most of her high school and college career as a literary snob. She refused to read anything considered “low brow” or outside the “classics.”
Tiffany began teaching middle school in 2006. Her students introduced her to the wide, wonderful world of Young Adult literature. Today, Tiffany embraces popular Young Adult literature and uses it in her classroom. She currently teaches the following novels: The OutsidersSpeakNight, Dystopian Literature Circles: The Hunger GamesThe GiverThe Uglies, and Matched.
Tiffany's website:  http://tiffanytruitt.wordpress.com/  
Tiffany on Twitter: https://twitter.com/tiffanytruitt

Sunday, August 26, 2012

Inbetween by Tara Fuller Blog Tour




Blurb
Since the car crash that took her father’s life two years ago, Emma’s life has been a freaky—and unending—lesson in caution. Surviving “accidents” has taken priority over being a normal seventeen-year-old, so Emma spends her days taking pictures of life instead of living it. Falling in love with a boy was never part of the plan. Falling for a reaper who makes her chest ache and her head spin? Not an option. 

It’s not easy being dead especially for a reaper in love with a girl fate has put on his list not once, but twice. Finn’s fellow reapers give him hell about spending time with Emma, but Finn couldn’t let her die before, and he’s not about to let her die now. He will protect the girl he loves from the evil he accidentally unleashed, even if it means sacrificing the only thing he has left...his soul.
Release date: August 28, 2012

Author Bio (Spotlight)

Tara Fuller writes novels; some about grim reapers and some about witches. All of course are delightfully full of teen angst and kissing. Tara grew up in a one stop light town in Oklahoma where once upon a time she stayed up with a flash light reading RL Stine novels and only dreamed of becoming a writer. She has a slight obsession with music and a shameless addiction for zombie fiction, Mystery Science Theater, and black and white mochas. Tara no longer lives in a one stop light town. Now she lives with her family in a slightly larger town in North Carolina where they have at least three stoplights.

*Received for review by Entangled Publishing* 

Sneak Peek!

"This was never going to get easier. Two years of watching her through the invisible barrier of Balthazar’s rules was really starting to suck. Especially when every time I blinked, another piece of Allison was breaking through the surface." (page 14) 

Review: 

As I have previously said Entangled has done it again with this amazing release of Tara Fuller's novel Inbetween because it was amazing!! I loved the chemistry between Finn and Emma!! I found it to be funny and an overall fun read! Its a addicting book that you will be breezing through the pages. It has a lot of information which I would have to re-read a second time because of how fast it was going.

 The story is set in our world, as well as in a parallel to this world called the Inbetween (the place between Heaven and Hell) normally where spirits hang in the balance, and it was really great to see the characters in this place. I really liked the dual personality since I do like the male POVs because they do provide insight of what Emma and Finn are thinking. Their connection is strong and after an encounter they have the bond between them after Emma leaves for father which reminds Finn of his life. Finn is a reaper, and it also brings Emma harm because of what he does once he finds out who Emma is.

I think the characters were developed nicely and as I was reading you find that Emma is like the damsel in distress. Emma's character is sneak, always discovering some things that Finn is hiding from her, she was funny, but the action or attempts on Emma was really picking up which made the book even better!

I love a good romance and cute but in reality there cannot be a romance for Emma and Finn :( because he is a reaper who is not able to develop feelings for Emma. Finn's friends Easton of Hells and Anaya (Heaven) convince him that its a waste of time and pain. He would do anything to be with Emma.

I really enjoyed the read because its a different topic that is not normally found in books, but it was really a great read which is definitely one I would recommend! If you are a big fan of Entangled books this one is for you!! Its gives insight to ghosts, reapers, heaven, and hell. Since this is a series I will for sure pick up the next one!! 

GIVEAWAY!! 


Stacking the Shelves (16) Variety Edition

Review:

Amarok by Angela J. Townsend 
Girl of Nightmares (Anna #2) by Kendare Blake 
Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin #1)  by R.L. LaFevers 
Altered (Altered #1) by Jennifer Rush
Breathe (Breathe #1) by Sarah Crossan
Carnival of Souls by Melissa Marr

Thank you Spencer Hill Press, Raincoast Books, Thomas Allen LTD, Hatchette Book Group Canada, and HARPERCOLLINS CANADA!!!

