Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Sweet Venom 2 Title Hunt


Hi Everyone,

I am Super excited today to be part of revealing the Sweet Venom 2 Title Hunt, You can head over to 
http://teralynnchilds.blogspot.com 
For the entry form

My letter is D   :)

Make sure you visit all the other sites located at Tera Lynn Childs blog to reveal Sweet Venom`s 2 title!

This hunt will also include prizes!!! Which are five signed copies of Sweet Venom and a grand prize $50 bookstore gift card. 

Monday, August 29, 2011

Before I Die ARC Winner

  13 Powered by RANDOM.ORG
Number 13 is the winner of this lucky ARC of Before I Die. The winner was Jessica at Midnight Bookworm  who is also an awesome blogger so, I recommend you take a look! 

Thanks for all those who entered, u are awesome!! Thanks to everyone :) 

Remember to enter to win much more on the blog on the left side:
 300 follower giveaway
Anna and the French Kiss Giveaway
with many more to come!!   

Monday Reads, Buy Tuesday

 Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake


Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead.
So did his father before him, until he was gruesomely murdered by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father's mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. Together they follow legends and local lore, trying to keep up with the murderous dead—keeping pesky things like the future and friends at bay.
When they arrive in a new town in search of a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas doesn't expect anything outside of the ordinary: track, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he's never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, now stained red and dripping with blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.
But she, for whatever reason, spares Cas's life.




Hades by Alexandra Adornetto 


Bethany and Xavier are even closer since battling Jake Thorn and his evil influence (in Halo) and Beth and her angel siblings must still protect Venus Cove from the Dark Forces.

When a party game – a séance – inadvertently releases Jake from the Underworld, he disguises himself and tricks Beth into taking a ride on his motorcycle. When the highway opens up and swallows them, Beth learns too late that she’s now a prisoner in hell. What happens to angels there? As her archangel brother, Gabriel, her sister Ivy, Xavier, and her best friend, Molly search for her, Beth must weigh Jake’s bargaining for her freedom: one night with him, and she will be released back to Earth.
Can Jake be trusted in this wager? And is he also using Beth to engineer the fall of the archangel Gabriel? Xavier has already lost one love – when Jake tricks him into thinking that Bethany is dead, his grief and anger result in a betrayal that will leave Bethany – and readers – wondering if he is so good after all.

It will be up to Beth to use everything she’s learned about her powers as an angel – and about love – to free herself and those she loves from the clutches of Hades.



Fury by Elizabeth Miles 


It’s winter break in Ascension, Maine. The snow is falling and everything looks pristine and peaceful. But not all is as it seems...
Between cozy traditions and parties with her friends, Emily loves the holidays. And this year’s even better--the guy she’s been into for months is finally noticing her. But Em knows if she starts things with him, there’s no turning back. Because his girlfriend is Em’s best friend.
On the other side of town, Chase is having problems of his own. The stress of his home life is starting to take its toll, and his social life is unraveling. But that’s nothing compared to what’s really haunting him. Chase has done something cruel...something the perfect guy he pretends to be would never do. And it’s only a matter of time before he’s exposed.
In Ascension, mistakes can be deadly. And three girls—three beautiful, mysterious girls—are here to choose who will pay.
Em and Chase have been chosen.

Waiting For You by Susane Colasanti



Summary: 

It's sophomore year, and Marisa is ready for a fresh start and, hopefully, her first real boyfriend. But after popular Derek asks her out, things get complicated. Not only do her parents unexpectedly separate, but Marisa has a fight with her best friend, and Derek?the love of her life?delivers a shocking disappointment. The only things keeping Marisa together are the podcasts from the anonymous DJ, who seems to totally understand Marisa. But she doesn't know who he is ... or maybe she does.

Review:

I really enjoyed this book. It had good elements of how friendship can really develop into love. Colasanti writing was precise on describing how two teenagers can fall in love. The whole story develops around Marisa. You can relate to Marisa as a teenager. I felt it during my whole teenage years. I wish I was 17 again and want to re-do high school. High school has its ups and downs but, there is always a boy to save the day. Even if he is nerdy and sort of cute just like Nash. 

Nash is a funny character, whom I liked. But any of Colasanti's male leads are all unique, and they always get the girl! I was rooting for Nash from day one. Even with her relationship with Derek which I thought she was too clingy. She was feeling something for the live podcast guy on the radio, discussing about problems and gossip at school. 


