Thursday, June 30, 2016

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas

Title: A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Pages: 624
Genre: YA Fantasy, Retellings,
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children's
Release Date: May 3, 2016
Buy: Amazon|Kobo| Chapters Indigo

Summary (Goodreads)

Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas's masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.


Review: 

I'm absolutely in totally shock after reading this beautiful beast of a book. Completely in love with the characters still as well as Sarah J. Maas incredible plot lines. Let me just say that this series is one of my top favorites along with her Throne of Glass series because Maas is the Queen of Fantasy. A Court of Mist and Fury is definitely going to give you an epic book hangover that can leave you with your jaw hitting the floor right near the end. 

During the first book I was totally team Tamlin but while reading I noticed that my love for him dwindled and then transferred to the Night Court: Rhys. Throughout the book I started to see more of who Rhys really is and how the bargain they made worked in the book. Boy was I surprised by this plot! But I loved every minute of it! Here I  thought ACOTAR was amazing but Sarah topped it with ACOMAF and she definitely got me still thinking about it. 

Feyre at the beginning was very broken after the first book ended and the changes that happened to her as she became High Fae. It broke me seeing her that way, but as the book went on, it was started to come together. Her growth was beyond incredible as you see her relationship change with Tamlin to Rhysand. While I did love him in ACOTAR, he definitely changed and was too over protected with her compared to Rhys who would let her explore her power and meet all his friends. By the end I hated him! 

Now on to my new favorite love: Rhys. Well he grew on me. Loved his character growth as you got to know more about him and his family + his heart. Plus those last few chapters I was literally swooning after what Rhys and Feyre did! I am having a hard time being spoiler free right now! Plus he is really funny when he tries to banter with Feyre. I loved how as the reader you get to see how Rhys views his court: Velaris, House of Wind, and Rainbow. Everything about the Night Court intrigued me, as well as the stars and the importance they play in the books. 


Thank you Sarah for making me addicted to your books. Officially in book hangover mode. 

5/5

Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: King's Cage (Red Queen #3) by Victoria Aveyard

Title: King's Cage 
Author: Victoria Aveyard 
Pages: 448
Genre: Fantasy 
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: February 7, 2017

Summary (Goodreads)

In the third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Red Queen series, Mare is forced to play a psychological cat-and-mouse game with an old and deadly enemy, where the stakes are not only the future of the Red Rebellion but the sanctity of her own mind.



Friday, June 24, 2016

Fast-Forward Friday (1)



Fast-Forward Friday is a weekly event, hosted here at Between The Spine, that recognizes an upcoming date that you would like to Fast-Forward too! What's so special about these upcoming dates? Anything BOOK related! If a book you are anticipating is being released, tell us why you're excited! If a release date has been set for a movie based on your favourite book, let us know! If you are attending a book signing or event, keep us posted! The options are endless! If you would like to share your Fast-Forward Friday blog post please post it in the comments below!



What I'm most excited for is Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Mass because one she is one amazing author who know how to hook you in immediately and the romance is hot!!! 

I already want to know what is going to happen in this book! Hopefully I will get to meet Sarah J. Maas soon because I heard she is amazing to talk to and really friendly. Plus she loves Jamie from Outlander !! 

Be sure to preorder this lovely book, either paperback or e-book. 

Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth


Title: Carve of the Mark (Duology)
Author: Veronica Roth
Pages: 528
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Release Date: January 17, 2017

Summary: (Goodreads) 


On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not — their gifts make them vulnerable to others’ control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power in this world?

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power — something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuve, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual currentgift, once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive — no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive — or to destroy one another. 

  


Tuesday, June 21, 2016

Cover Reveal: Torn (Wicked Trilogy #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout


     

The highly anticipated second book in #1 New York Times Bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout's Wicked Trilogy has a cover! The amazing TORN cover was created by Sarah Hansen from Okay Creations with photography by Kelsey Kukal-Keeton from K Keeton designs. Check it out below! TORN is set to release July 19th. Be sure to grab the first book in the series, WICKED, which is on sale for $.99 for a limited time!



