Wednesday, August 16, 2017

What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

Title: What to Say Next
Author: Julie Buxbaum
Pages: 292
Genre: Teen Contemporary
Publisher: Delacorte Press/Penguin Random House Canada
Release Date: July 11, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo

Summary (Goodreads)

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How could they? I don’t even understand.

DAVID: In the 622 days I’ve attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I’ve never once sat with someone until now. “So your dad is dead,” I say to Kit, because this is a fact I’ve recently learned about her. 

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David. Kit appreciates David’s blunt honesty—in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit’s attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad’s tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they’ll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?


Review: 

I have read one of Julie's books in the past and this is no different that this book was beautiful and tragic. What To Say Next is a compelling read that you feel for both of the main characters who are both experiencing different lives, but at the same time once their lives come together a relationship happens. I feel that the author appreciated the handling of autism and bully really well throughout the book.

It has only been one month since Kit lost her father in a car crash. She starts to pull away from her friends and their problems. When she then sits next to David who has a high functioning type of autism (aka Asperger's syndrome) they are both struggling through the real issues involving their families. Their relationship was adorable and very honest between them. David's POV felt authentic and they both help each other back into reality.

As an ECE its important to see inclusion as we include children with diversity and embracing it. Julie Buxbaum did a great job writing their voices and dealing with the real issues out their in schools. Especially death and bullying. There were many times where my heart broke but at the same time it was pulled together by the writing. If you haven't picked up her past books you definitely need to pick them up immediately.

4.5/5

No comments:

Post a Comment

I try to get back to all comments, so check the box for follow up emails, or give me the link to your blog and I'll stop by! I love reading comments!

Thanks Amanda

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...