Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Glass Sword (Red Queen #2) by Victoria Aveyard

Title: Glass Sword (Red Queen #2)
Author: Victoria Aveyard 
Pages: 448
Genre: Fantasy/
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: February 9, 2016 

Summary (Goodreads)

The thrilling second book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Red Queen trilogy follows Mare Barrow on her mission to defeat the traitorous Maven.

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates the struggle between the growing rebel army and the blood-segregated world they’ve always known—and pits Mare against the darkness of her own heart.
 

Monday, August 24, 2015

Blog Tour: Cage of Deceit by Jennifer Anne Davis (Review)



Cage of Deceit by Jennifer Anne Davis
Reign of Secrets #1
Young Adult, Fantasy
Expected Publication: August 25th, 2015
Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing


Jennifer Anne Davis's best-selling True Reign series captivated readers from the very first page. Now, get ready to become entangled in the follow-up series, Reign of Secrets. In this new series, follow Allyssa, the daughter of the beloved Emperor Darmik and Empress Rema— and find out what happens after happily ever after.

Seventeen-year-old Allyssa appears to be the ideal princess of Emperion—she’s beautiful, elegant, and refined. She spends her days locked in a suffocating cage, otherwise known as royal court. But at night, Allyssa uses her secret persona—that of a vigilante—to hunt down criminals and help her people firsthand.

Unfortunately, her nightly escapades will have to wait because the citizens of Emperion may need saving from something much bigger than common criminals. War is encroaching on their country and in order to protect her people, Allyssa may have to sacrifice her heart. Forced to entertain an alliance through marriage with a handsome prince from a neighboring kingdom, she finds herself feeling even more stifled than before. To make matters worse, the prince has stuck his nosy squire, Jarvik, to watch her every move.

Jarvik is infuriating, bossy and unfortunately, the only person she can turn to when she unveils a heinous plot. Together, the unlikely pair will have to work together to stop an enemy that everyone thought was long gone, one with the power to destroy her family and the people of Emperion. Now the cage Allyssa so longed to break free from might just be the one thing she has to fight to keep intact. In order to save her kingdom, she will have to sacrifice her freedom, her heart, and maybe even her life.

Purchase
Amazon | B&N | iBooks


About the Author

Jennifer graduated from the University of San Diego with a degree in English and a teaching credential. Afterwards, she finally married her high school sweetheart. She is currently a full-time writer and mother of three highly energetic children. Her days are spent living in imaginary worlds and fueling her own kids’ creativity.











Review:

This is the first book I've read from Jennifer Anne Davis and it will certainly not be the last because after reading Cage of Deceit. I was instantly hooked from the beginning of the True Reign series. All the characters and the world that Jennifer has created was captivating. I just loved this book so much that I didn't want to put it down! You will care about these characters until you reach the end. Plus the book has a map, which makes it even more awesome! I haven't read the other books in the series but I will check them out now! 

Allyssa has to be one of my favorite princesses. She is a strong main character that has to deal with an arranged marriage, romance, and a lot of adventure! As heir to her kingdom she is willing to do anything to protect it as well as the people she loves. Plus she fights criminals under the name of Lilly. I loved her personality and her loyalty to her family and friends. As the reader you will see her transform into a princess/empress who is ready to marry a prince to protect her land from Russek. 

The author did an amazing job with this book!! I already want the next book in this series! The romance was through the roof with tension and I connected with the characters. It was also great to see the world development + action between the rivalry and politics of each kingdom. Also there is no love triangle! There was also a great relationship between Allyssa and her parents which is great to see in books! But I did not see that ending coming! Can I have the next book already!! Be sure to pick up this book when it comes out in the next few days!! 

