Wednesday, April 27, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

Title: Three Dark Crowns
Author: Kendare Blake
Pages: 416
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: September 30, 2016

Summary (Goodreads)

Fans of acclaimed author Kendare Blake’s Anna Dressed in Bloodwill devour her latest novel, a dark and inventive fantasy about three sisters who must fight to the death to become queen. 

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose...it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.

The last queen standing gets the crown.

Tuesday, April 19, 2016

When We Collided by Emery Lord

Title: When We Collided
Author: Emery Lord
Pages: 352
Genre: Teen Contemporary
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children's/Razorbill Canada
Release Date: April 5, 2016

Summary (Goodreads)

We are seventeen and shattered and still dancing. We have messy, throbbing hearts, and we are stronger than anyone could ever know…

Jonah never thought a girl like Vivi would come along.

Vivi didn’t know Jonah would light up her world.

Neither of them expected a summer like this…a summer that would rewrite their futures.

In an unflinching story about new love, old wounds, and forces beyond our control, two teens find that when you collide with the right person at just the right time, it will change you forever.
 

Review:

I could never get enough of Emery Lord's writing!! When We Collided has to be her best yet because it hits all the right chords. From the very first pages I knew I was going to love this book because it will make you laugh, cry and want to hug each character. It is set in a beach town that is small. Our main character Vivi is very unique and likeable and was told in dual POV's. Everyone will definitely fall in love with this book!

The setting of When We Collided is set in Verona Cove where there is one of every thing like art stores, restaurants and everyone knows each other. Then enters Vivi who is such a complex character that you will become curious about her since she is full of life, creative and you could probably want to live through her since she is so care-free. I felt I got to know her throughout the book. It also brings awareness of mental illness because one of the characters suffers from bi-polar disorder. It was interesting to see the behaviours when they are off their meds as well as not being in complete control especially how it progresses throughout the book.

Then enters Jonah who also has a point of view. He comes from a big family of six children who separate themselves between the littles and the bigs. I loved his family because they all take care of each other and hug them. Lord definitely showed us that important is a very important element in her books. The romance between these two was very raw, emotional and electric when they are together. Emery Lord has exceeded my expectations with When We Collided because now I will tell everyone to read it and she will become one of your favorite contemporary authors! Now I wish there was more to their story since it had a really great ending!

5/5

Thursday, April 14, 2016

Paper Princess (The Royals #1) by Erin Watt

Title: Paper Princess (The Royals #1)
Author: Erin Watt (Elle Kennedy & Jen Fredrick)
Pages: 370
Genre: New Adult (17+)
Publisher: Everafter Platinum
Release Date: April 4, 2016
Buy: AmazonUS| AmazonCA| Chapters Indigo|Kobo

Summary (Goodreads)

From strip clubs and truck stops to southern coast mansions and prep schools, one girl tries to stay true to herself.

These Royals will ruin you…

Ella Harper is a survivor—a pragmatic optimist. She’s spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she’ll climb out of the gutter. After her mother’s death, Ella is truly alone. 

Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from.

Reed doesn’t want her. He says she doesn’t belong with the Royals.

He might be right.

Wealth. Excess. Deception. It’s like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she’s going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she’ll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees. 


Review:

Soo I need Broken Prince immediately! Why does July have to be so far away that I have to wait to see what will happen to Ella! I'm still in shock after reading this! If you haven't bought Paper Princess yet I recommend you get it immediately because it will leave you speechless and wanting more. My mind is spinning still as I comprehend what just happened. It is also true what the description says on the front because the Royals will definitely ruin you.

Be sure that before you even finish the book you will want to have it on your shelf because I need this book on my shelf because I loved it so much! Paper Princess was in many words perfection but it also had elements of painful, hopefully and moments where you are just OMG freaking out moments. I finished it so quickly because the book hooked me in immediately from the moment you meet Ella, Callum and his five sons: Gideon, Reed, Easton, Sebastian and Sawyer who in an instant hate their new sister.

While Reed is a jerk he definitely grew on me as well as the other brothers along the way. It was like Cruel Intentions but better. The romance was slow and I liked how you get to see different sides to the brothers as well as seeing how they treat Ella. Reed Royal is mean, callous and even lovable. He definitely got me to fall in love with him as well as hate him. But you will never expect the twists that this book will take you.

Erin Watt you have definitely got me addicted to this series! As a pair of really good authors you have made me happy and then blew my mind by the end. I really want to read Broken Prince because I'm having a book hangover! Overall, I loved Paper Princess so much that I even ordered the paperback. It has swoon-worthy guys, steamy romance, and even scandal along the way. You will fall in love with this book!

5/5 

Wednesday, April 13, 2016

Waiting On Wednesday: Swear On This Life by Renee Carlino

Title: Swear On This Life
Author: Renee Carlino 
Pages: 320 
Publisher: Atria Books
Genre: Romance
Release Date: August 9, 2016

Summary (Goodreads) 

When a bestselling debut novel from mysterious author J.Colby becomes the literary event of the year, Emiline reads it reluctantly. As an adjunct writing instructor at UC San Diego with her own stalled literary career and a bumpy long-term relationship, Emiline isn’t thrilled to celebrate the accomplishments of a young and gifted writer.

Yet from the very first page, Emiline is entranced by the story of Emerson and Jackson, two childhood best friends who fall in love and dream of a better life beyond the long dirt road that winds through their impoverished town in rural Ohio.

That’s because the novel is patterned on Emiline’s own dark and desperate childhood, which means that “J. Colby” must be Jase: the best friend and first love she hasn’t seen in over a decade. Far from being flattered that he wrote the novel from her perspective, Emiline is furious that he co-opted her painful past and took some dramatic creative liberties with the ending.