Overall, a good read, I look forward to many more books by this author, this is my third, so it has to mean that I like her writing! If you like any of her other books, I recommend you read this one



-Amanda

Saturday, August 27, 2011

In My Mailbox (9)

This week in my mailbox I got:
Purchased:
Between by Jessica Warman

Netgalley:
Crave by Melissa Darnell (e-arc)
Whats in your mailbox?

Friday, August 26, 2011

Winter's Shadow by M.J. Hearle

 Blake Duchamp...

He's all that Winter Adams can think of. Ever since their fateful meeting at Pilgrim's Lament. Ever since he looked at her with those emerald eyes. Ever since he saved her life.

But Blake isn't all that he seems. There is a strangeness about him, something dark and otherworldly. Something dangerous. In his attic is a secret he would kill to defend, but Winter seems to have a special ability to make him forget his duty. And he is her only protection against the gathering darkness.

The only problem is, to protect Winter, Blake must risk exposing her to an even greater danger. Himself.


(goodreads)

 Review:
A BIG THANK YOU to Bloggerhood of the Traveling Book Tour: Winter's Shadow Edition at Paranormal Wastelands and Pan Macmillan AU.  You are an awesome! Thanks for setting this up for all the others in this book tour:)


Let me just say that this book was amazing, there are no words to describe how wonderful this book was to read. In the time it took me to read which was around 4-5 days, this was because I was working. But besides that point, I just fell in love with all the characters, felt their emotions as the way Hearle describes in this beautiful book! 

I was lucky enough to get this book from one of my blogger best friends (Darkfallen) who set up a tour for this book( which is not available in Canada and the USA) This book is only sold in Australia, which is absurd because this book should be sold worldwide, because it was AMAZING. I loved it!!! I could probably re-read it again! I just wish it was sold in our markets:)
Winter and Blake relationship was unique. The whole back story behind why Winter and Blake shouldnt be together was woven perfectly. It made want to find out more of what to come. One moment I was half-way done, the next I was finished. Hearle just grabbed your attention from beginning to end.   

It was a little slow in the beginning to the middle which was one of the things that took me a while to read also, it was also set from probably a few days that Blake and Winter first meet each other, and fall in love with each other instantly. Winter's Shadow's had its ups and downs but it was an overall great read, I liked how the reader was thrown into a different perspective from way back in the 1800's which was really awesome and it told you that it was important to read, and the reader can piece it together easily. It had also a few chapters told from Blake's POV which gave you insight of what he is thinking. 


Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed reading it, had one of the most intense plots I read, and I totally want the next book now, to see what happens since the ending was sooooooo__________________( no words can describe that scene!!! I am done rambling about how great it was. So if this book makes it to North America that would totally be awesome, because the book is worth the read! I needs to be in our bookstores:) This paranormal novel will hands down show you that it was one of my favorites, and I hope that M.J. Hearle gets a US publisher signed because they are missing out on this book! 


Also check out Darkfallens Review on Goodreads:) HERE and check out their blog:)


- Thanks Amanda

Thursday, August 25, 2011

Extra book Giveaway!!

Like I promised, I am giving another book as part of my 300 giveaway. The blog has reached 351, which is amazing:) This is the other book! I will be giving away a paperback copy of Anna and the French Kiss!! This is one of my favorite books, so anyone to win this is very lucky. This will also end on September 1! So hurry and enter!!

Rules:
1. GFC follower
2. Tweet about it +2
3. e-mail address
4. If you promote this giveaway on your blog  +4

Just leave a comment
Thanks to everyone so far! U are awesome:)

This is international!!

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (11)

Fever (The Chemical Garden #2)


Rhine and Gabriel have escaped the mansion, but danger is never far behind.

Running away brings Rhine and Gabriel right into a trap, in the form of a twisted carnival whose ringmistress keeps watch over a menagerie of girls. Just as Rhine uncovers what plans await her, her fortune turns again. With Gabriel at her side, Rhine travels through an environment as grim as the one she left a year ago - surroundings that mirror her own feelings of fear and hopelessness.

The two are determined to get to Manhattan, to relative safety with Rhine’s twin brother, Rowan. But the road there is long and perilous - and in a world where young women only live to age twenty and young men die at twenty-five, time is precious. Worse still, they can’t seem to elude Rhine’s father-in-law, Vaughn, who is determined to bring Rhine back to the mansion...by any means necessary.

In the sequel to Lauren DeStefano’s harrowing Wither, Rhine must decide if freedom is worth the price - now that she has more to lose than ever.


Expected publication: February 21st 2012 by Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing

I look forward to reading this one! I loved the first one Wither, plus the whole synopsis is so cool! I love dystopian novels placed in the future! 

What are you waiting on?