5/5 


Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Passenger (Passenger #1) by Alexandra Bracken

Title: Passenger (Passenger #1) 
Author: Alexandra Bracken 
Pages: 464
Publisher: Disney Hyperion 
Release Date: January 5, 2016 

Summary (Goodreads) 

Violin prodigy Etta Spencer had big plans for her future, but a tragedy has put her once-bright career at risk. Closely tied to her musical skill, however, is a mysterious power she doesn't even know she has. When her two talents collide during a stressful performance, Etta is drawn back hundreds of years through time

Etta wakes, confused and terrified, in 1776, in the midst a fierce sea battle. Nicholas Carter, the handsome young prize master of a privateering ship, has been hired to retrieve Etta and deliver her unharmed to the Ironwoods, a powerful family in the Colonies--the very same one that orchestrated her jump back, and one Nicholas himself has ties to. But discovering she can time travel is nothing compared to the shock of discovering the true reason the Ironwoods have ensnared her in their web. 

Another traveler has stolen an object of untold value from them, and, if Etta can find it, they will return her to her own time. Out of options, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the mysterious traveler. But as they draw closer to each other and the end of their search, the true nature of the object, and the dangerous game the Ironwoods are playing, comes to light -- threatening to separate her not only from Nicholas, but her path home... forever.

Why I am Excited!

Well this sounds amazing! Who doesn't want to meet a handsome master of the sea named Nicholas Carter!! I've already heard that 

Friday, August 14, 2015

SPOILERS !!


Tonight while I was talking to everyone on Twitter I came across a post about reviews spoiling a book that hasn't released yet (AKA Queen of Shadows).


This is a major issue that has come up among many bloggers who have voiced their opinions on this subject. So I asked the question: What are your views on people spoiling books for you? Here are some of the responses I got!





As you can see people don't like reading spoilers. It can ruin the experience for many other readers to not read one of their most anticipated books. Being a blogger and a reader I know to avoid spoilers online, especially when Allegiant came out. I avoided the internet like the plague and I'm glad I ignored them because when I read the book it felt great to read it and see what my reaction was.

Now to deal with the issue of Queen of Shadows being ruined. If you are one of those lucky readers who was able to receive a finished copy from the publisher then you are very lucky, but for some of us who aren't on that list we don't want to see spoilers about the book. Keep this information to yourself or ask if anyone else who has the book can talk to you about it! (create a group about it) PLEASE DO NOT add it on Goodreads where everyone can read it, be ruined and crushed by your review. PLUS do not ask the author why they did what they did because its very rude. Yes we can be passionate about the series that we love and want to voice out our opinions about that subject in the book, but as a reader I don't want to be spoiled in a review.


Tips: 
  • On Goodreads there is a button that you can use to cover up the spoiler if you want to add them in. If people want to look they can but at least warn people! (I usually go with no-spoilers) 
  • Create a group or chat with readers who have already read the book 
  • Do not post spoilers in your review (overall) 
  • Stay away from the Internet if you don't want to be spoiled
I hope this post helps when you are writing your reviews in the future! If you have any other tips that you would like to suggest add them to the comments!!! As JoshuaDTV would say BE NICE TO PEOPLE

Thanks!!

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: The Great Hunt by Wendy Higgins

Title: The Great Hunt
Author: Wendy Higgins
Pages: 416
Publisher: HarperTeen/HarperCollins Canada
Release Date: March 8, 2016

Summary (Goodreads)

Kill the beast. Win the girl.

A strange beast stirs fear in the kingdom of Lochlanach, terrorizing towns with its brutality and hunger. In an act of desperation, a proclamation is sent to all of Eurona—kill the creature and win the ultimate prize: the daughter of King Lochson’s hand in marriage.

Princess Aerity understands her duty to the kingdom though it pains her to imagine marrying a stranger. It would be foolish to set her sights on any particular man in the great hunt, but when a brooding local hunter, Paxton Seabolt, catches her attention, there’s no denying the unspoken lure between them…or his mysterious resentment.

Paxton is not keen on marriage. Nor does he care much for spoiled royals and their arcane laws. He’s determined to keep his focus on the task at hand—ridding the kingdom of the beast and protecting his family—yet Princess Aerity continues to challenge his notions with her unpredictability and charm. But as past secrets collide with present desires, dire choices threaten everything Paxton holds dear.

