Wednesday, August 28, 2013

The Liberator (Dante Walker #2) by Victoria Scott (Blog Tour)



The Liberator (Dante Walker #2)
by Victoria Scott
Release Date: August 27, 2013
From Entangled Teen

Summary from Goodreads:


Bad boy, meet bad girl.

Dante has a shiny new cuff wrapped around his ankle, and he doesn't like that mess one bit. His new accessory comes straight from Big Guy himself and marks the former demon as a liberator. Despite his gritty past and bad boy ways, Dante Walker has been granted a second chance.

When Dante is given his first mission as a liberator to save the soul of seventeen-year-old Aspen, he knows he’s got this. But Aspen reminds him of the rebellious life he used to live and is making it difficult to resist sinful temptations. Though Dante is committed to living clean for his girlfriend Charlie, this dude’s been a playboy for far too long…and old demons die hard.

With Charlie becoming the girl she was never able to be pre-makeover and Aspen showing him how delicious it feels to embrace his inner beast, Dante will have to go somewhere he never thought he’d return to in order to accomplish the impossible: save the girl he’s been assigned to, and keep the girl he loves.

Where to find The Liberator:

 photo
addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png  photo
B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg  photo
111AD205-AA04-4F9E-A0F4-C1264C4E9F30-1855-000001A1E8CEB6D7_zps9b730b94.jpg  photo B1426D4C-9EEC-4C0B-A1FB-90524B03C0CA-1855-000001A1E82B3B3E_zps17d98f4d.jpg


Review:

How can I describe this book without gushing how much I love this book. Dante Walker has entered my heart even more since he is one man I could not wait to read. I am very luck to get an ARC of this book through the tour and since reading The Collector I knew I had to read The Liberator! This bad boy is definitely still bad boy but now he plays for the Big Guy upstairs. This sequel was all sorts of crazy, and there is so much going on. But Dante still has the arrogant and snarky attitude we all love. 

Dante's new mission is to liberate the bad girl Aspen, who is the exact person Dante was before. Aspen is one tough cookie who is a party girl and doesn't give a crap about anything. She also has some major issues she needs to confront and uses it to get attention. People just use her rather than actually be her friend. I liked Aspen and it was really frustrating that she might be bring down Dante with her if this continued. But throughout the book we see the change and how Dante uses that to help her to the light. She does come to her senses through the book from the first day we meet Aspen. 

Charlie is the same person inside and out, but she did change her appearance. She does some of the same things she would do but now she is testing everything out. I really liked Charlie more in this book and she is more stronger than she was before. She is brave and fearless when she is in a situation and sees the good in people, even Dante. I really loved Dante from the beginning and as much as he is an arrogant tool, he has his personality of being funny, and tells it how it is. While reading you can see he cares about his friends and will fight for them. I loved the balance of him being a jerk and at the same time is really loyal and a good guy.

Victoria Scott's writing is so good that she hooks you to the story and the characters. The idea of a paranormal angel/demon is very unique and creative. This is a very action packed series and if you haven't read The Collector I recommend you do because this series is funny, and I sense there is more to the story with Dante, Charlie and the entire crew. I am looking forward to the next installment in the series!

4/5

About the Author
I’m a teen fiction writer with a die-hard affection for dark and humorous books. My work is represented by Sara Crowe of Harvey Klinger literary agency. I have a master’s degree in marketing, and currently live in Dallas with my husband, Ryan.
My first series started with THE COLLECTOR, and was published by Entangled Teen in April 2013. The second book in the trilogy, THE LIBERATOR, will release August 2013. My next series kicks off with FIRE & FLOOD and is being published by Scholastic, February 2014.

*Author Links*



 photo
iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo
icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo
icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png  photo
iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png  photo
iconamazon-32x32_zpsbe2ba933.png  photo
iconyoutube-32x32_zps18f50985.png


***GIVEAWAY***
1 signed copy of THE LIBERATOR and a signed copy of TWILIGHT, international. 

Rafflecopter Code



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, August 26, 2013

Darker Days (The Darker Agency #1) by Jus Accardo (Blog Tour)

Title: Darker Days (The Darker Agency #1) 
Author: Jus Accardo
Pages: 332
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
Release Date: August 19, 2013
*Received for review by Entangled Publishing*

Summary: (Goodreads

Jessie Darker goes to high school during the day, but at night she helps with the family investigation business. Cheating husbands and stolen inheritances? They’re your girls—but their specialty is a bit darker. Zombie in your garage? Pesky Poltergeist living in your pool? They’ll have the problem solved in a magical minute. For a nominal fee, of course...