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

Newly Updated Cover of Mara Dyer



This is the newly updated cover for the Unbecoming of Mara Dyer which is an amazing book. So I would start putting this on your TBR lists or pre-order it!
Summary:

Mara Dyer doesn't believe life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there. It can.                                                                                                                                                  
She believes there must be more to the accident she can't remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed. There is.                                                                                                       
She doesn't believe that after everything she's been through, she can fall in love. She's wrong.

ARC of Before I Die


I have an ARC of Before I Die, I need to make room so, I am giving away this book for another follower to read it:) Enter today!
The Giveaway will end on Friday!! 

Giveaway:
1. Be a GFC follower
2. Comment on this page
3. Tweet about the giveaway!

Hurry and Enter.

Summary:
This beautifully crafted, eloquent novel transforms what at first seems a depressing topic (a teenager dying from leukemia) into a life-affirming, uplifting portrait of a young woman determined to live her life as fully as she can in the short time that she has left. As the heroine, 16-year-old Tessa, sets out to complete a list of things she yearns to experience before dying, her actions are genuine, her emotions raw and powerful. She's a character teens can relate to, though her situation is one most of us can't fathom. This novel brilliantly addresses the subject of death with love, anger, humor, and honesty, and, through the experiences of its brave heroine, relates a powerful message that will resonate with readers.

Teaser Tuesday

Here's a little sneak of Hades by Alexandra Adornetto, also check out my review:)

“What have you done?” I croaked instead. “Where am I?”
“There’s no need for alarm,” he replied. I wondered if he
might be trying to reassure me, but he wasn’t able to pull it
off and only ended up sounding condescending. I looked at
him not even trying to conceal my skepticism. “Relax, Beth,
you’re in no danger.”
“What am I doing here, Jake?” It was more a demand than
a question.
“Isn’t that rather obvious? You’re here as my guest, Beth, and
I’ve taken care of everything to ensure your stay is a pleasant
one.” There was such an uncharacteristically expectant look
on his face that for a moment I didn’t know how to reply. I
looked at him wide- eyed.
“Don’t worry, Beth, this place can be a lot of fun when
you’re with the right people.”


Comes out August 30!! Next week:)

Monday, August 22, 2011

Eve by Anna Carey (Eve Trilogy #1)

Review:

I just loved, loved, loved this book. It is such a great book that I had to read it. I found the book on Netgalley (Thank You) The plot sounded really interesting (it is a dystopian) Dystopian novels are one of my favorites because someday it will happen, we will never know. The first page is of a letter to Eve from her mother which was really sad and what is going on:( It is very informative of what was happening when her mother was with her before we are in the present!

Based in Anna Carey's novel Eve, which its is set in 2032 after a horrible deadly virus that mostly all the parents have died leaving tons of orphans. The orphans are then led to Schools where they learn a fine education, and later for other things! Eve is one of the brightest from her school, top marks and everything, the prettiest. and inquisitive girls in her "School." The school really twist on what they think out men, they tell the girls that they only want sex and to reproduce. On her graduation from the school she is able to escape her only home. Then we met Caleb, who sounds really HOT by the way Carey describes him, his character really appeals to Eve, but later they start to fall in love with each other which the love plot really thickens once we learn more during the rest of the novel. Arden, another girl who has escaped also is helped and Eve and her both follow Caleb to his Camp. It really develops the whole story, learn more of what happened about the deadly virus. Eve has never actually never been in the company of men because she went to a all girls school.

During the entire novel, which goes really quickly which also the reader gets caught up in and cant put the book down, at which any part of the relationship between Caleb and Eve which am totally rooting for based on what happened in the end of this novel leaving me wondering when does the next one come out!! Need more Eve and Caleb. Overall  I liked this book, lots of action, some romance scenes but you can suspect that because of what the teens have endured. I recommend the book to anybody who likes dystopian novels and a little twist!

Summary: (goodreads)

The year is 2032, sixteen years after a deadly virus—and the vaccine intended to protect against it—wiped out most of the earth’s population. The night before eighteen-year-old Eve’s graduation from her all-girls school she discovers what really happens to new graduates, and the horrifying fate that awaits her.

Fleeing the only home she’s ever known, Eve sets off on a long, treacherous journey, searching for a place she can survive. Along the way she encounters Caleb, a rough, rebellious boy living in the wild. Separated from men her whole life, Eve has been taught to fear them, but Caleb slowly wins her trust...and her heart. He promises to protect her, but when soldiers begin hunting them, Eve must choose between true love and her life


Book comes out October 4, 2011 from HarperCollins (hardcover)

Sunday, August 21, 2011

Supernaturally Winner


Hey everyone, sorry for the week long delay. Here is the winner of Supernaturally by Kiersten White.........