Inspired by the Grimm Brothers’ tale, “The Singing Bone,” New York Times bestselling author Wendy Higgins delivers a dark fantasy filled with rugged hunters, romantic tension, outlawed magic, and a princess willing to risk all to save her people

Friday, August 7, 2015

The Boy Most Likely To (My Life Next Door #2) by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Title: The Boy Most Likely To
Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Pages: 416 
Genre: Contemporary
Publisher: Dial Books/Penguin Canada
Release Date: August 18, 2015
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| B&N| Kobo
*Recieved for review by Dial Books/Penguin Teen*

Summary (Goodreads)
A surprising, utterly romantic companion to My Life Next Door—great for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han 

Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.

And Alice is caught in the middle.

Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this novel is for readers of The Spectacular NowNick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, and Paper Towns.

Review: 

Can I just say that after reading this book I need more of this world that Huntley has created. It was good to see new character point of views from both Tim and Alice of how their relationship develops throughout the book. From the moment I picked this book up I knew immediately that I was going to fall in love with it since I just loved My Life Next Door, which was told from Sam's view. But The Boy Most Likely To, told a different story about love, renewal and moving on in Tim's and Alice's point of view.

I'm just really happy to talk about this book without spoiling it for other readers, but Huntley Fitzpatrick knows how to write about real families that deal with complications. You can see it when she writes the descriptions of her characters and their families. The Boy Most Likely To does have heartbreak, romance that will make you fall in love with Tim more, and the struggles that we all can face at one moment in our lives.

This is Tim's and Alice's story. Alice is Jase's older sister who is in school to become a nurse. She is like a second mom to her younger siblings and is able to solve solutions and problems that are happening in the family. I really loved seeing her view and how her relationship with Tim develops. Now on to what everyone was waiting for Tim. I loved his humor as his defense to try and move on from the drugs and alcohol at 17.  While he did make some poor decisions he has come to the realization and has been taking on responsibilities that he has avoided over the years. I just wanted to give him a huge hug!

Their romance felt real and you can instantly feel the connection between them. Opposites really do attract! There was very passionate moments and some that tested their relationship. Trust me you will understand why once you read it! It's also about the importance of family and understanding that not all families have our back when we make mistakes. I can understand why he really  loved hanging with the Garrett's who are very welcoming.

We also get appearances and updates with Jase and Sam which totally got me excited since I love them! Plus the rest of the Garrett family (George!!) As well as Alice's father and how the family is dealing with this situation. If you are looking for a story about love, family and life this is the book for you because Huntley Fitzpatrick will let you fall in love with her characters and the amazing Garrett family. I look forward to what her next book will be about!!

5/5

Wednesday, August 5, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: For the Record by Charlotte Huang

Title: For the Record
Author: Charlotte Huang 
Pages: 320 
Genre: YA Contemporary 
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers/Random House Canada
Release Date: November 10, 2015 

Summary (Goodreads) 

If Almost Famous were a YA novel . . . a raw, honest debut celebrating music, friendship, romance, and life on the road.
Chelsea thought she knew what being a rock star was like . . . until she became one. After losing a TV talent show, she slid back into small-town anonymity. But one phone call changed everything 
 
Now she’s the lead singer of the band Melbourne, performing in sold-out clubs every night and living on a bus with three gorgeous and talented guys. The bummer is that the band barely tolerates her. And when teen hearthrob Lucas Rivers take an interest in her, Chelsea is suddenly famous, bringing Melbourne to the next level—not that they’re happy about that. Her feelings for Beckett, Melbourne’s bassist, are making life even more complicated.
 
Chelsea only has the summer tour to make the band—and their fans—love her. If she doesn’t, she’ll be back in Michigan for senior year, dying a slow death. The paparazzi, the haters, the grueling schedule . . . Chelsea believed she could handle it. But what if she can’t?


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...