TORN Synopsis:

Torn between duty and survival, nothing can be the same.

Everything Ivy Morgan thought she knew has been turned on its head. After being betrayed and then nearly killed by the Prince of the Fae, she’s left bruised and devastated—and with an earth-shattering secret that she must keep at all costs. And if the Order finds out her secret, they’ll kill her.

Then there’s Ren Owens, the sexy, tattooed Elite member of the Order who has been sharing Ivy’s bed and claiming her heart. Their chemistry is smoking hot, but Ivy knows that Ren has always valued his duty to the Order above all else—he could never touch her if he knew the truth. That is, if he let her live at all. Yet how can she live with herself if she lies to him?

But as the Fae Prince begins to close in on Ivy, intent on permanently opening the gates to the Otherworld, Ivy is running out of options. If she doesn’t figure out who she can trust—and fast—it’s not only her heart that will be torn apart, but civilization itself.


Things are about to get Wicked in New Orleans…

Don’t miss the first title in the series, WICKED, now just $.99 for a limited time only!

Amazon ** Barnes and Noble ** iBooks ** Kobo

    About Jennifer L. Armentrout: #1 New York Times and #1 International Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing, she spends her time reading, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki. Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV. Her young adult romantic suspense novel DON’T LOOK BACK was a 2014 nominated Best in Young Adult Fiction by YALSA. She also writes Adult and New Adult contemporary and paranormal romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.  

Website ** Facebook ** Twitter ** Novel Goodreads ** Author Goodreads

 

Wednesday, June 15, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Moonshot by Alessandra Torre

Title: Moonshot
Author: Alessandra Torre 
Pages: 424
Genre: Romance 
Publisher: EverAfter Romance 
Release Date: July 4, 2016 

Summary (Goodreads) 

Baseball wasn’t supposed to be a game of life and death…

The summer that Chase Stern entered my life, I was seventeen. The daughter of a legend, the Yankees were my family, their stadium my home, their dugout my workplace. My focus was on the game. Chase … he started out as a distraction. A distraction with sex appeal poured into every inch of his six foot frame. A distraction who played like a god and partied like a devil.

I tried to stay away. I couldn’t.

Then, the team started losing.
Women started dying.
And everything in my perfect world broke apart.

Thursday, June 9, 2016

Blog Tour: Everywhere and Every Way by Jennifer Probst (Excerpt)


EVERYWHERE AND EVERY WAY
The Billionaire Builders, #1

Purchase now:
Amazon: http://amzn.to/1YqvR9O 
iBooks:  http://apple.co/1ZO0tCp 
BN:  http://bit.ly/1TCkbg4
GooglePlay:  http://bit.ly/24WYzWY
Kobo: http://bit.ly/27kudwu

BLURB:

Hot on the heels of her beloved Marriage to a Billionaire novels, New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Probst nails it with the first in an all-new sexy romance series featuring red-hot contractor siblings who give the Property Brothers a run for their money!

Ever the responsible eldest brother, Caleb Pierce started working for his father’s luxury contracting business at a young age, dreaming of one day sitting in the boss’s chair. But his father’s will throws a wrench in his plans by stipulating that Caleb share control of the family business with his two estranged brothers.

Things only get more complicated when demanding high-end home designer Morgan hires Caleb to build her a customized dream house that matches her specifications to a T—or she’ll use her powerful connections to poison the Pierce brothers’ reputation. Not one to ignore a challenge, Caleb vows to get the job done—if only he can stop getting distracted by his new client’s perfect…amenities.

But there’s more to icy Morgan than meets the eye. And Caleb’s not the only one who knows how to use a stud-finder. In fact, Morgan is pretty sure she’s found hers—and he looks quite enticing in a hard hat. As sparks fly between Morgan and Caleb despite his best intentions not to mix business and pleasure, will she finally warm up and help him lay the foundation for everlasting love?


Excerpt
He closed the distance between them. Was that his heart beating? Stupid. Of course not. He was a grown man, and he didnt get those feelings anymore. She tilted her head back, and he saw the slight tremble of her lips as she gazed back at him, refusing to look away.

I like you now.