When gorgeous new client, Lukas Scott, saunters into the office requesting their help to find a stolen box, it sounds like a simple case—until the truth comes out. The box is full of Sin.

Seven deadly ones, in fact.

They’ve got five days to recapture the Sins before they're recalled by the box, taking seven hijacked human bodies with them. Easy peasy—except for one thing...

There’s a spell that will allow the Sins to remain free, causing chaos forever. When the key ingredient threatens the life of someone she knows, Jessie must make the ultimate choice between love and family—or lose everything.


Review:

Jus Accardo has done it again! I am a fan of her Denazen series, and all her characters. Darker Days is amazing and with her snarky characters. This book blew me away and I did devoured it! Now I need the next book!! The cover really is fantastic and Jessie looks strong and confident. The two colours on each side really represent the two sides in her world. I love reading Entangled books!! All the authors have swoon worthy characters and it has full of action and YA Paranormal!

Jessie is like Dez in her Touch series, she kicks butt and she is a very strong character. She is very loyal to her family and friends and wants to even help the mysterious Lukas. Her spunkiness side is what will leave the reader wanting more and throughout the entire book it was putting others first that really made me like this character. Lukas Scott is HOT. He is one of the most swoon-worthy characters, who is adorable and sweet. He is the perfect gentlemen and he does take charge through some of the novel. He sure is a mystery though  and his story will make you crawl in the book. Lukas is caring, loving and you would always want him. The romance between these two is what makes me happy and it was a little fast but the urgency is understandable. These teens know the limits and to not cross it. 

The side characters like Klaire and Kendra and even her dad make important characters and the interactions between all them are all made by special bonds. This is one of the things about Accardo's writing is that she know what friends and family mean to each other.  Darker Days is amazing and the writing is strong. Definitely check out this book!! 

Tuesday, August 20, 2013

Authors are Rockstars - Kristen Simmons


Kristen Simmons – ARTICLE 5, BREAKING POINT, THREE


Kristen Simmons is a rock star because of her creativity with this amazing series, her book boyfriend (aka Chase Jenninngs) and her amazing skills of writing. I got to know Kristen through one of her giveaways and she is one of the most nicest authors to get to know! She know how to capture an audience with the futuristic vibe that everyone knows and loves. A lot of people can relate to Ember to themselves in certain ways. Kristen Simmons YOU are a Rockstar! 
How do you develop your storylines. I am very excited to read the last book in this series Three which comes out soon!! 

Kristen Simmons on Storylines:

Storylines are generally the last things that come to me when I’m brainstorming a new book. Almost always I “meet” the characters first. They’ll pop up at random times – when I’m people watching, or listening to the radio, or just about the fall asleep. Usually I will envision them in some sort of situation, for instance, the first time I met Chase Jennings (my hero in the ARTICLE 5 series) he was sitting beside Ember in the cab of a truck, watching her sleep. He was completely agitated by the fact that she’d made these peanut butter sandwiches – that she’d done something nice and completely normal when he didn’t feel that he deserved it. I thought of how conflicted he’d feel as she curled up beside him with her head on his thigh. How that would change something in him. It took some time to realize what it changed in him and how he’d gotten there, but that was the beginning of Chase. That scene made it’s way into ARTICLE 5, and can be found on my website in it’s original form, from Chase’s perspective, under Extra Scenes.

Once the characters are established, I think of them in terms of growth. I ask myself what challenges they must face. When I’d met Chase and Ember, I’d already been dealing with this idea of Moral Statutes replacing the Bill of Rights – an idea that had come to me after witnessing a book banning outside a local bookstore – and I began to put together what kinds of conflicts they would face within a world that had accepted this major overhaul to the political system. After I understood where the characters started, what conflicts they would face, and how they changed as a result, I began to fill in the pieces with the plot. Then I layered in worldbuilding. I took enough notes to fill a dry erase board and a notebook or two (or three), and then I began to write. Wa-la! Story!