The only way she can put her mind at ease is to find and confront “J. Colby,” but is she prepared to learn the truth behind the fiction?
 


Thursday, April 7, 2016

Cover Reveal: Unknown by Wendy Higgins

UNKNOWN by Wendy Higgins
Apocalyptic Sci-Fi NA Romance
Coming August 16, 2016

Blurb:
Amber Tate believes the worst thing she’ll suffer in life is dealing with the unrequited love she feels for her brother’s best friend, Rylen Fite. She also believes war is something unfortunate that happens places far, far away from her rural Nevada town. She’s wrong on both counts.

When an unknown organization meticulously bombs major cities in the United States and across the globe, a trickle-down effect spreads to remaining towns at an alarming speed—everything from food and water sources to technological communications are compromised. Without leadership, the nation is split between paralysis and panic, but Amber isn’t one to hide or watch helplessly. She’s determined to put her nursing skills to use, despite the danger, even if it means working alongside the man she can never have. 

In this first installment of NY Times bestselling author, Wendy Higgins’s debut New Adult series, a frighteningly realistic apocalyptic America is brought to life, entwined with searing romantic tension that will leave you eager for more.

Links:

Learn about the origins of the story in this blog post: http://www.wendyhigginswrites.com/2016/02/diving-into-new-adult-world.html

Author Bio:
Wendy Higgins is the USA Today and NYT bestselling author of the Sweet Evil series from HarperTeen, the high fantasy duology The Great Hunt, and her independently published Irish fantasy, See Me. She is a former high school English teacher who now writes full time, and lives on the Eastern Shore of Virginia with her veterinarian husband, daughter, son, and doggie Rue. 
Wendy earned a bachelor's in Creative Writing from George Mason University and a master's in Curriculum and Instruction from Radford University. 

Wednesday, April 6, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

Title: The Diabolic
Author: S.J. Kincaid
Publisher: Simon & Schuster 
Release Date: November 1, 2016

Summary (Goodreads) 

Red Queen meets The Hunger Games in this epic novel about what happens when the galaxy’s most deadly weapon masquerades as a senator’s daughter and a hostage of the galactic court.

A Diabolic is ruthless. A Diabolic is powerful. A Diabolic has a single task: Kill in order to protect the person you’ve been created for.

Nemesis is a Diabolic, a humanoid teenager created to protect a galactic senator’s daughter, Sidonia. The two have grown up side by side, but are in no way sisters. Nemesis is expected to give her life for Sidonia, and she would do so gladly. She would also take as many lives as necessary to keep Sidonia safe.

When the power-mad Emperor learns Sidonia’s father is participating in a rebellion, he summons Sidonia to the Galactic court. She is to serve as a hostage. Now, there is only one way for Nemesis to protect Sidonia. She must become her. Nemesis travels to the court disguised as Sidonia—a killing machine masquerading in a world of corrupt politicians and two-faced senators’ children. It’s a nest of vipers with threats on every side, but Nemesis must keep her true abilities a secret or risk everything.

As the Empire begins to fracture and rebellion looms closer, Nemesis learns there is something more to her than just deadly force. She finds a humanity truer than what she encounters from most humans. Amidst all the danger, action, and intrigue, her humanity just might be the thing that saves her life—and the empire.

Sunday, April 3, 2016

Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms #1) by Morgan Rhodes

Title: Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms #1)
Author: Morgan Rhodes
Pages: 412
Genre: Fantasy (Teen)
Publisher: Razorbill/Penguin Canada
Release Date: December 11, 2012
Buy: Amazon|Chapters Indigo| Kobo

Summary (Goodreads)
In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed... and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that's certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It's the eve of war.... Choose your side.


Princess: Raised in pampered luxury, Cleo must now embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of magic long thought extinct.

Rebel: Jonas, enraged at injustice, lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished. To his shock, he finds himself the leader of a people's revolution centuries in the making.

Sorceress: Lucia, adopted at birth into the royal family, discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Heir: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, firstborn son Magnus begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword....
 


Review: 

I'm in utter shock after reading the first book in this series. It was fast pace, the plot thickening and the character development than any high fantasy series I have read so far. I can see why it is compared to Game of Thrones because the world and characters are so well developed that you will never know what will happen to each character. Falling Kingdoms was amazing from beginning to end as I was envisioning what is happening while I was reading. When I was done reading I already had a feeling I would be hooked to this series.

In the world where Elementia is a secret, three kingdoms are on the verge of war. After what happened to his brother Jonas seeks revenge. Living in Paelsia which was known for its beautiful lands and resources has now turned into a wasteland. It is by stealing and selling wine that he has kept his family alive. Princess Cleo of Auranos  has witnessed the murder of Jonas' brother from the hands of Aron. She is also on the quest to save her sister to find magic. By her side she has her best friend Nic and bodyguard Theon. In the kingdom of Limeros lives Lucia and Magnus who are brother and sister. When Lucia finds out that the power within her can change the world and future.

I loved how each character was laid out so clearly that you couldn't help root for each one of them. Each one of them matures throughout the whole novel. I definitely saw it with Cleo, Magnus and Jonas as they each go through the novel. By the end the villain of the story will be determined all because of power. I did hate King Gauis and his brutality, especially towards Magnus. From the beginning I hated Aron who is such an a-whole and manipulative that I wish I could kill him through most scenes.

Each kingdom is known for something important like how Auranos is for wealth and resources, where Paelsia is more known as a wasteland and for their wine. It really connected how in real life the Wars and what countries are really facing when they are poor. The writing was easy to understand and the characters were rich with development as well as that plot! I felt like crying during some scenes because most of them were shocking. Falling Kingdoms is a must read for those who love fantasy, romance, action and definitely magic!

5/5
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...