She cleared her throat. The pulse at the base of her neck and the dilation of her pupils gave her away. She felt it, too. His nostrils flared like a predators on the hunt, but he moved slow, bending his head so his mouth was inches from hers, so he could feel the warm rush of her breath against him. So she had plenty of time to pull away and cry foul. Still, she rallied.

She spoke his name on a ragged whisper. What are you doing, Cal?

Im sorry.

She shuddered. His hands clasped her shoulders, and he breathed her in.

For misjudging me? Calling me a coward? Or not liking me at first?

He locked his gaze with hers to show her his intention. Paused. For this.

Cal covered his mouth with hers.

The moment her lips yielded under his, Caleb realized Morgan Raines was more dangerous than hed ever imagined.

She tasted like all the things he loved in his pastsugar cookies and bourbon-infused chocolate. Freshly squeezed orange juice and key lime pie. Deliciously sweet and tart and tasty. Everything he craved and couldnt get enough of, wrapped up in this one gorgeous female.

The kiss was slow and deep and oh, so thorough. Cal kept his hands firmly on her shoulders, not trusting himself to be cool. Who wouldve thought Morgan Raines would inspire violent lust instead of lukewarm interest? His body shook with the effort to control his instincts. Instead, he teased her, gathering her taste with his tongue and capturing the sexy little moan that spilled from her throat. It was a kiss that introduced, welcomed, lingered. It was the hottest kiss hed ever shared with a woman, and he didnt know what he was going to do about it.



Goodreads link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25814135-everywhere-and-every-way

----------------------------
AUTHOR INFORMATION: 

Jennifer Probst -  Bio:
Jennifer Probst wrote her first book at twelve years old. She bound it in a folder, read it to her classmates, and hasn’t stopped writing since. She took a short hiatus to get married, get pregnant, buy a house, get pregnant again, pursue a master’s in English Literature, and rescue two shelter dogs. Now she is writing again.

She makes her home in Upstate New York with the whole crew. Her sons keep her active, stressed, joyous, and sad her house will never be truly clean.
She is the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of sexy and erotic contemporary romance. She was thrilled her book, The Marriage Bargain, was ranked #6 on Amazon's Best Books for 2012. She loves hearing from readers. Visit her website for updates on new releases and her street team at www.jenniferprobst.com.


Website:  www.jenniferprobst.com
Facebook Fan Page:  https://www.facebook.com/jenniferprobst.authorpage 
Twitter:   https://twitter.com/jenniferprobst 
Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2965489.Jennifer_Probst

Wednesday, June 8, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Broken Prince (The Royals #2) by Erin Watt

Title: Broken Prince (The Royals #2)
Author: Erin Watt
Pages: 370
Publisher: Everafter Romance
Release Date: July 25, 2016

Summary (Goodreads)

These Royals will ruin you…

From wharf fights and school brawls to crumbling lives inside glittery mansions, one guy tries to save himself.

Reed Royal has it all—looks, status, money. The girls at his elite prep school line up to date him, the guys want to be him, but Reed never gave a damn about anyone but his family until Ella Harper walked into his life.

What started off as burning resentment and the need to make his father’s new ward suffer turned into something else entirely—keep Ella close. Keep Ella safe. But when one foolish mistake drives her out of Reed’s arms and brings chaos to the Royal household, Reed’s entire world begins to fall apart around him.

Ella doesn’t want him anymore. She says they’ll only destroy each other.

She might be right.

Secrets. Betrayal. Enemies. It’s like nothing Reed has ever dealt with before, and if he’s going to win back his princess, he’ll need to prove himself Royally worthy.


I loved Paper Princess so much that I have to know what will happen next in this series!

Check out my review--> HERE

Thursday, June 2, 2016

Blog Tour: This is the Story of You by Beth Kephart (Guest Post)




This is the Story if You
By Beth Kephart

Chronicle Books
YA Fiction
On Haven, a six-mile long, half-mile-wide stretch of barrier island, Mira Banul and her Year-Rounder friends have proudly risen to every challenge. But then a superstorm defies all predictions and devastates the island, upending all logic and stranding Mira’s mother and brother on the mainland. Nothing will ever be the same. A stranger appears in the wreck of Mira’s home. A friend obsessed with vanishing disappears. As the mysteries deepen, Mira must find the strength to carry on—to somehow hold her memories in place while learning to trust a radically reinvented future. Gripping and poetic, This Is the Story of You is about the beauty of nature and the power of family, about finding hope in the wake of tragedy and recovery in the face of overwhelming loss.