Kara M. 

I will send out the book on Monday!! Sorry for all my lateness !
Thanks to those who entered! Remember to enter my 300 follower Giveaway!

In My Mailbox (8)




 
 E-books:

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson (Netgalley)
Eve by Anna Carey (Netgalley)
Virtuosity by Jessica Martinez (Simon and Schuster Galley)
A Beautiful Dark by Jocelyn Davies (Simon and Schuster Galley)

Not much this week, but I know there is more coming in the mail! 
Whats in your mailbox?
  



     

Friday, August 19, 2011

Feature Friday

This weeks book chosen for Feature Friday is Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini.

I read this book a month ago, and it still makes me think out it! Its great plot and just everything! I really look forward to the sequel Dreamless! Check out this book because its AMAZING:)

Check out my review or my Interview with the author Josephine Angelini (link)

Summary:

Helen Hamilton has always tried to hide how different she is—no easy feat on an island as small as Nantucket, and only getting harder as she finds herself haunted by hallucinations and vivid nightmares.

It's not until she crosses paths with Lucas Delos at school that Helen's true heritage is finally revealed. Yet even as Lucas helps her awaken to her startling powers, they can never be together—not unless they can break free from the tragic destiny the Three Fates have in store.

Thursday, August 18, 2011

Angelfire (#1) by Courtney Allison Moulton

Title: Angelfire (Angelfire #1)
Author: C.A. Moulton
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publishing Date: February 15th 2011
Length: 464 pages
Genre: YA, fantasy, paranormal romance

Review:

I really LOVED this book, it had so much action, with all the fighting scenes. This awesome book was just awesome. I couldn't put it down! Oh Will was just a gentlemen with a sexy smile. I also have him Tuesdays and weekends (Mocha) hehe. I want my own Will.

The beginning of the book starts off slow but nearing the first few chapters it gets intense. Ellie then meets the handsome Will, who hold many secrets about, her life that she never knew. He is there to help her along the way, he is her guardian. With these two, we can see lots of chemistry which was really well developed. Moulton uses Lucifer and Angels and God as a way of putting it in a great story with action, romance and much, much more! The ending was good also, it makes you want to read the next book in the series Wings of the Wicked, which I cant wait to read.

I liked this book so much!! I hope everybody will read this book soon, before the next one comes out next year!! tons of actions and even some romance, check this book out at your local bookstore or library, its worth the read!!

Summary:
This debut, the first novel in a trilogy, is achingly romantic, terrifying, and filled with blistering action.

When seventeen-year-old Ellie starts seeing reapers - monstrous creatures who devour humans and send their souls to Hell - she finds herself on the front lines of a supernatural war between archangels and the Fallen and faced with the possible destruction of her soul.

A mysterious boy named Will reveals she is the reincarnation of an ancient warrior, the only one capable of wielding swords of angelfire to fight the reapers, and he is an immortal sworn to protect her in battle. Now that Ellie's powers have been awakened, a powerful reaper called Bastian has come forward to challenge her. He has employed a fierce assassin to eliminate her - an assassin who has already killed her once.

While balancing her dwindling social life and reaper-hunting duties, she and Will discover Bastian is searching for a dormant creature believed to be a true soul reaper. Bastian plans to use this weapon to ignite the End of Days and to destroy Ellie's soul, ending her rebirth cycle forever. Now, she must face an army of Bastian's most frightening reapers, prevent the soul reaper from consuming her soul, and uncover the secrets of her past lives - including truths that may be too frightening to remember.

Wednesday, August 17, 2011

Buying Books/Shelf

My bookshelf looks amazing. My mom tells me to stop buying books but I have 3 sections where I keep all the goodies when am not reading an e-book. I have more than my sister, which is a little embarrassing, but I dont really care. I still continue to go to the bookstore at least once a week.

With going to the bookstore I have some resistance to buying specific books, I usually go on the days that the new books come out which is normally Tuesdays. If they dont have that book then I order it from the store- free shipping! 

But as for the book shelf, I have yet to convince my mom to getting little ones for the wall, but its ok. I will be moving things around in the shelf at the end of August and September because so many great books are coming out, and I need to put them in there!!