BIG THANK YOU!!

Bought:

Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful #1) by Jaime McGuire

Work (Chapters)

Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (52) Poison Princess (The Arcana Chronicles #1) by Kresley Cole

Title: Poison Princess (The Arcana Chronicles #1)
Author: Kresley Cole
Pages: 384
Publisher: Simon & Schuster 
Release Date: October 2, 2012

Summary: (Goodreads)

 #1 New York Times bestselling author Kresley Cole introduces The Arcana Chronicles, post-apocalyptic tales filled with riveting action, the dark mysticism of Tarot cards, and breathtaking romance.She could save the world—or destroy it.

Sixteen year old Evangeline “Evie” Greene leads a charmed life, until she begins experiencing horrifying hallucinations. When an apocalyptic event decimates her Louisiana hometown, Evie realizes her hallucinations were actually visions of the future—and they’re still happening. Fighting for her life and desperate for answers, she must turn to her wrong-side-of-the-bayou classmate: Jack Deveaux.

But she can’t do either alone.

With his mile-long rap sheet, wicked grin, and bad attitude, Jack is like no boy Evie has ever known. Even though he once scorned her and everything she represented, he agrees to protect Evie on her quest. She knows she can’t totally depend on Jack. If he ever cast that wicked grin her way, could she possibly resist him?

Who can Evie trust?

As Jack and Evie race to find the source of her visions, they meet others who have gotten the same call. An ancient prophesy is being played out, and Evie is not the only one with special powers. A group of twenty-two teens has been chosen to reenact the ultimate battle between good and evil. But it’s not always clear who is on which side….


 

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Guest Review: Lucy @ Keep It Real With Lucy - Catching Jordan Review

Today I will be have a guest coming to Stuck In YA Books. Lucy from Keep It Real With Lucy!!
Here is her review of Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally !!


I LOVED this book! It was amazing! The romance, the relationships, it's not often you see all of this in a book! One of my favorite parts of the book, is the relationship Jordan has with her teammates. They get along really well, and you don't always see that much acceptance when it comes to boys and girls playing on the same sports teams. I play golf, and basketball, and I love playing with the opposite gender! They are competitive in many different ways, and they also love to have fun!
Below are some topics I wanted to touch base on:
  • Girls Playing with Boys: According to statistics there are over 1,200 female high school football players across the country. What are some of the positives and negatives of blurring the lines between female and male sports? Do you support it?
- YES! I definitely support this for many reasons! There are many positives to this experience. You get to experience a different level of competition. Boys seem to be more competitive at certain things! Girls think differently then boys. Therefore in a sport the opposite gender might have a more genius idea about a certain play than another. However they our some down falls. Boys can be stronger than girls (SORRY LADIES!), also there is the possibility of not getting equal opportunity since we look at males being more tough.

  • Breaking through the Ranks: Jordan is symbolic for the many girls/women who choose to fight the status quo. What have some of your own experiences been like?
- This can be hard for any female. In some ways being a female you feel that you're hair has to be done perfect, you're shoes have to be in style, your clothes must all match from head to toe, and that you should be involved in all the girly stuff! I really have to disagree with that. Everyday (except like 5 days of the year) my hair is up in a pony tail. I don't have the time to straighten, or have the energy, and nor do I care! I wear sweats everyday except Fridays. (I try and make an effort to put on jeans, and either my school spirit top, or a nice top) If someone wants to like me in any way they will like me for the way I am, and tough fudges if they don't! It is their loss! I don't feel that I need to change because someone wants me to. I will stay the same and that will never change. You are you, and you should never change, just to get someone to like you. Someone does like you, and I don't think any girl should ever feel different.

  • Untraditional Romance: Catching Jordan puts a great emphasis on the untraditional relationship and character role Jordan possess in the book. What effects (if any) do these types of relationships have on kids and people today? Is it important for people to be exposed to them?
-I feel people should date who they want. In this case it is not the most "traditional" relationship. Jordan isn't the best looking girl around, yet she is dating one of the hottest boys around. I think that anyone should get to choose their relationship, and you don't have to do what every person says you should do! This exposes people to be the person they really are instead of the stereotypical image we are told to be.