Thanks for having me!

About Kristen Simmons

Kristen Simmons writes young adult fiction- the kind that's dark and scary but generally involves some kissing. The final book in the Article 5 trilogy, THREE, will be published by Tor Teen in Winter, 2014. Words cannot describe how happy this makes her.












Giveaway:

Kristen has been kind enough to giveaway a SIGNED copy of Article 5 and a hardcover of Breaking Point (not sure if signed) and 3 bookmarks to one winner!! 


Thursday, August 15, 2013

Apollo Academy (The Apollo Academy #1) by Kimberly P. Chase (Blog Tour)

Title: The Apollo Academy (The Apollow Academy #1)
Author: Kimberly P. Chase
Pages: 340
Release Date: August 6, 2013

Available NOW at Amazon and Barnes&Noble!

Summary: (Goodreads

As the heiress to Titon Technologies, eighteen-year-old Aurora Titon can have whatever she wants—clothes, expensive gadgets, anything money can buy. All she really wants is to escape her pampered, paparazzi-prone life for the stars. Becoming the first female pilot to train as an astronaut for the Apollo Academy is exactly the chance for which she has been waiting. Everything would be perfect if it weren't for her unreciprocated crush on a fellow student, the sexy astronaut bent on making her life hell, and the fact that someone keeps trying to kill her. 

The first in a four book new adult science fiction series, The Apollo Academy, is an action packed story of love, discovery, and survival


Review: 

This book was amazing!! It was funny, intense, intriguing and also very well written. The Apollo Academy got me hooked to my room for a few days.  Kimberly Chase did an incredible job with the plot and the writing. Plus I love the cover! We meet Aurora Titan who is the heiress to a mega corporation of Titan Technologies and the main target to the paparazzi. Like any celebrity she wants to be normal and prove her name into the academy rather than her status. Aurora is also the first female pilot to train as an astronaut in the Academy. 

The characters were very well developed and I did want to know more about them *the next book* Zane well he is one hot tech geek and is an unknown. The Unknown is someone with no record and they dont exist which Aurora would like to be. Zane is very hard working and trains intensely at Apollo Academy to gain acceptance. It is when they graduate that he will exist again. Supporting characters like Sky who is Aurora's instructor who is sexy and HOT, and the mean girl Hailen.

The book opens in a night club where Aurora and Kaylana are enjoying their last night of freedom before Apollo Academy. Aurora lets looks and falls into the arms of a sexy man. As she is ready to kiss him, he disappears. The next morning she sees him at orientation which would be awkward. These two have a great chemistry  between Aurora and Zane but as he tries to stay away because he is an unknown and she is the heiress, Aurora convinces Zane. Aurora is also thrown in situations which are threatening, while Zane wants to know the truth. 

There are lots of twists in the story and every character as a role that you would not expect. Zane is another personal mystery which I cannot wait to see what will happen to his character. The major details around this story will leave you wanting more. This is a great series to start for a college age school. It has romance, hot guys (either Zane or Sky) and a new way to look at technology. Be sure to check out this series its out of this world!! 


4/5



About the Author:
Kimberly P. Chase holds a Bachelor's Degree in Aeronautical Science from Embry Riddle Aeronautical University, which basically means she's kind of a geek and loves flying airplanes. Naturally, her books tend to include aviation, hot flight instructors, aviator glasses, and—let's not forget—kissing! When Kimberly's not writing or reading, she's hanging out with her husband, four-year-old son, and two dogs. 
Find Kimberly here:


Here's a chance to win a free electronic copy or an Apollo Academy Launch Specialist t-shirt!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Cover Reveal: Trust In Me by J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout)


DESCRIPTION/COPY

It’s Wait for You as you’ve never seen it. Trust in Me lets you in on Cam’s side of the #1 New York Times Bestselling story. Cameron Hamilton is used to getting what he wants, especially when it comes to women. But when Avery Morgansten comes crashing into his life – literally – he finally meets the one person who can resist his soulful baby blues. But Cam’s not ready to give up. He can’t get the feisty and intriguing girl out of his head. Avery has secrets, secrets that keep her from admitting the feelings Cam knows she has for him. Will persistence (and some delicious homemade cookies) help him break down her barriers and gain her trust? Or will he be shut out of Avery's life, losing his first real shot at the kind of love that lasts forever? 