If your shelf looks like this, show me a pic! (this pic is not updated, but it has more books in there now)

Firelight by Sophie Jordan (#1)

Review:

This has to be one of my favorite reads. I read it later than I wanted to but I did complete it! Reading this, made my whole body ache for Will who was describe as ... I cant even say because I can imagine what he looks like. Jacinda being a Draki and Will (LOVE) as the hunter is a beautiful story told about first loves, and differences that they can be together despite what they are. But I do have a feeling that Cassian will also have a piece of Jacinda's heart in some parts of the book, even though she kinda hates him, but all he want to do is protect her.  The whole concept was really unique for this book which I did like due to its supernatural nature, with dragons etc. But this book was really well written, and I couldnt get enough of reading this great book. I didnt put it down!

I just loved the entire book from start to end. I just love all of Jordan's characters, especially Jacinda and Will. I  cant wait until Vanish comes out and read more of these characters. It picks up where we left off in Firelight!

Overall. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book when I was at work or just at home reading it on Kobo. It had lots of actions... steamy bits of romance that will make your heart thump harder. I now wish I had the second book to know more!!  Add this to your TBR lists because this series was great!

-Amanda

Summary (goodreads)

A hidden truth.
Mortal enemies.
Doomed love.
Marked as special at an early age, Jacinda knows her every move is watched. But she longs for freedom to make her own choices. When she breaks the most sacred tenet among her kind, she nearly pays with her life. Until a beautiful stranger saves her. A stranger who was sent to hunt those like her. For Jacinda is a draki—a descendant of dragons whose greatest defense is her secret ability to shift into human form.
Forced to flee into the mortal world with her family, Jacinda struggles to adapt to her new surroundings. The only bright light is Will. Gorgeous, elusive Will who stirs her inner draki to life. Although she is irresistibly drawn to him, Jacinda knows Will's dark secret: He and his family are hunters. She should avoid him at all costs. But her inner draki is slowly slipping away—if it dies she will be left as a human forever. She'll do anything to prevent that. Even if it means getting closer to her most dangerous enemy.
Mythical powers and breathtaking romance ignite in this story of a girl who defies all expectations and whose love crosses an ancient divide.

Waiting on Wednesday (10)

Summary: (goodreads)

Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion . . . she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit -- more sparkly, more fun, more wild -- the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood.

When Cricket -- a gifted inventor -- steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door. 





I just loved Anna and the French Kiss, so now I get to look forward to the companion novel Lola and the Boy Next Door! Comes out September 29, 2011! Add it to your TBR lists, I hear it is really good! 

Tuesday, August 16, 2011

10th Anniversary for Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty

I am glad that I read all of the Jessica Darling Series by Megan McCafferty. I am also happy to share with her the 10th anniversary of the first novel Sloppy Firsts which can relate to many teenagers going through school and first loves.

Thanks to Megan for providing me an Interview about Sloppy Firsts:


    Amanda:  Megan, did you put some of your own experiences during high school into Jessica Darling’s Sloppy Firsts?

Megan: Jessica and I certainly have a lot in common. We both grew up in suburban New Jersey, ran track and cross country, developed hopeless crushes on boys who didn’t know we existed and—most significant—were devastated when our best friends moved away. The beauty of fiction taking the truth and mixing it with my imagination. By the time I finished the first draft of SLOPPY FIRSTS, the characters had all become their own people. And there wasn’t anything in the book that happened to me in the same exact way it happened to Jessica.


Amanda:  Which character was your favorite to write about throughout the entire series?

M: I love all my characters-even the ones like Manda and Sara who I love to hate! It was so much fun to see how all these characters evolved over the course of a decade.

A: I hope there is more to Jessica and Marcus’ story in the future! do you plan on creating another novel with these characters?

 M: Thank you so much for saying that. I really like where I left them at the end of PERFECT FIFTHS. Right now I don’t have any plans to go back to any of the characters in the series. But who knows how I ‘ll feel 10 or 20 years from now—or more? Maybe I’ll write Jessica Darling: The Menopausal Years…

A: Sloppy Firsts is still reaching out to readers, how would you relate to your character Jessica?

M:  SLOPPY FIRSTS is ten years old, but clueless parents, annoying friends, frustrating crushes and raging hormones are universal. Jessica Darling thinks things that many high schoolers think, but didn’t know how to articulate or aren’t brave enough to say. For many readers, Jessica’s rants and observations are cathartic. She helps them realize, “Hey, I’m not alone.”

Thanks Megan for writing such beautiful book, I know I enjoyed each novel during my 5 days reading them. I am happy for this happy 10th anniversary. Jessica's story is always in our hearts and she has helped us with her journals/diaries what it is like to be a teenager and an adult, to fall in love with a pretend Marcus.
Thanks Megan, I look forward to many more of your novels in the future:) 

-- Amanda
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...