Teaser Tuesday - Origin by Jessica Khoury

Title: Origin
Author: Jessica Khoury
Pages: 372
Publisher: Razorbill
Release Date: September 4, 2012

Summary: (Goodreads)

Pia has grown up in a secret laboratory hidden deep in the Amazon rain forest. She was raised by a team of scientists who have created her to be the start of a new immortal race. But on the night of her seventeenth birthday, Pia discovers a hole in the electric fence that surrounds her sterile home—and sneaks outside the compound for the first time in her life.

Free in the jungle, Pia meets Eio, a boy from a nearby village. Together, they embark on a race against time to discover the truth about Pia’s origin—a truth with deadly consequences that will change their lives forever.

Origin is a beautifully told, shocking new way to look at an age-old desire: to live forever, no matter the cost. This is a supremely compelling debut novel that blends the awakening romance of Matched with the mystery and jungle conspiracy of Lost
 
Teaser: 
 
 "Anyway," he says "if you're so perfect, Chipmunk, why does he keep testing you?"
"That's not fair and you know it."
"Did you ever consider...." He stops, shakes his head.
"What? Consider what?"
His eyes flicker over his shoulder before he answers. "You know. Not passing."
(Page 11) 
 
 
 

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Cover Reveal: Swell by Julie Rieman Duck

Title: Swell
Author: Julie Rieman Duck
Release Date: September 1, 2012

Summary: 
  
For 15-year-old Beck Ionesco, discovering love with the most popular guy in school is a surprise. So are the bottles and cans he hides in his room and under the car seat. Through Christian, Beck enters a world where you can never be too cool or drunk, and finds herself falling for him, the bottle… and Christian’s dangerous friend Hillman falling for her.  
Thank God for that bottle, though, because it’s all Beck has left when Christian abandons her, Hillman begins stalking her, and she finds herself on the wrong end of popularity in the back seat of his car. She’s left to fend for herself and her heart until she finds friendship – and possibly more - with fellow student Jesse.  
But Christian wants another chance with Beck, and collides with a drunken fate that becomes his last call. It’s now up to Beck to clean up and reclaim her life, and discover sober love with the one whose life secretly parallels her own.
 

Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Insurgent (Divergent #2) by Veronica Roth

Title: Insurgent (Divergent #2)
Author: Veronica Roth
Pages: 525
Publisher: HarperCollins Harper Teen
Release Date: May 1, 2012


Summary: (Goodreads)

One choice can transform you—or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris's initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable—and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.

New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth's much-anticipated second book of the dystopian Divergent series is another intoxicating thrill ride of a story, rich with hallmark twists, heartbreaks, romance, and powerful insights about human nature

Review:  

Veronica Roth has done it again in the sequel to Divergent! I loved every minute while reading this book! The story picks up where Divergent left us but in Insurgent we get a better view of the other fractions and more of Tris' transformation as well as getting to know more about Four (Tobias). I loved this book and this series because its addictive!! Veronica Roth has created a awesome series that will capture your attention if you are a fan of the Hunger Games! Every time I am at the store I recommend the series!! What I did like coming into Insurgent was getting to know the other factions as well as going through war and as well as consequences as Tris is trying to save her home. 

After finishing reading Divergent I was very excited to hear that we will learn about the other factions and most were explored and it was awesome to see how each got together and the importance that they all work together to make decisions. I really liked how Veronica let the Factionless come into play into Insurgent as well as meeting past characters. There role is very important and will as play in the third novel. 

The characters development has really changed compared to being in each of their factions. Tris is a very great character because we see her more vulnerable after all she has been through in Divergent and then revealing the aftermath in Insurgent. The Dauntless is still apart of who she is but at the same time she is discovering her strengths. Many of her actions had to deal with grief as well as self will to save those she loves. She was more reckless in this novel and was a in a way not how she acted in Divergent. I get why she was like this because of all the grief. But near the ending she was more like her old self as well as gaining back that confidence that she had in Divergent.