  BUY BUTTONS
Image Map

Wednesday, August 14, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday (51) Revelations (The Elysium Chronicles #2) by J.A. Souders

Title: Revelations (The Elysium Chronicles #2)
Author: J.A. Souders
Pages: 352
Publisher: Tor Teen
Release Date: November 5, 2013

Summary: (Goodreads)

Six weeks ago, Evelyn Winters was locked away in Elysium, a city hidden miles beneath the sea, brainwashed into submission. With the help of Gavin, she fought free of her captors and the fog in her own mind. He took her back with him to the Surface, a world she's never known. Now she will begin a new life. 

But her past is closer than she thinks...

NEED THIS BOOK!!

Monday, August 12, 2013

Opal (Lux #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Opal (Lux #3) 
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 452
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
Release Date: December 11, 2012
Read: December 7, 2012
Received for review by Publisher

Buy: AmazonCA|Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Barnes & Noble| Book Depository| Kobo

Summary: (Goodreads

No one is like Daemon Black.

When he set out to prove his feelings for me, he wasn’t fooling around. Doubting him isn’t something I’ll do again, and now that we’ve made it through the rough patches, well... There’s a lot of spontaneous combustion going on.

But even he can’t protect his family from the danger of trying to free those they love.

After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different... And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.

Together we’re stronger... and they know it


Review: 

Yet another great book to an awesome series!I am still in shock. Opal was addicting, and I couldn't put any words after reading the end of the book. Jennifer L. Armentrout's is amazing! From the very beginning it was a fantastic read which will keep you on your toes. I am a big fan of Jen's from day one and to after waiting to read this book, it was worth the wait, and it was the best book EVER. Jennifer's books are an addiction, once you start the first book, Obsidian, you will fall in love with the rest of the series!!

In this third installment of the Lux series, we left off where Onyx ended. Dee is still mourning the loss of Adam (sad face) who is heartbroken and this then severs the relationship between her and Katy. Katy and Daemon's relationship is more intensified. Daemon would do anything for Katy including being in a real relationship. Opal really was my favorite in the series.


The plot will surprise you, and Jen will definitely throw you for a loop with her crazy cliffhangers. But as my anticipation for the next book (already read) this series is a must read for all since we get to know more about the evils and more about Daemon! I did feel like crying through most of the book since Daemon really knows how to swoon a girl even through reading.  I loved every scene and romantic parts that I was almost about to throw this book because of that ending with me shocked. I need more!! Be sure to check out my other reviews of Obsidian and Onyx and soon Origin (September 3) 

5/5

Wednesday, August 7, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday (50) The Accidental Assassin by Nichole Chase

Title: The Accidental Assassin 
Author: Nichole Chase
Published: August

Summary: (Goodreads


Ava McKenzie is a creature of habit. Life is passing her by and she has nothing to show for it. She’s had the same job since she started college, she orders the same dish every time she goes to her favorite restaurant, and only reads books from authors she knows. There is nothing new or surprising in her life… until her best friend marries a man from London. When her newlywed friend asks her to house-sit while she honeymoons, Ava jumps at the chance. She thinks this could be the very thing she needs to shake up her life. Ava throws herself head first into her new lifestyle; she wants to try everything, go everywhere, and never get stuck in a rut again. Of course, offing a man in a car garage hadn’t been one of the things on her list to try.


Owen Walker spends every day in a new place with a new case. As one of the most renowned assassins in the world, he has his choice of marks—and he’s never failed in a mission. When a new hit takes him back to his hometown, he looks forward to spending time somewhere familiar. What he isn’t expecting is to help an attractive, confused American woman find out how she’s ended up on a hit man’s list. 



As Ava and Owen dodge bullets, will they be able to escape their undeniable attraction to each other? Or will all of that chemistry blow up in a shower of hot and dangerous sparks?
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...