Friday, April 25, 2014

What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Title: What I Thought Was True
Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Pages: 416
Genre: YA
Publisher: Dial Books/Razorbill CA
Release Date: April 15, 2014

Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo|

Summary (Goodreads):

From the author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her Nantucket-esque island this summer. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-me-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.


Review:

I just loved Huntley's second novel! Cass was a total swoon throughout the entire book! It was a little different than My Life Next Door book it was very close to how much I love these books! I finished this book so fast because the writing was beautiful and the setting of the book makes you want to wish it was summer right now. This book has made my top favorite books because it does deal with issues of honesty, lies, and so much more like her debut, My Life Next Door.  What I Thought Was True looks at the beginning of becoming an adult, honesty, romance that does have some issues) and if the relationship is strong enough to survive.

Gwen Castle has been spending her days working hard and dreaming of the day she will be able to leave the island she is living on. Her family is blue collar, dad owns a restaurant and her mom cleans the houses of the wealthy. Right from the beginning Gwen has secrets of her own that involve rich, handsome boy Cassidy Somers. While two different worlds or a bridge that separates them in Stony Bay, that she thought not to worry about him, but instead she sees him get a job on the island as a yard boy, where she can't avoid him. 

You can definitely feel the tension between them and that there is history that no one will be prepared for. Huntley did an amazing job creating these characters from Gwen who you can relate too as being an island girl. Cass is definitely charming and book boyfriend worthy because throughout the book you can't help but fall in love with him too! Nic (cousin) and his girlfriend Vivien (best friend) play an important part of Gwen's growth in character in the novel. There were so many layers to the book that will make you fall in love with What I Though Was True. 

There was a complex dynamics of Gwen's family is also important as Gwen doesn't have a normal household. With her parents not together, her mother still communicates with him, her grandfather lives in the house, her younger brother and cousin Nic. This makes it interesting because many people live in this situation and it made interactions with the characters interesting. Her brother, Emory does have special needs that impacts the entire family. 

Now for Cass, who is charming and can make Gwen smile. Add in that he is helping to teach Emory with swimming lessons that make him more swoon-worthy. I was smiling at all the scenes and ways to try to get Gwen's attention. Their history is one of the things that tore them apart but can bring them together.


"I leaned toward him without meaning to, without a clear thought in my head, and he bent forward and kissed me. It was such a good, sweet kiss- a simple press of the lips at first until I opened, wanting more, and he was ready." 

What I Thought Was True was the perfect summer read, with strong characters, interesting plot and more than just falling in love. Each of the issues of family, and many heavy issues. Huntley Fitzpatrick is a brilliant writer who knows how to hook me into a book! I am very excited for any of her books!. This book is also about forgiveness and moving on to a new part of life. Put this book immediately on your list or even check out her amazing debut My Life Next Door

5/5

1 comment:

  1. Everything about this book just scream for me to read it. The characters all sound so amazing, and I will be adding it to my wishlist. Wonderful review!

    ReplyDelete

I try to get back to all comments, so check the box for follow up emails, or give me the link to your blog and I'll stop by! I love reading comments!

Thanks Amanda

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...