Tobias was even more hotter yet a tad frustrating. But he is still HOT and adorable that I could forgive him. He has many layers still unknown to us readers because his emotions do get the best of him. His relationship with Tris does grow to a deeper level as they get to know more of each other. He was one character I would love to read from his POV because he has many things that he has gone through as well as dealing with his parents. Four/Tobias was negative as well as positive but he plays a major role in Insurgent. Like all of us he can be a person because we all have flaws as well as trying to be comfortable with those who we love. But I still loved him by the end of the book!


I loved the romance in Divergent and I was excited to see what was going to happen in Insurgent because it was a normal relationship with its ups and downs. But like any couple they are still getting to know each other at the same time as falling in love. They are alike in many ways, which makes them clash. It was very well written with the incorporation with the romance beginning to blossom as they are about to head off against Erudite. No romance can be perfect and it was displayed in Insurgent.

From beginning to end this amazing read will capture you as well as getting you excited for the next book because that ending was OMG when does the next book come out because after that ending my reaction which was mouth hanging open. Insurgent is definitely a great read as well as full of action, lots of emotions and twist and turns that will make your heart go crazy. The plot was make perfect because it had everything in it as it was one of the best books in 2012 as well as the most anticipated. My emotions where jam packed and that cliffhanger :O

As Divergent, Veronica Roth will not disappoint in this sequel  because once you pick this one up you are hooked, and gaining  some information about the other made it more interesting in getting in depth and more in tune with the novel. This sequel is a MUST!! I loved it soo much I could re-read it and still be all excited. Roth is an amazing author who knows how to grab the readers attention!! I am looking forward to the next book because I need to know what is going to happen next!! 

5/5

Thursday, August 9, 2012

Cover Reveal Sign Ups: Swell by Julie Duck


Stuck in YA Books is happy to get sign up for the new book Swell by Julie Rieman Duck. The cover reveal + Blurb will be on August 16, 2012. If you are interested in participating please leave an e-mail. The signup will end on August 13, 2012. Any blog is able to participate!! Make sure to spread the word!!

Thanks Amanda!!

Tuesday, August 7, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (51) Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2) by Tahereh Mafi

Title: Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2)
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Pages: 465
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: February 5, 2013

Summary: (Goodreads

tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it's almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She's finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam's life.

I cannot wait to read this book!! I loved Shatter Me and it is one of my favorite books!! 

Guest Review: Sara @ The Page Sage: The Iron King

Here is a review for The Iron King by Julie Kagawa from my friend Sara @ The Page Sage
All Meghan wanted to do was get her driver’s license and escape her small town, but that was before her brother, Ethan, was kidnapped. In order to save him, she’ll have to go with her best friend into the Nevernever, a fantastical land full of dangers. It’s a world  of powerful kings, conniving creatures, and treacherous deals, and Meghan will be lucky to make it out alive, let alone with her brother.

After reading The Iron King, I understand why this series has such a huge following. Kagawa’s writing style is addictive, and Meghan is an admirable heroine. She’s devoted to her brother (loyalty to siblings is always a plus), and she’s brave in an honest way (she admits to being scared, but doesn’t let her fears stop her).

Another amazing aspect of this book is the world-building. I’m not sure I can get across how absolutely astounding it is. I could picture every detail of the Faeryland and it is equal parts enchanting, horrendous, lovely, and terrifying. All of it, the creatures, the forests, the politics, is perfectly clear and without lengthy descriptions of the setting. The world-building is easily what I enjoyed most about the book because I couldn’t wait to get back to reading and see what other surprises the Nevernever had in store!

However, at this point in the series, I am not a fan of Ash. I don’t like love triangles (and this first book reeks of a love-triangle-to-be) and I do not like insta-love. From Meghan’s first glimpses of Ash to when she’s actually in his company, there’s really no development of their relationship. It feels rushed and Ash is one-dimensional. I would have much preferred if there had to be a romantic arc if Puck (her best friend) had been the sole love interest.

Will this keep me from continuing the rest of the series? Not a chance. I’m utterly intrigued by where this plot will go next, as Kagawa has planted a lot of plot seeds that will, in all likelihood, grow during the next few books. There’s a definite guarantee of more action, if the first book was any indication, and despite the insta-love, Meghan is an awesome protagonist. I can’t wait to read The Iron Daughter!

