Saturday, July 30, 2011

In My Mailbox (5)

 
 Bought:
P.S - I already read all of these amazing books! read my reviews in the Review Archives!

Review: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Review:

OMG!!! This is the best book EVER. I am surprised I didnt read it earlier! My emotions during the whole book was up and down, and Etienne...... (mouth-watering) Perkins did an excellent job with this novel set in Paris, France. I could picture the way Paris looked by the way Perkins describe it, if I was really there!

The whole novel was brilliant, the connection between Etienne and Anna from beginning to end showed how much they are soul mates. They had ups and downs during the whole novel but, what best friends wouldn't and their cute nicknames. I just fell in love with this whole book. The last part of the novel.......I just loved the whole scene...

Overall, reading this novel put me a good mood, with romantics and just plain in love with the city of love (Paris) Anna and the French Kiss is now one of my favourites its officially in the top 10 also. If you have not read this book yet, I recommend you move it up on your TBR list, because its totally worth it!

-Amanda

Synopsis:

Anna was looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. So she's less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris—until she meets √Čtienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, √Čtienne has it all . . . including a serious girlfriend.
But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss? Stephanie Perkins keeps the romantic tension crackling and the attraction high in a debut guaranteed to make toes tingle and hearts melt.

Anna on IndieBound ♥
Anna on Amazon
Anna on Barnes & Noble
Anna on Book Depository
Mark Anna as to-read on your Goodreads shelf
Move this up on your reading list!!

Thursday, July 28, 2011

Review: Ripple by Mandy Hubbard

RIPPLE
Mandy Hubbard
YA PNR-Mythologic Elements
Paperback; 272 pages
July 21st, 2011 by Razorbill/Penguin

Review:

Ripple was an Amazing read. I loved the facts about Lexie abilities as a siren, which was really awesome. The whole concept of the entire novel really drew me into reading this great book:) I just loved the romance between Lexie and Cole. I was even tearing up at some parts of the novel! (due to some past reflections by Lexie) Hubbard really sets a beautiful plot to the entire story.

The theory of Sirens and curses were an interest concept throughout the novel. The novel starts off with Lexie being an outcast from everybody in her school, once popular and the most beautiful amongst all the others. Things started to fall apart on her 16th birthday, until she killed the boy she loved. Stephen. This was very hard on Lexie, who strayed away from all her friends for 2 years, and continues to swim at her lake every night.  Until Cole, Stephens best friend, starts talking to her. After a few dates, with Cole she begins to have feelings for him. Then after a few dates, Erik comes into the pictures and claims to be her savior and rescue them both of this curse. Cole and Lexie break up:( and their relationship isn't the same. I wont go one, but I can say that the book was great I enjoyed it, and I will probably read it again:)

Hubbard's writing was brilliant. I hope she creates another series with these characters.

Amanda:)

Synopsis:

Lexi is cursed with a dark secret. Each day she goes to school like a normal teenager, and each night she must swim, or the pain will be unbearable. She is a siren - a deadly mermaid destined to lure men to their watery deaths. After a terrible tragedy, Lexi shut herself off from the world, vowing to protect the ones she loves. But she soon finds herself caught between a new boy at school who may have the power to melt her icy exterior, and a handsome water spirit who says he can break Lexi's curse if she gives up everything else. Lexi is faced with the hardest decision she's ever had to make: the life she's always longed for - or the love she can't live without?

Fever by Lauren DeStefano- Cover Reveal

Look at the beautiful cover for the next Wither book in the trilogy, Fever! I think it looks Great I cant wait to read this one
 
Official Blurb:

Rhine and Gabriel have escaped the mansion, but they’re still in danger. Outside, they find a world even more disquieting than the one they left behind. Determined to get to Manhattan and to find Rhine’s twin brother Rowan, the two press forward, amidst threats of being captured again--... or worse.
The road they are on is long and perilous—and in a world where young women only live to age 20 and men die at age 25, time is precious. In this sequel to Lauren DeStefano’s harrowing Wither, Rhine must decide if freedom is worth the price—now that she has more to lose than ever.

Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (7)


Mara Dyer doesn't think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.
She believes there must be more to the accident she can't remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.
There is.
She doesn't believe that after everything she's been through, she can fall in love.
She's wrong.


Hardcover, 464 pages
Expected publication: September 27th 2011 by Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing 
I am SOoo excited to read this one! I have been hearing great things about this book! The plot sounds amazing!

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Review: Supernaturally by Kiersten White

Title: Supernaturally (Paranormalcy #2)
Author: Kiersten White
Pages: 336
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: July 26, 2011

Summary (Goodreads)

Evie finally has the normal life she’s always longed for. But she’s shocked to discover that being ordinary can be . . . kind of boring. Just when Evie starts to long for her days at the International Paranormal Containment Agency, she’s given a chance to work for them again. Desperate for a break from all the normalcy, she agrees.
But as one disastrous mission leads to another, Evie starts to wonder if she made the right choice. And when Evie’s faerie ex-boyfriend Reth appears with devastating revelations about her past, she discovers that there’s a battle brewing between the faerie courts that could throw the whole supernatural world into chaos. The prize question? Evie herself.
So much for normal.  


Review:
(ARC)

Let me just say that this is the best series EVER!! I Loved this books from beginning to end. Evie is still the same, but in a different situation. Her personality is clever, yet decisive. White did a brilliant job with this sequel to Paranormalcy.

Evie's relationship with Lend has grown stronger, in this novel. Readers can see that her love for Lend is the real thing, because they get along so easily, think of each all the time, and even protects her if she needs the help. I had already fallen for Lend in the first novel, and I want to have him to myself if I was Evie. He is smart and attends Georgetown University!

With some returning characters: Reth (Evie's ex) whom I thought was the good guy in this sequel only wanted to protect Evie from danger that threatens her. New character Jack, who is innocent is some ways, but can be a little devil! He was the one character that surprised me, and didn't see coming at the end.

We learn a lot more about Evie and her past, how she came to be. This portion was really interesting and based on what was learned, I hope to see more from these new characters in the last novel! Overall I thoroughly enjoyed the novel from the start. I just was so excited to read this novel, I got a finished novel and I got an ARC. I cant wait to read the last one Endlessly and find out the rest of Evie's Story! If you haven't read Paranormalcy I recommend you go buy it because the books are amazing!

Cover: The cover for this one is beautiful. It really draws you in, and the dress is pretty also!

Sunday, July 24, 2011

In My Mailbox (4)






























IMM:


Maybe, Maybe Not by Rae Hachton (ARC) (signed)
Shimmer (Riley Bloom #2) by Alyson Noel (signed)!
Forever by Maggie Stiefvater from Scholastic, from also Slave Lake Auction for such an amazing prize (finished copy)

Bought
Linger by Maggie Stiefvater

Whats in your Mailbox?

Thursday, July 21, 2011

Winner

Random.Org has chosen the Winner for Blue Bloods/Masquerade by Melissa de la Cruz. The number that was chosen was 38.

Therefore the winner is...............................

MOMO! @BooksOverBoys !!!!

I will be contacting you soon

There will be another giveaway soon, but you still have time to enter July's Giveaway for Once Every Never !!

Cover Reveal- Hex Hall #3

 

Just as Sophie Mercer has come to accept her extraordinary magical powers as a demon, the Prodigium Council strips them away. Now Sophie is defenseless, alone, and at the mercy of her sworn enemies—the Brannicks, a family of warrior women who hunt down the Prodigium. Or at least that’s what Sophie thinks, until she makes a surprising discovery. The Brannicks know an epic war is coming, and they believe Sophie is the only one powerful enough to stop the world from ending. But without her magic, Sophie isn’t as confident.

Sophie’s bound for one hell of a ride—can she get her powers back before it’s too late?
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...