About the Author:  Beth Kephart is the award-winning author of nineteen books, including Going Over, Handling the Truth: On the Writing of Memoir, and Small Damages. A National Book Award finalist, Kephart is also a winner of the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts fiction grant, a National Endowment for the Arts grant, a Leeway grant, a Pew Fellowships in the Arts grant, and the Speakeasy Poetry Prize. Kephart teaches workshops at many institutions, to all ages and creative nonfiction workshops at the University of Pennsylvania. She is a popular keynote speaker and frequent contributor to the Chicago Tribune, Philadelphia Inquirer, and many national journals. She blogs daily at beth-kephart.blogspot.com



GUEST POST

On Writing the Eruptive 

I am trying to remember the first time I saw the sea. There are photographs of a little girl in a red bathing suit with a fluffy white collar (imagine) and that is me, by the sea.  

But do I remember that moment?  Can I force myself to remember? 

No, I think. And no again. 

But I do remember—I know—how much I have always loved the sea. The tang in the air. The sweets along the boardwalk. My uncle with his rolled trouser pants holding my hand as we walked. I have loved the sea, and I have feared the storms, and I don’t think we can write about anything well if we are not somehow writing but love and fear, memory and imagination. 

This Is the Story of You is an eruptive story about a storm and its aftermath. It is also a cohering story about family and love. There is ruin here, but there is also a strengthening, a community that stands back up after the waves are gone. There’s an old woman who gathers the broken around. There’s a mysterious girl who shows up; who is she? There are people missing; will they be found? 

I started writing this book and I did not stop. I was locked inside a mad fury. Knowing this storm story had to be told and that I had to tell it. 

We writers must love all our books. If we didn’t, how could we go on? 
 But, truly, I love this one. 


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, June 1, 2016

Book Slumps




Have you ever been in a book slump? Well lately I have been feeling that I can't read fast enough when I just want to read all the books that have come out lately! Maybe I'm overwhelmed with everything with job hunting, working too much and possibly stress of everything. As a book blogger reading slumps are the worst to be in.

I have found that Netflix hasn't really helped me in reading too many books this past month because I have been obsessed with watching Full House. Currently I'm watching season 8 as I write this. For the month of June I plan on getting out of this reading slump by creating goals for myself to make sure I do not watch lots of Netflix.

These include: 

1) Try audiobooks (currently A Darker Shade of Magic)
- so far its okay, but I feel like when I have the physical book I would be faster. But I do like listening to it in the car.

2) Have an e-arc/physical ARC on the go.
- I want to get to As I Darken and a few other ones

3) Start A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas




If you have any suggestions to get out of a reading slump let me know!!

Waiting on Wednesday: Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh

Title: Ivory and Bone (#1)
Author: Julie Eshbaugh 
Pages: 384
Genre: Fantasy (YA) 
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: June 7, 2016

Summary (Goodreads)

A prehistoric fantasy—with allusions to Pride and Prejudice.

Hunting, gathering, and keeping his family safe—that’s the life seventeen-year-old Kol knows. Then bold, enigmatic Mya arrives from the south with her family, and Kol is captivated. He wants her to like and trust him, but any hopes of impressing her are ruined when he makes a careless—and nearly grave—mistake. However, there’s something more to Mya’s cool disdain…a history wrought with loss that comes to light when another clan arrives. With them is Lo, an enemy from Mya’s past who Mya swears has ulterior motives.

As Kol gets to know Lo, tensions between Mya and Lo escalate until violence erupts. Faced with shattering losses, Kol is forced to question every person he’s trusted. One thing is for sure: this was a war that Mya or Lo—Kol doesn’t know which—had been planning all along.





Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...