For more of Sara's review go here:  http://thepagesage.blogspot.com/

Thanks soo much for guest reviewing Sara!! If you are interesting in a guest review contact me!

Saturday, August 4, 2012

Stacking the Shelves (13)





Review: 

Shine, Shine, Shine by Lydia Netzer
Covet (The Clann #2) by Melissa Darnell
Speechless by Hannah Harrington 

Thank You Raincoast Book, and HarlequinTeen

Bought: 

Pushing The Limits by Katie McGarry *Read + Loved*
Throne of Glass (#1) by Sarah J. Maas 
While It Last (Sea Breeze #3) by Abbi Glines (e-book)
Eternal Starling (Emblem of Eternity #1) by Angela Corbett(e-book)
Avoiding Commitment (Avoiding #1) by K.A. Linde (e-book)
12 Rounds (Knockout Series #1) by Lauren Hammond (e-book)

Traded:

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

~Thank you Anna @LiteraryExploration 

Got from work:

Starling (Starling #1) by Lesley Livingston

Friday, August 3, 2012

The Thing About The Truth by Lauren Barnholdt

Title: The Thing About The Truth
Author: Lauren Barnholdt
Pages: 304
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Release Date: July 10, 2012


Summary: (Goodreads)

In this humorous love story from the author of Two-Way Street, an unlikely romance is the best sort of surprise—but the wrong secret can ruin everything. Kelsey’s not going to let one mistake ruin her life. Sure, she got kicked out of prep school and all her old friends are shutting her out. But Kelsey’s focused on her future, and she’s determined to get back on track at Concordia High.

Isaac’s been kicked out of more schools than he can count. Since his father’s a state senator, Isaac’s life is under constant scrutiny—but Concordia High’s his last stop before boarding school, so Isaac’s hoping to fly under the radar and try to stay put for a change.

When Kelsey and Isaac meet, it’s anything but love at first sight. She thinks he’s an entitled brat, and he thinks she’s a stuck-up snob. So it surprises them both when they start to fall for each other. Kelsey’s happy for the first time in months, and Isaac’s never felt this way about anyone before...But nothing’s ever completely perfect. Everyone has secrets, and Isaac and Kelsey are no exceptions. These two may have fallen hard, but there’s one thing that can ruin it all: the truth.

Review: 

I really liked this book!! Actually I can read about anything by Lauren Barnholdt because all her books are amazing!! They are meaning full, funny and has the right amount of everything. I love these type of contemporaries. The Thing About The Truth has to be one of my favorites because Barnholdt hits all issues about holding the truth about yourself to the one we love. I loved the different point of views because it gives us both Kelsey and Isaac's views of what went wrong after the major secrets that were exposed. The flashbacks were a great idea and we got to see how their relationship develops as well as why they were in that situation. Lauren Barnholdt is one of my favorite writers and this one does not disappoint!

I loved the characters! Isaac is one of those characters that will make you laugh and his personality was adorable and charming. His father is a politician, he is polar opposite of his father, he is a bad boy type, who is treated like royalty at Concordia. I also loved how when we first meet him he is intrigued that Kelsey isn't like the other girls which gives him the opportunity to get to hang out with her. They are so alike that they are the perfect couple, and he is super sweet! Kelsey is a very interesting character because she has many secrets as well, but as many of Lauren Barnholdt's characters they are fully developed and make a great story! I really liked Kelsey she was trying to be a normal student away from who she used to be, away from her old school. She is also smart, independent and funny when she is around Isaac. She is very type A and at her old prep school school after a break up she gets kicked out  and is then enrolled in public school.  Once their relationship begins from friendship (they hate each other) but the chemistry between them was by far the best, you can see the fireworks in these two in the book.



I loved how they come up with a great idea that would later turn to chaos but their Face It Down Day is a very popular amongst schools today and it was a great idea to hold that event but the major conflict was written perfectly. There is romance, comedy, and swoon worthy Isaac. I read this after finishing Such A Rush and it was definitely a great combo read because I love the writing and the books are addictive!  I couldn't stop reading it!! Lauren Barnholdt is a great writer and I recommend any of her Young Adult books! The ending was different but I wanted to see more of this couple!! Some of the resolutions still needed to be resolved, but overall it was a great book!!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...